User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.59

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"In addition there is lots of flexibility in choosing the appropriate plan in terms of the number of projects and users."
  • icon"Many tools are available, user interface is clean and very easy to use and customer support is very responsive."
  • icon"Excellent support desk help. SENSITIVE CONTENT] was able to understand my root challenges based on symptoms reported and as very effective in resolving that."
  • icon"Sometimes there can be too many options or options that aren't explained well."
  • icon"Not having the capability to import SVN. Dump files into our new repositories on our own directly from the command line."

Browse all Planio Reviews

  • Have you used Planio and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 24 of 24 reviews

User Profile

Steve

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2021

Full-featured project management, but low innovation because they are stuck on Redmine

Overall Planio was once my favorite project tool, and I still recommend it when people want something very simple and lightweight. But other competitors like Monday.com, Asana, Airtable and others have really overtaken Redmine based products in the project management arena, so given that Planio isn't really much cheaper than the lower tiers of these other tools, it's hard to know where Planio really come out on top any more.

Pros

I love Planio's implementation of the popular open source project management tool called Redmine. Planio is basically hosted Redmine, but they add in a very nice looking theme/skin for the UI, and then they added a ton of very helpful plug-ins and make the system bulletproof by hosting it in their proprietary cloud set up. I really love the agile Kanban board functionality, the checklists, and all the other plug-ins that extend Redmine and make Planio a fully featured project management tool. You can also use it for a bug tracking, CRM, helpdesk, or a variety of other flexible things by creating your own issue customizations and workflow. Essentially you get the best parts of Redmine, its stability, speed, customizability, and low cost, but they really take away all the painful parts like hosting, configuration, and plug-in purchasing.

Cons

The thing that makes Planio great Is that it is based on Redmine, but that's also a huge weakness because Redmine as a product has progressed very slowly over the past few years and compared to the other SaaS offerings that compete with Redmine, it looks like it's basically stuck in time. Also, anything outside of the core project management or issue tracking modes are very basic. Planio implements plugins to make things like the CRM or help desk, but they are super simple and realistically no one with more than 50 employees would try to use this as their only help desk or CRM tool. You would be much better off with something like Odoo or a full-featured open source CRM, or something like Jira service desk, which is surprisingly reasonable in cost. Even though I've been a customer for years, I've recently had to switch my main product management team over to Asana because Planio just wasn't going to have enough features for what we're doing in the future. We will still use it for some stuff when we want to really customize the workflow and do some of the deep issue tracking that Asana can't do, but Redmine is really showing its age now and the Planio pricing plan just isn’t as cheap as it once was.

Reasons for switching to Planio

Planio is simpler than Jira to use for marketing and other teams that don't need the complexity of Jira.

Bob

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

July 2015

Overall very positive.

The system is reasonably fast, and good at what it does. Problems are responded to promptly (very quickly in some cases!). Over a 6 month period we reported three relatively obscure bugs, and all three were fixed within 24 to 48 hours. The core functionality is strong and reliable. If there is a negative, it's that the company makes assumptions about its user base which in our case do not apply, especially in the area of external task status change notification. Specifically, the system allows plain text email notifications, but these contain all the task data, which represent a serious potential leak of private information. To avoid that, one can activate encrypted email notifications, but then every member of the system MUST have encrypted email setup in their email client. As anyone who has ever tried to configure that in Outlook or Thunderbird can tell you, the installation of a certificate and the configuration of the client to use it are fraught with difficulties. Many people just give up. An ideal solution would be for the system to support plain-text email notification of task status changes as it does now, but with the option to not include the details, just the task title and the statement "The status of this task has changed. It is now assigned to you with XXXX Priority. Please see the task for details [link]". However, this is a relatively minor problem that does not detract significantly from our overall positive experience using the system. It's a strong solution.

Response from Planio

Hi Bob, Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. It is highly appreciated. Regarding our email update functionality, I completely agree with you that email is not a safe medium to transmit sensitive data. That's why we introduced OpenPGP encryption for all email notifications a while back. You can read my blog post about it here: http://plan.io/blog/post/90456288938/closing-the-email-encryption-loophole-with Unfortunately, setting up email encryption is still trickier than we wish it would be, depending on the email client you are using. However, we consider offering email notification encryption via OpenPGP to be the best of the options currently available to service providers like us. I will forward your feedback regarding the removal of certain information from the notification emails to our product team, though. Thanks again, please don't hesitate to get back to me at any time with any questions or feedback. ~ Jan Schulz-Hofen, Managing Director

Replied August 2015

Amy

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2022

Could be worse

Generally ugly looking and can be very clunky and frustrating to use. Overcomplicated for what we need. But it does the job for simple things, and I had a really good experience with customer support quickly fixing a bug.

Pros

Good customer support. Why does this field have a 40 character minimum?

Cons

It's too complicated when you just want simple issue tracking. Hard to understand relationship between projects/trackers/statuses/categories etc without spending some time - not at all intuitive. Not a very nice looking UI. Wiki seems to be perpetually a mess and hard to navigate, but maybe that's just how we use it. Defaults for agile boards with *every* status across the top are impossible to use.

User Profile

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2019

Useful tool for project management.

The obtaining of reports in relation to the hours worked, the assigned projects and the organizational structure is fantastic. We continue using Planio for all our projects. It allows us to optimize operations more and more.

Pros

It is an innovative application that has an intrinsic project management under an agile methodology. This allows creating sections, timelines, letters, labels, time for each activity, incorporation of members to the work team, monitoring of activities, recording of hours worked. It is a tool that has helped us a lot in the company, I always highlight its potential for the most precise planning of each reality in the provision of technological services.

Cons

Care must be taken when creating schedules, letters, tasks or tickets for any team member. It can cost very expensive. Well, this application can generate reports with multiple filters. In addition, it is tedious to eliminate tasks once completed and transferred to the production line. They have notifications by email, but they do it in excess.

Pepe

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2020

Planio review

Pros

As a whole is a fantastic product with neat hooks to help desk features. Easy to keep track of your ongoing projects. Repositories for your projects are also a plus being able to see an issue asociated revisions of your code.

Cons

Although depending on Redmine some APIs need more functionality specially regarding time tracking. Also need improvements in Gantts graphics presentations

Matthew

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

September 2015

Simple, Powerful, Fast, great customer Service...

Was using my own redmine cloud server instance but wanted something more stable and easy to manage for a corporate envioronment. Looked at Planio and another company. Both good, but the Planio UI is a more familiar redmine look and feel. The price plans are good, they actually have a free bronze plan which they don't advertise - good for 1 person operations. The customer service was very good. They were able to pull in my tasks from my old instance into the new instance, overnight. Then I had a couple of questions, and they always answered within a few hours. Note that they are in Germany so a question in the morning (US) might be answered same day, but one in the afternoon not until the next day. Response times seem good, so far anyway. I really like that they give you the repository for free - install tortoise on your clients and you have a managed, versioned, cloud repository in no time. Awesome. Oh, and the agile boards are included as part of their standard plans, which are very useful. All in all, extremely happy. Always liked redmine, but using planio to manage/host that is a no brainer. Have used redmine before in projects large and small, and once people understand what it is, productivity goes through the roof. I would say it doubles effective output. Many people don't understand what it is - they think that servicenow or MSProject or Sharepoint can do the same - and to some degree that's true. But redmine/planio takes all of that to the next level, makes it super easy and configurable, and provides an end to end solution all the way from Senior management right down to day to day team members.

User Profile

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2018

Fantastic tool Say "hello" to the agile projects.

Pros

Planio is fast and responds to requests efficiently. I have been using the tool to carry all the processes in an agile way, I can not deny your valuable contribution. Agile projects benefit a lot with these products based on agile operations in scrum.

Cons

The notification of Planio by email is framed in the general standard of notices. I think it is a very powerful tool, but at the moment of notifying, we only assume that it marks the details of the cards and nothing else. They can improve in that aspect.

Tanjina

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2021

Planio software review

Pros

I like the dashboard and project assign options

Cons

The pricing is high and has less user creation options

Ana

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2021

Great tool for our team

It's been a great experience so far, everything is working smoothly, many tools are available, user interface is clean and very easy to use and customer support is very responsive. In addition there is lots of flexibility in choosing the appropriate plan in terms of the number of projects and users.

Pros

Many tools are available, user interface is clean and very easy to use and customer support is very responsive. In addition there is lots of flexibility in choosing the appropriate plan in terms of the number of projects and users.

Cons

Not having the capability to import SVN .dump files into our new repositories on our own directly from the command line.

Reasons for switching to Planio

Cloudforge was discontinued.

Prabhat

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2022

Simplicity and Value together

Exceeds my expectation

Pros

Simple to install , access and agile board. Excellent support desk help.[SENSITIVE CONTENT] was able to understand my root challenges based on symptoms reported and as very effective in resolving that.

Cons

Helpdesk support during US working hours Ability to download into excel sheet anytime Training video, specially around use of time tracking. Ability to take back up

Reasons for choosing Planio

Light and Easy , Limited features but covers most of need .

Reasons for switching to Planio

Simplicity to instll, admin and use with distributed teams

Alexander

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

October 2015

Customer support and help with migration is great !

Actually I cannot say much about the tool yet, just started using it recently. I worked with redmine before and on the first impression plan.io looks like a very stable and cosistent setup with nice features like backup, agile board, timesheets and integrated repository. I chose it from many other redmine offerings. What I'd like to mention is a really great customer support. Plan.io offers free migration services at start. We had Redbooth as our previour task tracker and we needed to migrate all tasks and history from there. The migration was done very quickly (~1,5 workdays) - thanks to Jens Krämer and his team. What's really impressive for me is that they didn't ask for the data in some special format, I just provided them data from Redbooth as I had it and they did all format/encoding conversions and such things. That was very impressive and helpful. Thanks a lot guys ! And good luck with the product ! +1 loyal client from now :)

Todd

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2021

Great support

Pros

Support from Ema was fantastic, even when I was suspending my account. Product offers good features vs. cost, easy to use.

Cons

No major complaints, Redmine is a nice alternative to Jira if you want to focus on more work and less "playing with the ticketing system"

Reasons for switching to Planio

Ease of use, less feature bloat

Andy

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

November 2015

Excellent customer support

I found a minor layout issue with the new look and feel for the PlanIo Redmine site. I raised a ticket and within an hour I had received an acknowledgement of them being able to reproduce the problem and that an engineer had been assigned the issue. Louise Engel was the customer support person that I dealt with and she was very prompt and professional while handling this problem.

Matthew

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

August 2015

Great service with outstanding support.

Very pleased with the service - no performance problems and everything integrates and works nicely. Planio truly shines with support however: fast responses and always of a high and very professional quality. I'd be more than happy to recommend Planio to anyone who is looking for a project management platform.

Kai Olav

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

July 2015

Excellent PM-tool for small/medium projects

Excellent Redmine implementation, I really appreciate the Agile-plugins (burnup/burndown, Agile planning and Scrum board). The only weakness as a project tool for me is the Gantt. It's ok to view, but is not interactive. Not enough to lose a star though, this product is real value for money

Lorna

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

July 2015

Brilliant Customer Service

I would just like to thank you so much for the excellent customer service I have received from your member of staff Louise Engel. She has been very helpful responding to queries efficiently and effectively and always with great courtesy. She is an asset to your organisation.

Leandro

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

October 2015

At the moment, I am happy with Planio

I started a Planio account almost a week ago and I was supported by a team with a high professional quality. All my requests are solved and within the agreed time. In special, Jens Krämer, that has worked on my requests, did a good and professional job.

Ari

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

November 2015

Great service, excellent support

I was familiar with Redmine, so when I moved to the cloud, Planio was a natural choice. They were very accommodating in terms of tailoring a subscription that suited my needs and I am extremely satisfied with their support.

Tobias

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

July 2015

Flawless

The communication between the costumer and the company is very good. If you have any questions or problems you will get an answer right away. They help you with anything, big or small, and take you seriously.

Arie

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

August 2015

Insanely fast and useful support

I've had multiple support emails to "Holger Just | Planio GmbH ", Always received very fast and helpful responses. Thanks!

Matt

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2016

A really easy project planning product

I liked it because it is simple, easy to use and has a lot of great features and even a free plan if you just need a personal management platform.

Pros

I'm using it for bug tracking and project management. Its simplicity is really great.

Cons

Sometimes there can be too many options or options that aren't explained well.

Edgar

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT