All Rollbar Reviews

1-25 of 262 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Inderjeet

5,001 - 10,000 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed March 2021

Great Tool

User Profile

Jeremy

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Very helpful product

Generally we have had a really positive experience with Rollbar. It intergrates well with other tools and really helps focus on key issues rather that occasional issues

PROS

The deduplication works well for the most part, and the ability to capture lots of additional information (both automatically and manually) is great. Makes identifying what an issue could be really easy.

CONS

Doing custom searches look like they could be really useful but are is really slow compared with more general purpose logging tools like ELK/CloudWatch/Splunk and I wish it was possible to expand and change the time periods of the graphs.

Michał

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

The best error monitoring tool I ever used!

We used Rollbar for last few years and many projects and it always work great! Rollbar go fast forward for the last few years with a new features and improvements.

PROS

Rollbar is very easy to configure and use in our stack (Ruby + .NET + React). Rollbar gather error information with many details about situations it occurs. Interface is very intuitive and have option to set up many notification destinations (we use Slack + daily reports on mail).

CONS

We didn't experience any cons about Rollbar

Reason for choosing Rollbar

Rollbar is more intuitive and have a lot of integrations with existing frameworks like Vue, React, Rails

Daniel

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed July 2020

Not Very Helpful

PROS

It's great that it logs errors. And the grouping of errors is sometimes helpful.

CONS

That searching for anything other than the unique identifier is almost impossible. Found a work-around using RQL, but that is sometimes hours later by the time the RQL database is populated with recent errors... so basically, we have to reproduce and error and then hurry and click the errors at the top and hope we can maybe find it. It's worse than logging errors to a text file honestly... cause at least I could search that in a reasonable amount of time.

Reason for choosing Rollbar

We are looking at Raygun as a better alternative. The searching works and is super fast on their tags and even searching for error message strings. Please note that I do not speak on behalf of my company. I speak only from personal experience.

John

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Easy to use and setup

Brilliant, literally set it and capture you errors.

PROS

I've used a lot of error tracking tools in the past but I was really pleased with Rollbar. For node applications it's very well laid out, keys are provided for you server and your client setup. Errors are tracked and logged for your application, broken down by which side the error occured. And if an error has been recurring you can track it and log it easily, plus the emails give a good breakdown of the error from the code side.

CONS

None at present, I may like the UI navigation to be improved so you can administer the setup quicker but once it's in place it kind of runs itself.

Reason for choosing Rollbar

The documentation. Fit well with our setup and how recent the api libraries were updated.

Saransh

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Rollbar for Production Safety

PROS

The setup is very simple and the instant notifications for any unhandled issues make this product very attractive to use. It is very developer friendly.

CONS

I do not have anything to add which I find less useful.

Reason for choosing Rollbar

Initially, it was the default product from Heroku, but later we decided to stick with it.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Great Error reporting with minimal downtime

PROS

I have enjoyed how easy Rollbar is to set up with Ruby, Javascript and Ruby on Rails. Their libraries made it painless to set up and already start reporting errors. I don't know that half of the errors caught by Rollbar would have been fixed in the short turn around time as if we didn't have Rollbar. Rollbar is also user friendly and they are constantly putting up more features. My favorite feature is with a given error they include the stack-trace in my code and who wrote the code that is erroring out. This is very useful for debugging.

CONS

In short the downtime. Albeit very minimal, there have been some days I can remember that Rollbar was down for more than an hour and if I recall correctly a whole work day. These times it made it hard not to worry if anything is breaking or throwing errors. For this reason I have enjoyed having another performance monitoring product.

User Profile

Volodymyr

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2019

Robust reporting tool

Use this tool on one big project for all platforms (backend, web, mobile) and it is good enough to cover your needs in errors or debug info reporting. At the first glance it looks like it lacks features compared with other platforms, but after some time you understand that the product has everything you would need for successful project state monitoring.

PROS

Love the minimalistic UI, which keeps everything clear and understandable. Developers constantly add new features, like automatic events grouping, etc. Love to have all platforms on one Dashboard to look at reported error from different platforms point of view.

CONS

The quality of Android SDK isn't the top tier with not enough options for event reporting. Also had to so some adjustments for test suits, since in some cases the SDK wouldn't initialize correctly.

User Profile

Leigh

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Great Product

PROS

The live view and simplistic, but informative, interface

CONS

Nothing comes to mind with the web interface, but the mobile app is very limited - I cannot even expand the view of the log

Reason for choosing Rollbar

Ease of use & rapid integration

User Profile

Ariel

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Simple yet powerful monitoring

It's an excellent tool for monitoring and tracing back production issues. I would definitely recommend.

PROS

I get the notifications that matter to me about broken stuff in production, saving precious time and allowing me to be ahead of users complaints.

CONS

Rollbar has much more than what I actually use at this point, but I'd be using even more if I found the setup process to be smoother.

User Profile

Gustavo

Verified reviewer

Human Resources, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2020

Required for error tracking

We’ve implemented a database timeout so we receive a rollbar error whenever we have a slow query, and we can track the number of occurrences we have. It was very helpful

PROS

I’ve added rollbar to many projects and it was very simple and easy to integrate. Rollbar help and getting started was helpful. The tool is useful to understand what are the weakest parts of the applications and what are the most frequent source or errors.

CONS

The error grouping sometimes is not perfect and impacts in how much time I should dedicate to group errors properly in order to identify the real amount of errors and occurrences of the same problem in different parts of the application.

Archit

E-Learning, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2020

Robust product but issues in testability

Overall, I like Rollbar and I hope to see some improvements in its functionality in the future.

PROS

Rollbar's integration in our architecture is one of the easiest I have seen so far in terms of any small third-party service. A quick setup with token and environment, and you're done. I like how it can map the errors with timelines and usage. The most amazing thing is its seamless integration with Slack, to which we send all of our critical alerts.

CONS

I wrote a Go application for which Rollbar recently announced a client. The integration was easy as usual. However, I couldn't write unit tests around it. I wanted to mock the function calls using the widely accepted method of converting the function to a struct and call via an interface. However, neither the root `rollbar` nor the `rollbar.Client` could be restructured in that way. I finally had to remove the token from the testing environment to control the flow of error messages. Secondly, in our organisation people routinely shift from tribe to tribe to work on different features. And in some scenarios, certain individuals require temporary access to Rollbar platform to review the magnitude of error messages. I'd like if Rollbar adds an X days pass like feature, where I don't have to revoke their access manually.

Alexander

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2017

Motivating time saver

Motivating time saver April 01, 2017 12:38 I'm a Rollbar user since the very beginning of the project. Before Rollbar I've switched a few ways of dealing with logs. First, I was just reading logs when needed with tail and getting a weekly batch of errors by email. That was OK for local development and tiny projects but for bigger deployments that were useless because the amount of data. Then I've found some offline log aggregation tools and these were OK but still required exporting logs, running these tools and checking results. Rollbar automates all that. You're getting a realtime picture of your errors. You can sort messages by the number of occurrences thus getting a good list to work on. Another fun part is how it charges you. The more errors you have the more you pay. Rollbar motivates you to fix things to pay less. At first, I've tried it in personal projects then in a huge commercial project that is already running for more than 7 years. Rollbar saved me hundreds of hours and I'm glad I've stumbled upon it back then.

PROS

Saves time. Usability. Features.

CONS

One in half a year there's a lag between sending an error and seeing it analyzed. Not a big issue though.

Alex

Events Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2017

Error monitoring done right

We're Rollbar customers for a about two years, moved to Rollbar after trying few other log aggregation services but none of them had features we needed or didn't deliver on their promise. We're using Ruby on Rails, integration was a breeze, started receiving error messages in less than 5 minutes. The interface is easy to use, live feed works great showing errors as they come up, resolving issues and tracking deploys flows works perfectly. Also I can't recall when Rollbar had downtime or a bug, yet we see new gem releases regularly. I wish other services we use had such a robust infrastructure as Rollbar do. Also I'd like to mention their exceptional support, with very quick responses from highly qualified agents that solve your problems spot on. With Rollbar tools we manage to resolve majority of the issues as they happen, before customers contact our support teams.

PROS

Uptime, easy to use api, live feed, rql, people tracking, exceptional support

CONS

Unified dashboard between projects would be great, but can be implemented with their api

Anuj

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2020

Current State of Rollbar

PROS

I love the immediate notifications for errors as users see them. Shooting for "Rollbar Zero" on a team can be the best way to reap value from the product. It gives immense visibility into what's failing.

CONS

Why it's failing is not often immediately obvious looking at the rollbar; we have to use multiple observability tools to figure that out. I also am not a huge fan of the UI, it's slow and cluttered and deters me from using it all the time. - Grouping is not great - If Rollbar goes down or stops sending messages, a lot of visibility is taken away -- it's reliability could be a reason why we don't continue using it in the future.

Reason for choosing Rollbar

It's really easy to setup across the board and we don't need to maintain it much

Steven

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

A Good Product

PROS

The pricing structure. I have a bunch of small projects with low numbers of users.Per project pricing gets too expensive fast.

CONS

Having to fill out multiple free text areas in their marketing survey.

Reasons for switching to Rollbar

Cost to use with many small projects

Ryan

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed December 2020

Worst support I've dealt with

I reported a major bug to Rollbar 2 months ago. Rollbar support acknowledged the bug and said they opened a bug report and escalated it within their development team. I have since reached out asking for an update 4 times (1 month ago, 25 days ago, 15 days, and 1 day ago). I have received no replies at all. I'm shocked that a company would recognize a bug, say they would fix it, and then not reply at all.

PROS

I would not recommend rollbar at all given the way they have treated our issues and their lack of response.

CONS

They do not take major bugs seriously, and they will not fix them or even reply. Their error reporting does not point to the right file or line. They rely on an orig_trace to be accurate in order to trace issues back to the correct file and line, but that fundamental orig_trace is incorrect, causing all associated error reports to point to the incorrect file and incorrect line. I raised this bug with them 2 months ago.

Conrad

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Rollbar is great

Anytime a user of our site hits an error Rollbar catches it and tells us, and we have a great amount of information for debugging the error later.

PROS

-Has a great integration with our software stack (python + django)so setup is easy and it captures a great amount of debugging information out of the box -Groups errors nicely, but also moves them up when they occur again -Good alerting rules

CONS

It can be spammy if you have a lot of errors, it's not really Rollbar's fault and there are many tools to ignore spammy errors.

Reason for choosing Rollbar

Rollbar is more flexible and cheaper than the other solutions we looked at

Piotr

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY