User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(45)

45

4 stars

(9)

9

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Good all round features, excellent resource for the nursery. Parents love the app"

  • "Easy to use. Features that save lots of time. Professional but user friendly. "

  • "Easy to use. Parents and staff alike are very happy with it. "

  • Cons

  • "Find the tracking system a little bit confusing - however now it has been explained I understand but can be difficult to show group children's progress to other people who don't use the app"

  • "*Few problems with Live Feature but this is new. "

  • "Cant say much, percentages for forecasting occupancy can be tricky but that is linked in with session times etc."

Browse Famly Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 54 results

October 2019

Georgia from Jack and Jill Pre-School

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Great software - Easy and simple to use, really helped us centralise our information.

Overall we have had a great experience the past year, we hope for a long and positive relationship.

Pros

The fresh layout and ease of use. Having everything in one place and the fact it is live and updated for everyone. The support is great, being able to use an online chat service to get any answers you need. Suggestions can be made and some are taken on board and implemented really quickly.

Cons

There are a few things we would like to change about the software that aren' t so easy for example the lists you can get are limited, the viewing is sometimes a bit awkward (not filling the page etc), it doesn't print very well. We'd also love to make it so if someone is trying tpo sign in and enter a pick up time later than their planned bookings, it throws up an error message.

Reasons for Choosing Famly

It looks a lot nicer and feels much more easy to use.

Response from Famly

Replied October 2019

Hi Georgia, thank you for leaving a review for us. We love getting feedback from our customers and it's great to hear that you've had a great experience with Famly overall. I've passed on your comments to our Customer Success team regarding your suggestions for improvement and one of the team will be in touch soon. - Marcus

February 2020

Harvey from Cherry Tree Nurseries

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Excellent Managment software

Saves me time having all the information in one place.

Pros

Saves me so much time Everything all in one place such as invoices, learning journeys, reports, safeguarding info, forms, sleepcharts, accident and incident forms, register etc Customer service is great take on board any recommendations we have

Cons

Cost could be a bit better and would like to do staff rotas

Reasons for Choosing Famly

It has everything in one place and an easy to use format

Response from Famly

Replied February 2020

Hi Harvey, thanks for your review! Great to hear how much time Famly is saving you and your team. Staff rotas have recently been released as an add-on within Famly. Feel free to reach out to our team by email (support@famly.co) or phone (+44 20 3514 4069) to discuss this. - Marcus

May 2020

Matthew from Nursery Rhymes - Leicester

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

FAMLY - our first month

Pros

We are still quite new to the software but are learning many new features each day. We have already seen a much increased dialogue with parents through the newsfeed and messages.

Cons

There is nothing I do not like but if had to choose then possibly the bill payer set-up, I think payments would be easier to just be attached to the childs account not individual parent accounts.

Reasons for Choosing Famly

As a all in one package it made sense to use all the facilities available so both staff and parents have just 1 app to utilise.

November 2019

Adam from Nursery Village Ltd

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2019

Famly Childcare Software

Integrated childcare and invoicing platform.

Pros

Integrated solution for many childcare functions, with a simple user interface.

Cons

Features developed are often not completed to get full value from them, or development team don't have the resources to address what nurseries feel are key or urgent changes.

Response from Famly

Replied November 2019

Hi Adam, thanks for leaving your feedback! I'm glad to hear that overall, your experience with Famly has been positive. I'm sorry to hear you feel that some features requests haven't been addressed, we work with a lot of different early years settings and are always wanting to improve the experience for all users. I've passed on your comments to our customer success team though and they'll be in touch. - Marcus

April 2020

Claire from Rise and Shine Early Years

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

A great App which makes running a Nursery so much less complicated!

Supportive, caring team who are always available to help

Pros

So easy to use! Parents all love the app and how they can feel involved in their child's learning, they take a comfort from finding out what their child is doing throughout their day

Cons

Find the tracking system a little bit confusing - however now it has been explained I understand but can be difficult to show group children's progress to other people who don't use the app

Response from Famly

Replied April 2020

Hi Claire, thanks for your feedback! We're so pleased that Famly's working well for you and that the parents are happy! We're always working to improve our platform so I've passed on your comments to our team about tracking. If you ever have any questions, please don't hesitate to email us at support@famly.co.uk - Marcus

November 2019

Clare from Harvey Bears Nursery & Preschool

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Individual & Family Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Great entry level tracking and communications software

Really good. Once you learn your way around I find it very useful and easy to use.

Pros

The basic functions we need are free. As a charity we are always strapped for cash so being free it’s a huge bonus!

Cons

The interface has limited compatibility with older devices and the dynamic content doesn’t always resize or refresh well on these older devices.

Reasons for Choosing Famly

I found the user-friendliness in terms of the interface and organisational structure much better and will be easier to grasp for older members of staff who are less confident with technology and for parents.

Response from Famly

Replied November 2019

Hi Clare, thanks for your great review. I'm glad to hear that you're able to utilise a lot of our free features to help out in your charity setting. We're glad it works so well for you! - Marcus :)

December 2019

Lizzie from Woodlands Nursery Ltd

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Famly Feedback- Woodlands Nursery Ltd

Famly is great and a very helpful team behind the software! If they can't help you they will try everything to find an answer or solve the issue. We would like to see our points for improvement (please see these in the cons section) still being put forward and changes made where you can.

Pros

Famly is very user friendly Services users have nothing but positive things to say about this software. Communication has massively improved between all who use this service. Great to have everything under one umbrella, not more than one app. Overview of staffing, children and profiles. If we have something we want added to the app, this is taken on board. We are all very happy with it.

Cons

There is no 'out of office' for staff (messaging) Documents section only accessible to staff. We would require a separate documents section for parents to see documents we upload and choose to share, for example Policies and Procedures. If a child hasn't started but register and you make a mistake on the room moves this can be hard to amend without seeking help. Can this be made the same as children who are registered? Can bookings lines automatically match room moves (keep room moves manual) without manually putting them in every time, this would help keep a track of children being in the right charge band? Logs you out too quickly, we know this is a safety feature but can this be changed to suit the setting, no devices out with building for confidential issues. Can you automatically select child who are signed in on a particular day to select all for posts about news or activities, instead of selecting each individual child. Could we get a colour code/ letter in icon to differentiate between breakfast, AM/PM snack, lunch and tea? Medication app like the meals so when we can notify parents when a child has had medication. Can we have Child Development Milestones on the Child Development app as well as the curriculums. Manager signature section in accidents/ incident forms (like witness/ other staff). A function to draft accident/incident so this does not disappear if a manager cannot sign/send immediately. Messages mark all as read/unread. Bump posts to top of news feed.

Reasons for Choosing Famly

We had a good induction to it over the phone and given a thorough induction shown on the computer. Good quick friendly staff willing to help us. We were shown lots of aspects to it that involved many staff which helped us see an overview and what was helpful to certain staff members.

Response from Famly

Replied December 2019

Hi Lizzie, thanks for leaving such a positive review, it's great to hear how Famly's been able to improve your overview and communication at Woodlands. Thanks as well for leaving some feedback on features you'd like us to include in the platform, we're always very keen to get input from our customers so we can continue to improve. I've passed on your comments to a member of our Customer Success team and they'll soon be in touch. - Marcus :)

March 2020

Manjot from Creative Minds Nurseries Ltd

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Famly experience

Saving time with invoices and payroll.

Pros

It is quite easy to use if you think logically. Saves time in collating information and bulk invoicing can be done with 2 clicks. Helpful in keeping digital record of staff, children attendance and absence.

Cons

Invoicing could be more precise in rounding up or down on monthly figures. New features could be explained more thoroughly for people who are not that tech savvy. Limited record keeping for Montessori settings.

Response from Famly

Replied March 2020

Hi Manjot, thanks for your feedback! Please feel free to contact our support team and they'll be happy to go through how the rounding is worked out (famly.co/support). Regarding new features, we're always aiming to ensure that our customers can understand and use them as soon as possible by publishing support articles and offering phone, email and chat support so anytime you're unsure please do reach out! - Marcus

June 2020

Tamara from Nerlana ltd

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Brilliant Management Tool

brilliant app / 5* customer services

Pros

almost a complete nursery management tool with way less paperwork,

Cons

Nursery visitors logbook would be beneficial key word search communication (Messages/News feed)

Reasons for Choosing Famly

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] her enthusiasm was great, she gave me for some weeks trail with support and allowed me to discover the abilities of the software and I was hooked

Response from Famly

Replied June 2020

Hi Tamara, thanks for your review! It's great to hear things are going well with you and that Famly's helping you reduce paperwork and streamline the nursery.

May 2020

Claire from Corfe Castle Community PreSchool

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Famly Review

It's been great. It has improved our invoicing system, it's transparant and the reporting is great. The staff team are brilliant, regularly in contact to chek we're okay and they send out lots of useful information particularly during covid 19, they are very knowledgable about childcare and education as well.

Pros

Invoicing Room planning Reporting Staffing hours

Cons

I would like to see incident and accident reports on Staff members I would like to highlight groups of children ie siblings to book multiple sessions

Reasons for Choosing Famly

While the more expensive of the options we looked at, it offered a more rounded solution that all members of staff could use. It's been great and worth the money.

June 2017

Jenny from Funclubs Ltd

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

I can honestly say my life has been transformed after moving to Famly as I have so much more time.

easy to use and rate the company.So far I have not found using Famly frustrating in anyway nor do I dislike any part of it. The Famly team are developing and updating the system regularly, not that this is a hindrance as the system does not shut down for updates, but they are adding further improvements. You can see that they are responding to how Famly is used with these updates to make it better. The Famly support team are in touch to ensure everything is going well, they also get in touch directly with the staff team asking questions which it seems is also informs how Famly is improved further.

Pros

Famly is so easy to set up and use, very intuitive and so quick to work on. With the added bonus of the app I can now get access to all the information I need whenever and wherever I am. The settings allow for the staff to have the relevant access for their job role, this is great as there are so many functions other than invoicing which Famly can be used for, it really is a one stop shop for everything you need. The staff team love it and even those who would usually shy away from technology are happily getting involved. The parents are communicating much more often as it is so easy to send messages/photos back and forth. The parents are also finding the invoicing/payments overview very useful so they can manage their account easily, this contains all the information they need and again is simple to read so no explanation from me is necessary, this again saves so much time as previously I had to send regular breakdowns to parents. The support team at Famly are quick to respond and help resolve any issues. They are always on hand to ask questions and provide great training and support with the set up. But other than the odd glitch there have not been many questions or need for the training support as Famly really is very easy to use and work on. I am in no way an IT expert but Famly is so intuitive that you can easily and quickly do what you need whenever and wherever you need to, with so much time saved I am now able to focus on the jobs I never would of got to previously.

April 2019

D from TRP

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Incredible preschool management software

We used to use ProCare but found it to be incredibly clunky. We the switched to Sandbox software for a year but found they were not innovating very fast. We finally found FAMLY and haven't looked back since.

Pros

The daily attendance, the class planning (so easy for admissions season), the newsfeed (Facebook style area where we post photos, updates, videos, etc.), the calendar/RSVP...so much to love!

Cons

The way the billing is handled in FAMLY is confusing to our parents. Our families register for a certain schedule (e.g. M/W/F) for the entire semester or year and then pay either monthly or by semester. The invoices are not straight-forward. And if we add a random adhoc charge (e.g. for a shirt, for a drop in day, for after care, etc.) we have to generate an entirely new invoice instead of just adding the charge and letting the families see updated balance. Our parents also get confused in the messaging area...it's still not clear that they are messaging the TEACHERS only vs the entire class...so some parents don't send the message because they're worried it will go to all the parents instead of just the teachers. A simple fix, but it hasn't been done. Wish USA had option to have parents pay invoices by credit card, along with option to "pass on" the 3% credit card fees to the parents. With there was Attendance-Based Billing (e.g. if a child stays past 1pm charge them a flat fee, if a child is picked up late at the end of the day charge them a per minute late fee, etc.)

November 2019

Rachel from Wise Owls

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Review

I have found this software to be far better than what we were using before. It has made communication across different floors and shifts a lot easier. The visual nature of the way information is displayed for each 'room' of children has saved a great deal of time.

Pros

The sliders to show much food the children have eaten at meal/snack times is very useful. It is great that you can add things to the menu to tailor it and make things quicker. Easy to use.

Cons

Some parents have said that food amounts (e.g all, most, some) do not appear on iphones. I find it hard to write group observations when the children have different assessments in EYFS and COEL (various ages). It would be useful if there was a way to 'copy' an observation so that you can keep the pictures and some content but leave the child and EYFS/COEL blank in order to tailor those to each child in the group. Some children have a sleep limit. It would be amazing if this could be marked for children so that an alert goes off when they are due to be woken. Sometimes staff in the sleep room change and it can be hard calculating 7 different wake up times from the time each child has been marked to have fallen asleep. It would be great to be able to upload more than one video in an observation.

Response from Famly

Replied November 2019

Hi Rachel, thank you for your great review! It's wonderful to hear how well Famly is going overall in your setting. I've passed on your feedback to our Customer Success team and Ruby will be in touch with you soon to discuss your comments. - Marcus :)

November 2019

Rachel from Leo's Den Nursery

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Great tool to encourage parent partnership and motivating staff too.

I can't fault the support from FAMLY when we have any problems. The app is so easy to use and such a great tool to share information with parents. Beautiful learning journeys for our children including videos that they will look back on.

Pros

We use the daily news feed to share their children's day with parents. This is a great tool to use and a conversation starter during collection with our older children and parents. Parents find it easy to share their children's interest and achievements with the parent observations and help with our in the moment planning.

Cons

Difficult to answer this as the things I don't like is the forecast. However I have not explored this and how it works so not sure I am set up correctly. It is on my to do list to ask for support on this.

Reasons for Choosing Famly

It reminded me of Facebook and that parents would engage more with something they know. The handover being available before pick up helped us a lot for a less congested collection time in the evenings.

Response from Famly

Replied November 2019

Hi Rachel, thanks for your great review! It's so good to hear that Famly is going well for you at Leo's Den. Whenever you'd like a hand with forecasting, please get in touch with our friendly team. The different ways to contact them can be found here: https://famly.co/support/ - Marcus :)

October 2019

Craig from Downview Nursery

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Excellent management system

Overall very positive and will continue to use daily. Hopefully Famly take on board suggestions and ideas we have put forward to them to further improve and streamline processes for settings in the UK.

Pros

Famly provides an easy-to-use nursery (preschool) management and parent contact system. From managing child records and data, to session management and learning journeys, to sharing activities with individual parents or the whole setting. It also handles payments seamlessly and effectively and provides a full automated system handling invoice payments. Famly is kept up-to-date with EYFS, ECAT, CoEL and SEN framework links that can be added to journeys, full cohort tracking, and observations with next steps.

Cons

Famly is still a developing system, however they do seem to enjoy feedback from nurseries. At present there is no easy way to manage 30-hour extended entitlement codes or NI numbers, nor can you do any kind of planning. At present we have to do our plans in Word and then attach/post screenshots to the child's/nursery news feed.

Reasons for Choosing Famly

More modern looking, easier to use.

Response from Famly

Replied October 2019

Hi Craig, thanks for your review, it's great to hear Famly's going well for you at Downview. I've passed on your comments to our Customer Success team and they will be in touch! - Marcus

November 2019

Carole from Action for Children

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Couldn't do without it!

The time it used to take to generate plans & send invoices has decreased quite considerably as it is so easy to do. The Famly app has everything you need in one place and is easy to do and explain. Parents love it, mostly as they can see updates/pictures daily from their child's key worker. If there has been any issues or difficulties, these have been dealt with in a timely manner from the support team.

Pros

Everything! I literally couldn't do without it now that it has been implemented within our company. Since using the app I have noticed much more parent interaction - I can see which parents use the app and access the information that I share. It is easy enough for staff to use within a busy Nursery environment. We are just starting to use the Child Development section, however I know that this will eventually save lots of time when analysing cohort data and evaluating support for the children. I manage 2 Nurseries so this provides me with the same information for both, which means I can analyse both/either no matter where I am.

Cons

At the moment there isn't anything I don't like!

Response from Famly

Replied November 2019

Hi Carole, thanks for your great review! It's brilliant to see what a difference Famly has made for you, the staff and parents at Action for Children. I hope this continues into the future! - Marcus :)

December 2019

Sonia from Sunshine Day Nursery

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Great app

We have used famly for some time now and we have evolved alongside the app. My son Josh was the one who championed this product and got everyone onboard. He worked very closely with the team at first and they helped us to make it work for us. The team were great. It’s not as easy now to address things we feel would improve the product but hopefully we will be able to overcome this as we do have a few ideas we feel could help to make it better

Pros

Easy to use and everything in one place.

Cons

Not as easy to see some parts of the documents apps on a smartphone

Reasons for Choosing Famly

It had everything in one place and the team listened. They worked with us to support our transition

Response from Famly

Replied December 2019

Hi Sonia, thanks for leaving a review for us! It's great to hear Famly's working so well for you at Sunshine Day Nursery. In terms of improvements to the app, we're pleased to announce we've just launched our new community which you can find here: https://community.famly.co/. In it, you're able to get help and request new features (click Join the conversation). You're also able to vote for features other people might have suggested. It would be great to see your ideas in there! - Marcus

June 2017

Nikki from Little Learners Pre school

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Great software, makes everything so easy and customer service is outstanding!

It's made the whole of my admin role much easier. As a manager of a small but busy Pre school setting I wear many hats! This software has made invoicing, registering, keeping parents contact details in to date and keeping in touch with parents and staff much much simpler. One of my best decisions this year!

Pros

Its intuitive. You can easy see how to do things. It's great at increasing parent partnership and definitely makes admin much easier. Parents can update their own records enabling you to jeep up to date quickly and easily with changes of contact details. Parents can see exactly how much they owe, when they paid, and with what. Staff are able to register children quickly and easily with a touch of a button (parents can also do this too or even the children as they enter the setting) You can keep on top of who's being collected by who and when. The newsfeed works exactly like Facebook and our parents have all engaged with this system as they understand immediately how it works. You can send individual messages to certain parents as well as to groups. You can tell who has seen the messages as well as who's registered with the system so it's easy to target those parents who haven't. The customer service is amazing, the service from start to set up I'd easy to follow and someone is always on hand to give you support and advice. This service continues one set up and launch is complete. I love the way they are willing to listen to their uses about additions and changes that might be useful to add for the future.

Cons

The only downside is that parents need an email address to register. We only have one parent this affects.

December 2019

Emma from Hackenthorpe Hall Nursery

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Excellent product

After using other software in the past and abandoning it for various reasons, FAMLY has proved to be an excellent product. It caters for everything we need and the team are always open to suggestions on further improving what is already very useful. The team are on hand to help and support with whatever we need to ensure the smooth running of our provision.

Pros

Dedicated and reliable Support team who really care about the software suiting our business needs. Flexibility and Responsiveness of the program Easy to rectify changes or mistakes Useful features included in the software which ensures all areas of my business needs are acknowledged Customers and staff love the app and it has improved communication in all aspects of the business’ day to day running.

Cons

So far I have not found any negatives with this software.

Reasons for Choosing Famly

We tried CHILDSPLAY on a few occasions over the last 20 years but found the support team unapproachable and the product inflexible and difficult to use.

Response from Famly

Replied December 2019

Hi Emma, thanks for letting us know how well Famly's going in your nursery. It's brilliant to hear how we've been able to improve communication and address your business needs. - Marcus :)

October 2019

Catherine from Priesthills Nurseries LTD

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Saves time, improves parent communication, streamlines processes

Overall this is a great tool for saving time for nursery managers and teams and is loved by all our parents and staff

Pros

This is realy easy to use - it shows you all of the children who are in on any given day, allows you to plan attendance, complete learning journeys, instantly updates parents on care - such as sleep, meals etc. Ability to use for accident reporting, invoicing, revenue forcasting - does pretty much everything you need in a nursery at the same time as providing a user friendly "social media" type format for communication with parents.

Cons

Its still fairly new and not everything works perfectly for every setting yet - but all of the important things do and famly are really quick to respond to feedback and are constantly developing the product.

Response from Famly

Replied November 2019

Hi Catherine, thanks for leaving us your feedback! Really good to hear how Famly has helped at Priesthills. I'm pleased to hear that you've found the customer support effective too, we're always working to improve! - Marcus

October 2019

Ella from Out There Kindergarten

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Product Review

Good

Pros

Layout of profiles, overview of rooms, tags, lists

Cons

The layout of the calendar. Would be easier to be laid out like google calendar- option to see full month

Response from Famly

Replied November 2019

Hi Ella, thanks for leaving a review! It's good to hear that Famly is going well for you at Out There Kindergarten. We're always working to improve the overall experience for our users so I've passed on your comments about the calendar to our team. - Marcus

November 2019

Hannah from Flying Start Nursery

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Famly App

Pros

Connectivity with parents and staff - easy to message and add to the news feed. Invoicing & Bookings - all in one place

Cons

Cost of packages - we would like to bolt on additional features from the next package but it seems to be quite an increase in cost for the additional extras that we would like. It would be great to choose some at a smaller, more affordable cost to the business. Also messages - its annoying that they disappear when you dont send them instantly - they should remain in drafts like the news feed function.

Response from Famly

Replied November 2019

Hi Hannah, thanks for leaving a review for us. It's great to hear you've had a positive experience so far with Famly! Sorry to hear there've been some features you've wanted which haven't been possible to add-on. I've passed on this, and the feedback regarding draft messages to our customer success team and they'll be in touch. - Marcus

April 2020

Janna from Wiggles and Giggles Day Nursery

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Changed our nursery for the better

Very positive

Pros

Its features have reduced our work load and calculates things automatically for us. I can look ahead as far as I want and new additions are included in everything. The communication with parents aspect is incredible and easy.

Cons

I feel sometimes there are limitations e.g. recording absence of staff and children is either sick or holiday when there is multiple reasons and lack of being able to put in rotas so I can see if I have enough staff in advance.

Response from Famly

Replied April 2020

Hi Janna, thanks for your feedback! It's great to hear that you're happy with Famly and that it is saving you time in your setting. I've passed on your comments to our Customer Success team and if you ever have any questions about how to get better use out of Famly, please feel free to contact them here: support@famly.co.uk

June 2017

Paula from Almond Park Nursery

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

Famly is a key communication tool for our business

Nothing we dislike. The more we use Famly, we are able to see how additional functions could help us and will relay these to the support team.

Pros

Famly helps us manage our business as its easy to keep track of numbers so we maintain correct staff/children ratios. Staff and parent/carers have found it very easy and their feedback has been very positive. The best thing has been the improved means to communicate with our parents/carers. They love to see posts with photos and video of children's activities during the day and keep track of their child's key care needs e.g. sleep times and nappies. The team at Famly are keen to receive feedback and suggestions for new functions and their response to queries is excellent.

January 2020

Tina from Building Blocks Nursery

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Feedback

Pros

Invoicing and individual learning journeys.

Cons

I think the private messages to parents should be accessible within the child's file as sometimes it is needed to revisit an old conversation but there is no easy way to find it.

Response from Famly

Replied January 2020

Hi Tina, thanks for your feedback! Great to see that everything's going well for you with Famly. I've passed on your comments to our Customer Success team and one of them will be in touch about the messages. - Marcus :)

October 2019

Catherine from Wise Owls Nursery & OSC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Couldn’t live without it

When the Care inspectorate visited, they said it was the best system that they had come across. I could retrieve all the data they requested. I literally couldn’t live without it.

Pros

I love that I can send batch invoices, take booking, complete learning journeys and message parents. Accident forms, log naps and nappies.

Cons

I would love it to include staff rotas! Occasionally if I’m mid-message and am then needed on the nursery floor, when I come back, I’ve been logged out and lose the message. It would be good to edit actual time of arrival of child (as you can with sleep, nappies)

Reasons for Choosing Famly

It had everything, particularly once it had the Scottish Curriculum.

Response from Famly

Replied November 2019

Hi Catherine, thanks for your great review! We loved hearing what a difference Famly has made at Wise Owls. I've passed on your comments about logging in and out and changing arrival time. We're actually working on staff rotas right now so keep an eye out in the near future! - Marcus

November 2019

Anna from Kingswood prep School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Feedback on our use of Famly

very positive experience

Pros

Very user friendly. Liked by management, staff and parents. Essential for forward planning in the nursery.

Cons

Various options haven't quite met our needs - accident reports, administration of suncream and medication, permissions for various users. However Famly have responded to our requests and many of these have been changed over the year.

Response from Famly

Replied November 2019

Hi Anna, thank you for leaving us a review, it's great to hear that Famly is going well for you at Kingswood Prep! I've passed on your comments to our Customer Success team and if you ever have any concerns or questions, please don't hesitate to contact them here: support@famly.co.uk - Marcus

November 2019

nazli from elmore kindergarten

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Famly_Review

Pros

Ease of use, everything held in one place, friendly for parents to use, great communication tool

Cons

As we have 4 nurseries, and finances are completed centrally I wish I could give each nursery 'READ ONLY' access to the booking plans and invoices section - as it stands because I am concerned they will inadvertently delete something/there's no read only access...they can't see this information and that makes things less transparent for them, more queries for me to deal with.

Response from Famly

Replied November 2019

Hi Nazli, thank you for leaving us a review. It's great to see that Famly is going well for you and the team at Elmore Kindergarten. I've passed on your feedback regarding booking plans and invoicing to our customer success team and they'll be in touch. If you ever have any questions please don't hesitate to reach out. - Marcus :)

January 2020

Tom from Naturally Learning

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Brilliant Software

Exceptional

Pros

Has centralised and simplified all nursery management. Both my staff and parents of the nurseries love it. I have control over all invoices, debt, team management, booking patterns etc. I even used it to get an Outstanding rating from Ofsted when asked for evidence to show a specific piece parent communication from 7 months before the inspection.

Cons

Cant say much, percentages for forecasting occupancy can be tricky but that is linked in with session times etc.

Response from Famly

Replied January 2020

Hi Tom, thanks for leaving a review! It's really good to hear that Famly continues to be beneficial to you and the staff at Naturally Learning! - Marcus :)

October 2019

Caroline from Puddleducks of Liss Ltd

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Keep it in the Famly!

Easy to do invoices, work out room planning in advance and communicate with parents. I like being able to see everything live.

Pros

That everything is in one place and easily accessible to parents

Cons

I think the cost is a little high but having the good customer service makes it a little better

Response from Famly

Replied October 2019

Hi Caroline, thank you for leaving a review for us! We're glad to hear you and the parents enjoy using Famly and that you're satisfied with the level of customer service provided! - Marcus

May 2020

Cheyenne from Little Engineers Nursery

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Happy Customers

No longer having to do manual invoices

Pros

*Quite easy for staff to use *Parents are able to use the app *Majority of parents enjoy using the app *Famly are happy to help *Famly take on board customer views

Cons

*Few problems with Live Feature but this is new.

Response from Famly

Replied May 2020

Hi Cheyenne, thanks for leaving us your feedback! We're really glad to hear you enjoy using Famly and it's helped out a lot in your setting. You're right that Famly Live is a new feature but we're continuing to work on improving this. - Marcus

February 2020

Hayley from The Cabin

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Easy to set up and use

Pros

Great software, it was really easy to set up and the customer support were knowledgeable, friendly and easy to contact. We've been using it for around 6 months and it has made our account monitoring much easier and its a great way to share information with parents.

Cons

The only 'negative' I have found is that lists of children (for example late payments) are in alphabetical order by first name rather than surname- this can add a bit of time on when reviewing information.

Response from Famly

Replied March 2020

Hi Hayley, that's great to hear, especially that Famly was so easy to set up and has helped with parent communication. I've passed on your feedback to the team regarding lists of children. - Marcus

October 2019

MISS KIRSTY from Smiley Stars Nursery

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Famly in Nursery Setting

Pros

Communication tool that is excellent. Our service users love this and love how easy it is to get instant updates on their child without having to call. A quick message between parents and keyworkers is all it takes. Parents are able to see live updates of their child's day as staff log their food, sleeps and toileting.

Cons

Software can be glitchy at times. Find myself having to restart app quite often.

Response from Famly

Replied November 2019

Hi Kirsty, thanks for leaving us a review! We're really glad to hear how well Famly's going for you at Smiley Stars. Sorry to hear you sometimes need to restart the app, please make sure your device and Famly are up to date and if the issue persists, please email our Customer Success team here: support@famly.co - Marcus

February 2018

Leaha from happy feet day nursery

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

it has saved us some much time as a management team, allowing us to spend more with the children.

TIME

Pros

everything is all in one place, from invoicing to child development. makes life very easy for a busy nursery.

Cons

child development app as a nursery some of our parents don't us famly as English is an additional language or they don't have access to the internet freely and don't get to see the child's observations and assessments unless shown, and when we print these off for a child's development file it misses photos off, which is what most of our parents enjoy most about observation. Aswell as a nursery we like to involve our parents as much as possible and think it would be brillant if parent could also make post about their children.

November 2019

Toni from Wolds childcare

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Review

Fantastic! I love the system - it have made my job slightly easier!

Pros

I can see what all the settings are doing - what children and staff are in each day, what activities have been sent on news feed. Invoices can be sent out as a batch to the whole setting, as long as you have done your booking forms correctly. Instant msg to parents Saved on paper massively You can see when a parents has ‘seen’ a post! Which has helped massively when parents question things that they were unaware about and you can prove that they saw the msg on newsfeed at such and such date.

Cons

Logs you out quickly When you search a child’s name - doesn’t necessarily come up as the first child

Response from Famly

Replied November 2019

Hi Toni, thank you for leaving such a positive review of Famly. It makes us so happy to see how settings like Wold's Childcare are able to save time, reduce paperwork and improve parent interactions through Famly. I've passed on your comments to our team about log out times and searchability but hope that your experience overall continues to be a good one! - Marcus

November 2019

Denise from SPL Education Ltd

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Excellent software

This software does everything we need as a business.

Pros

Easy to use. Parents and staff alike are very happy with it.

Cons

Nothing at all. We love everything about it.

Response from Famly

Replied November 2019

Hi Denise, thanks for leaving a review for us. It's so good to hear how well Famly is working for you at SPL Education! - Marcus :)

November 2019

WENDY from LITTLE EINSTEINS

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Famly review

Fantastic parent partnership tool Easy payment scheme Overall good investment

Pros

Good all round features, excellent resource for the nursery. Parents love the app

Cons

Children that have left not on search Sibling accounts could be connected so that addresses etc are one imputted once Some problems with setting up bill payer when there are siblings

Reasons for Choosing Famly

Excellent customer service Time given to view and sample product

Response from Famly

Replied November 2019

Hi Wendy, thanks for your great review! It's wonderful to hear how well Famly is going for everyone at Little Einsteins. I've passed on your feedback regarding the sibling accounts to our customer success team as well. - Marcus :)

November 2019

Kerry from Kerry’s childcare

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Happy Childminder

Pros

I like how easy it is to Understand and use and that it has everything included from daily dairies to photos. I find it easy to use which is great as I’m not very good with technology.

Cons

There is nothing I don’t like, it’s so easy to use.

Reasons for Choosing Famly

It has all I need from daily dairies, learning journeys and trackers and my parents like the daily news feed.

Response from Famly

Replied November 2019

Hi Kerry, thanks for your great review! It's good to hear how useful Famly is for your child-minding business. - Marcus

February 2017

Josh from Sunshine Day Nursery Ltd.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

We love Famly!

I spent a long time looking for suitable software that would seamlessly fit with our daily routine and help my staff to plan, organise and communicate (with myself, each other and parents). Much of the software that I found was outdated, clunky and no longer fit for purpose. When I spoke with the team at Famly they just seemed to get it and have an understanding of what nurseries want (and also some features that we didn't even realise we would benefit from). The Famly team have been really receptive to our numerous suggestions and requests with many of them being fulfilled almost immediately and others currently in development. We have excellent routes to communication with the team and they're really quick to resolve any issues or technical problems. I'd happily recommend Famly to any nursery thinking of implementing software to help their setting flow better and to give them more time to spend with the children

Pros

Intuitive User friendly Clean and simple design Safe and secure

May 2020

Leanne from Spring - Bedlington

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Family Review

Famly is amazing in a number of ways but most of all, it allows me fulfil my daily duties with ease :)

Pros

Famly is your one stop shop in childcare and education. It with holds all of the essential information required for me and my team to do our job to the best of our ability and it is all with held securely within this amazing app!

Cons

Locked in dates are sometimes a bit tricky as you may have a child who has withdrawn his place within that time period. An additional feature where the desired leaving date could be added would be purposeful.

December 2019

Kim from Fogo Nursery School Trust

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Easy to use

Easy invoicing, good for engaging parents, staff friendly. Excellent customer service!

Pros

Easy to use. Features that save lots of time. Professional but user friendly.

Cons

Seemed expensive but saved a lot of time.

Reasons for Choosing Famly

Increased functionality and customer support.

Response from Famly

Replied December 2019

Hi Kim, thank you for leaving such a great review! We're glad to hear about how much value Famly has provided in your setting. - Marcus

November 2019

Julie-Anne from Julie-Anne’s Early Years Education & Childcare

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Famly has been a game changer!

I’ve thoroughly enjoyed it and have no plans to switch to another software.

Pros

There are lots of things! Reduced paperwork, all family members of the children can use it, with relevant access restrictions, it is user friendly for parents, like social media which encourages parents to write comments and give their feedback. It is aesthetically pleasing and other software I trialled was daunting for a small childminding setting. Also, it’s free!

Cons

I think the only thing could be a bit mite explanation around completing the observations/ assessments at the beginning as I got a bit lost and couldn’t quite find a detailed enough guidance amongst all the guidance available.

Response from Famly

Replied November 2019

Hi Julie-Anne, thanks for your great review! We're glad you enjoy using our free package. - Marcus

December 2019

Teresa from Ashdown Day NURSERY

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Nursery review

Pros

Ease of use, all parents needs in one place, familiar layout to social media platforms, invoicing

Cons

Some of the reporting features, data tracking

Reasons for Choosing Famly

Only needed one system, ease of use

Response from Famly

Replied December 2019

Hi Teresa, thanks for leaving us a review! Great to hear that Famly's working well for you in your setting. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our friendly team if you ever have any questions, you can contact them here: famly.co/support - Marcus :)

February 2017

Elizabeth from Free Range Urban Kids

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

No job is too big, no query too small

Famly have listened to our needs and shaped this fantastic software program to suit our specific setup and tailored it to our setting. No task is too big and is immediately looked into. This software will benefit the nursery manager as well as the FD. From simple registration of both children and staff, to invoicing as well as having information about each child to hand (allergies, emergency contacts) this management software program gives you back time! It comes highly recommended.

Pros

It gives you TIME back! It does the work for you. Both on a management and FD level. Helps with running payroll, invoicing and hopefully soon also debt chasing!

Cons

sign in/out not currently compatible on mobile phone only iPad.

November 2019

Lesley from Flying start childcare ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

All you need in one place

Pros

Ease of set up. Ease of use. All development catered for

Cons

Sometimes runs a little slow. Some features don’t work on tablets well but great on computer.

Response from Famly

Replied November 2019

Hi Lesley, thanks for leaving your feedback. It's great to hear Famly's working well for you and the team at Flying Start! - Marcus

May 2020

Dezra from Bridge End House Nursery

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Great app

By far the best thing is being able to be in contact with our parents and children. We can chat or discuss issues whenever. This saves having to make time in the day or making appointments.

Pros

Everything we need to do our job is in one place. We can even sign in and out of work, we can be constantly in contact with each other and our parents

Cons

The app is fantastic no issues but signing in to do this review I had to put primary education, there is no where for nurseries

February 2018

Georgina from Buckingham Gardens Day Nursery

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Famly are fantastic

Saves us lots of time and keeps us organised.

Pros

The system they have created really helps us with the day to day running of our nursery and many previously time consuming tasks such as invoicing takes a matter of minutes. We love the learning journey feature and our parents do too! It is also a great way to keep in touch with them. The customer support couldn't be better any questions or queries are dealt with straight away

May 2017

Haley from Bright Eyes Childcare Ltd

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

The software has changed our business it helps us manage occupancy, absence and parent communication

Pros

Measuring our occupancy to maximise the business and the fantastic customer service provided by all staff from Famly but especially our account manager Martin!

Cons

That it doesn't have the learning journey live yet but I've been told its being worked on and will be added to the system soon so there isn't really anything else to 'least like' - the system is fabulous for our setting

February 2018

Jacqui from Busy Bears

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2018

Famly is easy to use and helps with the daily running of the nursery.

Pros

It's really easy to see how many children are due in each day and even in future months. This helps considerably with new starters. Invoicing is done with one click, no more painful spreadsheets!

Cons

Nappy change feature could do with a 'comments' box to add who had changed and any notes to pass on to parents.

October 2017

Claire from Kingwood Childcare and Pre-School

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

We all love Famly - our staff and parents have not looked back since changing over.

Time saving when invoicing or working out staff hours for wages. Booking in children is much simpler. The support is outstanding. It is a breath of fresh air in comparison to the previous software we were using.

Pros

Ease of use, instant information sharing for parents, going paperless and instant, real time access to everything going on in the Nursery.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 54 reviews