User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(13)

13

4 stars

(6)

6

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Browse KidGenius Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -30 of 20 results

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Lucía from Autónomo

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

It is an excellent software!!

It is an excellent software

Pros

It is an excellent way to keep in communication with the teachers and caregivers. I can receive daily reports of my child's school activities through a single channel, as well as see photos of these reports.

Cons

It took me a bit to adapt to the new updates. The interface could be more pleasing to the eye. However, it is an excellent tool

Response from DaycareIQ

Replied July 2018

Hi Lucia Thanks so much for the kind words! We enjoy hearing feedback from parents like you. Craig

April 2018

Delaney from New Brighton Child Care

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

KidGenius has made administration easier and families happier! Overall extremely happy with it!

It is incredibly helpful for administration, especially for Alberta Child Care Claims. It also has helped with communication with families, which is paramount in our line of work.

Pros

Customer reps are incredible people to work with. They truly value the brand, the software they have created, and the ideas and input from the staff they speak with. As an administrator, being able to view and export both an individual child's and centre wide attendance reports makes completing child care claims significantly easier. It is the same with staff. Being able to view just subsidy children, set date perimeters, and edit reports where needed has been very helpful. My claims time has decreased significantly! The dashboard where staff can view the ratios of current teachers to children is fantastic. I know who is where in every classroom and whether the ratio is correct right off the bat. It makes keeping in compliance with licensing a breeze. I am also really enjoying the new document feature that was just added in March. I love being able to keep all my staff's documents in one place and for them to be able to upload when they get new PD certificates.

Cons

The daily report that goes to parents is not as aesthetically pleasing as the previous software we used. It does the job, but it is all in a long line whereas the previous software was in coloumns and colourful. A few families have mentioned this to us. It is great you are able to add photos to the daily report, however not being able to upload more than one at a time can be frustrating at times. It would also be nice to have photos and activities combined so one could add a photo of the activity that was done. There is a space where you can write notes under the photo, but there are two sections where there really only needs to be one. Making a few things a little simpler would be very helpful: a back button to go back to the staff or children page (after adding a document or changing attendance), having a sign in and out button on the attendance adjustment page, the ability to not only adjust attendance time and date but classroom as well. The in-ability to bulk add children is difficult when we are collecting a number of them from a school to bring to the program. It is time consuming to do the same maneuver for 15 children, especially in the cold.

Response from KidGenius

Replied April 2021

Thanks Delaney for your valuable feedback. Since the feedback, we have implemented lots of features and user experience improvements including the suggestions you had provided. Since then we have also rebranded our product and released new mobile apps for both parents and staff. We would be happy to continue discussing with you, please reach us at support@trykidgenius.com

April 2018

Fiona from New Brighton Child Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

Overall user friendly, missing a few key components in which to wow me.

Pros

1) pages layout at a glance 2) dashboard 3) editing is simple 4) self generated previous menus 5) Calgary based start up

Cons

1) no space for simple info on parents @ a glance, such as their names. *particularly helpful for new families or relief staff 2) dislike having to input meal times 3) Staff have to scroll through entire ATTENDANCE report to make a correction in real time. 4) can only upload 1 photo at a time 5) hard to correct or edit shifts

Response from KidGenius

Replied April 2021

Hi Fiona - Thanks so much for leaving a review. We have added tons of new features, improved user experience including your suggestions, released new mobile apps for parents and staff. We would love to continue discussing with you, please reach us at support@trykidgenius.com

April 2021

Kimberley from Rechouse Beofre & After School

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Great product for tracking activity/attendance of families

Overall, we really like this product/service. Help is always quickly given and we will continue to use this service for a long time.

Pros

Moving from paper recording to electronic, Kidgenius easily fit with what we needed; being able to sign children in and out, recording of absences, parental information, etc. I have been in contract with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] about adding features that best suit our needs and he has been very responsive to suggestions and concerns. He offered to my staff, training on how to use the program when we first implemented it. While the program offers many features that we do not need as we are a before and after school program, I am sure that centres that require those features find them to be of value. Changes to the program from the older version to the newer one (2021) have been great, especially if you have multiple programs or need to track absences due to things such as COVID. Being able to access only our centre has been very helpful.

Cons

We have always had troubles using the app version. Difficulty in downloading and navigating through it. This may be due to how old our work phones are rather than the app itself.

April 2018

Nicole from Good Spirit School Divsion

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Great way to keep informed

Being able to check on my children regularly from work, and to have all of the information in one place. By far is way more convenient than the paper reports that they used to get.

Pros

I like that I can keep up to date with my children's day, and can easily do it through my computer or phone. It is easy for the workers at the daycare to enter their meals, their diapering, and their naps. I like it because I can quickly check before I leave for the day whether they are still napping, so I can plan the time I pick them up accordingly.

Cons

That this is not way to opt out of the daily emails, and there is no way to scroll through the days without going through the "go to date" calendar every time.

Response from DaycareIQ

Replied April 2018

Hi Nicole - Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad you enjoy KidGenius and insight it provides. You can opt out of the emails, just request from your site that they deselect your child (in your childs' profile). Email me directly if there is any issue. Craig@DaycareIQ.com

May 2018

Ellen from Alberta Health Services

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

KidGenius helps answer the question "How Was Your Day" for my daughter

KidGenius really provides peace of mind knowing that my daughter is enjoying her time at daycare. I love to stay up to date on her day!

Pros

Prior to implementing KidGenius, the answer to my question "How Was Your Day" was often just "It was good". Now with the daily emails I get to find out what my daughter ate, played with and even get photos sometimes. I enjoy having the reports to track how she is doing at daycare. Other things I like are the bulletin board postings so I can see the meal schedule as well as the messaging between myself and the staff. We don't have to pay for access so Value For Money is obviously 5 stars :)

Cons

The system works well but it's dependent on the providers entering the info. So sometimes they are too busy to take as many photos as I'd like.

April 2018

Nicole from New Brighton Child Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Easy

Pros

That it is fast and easy to use. The way that the menu and whole site is set up, I like how everything is easy to access and ready to use right away. Easy to train someone to use it as well which is always really helpful.

Cons

Sometimes the site doesn't work and we have to call to get it fixed. During the days sometimes it says that the site is unavailable, and we can't use it until we call the administration office of kid genius, and they will have to fix it for us.

Response from DaycareIQ

Replied April 2018

Hi Nicole - Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review! We really appreciate it. As always, have Delaney email us when you see errors, we'll fix them right away. Craig

April 2018

Jocelyn from New Brighton Childcare

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

overall great experience! happy with almost all of the features

Pros

I love that it is easy to use, great that you can see how many teachers and children are signed in and where, and such an easy to tool to contact parents with.

Cons

I don't like that you can't sign kids in and out in bulk, also editing times only goes from closest 15 minutes.

Response from KidGenius

Replied April 2021

Hi Jocelyn Thanks so much for leaving a review! We are glad you enjoy KidGenius and find it easy to use. Over time we have added tons of features, new user experience improvement including your suggestion, launched new mobile apps for staff and parents. We would love to continue our discussion with you, please reach us at support@trykidgenius.com

April 2018

Alaina from New Brighton Childcare

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

As a parent of 2 children in childcare, I really appreciate receiving updates about my children.

Updates on my children while in child care.

Pros

I like that I can log-in throughout the day and see how my children are doing at daycare. I love that we get pictures and can see what they have eaten. Getting an e-mail report each day is great!

Cons

My childcare provider does not use the software to the full capacity. There are many sections that they do not use, such as the activities. It would be nice if we received even more detailed information about our children's day. This is not a software flaw, but it is the only thing I would change!

Response from DaycareIQ

Replied April 2018

Hi Alaina - Thank you so, so, so much for taking the time to leave a review! We really appreciate it! I'm glad you enjoy the information you get from KidGenius! Craig

April 2018

Erica from New Brighton Child Care Centre

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Great website! Easy to use. I use this softwear every day to communicate with parents and families.

Pros

Easy to use. Effective way for communication to parents. I like that I can email parents through the app.

Cons

- This softwear could be more estically pleasing. (Minor) - I wish the bulk add list to add meals, for example, was of the children who were live and not the entire classroom list. - App could be more like website.

Response from DaycareIQ

Replied April 2018

Hi Erica - I really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. We've already discussed some of the issues you have addressed. Hopefully we can continue to build and make things better! Craig

April 2018

Ashley from New Brighton Child Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Great program to work with as an educator. I find it very user friendly!

Pros

I believe it is an essential tool for our child care program. I love how easy it is to communitcate with our families.

Cons

The app. Not as user friendly as the website so I've deleted it off my phone. I also don't like how the connection tends to go down once a day.

Response from KidGenius

Replied April 2021

Hi Ashley - I'm so happy to hear that you find KidGenius an "essential tool"! Over time we have added tons of new features, improved user experience, and new mobile apps for parents and staff. We would love to continue our discussion with you, please reach us at support@trykidgenius.com

February 2021

Karnit from Thornhill Woods Daycare

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Great App!

They are always available for any questions and guidance. The app never has given any issues and the team is always finding ways to add features to the app. They always ask for feedback and apply them. I highly recommend KidGenius.

Pros

Easy way to communicate with families and staff. Allows us to be paperless for all communication. Parents are able to communicate on this app as well which is a great bonus.

Cons

Nothing I haven't liked. The team always took feedback and applied them.

Response from KidGenius

Replied April 2021

Hi Karnit, Thank you so much for your review. It has been a pleasure in partnering with you to improve your operations and our product.

April 2021

Tara from Clever Daycare

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Great Software for Daycare

Pros

This helps keep our records organized and all in one place.

Cons

More features would be good but it's forthcoming

Response from KidGenius

Replied April 2021

Hi Tara, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. Looking forward to continuing our partnership in improving your operations.

April 2018

Leah from New Brighton Child Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

great

Pros

it has a clear layout of what children are in each group and who is signed in and who isn't. it is super helpful.

Cons

not being able to sign in multiple children at a time. it is difficult and frustrating to have to sign in upwards of 15 children one by one.

Response from DaycareIQ

Replied April 2018

Hi Leah - Thanks so much for taking the time to review KidGenius - we really appreciate it! We've taken your feedback and are looking to make some improvements. Craig

May 2021

Tara from Bucks county iu

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

Kidgenius

Overall, I enjoy using this app as a way to keep track of what my daughter is doing at school while I am away from her

Pros

I really love that I can communicate with my child’s teacher and see what she has been doing during the day including pictures.

Cons

I do not like how you can’t just scroll through each day. It can be hard to navigate the app at times

April 2018

Nicole from Self employed

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

We love kid genius!

Pros

We love Seeing how our child ate, napped at daycare as well as photos. As well as bowl movements and daily activity.

Cons

Video would be neat..... I don't really know what else is a con it is a pretty great system that we really like using to monitor how our child's day is at daycare

Response from DaycareIQ

Replied April 2018

Thanks Nicole! Glad you enjoy KidGenius!

April 2018

Janelle from Nutrien Rocanville Potash

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

Overall good

Pros

Ease to navigate, can sign in from any computer, simple readable format with no clutter, no complications.

Cons

Wish we could use it on an Android phone or tablet, after signing in there would be problem loading at times

Response from KidGenius

Replied April 2021

Hi Janelle - Thanks so much for leaving a review! Since the review, we have implemented tons of new features, user experience improvements including new mobile apps for parents and staff. We would love to continue discussing with you, please reach us at support@trykidgenius.com

April 2018

Natasha from University of Calgary

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

I use this to receive updates about my child who attends the Hillhurst Sunnyside daycare.

Pros

I like the instant feedback and ability to upload photos. You are also able to enter longer descriptions and details about how each child's day went.

Cons

Not everyone uploads information consistently, but that is on the user and not on the software. Sometimes the log in process and navigation are not as intuitive as I would hope.

Response from DaycareIQ

Replied April 2018

Hi Natasha - Thanks so much for the review! We are glad you find KidGenius useful. Feel free to email me (craig@daycareiq.com) if you want to chat about the log in process and navigation. Craig

April 2018

Kaley from Langenburg daycare

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

I used this program as an educator at a daycare center. We use it everyday to communicate.

Pros

Easy to use even for employees who do not use electrontics often. Great communication tool used between parents and staff.

Cons

The program workwd well. , the tablets we used were slow and small which was annoying at times.

Response from KidGenius

Replied April 2021

Hi Kaley Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! We are happy to hear that the software is working great. Over time we have improved the product immensely and released new mobile apps for parents and staff. We would be happy to continue discussing with you, please reach us at support@trykidgenius.com

April 2018

Kayley from New Brighton Childcare

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

1.0

April 2018

Positive, inspiring, easy to use

Pros

Its very easy to use, straight forward, I like the suggestions for learning tags, it makes my life easier when I can't find the words to say.

Cons

It takes a very very long time for videos to upload. I have waited over an hour for a 30 second video to upload.

Response from DaycareIQ

Replied April 2018

Hi Kayley - You may be thinking of another program, KidGenius doesn't have learning tags or video upload abilities.