All OWNA Reviews

1-25 of 105 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jennifer

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Perfect all-in- one solution

Exceptional

PROS

OWNA offers a perfect product! The app and admin portal combine for ease of use for management, staff and families. Developers are continuously adding benefits and value and respond immediately to ideas and requests.

CONS

Can’t fault this product. Streamlined all our day to day requirements and activities.

Reasons for switching to OWNA

Comprehensive inclusions- all in one product. Support. Cost.

Vendor Response

Perfect? Wow, thanks Jennifer! Always good to hear from centres that love using our software, and glad to know you're still enjoying after this time. - Jack

Replied April 2021

Stephan

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

Excellent Child Care Centre Application

We are quite happy with the OWNA product and the support team. We have not moved to the CCS feature because of concern with glitches. We plan to move in the future when the system is stable.

PROS

Parents have access to real time information (daily menu, curriculum, meal consumption, sleep times). The OWNA platform reduces the need for paper-based records and the educators have access to record information online (incident reports, checklists, medication records, hazard reports, evacuation drills, etc). Responsive support team.

CONS

Rostering feature is not flexible so we do not utilise. The QIP feature is not well developed for our usage. Occasional glitches.

Reasons for switching to OWNA

OWNA offered additional features and real time information for parents.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the feedback Stephan. Good to hear you're enjoying the app, and appreciate you letting us know what's not working so well. Could you please contact support and explain the issue with inflexible rostering & QIP suitability? Regarding glitches - we've been growing rapidly this year and recently increased our server capacity to cope with this, so stability shouldn't be an issue anymore. Please contact support if you're still having issues. - Jack

Replied April 2021

Rita

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

My views on owna

- i think when we first began with OWNA the app/portal was more stable, we now constantly have issues with the app/portal and girls losing written work. -

PROS

- it allows our centre to be paperless - app is easy to use - families are able to view their child's day easily - communication via families/educators and educators/educators is simple and effective

CONS

- feel like i have suggested several ways that the app can be improved but its always placed on a waiting list such as making the linking of goals to posts via the app - we have several issues with girls losing their work via the app and portal - that only 20 photos can be uploaded at any one time

Reasons for switching to OWNA

As owna had all the features we were looking for

Vendor Response

Hi Rita! Thanks for your feedback. As you may be aware, we've been undergoing some rapid growth this year, and there was a period of time where our servers struggled to handle the amount of people on the app/portal. We've since increased our capacity and everything should be running smoothly now, so let us know if this is an ongoing issue and we can troubleshoot some stuff with you. Regarding losing work, the portal logs you out after 60 minutes of inactivity, so we encourage you to save your work before you leave your desk for any extended period of time. Thanks again for your feedback and don't hesitate to contact the support team for any ongoing issues you're facing. - Jack

Replied June 2021

Denise

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

Supporting OWNA

Overall, I will still happy with OWNA. Though we are still learning how to utilise the app, we are now bit organise compare before. It provides us a system in our organisation

PROS

I like that it is a software where the admin and educators can use together. Also, I love that they are actively developing it to cater the current changes of the childcare industry. I can see their passion to the childcare industry and I love that they have weekly training.

CONS

Their immunisation record does not cover the additional vaccine required for the Aboriginal and Torres Strait children. Since it is a national legal requirement, I suggested to them to add it. But their response was that at this stage they could not do that. I just hope that they will align things in their software to the national legal requirement.

Reason for choosing OWNA

price and functionality

Reasons for switching to OWNA

We were looking for an app that can be used for admin and educators.

Kylee

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

OWNA made daily life easier

We have used other child care specific software in the past and OWNA is much easier to use. It provides all of the information and data collection we require in a logical and easy to use manner.

PROS

We use this software for our Long Day Care Centre. OWNA is easy to use, navigate and explain to others. It is quick to navigate between screens and the processes are logical. My daily tasks are easier and more streamlined thanks to this software.

CONS

Reporting is completed by transferring data to Excel. Would be nice to just be able to print a formatted report in PDF from the software (eg: end of month figures for our accountant, Bond summary) Half days and absences do not show in daily number overview. Many families find invoicing confusing, however this is on par with other software we have tried.

Reason for choosing OWNA

After trialling a number of products, OWNA was the most simple to use and seemed to have the most effective family communication.

Reasons for switching to OWNA

The lack of programming and communication with parents, available at the time.

Tanya

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Love Owna

Loving owna and would recommend

PROS

We love our owna app and so do the families We can record everything on one platform and families can also record information and interact with us as well We couldn’t do with put it now

CONS

Same more features would be great like - Covid vaccination on visitor iPad when they sign in can tick off vaccinated - more regulate updates as we don’t seem to get them

Reason for choosing OWNA

Easy to use Can be tailored to what we want

Salina

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Great management tool

PROS

The ease of use. Everything from staffing to children's information are in one place.

CONS

The inability to customise some of the reports and features.

Reason for choosing OWNA

Ease of use and the features available

Reasons for switching to OWNA

To consolidate all the software that we were using to just one.

Roy

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Amazing software and even better support!

Amazing

PROS

We are a brand new service and have been using OWNA for a little under a year. It's been amazing! Everything is built into the one product whereas i would have otherwise have had to purchase and pay for multiple products that would have been clunky to use and less feature rich. Whenever i have an issue, the support team 9/10 will answer the call on first ring, if not, they call you back soon enough. Got nothing but good things to say about OWNA

CONS

Occasionally find a bug but it's never a significant issue and the support team fix it right away.

Reason for choosing OWNA

OWNA was much more feature rich and for a fraction of the price

Coralee

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

New user to OWNA

PROS

This software is so easy to use, it's a fantastic way to communicate with families and staff and it simply streamlines our entire day.

CONS

There hasn't been anything yet that I could say is a negative to this software, I only wish we had have discovered it sooner.

Reason for choosing OWNA

Because it covered everything in one product. It dealt with all staffing, admin and programming aspects which makes every day so much easier.

Reasons for switching to OWNA

XPlor was difficult to navigate and didn't provide everything we were looking for.

Ferina

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

So glad we chose to switch to OWNA!

PROS

Ease of functionality, very affordable and all inclusive

CONS

No cons as such because they are always evolving and introducing new features

Reasons for switching to OWNA

Much more affordable than what we were using before and is all inclusive instead of having several different software's

Vendor Response

Thanks Ferina - our goal is to give people the most comprehensive software we can at an affordable price for all centres, so happy to hear this is what you're experiencing. - Jack

Replied March 2021

Reem

Individual & Family Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Happy Customer - would definitely recommend

Fantastic experience with OWNA. Friendly team and easy to use software

PROS

I cannot fault owna. I previously used another software but I am so glad i switched to owna. Its cost effective, everything is so customisable, its so easy to use for admin, educators and families. They also have amazing customer service and frequent training sessions and tutorials. I love OWNA!

CONS

I cannot fault this software. I love it.

Reasons for switching to OWNA

Financial costs. Xplor was too expensive. OWNA has much more value for money.

Liz

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

OWNA # 1 Platform for Childcare Services

SmartPlay's overall experience is very good. We have been proud partners with OWNA and believe in the clever, overarching plan to lift the Early Childhood sector out of the 20th century clunky and paper-based nightmare of compliance regulations. We love that [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] makes himself accessible and does whatever he can to accommodate our needs.

PROS

We love OWNA's vision to be the best and provide a single platform to serve our Early Childhood and School Age Care services. The management for our national group makes it easy to see what is happening across every centre from the big picture, down to the fine detail. SmartPlay has continued to work with OWNA and increasing the on line, anywhere, anytime features that allow parents easy access, instant staff communication and compliance features and management at centre and national levels to keep a finger on the pulse.

CONS

OWNA is a new and emerging platform - the work done so far is brilliant. We have asked for some features that are yet to happen as the company has grown so quickly and there is not always the people power at the office to get to all tasks e.g. not providing a break down of the carry over balance which creates extra work for centre directors to interpret a family invoice.

Reasons for switching to OWNA

We wanted a cloud based program and were keen to move to a more seamless management system. We liked the innovative and client based approach [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] took and the speed at which he would turn things around.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the kind words Liz, and appreciate your feedback. I'll pass this onto the team, who are currently reviewing the invoicing process. Thanks - Jack

Replied April 2021

haley

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

OWNA review- Little Darlings II child care centre

This app is fantastic. i have written an honest review. i don't want the cons to outweigh the good because overall, it is great. Whenever I need help I call up and the staff are so friendly, professional and helpful. The possibilities on this app are endless and if utilised correctly, it is exceeding all expectations

PROS

it is very user friendly and has everything you need. i highly rate this software and application.

CONS

the notifications glitch as fore mentioned. Also, i would like if i could post more photos at a time. i have noticed recently that birthdays have been coming up on the wrong dates. not sure if this is a glitch too? also sometimes i add children to days and they don't show up

Reason for choosing OWNA

yes

Hinda

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed April 2021

Reveiw

Customer service was terrible and the attitude toward us as a customer was shocking!

PROS

The idea behind OWNA is great and they really have thought of a lot functions that are needed in the childcare industry.

CONS

The site would glitch and loose all the data. When discussed with customer support we were told there was nothing they could do. We started in the beginning to get a customised program and it was all promises and no action.

Vendor Response

Hi Hinda, Sorry to hear about your experience. My understanding is that you were one of our first customers and admittedly there were some teething problems when you first joined. Our customer support team has grown exponentially since you joined us, and it's something we pride ourselves on now. I hope you're still enjoying using our Freemium app. - Jack

Replied April 2021

Jessica

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

OWNA is a overall standout.

PROS

For my team, using OWNA across the service means that we are all on the same page, everyone is up to date with all new and current information. The biggest overall application that I love is the ability to view attendances and ratios easily and across the service ensure the correct ratios are met. My team really love the program and staff reflections and the ability to do team reflections benefits our teams allowing all educators to contribute.

CONS

There are some buggy issues that challenge me and I really hope they roll out the new timesheet/ rostering section as this would be a massive benefit.

Reasons for switching to OWNA

The fact that so many facets of our industry are covered in the one system.

Vendor Response

Thanks Jessica! Glad to know you're enjoying our software. Please feel free to get in touch with support and explain your timesheet/rostering issue in more detail - unfortunately, I can't answer that right now with the information provided. Thanks again! - Jack

Replied April 2021

Paula

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Not a bad thing to say...

OWNA staff are always quick to respond to any queries.

PROS

Software is easy to use both on a desktop, and use smartphones/tablets. The app is similar to many social media apps, so even the parents and families find it easy to use! Our parent input has increased so much since we started using this app. The reduction of wasted paper is astronomical - wait list, enrolment and excursion forms, incident/accident reports, medication reports, daily charts to checklists, philosophy and policies, critical reflections, programs, observations, daily journals, portfolios, etc. Its everything you need in one place. And that's just the educators side of the things. We also use OWNA as our CCSS - attendances, accounts, fees, etc.

CONS

We absolutely love this software and feel like there isn't much we could fault.

Vendor Response

Thank you Paula! Always glad to hear from centres being more sustainable and able to streamline their practices with our software. - Jack

Replied April 2021

Catherine

Education Management, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY