User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.26

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4

  • icon"Found it fairly easy to configure and there are ample examples and demo's within the documentation when you have a question. From a price performance perspective Pastorlines is very competative."
  • icon"We mainly went with PL for the price and syncing with CCB. I like supporting the smaller orgs and because of it we've had good customer service."
  • icon"In addition, the automation features that allow on-boarding of new community members are fantastic and well thought out."
  • icon"The UI is a little difficult, both on the web and the app."
  • icon"I found that the software can be a bit intimidating at first to use and get set up with."
  • icon"I wouldn't say there's anything we dislike about the software."

Browse all PastorsLine Reviews

  • Have you used PastorsLine and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 186 reviews

Andrew R

Company size: 2 - 10 employees

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

December 2021

Fantastic Idea Working Out the Details

User Profile

Ryan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2019

Flexable and highly intuitive texting solution

We are solving the issue have having manual processes to intake 1st time visitor and salvation information and being able to get that person talking to a Pastor as quick as possible.

Pros

Some of the biggest reasons why we have stuck with PastorsLine is for its ability to use AI to make the conversation with a person on text seem like they are talking to a real person while collecting key information. We use this for our first time visitor process and many others to collect information such as names, emails, phone numbers. It then can take that information and put it into our existing ChMS platform. We can also love the fact that we can pull any group of people that are either are in a group or a process and send an automated text to them. This has streamlined several processes for us including 1st timers, salvation and interest in events.

Cons

The only downside to the software is that you have to use a full phone number to text inside of a shortcode.

Reasons for choosing PastorsLine

The biggest reason we did is the integration it provided with our ChMS and pricing with integration.

Response from PastorsLine

We appreciate your review, Ryan. We have leased a shortcode and it's currently being provisioned. 8 - 12 weeks.

Replied September 2019

Brian

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

Does more!

The interactive nature of texting has increased the personal touch we provide to our congregation and guests. It's the natural way to communicate today and done in a natural, native way.

Pros

PastorsLine does what other texting services don't or can't. The response by text feature is the best. Rather than sending a respondent to a form, PastorsLine can automate a conversation that happens by text to request and capture the info you want. You can also do surveys. You can use your own phone number. You can have unlimited keywords of your choosing. You can receive voicemail. You can use it to call numbers to broadcast voice messages. You can forward your main number to different numbers at any time. (Send the church calls to someone's cell phone.)

Cons

It's not as intuitive or simple to use at first as some other texting services geared towards churches. But it's a recognized weakness on their part and always improving; and once you get over the learning curve it's worth it. And the extra features make it an excellent value too.

Reasons for choosing PastorsLine

Features and options others didn't have.

Reasons for switching to PastorsLine

The ability to respond by text rather than sending people to a browser form. Plus the ability to use our actual church phone number. Plus the ability to use as many key words as we like, without having to pick something someone else hasn't thought of using.

Response from PastorsLine

Thank you for the kind words, Brian! We are very pleased that you like our service especially the features. And yes, you're right. Our team is working hard to improve the tool in all the areas to provide the best service possible. Thank you for sticking with us!

Replied November 2019

Kim

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

September 2019

Mixed review

We've enjoyed the benefit of communicating with people in the way that people currently communicate, via text message. Overall, this just wasn't the product for us.

Pros

We mainly used Pastorsline for Guest Follow-up, weekly update texts to student ministry and church-wide polls. It was most useful for the weekly update texts.

Cons

We didn't like that every user received a notification for everything. Pastorline said their purpose for this was to help make sure people didn't "fall through the cracks" but we found it's only real purpose ended up being causing our team to feel spammed, it was a redundant nuisance. We also found it a bit of a beast to get started with, less overall user-friendly than we thought it would be.

Reasons for choosing PastorsLine

At the time it looked the most user-friendly and affordable.

Response from PastorsLine

Thanks, Kim, for your honest review. We do have several ways to handle notifications as shared. If each person shares the SAME number, then each person would get the same reply if their notifications is turned on. Each user can manage whether they get notifications. Another way to look at it is if every leader at your church used the same info@mychurch.com email. Everyone would see everything. With our system, we highly recommend adding unique numbers to specific people or roles. This would allow each user to only receive notifications on what they sent. Admins can also choose to follow one or more numbers or none at all. I do agree we can improve and we would continue to do so. Thanks for sharing.

Replied September 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2021

Fantastic Idea Working Out the Details

With email open rates growing lower and the need for quick church communication in a time of COVID increasing, we tried PastorsLine as a way to combine the best of SMS messaging with a phone number our community knew well.

Pros

Being able to text from our landline is an incredible feature as we bridge the gap between folks who grew up texting and those who learned to do it later in life. In addition, the automation features that allow on-boarding of new community members are fantastic and well thought out.

Cons

The backend interface is a little clunky and not intuitive, but their roadmap includes major updates in this area, so I am excited to see future design changes.

Response from PastorsLine

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are excited to get the new updated website interface up and ready for you too! Thank you for your patience as we continue to make these improvements!

Replied April 2021

Mike

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

PastorsLine Review

PastorsLine has helped us make meaningful connections as well as communicate easily to people in our congregation.

Pros

I love how easy PastorsLine is to use for first-time guest follow-up in our church. We collect data both digitally through PastorsLine as well as through a paper card. I've got a series of follow-up texts scheduled that has been super helpful for us in connecting with new people. I also love that they can reply directly to the text and I can have an exchange with them.

Cons

The features are fantastic but the interface is still a little wanting. They've been doing upgrades for the past year but the process to get to the end result seems a little slow.

Reasons for choosing PastorsLine

The biggest factor was that PastorsLine had some better features related to Data Capture.

Reasons for switching to PastorsLine

Tatango was good for broadcasting messages but not helpful in a scheduled workflow. Plus, the price was way better with PastorsLine.

Response from PastorsLine

Thanks Mike! We are so happy you have been able to have success with your new guests and being able to engage with them so easily. We do know the interface needs updating and we are in the process of making those changes (as you know). We do thank you for your patience and for sticking with us through it and can't wait for the finished product either!

Replied November 2019

Cody

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2019

A great option for following up with text campaigns and still being able to do voice calls

We've had a good experience with PastorsLine. We've hit a few bumps along the way, but the team is always ready to reach out and resolve issues quickly.

Pros

I love that I can connect all of this software with Planning Center and use the two seamlessly. It makes automated follow up manageable and effective.

Cons

I think the platform is a bit hard to get use too. The design could be more user friendly, but like with any new platform, after you learn it things become easier.

Reasons for choosing PastorsLine

PastorsLine still has the function for mass voice calls where as other platforms are moving away from that feature.

Reasons for switching to PastorsLine

We wanted a platform with campaign functionality.

Response from PastorsLine

Hi, Cody! It's amazing to hear that you had a good experience especially with the PCO integration which made your automated follow up manageable and effective.

Replied November 2019

User Profile

Stevan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2019

A Worthwhile Investment of Time and Money for Our Church

I have had nothing but success in using PastorsLine. Even as I'm writing this review, two more of our retired-age adults signed up to receive prayer request alerts from our church through our PastorsLine software!

Pros

We love the ability of sending out burst communications in seconds to a variety of groups and people. Communicating immediately via text message is just the solution we were looking for as a church staff.

Cons

The back-end of PastorsLine is continuing to evolve even as we're using it. The app and web-versions of the software are growing my leaps and bounds even in our time using it. There are times when I wish the process was complete and finalized.

Reasons for switching to PastorsLine

The expense of One Call Now was overwhelming. It's a great solution, but only offered the option to text. PastorsLine doubles down on this as the main point. Text messaging is the solution for us versus the "voice message" solution we had through One Call Now.

Response from PastorsLine

We're love hearing such success stories and we're glad that it is helping you to communicate better with your church! Thanks for your kind words, Stevan!

Replied November 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2019

Improvement over built-in CCB texting options

I feel strongly the team running PastorsLine cares about their clients, and seems to be honest about the "clunky" nature of the product, and is striving to improve. They are quick to respond when there is a problem, and keep us in the loop as the product evolves.

Pros

Synchronization with CCB (Church Community Builder) is our primary reason for choosing this product. And the sync features work pretty well. The auto-respond features are useful, but very basic.

Cons

The user interface (both web based and phone app) is "clunky." It works most of the time, but the tool is always slow to refresh screens, and feels like I'm always waiting for it to catch up or respond. Development team has been working on a new interface for a long time, but in a year they still are working out the kinks of the beta interface. Auto-respond features can't be customized to synchronize with user defined fields, so they have limited use.

Reasons for choosing PastorsLine

I haven't been able to find anything better that will synchronize automatically with CCB.

Response from PastorsLine

Thanks for sharing your experience! As you know, we are working to improve the interface and make it less clunky. We do thank you for your patience and for sticking with us through it and appreciate your feedback!

Replied December 2019

Blair

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

Great way to connect

The product helps us connect with visitors, as well as people looking to grow and get more involved. I love that it's automated, but that I can also engage personally when needed. This product has definitely made us more effective at follow-up.

Pros

Once it's set up it's really simple and effective. People are familiar and comfortable with sending a text so it's a great way to connect with visitors or people considering your church. The website is fairly easy to navigate and the developer is always working on improving the product. I've spoken with him directly and he's really helpful.

Cons

It has a bit of a learning curve, but there is fantastic customer service to guide you through the initial set up. Honestly, if you're at all considering this service it's worth trying.

Reasons for choosing PastorsLine

PastorsLine was less expensive with as many features, so I felt like it was a better use of it money. Also, the developer was accessible and friendly which makes a difference when trying s new service.

Response from PastorsLine

Thanks, Blair! It's great to hear that the tool helps you to connect with your visitors and people who are interested in your church. Thanks for sticking through the learning curve and reaching out when you need help! We are always here to help any way we can!

Replied December 2019

Jamey

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2022

Pastors

I like that it is easy and fast to use.

Pros

More user friendly for the congregation young and old.

Cons

Computer speaks to fast for people to understand what I am saying.

Reasons for switching to PastorsLine

The congregation like it because it was more dependable.

Donna

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2022

We love it!

We love it. If I ever have a question they are so easy to get ahold of and quick to respond. (Unlike others I have used.) I have not had any problems.

Pros

The pricing and the fact that it is made for church by the church.

Cons

We are pretty simple here and it works perfectly for us and our needs.

Reasons for choosing PastorsLine

Again, pricing was the #1 reason. But we will stay with it for the overall product and experience.

Reasons for switching to PastorsLine

Pricing with no hidden costs. Staff availability.

Darren

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

Great Product with lots of Potential

Pros

PastorsLine is a good tool for enabling communication workflow. Found it fairly easy to configure and there are ample examples and demo's within the documentation when you have a question. From a price performance perspective Pastorlines is very competative.

Cons

I wish the UI was a little better designed, but they are currently working it. Would be nice if they had more pre-configured workflow templates to use as other tools in this space provide.

Reasons for choosing PastorsLine

Price and functionality. Text in Church is very mature and also has plenty of features, however for our use the price of Text in Church and the functionality we needed just getting started didn't justify that premium. For REALM they offer texting as a part of the platform, but just primarily mass texts. We needed workflow and conversation.

Response from PastorsLine

Thank you for your kind words! We're glad to know that it is a great addition to your church, Darren. As you know, we are working to improve the interface. We do thank you for your patience and for sticking with us through it and appreciate your feedback!

Replied October 2020

Ashley

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

September 2019

The tool every church needs

PastorsLine has revolutionized the way we communicate with our church. I have coordinated an event with 400 volunteers using PastorsLine. Everyone was connected! I’m also using it to follow up with our guests. The programmable campaigns are immensely helpful in accomplishing this.

Pros

There are so many so I will list them: - Since we purchased PastorsLine a year ago, the team has been updating and improving the software, as well as informing customers of these improvements. - the App is awesome, easy to use, and many on our staff are utilizing the app to communicate with groups of people from wherever they are - amazing price and overall value

Cons

I want to be able to filter the inbox for groups, not just numbers. Because we are a big organization, I am assigning different team members to monitor different groups within the same number. It is hard for them to do this without the filtering option. I also want to be able to “flag” texts in different ways, like assign them to team members that should respond because it deals with their area of ministry, for even to remind myself to follow up with certain ones

Reasons for choosing PastorsLine

Overall price

Response from PastorsLine

Appreciate the feedback. In our new HUB, we offer a few more options for filtering. Since we have a new structure, adding more logic for filtering is something that would be easier to be done. Highly recommend adding multiple numbers for each department so you can use the phone filtering we already offer. We have thought about creating a "support" add-on where you can assign conversations to different people. We have some designs on this called "notes". Coming in the upcoming months.

Replied September 2019

Jenn

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

Great!

At first we were barely using pastors line for only automated text info. Now we are using it for so much more. We use it to communicate, send out information, sign people up for things, send polls, make people feel special with automated birthday text. They do so much to help us reach our people and make them feel special and loved by us.

Pros

We use this software for almost a year now and recently we were thinking about changing but comparing them to another company... PastorsLine is a no brainer for us to stay with. They are the best at what they do and they have so many more options than other companies. We also love how quickly they respond and help us with our tedious questions, they are so great with us.

Cons

The number of follow up texts or the workflow. The way they have it set up is someone can send in a keyword and you would get the 1st automated text, then they can reply to that and have a 2nd follow up automated text and that's it. I would like to be able to have more.

Reasons for choosing PastorsLine

They had more options and offered more features that our team felt would make our congregation feel more welcomed and loved by us. We also loved the idea of polls, especially with Christmas coming up, instead of having everyone in the church write down on their communication cards which of the 5 services they will be attending we can just send a poll out.

Response from PastorsLine

Thank you for such kind words Jenn! We love hearing you've had success using not only our texting features but also the other features like polls and birthday texts as well! I'd love to discuss how you'd like the auto replies and data capture responses to work a little more. There are some ways we are able to "ninja trick" the system to do what you want with a little creative thinking! If you'd like to set up a brainstorming session with us, send us an email to help@pastorsline.com (or an online chat)! :)

Replied December 2019

Sean

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2019

How to Get Your People to Text in Church

The biggest solution we have found in PastorsLine is the real time, rapid communication with our teams and, especially, new guests to our church. We can now reach out to them within the same day we receive their information and let them know we are praying for them, grateful for their visit, and we offer them a chance to give us immediate feedback. It has been amazing how helpful it has been to stay connected and in communication through this platform

Pros

It really is a simple and easy to use way to communicate with your people and teams in the medium that is most used by them. Sending out a targeted text gets a much better response from those you are trying to reach and PastorsLine handles this simply and beautifully. Also, the usefulness of their app has been great. A simple interface to send and receive messages in the moment. In fact, the app was instrumental during disaster relief efforts in the wake of a tornado that impacted our church and our city. The app helped us locate and prioritize the people we helped in real time through team messages for identifying and reporting needs.

Cons

The integrations with other church management software platforms is a little cumbersome and sometimes slow. However, it works well. It does take some insight and sometimes help to get lists imported in and synced but once they're integrated it works great.

Reasons for choosing PastorsLine

The functionality and the cost. Some of the other platforms I looked at had a fancier look but not more in terms of what it could do compared to PastorsLine. PastorsLine had the tools and integrations that we needed and wanted.

Response from PastorsLine

Wow Sean! Thank you so much for the feedback! You have no idea how much it means to us to hear how a tool like PastorsLine could be helpful to your church- from communicating and connecting with your new guest to helping with disaster relief - it is truly our prayer that we can be a small part of helping churches like yours communicate better and more effectively. Thank you for sharing and of course, please let us know if you ever have any questions or need anything!

Replied December 2019

Chris

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

PastorsLine

The team have been great to work with. They've offered the opportunity to pilot programs that I asked for early on (our specific CHMS being a big one). They have helped us grow our ministry and our communication with members and first-time guests. I love the automation that we've been able to create to ensure things aren't 'slipping through the cracks'.

Pros

We started with PastorsLine early on. Their team has continued to grow the platform and focus on ease of use. It integrates with all of our systems that we had previously in place (MailChimp, our CHMS, PCO, and more). This is huge for us! They also provide great support.

Cons

As with anything that's growing, you have 'bugs' that you find once the software has updated. This is not a big issue for me for a couple of reasons. 1) If you're working to continue improving and listening to your customer feedback, this is just a natural part of system upgrades. 2) The bugs are always resolved quickly.

Reasons for choosing PastorsLine

Support and Pricing. We were able to try before we purchased PastorsLine. We immediately saw the benefit and everything seemed extremely tailored to us. The PastorsLine team made me feel like we were part of their team. It meant a lot!

Response from PastorsLine

Thanks for your kind words, Chris! We're love hearing such success stories and we're glad that it is helping you to communicate better with your members and first-time guests. If you need help or assistance, send us an online chat or email to help@pastorsline.com.

Replied November 2019

Josiah

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT