User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

3.93

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

3.5

Functionality

3.5

  • icon"A basic software that was great in the early 2000's. When they upgraded it wasn't as user friendly."
  • icon"All Gym management issues gets solved easily with compete and hence all focus can be on coaching and training of customers."
  • icon"Their team really seems to care about the client. I'm pretty sure that our trainer knew more about and understood our business better by the time we launched than some of our employees."
  • icon"The reports with all the stats can sometimes be difficult to download and the information does not always update."
  • icon"Poor layout, slow software, terrible customer service, high fees, limited functionality. I've seen several softwares when purchasing clubs and I would never use this one."
  • icon"The appointment functions are confusing to use. Some of the fonts are difficult to see if you are showing a prospect."

Browse all Compete Reviews

  • Have you used Compete and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 28 reviews

User Profile

Trey

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2018

We've used other member management software in the past.

Pros

* Fantastic plan for on-boarding new clients * Their team really seems to care about the client. * I'm pretty sure that our trainer knew more about and understood our business better by the time we launched than some of our employees. * Continual improvement. They are regularly scheduling updates to make the product better. * Partnerships. The API allows us to connect with 3rd Party vendors to enhance the experience. * Compete on the Go.

Cons

I'm looking forward to COG being developed out further in the months ahead. I'd love greater reporting and perhaps booking through COG.

Mitch

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2018

Compete is easy to use and has made our lives a lot easier here at the club.

Helps us manage our large membership base here at the club.

Pros

Everything is accessible in one place! It is also cloud based, so we are not needing to worry about losing everything in the event that our computers crash. I love how it is user friendly and very easy to navigate from category to the next.

Cons

We are trying to integrate the time clock feature into our payroll management software and it is proving to be a bit tricky, but the support team has been very helpful answering questions!

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2018

Compete for Tennis Club Use

Overall, Compete does what we need it to do. Could it be easier and more streamlined? Yes. I would say if you are looking for software, be sure that you review all of your options and take your time reviewing all of the features Compete offers to insure it will work how you want it to for you and your company.

Pros

Tracking classes and enrollments is easy with Compete. Staff for the most part are friendly and helpful.

Cons

There are many times we have had to make our own "loopholes" to make the Compete work for us. There are many features in which we cannot take advantage of due to their strict structure. There isn't much room for customization, which I feel is important in our field since every independent facility operates differently.

Trey

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2017

Best Club Management Software We've Ever Used

I am so glad that we made the switch to Jonas Compete. The conversion experience was incredibly smooth thanks to the tireless work and dedication of their staff. The process went so well that I was a bit concerned that they were all about launching new customers and would forget us once we were up and running. In the six months since we launched, I've learned that I have nothing to fear. They continue to support and help us between the technical support always offering quick resolution, on-going help from our trainer to the visits from our Customer Success Representative. My only regret is that we did not make the move to Jonas sooner.

Pros

Ease of use, incredible customization, support from Jonas

Cons

More reports in COG would be great, further development of COG as whole

Response from Jonas Fitness

Trey, thank you so much for your feedback! I will make sure to get this information regarding COG over to our product development team!

Replied April 2017

Shannon

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2021

Used for 15 years customer service was not great

We stayed with them for 15 years and they served their purpose. Found a more customer oriented company for the last 6 years.

Pros

Easy to use simple format. A basic software that was great in the early 2000's. When they upgraded it wasn't as user friendly.

Cons

Having to manually do alot of things. Not able to schedule many tasks for an auto ahead of time.

Jackie

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2017

Very easy to use and easy to train new employees on.

Pros

The accessibility to certain reports. Also the preface is very user friendly. I have employees ranging from 18-70 years old and they are all able to use it without a hitch.

Cons

The reports that are available don't always give you the information you need. They have made changes and upgraded the system to give it a more "functional" feature but I miss being able to take payments from the home screen, instead of having to go through so many steps to get there. It made it easier to multitask during primetime.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

December 2018

pray you never have to cancel

it is evident they are making a concerted effort to improve customer service - but it came too late for us - and now with this cancellation of service fee - im struggling to find any positives. It looks like we will be forced to stay on our subscription for another 10 months to avoid the fee's

Pros

we were very happy with i4 - unfortunately we moved over to compete

Cons

strong arm tactics with exorbitant cancellation fee's if you ever choose to move on

Michelle

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2019

Easy to use and straightforward!

Pros

The gym I work at we used to use this software and I miss it! It was so easy to check in members, see alerts, update information and creating new accounts. I also found it was easy to train new employees on it.

Cons

There was some features that would just sit there and we could not use. For example, when creating memberships many of them had "zzzzzz" in front of them and it was confusing as to why that was set.

Jim

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

1

June 2022

Worst software on the planet.

Absolutely accross the board pitiful. No excuse for this lousy product performance. They don't offer an Are you going to swith to the next question. Or it would be yes we will be switching.

Pros

Not a single feature. They forced us to convert from the desk top version to cloud based during January not August like was originally agreed upon. Lost thousands of dollars during transition. It won't run reports without a creative a huge effort. The checkin portion that operates our 24 hour door access is beyond a nighmare. We have lost countless members due to this BS feature alone.

Cons

Everything I had 12 calls this morning between 3:30 and 4:05 am that the 24 hour access isn't working.

Reasons for choosing Compete

We ran the desk top version for years and it was reliable and we thought & were told it would be a smooth transition. All false.

James

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

November 2013

Jonas Fitness, helping Clubs "Compete"

We are customers of over 30 years with the former product Checkfree which was then purchased by Fiserv and ultimately Jonas Fitness. Since day one, the accessibility and response time of Jonas' team has been impeccable. The "let's get it better" and "done right the first time" approach is refreshing. Jonas provides reliable software for us to manage our membership top to bottom; integrates with our accounting software and affords our staff more quality time to spend directly with our members. The relationship is more than "just another software vendor". It's a true Partnership... one that is fully engaging... with encouraged two way communication, desire for client enhancement requests and realistic, clearly communicated timelines for future updates. Is the product perfect... no. Is there room for improvement... surely. But the faith we have in the product moving forward, the fact that Jonas LISTENS and UNDERSTANDS our industry gives much promise for the future. I truly believe they are a "Software for Life"... Onward together!!!

Jessica

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2017

The software has improved by leaps and bounds over the last year - yay!

Pros

Easy to sell memberships and other items. Easy to use back office software, despite the lack of certain reports that should be standard.

Cons

Having to use ad-hoc to get reports that should be part of the standard list of reports offered - such as new member reports that show the primary on the account only and the dollar amount gained from the new agreement.

Ryan

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

March 2018

We use daily and like the software

Pros

The software is very easy to use. I manage all my clubs with this software. I like the easy of member check ins. My front desk people seem to find it easy to use.

Cons

I find it hard to manage all Group fitness classes and personal training. My personal trainers are all contracted. I would like to be able to keep track of what they are doing as well

Craig

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2017

Caughlin Club

We converted from a older version. The conversion, training and support were all handled in a timely and professional manner. Our overall experience with Compete has been very positive and we are glad we made the change,

Response from Jonas Fitness

Craig, Thank you for the kindhearted review. I will be sure to communicate this feedback to everyone that guided you through your conversion onto our software platform. Thank you for your business!

Replied April 2017

Jack

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

July 2022

This Company is Horrible

Horrible

Pros

None. The software seems to be a refugee from the 1990's

Cons

Customer service is non-existent. Was just put on hold for an hour to listen to irritating music, interrupted every 10 seconds with an equally irritating service announcement. This system has to be the slowest on the planet. You waste a lot of time because this system is so slow. If you need to change your password you have to get one of their customer reps on the phone--and be put on hold for an hour--JUST TO CHANGE A PASSWORD. Don't spend time considering this system!!

Michelle

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2018

It is a simple software that is easy to use and navigate through.

Pros

It made simple when checking members out at POS. Everything is easily found and the functionality was good. Also, the customer service was the best thing, they have an on-call rep at all times which turns out to be helpful.

Cons

The reports with all the stats can sometimes be difficult to download and the information does not always update.

Lance

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

May 2017

Lucky for you there is still time to pick another software

They charge ridiculous exit fees for your own data and their contracts auto renew for year terms so be careful!

Pros

Will get you through if you don't have other options. but you do have other options like Mind Body.

Cons

Poor layout, slow software, terrible customer service, high fees, limited functionality. I've seen several softwares when purchasing clubs and I would never use this one.

User Profile

Cristina Marcano

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2018

Boosts the menbresias with Compete Club Management

I document to advise entrepreneurs in the area of Fitness.

Pros

This is the right system to take control of the receptions of sports clubs or gyms and the frequencies of visits by members. It also allows to schedule events in said clubs simultaneously of the normal classes of the gym, allowing to boost the sales and the growth of the memberships. It has a version for small clubs and another one for bigger ones.

Cons

Because it is one of the oldest systems on the market for sports clubs and gyms, its interface seems not very modern, however, it adapts very well to changes. It is still a very good option.

Chris

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

June 2014

Jonas Compete Software User Friendly & built to your facilities needs

We most recently purchased the Compete program from Jonas. It's a program that is extremely user friendly and easy to navigate. We worked directly with Jonas to build our membership categories, this was important to us because we are a smaller club and are not looking to have several levels of memberships. We had a very unique setup due to the fact we have an independent terminal server that Jonas had to navigate due to the fact the program is web based. The technical team was able to overcome this obstacle with ease. The only drawback would be the updates, but in this day and age of Internet crime, it is better to be safe than sorry.

Response from Jonas Fitness

Glad you are a part of the Jonas family and thanks for your kind words!

Replied June 2014

Jake

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE