All Jira Reviews

1-25 of 11,601 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jakob

Company size: 11 - 50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

November 2020

Functional and Effective but not Pretty

User Profile

Hina

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2023

A Highly Effective Tool for Project Management and Collaboration

I've had a great experience with Jira. It's an incredibly powerful project management tool that allows for real-time collaboration and planning. It's easy to use and intuitive, and I've found it to be an essential tool for staying organized and keeping track of progress. The flexibility of the platform makes it a great fit for any type of project, from small to large scale initiatives.

Pros

I liked that JIRA was very user friendly and could be customized to fit whatever project or workflow I was trying to manage. It was also great that it allowed for collaboration among team members and was able to track progress and tasks with ease. Additionally, I loved the fact that JIRA could be integrated with other tools and services, which allowed me to easily create reports and manage my tasks and projects with more efficiency.

Cons

The least liked thing about JIRA is the complexity of the system and the difficulty of learning how to use it. It can be quite overwhelming for users who are not familiar with the system, and it can take a long time to learn how to use it effectively. Additionally, the cost of the system can be prohibitive for smaller organizations.

Shuo

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2023

Overall, Jira is a game-changer

Overall, I'm extremely happy with Jira. It's made a huge difference in how we manage projects and tasks, and I would definitely recommend it to other teams. It's a must-have tool for anyone looking to get organized and streamline their workflow.

Pros

I love how it allows me to easily assign tasks to team members, track progress, and see everything in one place. It also integrates well with other tools which makes it even more convenient. Overall, Jira is a game-changer.

Cons

The only downside I've found is that it can be a bit overwhelming when you first start using it. There are a lot of options and features, and it can take some time to figure out how to use everything. But once you get the hang of it, it's not a big deal.

Reasons for switching to Jira

One thing that sets Jira apart from other project management tools is its flexibility. You can customize it to fit your team's specific needs, and there are tons of add-ons and integrations available. Plus, it has a huge community, so you can find answers to any questions you have. It's also more affordable than some of the other options out there. All in all, Jira is a great tool that offers a lot of bang for your buck.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

January 2023

No pain no gain

Pros

Since it is the mainstream product in the market and Atlassian has other powerful tools, the integration with first and third parties is guaranteed and are usually pretty good (ex. Confluence, Slack, Gitlab, TeamRetro...)

Cons

After more than 10 years using JIRA for project management I have to say the UX still terrible, the changes and new features took ages to be implemented, and still have too many unresolved issues. If I have to choose a pain point, dashboards are really really painful to craft, and is really easy to face simple limitations that require a paid plugin to allow you to get what you need.

Enrique

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2022

There are many programs to manage projects and teams, but they are not Jira

As I already mentioned in the example of use in the Pros section, from the simplest project (a shopping list), to the most complex, the integration of several work teams from different areas and several very diverse projects, You need software that makes work, communication and organization easier.Jira offers us that, simplifying the management, planning and management of issues, without Jira, order becomes chaos.

Pros

I will give an example of how I used it on one occasion and the advantages of having had this software.I was hired by a digital marketing company to improve proprietary applications, internal APIs, creation and migration of landing pages made in WP for our clients, migration of PHP applications to Python, server management, diversity of containers... The DevOps who was doing all that work left the company.An external audit was hired that provided workers spread all over the world, Spain, India, Latam...So we find ourselves with a lot of work, from very different areas, work environments and projects of all kinds and just one person to manage everything.With Jira we all worked under the same environment to organize tasks, but above all incidents and bugs, and with the need to manage the priorities of each new element that entered our work boards.At a glance, I could assign tasks, review code, refactor or modify it, and upload it to the test servers. Review the tickets, with screenshots of the errors or the new results that should be obtained. Keep in touch with everyone from one place and also receive all feedback in Jira.It was months of hard work, without Jira it would have been impossible to manage it.

Cons

Despite having Jira with everything necessary for software development, sometimes it becomes more complex and less visual than if we accompany it with some extras, also from Atlassian. So it is easier for some boards or planning to use Trello, GitHub or Bitbucket for continuous integration, Sourcetree to make the different branches and versions more visual, Composer for team collaboration...

Reasons for choosing Jira

It is more complete for incident management, priorities integrates better with other solutions

Reasons for switching to Jira

It is expensive to maintain and you never get the ease of use and tools of software of this quality.

Beyzanur

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2023

Jira Review

Overall, I highly recommend Jira to any team or business looking for a robust project management tool. It may take some time to get used to, but the benefits are well worth it in the end.

Pros

Jira is an extremely powerful and versatile project management tool that has helped our team stay organized and on track with all of our projects. The user interface is intuitive and easy to navigate, and the ability to customize workflows and add various plugins has been a game-changer for us.

Cons

One downside is that the pricing can be a bit steep for smaller teams or businesses. Additionally, the learning curve can be steep for new users, but once you get the hang of it, it becomes much easier to use.

Reasons for switching to Jira

Jira has a wide range of features and integrations that make it stand out from other project management tools. Its ability to customize workflows and add plugins allows for a high level of flexibility and customization, making it a great option for teams of all sizes and industries. Additionally, its large user community means that there is a wealth of knowledge and support available.

Selma

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2023

Jira Review: A Comprehensive Look

Overall, Jira is a powerful and comprehensive project management tool that is easy to use and customize. It is an excellent choice for teams of all sizes looking to collaborate and get projects done quickly and efficiently.

Pros

Jira's interface is intuitive and easy-to-use, making it the perfect tool for project management. It has powerful features such as issue tracking, project planning, and workflow customization that allow teams to collaborate and get projects done fast.

Cons

Jira can be expensive for some teams, especially those with multiple users. Additionally, the learning curve to use the software can be steep and some customization features require advanced technical knowledge.

Reasons for switching to Jira

Jira stands out from other project management tools by offering powerful features such as issue tracking, project planning, and workflow customization. Additionally, it is highly customizable, allowing teams to tailor their workflow to their specific needs. Jira also offers great support and a friendly user interface, making it a great choice for teams of all sizes.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2022

Jira is essential for any IT company

Jira helps in every team process. It makes things much easier to manage. I couldn't imagine project planning without Jira.

Pros

Jira is wonderful in many aspects and it is designed to be user-friendly, with a simple and intuitive interface that makes it easy for users to get up and running quickly. It is a powerful and flexible tool that can be used to support a wide range of software development projects and processes.

Cons

Jira tends to be a bit slow sometimes and I think it may not be suitable for very large organizations or projects with a large number of users. In these cases, it may require additional resources to manage and maintain and that means more costs.

Reasons for choosing Jira

Jira has many features that my company requires for daily use and Trello is more limited.

User Profile

Tanmay

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2023

Great Tool with multiple benefits but grown too big and clunky

It does the core job. It does basic things very well. Beyond that any niche or advanced usecase is not intuitive enough to quickly grasp or set up

Pros

The core capabilites are at its best. Creating issues, bugs, epics, stories, tasks etc is brilliant. Managing status changes, showing sprint summaries and completing sprints is very good

Cons

Settings have become very very complicated. Project ownership, allowing edit and delete access, modifying status workflow are fragmented and confusing to understand

Yousef

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2023

Jira the review

My general experience is that the application is excellent, but it has some minor flaws, and I hope that they will develop more and more of themselves, and I hope that you like the opinion

Pros

The advantages of this program is that it is easy to use and also provides many services such as project management and task management

Cons

The disadvantages of this program is that it sometimes makes mistakes in managing the project, and we hope that you will develop from that

User Profile

Javier

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2023

Friendly UI for PO

Pros

PO can be challenging, but JIRA has a easy to use UI with a lot of powerful add ons like integration with git and others.

Cons

Training can be challenging at first, as you need to be already familiar with SCRUM methodologies

Youness

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2019

Jira is the Best Project Management Software

THe best software for project management ever. It's paid, but even for our size of projects, we still love to spend some money on it and enjoy the good project management.

Pros

Everything ! the software is very powerful, it has a lot of options and features: - Scrum, Agility and flexibility of changing flows. - Security setup for every type of users. - A lot of features ( no way to compare it with any other software i know ) - Very simple to use - Sprints support.. - High Availability. - Awesome Designs ( old and new ). And so many other things i love about JIRA

Cons

I wish the cost was a little more less for small sized companies.

Reasons for choosing Jira

The amount of features and the ease of use. Finally, everything is great about JIRA.

Reasons for switching to Jira

Trello is very limited comparing it to Jira.

Eric

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

JIRA is essential for good software development but you NEED to invest in configuration

I love JIRA because I am an organizer and I spend the time getting it right. But you need that kind of commitment for the best experience.

Pros

The powerhouse controls that allow you to configure exactly the solution you need. JIRA is unmatched in customization. For controlling workflows, getting status updates and clearly understanding what's on your plate, JIRA is amazing.

Cons

The use of JIRA without properly configuring it. Without that commitment, JIRA can be offputting and seem like a heavy mess of a system. You need to remove what you don't use, need to set everything up for individuals and you need to educate your team about how they can use the system. It's so open that it can overwhelm people without management.

Reasons for choosing Jira

A comprehensive solution, including the use of Confluence for doc management.

Reasons for switching to Jira

JIRA is more structured and better at reporting.

Brad

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2022

Advanced Project & Task Management Features...But How It's Configured is Key to Success

Pros

I've been using Atlassian products, JIRA in particular, for over 12 years. It's come a long ways in this span in terms of advanced functionality and additional configurable content, and it's consistently proven itself as a market leader in project and task management services. JIRA reporting, dashboard, task tracking, and project development activities are comprehensively impressively designed, easy to use, and highly collaborative for internal teams.

Cons

The success an end user will yield from the software is highly dependent on it being configured in a manner that aligns with the business needs of the customer organization. For example, I've experienced instances where there are growing pains in how internal teams learn to standardize the way they tag tickets for project and task tracking and then use these identifiers to develop reports, create dashboards, and track schedules. If not setup properly by System Administrators then the ROI will be delayed, making it essential for teams to be properly educated and trained on the system. JIRA provides a wealth of content for training & education but worth noting the difficulty an organization can face if not approached strategically and with strong design plans during the discovery phase of implementation.

Reasons for switching to Jira

There was a trial period where the organization I was at pivoted from JIRA to Rally (by Broadcom) for SCRUM operations. Rally certainly had its perks and was impressive in many ways, but we ultimately shifted back to JIRA due to the suite of offerings also in use, such as Confluence, that provided advanced needs to our business in more ways than just project or task management.

Anonymous

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2020

HelpDesk Dream System

Overall I really loved the platform and the easy of use and they offer a mobile solution which allows you to manange, support and assist using your mobile device which is important which you are on the go and have customers who diesire information or support.

Pros

Coming on board with Delta I hadn't user the JIRA platform outside of submitting tickets in my past. There was a shell created by our IT team and it was a great start but with the help of an intern he and I were able to completely change and enhance the user experience on both sides for those who enter tickets and those who work or engage with tickets. The system seems a little overwhelming at first because it offers so many variations however once you really consider what you want to do and who you want to achieve it really straightforward. You're able to change and modify just about every aspect of the interface so that its complete company-specific or even department-specific is you choose. You can make it look like its an extension of your companies actual website. You can access and run reports for so many different KPI's or metrics to see preformance or SLA's and they are all realtime.

Cons

Like I stated it was a bet overwhelming bacause there are so many options and changes that can be made using JIRA however there are tons of resources as well.

Reasons for choosing Jira

We chose JIRA because it appeared to be the best application for what we needed. It was also expandable and we could scale it as needed in the future. We also like that it was completly customizable.

Rachel

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2020

Great for time tracking and task management, but some functionality is overly complicated.

As a project coordinator, I use Jira daily in a project management aspect, matching our planned work to progress completed by our teams. I maintain an overhead view of in-flight tasks and projects, and compare this data to outside sources we use for resource management, capacity to contract, etc. My most frequently used elements are a custom KanBan board which shows all in-flight, assigned issues for the entire company; as well as Tempo time tracking software and the reports tool.

Pros

I love the KabBan task view, our company uses this every morning for a company-wide standup meeting. We have set up a customized board with cards that display budget/due date/time spent/etc. and it has been invaluable to us during COVID-19, as we are all working from home and need to stay connected. Jira's time logging via Tempo has some buggy elements, but has been absolutely crucial in maintaining a clear view of task progress and budget maintenance. The time logging tools are incredibly reliable and allow the perfect amount of editing control by both administrators and users.

Cons

It is a big pain not being able to assign more than one user to an issue at a time, especially when making Jira issues for meetings, as the purpose here is to provide an issue to log time against. It has also been difficult for our company to systematize and homogenize project structure, as there was such a large learning curve to Jira project setup, and we have a large number of open projects. The functionality between projects differs greatly, and I think a large part of this is due to complicated project setup and maintenance. While Jira is very developer-minded, and many of our developers like it, it seems a slightly less appropriate fit for our designers/strategists and project management team. I also lack the ability to export some reports I need, for example a clear Estimates versus Actuals report in CSV form.

Reasons for choosing Jira

Jira was favored by our development team for its structure and our leadership/PM team for its integrations.

Reasons for switching to Jira

The ActiveCollab workflow was not structured well enough for the needs of our company.

Marc

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

Flexible but not at all fun

Originally we wanted Jira to be the place for Product and Development. But we soon realised that we needed a separate app for the product team instead. So now the product team work outside Jira and only when it's ready for Development will a ticket get created and planned in the backlog ready for a sprint. Jira helps the Product Manager to know the status of features, bugs and tasks and allows the development team to ask questions relating to the ticket in the comment section. That way there is full visibility of the discussions for future reference.

Pros

The biggest strength that Jira has to offer is how customisable the app is. We're forever fine tuning how how development flows are setup and I've never run into an issue where what we wanted to achieve could not be possible. The workflow editor is pretty straight forward once you figure out how to map these to specific projects and features. It also has a mammoth number of apps that can integrate with it, which can greatly help simplify your organisations stack. We use a bunch of apps that connect to Jira such as Slack and Git. The mobile app is pretty good and more simple to use. There's also a new iOS app that you can run on a mac that seems to be a slightly faster and more user friendly version. However, I haven't quite worked out how to tailor the notifications. The search is very powerful!

Cons

It is very slow to load pages and jump between stories. When using this on a daily basis it really gets annoying. When we need to change a setting it's hard to work out where to go. I have to say I've never seen another app quite like Jira which has so many different places to go to in order to change very similar settings. If someone accidentally creates a ticket with the wrong type the only way to change it is to Move the ticket. And I can't seem to change the status of the ticket at the same time. So often an Open bug ticket becomes an Open feature ticket, which really should still be in Draft.

Reasons for choosing Jira

Although it was more simple to use it didn't have the time tracking and reporting features we needed.

Reasons for switching to Jira

We hired a new Head of Development who encouraged us to make the switch as Jira had better reporting/time tracking features.

User Profile

Cristian

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Semiconductors

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra