CapLinked

CapLinked Reviews

RATING:

4.48

(118)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.48

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4

  • icon"CapLinked is intuitive, cutting edge, and very transparent in their pricing. Their customer support is responsive, helpful, and thorough - providing an excellent customer experience."
  • icon"This is an amazing program, offers a higher level of engagement for groups. Works great for small business who need flexibility and is budget friendly."
  • icon"CapLinked is the only modern platform with full API support for integrating it with our applications."
  • icon"Lack of reporting functions such as well-organized index reports, permission setting, draft mode takes the whole data room offline."
  • icon"Trackability/Traceability is a bit odd to get to it."
  • icon"Lack of integration with other software we use in our stack."

Browse all CapLinked Reviews

  • Have you used CapLinked and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 117 reviews

User Profile

Elmo

Verified reviewer

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2018

Super easy to use

Pros

The ease of use is the one of the reasons why we use CapLinked. We work with a lot of outside consultants and customers that need to access folder and files and not once did anyone struggled to access their data. We tested a few data rooms and CapLinked was by far the best value for money. We moved away from emailing any files, we just send the CapLinked link to the relevant person and our data is safe and secure.

Cons

None for our application. One nice to have feature would be to have a more comprehensive version control than is currently available.

Response from CapLinked

Hello Elmo, We are glad to hear you found our platform cost efficient and straightforward! We have since updated the ability to upload new versions of files. We hope to work with you again for future projects. Caplinked

Replied December 2019

Sandra

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Investment Banking

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

CapLinked - Pros and Cons

Pros

Compared to similar options, CapLinked is a good value for the product - the pricing is good for what you get with CapLinked. Among the things I like about the software are the search feature, updates are emailed when files are added, it is easy to move folders and files, easy to change the order of folders. The product has a great feature that allows the Administrator to see the view that any User is seeing, which is helpful when Users call with questions.

Cons

The product is not as intuitive as other secure data vault services I have used. It took me some time to understand that Users have to be part of a "Group." The other thing I don't like is that you have to contact customer support if you want to delete a "Workspace" from the system - Admins are not able to delete. I understand the concept, to avoid inadvertently deleting a workspace, but still prefer to have that ability as the Admin.

Reasons for choosing CapLinked

Generally it was about the value. As I said CapLinked is not as intuitive as some other products I have used, but the value we received for the price is very good.

Response from CapLinked

Hello Sandra We are glad to hear you found our platform cost-efficient! Admins will soon have the ability to delete workspaces at their discretion. We hope to work with you for future projects. Thank you, Caplinked

Replied December 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

April 2019

Didn't honor agreement; tried to increase fees more than 300%

Terrible. They gave our non-profit association members a good deal to get us onto their platform and entered into a long-term data room supply agreement; a couple years later, they wouldn't honor their agreement. Don't do business with this company.

Pros

There are a lot of data room providers and Caplinked was getting off the ground and offered our not-for-profit regional association a long-term program to switch from our incumbent provider and join their platform for the same fees we were paying our incumbent provider. After a reasonable transition period, we adopted the program at Caplinked. We transferred a number of users and conveyed the dynamics of how our association interacts with our incumbent provider and were told there were no issues coming over. The association members used 50-75 data rooms at any given time.

Cons

After using the platform for a few years, the company came back and claimed we were getting too good of a deal and they wouldn't honor it. We used the service consistent with how we outlined the service in our contract when we negotiated our agreement. They threatened to shut down the service to the members and then said to stay, we would need to pay fees that were more than 300% higher than our current rates. When you're in the middle of transactions, you don't want a data room supplier threatening to shut down your rooms or holding you hostage to higher fees than you bargained for. We contacted our previous data room vendor, V-Rooms and transitioned back to them for the same rates we had with Caplinked. Obviously, they weren't problematic and we got excellent support from V-rooms transitioning over. The tactics and interactions with Caplinked were terrible. They knew they had you over a barrel and it felt like our not for profit association and its members were being bullied or blackmailed. We will never do business with these guys, no matter what the capabilities of their rooms. We interacted with the Company CEO and VP Sales. We paid annually through September and expected a reasonable transition off their platform for existing rooms in service. They noted they applied our fees to their new proposed rates and we couldn't transition off in a reasonable time-frame.

Response from CapLinked

Hello! Thank you for your feedback! We are constantly improving our features for the ease of users. We appreciate input from the user perspective. We hope to work with you again for future projects. Thank you, Caplinked

Replied December 2019

Ricardo

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

Complex scenarios made easy by Caplinked

My Organization requirement was to set up a virtual data room in order to fund race a project initiative. Caplinked made possible to get it up and running with a professional customized interface in record time allowing me to keep track of all the operations as per documents and other media files shared with the invited users, get detailed weekly reports and control the whole operation until the end.

Pros

- How friendly it was to set up and customize a virtual data room for my organization. - Robust features, such as: activity tracker, security, Q&A and customized messages. - Everything is recorded by Caplinked. Every single transaction was recorded by Caplinked as much for administrators and organizers as for users.

Cons

- Reports customization feature is missing. - Not many support guides available.

Reasons for choosing CapLinked

Mainly on cost vs requirements evaluation. They provided me exactly what I needed on a very good and flexible rate.

Response from CapLinked

Hello Ricardo, We are glad to hear you found our platform user-friendly and straightforward! We are constantly improving our features, including updating the Activity Tracker, for the ease of users. We hope to work with you for future projects. Thank you, Caplinked

Replied December 2019

Cindy

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

Great Data Room for M&A

We are using CapLinked as our data room for M&A. This has worked extremely well and all parties have been very pleased

Pros

Very easy to use Very easy to add documents Very easy to control access of various documents throughout the process Quick upload to site Very easy to keep data room organized Good alerting system Folder Control

Cons

editing names once you send out an invite

Reasons for choosing CapLinked

Best customer service, had all the features i was looking for, recommendation from attorney

Response from CapLinked

Hello Cindy, We are glad to hear you found our platform user-friendly and straightforward! We are constantly improving our features for the ease of users. We hope to work with you for future projects. Thank you, Caplinked

Replied December 2019

Michael

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Investment Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2021

Independent PE Sponsor

After caplinked expanded the group limit threshold for me, I can now create a "group" for each of our investors. That allows me to create folders that are only accessible to that individual investor via the investor's unique "group", or create folders broadly available to a subset of investors. We were squeezed into a lower tier product as they recreated their pricing structure (we've been with caplinked since roughly 2016), but it still works for what we need it for at a pricepoint that makes sense.

Pros

Easy to use user interface. Great customer service - quick to respond and understands how to solve problems. Fair price point.

Cons

Cannot print directly from the site. It requires the user to download the document before printing. Inability to add a folder that does not automatically adopt the rights of the parent folder. I often want sub folders to have unique access rights, and it's a pain to go back into permissions to toggle it each time.

Response from CapLinked

Hello Michael, We are glad to hear your experience with CapLinked has been overall positive! We truly appreciate your feedback. Thank you, CapLinked

Replied August 2021

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2019

Caplinked First Time User

Pros

I like the ability to customize the platform and it is cost effective for our company.

Cons

It can't do all that the sales team swore that it could.

Reasons for choosing CapLinked

We chose CapLinked based on its ability to control permissions as well as third party users. The cost to store data and use it the way we needed was a huge deciding factor.

Response from CapLinked

Hello! We are glad to hear you found our platform customizable and cost-efficient! We hope to work with you for future projects. Thank you, Caplinked

Replied December 2019

User Profile

Penny

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

Best Virtual Data Room

This is a great VDR and is reasonably priced, unlike its competitors. I would highly recommend this for secure document sharing.

Pros

The CapLinked platform is super easy to navigate and share and lets you keep confidential documents secure at all times. It allows different levels of control for each group which saves a lot of time.

Cons

I would like to be able to add individuals without having to make them part of a group.

Response from CapLinked

Hello Penny, We are glad to hear you experienced ease in using Caplinked security features! We will soon hav single file sharing capabilities for admin, therefore not having to add an individual to a group to share a file. We hope to work with you for future projects. Thank you, Caplinked

Replied December 2019

Sanil

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2022

user friendly

Pros

Caplink application is very much user friendly and the highly security controlled platform and it is very ease to use the application,.

Cons

Ease of use and security controls and the access control process is very much monitored

Response from CapLinked

Hi Sanil, Thank you for your review of CapLinked! We appreciate your feedback. CapLinked Team

Replied June 2022

Christine

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2022

MainStreet CFO CapLinked Review

Pros

Easy to use, can set different permissions for different groups, can preview file before opening or downloading.

Cons

Difficult and time consuming to upload large files.

Response from CapLinked

Hello Christine, Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback as a CapLinked customer. Thank you, CapLinked

Replied July 2022

Peter

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2022

Good combination of value and features

Pros

Overall this was a good virtual data room for storing and transmitting information, tracking activity and managing the process.

Cons

The permissions functionality was a little clunky and would have liked better alerts for certain activities

Response from CapLinked

Hello Peter, We are glad to hear you experienced ease overall using CapLinked! We are always working to improve CapLinked for our clients and appreciate your review. Thank you for your feedback, CapLinked

Replied January 2022

User Profile

Qixiang

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

December 2021

A well made product

Pros

Easy to set up and have cross-platform capabilities.

Cons

The overall is quite good. One weakness is the integration. I would love to have more integrations such as with Slack.

Response from CapLinked

Hello Qixiang, We are glad to hear you experienced ease overall using CapLinked! We are always working to improve CapLinked for our clients and appreciate your review. Thank you for your feedback, CapLinked

Replied January 2022

Nalan

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2020

CapLinked Review

Overall experience was positive. Pros: 1. Incorporated tutorial videos for each section 2. Fancy look, video can be uploaded on the welcome page 3. Q&A section: reply from admin user can be send directly to requester which will then only be visible for these 2 individuals or admin user can reply posting this to the Q&A section where the requester will stay anonymous but all users in the work space would be able to see the question and answer. Cons: 1. Although the platform has some really great features, it is in some places somewhat cumbersome to handle. 2. Permissions are on the folder level and not on a the file level. File would have to be uploaded into an individual folder to restrict access 3. No restricted view access for single users within a group available. Permissions are on the non-admin group level. The individual would need to be in his or her own non-admin group to receive different permissions 4. No notification will be send out if a file or folder is deleted

Pros

- Personalising the data room with company logo and also being able to upload videos. - Folders and sub-folders can be restricted to view only or download and upload as well. However, permissions can only be restricted on group level not on individual level. Solution to create team group for individual to restrict view access for different folders / sub-folders. No option to restrict view / download permission on individual files. - E-mails via the workspace can be send to members of the same workspace to ask questions or for collaboration.

Cons

Although Q&A availability is great, unfortunately the usability is not very user-friendly, especially when trying to find the already answered questions. It would be good if the Q&A section would have a better order so one can see where the answers and questions relate to similar to a table of contents i.e. pointing to the folder if one would like to review all related questions to a specific topic in a folder or sub-folder.

Reasons for choosing CapLinked

Usability and appearance.

Response from CapLinked

Hello! We are glad to hear your experience with Caplinked overall positive! We are currently working on a new version of our Q&A feature that will provide many new updates for advanced usability. Thank you for your feedback! Thank you, Caplinked

Replied July 2020

Serena

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2020

My Review

Pros

When creating a new group, I enjoy that I can select permissions settings from an existing group, which helps creating a new group quicker. (Disclaimer: this is soley only my own personal opinion from my experiences with CapLinked).

Cons

More branding options for our company to use and display on the data room could be improved. Also, the activity tracker could use more improvement by including how long a user viewed a specific document. Lastly, the best improvement that could be made is to easily search and locate which user is in which group(s). Lastly, it was very upsetting when the data room was closed after we paid for our subscription renewal. (Disclaimer: this is solely only my own personal opinion from my experiences with CapLinked).

Response from CapLinked

Hello Serena, We are glad to hear you found our Permissions module features user-friendly and helpful! We are constantly working to improve our features, such as the Activity Tracker. You can search a user's email address from the Permissions page search bar, check the box next to their name and the groups they belong to appear on the right sidebar. We appreciate your feedback and hope to work with you on future projects. Thank you, CapLinked

Replied June 2020

Raj

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

May 2019

Owner

So far so good except the cons described above. Having a data room is very professional and we love offering that service through caplinked!

Pros

Easy to use and is visually appealing (to look at on a daily basis). Good price and has basic features that everyone needs. I like having the control to the dataroom and have knowing what user has what type of access.

Cons

I think the biggest con is to have to contact caplinked to delete a data room, and that to they only delete on Thursdays. Also I think caplinked should send out an email when your running over your space in the data room. Those are the two biggest problems

Reasons for choosing CapLinked

It was very simple to work with. We learned it in one day and knew of the functionalities.

Response from CapLinked

Hello Raj, We are glad to hear your experience with Caplinked went well! Admins will soon have the ability to delete workspace at their discretions. We truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to work with you for future projects. Thank you, Caplinked

Replied December 2019

jackson

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2018

Modern interface, easy to use - refreshing change of pace from software used in the past.

Pros

CapLinked is intuitive, cutting edge, and very transparent in their pricing. Their customer support is responsive, helpful, and thorough - providing an excellent customer experience. Uploading files and folders is also a seamless process. Uploading whole folder structures at a time makes my job extremely easy. It retains the same indexing and formatting I had on my desktop which is very convenient.

Response from CapLinked

Hello Jackson, We are glad to hear you found our platform user friendly and straightforward! We hope to work with you again for future projects. Caplinked

Replied December 2019

Armando

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2021

Average User

We only had one issue about a month ago and it was sorted out really easy. We just hoped it would trigger some kind of internal alarm since it was a downsize on our payed storage.

Pros

It's really easy to use and set up for users.

Cons

Trackability/Traceability is a bit odd to get to it. Would be nice to have it simplify, for instance help it see per project of a single user.

Reasons for switching to CapLinked

Security, ease of use and traceability of information mainly.

Response from CapLinked

Hello Armando, We are glad to hear your experience with CapLinked has been positive! We truly appreciate your feedback and will review your considerations in future updates to our Activity Tracker. Thank you, CapLinked

Replied May 2021

Maria

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5