All DocStar ECM Reviews

1-25 of 99 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Billy

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

DocStar Has been a Life Saver

We store both not only client information, but also our own business support documents. The overall experience has surpassed all expectations. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] and [SENSITIVE CONTENT] are Super-Stars in this business..

PROS

DocStar integrates with many programs, including various email platforms and PDF editors. Our users have not problems accessing and using the software when out of the office. The dependablility of the platform is awesome. The User access and passwords make it both easy to use and easy to control. In the 15 year plus that we have been a DocStar customer, it has saved us time, effort and money. In addition, our clients have been very impressed with our ability to gather, retain and send files to them.

CONS

There were times in the past, when DocStar would do updates that negatively affected our ability to use the software and it would cost several hours of "down time". In the most recent years, this seems to have been mostly resolved.

Reason for choosing DocStar ECM

[SENSITIVE CONTENT] gave a great presentation and earned my trust immediately...-+

Brent

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2017

An EDM system with great value, web enabled with heavy workflow focus

Data entry automation for AP and AR, matching, routing of Invoices and sales orders and ease of finding documents. Version control comes standard and integrates very nicely with MS Office

PROS

Base system comes with lots of standard features such as records management document workflow, zone ocr, content searching, approval routing and audit trail. The product is browser based so can support Apple/ios environments and be easily placed on premise or in the cloud. Support for multiple companies, TWAIn or ISIS scanning. Batch importing thru email, hot folder, xml or csv comes free. Full MS Office integration and virtual print driver come free. Lots of great options at an affordable price point

CONS

Looking forward to new rebranding in the 7.16 version , not a fan of the old logo and color pallet

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review Brent! I'm glad you like our new branding and I'll be sure to let the Product team know you're on the lookout for it in the product!

Replied August 2017

Susan

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Need Viewer to work with Epicor Kinetic windows using passwordless single sign-on

We are automatically attaching our Part drawings along with purchase orders to outgoing emails to suppliers. We are auto attaching documents (Commercial invoices, etc.) from QuickShip to the Customer Shipment Entry window in Epicor.

PROS

Love that we can have Epicor place documents into ECM and also pull documents from ECM to be sent on emails with Advanced Printing. Also that we can place records into ECM and they will auto attach to Epicor.

CONS

**** WE REALLY NEED THE VIEWER TO WORK FOR EPICOR KINETIC WINDOWS USING PASSWORDLESS SINGLE SIGN-ON. **** It worked in Classic but does not work in Kinetic windows. *Drag and Dropping documents into windows no longer works in Kinetic *The user interface is really not intuitive.

Reason for choosing DocStar ECM

We wanted it to integrate with Epicor

Reasons for switching to DocStar ECM

Epicor made the switch

Kelly

Banking, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2017

Eclipse Evaluation

I use Eclipse almost daily in our loan department. It is a awesome way to scan all our client info. This is a great tool for us in our department to not have to go into our actual file room every time we have an issue. It is also great when our auditors to come in and evaluate us, The only thing I ever seem to have an issue with is moving something or emailing a document. Other than that this a great tool to have.

PROS

The easy access to our customer files.

CONS

Often have problems trying to move or email a document.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for the review Kelly! We are happy to hear that eclipse is helping your team achieve greater productivity and efficiency. Feel free to reach out to support if you continue to have issues moving or emailing a document. There may be a simple fix for that! If not, you can always submit a Betterizer and our product team will review and prioritize when improving the solution. You can reach support at 1.866.243.2240. Also check out our Micro Lessons on CareCentral - the answer may be there. Dawn DiLorenzo Digital Marketing Manager

Replied February 2017

Mike

Automotive, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

ECM for Manufacturing

The experience with the latest implementation was very positive. The consultant provided by Epicor was very knowledgeable and great at implementing. Getting the right implementer is key.

PROS

The flexibility of the Workflows. Search Capability. Additional uses.

CONS

Difficult to learn to develop workflows.

Reasons for switching to DocStar ECM

We Switched to Epicor ERP from SAP

Zach

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed July 2022

DocStar ECM: You can pay for support but when you need it prepare to shell out more $$$

PROS

Nice document management, Can be granular with workflows but there is no documentation on workflow creation. This is probably a push to sell professional services

CONS

You can pay for a support contract, but if you ever need support prepare to get told you need to pay for professional services. Needed to upgrade our Docstar instance to a new version got directed to professional services. Need assistance with creating a workflow, Professional services will help you for the right price. Really confused on why we pay for support when every support request gets the reply "You would need professional services for that". Requested access to download new versions of Docstar from their website... This was 4 months ago and they still have not come through with the request. Probably a way to get people to pay for professional services.

Joan

Wholesale, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

DocStar Review

We just started implementing this through the company wide. Still learning the ins and outs

PROS

The added forms and workflow that can prefill certain customer profiles in Kinetic

CONS

We are on prim so the upgrades and information on when the newest release was and release notes. If that was available we would have better judgement on when we need to upgrade

Reason for choosing DocStar ECM

DocStar was already implemented when I started

Reasons for switching to DocStar ECM

Was before I was on board

Kristin

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2016

Outshines Dark Filing Cabinets!

Before our company transitioned to docSTAR Eclipse my office was wall to wall dark filing cabinets crammed full of personnel files. They were overwhelming and more importantly even though locked, not fully secure. With docSTAR Eclispe mountains of paper are a dark memory. Security and confidentiality are top priorities. Past and present employee information is always at your fingertips! Fingertips that no longer have to deal with constant paper cuts! Previously an audit would require extensive time pulling individual files and documents, hoping that everything would be put back in the correct place. Now a few clicks of the mouse and documents are exported with ease with no risk of losing information or it falling into the wrong hands. docSTAR Eclipse has been a game changer for our Human Resources Department! I couldn't dream of going back to piles of paper. I highly recommend this product to HR departments both large and small!

PROS

The ease of use. With just a little training I was able to fully use the software. It's very intuitive.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review Kristin and we are so happy to hear that you are seeing the value and return on investment your investment in eclipse!

Replied November 2016

Dennis

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Old school long time user,

Storage of paper documents in the office is gone. We down sized the office. We were completely ready to go to remote working, no shut down.

PROS

The data stored is available to who ever has access including remote access. People do not have to be in the office to be productive. you can find thing fast and storing document's with workflows keep the lookup consistent.

CONS

The folder system for looking up document's needs features. Renaming folders, combining folders contents and. general maintenance of folders is not there.

Reason for choosing DocStar ECM

The sequel data base to keep track of what you have. The end user ease of use. The security features. although some what complicated. It allows you to keep groups separate.

Peter

Wholesale, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

It saves time to find documents.

I can find documents much easier. It has powerful document management automations.

PROS

I love how easy it is to securely store, search and send any document.

CONS

Documentation is difficult to load and has a learning curve.

Diana

Insurance, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Overall very good System

Good!

PROS

Being able to save and retrieve documents. Annotations available to edit documents. Ability to delete documents if necessary. Importing multiple documents with one VCS # very helpful.

CONS

Email imports, previous versions saved the email and the attached documents as PDF's you could just flip through the pages, now you have to download the email and click on the document to view. You also cannot due annotations anymore on email attachments when the email itself was imported.

Thomas

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed October 2022

dockstar commentary

Fair some good point and some bad

PROS

It did the job. It was fairly easy for staff to use and successfully allowed us to electronically send and have our managerial staff electronically approve and code their invoices.

CONS

Was a bit cumbersome to use and was difficult to interface with other systems (G/L)

Reason for choosing DocStar ECM

We didn't we had Dockstar and moved to Doclink due to improved interfacing capabilities

June

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Docstar for Record management

great product - We have created several fillable PDF's that can be routed accordingly. Also uploaded all paper medical records making room for more offices

PROS

Easy to use - able to upload several documents and arrange as needed. All Medical Records/personnel files can be stored electronically instead of paper

CONS

No cons, we were abnle to easily scan documentes into the system and rename and process them without dificulty

Thomas

Aviation & Aerospace, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

Great storage and retreival tool!

We got rid of 62 file cabinets! We use this as a repository for all of our records.

PROS

We love that we can always access any document from any desktop. The search is amazing!

CONS

It is expensive and there are additional modules to purchase if you need more functionality.

Reason for choosing DocStar ECM

More features

Kristin

Food Production, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed October 2022

Adequate but needs modernization

PROS

This system integrates with SYSPRO, which was the primary driver for purchase. It has the ability to be highly customized and accommodate complex workflows. Does great at retaining images of documents and the search functions are usable and logical.

CONS

The interface is not modern and some basic functions are missing like the inability to filter on columns and manage out of office approvals for groups. Workflow creation is difficult and not intuitive - lacks the ability to copy multi steps from other workflows.

Reason for choosing DocStar ECM

Integration into SYSPRO

D

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2016

Deep knowledge of Dynamics GP and AP automation a huge plus!

As a leader in the mortgage space, we handle thousands of documents a month as well as invoices. Everything was processed and handled manually, causing dozens of hours of work every week, errors and delayed approvals and payments, all leading to additional expenses. Trying to find documents for audits was a tedious, costly process and storing documents in file cabinets exposes our organization to theft and loss. We met with the top 4 or 5 vendors in addition to docSTAR and docSTAR met every one of our requirements. Plus, their knowledge of accounts payable workflow and MS Dynamics GP, easy to build workflows (even complex ones), and cost effectiveness of the solution made them our top choice. We would definitely go with docSTAR again. Pros Non-technical staff can build workflows very easily, saving our IT resources time. Deep knowledge of GP was essential for an easy implementation. Our staff found eclipse easy to learn and use without a lot of training. It's very intuitive. Storing content digitally will give us a fast return on investment in labor and storage. Finding new uses for the solution all the time.

Vendor Response

We work really hard to make sure our customers have fantastic experiences with our products and team. We are really happy to hear that the solutions are saving you time and money, our teams' expertise is helping you work more efficiently and that you are able to expand your Return on Investment with the MS Dynamics integration and new use cases!

Replied December 2016

ELLEN

Insurance, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

DocStar

Very satisfied with the system and would highly recommend.

PROS

System is very user friendly and able to retrieve a document in seconds rather than deal with paper files.

CONS

System can sometimes go down, but customer support is very responsive and helpful.

Kristen

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: