User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(12)

12

4 stars

(14)

14

3 stars

(3)

3

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Generally works pretty well and is reasonably easy to use once you get the hang of it."

  • "The flexibility and toolset gives our team a lot of options and methods to integrate with our complex ecosystem."

  • "We were able to customize and integrate with single page application completely. Ability to customize and add features are a big plus."

  • Cons

  • "IMO, dotCMS is not for the small team. It provides a ton of features and power, but the complexity makes it hard to jump in to."

  • "Customer service or internal problems within software like system bugs. "

  • "Lack of built-in components - but then it's more of a framework than a plug-and-play system like WordPress."

Browse dotCMS Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -20 of 30 results

December 2018

Christopher from Aquent

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

dotCMS, a great java-based, enterprise-level CMS

I've used dotCMS since their early years (something like 15 years now). They have come a long way and created a great product that I would highly recommend for any team that needs an enterprise-level CMS and is wants a product they can mold and shape into exactly what they need to deliver either just their content or their content and their websites.

Pros

dotCMS is a developer's sandbox with lots of toys in it. It has a lot of built-in features and the custom content types and flexibility. There has been nothing we've wanted to do that we could not do using dotCMS.

Cons

With great flexibility comes great complexity. There are examples of how to do everything, but in the end you have to build out your own stuff. It doesn't theme, it doesn't one-click upgrade. You have to have a competent development wrapped around it.

July 2019

James from Bradley University

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Solid cloud-hosted CMS for the Enterprise

My experience overall has been very good. We use their enterprise cloud-hosted service so we pay one reasonable fee for the annual license, support and hosting. It is advisable to purchase some sort of training package to get started. Otherwise, you may spend extra time figuring out how to ideally work within the system. For instance, you need to become familiar with the Velocity language that is related to Apache/Tomcat/Java.

Pros

This is an ideal CMS for an enterprise environment that needs a product that is flexible, highly customizable and reasonably priced.

Cons

There are bugs at times that are identified and either resolved via a hotfix or held for resolution in the next iteration. I have received emails saying that a bug was identified and proactively already fixed. However, other times I notice an issue that is documented as a feature yet doesn't work and you must wait until the next iteration is released. One example is an automatic sitemap generator tool. While the configuration of the module is in the documentation there are known reports that not all of the features work. Rather than prioritize it as a hotfix, it is idle until the next release. In the meantime, I have to defer to a third-party sitemap tool.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

dotCMS gave us the freedom we were looking for.

Overall this platform has opened doors to us that were previous closed. I'm generally very happy with the freedom this software has given my team.

Pros

We appreciated that we could make tweaks and changes that we needed to get the platform to do what we need. Thanks to dotCMS, we are able to give our front end users an easy way to edit and add content to their pages no matter what their skill levels are. We also have the freedom to push to production without having to involve the System Administrators which gives us AMAZING turn around time. If there is a problem in production, we can fix it in minuted, which makes our client very happy and lowers their impact to revenue.

Cons

Sometimes it feels like the software falls short in some instances. Some UI bugs that we have encountered frustrate us as they seem to simple that with some UI/UX focus, shouldn't have occurred. Better documentation could also help us in leaps and bounds. When we have issues, it can be so frustrating to find the correct way to do things, or how to fix our problem. It is often found to be out of date or inaccurate.

December 2018

Bill from Oberlin College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

DotCMS (hosted/Enterprise edition) might be perfect for you but it wasn't for us

I think the biggest problem over the years (we are no longer clients) was the lack of a good, consistent working relationship. As a result, we missed years of updates and then had a very painful period where everything seemed to break while, version by version, we got our system up to date. During this time our stakeholders lost faith in DotCMS, so when it came time for a site redesign, there was no question that we would move to another platform even though the capabilities of the updated software were solid.

Pros

The ability to create widgets and place them in any container on the page allows for a ton of flexibility for pulling in and displaying content. The interface for content editors was generally easy enough for them to use effectively.

Cons

If you're not a developer who already knows the language, there's a long learning curve before you're able to code Velocity to do what you want. Also, some things that require little or no setup in other systems require customization. (Example: generating friendly URLs, which is automatic in something like Wordpress.) We also didn't like the strange URLs auto-generated for file assets. Permissions were buggy, partly because some of our files were so old ("legacy" assets).

Response from dotCMS

Replied January 2019

Hey Bill, We completely understand your frustrations and valued having Oberlin College as a customer This feedback is representative of the why behind our investment in customer experience and customer success. We've built out a customer centric program over the last two years to ensure more optimal customer experiences. Since your departure, we've also built out a much more intuitive and business friendly UI with the launch of the dotCMS 5 series. This release has a cleaner UI, new drag-and-drop features, and an added reporting module. dotCMS 5.0 follows our `NoCode initiative, offering non-technical users, editors, and marketers the autonomy they need. We're happy to walk you through any of the latest enhancements. Please feel free to contact me with any additional suggestions or feedback at kristina.couchon@dotcms.com. We're always striving to move forward with the voice of our customers in mind. Kristina Couchon Director of Customer Success

December 2018

Will from Calvin College

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Great CMS for the non-techy

My background is in web development, with most of my experience in frameworks and content management systems like Drupal, WordPress, and Laravel; one organization that I work for specializes in web development. However, another organization that I work for (the one that uses dotCMS) does not specialize in web development. This organization does want each of its employees to be able to add content to the website on a routine basis, though, and dotCMS fits this use case perfectly - its familiar concepts and simple interface make dotCMS an easy tool to learn and get comfortable with.

Pros

dotCMS uses concepts familiar to the average computer user, such as files and folder, so it's easy for people who know nothing in particular about web development to add and maintain content. Support is very courteous and responsive.

Cons

Not very developer-friendly: On the job, the main thing I do in dotCMS is write code for templates, detail pages, etc. I often end up copying and pasting code back and forth between dotCMS' interface and a text editor like Notepad++ because I find the built-in code editor fields too small. While dotCMS has WebDAV support, I have never been able to get it to work - and I've tried about a dozen times on a dozen different computers. The closest I've come to getting WebDAV to work is getting a list of all folders in the dotCMS installation -- but no files.

May 2017

Joshua from Ethode

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Best Value of any Enterprise CMS

Fast paced team development built around technologies that we're already using with mainstream clients to tackle enterprise problems.

Pros

We've been using the software with out clients since almost the inception of the software. Their support is great, and more affordable than most that are comparable amongst enterprise CMS providers. As mainly a development shop, the flexibility of the different frameworks we can use (Spring MVC, Struts, OSGi, AngularJS) allow us to use cutting edge technologies along with their scalable architecture and tackle just about anything you could want.

Cons

Software still has some legacy functionality that needs refactored; the impact is very low but from time to time creeps up from a "want" to a "need".

December 2017

Jonathan from Calvin College

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

This is an intuitive CMS that gets better with each iteration. Technical support is top-notch.

Pros

Easy to use folder/html-page style site interface. Extensive API uses Java viewtool objects to interact and code with the data programmatically. Apache velocity is a nice templating language for front-end development. Easy to create and deal with new structures.

Cons

Permissions can be difficult and involved to set up and maintain. There are limits on datatypes in content structures (which is understandable) but I can't think of why the text limit and date limit should be the same. We are always running into the text type limit because so many field types use the text data type. On the other hand, the most we've ever used the date data-type is twice in a structure. We don't need 25 date fields.

July 2019

Christopher from Aquent

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

dotCMS is a great Content Management System and Development Platform for Enterprises

We use dotCMS to drive over 2 dozen websites and web apps. We integrate it with our custom internal tooling, as well as many third-party integrations like: Eloqua, Taleo, and Google's entire suite of SEO tooling. We also integrate with many different APIs and back-end infrastructures.

Pros

The flexibility and toolset gives our team a lot of options and methods to integrate with our complex ecosystem.

Cons

IMO, dotCMS is not for the small team. It provides a ton of features and power, but the complexity makes it hard to jump in to.

December 2017

Christopher from Aquent

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

dotCMS is a great Content Management System

Pros

I love the content model, it provides a very flexible and powerful way to model what content makes up our website. I also love the ability to adapt the software itself to what our business needs through the use of plugins.

Cons

Administration is not trivial. The powerful features in dotCMS come at a price that makes it harder to administer at a technical level. It requires more resources to run, upgrades are difficult, etc.

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2019

Over 10 Years with dotCMS

We need an easy-to-use but flexible CMS; dotCMS is a good balance of both.

Pros

It's easy for new users to grasp. Permissioning is granular. Custom content types are fairly easy to create.

Cons

Getting satisfactory answers from support is sometimes frustrating.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Powerful CMS for Complex Content

dotCMS brought our website down from thousands of separate files and pages into a well organized CMS that if much easier to manage. It also gave us the ability for other users within the company to add and edit content without having to go to the web team.

Pros

dotCMS was a great out-of-the-box solution for our organization. It is able to handle complex content and relationships and makes it realitvely easy to build your website or app around your content and data.

Cons

The interface and learning curve can be intimidating for first-time or casual users. However, it had improved significanlly over the last few years with more improvements constantly coming down the line.

December 2018

Dennis from Michigan State University

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

dotCMS is pretty great

we have been able to use the system to unify over 500 websites which now are able to share content and features for easy management!

Pros

we were looking for a highly configurable system that would allow us to create and manage a large number of abstract content types using taxonomies, workflow and other best practices. dotCMS definitely provided this for us.

Cons

the system is pretty abstract so it takes some planning to get started. we also ended up going with the cloud solution, which was easier than installing it and managing it ourselves.

December 2017

Steve from Qualicom Innovations

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

When you need a solid framework that lets you build a web infrastructure, dotCMS is a great choice.

Pros

Intuitive interface for creating web pages and reusable or structured content; ease of adding JQuery plugins; custom workflow designer; theme-based templates that support responsive design; built-in personalization and rule-based targeting; effective multilingual support; RESTful API; push publishing across servers.

Cons

Lack of built-in components - but then it's more of a framework than a plug-and-play system like WordPress.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

New employee learning a new CMS

I work for a large college within a university and we needed a solution to organize and centralize all the websites within that college. This product gave a platform for managing each department's sites while giving us a way to generalize the content and share the content between the different departmental units. We have defined content types and the template tool and reused content and widget editor allows us to display those content types in ways that make the code reusable. For regular content creators it is a slight struggle to train them but as time goes on they are able to add their own content more intuitively. We have needed to customize a lot of solutions on our own to accomplish this but dotCMS is very accommodating when we have difficult questions.

Pros

- Lots of room for customization - templating and layout options are robust - file management is a breeze - personalization and personas - ability to establish workflows for publishing content - reasonably priced for a product of this size

Cons

- Complex for non power users - Documentation is overwhelming with examples not always being clear - Velocity is some what limiting when programming certain features - Large macro code base but they don't always function or stay up to date

February 2019

Ben from Financial services

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Investment Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Ability to be flexible

Pros

dotCMS is a powerful tool that could be customized to your need without having to modify the core. Allowing you to create content and use it in many different ways. From totally headless to hosting the pages in itself. You can make it fit your needs.

Cons

Like any CMS, having to create template for special things might be challenging some times.

December 2018

Rossie from Colorado College

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

dotCMS is a great web environment

Pros

Being able to template out multiple websites with the same look and feel. The ability to reuse widgets & content across the site is a time saver.

Cons

Building tables on the web page is painful but it is across most web environments.

December 2018

Jerry from Avery Products Corporation

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

dotCMS backend

Pros

We were able to customize and integrate with single page application completely. Ability to customize and add features are a big plus.

Cons

So far nothing, most critical issues we found were quickly patched.

January 2019

Karen from CC

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

Decent, but could be better

Pros

Generally works pretty well and is reasonably easy to use once you get the hang of it.

Cons

Is not very modern. Working with images is cumbersome. Documentation could be better. Support seems quite slow.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Very usefull tools for making (almost) any potal

I've done several portals, all with customers satisfaction.

Pros

Very simple to use, customizable, time to market

Cons

Expensive Enterprise license Site documentation is poor

April 2017

Melinda from Indiana University Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW)

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

April 2017

Poor CMS system

Dot CMS does not give you a lot of flexibility as a web publisher. I have experience with many other platforms and this is the hardest to use, meaning it is not intuitive. It is also dated in terms of some of the plug ins.

Response from dotCMS

Replied May 2017

Hey Melinda! We really value customer feedback and transparency (truly, it effects the request we prioritize and future releases so customer feedback is essential) . We'd love the chance to speak with you in more depth around your experience as we're value centric and want to help remedy any of your current pain points here. We've had a relationship with IPFW for quite some time and want to make sure all parties are satisfied with their experience from the platform. I've reached out to you personally so please do let me know when you're available to connect. Thanks Melinda, I look forward to hearing from you. dotCMS Customer Success

December 2018

Robin from GNS Science

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

dotCMS for our intranet platform

Pros

Adding and maintaining content in dotCMS is simple and easy for non-technical staff. The editor is intuitive and has all the features needed without being overwhelming and difficult to master. Content maintainers are up and running within minutes, its brilliant.

Cons

dotCMS has a fairly large footprint and can be quite complex to set up initially. There are some minor quirks which we have come across that their technical support wasn't able to solve for us, but I believe it is specific to our installation and may not affect other installations. Other than that their support has been outstanding.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2019

Good CMS software!

Pros

Easy to use. Very easy to manage your work.

Cons

Customer service or internal problems within software like system bugs.

December 2018

Nash from Baptist Health

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Hit the ground running with this innovative and evolving CMS

Customer service was always responsive and we were able to get the corporate site up and running on this platform in a few short months.

Pros

This tool was much more approachable than previous CMS and the APIs that they provide allow you to extend the product with ease

Cons

Some of the desired customizations weren't always possible

January 2019

Robert from Center for Vision and Values

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Very User Friendly Dashboard

The software is vey good and the features and abilities are nice and useful.

Pros

The dashboard is very well done. It has everything you need and is easy to understand. The vanity URL ability was also a very cool feature. Plus, the Java being there was nice as well.

Cons

The pricing. We loved the demo but the enterprise package was a little more that our budget could handle for a CMS.

December 2018

Sreedhar from S&P Global

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

dotCMS Feedback

Good so far, we have our web interfaces deployed on dotCMS.

Pros

Build on sound software foundations and frameworks, flexibility with regards to integration plugins.

Cons

Customer support, lacking in understanding requirements of clients especially the ones who are in commercial in nature, taking feedback from marketing and real users for UI specific needs.

June 2019

Billy from Dynamit

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Disruptive platform

Speed to market for our clients has dramatically increased.

Pros

- Extremely easy to use - Headless capabilities - Great support - No code

Cons

- Lack of native a/b testing, encouraged to see it on the roadmap

January 2019

Syrine from UT Health Science Center at Houston

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

dotCMS does the job!

Pros

I have minimal use with the software on a daily basis. However, when I do need to go in and make a change for our company's website, it is fairly easy and quick. I am able to get in and out.

Cons

I wish it would be a bit more user friendly and not so cumbersome in some areas. It could be the way my company initially structured the software for our needs.

December 2018

Ravi from CMCC

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

dotCMS Impressions

We needed a system that was fully responsive and this was an excellent presentation for our needs.

Pros

Coming from our prior system, dotCMS was an improvement in several areas. The layout of the administration portal was simple to learn in order to get started.

Cons

The management of users and roles required manual intervention and could not use work flows to do automation.

October 2015

Kasey from State Medical University

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

October 2015

Use dotCMS to manage a higher education website

Pro: Very flexible and easy to extend. Allows you to build things the way your want. Powerful multi-tenant hosting for managing multiple websites. Separation of authoring and production servers with the ability to push publish between environments. Con: More of platform for building web and internet applications. So, some features require a little work to get implemented

March 2017

Rod from Gettysburg College

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

dotCMS Software Reflection

Great experience for over twelve years.