What are Microsoft SharePoint users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Microsoft SharePoint software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.25

3,582 Reviews

5
1,611
4
1,391
3
471
2
85
1
24
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"I like the ability to be to access shared documents and edit them with ease. The learning curve is tuff, but well worth the effort."
  • icon"The simplicity and ease of access makes SharePoint a brilliant tool to collaborate from anywhere around the world."
  • icon"SharePoint is good for storage, has some benefits for collaboration, and even some benefits for sharing files."
  • icon"The problem's solutions are usually on the internet. But it can not be detected problems led to the crisis in the company."
  • icon"Flaws: Very slow response time, lags, often freezes. The site is down about once a month which is very frustrating."
  • icon"It's not at all intuitive and users have too many options to create their own system. This just ends up in a mess that is difficult to manage or takes a lot of effort to do so."

Jump to:

Browse all Microsoft SharePoint Reviews

  • Have you used Microsoft SharePoint and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 3,582 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 3,582 reviews

Alexia

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

May 2021

It is not my favourite

User Profile

Matheus

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Excellent application for cloud document management.

Based on my own experience, MS Sharepoint is an excellent app that is easily integrated with other Microsoft applications, providing the user with all the necessary features to ensure an optimized and complete workflow. One of the features I like the most is the easy document management where it is possible to edit documents online because the resources are in the cloud, so any team member will have real time access to the updates made to the document. However, one point that I don't like, and becomes negative, is the generation of conflicts that occur in the document when more than one user has accessed it and made changes to it. Many times, I need to save a copy of the file somewhere else in order to remove the generated conflict. I understand that to solve this problem, the tool could present which conflicts were generated so that users can understand what can be done. I realize that Microsoft has invested a lot in the integration of Sharepoint with other Office 365 tools and this makes the work experience very positive, because everything is easier to use and updated in real time.

Pros

One of the features I like the most is the easy document management where it is possible to edit documents online because the resources are in the cloud, so any team member will have real time access to the updates made to the document.

Cons

one point that I don't like, and becomes negative, is the generation of conflicts that occur in the document when more than one user has accessed it and made changes to it. Many times, I need to save a copy of the file somewhere else in order to remove the generated conflict.

User Profile

Nick

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Industrial Automation

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

Company file sharing gets projects moving quickly

Pros

Being able to share and collaborate with anyone internally to our company plus the ability to send files outside of the organization is extremely useful.

Cons

Share functions can be a bit cumbersome, especially when sending outside of the organization and sometime security settings block common sense capabilities

Reasons for switching to Microsoft SharePoint

Moving to the Microsoft world it just made sense to also migrate to Sharepoint

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2022

THE online sharing platform

Very, very satisfied as our customers are. Some things could be smoothed out, but overall the experience is positive.

Pros

Very fine access control and permissions, great interoperability and integration with everything and guest users. Solid cloud platform.

Cons

The sharing logic sometimes implies less than intuitive rules "a guest user cannot delete the files he uploaded" and so on, upon which you can stumble a bit. Then as with every Microsoft product, the strong capabilities are there, but finding a good online reference or manual to really leaverage them isn't always easy.

Reasons for choosing Microsoft SharePoint

Stability, ease of use, consistency, number and depth of features, integration capabilities.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft SharePoint

We switched because our customers grew and so their online collaboration needs, and Google couldn't deliver enough flexibility and reliability.

User Profile

Andrea

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Collaboration, backup and automation

Sharepoint has allowed me to be more efficient in different ways, with many of its functionalities, I generally hope that one of them will allow me to make a process more collaborative, controlled and at the same time automated. Currently the entire organization has access to use the software, in the same way the introduction and migration to Sharepoint from local servers has been gradual, mostly due to people's resistance to something new and unknown. In my department specifically, has been a greater acceptance, integration and discovery by constant learning by some team members who are not exploiting all the advantages of the software yet.

Pros

Permission management: This is super relevant and wonderful for controlling what your audience can see and do, for example, when you need someone to constantly see changes to a "living document" but not have the ability to intervene in the process. Contact groups: I find it super good since not necessarily the site administrators are the only ones who can manage the group, you can make any member of the group can manage the rest of the members without this being involved in other site settings . Also when granting permissions, distributing documents, announcements, tasks, it is very easy to do it by group of contacts than one by one. Version history: We know that we are exposed to errors and accidents, so having the previous versions of a document, being able to see who has modified and having the possibility of restoring any of those versions can save the day. I always feel that I am protected and that is why I always promote working in the cloud.

Cons

Please provide some detailed examples of areas where MS SharePoint has room for improvement. These could be features that are hard to use, missing functionality, or just things that you'd like to see done differently. Modern view / classic view: I really appreciate the minimalist change that has been made with many of the menus in the latest versions of sharepoint, but most of the time it complicates me and generates many more clicks (much more time) wanting to do one This action can be done by changing to the classic view from the ribbon, for example, managing permissions for a site, being able to manage sharepoint groups. A little more advanced configurations, without becoming complex that depend a lot on the IT department. Descriptions of some options or settings can become confusing, complicated and you simply are not able to know if it is what you are looking for or not, the language to the user is sometimes understood only through trial and error.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft SharePoint

Onedrive focuses mainly on being a repository in the cloud, but where the administrator of this information is usually the person who owns the site or the account where the information is stored. Unlike Sharepoint that allows generating groups of administrators, users and owners who can manage the documents, permissions, visualization and customization of this repository in the cloud. In addition Sharepoint is more than a repository, it allows you to customize sites according to the specific use that you want to give it, additionally it allows you to generate and assign tasks, create workflows that can be connected to other external applications. Without a doubt, Onedrive is a small and limited part of everything that Sharepoint can offer.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

January 2022

The everything tool that is hard to describe

We began our journey to online collaboration looking for a one-to-one replacement of our onsite file server. As Office365 has grown and we as well our understanding of the use of tools like distribution groups grew into Office 365 groups and now Teams to support the functions of those groups and underneath each of those was Sharepoint acting as the trunk from which those branches of collaboration have stemmed. Even as we have only basically touched on the capbility for the pages within the sharepoint site to act as a more robust website, we are still only using those as information to direct people the conversation locations and document libraries.

Pros

Essentially everything about Office 365 is wrapped around the core of Sharepoint online. As Microsoft began investing in their online offerings they used this existing structure for an intranet to allow groups to collaborate on materials to work across the internet rather than just across the office. This time-tested, monolithic system isn't fast and flashy, but it is capable if you spend the time learning how to achieve your outcomes within its constraints. In a time where the consumer-focused ease of use and design first function second products offer a slick entry point to productivity and collaboration, once you start interacting with systems deeper and need access controls, audit trails, backups, and the things that established companies demand in order to operate you quickly begin to have an appreciation for the capability of Sharepoint as a legacy system that has people working on it to make sure it evolves to stand the test of time.

Cons

Its feature richness is a benefit and a challenge as it is complex to learn all of the capabilities and how to manage them.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft SharePoint

Google had an early lead in the online collaboration space for education, but lagged as the need grew from a space for individuals to share work to the need for central locations to which all members of a group or org had access and was centrally managed.

Govinda

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

Reviewing SharePoint - Mature but can be Modular

Overall, its simple to use and easier to connect and share across. It becomes a bit hard when you try complex things.

Pros

First, it can be accessed from different devices and from anywhere. Because its a tool offered by Microsoft, it works really well with Word, Excel, and Powerpoint, making the flow of work and transition easy. Sharing is another aspect which is pretty easy.

Cons

Its really not pleasing to the eye and doesn't work seamlessly with platforms outside of Microsoft.

Reasons for choosing Microsoft SharePoint

Because we chose Microsoft as a whole. We actually weren't in favor of SharePoint when making the decision on this bit but then Microsoft overall was offering a good deal and many systems that connect seamlessly with each other so we went with that. For example, we were really happy with Teams and other products so we compromised on this bit. As a standalone, we might have gone with something else.

Peter

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Chemicals

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Sharepoint as a secure file sync and share platform

I have personally had mix results. We ultimately made the decision because of the blended Office 365 costs, reducing our FSS-specific contract with a 3rd party vendor, who happened to be a leader in the space and had a far richer UX.

Pros

I like the integration with the microsoft cloud and the ability to share and concurrently edit from shared, sharepoint websites we use to share with internal and external stakeholders.

Cons

It seems like security is a big concern and user experience is not up to par with other FSS solutions like Box/Dropbox.

Reasons for choosing Microsoft SharePoint

total cost of ownership (vs. using multiple providers).

Reasons for switching to Microsoft SharePoint

The switch was made predominately due to budget. The Microsoft 365 Enterprise package was able to hide the actual cost of FSS, which was an additional line item for the Box platform. It made it almost impossible to stay with Box.

Caleb

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

A nice way for work groups to host/share content within the organization

I use SharePoint pages on a weekly basis within our company. It is a nice way for each work group to host their work-specific content for each individual group. There are also SharePoint pages for the higher up divisions and organizations where content can be found.

Pros

No HTML coding is required for hosting a SharePoint site. Previously, a lot of the work groups had their own self-hosted web pages that looked like they were straight out of the 80's. It is awesome having a quick reference for vital URLs, internal documents, and also collaborating files with each other for editing.

Cons

The user interface for the admins managing the individual SharePoint page isn't the greatest. The admin pages are not self-explanatory. Usually if I need to do anything out of the ordinary, I have to google it because it is not self-explanatory. That being said, once it's set up though, the pages work great.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft SharePoint

Our company switched to a massive mostly Microsoft contract so all of the other products that we used in the past were retired and replaced with Microsoft-hosted solutions.

Nisha

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

Good product

Favorable

Pros

Document management, meeting management, content library, knowledge articles

Cons

Customer care needs improvement as the responsibility time is very high. All document updates are being emailed now clogging my inbox. File structure is confusing and difficult to navigate

Reasons for switching to Microsoft SharePoint

New application with more collaboration options

User Profile

Robert

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

Small Business Sys Admin - Sharepoint

Pros

Since Sharepoint online is being provided with my O365 licensing the cost is irrelevant making it an easy first choice but in addition the O365 integration means AD user management is equally appealing.

Cons

Transitioning users to leverage sharepoint is probably my biggest difficulty right now. I feel that users are unfamiliar with Sharepoint enough that a video demonstrating the transition from traditional / non-microsoft platforms to the use of Sharepoint would be helpful. I have yet to find a video that satisfies that.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft SharePoint

Low cost licensing, product integration, easy user management.

Sherae

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

Best collaboration tool

Having been in a pandemic for so long and most people are taking their work home now, this is a great software to have when collaborating on projects with team members

Pros

I love the fact that people in different locations can work on the same project all at the same time and given that we are in a pandemic right now and most companies are work from home, it’s the ideal tool to stay connected.

Cons

Though it isn’t expensive for a large company such as mine, it may be for smaller companies. Aside from that a very good tool

Reasons for switching to Microsoft SharePoint

It allows for multiple users to have access to a project as opposed to just the administrator owning the file.

Akinyemi

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

Advantages of using powerpoint

Biblical and school base presentation

Pros

Uploading integrated files from creative media like Correl draw and Photoshop

Cons

1. Number of creative template are limited 2. Creative tools should be improved on

Reasons for switching to Microsoft SharePoint

Power point functionality and ease of navigation, more than Inkscape

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2022

Not bad if you must use it!

Pros

Works great as a spot for document sharing and collaboration. Being able to share a link in an email instead of attached Version 12 of a document for feedback is valuable. And multiple people doing real time edits is a lifesaver.

Cons

If your organization is in the middle of switching from SharePoint server to SharePoint online, there will be some hiccups. Also sharing with other people inside of your org can be a pain depending on how permissions on each site are set up.

Luiz Guilherme

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

sharepoint is good, but your competitors are better

Pros

version control works really well. it's also works well for teamwork, but it's not spectacular.

Cons

the tool looks amateur, is not user friendly and looks super plastered

Reasons for switching to Microsoft SharePoint

Google is better than sharepoint

User Profile

Stacy-Ann

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2022

A useful collaborative platform

Microsoft SharePoint is a very reliable and useful application that has made collaboration easier and faster. With Microsoft SharePoint, users can share their files and documents with each other, which can increase teamwork and productivity.

Pros

Microsoft SharePoint is a useful collaborative tool that has helped me to easily collaborate with others. It has helped me to save my documents in a central location, which can be easily accessed by me as well as the users that I give access to the documents. Consequently, I have been able to easily collaborate with others on projects. Moreover, Microsoft SharePoint is very secure since documents can only be accessed by those who have been given access, which prevents unauthorized persons from accessing the documents.

Cons

Sharing documents in Microsoft SharePoint can be problematic sometimes. For example, when I share files/documents with team members, some of them still indicate that they do not see the files/documents, or they do not have access to them even though access was granted.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Excellent business collaborative document management platform

Our project is using Microsoft SharePoint for long years (and my previous project in earlier organization too!) and felt comfortable using this product which includes file versioning, sharing across teams, calendar/task sharing, review documents online, integration with multiple Microsoft products like Microsoft 365, Microsoft teams, Microsoft PowerBI, Microsoft Project for project management, Microsoft Visio for designers, Microsoft OneNote that enhances the data security with protected encryption via 2-factor authentication methods. Also our team made different customization on share point server which comprises visual effects of colors, fonts, graphic modes, Power automate workflow modes (that saved major cost to our project). We used Microsoft One drive, Microsoft Teams to share project documents in effective manner.

Pros

Flexible to use across any user or large group in the organization, specially in company intranet environment. It allows social networking as well to collaborate across different user groups like developers, designers, business analysts. According to business needs, it can be customized to view the specific content in the design. In terms of project management, it allows to share user calendars, multiple task notes and project trackers. Consolidation of internet and intranet collaboration of sites make the business users easy to use. SharePoint server allows programmers to develop API jobs to automate the day to day business functionalities that reduces the cost to entire organization. Centralized administration allows hassle free system settings, easy work flow navigation settings, effective back up and restoration of data incase of data corruption or manual deletion of data by mistake. The user productivity will get increased through real time collaboration that includes document versioning that avoids duplicate files, cloud support, document notification for managing different file system types.

Cons

The ROI is pretty average compared with other document management products in the market. Not available to preview the document files. The URL keeps with folder names so it annoys when user has long file folder/file names on it. Training aid is mandatorily needed to do more administration settings.

Anonymous

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

Exceptional Platform for Team Collaboration and Content Storage

My overall experience with SharePoint has been great, as I have been able to realize numerous benefits including, but not limited to, the ability to work with teammates on numerous assignments in real-time, the ability to store files of various formats on the platform, and the ability to share the aforementioned files directly from the platform via email with ease. Overall, I offer high praise for this service and would undoubtedly recommend others to give it a try as well as it is well worth it.

Pros

What I like most about this software is the fact that it allows for real-time collaboration on a number of Microsoft Office products on any web browser as long as you are connected to the internet. I find the amount of tools and resources offered by SharePoint to be very vast, even more so than some of its competitors, which on some occasions charge more for their services than does SharePoint. I also like the fact that documents can be worked on and accessed on virtually any device, whether it be a smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop. This allows for everyone on a team to participate on projects or assignments regardless of their device or operating system preferences.

Cons

What I like least about this software has nothing to do with the features or functionalities associated with SharePoint, which I find to be great, but rather has to do with its relatively lackluster appeal to the general public, which seems to be somewhat attracted more to its competitors. As a result, when new members join SharePoint, I have noticed that it takes them a decent amount of time to become acquainted with the service, which might take time away from focusing all attention towards the actual assignments that need to be worked on and completed. Depending on the workload of a company, this may or may not be a bit deal, but in the case that it is, some compromises might need to be made on deadlines for certain projects/assignments to make some extra time for getting used to SharePoint.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

Great at organizing user inputs through lists. API has room for improvement.

Pros

The fact that everything is a list (from files, calendars, list items, todo...etc.) allows you to basically create lightweight applications with custom fields in a matter of hours. You can replace microsoft project with a simple list with custom fields and on top of that you will have way more advanced functions such as customizing the forms and making it feel like a real app.

Cons

The UI feels like a half-baked solution. Many of the interfaces are stuck in the old sharepoint experience while many others are taking advantage of the new UI (which sometimes lacks functionality from the old one). On top of that the Graph API for list is not complete, new connectors for PowerBI for example cannot read items that are under folders and only explore the top level. There are workarounds but will involve launching in parallel light tech to cover for these gaps, in my case Azure pipelines and logic apps.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

It's the standard, but...

Upload speeds can be slow, but we've managed to use Sharepoint folders as helpful places to store, transfer, and collaborate on files. Some team members miss the simplicity of dropbox or google drive, but we're managing with Sharepoint.

Pros

The 365 suite is the standard for many organization with cloud based team work, and it does allow for this in some ways that weren't around a decade ago. It works - you can share files between team members, and that's the key thing.

Cons

It's not as intuitive as it should be. Maybe I'm too used to other ecosystems, but I find that Microsoft products have too many ways to get to the same common places, and then convoluted ways to get to specific places. In my use and rollout of it, almost every meeting has a few minutes of "where is that file again?" or "Oh, I thought I put it in the main folder, but it must be over here somewhere...". We can usually get it to work, but it's not a seamless experience, and it's Sharepoint feels less like a great tool to use and more like a necessary evil if you're in the 365 world.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft SharePoint

Moving to the 365 ecosystem and trying to keep consistent.

Daniel

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Microsoft Sharepoint: The Ultimate Sharing software

Overall, I think that most companies can benefit from Sharepoint, especially if they already use Microsoft software which is highly likely. It streamlines everyone’s workflows and allows smooth collaboration between team members. It creates a space for enterprise document storage and communication.

Pros

In my opinion, Microsoft Sharepoint is one of the ways Microsoft proves that it is a step ahead of other software companies. Microsoft Sharepoint is a powerful but versatile combination of document, workflow, team and collaboration management softwares, which is an incredible asset for any company. There are many things that Sharepoint does right. The user interface has just the right of complexity to include many features while still being rather easy to learn. There are also industry leading features like the ability to share very large files with everyone, which really makes life a lot easier. The file upload/download times are also comparatively shorter than other softwares which I love. There are also team management features like adding people to a project and giving them permissions and roles, etc. Obviously as this is a Microsoft app, this integrates with all other Microsoft software smoothly and effortlessly, which is nice.

Cons

Sharepoint is really hard to set up at first, especially if you are storing files locally and will require someone experienced to fully set up. The price is also quite high per user, but this is completely worth it in my opinion. It also takes a while to realise the full potential of Sharepoint as there are a few features that are hard to find.

mupo

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Corporate File Sharing System

My experience with SharePoint has been positive as it allows for the central storage of all business-related documents and permissions. It removes the need for duplicate emails with huge files. Alternatively, we easily upload files and swap a SharePoint link, which we can all use at the same time. The user interface is fantastic but requires training for beginners. Overall, getting it is a smart thing because it helps with tracking.

Pros

SharePoint is an excellent tool, but due to a large number of features, it can easily be overlooked by those new to the app. The thing I loved about SharePoint is that you can easily upload documents, and search the documents. This made it easier for users to upload files easily and share a link to the file. Using this platform allowed quick access to files from any location, which was previously not possible due to files being stored on a local server.

Cons

I had difficulties setting up local use/offline SharePoint, which proved to be a concern, but the online version works well. Another problem I discovered with the program is that it becomes difficult to trace files as many people upload them.

Reasons for choosing Microsoft SharePoint

Google Drive lacks certain features that SharePoint has. The ability to build different templates for different projects, delegate tasks, assign appropriate roles to users, and upload documents easily. Another advantage of SharePoint that Google Drive lacks is access to a number of web pages and the ability to create a corporate portal.

Chirag

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Great collaboration with SharePoint; don't go overboard

Since we were strict with our permissions and governance, we had the fortune of having a clean environment. In my past jobs, SharePoint was free for all and it used to be an absolutely disaster. Based on those learnings, we have chosen to use SharePoint only for collaboration. Anything more complex than taking notes, sharing documents, versioning and Visio is moved out of SharePoint. In the first year of use, people became comfortable with our limited and right-sized use of SharePoint. That's our sweet spot and we enjoy SharePoint for collaboration.

Pros

I love that SharePoint makes collaboration easy. We used to take notes on pen and paper and reconcile our thoughts via emails. Now, we whip up OneNote online and write our notes before the meeting, discuss our thoughts in the meeting and write take-aways in OneNote. Decisioning has become really easy. We also share news across the company using SharePoint. That has worked very well.

Cons

Workflows and debugging is not the best in SharePoint. We have been bit by gotchas in workflows. They were had to debug. We just gave up on workflows in SharePoint and switched to doing those activities in a different manner.

Reasons for choosing Microsoft SharePoint

We were debating whether to do documentation in SharePoint or Confluence. We use Jira, which connects with Confluence very well. We noticed that our documentation will need AD permissions, documents, versioning, videos and more - all of which was built right into SharePoint the way we were using it. There was no point in investing thousands of dollars in another system just for documentation. We feel we made the right decision as SharePoint is working really well for us for documentation.

Patric

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Document Management and more

We use it as our intranet, to share information about projects, tasks, opporunities or rather static content to display information about various departments. We have a lot of customers who use it mainly as a document management system or also as a intranet solution. Especially the SharePoint Online version is very easy to adapt and has great integration with Microsoft 365.

Pros

Offers a ton of features, you don't have to use all of them but they are there if you need them. It can be used for document management (DMS) or even CMS for intranet purposes. It has a powerful search engine, you can manage complex permission scenarios, there is also the possibility to manage records, litigation holds, taxonomies, and more and more. With the new modern UI users can also even more simply edit pages, place web parts on them to display different content like, text, images, videos, news feeds, document libraries, lists etc. If you don't go the on-premise but the SharePoint Online route, you can save yourself the hassle of installing it on your own and have a very easy access to a powerful tool for collaboration or to simply display information.

Cons

Has some kind of a learning courve. Can be complex, especially if you want to take it to the next level and start to customize it. On-premise version is rather expensive and needs an IT professional to set up and also it should run on multiple servers and also MSSQL which adds to the license cost.

Reasons for choosing Microsoft SharePoint

Integration into existing Microsoft environment/Active Directory. Ease of use. Availability.

User Profile

sameer

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

SharePoint- The best file sharing tool by Microsoft.

My overall experience with the software has been really amazing till now. Intially, it took some time for me to understand the interface since it is a bit complex but once I got a hack of it, I can now say that this software is really helping me work seamlessly and saving a lot of my time during my day to day files sharing with my clients.

Pros

Microsoft SharePoint is one of the top file sharing platforms right now. The primary reason why this software is my personal favourite is that it has the capacity to share very heavy files ( I have tried till 400MB) with our clients. This exclusive feature is not supported by most of the other platform as there is always a size cap till which one can share a file with the client. Also, the file upload time is very less onto share file as compared to other applications available in the market.Last but not the least, the best feature that I like about this software is that it can add n number of people in a specific project within sharepoint.

Cons

There are very less cons about this software product. However, if we still want to mention, I would like to mention that the when we click on the sharepoint , it takes quite a lot of time for the home page to load/ be visible. this is time is very large as compared to other file sharing products that are available in the market since their URL's come up very fastly on to the home screen. Last but not the least, I would also like to mention that the Sharepoint's interface is a bit confusing, it takes some days to understand how things are working on this software which is not the case with other softwares.

Showing 1 - 25 of 3,582 reviews
Microsoft SharePoint

Microsoft SharePoint

4.25/5 out of 3,582 reviews
PriceDemo