What are NetDocuments users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using NetDocuments software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.17

24 Reviews

5
12
4
8
3
2
2
0
1
2
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"In-document text search, easy UI, competitive pricing."
  • icon"It's a cloud base system and for the price it was the best one out there for our small firm. Having a customizable home page is easy to access active client work."
  • icon"Easy to open new matters and save documents. Integrates well with other programs."
  • icon"Saving and deleting different versions of a document doesn’t work as well as it could."
  • icon"We have about 40 users and imported documents from another document management service. It was much much slower to search and the way it searches was really bad."
  • icon"When there is a problem or sync issue, there isn't always a reason. Speed sometimes (although this is more likely an internet speed issue)."

Jump to:

Browse all NetDocuments Reviews

  • Have you used NetDocuments and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 24 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 24 of 24 reviews

User Profile

Evan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

NetDocuments - Great Cloud based DMS

Almost always positive. The search, storage and applications work. When they don't the support staff is usually friendly and knowledgeable

Pros

The whole package exists in the cloud. It just works. Indexing Works. Importing Works. User Management Works. Very little can go wrong as they handle the infrastructure.

Cons

When it does go wrong it can be time consuming to get it fixed. Often the issue requires a patch to their software which can take some time to get and implement from them

Matti

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Best document management system

Pros

NetDocuments is very intuitive for most employees. Has all of the core features of document management implemented very well. It is fully cloud based, so it takes off our mind all of the duties of archiving.

Cons

Some flexibility is missing. Several features are not completely implemented, so they sort of work but require workarounds. They could take a key from the competition on several UI design choices.

Reasons for choosing NetDocuments

True cloud - iManage in the cloud means that someone installs and maintains a server just for you. In NetDocuments we don't have to worry about updates, since the system for all of their clients in the same vault is maintained together. They also have very good data center and backups (we reviewed their SOC report). Price - they gave us a better proposal

Reasons for switching to NetDocuments

We used a dated system installed locally and had to switch to something modern

Eyüp

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

NetDocuments EO

Document control is very easy and functional. I spend less time doing these things now

Pros

I can happily recommend it to my friends. My friends who use it are very satisfied

Cons

They need some improvement in the interface part. A simpler interface would be better

Zach

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

Could be great but falls short

Pros

The e-mail integration is awesome, when it works. We run into too many issues to where it loses a connection or fails to uploaded an e-mail.

Cons

Each update makes the system slower and slower. Every time they update their website, a feature breaks and they have to go back and fix it. Hold times for tech support and times can be a little ridiculous.

Zbigniew

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

NetDocuments review

Great document and email management, a lot of time saved!

Pros

A modern, easy-to-use cloud-based professional document management system with a user-friendly interface and many useful functionalities, like manual version control, tagging and robust search.

Cons

Have not found any downsides while using the product yet.

Sue

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

NetDocuments Document Management

Overall NetDocuments is a good app with good components. Sometimes a glitch happens and we need to get technical support, but then again, sometimes it is just operator error. Either way, they are helpful and get to the root of the problem.

Pros

This is a document management system in the cloud that is very user friendly. it is easy to save documents and retrieve them. NetDocuments has various programs to work alongside the document management system - such as scanning documents and saving them just like a document you had just created, and ndMail, which is a program that quickly and easily save emails to your various files. Their support team is very good and easy to get ahold of.

Cons

3 or 4 times each year we need to update the app on our computers and its always a little scary and we all hate doing it. I wish they could just update their files and when we log in we would automatically be logging into the newest version.

Reasons for switching to NetDocuments

We left another firm and started a new company.

BreAnne

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

Great way to securely share and store documents

Our business has many people who all work together on the same projects and this has given us a way to conveniently keep every one up to date by providing updates to everyone almost immediately.

Pros

This software makes it very convenient to keep all documents organized by user or client and has many features which can be used to ensure the security of the documents.

Cons

The search feature can be difficult to figure out the verbiage to use, and if you are searching for a document that you have not been given access to it does not inform you of that, instead it just says “not found”

Response from NetDocuments

Thank you for your kind words and feedback! We are continually working to improve our product and have shared your feedback with our product teams. Please note that for security reasons expected by many customers, we intentionally do not disclose if a document exists if the searcher doesn't have access rights to view that document. Thank you for being a NetDocuments customer!

Replied May 2020

Cyndy

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

NetDocuments

Overall, I like the software alot when it is working and Internet Explorer is working.

Pros

We were able to set the matters up the way our paper files used to be organized, so it makes finding documents easier for us.

Cons

it is Internet Explorer based and is not as compatible with anything else (i.e. FireFox, Google Chrome, etc.), so you lose some of the functions if you do not use Internet Explorer. However, Internet Explorer is no longer supported and is not stable. Also, when you have a problem and call customer service the wait is excessively long.

Reasons for switching to NetDocuments

The firm made the switch.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

Have to put your documents somewhere

If you are looking for a reliable document management system that you can use with no infrastructure cost this is it. It can get pricing based on the use, but it is worth it in the long run.

Pros

-The ability to track version control -Share documents internally & externally -Create folder structures to classify documents in addition to document types -Remote access app -Security

Cons

-When there is a problem or sync issue, there isn't always a reason -Speed sometimes (although this is more likely an internet speed issue)

User Profile

David

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2017

Powerful and reliable legal-centric document and email management tool

Security and collaboration

Pros

Powerful, cloud-based document management system helps our firm effectively store, create and categorize our documents and email. Collaboration tools allow us to easily share individual documents or even entire folders securely with our clients and experts.

Cons

NetDocuments has made big strides in reliability and customer focus and these areas need to continue to be developed as they were not strong suits in years past.

Katy

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

A helpful file storage program

A program that helps me securely manage my documents at work .

Pros

The file organization is next-level .You can setup your folders in any way you want , add notes on files as needed or even link them to photos .Our email server gets overloaded easily and we regularly have to clear your inbox .I like that I can also use NetDocuments to store important ,older emails .

Cons

Integration with other programs is lackluster .You cannot collaborate on files with other people ,except on designated areas. You cannot run multiple versions together and are stuck doing one thing at a time .

Hannah

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2020

Well worth it

Its a great platform that I would recommend to many businesses/friends.

Pros

This is a great cloud based "filing cabinet" I use it just like you would use a paper file and it works great. Lots of search options if you are looking for a document. Easy to customize the workspace for how you want to use it. You can set up documents as versions, so each time someone makes changes they can save as a separate document so great way to preserve changes.

Cons

Sometimes it has weird glitches, like email integration. But typically customer service is on ball to get it fixed quickly.

Santosh

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Net Documents - Review

- it was overall an excellent experience working with NetDocuments

Pros

- this software has many features available in which integrating with Salesforce and Drawloop apps are one of the key features - the folder view, file managing is brilliantly handled - the support is very helpful and supportive

Cons

- the pricing can be reduced - can improve more features and backend viewpoints

Reasons for choosing NetDocuments

- the integration capability this software can handle. - it can handle folders and files very brilliantly

vinita

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: International Trade and Development

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

NetDocuments-Ease to use

As I am involved in international trade Legal services, I am able to use Netdocs to undertake efficient document management which can be undertaken through creating different folders, and managing those folders event remotely internationally.

Pros

That it can be accessed from out of office, and very user friendly for document management, which in the legal services field is a must.

Cons

The only con it has that it doe snot have an in-built features to compare different versions of the documents. We got to use another software app to do that.

Cassandra

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

CB Review

Pros

Easy to open new matters and save documents. Integrates well with other programs.

Cons

Software often freezes or is slow. Sometimes slows productivity.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

NetDocuments

Overall experience is great! I truly enjoy using this software.

Pros

It’s a great tool for having a repository of documents. It makes keeping things organized easy. It’s a great collaboration tool.

Cons

saving and deleting different versions of a document doesn’t work as well as it could. Other than occasional glitches, it’s great software.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

good product

Pros

easy integration with email and safe storage

Cons

searching for documents and emails could be easier

Sophie

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2019

Great product

Pros

Easy to use, lots of features, great support a phone call away

Cons

Some answers can't be found on the support pages but they're just a phone call away anyway

Michal

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2017

NetDocuments: Better Features, Better UI

We needed a document management solution a couple of years ago that would allow us to find old, editable text documents in multiple ways, since our legacy practice management software made it impossible to find documents unless you already knew which file they were in. The key NetDocuments feature is in-document text search. We can now search for documents using a key phrase in the document itself, rather than needing a title or tags. If you have a good title and tags, documents are that much easier to find.

Pros

In-document text search, easy UI, competitive pricing

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2017

Solid Cloud Document Offering

Pros

We use NetDocuments to share and send documents securely with other companies. It is a pretty straightforward and easy-to-use offering. Because of this, it has been good to work with and easy to get others to get up to speed with it.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

Net Documents - Only meant for about 5 users

Pros

The search functionality with wild card matching it really nice for developers/people who know regex. It had integrated MS office to view without opening the document

Cons

It was horrendously slow. We have about 40 users and imported documents from another document management service. It was much much slower to search and the way it searches was really bad

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

Netdocuments

Shareholder wanted a cloud base system. We are still working through the bugs and hope with new versions coming out it will be able to integrate better with office options.

Pros

It's a cloud base system and for the price it was the best one out there for our small firm. Having a customizable home page is easy to access active client work.

Cons

Downloads are slow and the checking in documents automatically is only working have the time. We have to do a lot of check in manually.

Leah

Verified reviewer

Industry: Legal Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

August 2015

Audrey

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

Not completely sold on it yet

So far, my experience has been ok, but I am not sold on this software just yet.

Pros

Indexing documents into categories has helped narrow down searches better.

Cons

It's a bit slow in retrieving documents, and it can be difficult to navigate on occasion.

Showing 1 - 24 of 24 reviews
NetDocuments

NetDocuments

4.17/5 out of 24 reviews
PriceWatch Demo