User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(28)

28

4 stars

(7)

7

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Highly customizable, beautiful and intuitive interface and the large amount of databases avaliable to use with."

  • "It is true. Strapi is very convenient to use and also customize. It works using plugins and makes it really easy to stay organised. No more will you have to re-write boring redundent API codes."

  • "Strapi does a great job managing the basic structure of a CMS and including a lot of backend logic you'll probably use in your application."

  • Cons

  • "Would be nice to have an easy launcher or AMI for AWS. Seems like deployment options could be better documented."

  • "None so far. I will build something over the coming weekend. But so far, everything looks good :)"

  • "Can't really say anything bad about it right now other than the fact there the learning curve can be slightly big and the lack of videos online when learning."

Browse Strapi Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -14 of 36 results

February 2019

Derrick from QTS Data Centers

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

API Framework / Headless CMS Made easy (and free)

Honestly this is by far the easiest solution for jumping into the headless CMS world and even better as an API framework to power whatever your needs are; Web, Mobile, Desktop, IOT, and even a smart toaster! The Strapi team is great and works hard to release feature and fix bugs as fast as they can.

Pros

Strapi is extremely easy to setup Simple database configuration with many choices (Mongo, Postgres, and MySQL) Simple to modify the backend code Getting up and running from zero to a complete API with data in as little as 10 to 20 minutes

Cons

I do think that more time needs to be spent on building a solid foundation (which the Strapi team are working on) More time needs to be spent testing bugs for all usecases (or some automation for the frontend testing needs to be implemented and I believe that is being done right now) While not an issue with the software itself, I do think that services like Heroku need to be put on the backburner and not pushed as heavily as Strapi is a service, Heroku and other "serverless" environments are not built to handle complex applications. At the same time more user involvment with Pull Requests are something that would greatly help development and bug fixing.

May 2019

Haythem from Information Technology

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

wonderful headless cms

i was looking for a headless cms and i found strapi fit perfectly with what i need.

Pros

easy to use simple to setup and to configure support graphql

Cons

still in alpha no many plugins available

Reasons for Choosing Strapi

making wordpress working like a headless cms is quit complicated but with strapi it was like 2 minutes and my api was ready to be connected with my react frontend.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2019

strapi get the job done

So far so good. I am still new to it but I'm enjoying it nonetheless.

Pros

I loved the nice admin dashboard, the simple setup and the addition of authentication

Cons

I don't have any serious concern yet. I will give more information later

March 2019

Vijayant from Tourio.co

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Save time and money of building a REST API backend for your app

We built businesses with this tool by just using it as a simple CMS system. It's content type builder has a great intuitive user interface that helps design schemas really fast.

Pros

1. You can get a production ready REST API backend for you super duper hit mobile or web app in mere 20 minutes. 2. Ease with which you can select different database types.

Cons

User management module can have customer role user facing dashboard too.

August 2019

Julio from PushStart

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Strapi will replace yoru CMS

We've used Strapi in a few small projects and it's looking like a great alternative for our past choices

Pros

Strapi does a great job managing the basic structure of a CMS and including a lot of backend logic you'll probably use in your application.

Cons

It's still a infant compared to other CMS applications like Drupal and Wordpress (which supports API-only acess nowadays)

March 2019

Bruno from Trip4Share

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

The future of Headless CMS for Node

I have been experimenting with Strapi for the past 6 months and have loved every minute of it. It truly solves the data coupling problem associated with traditional CMS's, and does so in a very intuitive way. Strapi is an amazing product, and I can see it being heavily adopted by Node developers in the future. The fact that it is open-source makes it even better.

Pros

- Setting up a new project is extremely simple - Layout is great - Supports many database types - API creation is flexible and very customizable (as advertised)

Cons

- Minor annoying bugs (alpha version) - Not many plugins/extensions yet - Internationalization features are missing

February 2019

Luiz from Hotmart

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

One of the best Headless CMS i've used.

I use it to provide a API for my Nuxt.js Applications. As it is simple to use, create apis for my applications its not hard to me anymore, since i've been start to use Strapi API.

Pros

The simplicity of use. It's very easy to use and have so much options to make simple to create a api that my web applications needed.

Cons

Its not simple to deploy it on production servers, especially on AWS and Heroku. I have so much issues before have success to deploy it on theses servers.

March 2019

William from Freelance

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

The Best Open Source Headless CMS

It is amazing. The amount of flexibility and the fact that it is free is great. I have used a few other Headless CMS and this one is by far the best. Highly recommend!

Pros

The flexibility that allows the developer to really customize the data schema when building the entities and relationships.

Cons

The CLI was not working the best when creating a startup project. The easy install has you type in which db to use, but mine was defaulting to others. I just explicitly called all the parameters in the install command and it worked that way. Not a big deal, but could be a major road block for a new developer.

March 2019

THANSEEM from PIT Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Awesome Product

I have built a media centre for my project

Pros

1.Flexibility 2.MultiLanguage support 3.Customization

Cons

1.I have used umbraco cms.As of now there is no cons.

April 2019

Javier from Santander Tecnología

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Great software

Pros

It is easy to use and implementvery intuitive

Cons

Currently I have not seen consI think it's an excellent option

March 2019

Arik from RunningExperience.com

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

The search is over

I'm very impressed overall with the simplicity and lack of fluff, bloat features. The ui is clean intuitive and doesn't require extensive understanding of the guys to get going super quickly. The core product gives you more than enough to launch your APIs and there is good documentation that explain how to extend it when needed.

Pros

I'm building a running related platform that features unique running events around the world. I'm doing this as a part time "gig" because I have full time job. For the front end I settled on react which seems to do the trick. For the backend there were lots of options but my requirements were: easy UI for editors, configurable data model, graphql and an easy way to customize the functionality. In other words, I wanted something that would get me up and running in no time but that I could also fine tune down the road for custom features. After spending a significant amount of time researching hosted, self-hosted, open source and commercial offerings I found strapi. It ticked every one of my requirement boxes and then some. It's even able to run on postgres which is my favorite db. Now I'm working full speed to launch my website and figure out my content instead of spending months trying to build a backend and UI for it from scratch.

Cons

Would be nice to have an easy launcher or AMI for AWS. Seems like deployment options could be better documented.

March 2019

Jean-Philippe from Arsenal Web

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

The CMD Front-end Developpers love.

Pros

It is true. Strapi is very convenient to use and also customize. It works using plugins and makes it really easy to stay organised. No more will you have to re-write boring redundent API codes.

Cons

Can't really say anything bad about it right now other than the fact there the learning curve can be slightly big and the lack of videos online when learning.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Backend for all of us

Strapi allowed me to focus on front-end development because it leverages the backend aspect of the project through a robust software.

Pros

Strapi allow us to create a Backend environment with ease by reducing development times through a very good API

Cons

The software is on its early versions, it needs to improve the way to update the cms.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Using Strapi to Unlock GIS data

We needed to expose GIS data stored in a proprietary database to users via the browser. Strapi allowed me to quickly write the backend code that had authorization and a REST API built in. I connected one end to the GIS and the other to a React-based front-end, using GeoJSON. This allowed the business to unlock GIS data without having to rely on proprietary GIS clients.

Pros

Strapi is easy to use and the included GUI allows setting up data, performing admin tasks and creating endpoints intuitive and simple. I also like the hooks that allow me to add standard functionality.

Cons

So far I haven't found anything not to like. I used to have to write custom code, now Strapi has eliminated much of this code.

March 2019

Rubén from Globatalent

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Awesome for agile startups

Pros

Highly customizable, beautiful and intuitive interface and the large amount of databases avaliable to use with.

Cons

It is on an Alpha state, so it is dangerous to rely on it for production. The ecosystem of plugins is on its infancy, so you would writing some common tasks (and potentially critical, like verifying payments)

February 2019

Mattias from Staffing and Recruiting

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Simple but still very functional! With endless posibilities (and customisation).

I use Strapi as a node backend, this is usefull in combination with my node frontend webapp.

Pros

The way to setup a api quickly without much coding, but still understanding te basics.

Cons

The problems with windows, this slowed down my start. But vm's offered a solution and after a good development setup I was very well on my way.

February 2019

Rafael from Universo Varejo

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Really good open source project

I'm solving our back end API getting really fast the project.

Pros

Strapi is ease to use, totally functional and extensible with your needs. Already support graphQL and is using koa framework so is totally updated with news technology.

Cons

I missed some languages translations only.

April 2019

Bernardo from Computer Software

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Very easy to user for beginners

I'm loving It

Pros

Very user friendly and easy to use , for a beginner who want's to start developing api's this is by far one of my favorites

Cons

So far nothing nothing made me dislike this software

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Creating your own API is really easy

I wanted to develop a personal program and a friend of mine told me about strapi : you don't really care about the backend ? So go to use Strapi and indeed, Strapi helped me a lot and I earn so much time with it!

Pros

The easy and really quick way to create content type and data and access to it with Postman.

Cons

The little bug about default value for enumerated type.

March 2019

Anton from education

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

REST-api-first CMS for MongoDB with modern features and active developer community

Pros

Strapi is actively being developed and extended to fit the needs of the growing user base. The community around Strapi including the Slack channel have been very helpful. We were able to start prototyping​immediately​ with Strapi and built a mobile client and a web user panel on top of it (got to love REST+Oauth)!

Cons

While active development means that popular features are implemented as they are requested by the community, some less popular features may take longer to realize​.

February 2019

Justin from dystrick

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Fantastic Headless Alternative

Pros

The simplicity of getting Strapi up and running and connected to your frontend is key. Building content types is a great experiance and very fluid. I love the environment switching in the backend, this really solves a pain point in traditional cms workflows. I also really appreciate the separation of concerns, in other words not creating another "everything but the kitchen sink" cms.

Cons

It needs more extensions. However, I'm sure this will come with time.

February 2019

Sebastian from Ultrabold Kommunikationsdesign GmbH

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Ridiculously Simple

Often times smaller projects are not profitable enough. With Strapi they are. It is so easy to spin up a simple api + backend so that i can focus on providing an awesome frontend. love it already!

Pros

_simplicity of building simple backends or apis for my customers _superfast protoyping or production ready apis / backends _highly customizable _plugin system

Cons

_there are only a few plugins (which will change soon afaik -> roadmap)

February 2019

Renan Henrique from MPX Brasil

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Easy of use, fast and reliable API creator / CMS Headless

Pros

Fast and easy to learn and deploy. Concise code and reliable. Nice way to introduct my team to JS API.

Cons

Should have a "front-end" view with examples os all created APIs.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Dmitry Barabash -> Review for Strapi

Start work with Strapi on the per project

Pros

User interface, usabillity, speed, js stack

Cons

First installation was with problem. Will be good if you'll add guide when user first login

November 2019

Jacob from TAL

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

It's what I always wanted

Decoupling, Rapid prototyping, Getting up and running quickly so to concentrate on what you want to achieve.

Pros

It's ambiguous, it can most likely help you considerably because you can do so much with it out of the box. Doesn't try to provide a solution boxed in dated software paradigms. I wanted to build this before I knew Strapi was available. Was built far better than I could have imagined. So many uses for it.

Cons

Strapi is still evolving, though it is still amazing.

November 2019

Joseph from Kibaha education centre

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Mind blowing app, saves time in back end development

Pros

Easy of installation ability to use rest and graohql

Cons

No comment so far, will give more later

Reasons for Choosing Strapi

Open source

March 2019

Samantha from Ara

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Focus on the front end

Pros

Easy, quick solution to build back end api.

Cons

Data has no version control, cannot revert back.

February 2019

Bruno from Big Smile

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Online Media

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

What else?

Strapi to the Moon !

Pros

Simple as it. You will.. you get ! No need deeply knowledge of anykind of language. First try and adopted..

Cons

Need more features for a real Headless production CMS.. But in a few months, Strapi will be my best friend forever :)

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

It’s a great product

Pros

Having zero knowledge about node I was able to quickly jump in and make an API for an iOS app, once I got stuck I was able to dig into the code and even managed to fix an issue with one of the DB drivers.

Cons

It’s changing too fast, but that was expected given that is an alpha.

February 2019

Robert from Signalfire Internet Services Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Just started, but appears fantastic

Pros

The admin system looks fantastic and the ease with which you can expose endpoints for the API is great.

Cons

None so far. I will build something over the coming weekend. But so far, everything looks good :)

February 2019

Justin from West

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Simple and Easy Start up

Just amazing

Pros

How easy and simple it is to get up and running. The Documentation is well laid out as well.

Cons

None at the current time. No problems really.

February 2019

Julian from Prime Systems GmbH

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Ease of use

Pros

well, the ease of use is unique CRUD API in minutes runnable inside Docker

Cons

the alpha still has some bugs - but thats not really a con (its alpha)

November 2019

Aram from https://koukia.ca

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Great and Easy to Use Product

Pros

It was very easy to get up and running with it.

Cons

Nothing comes to mind as a con yet. there just few minor ui bugs

March 2019

Umut from Arneca Technology

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Awesome Headless CMS

Pros

Rest and graphql Builtin admin panel Fast and easy setup

Cons

Support only 3 db Not powerfull as feathersjs

February 2019

Omar from MobileNOC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

One of the best framework/CMS i ever used

100/100

Pros

Its easy to do what ever you want plus its free

Cons

Nothing, For now I dont have any cons ..

February 2019

Nurettin from Devolon

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Easy Development Process

Pros

Basically, you can create your Restful API in a couple of minutes. Besides, you can create your content types with comprehensive relationships and you can manage all the rules of API access easily.

Cons

Provide user access to the management panel with a limited authorization that can manage only CRUD operations on the system.