User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(4,399)

4,399

4 stars

(2,595)

2,595

3 stars

(615)

615

2 stars

(111)

111

1 stars

(31)

31

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Microsoft Teams Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 7054 results

January 2022

User Profile Picture

Troy from SOU

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2022

Microsoft Teams is a game changer in a pandemic riddled world

Live Chat in Microsoft Teams is the very reason we chose this over other software. Zoom does not come close to offering the features in Microsoft Teams. I will continue to choose this software over others as it offers everything I am looking for as an online college professor.

Pros

Just as things became difficult with COVID-19, Microsoft Teams came along offering a myriad of features allowing so many to continue working and going to school from home.

Cons

I believe the only downfall is that integrations and file sharing could be more, just more.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Live Chat in Microsoft Teams is the very reason we chose this over other software. Zoom does not come close to offering the features in Microsoft Teams.

December 2021

Petar from Resolve Systems

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2021

Good enough, but not Great

Good enough, but not great, especially if you have used other communicators. UX is light years behind the competition. The only 2 reasons to use MS Teams are pricing (included in MS Office), and the integration with other MS Office products.

Pros

Very good integration with Outlook and MS Calendar. Good switching between desktop and mobile during a meeting. Useful notifications / reminders when a meeting starts.

Cons

Alwful UI and UX, unintuitive UI, non-productiv shortcuts, not very configurable, not good default settings. Linux app is not on par. Search functionality is not very good. Has bugs - sometimes loses message history, not synchronizing b/n desktop and mobile apps, not showing the correct status, not sending notifications on time, etc. Missing some important functionality - like push to talk during a meeting, or good annotations. Some functionalities are not developed properly - for example integration with MS Forms is pretty bad. Comes short when compared to the competition like Slack.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Lower pricing, better integration with MS Outlook and Calendar.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

Lower pricing, better integration with MS Outlook and Calendar.

December 2021

User Profile Picture

Jonathan from Freedom Nutrition Coaching

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2021

Probably switching to Slack and Zoom

Microsoft Teams does a good job. I don't want it to sound all negative, when it is a good videoconferencing solution. But, the User interface can feel a bit overwhelming, and the fact that Zoom is much more widely adopted, ultimately means that I'm likely going to switch back to Zoom, as I feel that they have done a good job of fixing the security holes that led us to switch over to Teams in the first place.

Pros

It's handy to have a software that is connected to my email provider, and it's relatively simple to use. We originally made this switch due to privacy concerns with Zoom, and it does carry out most of the functionality we need at least internally. I do like that the default video quality is 1080p, and the number one reason for switching over from Zoom was security concerns, which Microsoft definitely does a fantastic job of. Microsoft Teams is more secure than Zoom.

Cons

It's not as widely adopted as Zoom, and so I find myself ending up using both softwares, one for internal organization and one for the public, and that ends up being inefficient and inconvenient. I also find that Zoom is a simpler interface to use. Microsoft teams has so many different features and options that it can almost feel overwhelming. A lot of functionality seems like it ends up being an overpowered software for what we need.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

They had the best combination of security and functionality, at the time we were making the switch.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

Primarily because of security concerns with Zoom.

September 2021

Gayathri from TATA Communications Ltd

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2021

Teams - Simple yet Powerful !

I have been using this for the past 4 years. My favorite collaboration application would be the Teams. It's one level above skype application, in terms of ease of use. Its more intuitive, powerful and easy to handle. It has all the feature needed to use and manage a team/organization.

Pros

The UI color balance. It's more professional and intuitive. I would say, it's the best for office use. It overtook skype in the market and it comes with the microsoft suite, which is an added advantage.

Cons

I really don't have anything much to say. I throughly enjoyed using this product on the whole.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Because it's from Microsoft. It can easily blend with all the microsoft products.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

My organization was completele using all microsoft tools. Hence I wanted to switch from skype to Teams. And also, it was new to the market. I feel, it's more about the ease of use.

December 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2021

Working from home just got a whole lot easier throughout 2021

Microsoft Teams, Wow Wow Wow! Well long gone are the days of spending 20 to 30 mins trying to get all my learners to battle through Cisco WebEx's complex dial in process....OMG the nightmares so many of us had with that is just beyond belief. Teams has been a lifesaver, timesaver, stress reducer in a time of high anxiety. It's been a brilliant investment by our workplace. We have our working meetings so easy to set up and in contrast to other softwares, there is no time limit. We can pass files back and forth, open files simultaneously to work collaboratively. It's saving huge amounts of time, improved efficiency and hence increased productivity. It has been a brilliant promoter of paper free working, less emails, and more in the moment work.

Pros

The video conferencing, screen sharing and being able to invite a limitless number of colleagues to the meeting with such ease has to be one of it's top strengths. Live transcription on the go during meetings Ability to see our colleagues in the display individually or a together mode on the seats; it's an extraordinary touch. Absolutely love how you're able to change backgrounds throughout the meeting during conferencing Very easy to set up and in contrast to other softwares, there is no time limit. The ability to pass files & documents back and forth and to open files simultaneously to work collaboratively. It's saving us huge amounts of time, improved efficiency and hence increased productivity. Breakout rooms are a breeze to set up and makes life so much easier.

Cons

Low bandwidth can be an issue, would have to switch the cameras off to compensate. Have to mute chats to stop notifications constantly popping up in the bottom right hand corner - can be very distracting during sessions. The whiteboards need better integration, e.g. being able to prepare prior to session, save after completion of sessions etc.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

WebEx was way too awkward to log in and get everybody set-up. Lost too much time with delegates & learners trying to get onboard. Teams is so much more efficient slicker etc.

July 2021

Gayan from Virtusa Corporation

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Perfect tool for team collaboration

Teams app helps us work remotely and avoid most obstacles that we were experienced when we manage the remote team members. Teams can be installed on all most all the platforms iOS, Windows, macOS, etc.

Pros

This is a nice tool for any team that has members who work in different parts of the world. Team chats, audio/video meetings, file sharing, voice mail features actually help to collaborate with the team members.

Cons

On Windows machines, it is very slow sometimes when you share your screen. Also when you compare the macOS version and Windows version macOS version is pretty fast. I have never experienced any slowness on macOS.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Compatible with existing tools and platforms which are mostly Microsoft-related.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

Skype has fewer features compared to Teams.

January 2022

OBAKENG from University of cape town

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2022

MS Teams review

You solve the problem of not having a shared communication platform for the entire company using Microsoft Teams. Messages, a conference room, and file sharing are all included. It's all in one spot now, which wasn't the case before Microsoft Teams. and also since covid 19 we no longer need to work at the office as teams solve that

Pros

I enjoy that I can phone, text, video chat, and so on. Teams are extremely useful for training a class of many agents. I can use Teams on my phone and at work, which is convenient when I need to take a break for lunch. It's also useful for troubleshooting IT issues.

Cons

There's nothing I don't like about Microsoft Teams; it does what I need it to do. The only negative that comes to mind is that when you share your screen during a team meeting, it takes away the main screen where everyone can see you, making it difficult to see who is speaking.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

the security behind zoom is weak and early last year and late last year many people were complaining about zoom

September 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2021

Systems Adminitrator & Educator's perspective on MS Teams

Teams made the transition of work from home very easy. Collaboration integration with Word and Whiteboard made educational settings significantly easier especially in the early days of covid lock down. Over all staff at my full time system administrator job have found the video conference, team chatting, file sharing and instant messaging to be a more useful tool than e-mail. Many have been able to communicate issues across the city and determine outages and impact at a faster rate than we would have in the past. While this might have been doable with a third party product the use of Teams with O365 integration makes the product much easier to use.

Pros

Most users have found Microsoft teams easy to use. The integration with the other office products makes it substantially easier to leverage than another competing product.

Cons

Microsoft is constantly changing the product to improve things but users find the changes hard to keep up with. I have found the usage of third party applications to be difficult or cumbersome to access. Recently used apps are not available in a quick launch button.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

Integration with Active Directory allowed the creation of meeting without scheduling conflicts much easier to create. The classroom invite function and attendance management inside the office suite made it easier to track attendees than having to pull from a third party application.

January 2022

User Profile Picture

Diego Sebastian from OMINT

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2022

Microsoft teams is a very good platform when the ecosystem of the company is Microsoft products

Pros

The integration with Sharepoint and Outlook really makes it super scalable and easy to use. The possibility of sharing and making calls within the participants of the company, make this tool very comfortable in its daily use

Cons

By having several teams in use, the search engine and the way in which it stores the information is complicated. A low point is when the participants are not part of the company, so they cannot easily access the information unless particular authorizations are given.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

For the integration with the rest of the microsoft products

January 2022

Kanad from Invasystems

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2022

Easiest collaboration platform by Microsoft

It's the second-best way of communicating with teammates. We use it for all the collaboration activities since it is easier to keep track of communication with others.

Pros

The bucket of features that are part of the Microsoft team environment. You can create workgroups, share files, create task lists, schedule and attend meetings.

Cons

It takes a lot of RAM while running. computer speed slows down quite a bit when the program is open.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

Since MS teams has more features than that of Zoom.

January 2022

User Profile Picture

Jchon from Bailey's Blossoms

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2022

Great and getting better.

It really came into play with Covid and the switch to remote working was quick and easy.

Pros

Users are already familiar with the Microsoft environment, so jumping into Teams was quick and easy.

Cons

The file sharing is unclear and messy. Everyone is used to the ease of Google drive.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Teams is integrated into the Office environment.

January 2022

User Profile Picture

Aniss from 5CA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2022

Is up to Microsof image, really perfect for a team work environment for small and big companies.

Overall, a great app for both company/group communication to small team management and collaboration

Pros

Simple to use, all is easy to do on it and it does the work it is supposed to do as it is a complete solution to collaborate with team either as a colleague or a manager. I used it as an employee for a company and really it was always good and easy.

Cons

I would say that sometimes it lags and the contact feature has to be more present, I never added a contact, maybe if the program suggests adding each person, it would make it better. Besides, it seems that it consumes a lot of data, sometimes during meetings, it crashes either on the video or overall for each participant (not all at once, but like one crashes, then another one, then another...)

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

Was requested by the company as they use the Microsoft team

December 2021

User Profile Picture

maneesha from Citizens Development Business Finance PLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

December 2021

Best Product For Office Communications

This application will be a better suite for office use that is able to sync with Microsoft applications together and outlook sync will be the best way to easily connect, remind and manage the meetings.

Pros

A Higher Number of participants can be accommodated for the meeting without having any kind of limitation or interactions, Properly syncing with the other Microsoft product such as Microsoft Outlook will give closure and easier operations about meetings and communications

Cons

Install application will be corruptions and not working properly most of the users

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Number of participant limitations as well as the product syncing with the other systems

June 2021

User Profile Picture

Imi from NDT

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

MS Teams is more than the VC conferencing tool but it is a greedy applicaiton

Being using this app from its inception and it keeps growing daily, however the app is memory intensive and sometimes slows down my phone or laptops. Overall, it is a business drive software that will become the swift army knife for remote working.

Pros

Teams provides several features of with the ability to integrate with all of the other Office 365 application is the best. MS Team for meeting leads with an integrated calendar. MS team for chatting about a document stands out over other application. MS Team for sharing an email directly to a channel group members for their feedback is most productive in my environment as compared to the broadcasting of an email to several colleagues and waiting for a replay in your inbox. Mobile application is good, once you can afford a good high end Android phone.

Cons

The app is memory intensive. The app is bandwidth intensive. I cannot quite complain about the functionalities at this point, as they are a growing list of new and improved application and functionalities all tied into the Office365 platform.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

It was part of the Office365 package, a gem in the tool kit that was not being used until covid19

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

Cannot compare these two product on all fronts, the goal was to reduce cost and improve number of users having the ability to perform remote meeting. Nothing can compare to zoom for a stand along meeting. After all no one has VC anymore, we just have a zoom meeting. However, Teams has been the way to go for internal meeting across the office space, and not is becoming ore and more popular, thus we reduce the cost and made the switch to teams.

January 2022

Carlos from Allied Global

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2022

Microsoft Teams Collaboration Platform

Microsoft Teams is a very powerful tool that gives you a high level of integrity with office tools and becomes a strong collaboration tool when combined with the different apps that permit more interaction between teams of work.

Pros

Integration is one of the most remarcable featureas as it has a great interface with Office365, AD and other Microsoft Apps and Products.

Cons

External collaborators are not familiar with it and commonly have problems by installing or using it if it is not their corporate platform.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

The level of integration with other Microsoft products.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

Intregration to Office365 and other products such as PowerBI made the difference.

January 2022

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2022

A decent alternative for work messages, but not the best option

My experience with Microsoft Teams has been mixed. On one hand, it is a very useful call software and its notification system works really well. On the other hand, I find the interface not pleasant and not intuitive, and to my opinion it still misses some separation features like between group chats and personal chats. The possibility to see user status is nice, as well as the out of office information. The channels of a given team are easy to use and to navigate through and the comments system works well. However, I have used teams on both Windows and Ubuntu Linux and while it works well on Windows it still has a lot of bugs on Ubuntu Linux, which are unresolved and make competitors such as Slack gain quite a lot in this aspect.

Pros

The strongest point of Microsoft Teams is the call quality and the integration with outlook. Teams makes it possible to share calendars and check the availability of meeting participants, so that the scheduling can be done accordingly. The calls are always smooth and audible, and the interface of calls is very nice. One strong point is the ability to have both chat and call in the same software. The "Teams" feature is also well developed with the many channels helping workflow.

Cons

The interface is not pleasant. Adding documents and files to a chat makes it hard to find them again and the way the pinned tabs work is not really intuitive. Additionally, group chats and personal chats all appear in the same place under "chat" but it could be nice to have a separation between them, such that it is easier to understand who the messages are being send to. Slack does something similar by not only separating them but also putting a hashtag in front of channels, which makes it much easier to distinguish. The integration of apps such as OneNote is not optimal and keeping documentation is not intuitive and caused us to switch to a different documentation software.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

It was requested by the company to switch to Microsoft teams. In my opinion, Slack is easier to use and has a more pleasant interface.

December 2021

Zakaria from Self Employed

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

Microsoft Teams Improves Communication and Helps Build Teams that Enhance Productivity

I accept we've been utilizing the most recent forms of the arrangement. We use whichever adaptation is pushed out with Office 365. I would suggest the item. It works with everything. I have an iPad Pro, I have an iPhone, I have my PC. It's introduced on each of the three gadgets. It works perfectly. I'd rate the arrangement eight out of ten, basically on the grounds that there are a couple of things the arrangement actually needs to enhance.

Pros

Permits you to set up groups for explicit tasks just as a group for the whole office to keep everybody in touch. A disregarded capacity is the capacity to look through anything inside Microsoft Teams. Any photograph, report, or talk can be looked and found pretty without any problem. I can't perceive you how frequently this has saved me from reworking something or begin once again.

Cons

Video quality was shaky on occasion yet may have been an impression of association speeds more than of the abilities of Teams. Need a more instinctive method for organizing the Calendar work in Teams with outer schedules so you don't need to facilitate between a few distinct schedules.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Microsoft Teams is utilized, for our situation, to team up with every inward worker, to chip away at offering a few recommendations, and to cooperate online on records in Word and Excel. We generally use it to team up on the web and to have video gatherings with clients. We can coordinate SharePoint destinations with others. We have libraries that are accessible inside Teams so that individuals can match up those libraries to their nearby drives and subsequently will have the most exceptional data and archives available to them.

December 2021

Gábor from SRS Informatika Ltd.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2021

Experience with MS Teams

Me and my company using MS Teams for more than 2 years now and it had positive changes, making the product better over time. We had Skype for Business on first, then a migration to O365 made the usage of this product possible. It is also widely used among our customer, makes easier to have a communication with them, we can also form "Teams" from different companies, domain, makes the collaboration more smooth. Its embedded Outlook meeting creator is good feature, also it can be implemented, integrated with other software as well, so it has 3rd party applications to be used. It price I would say really worth the price if you can use its features properly, it work online, work on your mobile devices, just give it a stable network. In the company we used this nearly all of the time. It has a few thing to get improved, like the sound quality, getting to drop a little bit of IT power requirement, getting a better camera quality, being more fast when controlling a participant screen, being able to easily switch between different account/email addresses. I highly recommend everyone MS Teams as I have a better, smoother experience with it, then I had with other programs.

Pros

Starts with Windows, runs on a lot devices, screen sharing with a sound, various chatting features, ability to share links, files, take over the participants screens, record a meeting. Chat history is also a very useful feature. Easier to be set then Webex., outsiders can be called to the meetings quickly.

Cons

Sometimes loads for a time, the sw. takes a lot of space, so consume a big memory portion, searching for a text in the chat history may take time. When you move from one network to another, mostly jumping between VPN, it tends to lose the connection even when you got back to your "home" network and shows you offline, does not send/receive messages.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

It was a corporate decision to have O365 introduced company-wide.

December 2021

Robert from FEDEX LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2021

Microsoft Teams has become fundamental for me

Microsoft Teams is best in the present circumstance of pandemics. Every one of the organizations needs to embrace innovation to work from remote and safe the world. Resolving the issue our organization likewise move towards the utilization of the remote work help application Microsoft groups that were planned by Microsoft. It [helps] us to deal with all remote work productively and furthermore permit us to make normal meeting through the application.

Pros

Magnificent Video Conference Functionality and Direct visit accessible between Team individuals.

Cons

Execution issue and time slacking while at the same time utilizing Teams.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Microsoft Teams is an extraordinary instrument for keeping groups associated. It has an extraordinary visit highlight that takes into consideration texting associates. Microsoft Teams likewise can have group gatherings with or without video to keep groups associated and in total agreement. It tends to be utilized to arrange gatherings both inside and with outside advisors and merchants. At the point when you likewise consolidate the versatile application notwithstanding the work area form, Microsoft groups are significantly more adaptable. It is an extraordinary apparatus.

December 2021

Daniel from CARE Plastic Surgery

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2021

Effective for Office Communication and Team Collaboration

It has enabled us to communicate more effectively within the office. We are able to notify individuals and teams entirely which allows for effective flow throughout the day.

Pros

The software is easy to navigate after a few days of using it. I like how you can structure into teams and the permissions are very easy to toggle. The interface is pretty user friendly. The apps "shifts" allows for a simple scheduling software for the teams.

Cons

The navigation of teams gets some taking used to especially after a transition from Slack. I am not fond of having to start a new thread with every message. I was more of a fan of slacks interface in how you could just start typing a message after being in a channel. I feel like sometimes notifications easily slip through the cracks in teams.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

The money and the ease of access/use was definitely the reason. Slack had its benefits but it also had its limits.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

The money and the ease of access/use was definitely the reason. Slack had its benefits but it also had its limits.

December 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

A Fantastic Way To Work Remotely!

Teams came in handy for my organizations during the COVID period as we were not allowed to work from the office in large numbers. We took all our meetings virtually using teams. I did recruitments and trainings through teams. Team work has since improved because we can screen share files and work on the same project easily.

Pros

I use Teams for my everyday office work; from meetings to training of new employees, webinars, File sharing and staying in constant communication with my co-workers or clients. I have daily presentations with my clients and Teams has made it easy for me because of all the features they offer.

Cons

Teams tends to consume a lot of data bundles compared to other platforms forcing one to spend more on internet.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Microsoft Teams does not limit the number of people on can join in the meeting also it can be used for long compared to Zoom which has limitations.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

Calls keeps dropping with Slack and this was jeopardizing my work with clients. teams is well organized and has limited features to offer with a free version.

December 2021

Eva from RapidMaterials

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

Great Video Conferencing Tool

This is an essential remote working tool that we cannot do without. My team and I communicate with each other constantly throughout our working days, solving problems and sharing ideas instantly.

Pros

- Combine video & audio conferencing into one powerful digital workspace - Wide breath of features for both high quality and reliable conferencing and collaboration under one roof - Support large number of users distributed across multiple channels and locations - Synchs well with all Microsoft products saving time switching between tools - Outlook calendar integration allows overview of scheduled meetings and joining meetings in one click - Solid security offered by Microsoft provides peace of mind - Accessible from the web making it easy for external users without having to download app or register for an account

Cons

- Large number of available features can be daunting for new and technically less savvy users - Multilayer navigation can be confusing initially and require proper training to maximize usage of the tool - Great for formal organizations but can be inhibiting for smaller and informal settings such as schools

December 2021

Ariana from AT&T

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2021

MS Teams: the good and the bad

Honestly, not amazing. The user interface has a nice look, but it falls short of what I’d expect from such a premium product. The emojis are terrible, it has functionality issues, it needs a chat notification and meeting alert redesign, and it’s just not as streamlined as it should be.

Pros

I like the integration with other MS apps. There’s also good ease of use when quickly setting up a meeting, or screen sharing within MS Teams.

Cons

The emoji design is horrible and ugly. I know that’s not a big deal, but trust me, it is. These are the worst emojis I’ve ever seen. I literally have GOOD, non-MS Teams emojis sitting on a page on OneNote that I copy and paste when I want to use emojis, because the ones in MS Teams are literally hideous. Also, there are considerable problems with audio delay in some meetings. I think MS Teams has some issues in prioritizing different data packets. This does not happen in Webex. This is an issue I’m currently working with a team to look into, because it has occurred with quite a lot of people in my organization. Also, if it’s a meeting with a substantial amount of people in it, even if everyone’s cameras are off, the screen sharing function will often just freeze and stop working. Another issue is the chat functionality. Good lord, the organization of different chats is terrible. Instead of having all your Teams chats and your individual chats in one place, with the newest one showing at the top and with clear “unread” notifications, you have to click into the “Teams” section to even SEE if you have unread content in there. Absolutely terrible sorting of these. Webex puts them all in one column, making it more clear and apparent when a new message exists. This is probably something you have to see to understand, but it’s not a good choice on MS Teams’ part. Lastly, there are no alerts for when your meeting is starting. I have been late to a couple because of this.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

The company decided to. I’d rather we kept both.

December 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2021

All-in-One Program

Overall, a all-in-one program that allows for collaboration. This has helped to keep groups of people connected and organized while still being very user-friendly. This app is open on my computer from when I turn it on first thing, and the last one I close before shutting down. The mobile app keeps me connected when I need to be away from my computer, which has helped productivity significantly.

Pros

This software has everything needed to effectively work in one program. The application allows for excellent communication and collaboration for different groups and projects. Teams can collaborate through posts, files, making different channels, or even an instant meeting. Being able to store a file within the Team and have multiple people accessing and editing while seeing what others are working on helps to ensure that version control is achieved. The search function works very well and can bring up people or documents based on keywords. The chat function allows for easy communication throughout the day with multiple people (or groups of people) and has the fun ability of being able to include GIFs for those times when words are not enough. The ability to add other apps into Teams and have them all available at your fingertips adds time savings. The mobile app has all of the functionality of the desktop version, and the switching of any meetings, calls, or chats between the two is seamless. This is a huge advantage when you are unable to be on your computer, but still need to be connected to files, chats, or calls. Overall, a great tool for collaboration of teams, especially with the future of remote/hybrid workplaces.

Cons

Chat function: While you can pop out individual chats, you cannot group the windows together outside of the main program. If the entire "chat" feature could be popped out of the main window, this would be a significant improvement. A tie-in to Zoom to show when one is on a Zoom call that isn't scheduled would also be an improvement. Mobile App: The mobile app is overall great, but oftentimes the "status" gets stuck on the mobile app. Sometimes the only way to resolve is uninstall and reinstall to force the status to change. There is no way to get rid of old notifications if the company has a retention policy in place and you miss the message before it expires. Teams: You can sort teams by "Active" and "Hidden" but being able to group them would make the app much more efficient.

November 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2021

Great for workplaces, may need training at first it not tech-savvy

Overall, this is a convenient app for working with actual teams/groups such as in a business or workplace. I wouldn't recommend for external persons. There are so many features that can be helpful and useful; however, it takes some time to figure out how to use them.

Pros

Great for workplaces as it helps to collaborate and communication easily with your groups/teams. You can create various groups, use the chat feature, share information, documents, and use apps. You can also pin frequently used apps at the top of the group for easy access. Video conferencing is great for virtual meetings. You can create video calls with the usual features and more. You are able to create the call, invite persons to join, use voice and video, share screen, upload documents, use chat features, record and save the video etc. I like that you are able to upload a PowerPoint which gives you more functionality than other meeting/conferencing programs. You can also call persons individually (VoIP) using WiFi or data. Teams integrates with other Microsoft products where you can use apps through the Teams program. In an increasingly virtual space, it is also helpful when working from home/remotely. There is also a mobile app which makes taking calls or joining meetings easy from whenever you are.

Cons

Not as suited for use with external persons outside of your team. It is not as user friendly as you would expect and takes some time getting used to it. Persons may need some MS Teams specific training in order to navigate the software, especially for persons we are not tech savvy. It is difficult to understand how to use some of the features and integrations. For example, you are able to add various apps to groups but it takes some tinkering aroung to figure out how to use them in the group. Also, at times, it is a bit confusing when trying to manage files.

November 2021

Robert from Valmet, Inc.

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Machinery

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2021

Getting closer to everything one could want...

On the whole, Teams is critical to the success of my everyday work and performs it's function well.

Pros

Teams continues to get better over time to the point that each of it's applications, say meetings for instance, is nearly on par with it's competitor's offerings; however, the advantage that Teams has is that it is an all-in-one application. As both an engineer and project manager, this multifaceted application, with a centralized file keeping system, is crucial in keeping track of everything.

Cons

There are a few features that would improve the experience: 1.) For meetings, it would be nice to be able to draw on the screen of other colleagues. The whiteboard function offered by Teams is good, but it's not quite as good as being able to draw directly on another's screen as can be done with Zoom. For engineer's, that would be a big bonus. 2.) There should be the option to add words to the dictionary, as with other MS applications. This is particularly a bit annoying for meeting notes. 3.) The search function needs a bit of work. There's not an easy way to search the words in the given application (e.g. searching for text in the meeting notes is not easy). Also, the file search isn't always that great returning confusing results sometimes. Perhaps with more customization options for the user's search (i.e. like do you want to search for files, photos, text, documents, etc.) this would be more targeted and helpful.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

I didn't have a choice. When my prior company was acquired by my current one, that's the application I was given ;-)

November 2021

Shawn from Husch Blackwell

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

Teams is Essential if using Microsoft Stack

My overall experience is great. Microsoft Teams consolidates multiple related communication functions into one application. File sharing, team organization, instant messaging, voice calls, video calls, informal polls, screen sharing... The problem we're solving is around communication, especially in a remote world. I find that Teams is a great way to do that, especially if you already have Microsoft Office or other Microsoft Products like SharePoint. It's great that we only have 1 app to go to for a lot of different things, and Teams has helped us stay connected somewhat in a remote work world.

Pros

Teams consolidated a few of my different communication platforms, and for that I am grateful. It's a good instant messaging and video call application. One benefit that I like is that it allows for quick transition from Chat to Call with Screen share, and remote control. I actually use this to support people on some sites and reports that I support. Instead of having to call them on the phone, then use other applications to connect for a screen share, and further type in information to request control, I can just use Teams. Quick IT support was a big unexpected benefit. We've also used some of the functionality to host virtual social activities. Teams is very easy to use and navigate. While I was not in the IT team that set up this application, so can't speak to the setup difficulty, I find it integrates well with other Microsoft products, such as SharePoint (file sharing) and Outlook (availability status).

Cons

One thing I never liked too much with Teams over something like Skype had was the size of the chat window. I find it a bit big, and difficult to make small and hide off to the side. It essentially takes up a small side monitor along with Outlook emails. My other complaint is that sometimes there are echoes in the voice calls, more likely with multiple people. This often happens if someone has a weird microphone setup or joined with multiple devices. You can fix it by muting when not talking. Additionally, the file search is not great. You're much better off going to the SharePoint site (where the files are actually stored, and I assume it's that way for other companies as well) and searching from the SharePoint site. I can't search well through whole channels to find a document when there are subfolders. Aside from that, I think it covers a lot of features, and is easy to use.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

Switched from Skype Business in 2020. Teams can also replace things like Jabber, WebEx, phone systems, Slack, etc.

November 2021

Keith from The Christian Family Center

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

Combining Instant Access without Sacrificing Security

Teams lets us accomplish the tasks we were already engaged in, but it does so in a way that is superior to all of our previous methods. The frustrations and shortcomings that we experienced in the past have been eliminated by Teams. Accurate, immediate, and secure communication with our entire workforce is streamlined, and we no longer suffer from decreased productivity due to messages being sent to the wrong employee, overlooked, or received too late. Teams gives us instant access to every employee and ensures that we are operating as efficiently as possible.

Pros

Teams is our primary method of communication for all of our staff. It lets us disseminate information immediately to the necessary employees and allows our staff to be kept informed without having to constantly check in at our main office. Prior to implementing Teams, we had a patchwork of methods to communicate with our staff, all of which had significant shortcomings. Text messages were instant, but we were limited in the amount of information that we could share. Furthermore, mistakes in selecting recipients frequently resulted in staff members either receiving information they should not have been privy to or failing to receive vital information. Emails did not provide the level of encryption needed to send some of the information we share, and responses to them were difficult to follow. Phone calls and in person notifications were reliable but time consuming, and caused us to sacrifice the ability to transmit information immediately. Teams combines the benefits of immediate transmission, secure transfer, access regardless of location, and ease of use. We can verify that the correct employees were notified so that we do not suffer from overlooked or unsent messages. While the software does not seem revolutionary and does not introduce a brand new service, it solves the communication problems that all of our previous methods suffered from.

Cons

The benefits of Teams are appreciated much more by our executive staff than by our employees. They do not necessarily see the benefit of using a separate program to achieve the same goal that a simple text would, and therefore do not always utilize it.

November 2021

Kate from Stucan Solutions Corporation

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

Microsoft Teams - - A 2021 Must Have!

I appreciate real-time communication, and with half the team in London and half in Washington, it puts us virtually together under one roof. We can alter, modify, examine and research all on one screen. We were huge fans before the C19 hit, its just proved how pivotal a robust working environment truly is.

Pros

I am so dependent on this tool, its the golden thread that keeps my team, my customers, and my supply chain linked together. The quality of of sound and visuals has so far surpassed our previous provider where either the picture was blurry or you would have to use your telephone to supplement the sound when the voip just didn't quite deliver, or no sound was transmitted at all. I have yet to discover all the party tricks that Teams can do. I know it makes me feel that we are all working in unison even when there is a five hour disparity among team mates. It also allows me to invite guest users on to my system easily. I have the full Microsoft 365 suite and intend to bump up my subscription to a higher level for added security measures next summer.

Cons

Everyone is still using disparate systems. We left G-Mail to engage with Microsoft 365 specifically to have access to Teams as so many of our partners had it. I did forget to log out of a meeting and the system was inadvertently left open for 24 hours- camera live!!!!! When one of my teammates rejoined the daily scrum meeting the following morning, 25 minutes before the meeting was to commence, I was sitting in front of my computer in rollers and no makeup...we all had a good laugh but it would be nice if the system timed out after a period of inactivity.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

So we and our subcontractors and prime could work off a similar platform. Its also help to seriously streamline our security posture, we have many more controls on the new system.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

To collaborate with other Industry members who had already made the switch to teams.

November 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

Microsoft Teams - An amazing unified solution for all your office networking platform

There's no gainsaying the inescapable fact that microsoft Teams is an amazing office networking platform with features that enable me to effectively manage my projects data, status calls, project teams, status trackers, etc. The feature of Teams to effectively synconize with One Drive has helped my business team enormously to upload and securely save our important documents to cloud which we can easily retrieve real-time completely intact.

Pros

One feature of this software that stands out prominently is that it is an effective consolidated solution for all different network needs. The awesome diversity of Teams can readily be appreciated in its live video chat, audio chat, file sharing among collaborating team members, creating reminders, uploading files to share points, etc. The icing on the cake about all these features is that they are all seamless to use.

Cons

Notwithstanding the great features which Teams has, its GUI is a little bit confusing with bottons of all the features seeminly crowed together. Another feature of Teams that pose some concerns to me is that navigating some of the features could pose a challenge for some new users, especially whilst conductng interviews for potential employees, etc. And sometimes there could be a lot of noisy background if the alert is on.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Microsoft Teams features were more sophisticated and professional than slack, not withstanding some good features of slack.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

My team members and I had to move our meetings from Zoom to Teams in order for us to maximze benefits of some features of Teams such as project folder creation, file sharing with the project team, uploading files and synch from the cloud.

November 2021

User Profile Picture

Megan from Arizona Raft Adventures

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2021

Just what we need to stay connected

Pros

I know there are other chat features out there, but my office has Microsoft 365, so when we all moved to working remotely, this kept us connected. Now we still all work in different locations depending on the day, so it's really great to continue to keep us connected. We literally chat all day as a team, and helps us all know what is going on moment to moment. We also really enjoy the gifs and emojis in there and oftentimes add fun to our day by having a gif competition. It's just silly fun, but we miss being together in the office, so we're grateful for the fun added through Microsoft Teams. The phone app works well (on Android at least), and it's really easy to tag people in a chat so you can make sure they see it, you can make a message "important" so it brings it specifically to everyone's attention, and you can also react to a comment instead of having to reply to it all the time. It really does work well as a chat function for a remote team.

Cons

I'm sure it's gotten better now, but the video chat features was never really as good as it could have been. At the height of the pandemic, we tried using Teams for our video chat and it didn't have good quality, only allowed a certain amount of screens to be shown at a time, and just wasn't as good as Zoom, so we switched. It does have screenshare, so that's good now, but it doesn't seem to have all the video call qualities Zoom offers.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

We already had it as a part of Microsoft 365 so figured we'd give it a shot.

November 2021

Salvatore from City University of NY

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

Our Go-To Tool for Team Collaboration

My experience with teams have been overwhelmingly positive to the point that it is my go-to program for communication with my colleagues. The file sharing features are robust, and the ability to create numerous teams in addition to group chats allows me to keep everything that I need organized. Ultimately, Teams has improved my productivity.

Pros

I like that we have been able to integrate Teams into our Single Sign-On system. This means we can contact any member of the organization through their organization e-mail. We are able to chat privately, as a group, and can also create individual Teams for our organization as well as specific committees and sub-committees. Adding a file to a team is as simple as drag and drop and is easy to find under the "files" tab. Video calls work well, though it does require the user to be logged in. Screen sharing also works well, and the video conferencing features rival those of Zoom. I can access Teams either through a computer app, a phone app, or on the web. Being able to access my team anywhere is vital in 2021.

Cons

When I first logged in to Teams, I entered my e-mail incorrect and have not been able to "log out" as I am notified there is an issue. On other systems, I do not have this issue, so I am figuring that it is something specific to this particular machine. I have been working with my IT office to resolve this. Microsoft provides excellent support, so this is a very minor issue in the larger picture. There are moments where Teams can be somewhat laggy, as the program is slightly more CPU-intensive than something like zoom, but this is understandable given the breadth of features.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

While we initially used Skype in our organization, it has been replaced by Teams by Microsoft. Overall, Teams has worked much better for our collaborations as an organization. Webex seemed a bit more technical for our less-savvy users at times, so we have found that Teams works a bit better for our purposes.

November 2021

Jann from Hands On Nashville

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2021

Great Communication Tool for a Remote Team

We could not have worked remotely for as long as we have or engaged with one another in such a genuine way without a platform like teams. It kept us from having to deploy multiple software solutions for communications and has solid integrations with other Office365 apps.

Pros

We were stepping our toes into Teams at the beginning of the pandemic, but it became a critical tool. We work in disaster response, and were dealing with engaging volunteers to respond to a devastating tornado when we suddenly found ourselves working remotely. It took a few months to figure out all of the features, but video meetings and chat quickly became crucial for our team. I love the improved Outlook integration, the new PowerPoint integration, and the ability to connect to SharePoint files or Microsoft forms from within Teams. I also appreciate the live captioning. It's exceptionally user friendly and is a great communication tool.

Cons

Microsoft tends to build a boat from a raft once it's afloat in the ocean. So features get added all of the time, which have greatly improved the software. There are still occasional challenges with external meetings, but those have improved tremendously over the past year. Teams does get "glitchy" for different users on different days. Mic issues here, seeing other users there, chat access denied, sounding like a robot...

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

It was included and integrates with our other Microsoft licenses.

November 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2021

Good way to stay on the same page

It has been overall a positive experience. I've had a few technical glitches here and there but they have to do with poor internet connections rather than the software itself. When scheduling meetings with my client and other people, it's super important that I don't make any mistakes in the set-up. It's an uncomfortable situation to find out that something went wrong later on, and when I set these meetings up, I always have an uneasy feeling that I missed some detail.

Pros

I like that I can be face-to-face with my client for the weekly meetings. It's important to see facial expressions and body language, especially because I am dealing with a client who can be difficult at times. The chat function is great and I like that I can mark things IMPORTANT to catch his attention.

Cons

It's not the easiest to set up for webinars or group meetings that my client has with his clients. Luckily he has a paid plan so I can call tech support to guide me through it. With this client, mistakes are not allowed, so I would appreciate an easier set up and a way to ensure that everything is set up correctly PRIOR to a meeting.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

My client wanted to utilize his paid tools through Microsoft and use the integrations between Outlook, OneDrive, Calendars, etc. He still uses Zoom for a lot of external meetings though.

November 2021

Ali Recep from Vestel

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

Great Software for Remote work

Teams helped my organization to streamline our video conferencing needs. Before we switched to Teams everyone was using something else: Duo, Chime, Zoom etc. I had to jump and switch between all those apps. Now, all my meetings are through teams and since it's completely integrated with my Outlook, i can track my meetings a lot easier.

Pros

Teams is completely integrated with Microsoft Office and since I use them both for work I like the ease of use they bring - especially for creating and joining online meetings. But considering teams only as a video conferencing tool would be wrong. Teams also allows you to create online folders to share documents with your teammates in a totally secure manner. Even though I do not use it, it can also help you manage your team, assign projects, tasks etc. My company is totally integrated with the office suit so I can see who is who through Teams - I can see their titles, phone numbers, offices, departments, managers etc. Teams has become an integral part of my organization.

Cons

I am sometimes having trouble with the mobile app - although it might be related with my phone. Whenever i am in a call via Teams if I receive a regular phone the bluetooth connection cuts off even if i do not accept the call. and routing the voice to my bluetooth headset takes a few tries.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

My company adopted Teams and the change was somewhat forced but i am glad of the change.

October 2021

Max from Royal Electric

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2021

Best Tool For Corporate Scalability

Overall, my experience using Microsoft Teams is positive. From an IT standpoint, I love the management console, which allows me great visibility into all sorts of metrics, configuration, and flexibility with how it operates. I also like how Sharepoint online can remove the burden of having employee files on local servers. From the end user's point of view, it's awesome. Great tools for video conferencing, chatting, organization, and collaboration, and scheduling. Teams also integrates with other plugins and affiliates to bring even more functionality and service.

Pros

Ok, here we go; there really is much to love here on Microsoft Teams. I hope that this review helps both end users and managers, as well as IT professionals that are looking on moving to Teams. Let me start off by saying that there is a lot your are subscribing to when using Teams. In MS Teams, you can create "Teams" where you can compartmentalize different units in your organization. For example, you can create a team for Accounting, HR, IT, Leadership, etc. This is beneficial because each department can create their own folder structures, share files, create posts, and also integrate other pluggable features like calendars, forms, and tabs for any granular function. This allows for a powerful collaboration tool. Another favorite feature I enjoy of MS Teams is the chat feature. Think of it like modern AOL, you are able to reach out to your collogues in real time through the chat feature. Other things to look forward to include a great tool for video conferencing. Teams allow you to create ad-hoc meetings, schedule meetings, share your screen, and also serves as a good remote administration tool for hand-held devices. If you are an IT admin looking to move to Teams, here is why you should do it. The Teams backend is Sharepoint Online. The reason this is important is because of cloud storage. You can easily move on-premise files from a server to the Microsoft Cloud. This means less time worrying about downtime and maintenance. Definitely worth investing into.

Cons

Some of my least favorite parts of Microsoft Teams revolve around the Desktop application. Teams is a great utility, however, it's a memory hog. Yes, if you launch task manager, you are likely to see if on your top 3 memory-intensive processes. Because of that, I use Teams from my browser.

October 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2021

The Communication Tool of the Pandemic

MS Teams has been a fantastic tool which has allowed my team to stay in communication during the pandemic. It's become our most used tool which has succeeded in increasing collaboration and efficiency. Although there are a few small issues with this app, mainly being the glitches and deletion of chat messages older than 30 days, there are so many more pros to using this software. I can see us sticking to this software for a while.

Pros

MS Teams has become the backbone of my team. I love that we can create multiple channels on this and go the level of determining who can access a channel as well as that member's level of control. This is a great collaboration tool since we are able to upload documents and have multiple people access these at the same time to modify/view. It's easy to create large group chats and start meetings from the chat in situations where we need to have fast responses. The audio and video quality is pretty good and it's great that we can see the list of participants on a meeting as well as who else was invited but didn't join. I love that it updates if a member is currently active, offline, or presenting so we know who to contact and expect a response from. Also love that you can use tags to send messages to the intended people. The ability to view calendar and easily schedule meetings is also a great perk.

Cons

I least like the fact that chat conversations disappear after 30 days because then that data is lost. I also dislike that files can't be backed up because occasionally people delete files which are then completely gone unless someone stored a local copy on their machine. The app does occasionally glitch in large meetings which causes me to lose audio/video and the only solution is to restart the app and rejoin the meeting in order to restore that.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

The switch was made because we needed a one-stop shop for data storage, meetings, chatting, and tracking participation.

October 2021

Becky from Synergy Florida

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2021

Vital Tool for Remote Work

Teams has been vital in keeping our office staff moving in the right direction through the pandemic. We have been able to continue providing assistance to staff and training through screen sharing and virtual meetings.

Pros

All of the tools are readily available within the meeting screen and makes it a breeze to share screen for demonstration or otherwise show staff, rather than just trying to verbally explain. Also easily integrated with other Microsoft products - meetings are saved directly to Outlook calendar.

Cons

The app doesn't work with our remote desktop environment, so we have to work outside of the remote desktop environment and have another screen with our remote desktop open for any of our other apps or software that we use.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Easy to use with our already existing software (Office Suite), pricing is much more reasonable.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

Pricing and Teams is integrated with our already existing software (Office Suite).

October 2021

Lauren from Syntellis Performance Solutions

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2021

Easy to use

I like that you can have different chats with individuals and groups, and it's easy to tell them all apart (you can name group chats and see everyone participating at the top). The mobile app/desktop work great together and I can pick up a conversation wherever I am without disruption. I use teams pretty much constantly to communicate with my team via IM and use for ad hoc meetings as well. Also, appreciate the gif library - some things can't be communicated with words alone.

Pros

I think my favorite thing about teams is how easy it is to use. It's very intuitive to find conversations, files, whatever you need. It's integrated with our SharePoint, so sharing and accessing files is super easy and really has helped our remote work be seamless.

Cons

Sometime the differences between using a "team" chat vs. a chat with a group can be confusing. They seem to have similar functionality (can share/access files, chat, meet, etc.) but the "team" notification vs. the group chat isn't as intuitive. They seem to serve the same purpose so I'm not sure I understand why there are both options - I usually just use the group chat function (unless working with someone outside of my organization). Also, you can search previous conversations for a word or phrase (SUPER helpful for trying to remember a decision made on the fly) but it will only show you that single chat message containing it, rather than the conversation around it - you have to manually scroll back to find that.

October 2021

User Profile Picture

Muzaffar from TAG Consultancy

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2021

Best communication app for business

Pros

I have been using Microsoft Teams for more than 2 years now almost every day. In my opinion it is the best communication and collaboration tool so far. - Microsoft Teams integrates very well with apps such as Microsoft Planner and Jira. It is very easy to build Kanban like task management boards for the team, assigns tasks to required people, to view analytics of task progress etc. - File management in the app is also very good. Working on a single file collaboratively is very easy and efficient. It is possible to open a file within the teams with integrated apps, on a dedicated desktop app or open them online using web functionalities. - Teams allows presenters to choose which particular app windows to share, whether to share the PC sounds or not, also allows to share the display but have a visibility over the call as well. - Without having real time screen sharing it wouldn't be possible to complete day-to-day tasks during Covid pandemic. Teams offers a quite easy to use screen sharing option. Also it provides a very comprehensive video conferencing functionality. The quality of the video is quite high but it doesn't hurt the transmission speed much. - Mobile app of the Teams is quite functional as well. Considering majority of the people use their phones more than PCs it is quite critical.

Cons

The integration with Microsoft Outlook is not so good as Skype for Business had.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

My organization had made a switch from Skype for Business to Microsoft Teams.

October 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2021

Became an Essential Part of the Workday

It truly has become essential and something can't operate without. Plus, the video backgrounds on our daily meeting have been a nice addition.

Pros

We feature a management team that is spread out across a variety of locations. Video conferencing and collaboration tools are a must for us. We've used this tool for collaborative work on Office documents, file sharing, team communication and lots more. It's been something that has quickly become one of the more essential tools to our daily worklife.

Cons

Perhaps the biggest drawback to the software is that while the collaborative file work is useful, it's not quite as easy or as seamless as Google Docs, for example.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Ease of use and one platform for several tools.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

Found improved functionality and more tools with Teams.

October 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2021

Professional, Simple, Smart and Easy Office Tool

I love Ms Teams. It has helped me tremendously especially during this WFH situation. I was able to conduct meetings, view meetings that i was not able to attend, and train new recruits easily while working from home. We were able to share all the documents in chats and it is so easy to view all the documents shared in the Teams app.

Pros

Teams is very easy to use and it is fast. I can use it anywhere be it my laptop or smartphone. Because of the Pandemic and WFH situation, Teams has helped me and my colleagues carry on our work in a regular way and stay in touch or conduct meetings as we used to in the office. Screen Sharing and Recording is amazing and one of the most important tools I feel. This helped us a lot in training new recruits without being there in person. The best part is this integrates with outlook and the calendar so I do not miss any important meetings i am asked to attend.

Cons

The screen when sharing is small and should be increased in size. Maybe due to slow internet connection or what, the screen appears in a lag during screen sharing but everything else is working fine. The screen blurs when the internet fluctuates even a bit.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

Here we could conduct everything together. The chats, the meetings, screen sharing, etc. Teams just seemed like a better option to keep everyone in one place.

October 2021

User Profile Picture

Sasania from Continuum Global Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2021

Best Team Collaboration Software

I recently officially started using Microsoft Teams for work and I must say it's one of the best team collaboration softwares that I've used so far. It's perfect for remote work especially, and gives a very professional yet fun and interactive interface. I haven't used it in it's entirety or gotten the chance to check out it's full capacity but so far I'm extremely impressed by what Microsoft has done with this software.

Pros

Based on my own experience navigating this platform, I can say that what I love and appreciate the most about Teams is how seemlessly it integrates with the other Microsoft apps like Outlook and OneDrive. If you have a meeting scheduled on your calendar, for example, once the meeting starts there will be a pop up for you to quickly click and join without having to leave Outlook. You also have all of your OneDrive files accessible right within the Teams app so you don't need to exit the app to find a document you previously saved to your cloud. In addition to this, I really do love the emojis, memes and gifs features but what had me sold was the editable memes that they have. All you have to do is search for the meme that's suitable for the situation, and you can click to edit it with your colleague's name, for example. This feature was definitely thoroughly thought out! Not only is it a fun way to lighten a tense/ stressed work mood, it's perfect for personalizing messages. Idk... it definitely does something, it just adds that extra oomph to the message and honestly that might be my favorite feature. The mute feature is very handy also to eliminate distracting pop up messages from chats. Sometimes when I'm on a work call for example -with a large group of constant chatter- I can easily mute the chat to avoid those little pop up boxes that can sometimes crowd the bottom right corner of your screen if you're using a desktop/ laptop. I also love that I can save messages...

Cons

As far as cons go, I can't really think of much. The biggest thing that used to bother me was that on the desktop version I wasn't able to reply to specific messages in a chat. The lack of that feature used to make it a bit tedious for me when I wanted to respond to a single message in a sea of messages, I usually would have to jump onto the app on my phone and reply from there then go back to the desktop app. That wasn't very practical so I'm thankful that that feature was very recently added because it's quite convenient and makes it easier for people to know exactly which message you're responding to if there were many messages sent before you got the chance to reply. Other than that, I guess the only issue for me is that the software can get a bit overwhelming at times. I remember the first time I had an interview via Teams and it was quite a tedious task navigating the system and trying to figure out how to get started. That definitely sent my anxiety levels up a bit lol. Obviously I've gotten used to using it but I guess that might be a con for first time users.

October 2021

Danai from National Technical University of Athens

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2021

Microsoft Teams, a value for money group platform

I started using Microsoft Teams almost 2 years ago, since every university started teaching classes online. Our university provided us and our teachers with free Microsoft Teams accounts, so that we can use its features to their full capacity. For almost all of the classes it has worked amazingly, except for those that have more than 300 attendees. Those meetings are not supported by Microsoft Teams and have to be hosted on a different platform. However, I find Microsoft Teams very user-friendly, since you can access classes materials, announcements, posts etc very easily and get personal notifications.

Pros

Having used Microsoft Teams for almost 2 years, I really enjoy its interface. It has a very user-friendly layout and everyone finds it easy to use it, even on their first time! It is a very organized way of group sharing and communicating, since you can keep shared files on specific folders on each group channel, you can have both one-on-one and group meetings, share your screen and request control on someone's shared screen. It has a lot of fancy backgrounds for the videocalls and offers a lot of useful tools for the host of the meeting. Finally, I really like the threads under channel posts, so you can have a discussion under a specific topic, as a comment of the initial post, without having to scroll for ages on the channel.

Cons

I really like Microsoft Teams and find it very easy to use, but unfortunately, if you want to explore all its features you have to be willing to pay an average fee for each user. However, you can still use the free product, but with some limitations, like the maximum meeting time at 1 hour, or the maximum participants number at 100. However, even when paying the full price, Microsoft Teams participants capacity is at 300, so webinars with larger crowds than that have to find a different venue.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

Cisco Webex only provides the user with a meeting platform, so it has significantly less features than Microsoft Teams. It doesnt have channels, channels posts, files sharing etc, which is why I prefer Microsoft Teams.

September 2021

Alex from Whitemud Ironworks Ltd

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2021

Improve inner company communication and focus email on external communications

Previous to using Teams most of our inner company communication was done via email, which lead to the every user have large mailbox sizes. It was this abundance of inner company emails, a lot of times with files attached, that lead to the death of our old Exchange email server and the migration to Exchange 365. Since Teams was included with our Office 365 subscription I made a push to get people to try it out. Once we over came the initial push back our employees started to realize the benefits of having a dedicated program for inner office communication. Eventually this started branching out to utilizing the collaboration and meetings features of the program. Teams has presented us with a cheap solution to many of our company's communication and collaboration issues and the adaption of it has definitely lessened the impact that new working conditions imposed by the pandemic has had on our company.

Pros

The chat feature is a excellent alternative to using email for inner company communication. Text conversations are much more readable than long email chains, and the option to have voice, video, screen sharing and file sharing all in one place has made inner company communication much easier.

Cons

The 'Teams' themselves are not as intuitive as they could be and it has taken longer to get our employees to buy into them as a means of collaboration and communication compared to chat. Looking through old conversations is cumbersome and finding old discussion topics is not as ease as email. While a word search is available it only will display a single message when a result is click without the additional context of surrounding messages. More options for viewing a searching old conversations would be extremely useful. The desktop Teams app uses a lot of RAM, older computers with less than 16GB might struggle to run it and other programs, which defeats the purpose of the application if it is not available all the time.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

While one of our company's departments experiment with Slack we ultimately chose Teams since it was included with a service we were already purchasing from Microsoft.

September 2021

Ben from Balfour Beatty

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2021

The saviour of remote workers during lockdown

We adopted teams at the beginning on 2020, a few weeks before someone said "have you heard of this covid thing?" We couldn't have timed it better, as it meant we could all work from home during the pandemic with 100% of the abilities of the office Now things are returning to (the new) normal, it's even meant we can modernise our approach to remote working - which has had a huge impact on employee wellbeing and reducing our carbon footprint

Pros

First and foremost, Teams has been the reason I've been able to work from home during the pandemic I use it all day every day for team meetings, webinars and keeping in touch with team members and colleagues The chat function is my favourite part but I have to admit the video calling and conferencing is finally the "Video Phone" that we were promised in the 1960s It just works And the ability to change your background on video calls has been the saviour of the home worker with the untidy house :-) Teams is especially useful for people being able to ask you quick questions without disturbing you, as you can quickly see someone needs you but you don't have to drop everything like if it was a face to face "interruption"

Cons

The only real issue I have may be user error. If you send a file to someone, then send the same file to someone else, it does prompt you to either keep/replace/rename - every time Annoying but not the end of the world

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

More professional that Slack (though we have Slack as well, mainly for our developers)

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

More integration with O365

September 2021

User Profile Picture

Craig from Kaseya

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2021

A great reliable Unified Communicationsat a great price if your on O365

being a complimentary product with our enterprise Office 365 license it was easy to adopt and deploy and has become the life blood of our internal communications globally

Pros

A ubiquitous and cheap Unified Communications that is deeply integrated into the Office 365 ecosystem. Although a Microsoft product is available on both Windows and Mac and iOS and Android. The app can be even be accessed via web browser for Linux OS's.

Cons

The Teams app can be intimidating when first opened and can take a little while to learn how to navigate and find the chats or groups you are looking for. Depending on the size of your organisation there can be a lot of noise if you turn the alerting on.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

The bundling with O365 and the range of features included in our existing subscription. it also works reliably over all levels of internet connection.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

Easier to deploy across our whole organisation and easier integration across key customer and distributor organisations.

September 2021

Nelisiwe from Eskom

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2021

Microsoft Teams

Easy to meet during this pandemic and has a voice and video calling option that you can use to communicate with the team or any other person within the work environment. Make it possible to share important documents and updated can be done weekly or monthly in one platform.

Pros

HIghly customize to suit all types of organizations Can be easily integrated with the other Microsoft Office applications Include office 365 Have other applications that can be used to link with Ms teams High security

Cons

Customization makes it difficult to use in other platforms Only effective for organisations using Microsoft product

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Since the company is using Microsoft as the operating system it was easy to select Microsoft teams to be added to the package. this has been the best solution

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

To be up to date with the current technology. To keep safe the company information not to be on social media platforms that do not support the business model. Due to the Covid-19, most employees are working from home it is easy for departments to communicate and ensure that all business activities continue without any compromises or delays.

September 2021

Mahmoud from BAU

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2021

Microsoft Teams is one of the best distance education programs

Teams is the best remote education application ever, and with their excellent customer service, I am confident that this product will continue to be popular long after the pandemic has passed. This isn't just useful for teachers. And You might be able to use it for easy access to your business partners and staff if you own a company.

Pros

It's the greatest app for online learning and conference meetings because it's simple to use. Allows you to sync your calendar with Microsoft Outlook. Users can be muted using background noise. The capacity to record sessions so that they can be revisited at a later time. Meetings can be scheduled using the Outlook calendar, allowing you to plan ahead of time. Being able to see and hear what's going on in meetings. This product's features have enabled me to join audio and video conference meetings, conferences, and training sessions with a variety of students.

Cons

When the conventional microphone is destroyed, the Bluetooth headset has trouble being recognized. There are still a number of issues that influence the program's usability, as well as various limitations including file limits and bugs with document control and sharing. And When uploading in Microsoft Teams, it occasionally fails, and we must try again.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

because it's simple to use.

September 2021

User Profile Picture

sameer from Deloitte

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2021

Microsoft- One stop solution for all your office networking needs

My overall experience with Team has been really amazing, I am perfectly able to manage all my projects data and project teams, status calls, status trackers etc with the help of teams. Teams ability to get synched with One Drive for business has also helped me and my team a lot to upload all our important docs to cloud so that we don't loose it and at the same time see real time status update of the same.

Pros

One of the best point of this software is that it is a consolidated solution of all different networking needs. Be it video chat, audio chat, sharing files within different project teams, creating reminders, uploading files to the sharepoint etc. Teams is certainly the solution of all diverse needs and helps use all the features under one roof.

Cons

One thing that I really don't like about this software is that its GUI is not very comfortable. One can take a good amount of time to understand how teams work and thus it gets a bit annoying for the end user. Its GUI is a bit confusing, buttons of all the features are very close to each other and also are very small thus creating confusions all around.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Since Google offer doesn't support featurs like file sharing , file upload on cloud etc.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Teams

Well , Zoom was just used for meetings and since teams was also other extensive features like Project folder creation, file sharing with the project team, file upload in cloud, project folder synch in cloud etc. we chose to move to Teams from zoom.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 7,054 reviews