User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(1,115)

1,115

4 stars

(785)

785

3 stars

(205)

205

2 stars

(32)

32

1 stars

(12)

12

  • Pros

  • "the interface is amazing and its combination with windows makes it easy to learn and use. Its a great utility for mutiple purposes"

  • "This software is amazing. It makes it super easy to have video calls with coworkers all over the world. "

  • "Ease of use, functionality, its overall very effective and is a great product. I would recommend this to teams of any size"

  • Cons

  • "Very few complaints, but some of the settings can be difficult to find / tweak (i.e. notifications, sounds/alerts)"

  • "My only complaint would be it can be a little slow sometimes, but other from that it's great."

  • "When we first started using the app it was very difficult to get used to. Although the interface is very friendly it just didn't have any relation to any instant messaging software used before. "

Browse Microsoft Teams Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 2206 results

September 2019

Dan from Bob Barker Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Microsoft Teams crushes Slack!

We wanted to get ahead of the sun setting of Skype for Business and realize the benefits of Teams collaboration capabilities.

Pros

Microsoft Teams provides all of the functionality of Skype for Business, but with a better user experience. The audio and video quality is excellent. The collaboration features are by far the best I've experienced. Simple to deploy, easy to use, I cannot say enough good things about Teams.

Cons

Without proper governance, this product will sprawl easily within your organization. Take some time to setup business rules and remove the default permissions, enabling the proper security and administration of the application.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Ease of use. Ease of administration. Tight integration with O365. Excellent video and voice capabilities. The list goes on and on. We used Slack for over a year, and ended up very frustrated with the product. We have not had that experience with Teams.

April 2020

Andy from Seakeeper

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Maritime

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

A great team communication tool that is used every day!

A tool we use at work every day. I was aware of the product before we started using it and pushed our IT department to implement it and the rest of the suite of tools from MS.

Pros

The ability to share specific applications, or your whole screen are both great features. Video along with screen share makes it easy to not only share the information but also see the person you are talking to at the same time.

Cons

Sometimes it can be hard to find the right meeting to join, end up chasing people around on multiple calls if they don't click the right meeting link the first time. Should be able to merge calls.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Already integrated with Office365

January 2020

Heath from The Jackson Laboratory

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

If you don't expect much, Teams can help you get by

For the most part, I and most of my organization struggle with Teams. It is fairly poorly designed and that comes from its clunky architecture. Teams is a "client' that aggregates (but doesn't really integrate) other MS tools (eg. planner, onenote). The result is a very confusion model where "things" are stored all over your organization.

Pros

Very high quality video and audio meeting capability for internal employees (not easy or intuitive for external collaboration). While there are superior persistent chat streams tools, Teams is sufficient for immature organizations who are not yet conversation/stream centric.

Cons

Teams is a terrible document collaboration tool. It's worse than Sharepoint, upon which it is based. It really lacks most of the nice things about OneDrive and Office that are actually good. Teams is a good dumping group of documents but finding anything is nearly impossible unless you already know where it is. The integration of other MS tools (planner, onenote, etc) is very weak.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

We actually also adopted Box and Slack as there are too many employees (outside of IT) who struggle with Teams.

March 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Microsoft Teams Review

As a project manager I have helped my team run projects, create presentation and run meetings while using teams. It is a great tool to collaborate and hold meetings.

Pros

This is a great tool to use when working with larger scale company or a small company. It is versatile and well functioning. It is an all in one tool for your teams to work together and collaborate no matter where they are located. I like that you have the capability to hold a meeting and have the camera on or off-it is great when collaborating with team members who may not be in the office.

Cons

One thing that I dislike about this software (maybe I have not figured out if this is a capability) but if you have more than one email-for example as a consultant, you may have your firm email and the email from the company you are on project with-it is not easy to collaborate while using both emails. Having to switch back and forth from emails can be a annoying. Often, you want to collaborate with team members that may not be on the project and as a consultant you want to be able to save time and not switch back and forth.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Recommendations as well as the stats behind how useful different aspects of the tool have been.

March 2020

Eduardo from Tigo Honduras

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Microsoft Teams brings together the best tools for efficient collaboration. It is robust and stable

Microsoft Teams allows us to take full advantage of its features in terms of collaboration. We can schedule meetings, carry out group conversations or share files, and most importantly, it is a platform that we can access from different devices, even if we are in a remote location. On many occasions, we have made use of this software to carry out contingency meetings, training or planning activities.

Pros

I like Microsoft Teams for different reasons: - It allows me to create reminders in a calendar, to receive notifications of events or tasks that I have on the day. - I can create groups by departments, which is very beneficial since we can share files such as photos or videos. - It has a live subtitle tool, for video calls. - The audio and video quality is really good even on slow connections.

Cons

The user interface seems very outdated to me. I would like to have better customization options, to give you a more modern appearance.

April 2020

Adrian from Microfocus

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

A very enjoyable communications platform for teams

Great experience, they say looks a are not everything but Teams looks awesome and works as I would expect, no issues holding scrums on Teams and video conference being integrated makes this a very solid tool with many uses

Pros

Integration with one note prevents pasted text to be send as an image. It has a very Slack feeling but with better integration to Microsoft ecosystem. It has voice capabilities which is a must for great communication among team members There is a huge marketplace for apps within Teams

Cons

The full office solution including teams can be pricey. There was an issue with expired Microsoft keys which brought down teams for a morning once, so I am not sure if this could re occur on a near future

March 2020

Michelle from American Red Cross

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Relatively intuitive web conferencing software

In general, Microsoft Teams is a relatively easy-to-use platform that is similar to Skype for Business with a few extra features. The visual layout of Teams is more welcoming than Skype. It is also very easy to move from chat to video and back to chat without opening a new "session" of the conversation.

Pros

The basic feature of Microsoft Teams are fairly intuitive to use after just a few minutes of experimentation. This includes the Chat feature, the Meeting feature (which has both audio and video conferencing along with chat), and the calendar integration with Outlook.

Cons

While this software is functional for professional meetings, the fact that the screen cannot be extended to see more than four participants' video at a time is bothersome. Sometimes when the audio comes up, the video comes up appropriately, other times it lags, and you get stuck with the camera images of those who are not speaking at that time.

March 2020

Bill from Obera LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

First Month Using TEAMS for International Program Management

My total experience is limited to one month, but my working experience day to day has been very good - quick to adapt and learn essential features which are used every day.

Pros

We launched TEAMS about 1 month ago (when we replaced another system) and the integration into our workflow has been quick and easy. VOIP calls, video calls with screen sharing, and file exchange functionality all works with virtually no formal training.

Cons

While direct one-to-one chat sessions are very simple to use, setting up "Team" chats appear to be a little more complicated. It seems each individual user has to "turn on" notifications in order to receive alerts when a new team message is posted. This might be the result of minimal training on my part, but in general when a team (group chat) is established the system should default to provide pop-up notifications to all group members whenever a message is posted/received.

February 2020

Akshath from Vidita Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

The best communication tool

Pros

This tool is very useful for connecting with colleagues or clients remotely, which increases the productivity and travel expenses. The audio and video calling features are too good, this application also allows to share your screen with others and allows you schedule meeting with n number of users.

Cons

The quality of the audio or video call depends on the speed of your internet. If internet is not good then there will be lot of disturbance in call.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Skype requires to be manually setup in the server.

April 2020

Marco from Ompi North America - Stevanato Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Microsoft filled the gap on collaborative platforms

Finally a full integrated platform that works seamlessly with Office365 enterprise plan. Quality of video-audio-desktop sharing communication improved drammatically vs faulty Skype for Business experience and put Microsoft solution at the same level than other professional solutions. Definitively recommended.

Pros

Office365 full integration. Quality of video-audio-desktop sharing, good level of compression and controlled band-rate usage. Less consumption in terms of used hardware resources vs previous enterprise solution (Skype for Business). Very easy, clean and uncluttered user interface design.

Cons

Lack of possibility to clean chat/call history, settings still to be improved, very limited and shall be kept in one single place. Non intuitive and a little buggy notification settings.

May 2020

Imi from NDT

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2020

It Good but not great

Have been good, and will soon hope it get to be great. Because great is what we going for.

Pros

My organization ( if they are well trained) are always available for a call. Mobile or Desktop, Cloud or web. Not need to be bothered by the downloads and install, Teams allows for meeting to take place in any location, with Web, Mobile or Desktop. I love the fact you can transfer and I once used the CC -close caption - but seem to have been disabled. Teams allow you to share with external guest ( persons) for meeting, but it is not straight forwards as one expects

Cons

Great tool, good clarity but sharing a meeting with an external client, It is sometimes troubling and not clear as other platform. It is also a bit difficult for regular user to ensure that meeting are secured when the link is shared. Anyone with a link for a meeting seem to be able to join the meeting. The only barrier is a good host who sits and allows users to enter, as the notification will pop up. Most small meeting don't have dedicated host and small offices are left unaware of this leaving teams as an open meeting - for anyone who has the link. Wish they just had a simple interface for external meeting, I know about the live, but that is complicated for the regular user and causes frustration. Otherwise it is good tools for users

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

The offer is bundled in the Office365 package, you just got to make the most out of the tools that are already in your toolkit.

May 2020

Audrey from Uzinakod

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

The integration with the Office 365 suite is a great advantage

My team was using Microsoft Teams before we had to switch to remote work due to the current situation (we already had a flexible remote work policy so it was not uncommon for team members to attend meetings remotely). We are using it as an internal collaboration/communication tool to conduct meetings, share our screen and have informal conversations to ask a quick question or resolve an issue. We also use it as a communication tool with clients: we ask questions to stakeholders and share documents with our clients via Teams and our clients have adopted it seamlessly.

Pros

Document management: Teams leverages the features of SharePoint for document management and allows to modify Office documents in real-time with multiple collaborators. Easy definition of access rights to content/teams: Access rights can be defined at the team and at the channel level which allows to give access to Teams to clients while having separate areas within the team for internal conversation (which reduces the clutter for clients who would otherwise receive notifications for irrelevant conversations) Multiple forms of communication: Teams allows to communicate via direct chat with another team member, within a channel, create group conversations and via conference calls. Conference calls/webcast: High-quality webcast/videoconferencing with the ability to record a meeting and have this meeting saved to Microsoft Stream Outlook integration: Ability to schedule Teams meetings from Outlook and vice versa

Cons

Access to meeting notes: when meeting notes are created during a meeting, they are associated directly to the meeting instead of being associated to the team. Having the option to take notes from a meeting that are added to a notebook shared by the team would allow to easily refer to these notes after the meeting (instead of having to look for the meeting to access the notes). Notifications disabled by default: When part of multiple channels, it's easy to forget to enable notifications for each one. Conversations where the user or the entire channel is mentioned can go unnoticed. The functionality that allows to toggle between Microsoft Teams organizations when you are part of multiple often causes errors that require to restart Teams.

April 2020

Kacie from Arcadia

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2020

Still some kinks to work out when collaborating with others

It's great for scheduling video calls and for quick feedback or approvals when trying to cut down on inbox clutter. But your organization must create rules for which content belongs in Teams, and which on email... otherwise you'll find yourself having to search multiple sources for documented approval or that one PDF you need to forward along to another user.

Pros

Teams has a useful mobile feature that allows me to answer questions on the go. Individual chats as well as "teams channels" for multiple users are meant to streamline collaboration, including live document editing by multiple users. Similar to Zoom, the platform also allows for video calling that integrates with Outlook and integration with Sharepoint means that documents that are difficult to find in Teams are still backed up on the cloud.

Cons

Teams is a bit clunky. Editing documents within the platform is glitchy, especially when using a Mac - PowerPoint content looks as if it's bleeding off the page, and fonts are automatically substituted if one user hasn't installed the correct fonts, meaning that it's still often necessary to download PowerPoints and word docs for finalization. It's also easy to become overwhelmed. Users must receive extensive training - creating a chat for multiple people is one thing, while creating a Teams channel is entirely another (although their functions are on the surface level, the same). When a new teams channel is created, so is a new email address. My enterprise conducted months of training and many users, especially those who are less confident with tech, still expressed frustrations or made mistakes that necessitated IT involvement to fix. We've also experienced issues with video call feedback and dropoff.

April 2020

Mohammed from Almac Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Microsoft's fantastic solution for team collaboration

Microsoft Teams has been designed from the ground-up to help businesses get their employees to communicate with each other more efficiently and effectively. In my personal experience with Microsoft Teams, this has been one of the main reasons of the company purchasing this software and using it as a central pillar for the IT teams. The various parts of IT (software team, infrastructure team, business analysts team) have been able to set up their own channels in which they can communicate with each other and send information relevant only to that team. In addition, other channels have been set up in which the entire IT department can share content with each other. In this way, the efficiency of communication has been solved with this one piece of software from Microsoft. The benefits have been realized as teams are now able to spend more time working on relevant things instead of going through content which may be irrelevant for them. The Microsoft Teams 'channels' feature has been instrumental in allowing this to happen. In addition, Microsoft Teams has allowed for colleagues to communicate with each other from one place. This is because the software allows for chat/video/audio/content sharing facilities from within Microsoft Teams. what benefits realized?

Pros

There are many features to like about Microsoft Teams, which I personally have experienced: -The overall design of it is very minimalist, simple and clutter-free. This makes it very easy to use and work with on a daily basis -The 'channels' feature is a fantastic feature which is dedicated for conversations regarding specific topics (and for specific recipients) -Skype video and audio calls can be made directly from Microsoft Teams, thus saving valuable time -You can share messages, pictures, files, and links with anyone within a conversation -The 'slash command' feature is a fantastic shortcut tool to anything you want to get done -Microsoft Teams has a special email view in which you can see the main parts of an email without actually leaving the conversation/chat -Microsoft Teams is available on both Android and iOS so that you can collaborate from wherever you are -Microsoft Teams integrates perfectly with Microsoft cloud platforms such as OneDrive and SharePoint. For example, you can actually see and access files that are on the cloud directly through the Teams interface -Dark Mode looks great!

Cons

To be honest, Microsoft Teams contains virtually all the beneficial features that one could want from a collaboration tool. The interface is fairly simple to use as it has a minimalist design. However, there have been a number of bugs that Microsoft Teams has been affected with, however. Although subsequent Microsoft software updates have solved a lot of these issues, it can get quite frustrating for system administrators at times. A reason why a company may not want to use Microsoft Teams is that there are other solutions such as Discord and Slack which have been popular for quite some time and do offer some good features for free. With Microsoft Teams for example, it is only free if there are less than 300 users and also there is a fee involved if a company then purchases the enterprise licence.

April 2020

Kim from Microbial Discovery Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

So far so good!

So far so good - still too new to understand full capacity of the benefits. I wish there was a video tutorial to go through the different features instead of just reading about them. I really enjoy being able to create a calendar event right from the site and have it connect to the Office emails.

Pros

I am still within my first week of learning about this, as it will be replacing Skype for Business and just came out to our company, but there are a lot of neat features! It took me a bit to figure out how to connect to an "external" contact, but now that it's figured out, it is a very easy way to communicate with anybody. I also love that if a contact does not have the app, they do not have to download anything! They can just connect via the web and it's as easy as clicking "connect via web." You can then video chat, share presentations, type, etc. I know there are many other features too, including recording presentations, saving notes, changing backgrounds, sharing screen control, etc. You can also save and create groups for easily scheduling calendar invites for a whole group without knowing all the individual names. It connects right to Office so no extra emails needed. I'm sure there is much more, but many pros to start with!

Cons

There is almost too much to look at to find what you're looking for. For example, I had to change a setting, but could not find my settings. Even within "help" there were so many different icons it was difficult to find. It also took a bit to make my first video chat with a group, as there were so many icons available to select from. The cons so far are just coming with learning a new program and software.

March 2020

Kate from SurveyHealthcareGlobus

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Market Research

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Effective for Daily Communication - Not Effective for File Management / Wikis

We communicate frequently across Teams, and it allows us to connect with remote members quickly and simply including audio, video and screen sharing. It is a robust supplement to email, with only minor inconveniences largely related to the Wikis and the tabs within individual Teams when we try to use them for information/FAQ etc.

Pros

Used primarily as a communication platform, of course the IM works, it integrates into Outlook to pull in your status and your profile picture which is helpful, you can make audio calls and use screensharing within it, so it is a functional and robust communication platform to supplement email. There are organizational aspects to it such as the teams that can be set up with channels within them which are helpful to allow specific teams to interact in a public way compartmentalized from the other departments.

Cons

You cannot search within Wikis to find information easily. There are limited formatting options (such as font color, highlighting color, font, etc), and tables cannot be pasted in to tabs and Wikis as they will not hold their formatting even when being copied out of other Microsoft applications like Word and Excel.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

I was not a part of the evaluation process, only the implementation process, but I heard that a lack of choice given Teams replacing Skype, integration with existing Microsoft apps, security given that we have licenses for Office 365, and price were motivating factors.

February 2020

Sean from Armanino LLP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Best Collaboration Tool for Your Team

Overall, I think this far surpasses Microsoft's previous tool, Skype for Business, and has brought a new level of collaboration to Microsoft. I appreciate the attention to detail that Microsoft has put into this product and feel it would be a wonderful product for teams of all sizes.

Pros

As a tax manager in public accounting, my team is virtual, mobile and ever changing. With MS Teams I am able to create virtual team channel where we can collaborate, keep files and track assignments. My very favorite feature of this software is the ability to put documents into my team channel and then work on them at the same time as my team members. For example, I can upload an excel workbook with a clients tax return workpapers and then each person on my team can be in the file working on this at the same time. This is a HUGE game changer.

Cons

All things considered, I don't have a lot of criticism about this software except for one feature. In teams, the notification options are a bit limited. For example, when I receive a message from a coworker I have two options: 1) I can get a banner notification in the bottom right of my screen that will show the name of the sender and a few lines of the message or 2) no notification at all. What I think is missing here is the ability to have a banner pop up in the bottom corner that just shows that you have a new message. My reason for this is because I am often sharing my screen or have people who can see my screen - I want to be sure that confidential information is not displayed or that a more private message is not sitting in the corner of my screen for anyone to see.

February 2020

Neon from Haskell & White, LLP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

A Great Communication & Collaboration Tool

My firm had recently switched over to Microsoft Teams after utilizing our own internal system and experimenting with Slack. The reception has been overwhelmingly positive, and most of us now use it daily; even more than Outlook. There are many creative ways to use and integrate Teams into your work day, both for productivity and pleasure. If your Company is looking for an all-in one collaboration and communication system, look no further.

Pros

My teams and my firm as a whole LOVE the collaborative features of Microsoft teams. Microsoft teams was quickly adopted and fully integrated into our firm infrastructure. The tools at your disposal including making self contained teams, firm-wide chat system, and the seemingly endless supply of applications that are integrated right into the system have been astounding. It's a daily tool for all of us, and across the board, we always seem to find new and collaborative uses for it. We have even managed to integrate our outside clients into various team groups in order to more easily communicate and share files for our audits. Integrating Onenote, having wikis, being able to link in web-apps, and our outlook calendears have been a game changer, and everyone has found their productivity has increased significantly. Teams also has some fun features that everyone can use to throw in some enjoyment in with their business. Things like animated GIFs, awards, emojis and more ensure that everyone can utilize the software for both work and pleasure, and many of us have established our own "casual" teams in order to have some fun talking with coworkers in our downtime.

Cons

While the software is extremely customization, there are some weird quirks here and there. For one, some of our teams have integrated the software with our communications with outside clients. However, there is no way that we've been able to find to restrict clients from entering the "general" chat. The solution is to create two separate teams, one for use with clients, and one for strictly internal use only, however, that tends to become cumbersome. Permissions in general are quite limited at times it seems. Sometimes we would like only certain individuals to be able to access tabs or files, but as of the time of this review, this doesn't seem to be possible. Also, the integration with Microsoft Outlook is apparently difficult, and according to our IT department, it was quite costly. While we did manage to get it done for the most part, it seemed like it would have been much easier to keep outlook calendars and teams 100% separate, but that ruins the point of an all in one infrastructure.

January 2020

Brittany from SAOS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Microsoft Teams - great replacement for Skype

Chat is much better than others we have used, TEAMS aspect is very neat but needs to be a bit easier to know you need to reply. Sometimes the team doesn't know they are being written to. The calendar and meetings is seamless and smooth.

Pros

The funtionality is easy and easy for outsiders who aren't used to it to join meetings. I like the concept of the TEAMS approach where you can function all within the software and have files to collaborate and all.

Cons

It is a bit complicated to add the features via microsoft that you want to add like calling plan, audio conferencing...very confusing to add those features to the full program and suite of products your company rolls out. I could see how many people mess it up.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Staying within one suite we already had o365

January 2020

Victoria from Tallan

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

We love Teams!

Overall experience has been very positive. We were able to shut down an internal policy management system that was costing us to keep up (with constant bugs) and migrate policy management to Teams (using the access restricting ability I mentioned above). You can create Teams for ANYTHING. I am part of several, all with a separate functions. Chat function makes it easy to connect with someone for a quick question or task, rather than creating unnecessary email chain. I also manage all my meetings and phone calls through Teams. Using any Bluetooth headphones with speaker/microphone capability, I can even take my calls on the go with the app on my phone. Teams even houses my voicemails. Meetings and remote on-boarding are a breeze with the screen-share capability. Sending screenshots with TMI instructions via email gets confusing fast - get on a Teams call, share your screen, and everyone is on the same page. Very user friendly and easily implemented at our business, I am happy every day to use Teams. I highly recommend.

Pros

The features. I know this is all-encompassing and more than one thing I like most, but you can do so many things it's hard to pick just one. Having to pick, I would say the ability to quite literally create Teams with the purpose of restricting access, limiting the member count, all with the purpose of sharing files and sites that can be equally accessible and editable. Documents updated are saved in real-time so another Team member can go in and see that you're either working on something or had just edited it. We have Teams with the entire company on it - the purpose being a hub for policies and procedures, internal software guides, career development, and so on. We have Teams with restricted access to just Career Manager focusing on specific employee and career development, senior management, C-level team access, and so on. It's a great hub for documentation storage with access control.

Cons

I do like the chat feature the least. It works for chatting and catching someone quickly - rather than email - however, if you're in the middle of editing a document IN teams, it can be a pain to redirect to the chat and away from that document screen. While there is a workaround for this (installing other features, pop out windows, etc.) it's Teams-specific and that's my gripe. You do have the opportunity to respond quick if you have the chat window peep turned on (alerts in the bottom right hand on the screen) but if you don't reply quick enough from that pop-up then it goes away and you need to go the chat.

January 2020

Graham from Positive

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

A leap forward from Skype for Business

The bestplatform for enterprises or for those organizations who need to be able to securely control access to communications.

Pros

A single application for all business communication needs. Wraps up all the previous functionality within Skype for Business into a modern app which adds conference calls and full integration into Active Directory. Licensing is wrapped up into Office365, so for most organizations this product is effectively free. Our team loves using the service and we have found that our clients are also using Teams, so staff members can use a single app for all channels. As Teams is integrated into Active Directory, access can be controlled by administrators unlike tools such as Skype and Slack.

Cons

Can be complex to setup external teams with clients. Large app which is slow to load on some laptops. Some functionality such as Calendar is duplicated in Outlook, giving the appearance of a feature-bloat.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Integrated into Microsoft stack, cost wrapped up into Office365 subscription.

December 2019

Mark from Ryken Consulting, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Teams simplifies communication

We have been very happy with Teams and I recommend it to everyone I work with.

Pros

Teams centralize most of the internal communications of my clients. I use it to interact with them and they use it to communicate clearly with each other. By that I mean we have set up channels for all of their different tasks and they can easily post questions or information pertinent to that channel easily and keeping the information organized. We also use it to conference with customers and it allows us to share our screens so that we can all see the information at the same time. It is very easy to schedule these conferences or to create one ad hoc.

Cons

It has been confusing knowing what needed to be configured to allow customers to dial into a phone number for conference calls. I upgraded users that needed this functionality and added minutes to their accounts so that customers could call in, but the minutes were never used even though they used this feature. I wouldn't have spent the money on it if it was clear that it was unnecessary.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

An excellent tool to handle equipment of all sizes.

The experience in general has been very good, it solves quite well the general problems that a team can present in its day to day, bugs are not recurring and it is above all an application that can be trusted, it only takes a place where add the credentials that the team uses constantly, to my mind.

Pros

I really like how without the need to get out of the same tool we can do so many things, it is an excellent place to coordinate everything from daily meetings with the team such as taking forums, doubt sections, documentation control and much more. Personally, the daily use and communication method is very good, the chat is quite comfortable to use, the calls are usually of very good quality and you can have together with many people at the same time, it does not require many resources in your machine and the truth is that almost never fails, it is very rare to report bugs in this application.

Cons

The main problem with this application in general is that you need to have a good internet to be able to use it correctly and fluently, if it is not your case you will notice constant lost calls and constant signs that it can present failures due to the internet. Another thing is that you may get lost sometimes in your beginnings with this application because of how extensive it is, however it is a very simple application, it is necessary to configure it correctly to get it as useful as possible, I invite you to explore it completely.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

We chose this tool simply because it is the best in the market today, we are a company that handles 90% of things remotely and we needed a tool that adequately responds to our daily needs.

December 2019

Shankar from Krinati Solutions Private Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Microsoft Teams - right up there with the best

I see Microsoft Teams right up there with the best - either as a screen sharing and audio/video conferencing tool or as a team collaboration tool. Its awesome.

Pros

The ease of use for a participant to log in. The choice of web or app is great since there is no need to download the app. Most functionalities are supported on the web app. The sound clarity is awesome, one can feel it once having used other conferencing software. The feature allowing a participant to access the presenter's screen (needs to be used cautiously) is excellent for us while conducing training sessions of our solution. As a team, we use MS Teams for collaborating on multiple projects.

Cons

Teams desperately needs to give hosts a public url, which is a much faster way to share and jump onto a call. The url right now is a lengthy string, almost hilariously long. If there was one thing that competitors like join.me or zoom have over Teams, it is this!

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Teams made more sense for us, since it came bundled with the MS Office 365 suite. That said, we would never compromise on quality and on this aspect, Teams just did not disappoint. The Live Events feature (an dd-on upgrade to Teams) is also very relevant when comparing to other existing solutions.

December 2019

KREASAN from Joodle Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

There is no "I" in Team - Teamwork the MS way

In the past, having multiple applications on various platforms to communicate effectively to my teams became a tedious challenge due to many variables. With Microsoft Teams, we have realized the benefits of a converged communications platform as we see our client service levels on an all-time high as well as our bottom line showing positive growth due to enhanced productivity and efficiency from our teams. This product is definitely away into the future for converged communications and shared cloud workspace solutions.

Pros

The best feature of Microsoft Teams is the seamless integration of voice, data, and important business material that one is able to share across an organization. In the past various other tools bearing minimal resource/tool options were used, thus making it time-consuming and sometimes frustrating to follow processes. The greatness of the interactive relationships within the Microsoft Office 365 ecosystem really takes this product and sets it aside from the rest. There are many eco-system applications, tools, and resources available, however, nothing quite compares to having this in a Windows environment with multiple Microsoft applications and software being used. The intergration of the Outlook Calendar makes looking at endless emails in a day, a somewhat thing of the past. I also love the specialized chat features as opposed to Skype. Communicating with my immediate, extended and national teams have become such a breeze. Sharing content within these same utilties is an absolute winner for me.

Cons

At this point, I cannot think of any feature that has hindered me or affected me negatively. I use the software on a daily basis and across different devices. I have not had any issues or challenges.

November 2019

Joel from Gray Box Solutions, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

True Seamlesss Multi-Platform Collaboration

We are a group of a dozen people across North America and expecting to grow to multiple countries in the next year. We use the group chat and video chats as a way to "walk to someone's desk" or "peek over the cubicle wall".

Pros

Proper and correct syncing between multiple platforms is by far the best feature. It looks, works, and keeps track of current conversations regardless of the platform. Ability to take notes and/or schedule notes within a meeting or group chat is very valuable. All of these files are kept in sync regardless of the platform, and this syncing is seamless. The fact that all of this is integrated fully into the rest of our Office365 package means we don't have to have multiple apps or worry that a plugin won't be supported.

Cons

What we have like least is currently in development by Microsoft. At the moment, we cannot undock a video chat window from the regular chats. We also cannot have multiple chat windows going. It would be great to be able to continue a live video conference and have a chat window on another part of the screen or use the whiteboard or note taking features all at the same time.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Previously my team had experience with several "competing" software products. When one of us goes on a walk, answers some messages, and then transfers back to their desk, the Skype for Business desktop app was missing parts or all of the conversation. Switching between phone, tablet, and desktop was problematic. Spark Server with Ignite and other XMPP clients required significant custom plugins and custom development that we would have had to maintain. Other solutions like Slack of Google Hangouts had a higher price point and offered less than what we needed, as well as less professional appearing.

November 2019

Matthew from EDGE Clothing Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Upgrade from Skype (and Outlook)

I love the fact that this is a very easy to use application, to chat with another team member, you just type their name in the search field. It also allows chats with each of the people who’ve accepted (and, unfortunately, those who haven’t replied or declined) appointments in Microsoft Outlook. I’ve not figured out how to disable the ability to invite me to chats about appointments I’ve declined (as I’m currently on some listserv that invites me to the wrong meetings — but this is an IT issue, not a Microsoft Teams issue, to be clear), but this is nothing major. Our organization used to use Skype, which was Microsoft’s only chat system previously, but Microsoft Teams has proven itself much more useful. I can chat with (ahem) teams of people or privately with one person. I’m shown the user’s availability status with an icon next to their profile photo, which is imported from their Microsoft account. These are two great features because, while they are not new or particularly innovative, it is familiar and therefore easy to understand. The paradox in software design is to make something brilliant and breakthrough while keeping it familiar enough that users don’t need a training class or instruction manual. The paradox with Microsoft Teams is that it might make more sense if it didn’t exist at all — meaning, all of these features could be enhancements to Microsoft Outlook. But that same argument could be made for all Microsoft Office products. Overall 4/5

Pros

It’s seamless integration with other Microsoft Office products so that no new knowledge is needed to use and all of the features of other products are repurposed in this one.

Cons

Ironically, this application might be better suited if it were merely an enhancement of features in Microsoft Outlook.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Collaborative development - Microsoft teams to the rescue

It is a great software for communication. Saving a lot of effort and time. Building applications collaboratively.

Pros

It is very easy to use, convenient and user friendly. It is a very light weighted software and does not take much of your space. It is great for internal communication in a company. It supports features like polling which is very useful. It has various apps and connectors to integrate with other software. It supports sharing of all types of files. It is great for scheduling and holding meetings. It supports the functionality where different channels could be created for different departments and teams under a company and promote collaborative development. Also supports excel and other ms documents.

Cons

Sometimes while sharing files, the software freezes and have to try sharing the file multiple times. It saves the files by default to a teams folder in the system and does not ask for a path to store the file. The UI when attending demo calls should also be enhanced, it just shows the number of people in the call.

October 2019

Dominika from SAP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

How our team uses Microsoft Teams

Microsoft Teams serves our team well. It has all the functionalities and integrations that we may possibly need and we don't have to pay extra for it as it is part of the Office Suite. With Teams, we can do and share everything without having to go to a different tool, like Skype, Mural, Lucid Chart, SharePoint etc.

Pros

There are a few features that I personally love about teams: 1. Ability to add additional applications. In teams, you can link other apps to your team page and this way it makes Teams a one stop place for us. Not only I am able to link different kinds of Microsoft tools Powerpoint and Word, but also third party tools like Lucid Chart and Mural that we use for diagrams, Ruum for project management, Trello etc. 2. Planner tool. Planner is my favorite feature to use in Teams. It is similar to Trello and Asana, but in my opinion much better and more clear. It is easy for me to organize tasks by different criteria, have different column views, label things and color code them and link other assets in Teams to these tasks. This makes my project management part of the job really easy and quick. 3. Ability to have multiple tabs in team pages. This makes it easy to make these team pages very organized and look put together. My team has different PDFs linked as one of the team pages tabs, we use a Wiki, excel and many more.

Cons

There are a few little things, like not being able to have multiple team pages or folders open at once, for example. It also is a little buggy from time to time, for example, it wouldn't let me rename folders under certain circumstances, but would work an hour later.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Microsoft Teams came as part of the Office Suite so it was easy to get and we didn't have to pay any extra money for it. It has all tools that we need.

October 2019

sampath from Brandix

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Textiles

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Microsoft Teams is not only for conferencing its bunch of application

Teams is good product for business work. This is coming with Office 365 as bulk product. Most of the time our internal roaming meeting are handle by MS Teams. Voice and Video quality is good, Screen sharing is working with low bandwidth conditions. Social Chanel activities like Facebook & Twitter are integrated with same application this is good feature for cooperate communication teams.

Pros

Microsoft Teams is not only conferencing app its integration bunch of application. With single application we are able to access most of the Microsoft service one-drive Calendar, One note, planner etc. Believe this is grate alternative for MS lync, SFB. Spaciously channel creation is very help full to discuss internal issues and and share our ideas. Team meeting work as slimier to Skype for business. video and voice quality is very clear and seems this is working with using less bandwidth. Product is getting attractive among the users and admins. it’s using AD credential for sign in.

Cons

Software startup time is slow have to wait little time to complete work. some time application environment complex for basic users that time we have to help them to find out application features. As a user and admin Cons are very less with the product.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

This is coming as package with Office 365. In one location we can access all the relevant applications with our day today activities. AD integration for user authentication. This is most leading product in the market and existing confidence on Microsoft products.

October 2019

Ishanka from Global Systems Solutions International

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Better communication platform for a company which use Office 365

In my opinion, I much prefer Skype to Microsoft Teams because of the ease of chatting and the use of uploading and viewing files is so much easier. OneDrive can be used instead to upload files and it can then be shared and that is much easier for me. Microsoft Teams is new, and for now, it seems complicated to me because of the structure of the chat and file structure. When the OneDrive synchronizing stoped on my MacBook, I had a very bad time with it.

Pros

Microsoft Teams is a very good easy to use a duplicate and changed version of Skype. Microsoft Teams can be used to do a number of different things that Skype cannot do. Microsoft Teams on the good side can do a number of different things from starting a conversation to set reminders for groups or teams. Microsoft Teams can share files with anyone in your team with ease, and it does get deeper than that. Teams also do more than the usual chat software, like personalizing the software so it can fit your experience. If you have a full Office 365 package you will experience full Office 365 including tools such as Planner, Word, Powerpoint, Excel, Power BI. Teams has both Android and iOS apps that you can use to communicate with your colleagues with your smartphone.

Cons

But then again, Teams can get confusing. Uploading a file can be easy, but then again file structure can be complicated and can frustrate users (it frustrated me). Microsoft tries and makes it easy to use by separating the main features into categories like Chat, Teams, and Files to separate apps on the sidebar. This again over-confuses users (like it did to me) as everyone prefers it to be in one app like it was on Skype. It has compatibility issues, I have installed and used Teams in my MacBook but OneDrive synchronizing has stoped I have no idea on this issue.

October 2019

Arturo from Indra

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Good software for team communication

overall it is a good software, capable for quick and easy meetings and lots of integration with Microsoft products. Maybe it lacks some fancy features like the ones you can find in GoToMeeting, but Teams is already included in some Microsoft business packages, so no separated config needed.

Pros

Teams aims to be a full communication software for developements teams. With this in mind, it includes both written and audio/video chat. Something nice about Teams it is that the written chat is not a secondary feature behind the audio/video meetings, but it is part of the main feature. It allows to create one-to-one chats, like a direct messaging software, but also allows to create team chats, group chats and so on. Is good to indicate that the teams can be defined as a different entity from the gropus and you can invite people from different teams to a same group, or maybe ivite a whole team to chat with some other people... it is very flexible regarding this. Another interesting feature is the posibility to share files within a chat, and that the files are stored to be downloaded at any time while the chat is not deleted. And you can check the files shared on a group by just clicking on a button. The same thing happens with the audio/video meetings. You can call a single person or several at a time. You can share screen to present something, request control of the presenter screen and also if using a Wacom tabled or a Microsoft Surface, you can share a whiteboard where every participant can draw. Beside this, the quality of the audio/video calls is just perfect when you've a good internet connection.

Cons

It requires a very stable internet connection. Athough this is something common in video-conference software, with Teams is a bit extra problem since a network with ver little unstability causes the audio/video quality to drop too mucha and even kick you out of the meeting, after what you need to join again. The inexistance of a native Linux client is also a really big downside for me.

September 2019

john from CompKickers

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

MS Teams, Microsoft's new collaboration app that you will wonder how you did without it!!

Once you get used to its quirks and also get your head around how Teams and Channels work it becomes an invaluable addition to the Microsoft Office 365 Eco System. I now use it daily to plan and out and collaborate on my clients Channels / Teams with the added functionality from Apps, Connectors and Bots ive now been able to feed in many of the Cloud Apps and Services that i use for my business so that i have all the data i need in MS Teams. Also now Teams has the IM and VOIP functions all working ready to take over from Skype for Business when it retires fairly soon i also use Teams as my communication app on top of everything else which gives you some sort of idea how much it can actually do now.

Pros

What i like most about Microsoft Teams is its versatility, its uses seem to be endless. It took me a while to get used to using it as its grown as ive learnt to use it. Microsoft and 3rd Parties are still adding new functionality to Teams via apps, connectors and bots and it seems to be gaining pace as developers see that its adoption is taking off which for end users is great news as more than likely you will be able to find one of these apps, connectors and bots that will connect Teams to another Cloud App or Service that you use already making Teams even more productive to use.

Cons

Its Tennant switching function, Guest and External users still baffle me sometimes as its not straight forward to use. If your Azure AD user has been invited into a team that belongs to another Office 365 Tennant account you have to manually switch Teams to that Tennant account via a drop down which then switches over to that Office 365 Tennants Teams channels so that you can access the channel / team you have been invited into. Its as confusing as it sounds, I still dont think this is the answer to the multi tenant problem. Although to be fair its now a lot better than it was a year ago or earlier. Then to add to that confusion you then have the Guest and External user types, both types can be invited into your Office 365's tenants channel / team but the Guest user actually will add the invited user into your Azure AD as a guest user so that user has more rights to a channel / team than an External user. External users can be invited into a channel / team but there rights are very low but the External user type is mainly for the IM / VOIP / Meeting functionality in MS Teams.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

I didn't plan to even buy Microsoft teams, it fell into my lap with my Microsoft 365 subscription

September 2019

Karrah from Placement Management Center

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Skype is No Longer our Hype

The major business component my team and I are solving while using Microsoft Teams is communication. Communication will always be the most important key in all areas of customer service. Microsoft Teams has proved to be loyal, reliable and a great source of evidence. As the Front Desk Agent, it is my duty to take in all incoming calls and direct them as seen fit. At times my directors, payroll admins and recruiters are unavailable to take a call due to being on another call or away from their desk at the time. My first and foremost response to these moments of unavailability is to collect the needed information from the caller and direct all of the information to my coworkers via Microsoft Teams. No one can say they did not receive the message because the evidence of the written word is there for them to find. Microsoft Teams has made the predicaments of then, the resolved of today with the information easy to see and find within Microsoft Teams. No more incorrect or forgotten information needs to be passed along. The biggest benefit of Microsoft Teams within our company has been realized. Integration is a positive thing as long as you know how and what you are doing. Microsoft Outlook and Microsoft Teams make a great pair you could say. With this benefit, our staff is able to use Outlook or Teams to add and see appointments daily. It's great to see everything on the same page. It's good to know that if needed be, we could use Microsoft Teams without Microsoft Office.

Pros

My company began using Microsoft Teams in April of 2019. Using a new product can be tricky and make you unsure if you'll like it. I don't like Microsoft Teams, I LOVE it! The software offers more features, options and accessibilities for its users. My team and I mainly use the platform to communicate with one another versus picking up the phone and calling because it is faster and more convenient. The layout is perfect, easy to read and I like that I am able to change the background to high contrast - stands out like a sore thumb in a good way! A great example where Microsoft Teams has helped me achieve my goal was when my director had previously put her phone on silent and forgot to take it off. A phone call from a client had come in and instead of raising my voice or getting up and running to my director's office, I got on Microsoft Teams and sent her a message to let her know I could not direct the client to her phone. The concern was solved in the nick of time and neither party had to wait longer than they should have. Microsoft Teams is a great teammate to have!

Cons

My coworkers and I simply use Microsoft Teams to communicate information with one another and based on the software alone, have not had a single predicament. There is nothing that I least like about using this product personally. Though I do go on to question why this application has so many apps for integration and the purpose to integrate the many apps in association. A first time buyer may think to themselves, "Wow! That's a lot of apps, I don't think myself or my company will be needing all of this." The multiple apps may come off like a strong perfume - there's a lot going on and no one explaining the beautiful chaos of the apps provided. I am sure if my coworkers and I took the time to go through the apps, we would find something of use for our team. I just wish Microsoft Teams had a better way of presenting the applications included.

July 2019

Michael from Coastal Cardiology, A Medical Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

MSTeams is a top notch communication app

Nothing but positive experiences so far and it was a welcome addition once I mentioned it was included with our sub.

Pros

- The ability to control the channels and groups - Being able to easily get missed notifications via email - Mobile app that is just as great as the desktop app - Web app makes it easier for everyone to use teams with no installation - add-ons for wiki's scheduling - HIPAA compliant - Able to share your screen with co-workers on the fly

Cons

- Lacks the ability to create a command like slack where you can have a bot produce a wifi code or other common knowledge that is needed from time to time

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

It just fit our requirements - cost - ease of use because everyone already had a license and it just required a software download - compliant with HIPAA - Mobile app - easy to learn for everyone

July 2019

Gina from Michigan State University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Great concept, needs some work

We are much more able to organize our team documents, have chat messages (with history) that we can use to communicate more effectively (instead of searching through email inboxes/folders). If they could make it so that we can have more than one tool, document, chat, etc open at a time - it would be much more useful and functional for our needs.

Pros

What I like most about this software is the ability to have a team site where you can communicate with members of the team and store/share documentation. I like that we can create a "meeting" with notes/tasks, etc within it. I work on many different projects and we are using the "Teams" sites as a way to organize our documentation for each project - have meetings that contain our notes- have team chats and even a "board" for posting items on that the whole team can view and comment on. The biggest advantage comes with the fact that we have many people working remotely and this way everything can continue as if everyone is on site.

Cons

The most frustrating part of this software is the fact that it is a single window only- you cannot open more than one item at a time. So, if I am in the middle of editing a document and someone sends me a chat message- I have to exit the document to look at the chat message (and respond) then go back into the Teams file folders and traverse back to the specific document location (because it reverts back to the main page) and once I find the correct document again- I have to re-open it to continue (unless I am editing it outside of the Teams app - which I do sometimes for this very reason). This makes it very confusing to keep track of what I was doing - I end up waiting to check a chat message until I am able to reach some point in my editing that is a logical place to save and stop. Which then kind of negates the whole timeliness advantage of using a chat over email.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Back and Forth Conversation Emails Are a Thing of The Past!

Teams has signalled a shift in the way those in our business communicate with one another. It has meant that instead of emailing back and forth, users now use Teams to IM one another. No longer do users attach files to emails and send them to one another; now they simply share files quickly and easily through Teams. This increased communication between colleagues and departments along with increased sharing of resources and collaboration on work projects has improved productivity significantly.

Pros

Teams is a very user-friendly application that facilitates communication between individual users and whole departments. IM capabilities mean that users can message one another to collaborate on projects and share ideas. Files and documents can be shared with others, and Teams also has audio/calling conferencing capabilities (part of Microsoft's vision to deprecate Skype for Business in favour of Teams) meaning users can meet and share ideas even if they are at home or away from the office. The mobile app allows you to chat to colleagues when you aren't at your desk. If users are part of a departmental team, they can view these teams within the app; they can message other team members, share files, and use other Microsoft-specific apps such as Planner or SharePoint if they have been set up. Meeting scheduling is also available from within Teams, linking up with your Outlook calendar. For administrators, it is easy to deploy and maintain the Teams application using GPOs, and the application itself is self-updating on startup.

Cons

Teams currently installs to the user's 'AppData Roaming' folder, which means that it is installed separately for every user that logs into the computer. It is quite resource intensive to run the applications compared to other communications apps. However, both of these issues have been flagged for review on the Microsoft Teams suggestions and feedback website, suggesting they will be rectified in a future release.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Teams was chosen as our communications application over other products as it was bundled with Office 365, which we currently use within the organisation and have multiple active subscriptions for. As Teams is provided under the E1 licence (which all of our users receive), this made it the obvious choice to deploy as our communications app as we were already paying for it. The fact it was part of the Office 365 eco-system made it easier to deploy alongside other Microsoft apps that we currently use.

September 2018

Daniel from creaffective

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Pretty good software with some unfortunate weak spots

We use it as an all-around communication software, and overall it works quite well (despite the minor hiccups described above). Thanks to wikis and planners we can even include some other elements of our collaboration structure in Teams, enabling us to get by with only two software systems: Teams for communications and Scoro for task and project management as well as CRM and billing.

Pros

The basic functionality is quite good. It essentially does what it's supposed to do: It allows you to chat with team members. The direct chat option is pretty straightforward. The option of creating different teams (hence the name) to structure the group chats is quite conventient, because it adds another layer, making it three: Teams, channels, threads (within channels). Notifications are pretty reliable, mentions and activities in channels you follow are logged into an activity feed, which is quite useful. The part where Teams really shines though is the option to add other functions to a channel. The Wiki can be nice, although using it is sometimes a bit counter-intuitive. What's really helpful is the Planner, because it allows you to include kanban-like views of tasks (or other things). We actually use it less for tasks and more for ideas and backlogs of things for the entire team to review.

Cons

One thing that bugs me is an issue that also came up with Slack: You sometimes miss notifications because, when you open the app, you automatically jump into the last channel (or chat) you where when closing it. When you actually want to go to some other place, you might leave the channel, leaving all notifications marked as "read" - but you might not even have noticed there was something new in them! I don't know how to solve this, I only know that it can be a problem. The real downside of Teams is, for me at least, the very limited possibility of your notifications. You can essentially turn them on or off for mentions, channels you follow, and chats. There are some other options, but they are all of the "all-or-nothing" type. I either get notifications (and therefore push notifications on my smartphone) for all mentions, or for none of them. Here, Slack has a much better system. The other thing is the mobile app. On Android, it's just not as reliable as it could be. Activating the "don't disturb" status, for example, does nothing. If I want to turn of push notifications, I need to that completely and manually. Sometimes, uploads don't work. And when I'm on the road, messages might not get through - but instead of sending them once I have a connection, it sits there with warning sign, waiting for me to resend it... kind of an archaic way of dealing with this issue.

July 2018

Stever Jose from Algeiba S.A.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

organization and collaboration of work in a single tool

It is a software that is easy to handle and helps teamwork to flow faster and more efficiently.

Pros

the use of Microsoft Teams gave us the integration that we were lacking in order to integrate several solutions into one. the way of collaborative teamwork becomes a reality! In our company we have been using it for about 2 years and it has helped us to have a better control over the project's orientation. You can organize each area in a team Within each team you can have different channels each channel is autonomous and has its space for chat (which is very complete with text format options) each channel has an associated email address to receive mail and they are in the same panel as the chat. You have availability to be each channel a site in Sharepoint Online to be able to assemble the library of documents for the documentation of each project or teamwork and can be accessed from teams or via web. we can add wiki, onenote, etc. functionalities complmenetos add on how to add a shortcut tab to Power BI, SP, MS Office, Planner, Jira, Open Agora, Youtube, VSTeamservices etc. which allows us to access any of these tools and more from the same channel. It has a direct Chat integrated with Skype For Business and allows you to have 1 to 1 - 1 to n and make calls and conferences. when creating the team, it has an associated agenda and you can conduct meetings via Skype for business without needing to use the Skype Forbusinees application. adicioanla has notifications, file repository for each chat, I really recommend it as a functional tool for teamwork.

Cons

that the conversations when it happens a lot of time to have had them, the files and notes exchanged disappears from the panel, is one of the few things that would change him. the mobile client is a bit unstable, I imagine it's a problem of being so new.

July 2018

Rev. Jason from World Vision Canada

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Fantastic Software for Internal and External Collaboration

Pros

Seamless integration across O365, high quality voice and video chat, sitting on Sharepoint Online base, location for collaborating on online or onpremise Office documents, ongoing updates to user-interface and extras, some customization functionality, dedicated email address for each team channel, integration of non-office365 products, the addition of the "files" icon along the side to see recently used files, "mark unread" function for alerts and messages, tabs to either supported integrations or just a simple website, an ever-growing list of "connectors", app/bot/tab/connector/messaging/analytics/devloper/eduction/human resources/productivity/project management/sales ands upport/social fun, etc. integrations, automatic updates, a browser version at teams.microsoft.com, great integration with Microsoft Planner but confusing if you create a plan in tasks.microsoft.com but then can't see it in Teams, the Microsoft Store is provided more and more useful apps (as many weren't that way over the last 12 months), guest access is fantastic because now external partners that don't have office 365 accounts have limited access to collaboration but I'd like to see it opened up more so that they have membership level permissions, online files are great and it would be fantastic to add version permission as well.

Cons

One can only see 7 days in advance within the calendar, some "meet in teams" calendar aspects clear out randomly, uploaded icons for teams regularly go blank, the website tab is picky sometimes and will disallow long urls forcing to use url shortening services, confusing difference between owner and member (the difference should be noted right within teams so that one doesn't have to find it in a horrible support.microsoft.com website, when a team is created and the name is changed there is no way to rename the corresponding office 365 group and sharepoint online site url, chats that happen in a video call between you and a person don't automatically replicate within the regular private chat feature, tabs need more options and integrations - especially with the rest of the microsoft product lines ... at least give us teams integration to all microsoft products, no calendar (meetings) search function (which is also missing from the iOS version of Outlook, do not disturb automatically shows up even if you're not actually in a video/audio chat - just because it shows up in the calendar because it wasn't cancelled, auto boot when you log out or quit the software (I just want it to automatically boot up on computer bootup not every time I logout or quit the program, "saved" aspects are now in the settings instead of in the purple ribbon along the right (PC), for some reason I seem to log in to office 365 for too many times during the day, current bots aren't very intuitive.

July 2018

P Christopher from Liberty University

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

A Simple-yet-Feature Rich Program That Ties All of Microsoft Office into 1 Cohesive Whole

Microsoft Teams provides a way by which any company can more easily create a system to increase collaboration and real time updates. It has destroyed the middle man called email and increased productivity 100 fold.

Pros

Microsoft Teams has been extremely fundamental in bringing our company together and breaking down silos between different departments. Microsoft Teams essentially allows you to organize and manage different projects while still keeping it collaborative and manageable by everyone involved. A team can be created and each person is given either 'Owner' capabilities or 'Member' capabilities depending on how much access they need. A team can then be broken down into channels which has been the backbone for our company. Each channel allows for simple file management, collaborative updates on any Microsoft Office product, easy chat and conversation, and tagging to assign different tasks to people. Where as previously, everything needed to be sent via email, Microsoft Teams allows everything to update dynamically, removing the middle man. This is the number 1 benefit to Microsoft Teams: the ability to collaborate in real time. While I could go on listing the many features included (phone, meetings, assignments, planner, and app integration being just a few), the power of Microsoft Teams comes into being able to tie everything together into 1 program.

Cons

While certainly useful, Microsoft Teams is relatively new. Sometimes, it will log you out accidentally, or a file cannot be edited even though everyone has closed out of it, or your access to files changes randomly and can only be fixed by restarting the program. As Microsoft continues debugging, this will hopefully improve, but there is still a ways to go. Furthermore, some features are certainly lacking. Comments cannot be edited. Team or channel templates do not exist yet. Skype for Business is not yet completely integrated. Little things that you would expect to be standard have not been created as it is still a relatively new program. While certainly useful, its usefulness will increase as more updates roll out.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

A Collaboration Tool for Everyone

Microsoft Teams is an excellent Collaboration tool which helps in building relationship within team and across teams, faster information travel, brings transparency and unlocks a new paradigm of communication via single interface. Creation of Groups and teams provide dedicated channels for conversations, meetings and documents sharing on topics specific to interest to that group.

Pros

1. Good Messenger functionality. Individual and Group communication improves information sharing more efficient. 2. Messages travel faster than emails. App on phone improves quick turnaround. 3. Call quality is very good. Call, document editing, scree sharing can go hand in hand. 4. Sharing of information (files, documents) increases transparency across group 5. Shared documents available for real time editing by all members of that group for quick turnaround as teams is a fully cloud based Solution. 6. Easy to learn for new members 7. Creation of Team takes collaboration at next level. Multiple forums can run at same time. Cloud based access adds another dimension. 8. 3rd Party Apps can be easily integrated into Teams.

Cons

1. Meeting and sharing functions can be further improved. 2. Communication under created Teams vs Chat need to be more user friendly.

December 2018

Brad from Computer Services, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2018

A Great, fun way to communicate with your team.

When I got assigned to a new team at my company, I found the Teams app was in full swing. Now, I've already spoken about its features, but I want to tell you a more personal story. From the time I first arrived, until about three years ago, my company used Skype for instant messaging. Not everyone used it, but my team did. And every Friday, I would send out a little animated emoji of a dancing monkey. I called him "Friday Funky Monkey." When my compnay did away with Skype, the new app didn't have a dancing monkey, so I couldn't send it out to my collegues. When we got Teams, however, I was able to get Friday Funky Monkey back, and so much more. I really think it helps team unity and cohesion to have a bit of humor in the communication, and this app really helps with it.

Pros

This communication app has a lot of fun, social features. You can communicate entirley in animated emojis, GIFs, and memes if you want. Also, sharing your screen, sending files, video conferencing, (disabling incoming video if you don't want to see the other person's face) are all very easy with this app. These are all standard features for company-wide IM apps. Where Teams shines is its aptly named Teams feature, where you can setup team-wide messages. Like if you belong to several small groups in your company, each one can have their own team that anyone on the team can then communicate with the rest of that team. Another neat, but underrated feature, that I haven't seen anywhere else is the "Organization" feature, which allows you to see who a contact's associates are, and also see their managers in a hiearchy.

Cons

It lacks some of the integration that I have seen in other company apps. It doesn't know when you are using a phone, so if you are using your desk phone, know one will know through teams. Also, if the person you want to contact is not using teams, then you cannot call them from directly inside the app.

May 2020

Nicholas from Michigan State University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Excellent Choice for Telecommuting

Overall, my experience has been really good. I would highly recommend the platform to any company that wants to implement a platform that allows for easy telecommuting and is integrated in with the Office 365 suite of products.

Pros

The software is extremely easy to use for all staff during the COVID-19 pandemic. Microsoft Teams has great video and audio quality for the video chats and is an excellent instant messaging platform. I especially like the fact that chats are automatically saved and can be searched using the search bar.

Cons

Setting up the software to communicate with people outside of your company can be cumbersome. We have not set up that functionality, so we can only message people within the company. Overall though, it is not that much of an inconvenience.

May 2020

Katie from Atlas Copco

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Communicating is a Dream with Microsoft Teams!

Absolutely incredible. Super intuitive, easy to use, extreme range of functionality. 10/10 would recommend.

Pros

I absolutely love working with Microsoft Teams. It combines the best of chat and video/audio calls, document repositories, and segmented ways of working into one platform. You can be on a virtual call while simultaneously chatting with various colleague - and working on in whichever Team site you'd like... all at the same time! It seamlessly integrates into Outlook as well. I love that in 2-3 clicks, I can create and send a Teams meeting invite. Document wise, creating files and folders is easy - and the fact that they're uploaded into the Office 365 Cloud where all team members have access to view and edit is amazing. No need for sending documents back and forth over email any longer. The new way of working has arrived!

Cons

I haven't ran into anything that I particularly dislike about Teams. Only thing that's annoyed me a bit is the when someone is calling you. I wish the notification popped up in the middle of the screen to alert you, rather than the bottom right - it's small and easy to miss. Also, while the "hang up/decline" button is red, the other two buttons are purple - so if you're glancing quickly at it, it's easy to miss the "Answer" button! Other issue is working with PPT Online. For whatever reason, if you've uploaded the ppt to Teams and then try to work on it online, it glitches out. Workaround is working on it by downloading it to the app.

February 2020

Sebastian from EnvokeIT AB

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Microsoft Teams ties togheter all your Office 365 tools and capabilities

With Microsoft Teams, I can spend more time doing active work and less time searching for information or keeping track of project updates. Within the Microsoft Teams app, I am getting updates regarding group chats between project members and always seeing the latest versions of all the documents I have access to.

Pros

The best thing about Microsoft Teams is how it is designed. Since it integrates with all your other Office 365 products, you only need one app (Microsoft Teams) to keep track of all your different projects and communication channels.

Cons

Microsoft Teams is getting better and better, but there are still some features missing when it comes to information protection and data-loss prevention. But since this is the product that Microsoft is throwing all its money at, those things will soon be solved. Keep track on the Microsoft 365 roadmap for all the upcoming features and updates.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

Microsoft Teams is part of Office 365, which is the SaaS productivity toolset that our company is using.

June 2019

Philip from Arizona State University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

An integrated collaboration tool

This is a very useful, feature rich product providing team chat, direct messaging, and visibility of colleagues' availability. We have been using it for some time now having switched from Slack. Even though our organization recently purchased Enterprise Slack we are sticking with MS Teams.

Pros

It is highly integrated with other Office 365 products, e.g. Outlook, One Drive, Planner, etc.

Cons

Some of the functionality is not presented front and center, so the learning curve takes a little longer than it should.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Teams

It has more features than Slack and can be a one-stop shop for chat, task management, video and audio conferencing. It may not be the best product for a specific function compared to some of the niche performers, but its heavy O365 integration outweighs any limitations.

March 2020

Lauren from SAP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

FINALLY - A COMPREHENSIVE video conferencing solution that doubles as internal company communication

Pros

Honestly, I LOVE Microsoft TEAMS and couldn't be more thrilled my company switched from webex to TEAMS. It is comprehensive, doubles as an internal company communication channel (eliminating the need to pay for an additional platform), I can share internal files/documents with specific groups of people/individuals, making it easy to access important documents in one place with an easy search tool. TEAMS has a web browser, so unlike webex, people do not have to download a plug in which takes 5-15 minutes for people which is frustrating. I've had people so frustrated by trying to log into webex that they told me they weren't interested in our technology since we couldn't even figure out conference calling - and then insert TEAMS and I haven't had that issue since. It's definitely the top of the line solution available for video conferencing and I am THRILLED my company has switched to TEAMS and made the investment in us to provide us with easier solutions to communicate with our prospects, customers and colleagues.

Cons

I don't have any cons that I can think of; I imagine it's more expensive than webex or zoom, but it should be because it's not an apples to apples solution. TEAMS is such a comprehensive platform allowing for internal file/document sharing (webex and zoom don't allow that), internal communication (webex and zoom only have the chat functionality within a conference call), easily access prior meetings. I can't think of any cons to TEAMS, and there's essentially no learning curve because it's so user friendly.

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

MS Teams makes you work as a TEAM

I use Teams manage my team of people's work everyday, from specifications writing to time sheets. Moreover, the chat/call functionality makes Teams become, the only software you need to control everything, including your calendar.

Pros

The possibility to share a file with the whole team whereby each member is able to update the file at the same time is for me the most used functionality among many others. No need to send files for update to the team and then merge all changes afterwards, with lots of errors creeping in. You gain a lot in productivity and can see the changes in almost real-time.

Cons

The software seems quite heavy for the processors. You need to have a good amount of memory on your machine to enable Teams to work fluidly with other applications open and running. The more memory you have, the better Teams will run. Else, you will need to close some apps the you are not using.

March 2020

John from Katerra

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Great Tool as a Part of Office 365

The benefits are that we have a good, strong tool for collaboration that came bundled in a package we would be buying anyway. We had to buy the Office 365 for the other tools we needed (Outlook, Word, Excel, etc.) so to have Teams a part of that bundle is great. As I said, it's not the best of class tool, but it woks fine for most applications without having to have a second, third-party subscription to another service.

Pros

Teams is a great tool as a part of the Office 365 subscription. You can easily set chat with teammates, make audio calls and do live, video conference calls with screen sharing. It's fairly intuitive and is robust considering you can get it as a part of the Office 365 subscription that your company would be buying anyway. Not having to buy a third-party tool is nice.

Cons

The connection can be dodgy at times. If everyone on a a live conference has great Internet connection, then it's a great experience. However, if even one person has a less-than-optimal connection, the experience degrades rapidly. While Teams is fairly easy to use, it's not the flashiest or easiest of the tools available for this purpose.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 2,206 reviews