User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.46

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4

  • icon"Very easy and user friendly and easy to communicate on individual and group basis as both facilities are available."
  • icon"The part that we like most is , ease of use and security it provides."
  • icon"Security, customer service, look and feel, everything here we needed (almost everything, see below)."
  • icon"Limited number of callers on encrypted video call."
  • icon"No new features or improvement of very poor ergonomy since apps exists. Very bad support of instable internet access both for messages and audio."
  • icon"Limited adoption outside of team constraints use with customers."

Browse all Wire Reviews

  • Have you used Wire and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 67 reviews

User Profile

Vo Phat

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2022

basic, lacking features, but solid and good at what it does

We needed something simple, with no fantasy features, with a high level of privacy. WIRE provides that.

Pros

The app is simple to use and also looks simple and therefore visually pleasant without unwanted buttons cluttering the interface... I like the fact that you can choose your messages to self-destroy, from off, 10 seconds to 4 weeks. WIRE uses strong end-to-end encryption and, not the least, is open-source, which in my opinion, makes it way more reliable than other proprietary apps. Unlike WHATSAPP, you are not bothered with having to sign in with your phone every time you want to use the desktop version of WIRE.

Cons

Even though the simplicity of WIRE is what makes it great, I wish there were a bit more features, especially integration features.

Reasons for switching to Wire

I did not trust the program much and the video quality was too unstable.

Justin

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

There is only one nation who backs their commitment to privacy with laws which apply to all.

Brilliant and easy to use.

Pros

I like that their encryption is not just SOTA, but that each and every message is it's own fortress with it's own unique key. I love that the infrastructure is located in Swiss territory with the only respectable commitment to it by law.

Cons

I absolutely have no qualms with WIRE, whatsoever.

Reasons for choosing Wire

The other products are compromised by state sanctioned eavesdropping.

Reasons for switching to Wire

App suspect... Infrastructure located in 13 eyes network, subject to warrantless and illegal surveillance by big brother.

Response from Wire Swiss

Hi Justin Stoicovy, Thanks for such positive feedback! We are very happy to hear that you, as a long time customer, are satisfied with our secure collaboration tool.

Replied June 2021

Dan

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Security and Investigations

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

April 2020

Wire dropped the ball.

It was pretty great for the first couple years. Despite the "you have to wait 15 minutes for messages to decrypt" slowness in the browser, and the occasional UI bug, the platform fundamentally did what the security community was looking for. Now, however, wire doesn't seem to care about the security community that helped it get popular. we feel like we've been abandoned by leadership. I personally invested years of my life in helping wire become the defacto secure comms program that I could count on for my friends, family and customers - and now i feel like i've made a terrible mistake, because just as its becoming critical to have secured communications, wire has kicked me to the curb, and with me, my entire community and all of my customers.

Pros

It actually does e2e, and its mostly useable on multiple platforms.

Cons

oh where to begin. I worked with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and a few other folks for the last four years to do things like "bring the mr. robot television show in as an avertising medium", reported easily dozens of bugs, lodged dozens of feature requests and onboarded easily a few hundred users. wire decided that it wouldn't accept support requests or feature requests from non-paying customers, so I attempted to create a paid account in order to contact support, and even after creating a paid account I was ignored by wire. something changed internally at the company and it wasn't for the better.

Reasons for choosing Wire

it was easier to onboard people to wire than to spideroaks tool

Reasons for switching to Wire

we needed e2e. real, actual, e2e.

Response from Wire Swiss

Hi Dan Tentler, Thanks for you feedback and sorry to hear about your issues! Wire is always very thankful for input and insights from our customers and we would be happy if you test it out again and share your feedback.

Replied April 2021

User Profile

Khothatso

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2022

A good and basic app for communication.

Pros

The app is very easy to use especially when using it to chat and its great that I can access it anytime both on my phone and laptop. It's great that it uses end-to-end encryption so I can commend them for taking the security of users seriously.

Cons

I feel like the software is very basic and it could improve by adding more features. i also had problems with syncing between devices which can take time.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

January 2020

Simple but lack features

Great value if you only want a secure chat software this is the most robust option. But look elsewhere if you need something that has a lot of 3rd party integration or bots to help with productivity.

Pros

As a chat app very simple to use and setup. UI is basically chat but nothing else. Self-destroy message makes sharing sensitive info easy. Secure voice calls and video calls quality are surprisingly high. Pricing is very competitive compare to other US rivals. Europe-based company.

Cons

Wire is basically just a chat software. Integrations with 3rd-party almost non-existent. Syncing between devices have issues sometimes that re-sync with new encryption key may be required. Syncing chat history takes longer time than usual.

Reasons for choosing Wire

The best European chat software comparable to other US rivals.

mohsen

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2020

online meeting

Pros

the part that we like most is , ease of use and security it provides.

Cons

we like to see to be able to have a online meeting with more than 4 people at the same time. ( like wbex team ( even 100 people ). this helps us to fully use it as our primary source rather than switching to other services when we have more than 4 people in the meeting. another issue is in the typing section, it doesn't have the option ( or allow ) for auto-correction ( spelling and grammar ) which can cause some problem ..

Reasons for choosing Wire

we use both at the moment because of the described ( in the above section ) issue.

Response from Wire Swiss

Hi Mohsen Amir Alipour, Thanks so much for your positive feedback! Since your review we worked hard now we offer conference calls up to 25 participants and this number will increase soon. You also have the option now to enable spell checking: https://support.wire.com/hc/en-us/articles/360011765678-Enable-Spell-Checking

Replied April 2021

Amin

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2019

Security and Privacy

For now, it is a great app as it is highly recommended by a not for profit organisation that cares for personal privacy and security.

Pros

Security and Privacy and ease of use. Also, the options to sign up either by phone number or an email.

Cons

Unsure of making bots to prevent sharing suspicious links or prohibiting calls to unknown users.

Reasons for choosing Wire

Because of its high security and protecting personal privacy. And also because its servers are in Europe and follows European laws of privacy protection.

Reasons for switching to Wire

Because of their office that is located in a country that violates freedom of speech (UAE). It's office is in Dubai

User Profile

Zahra

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Writing and Editing

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2019

Secure with something amiss

I love wire and would recommend it to everyone. Its much more secure than other apps; whatsapp and fb messenger. Perhaps being regulated by EU laws means they respect your privacy far more than American, Canadian and UK based apps. the iOS and Android app work very well and it does almost everything which whatsapp does and it even has a color drawing mode.

Pros

Its definitely MORE secure than Whatsapp and Facebook messenger. I never feel that someone is listening to my conversation or reading my chat with Wire.

Cons

Saving video and images is a bit difficult. Sharing location is not as seamless as whatsapp... perhaps if they can add time limit, it would be cool.

Reasons for choosing Wire

i dont know but one needed vpn connection and my family said let's go with wire...

Reasons for switching to Wire

Whatsapp is owned by facebook and i want nothing to do with that

Jörg

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2019

Increase our productivity

Pros

We´re now faster in internal communication. We like most, that we are able to have different streams and can send layouts and easily assess ist.

Cons

The Mac Version (Desktop) need some updates in design und functionality.

Reasons for switching to Wire

Du to security reasons (DSGVO), look and feel, reduced and nice GUI, speed, internal training

Mubasshir Ali

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

Best and secure way of communication

Pros

The smooth and Realtime collaboration among cross functional teams. We usually use this software for secure communication and sharing classified information and documents with in the team.

Cons

The group function is not like other communication tools

Response from Wire Swiss

Hi Mubasshir Ali Roshan, Thanks for such positive feedback! We are very happy to hear that you, as a long time customer, are satisfied with our secure collaboration tool.

Replied April 2021

Justin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2020

Use for sharing the screen with end to end encryption.

Wire is an unlimited package of benefits because we are using this application for many years and it has been proven a good package for all our needs. This application is an excellent video conference tool to communicate with clients and its mobile app offers 24-hours service to allocate the business detail on hand. Everything is quite easy and superb with this amazing application by making video conferences to overseas clients and sharing the ideas on every business promotion. All information is secured and stored on the cloud to provide the safest way of communication.

Pros

Wire is the best application to communicate online with clients for sharing ideas and thoughts on business promotions. So, this software provides the best platform to collaborate with clients through live streaming and video conferences. An easy hand on all business details and provoking new ideas for promoting business opportunities. Nothing is difficult in understanding as this application is very easy and simple to share the business ventures. Then, all you need to do is just put this software for your business meetings and have unlimited benefits.

Cons

This software helps in understating the business promotions with unique ideas but, all that comes with good quality internet. If your networking is not good then, you can enjoy its offers and packages because during live streaming it can cause hindrance to your live conversations.

Response from Wire Swiss

Hi Justin Jerry, Thanks so much for such a positive feedback! Great to hear that you enjoy using Wire with your team. I will forward your insights regarding the internet connection with our team.

Replied April 2021

francois

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2020

easy, safe, up to my expectations

It is the tool we needed to support the re-opening of a school with the medical-civil security team. This plus an online pad we shered and work on together in the same time. I use a private free address with my daughter and try to rally them to wire in order to quite wats'crap, facebeurk and those climate warming / data gathering / manipulating software. I started using Signal some years back and heard of Wire a bit more than two years ago from someone who was ambassador for a south American country.

Pros

conference mode safety and confidentiality technical support fluidity of the conversation, we can hear different collaborators speaking in the same time but without having the feeling of saturation. easy management of screen-sharing and easy way to send a document or a link

Cons

I was unable to figure out how much it will cost me to use Wire, once I finish the trial period.

Reasons for choosing Wire

Wire is a ready to use out of the box solution. Looking for privacy, reliability together with a software that I can trust on that, not only pretending to provide safety but really doing it. Alternate solution would have obliged me to dig into not ready out of the box solution event so they would provide the same services. This become hard to have people adopting them, opensource soft can be easy to us once you understand some principals in basic command line. Not much user friendly :-) I am a supporter of your product and I advise on regular bases, friends working for NGO's to use Wire better than other well known and distributed crap that can not offer the necessary often life saving confidentiality offered by your light easy secure software. I would advise you to think about client education / awareness to IT good practice. This could as well reinforce your own security. (what phone / computer basic requirement do I use, what should I never do on my phone/ computer if I don't want to compromise the reason why I use Wire...) Thanks for all the good work. Keep it up and stay safe and free

Response from Wire Swiss

Hi Francois Videcoq, Happy to read such a positive feedback thanks a lot! Regarding the payment information: Noted and shared. It's something we are discussing internally, but no concrete news to share just yet.

Replied April 2021

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2018

Wire - secure messaging platform as well as audio/video comms is finally here!

As an early Wire (personal) adopter and a vocal supporter (I want to say Ambassador), I may be a bit biased. Still, I strongly believe everyone deserves a fully secure communication platform and there must be no compromise on that - Wire proves it's possible. I have successfully converted more than a couple dozens users to Wire - and we never looked back.

Pros

First and most of all, Wire is all about security. Full E2E encryption for all the services it provides - messaging, voice, video. There are no compromises here and if security is a top priority, you don't have to look further. As far as I know, they are already doing some post-quantum cryptography experimenting, which is really impressive. Did I mention they are 100% Open Source? Did I say the voice quality is absolutely fantastic?

Cons

Not a lot of things I can say I don't like - basically for private usage the only issue is adoption, as the competition is very hard (not that I find any of the competitors good) and most people base the adoption on the number of people already on the platform. For business usage, I would say that it has everything that most people would want - yeah, including gifs, but it's always hard to adopt a new tool/software for the team, especially a communication platform.

Ajser

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Online Media

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2021

Wire is a secure messenger with the best price/performance ratio

For me, it remains the best secure messenger of all with a good price/performance ratio. Really top encrypted messenger

Pros

for private use, Wire is free of charge. You can send various files in encrypted form. This messenger is very secure and encrypted, so you don't necessarily have to enter your number, your email address is enough. This way it remains more anonymous. The functionality is very good for a free private encrypted messenger and so I find it very good as a price/performance ratio because many don't want to pay and so some come to these messengers. You can send audios with unlimited duration and you can listen to them very well. I also like the design but it's a matter of taste. You can make encrypted group calls, which I like and use. The quality of the calls is also very good with the loudspeaker function

Cons

Limited functionality: you cannot change the background screen you cannot send stickers like in whatsapp if it is an encrypted messenger, then you should not be found by the other contacts in the list, but maybe by an ID. should be better anonymous, instead of finding the names in the list. You have a limited choice of ring tones to choose from.

Response from Wire Swiss

Hi Ajser, Thanks for your feedback! Happy that you are enjoying Wire's design and calling quality! Your suggestions are noted and will be shared with the team. By the way, this way you can change your background: https://support.wire.com/hc/en-us/articles/360000778337-Switch-between-dark-and-light-theme

Replied April 2021

kshama

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

April 2021

wire @need some changes

Overall it's good , but few things needed to improve for -people give more priority to wire rather then switching to other apps.

Pros

message delivery . and end-to-end delivery feature . design and view . searching function.

Cons

1> screen sharing feature - must be included for all screen not for only one 2> when used wire for call - sometime is not good for conversation. 3>not good for multiple people at a same time calling. 4>problem of echoing sometime. 5>include a feature for message is delivered and received check.

Reasons for choosing Wire

essay to use feature.

Response from Wire Swiss

Dear Ms Nimore, Thanks for your review. We are always greatful for feedback so we can improve. You can share one of your desktops, entire screen or choose a Window to share during a call. Only one participant can share the screen at a time. Wire also works with low bandwidth. Please have a look at our Bandwidth requirements: https://support.wire.com/hc/en-us/articles/208349945-Bandwidth-requirements-for-calls We are constantly working on increasing the participant number for conference calls. Currently we offer audio conferences with up to 25 and video conferences with up to 12 participants in high quality. You can use read receipts this way: https://support.wire.com/hc/en-us/articles/360012392938-Conference-Calling If you have more questions about features, feel free to check out our FAQ or reach out to your customer success manager. Kind regards, The Wire team

Replied April 2021

Samer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

August 2019

The best we've found, but leaves a lot to be desired

Not loving it, sometimes really frustrated by it, but it works just well enough to keep around. I don't know of any secure messaging alternatives that work any better...

Pros

Our organization works with vulnerable communities and needs to be able to communicate securely so we've been looking for an encrypted alternative to Slack for some time now. Wire seemed like the closest fit in terms of the features we wanted: custom "channels" the ability to include some people outside of the org, silo'ed information, and secure group calling. It hasn't been spectacular at any of those things, but it hasn't been terrible either.

Cons

Wire is a pretty new product and it shows. The calls frequently drop, or some people's audio won't connect, etc. etc. Calls generally have to be limited to just a 3-4 people or the quality degrades even further. Our plan to use it as a communication tool with communities has been shelved indefinitely while we wait for some upgrades. In the meantime, our team mostly uses it text each other, which has been a significant improvement over email, but not quite as functional or intuitive as Slack channels. Nevertheless, it seems to be the best thing we've got so we're sticking with it for the time being.

Jeffrey

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2019

Clarity of Communication

My experience can simply defind in one word, EXCELLENT.

Pros

I like wire because even you have slow connection, you can still able to talk clearly and you can hear clearly the one talked with. We usually, use Wire during the team meeting and talking with clients. If there's clarity of communication, there's no room for mistake especially when your boss relay an important instructions. That's the power of Wire in our business.

Cons

Maybe the least thing about wire is how they market this software. Still, majority of human race doesn't know about Wire.

Reasons for choosing Wire

If there are important meetings that needs to listen clearly on the boss, I use Wire. Because you can use wire even your internet connection is not consistent.

Tillee D.

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Sporting Goods

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

January 2020

Can go better for Companies

Secure communication and a trustful feeling because you company based in west europa and has phone numbers and address

Pros

Works, Can handle more as one account, voice quality is great

Cons

No Conference video chat like (hangout), No Channel (such as Telegram) No sub groups in a group

Reasons for choosing Wire

Trust full and works great

Manfred

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY