User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.46

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"I love how handoffs are so easy to do, as all the design elements are clearly shown on the screen and all elements have easy CSS references."
  • icon"Easy to find needed styles by searching the comps. Ability to add comments for clarity was very helpful during development stage."
  • icon"I've been using Zeplin for nearly 3 years now, and the best thing about Zeplin is that its reliable and easy to setup."
  • icon"I don't like how there's no prototyping available in the software."
  • icon"Additionally, sometimes clicking in and out of comments and losing them entirely can be frustrating."
  • icon"Global styleguides are extremely buggy -- it's very hard to replace/move/rename colors once you've imported colors from a project."

All Zeplin Reviews

1-25 of 48 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Aliaksandr

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2021

Just brilliant

Zeplin is such a great software for a web/mobile design. Interface is friendly for beginners and powerful for a pro`s. The price is mid, you can configure plan for your purposes. Also I want to admit the support team. Always fast and clean.

Pros

Perfect interface, a lot of features for web/mobile design

Cons

Zeplin is great. Doesn`t see anything badly for me

Reasons for choosing Zeplin

I use both of them. Figma and Zeplin are great

Eshaan

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

February 2020

Simple Easy Dev Handoff

Pros

I've been using Zeplin for nearly 3 years now, and the best thing about Zeplin is that its reliable and easy to setup. It has no fancy gimmiks which other tools in the same category do have but simply because it robust it is my choice.

Cons

Too many software updates. Each and every time I open Zeplin there is a software update pending. I wish Zeplin could solve the dev handoff problem end to end by use of design tokens and better design system documentation, and become that single source of truth for designers and developers.

Reasons for switching to Zeplin

Traditionally our developers were used to seeing the Zeplin Interface and quickly snapping out UI specs from there. In the Invision trail they found it slightly difficult to adapt to the new Invision Interface.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2022

A must-have tool for seamless handover between Design team and Development team

Overall, Zeplin is a great tool for collaboration and design handoffs. It's our go-to tool, especially when we are using Sketch or Figma to create the Hi-fi designs. It's feature of automatically creating CSS and HTML codes is extremely useful for Developers. It has helped us in streamlining the overall product development process and reduced the 'to-and-fro' over emails.

Pros

As a Product Owner, I have used Zeplin as an end user, where I need to do thorough testing of a final developed product feature against its approved design. In a few projects, I have also used Zeplin as a designer, to handover the High Fidelity wireframes, to the development team, in order to make a mockup for Product Demos. As our organization mainly uses Sketch or Figma as a primary design tool, Zeplin has been an extremely useful tool for us to share design assets with the development team. As soon as a design screen is approved by the client, the lead designer exports that design from Sketch or Figma to Zeplin. With a single web link, Front end developers are easily able to get CSS and HTML code information that they need. Additionally, stakeholders and team members can leave comments on any design section, which allows them to collaborate, ask questions or give suggestions.I like that Zeplin integrations with Jira, Trello, Sketch and Figma works quite seamlessly and it streamlines the overall process.I highly recommend using Zeplin.

Cons

User Interface of this tool could have been better. There is definitely a learning curve with Zeplin as it's not a very intuitive tool to use. Zeplin doesn't show version history of screens, so you can't see what changes have been made in the latest version of the same design as compared to the previous version. This can add some extra workload for the developers.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

Zeplin is good to go to set style guides and share within the team

best to share style guide

Pros

to set styles and share within the team and related developer

Cons

there should be linkable prototype and variables change screen also needed

Reasons for switching to Zeplin

To set style guides and make more usable alignment and sizes in details

Shravya

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2022

Great tool for collaboration between developers and UX designers

Pros

We are using Zeplin designs that are provided by our UX designer and feels comfortable in using it. A nice feature that I like is the comments section where we can tag the team members and get the right feedback. For the developer, it is very easy to get the correct dimensions.

Cons

If there are any changes made by the designer, the developers do not get any notification about the changes and there were few cases where we had the original designs until the designer pointed it out directly. It would be a nice feature to receive notifications for any changes that are made to the designs.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2022

Buena herramienta para desarrolladores

En definitiva, es una herramienta bastante buena para desarrollar los diseños de páginas y aplicaciones a través de prototipos. No obstante, la haría más dinámica para exprimir todo su potencial.

Pros

Lo mejor de Zeplin es que es muy intuitiva y la organización de los proyectos es más sencilla que otras aplicaciones similares como Figma. Además, el hecho de poder ver el código que debería ir en el proyecto es un plus para los desarrolladores, pues facilita y agiliza mucho su labor.

Cons

Lo que menos me gusta de Zeplin es que para ver la pantalla de un proyecto en detalle, tengo que clickar y expandirla, sin darme la opción a hacer zoom desde un flujo de contenido más general.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2022

Best tool to link designers work with developers

My total experience with zeplin was awesome. Sharing and collaboration was so easy with this tool. you can group variants and even the screens which make it very easy for the whole team on zeplin to publish and view the files as well.

Pros

Collaboration becomes so much easier with this tool. Developers can pick the styling, colors, icons, CSS everything from zeplin itself. Easily download all the assets in any format.

Cons

There is nothing to dislike. Just nowadays, every tool is building up its own system with which you can share your work with developers.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2022

Makes it easier for developers to work off latest iterations

Pros

Our developers love Zeplin because the designs are always up to date and they don't have to deal with multiple files and figuring out what's been approved. Zeplin just makes it easy to work collaboratively.

Cons

Zeplin puts the artboards in the order that they were created, not in the order that the file is organized, so when you change the UX it can become confusing for the engineering team

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2022

Great organizing screens

Pros

I really like how the screens are organized and easy ti navigate and reference to. This fixes my biggest issue with figma

Cons

I feel the tags need better functionality as well as better search system for texts inside the screens

User Profile

Silas

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

collaborative design

Pros

Excellent tool to share and communicate with the design team

Cons

Need more integrations. And it could be cheaper!

Sebastian

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Sports

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2022

A good tool, but missing the polish it a great tool

I find Zeplin a good (but not great) tool for helping to manage your design/developer handover, but you absolutely need to have a strategy for using it. I would never recommend it to be used as a standalone tool, but for. It is positive that the company are working hard to come out with new features, however I think a lot of the existing stuff could be polished to give a better experience.

Pros

Easy developer handover, a single source of truth for design and frontend development in your projects, the push for new features like flows and the new labelling features (annotations, behaviours, etc) is nice. It seems that there are constant updates to the product, which means that new features and fixes are always on the way.

Cons

The UX of the application leaves quite a lot to be desired in a lot of places, in particular the navigation system and searching are troublesome. For example there is no global search, you have to search under the correct project to find a screen and you might not always know where you put a certain screen. As a Mac and PC user, the PC application is practically useless in my opinion, there are so many quirky features, which I think take away from the usefulness of the product across different platforms. Components and styleguides don't always work as expected and in some instances some styles are not detected at all. Not a huge range of 3rd party plugins.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2021

Easy prototyping and streamlined handoffs

Pros

In my opinion, it is primarily a piece of software that helps our design department with the task of sharing and creating designs and style guides with our development team and project managers. As a result, we are able to reduce the communication gap between the design and development teams. Integrating it with Sketch is an excellent feature. Further, Zeplin makes it possible for us to create designs that can be uploaded in one click or more directly from the web browser.

Cons

When it comes to uploading and syncing assets, Sketch and Photoshop work well, but Illustrator can at times be cumbersome/difficult to use. Also, there is no possibility of navigating within the screen.

Ralica

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2022

Perfect link between designer and developer

Pros

Zeplin has a good range of price options and a free version which is great for students. I like the intuitive UI which helps me quickly translate the element designs into code with just a click and a glance. Features like the version control are very useful as well as the comments feature. The dashboard tools and information are easily accessible and allow for a level of customization.

Cons

It's sometimes difficult to select text in order to see font-size etc. It's an intermittent difficulty I have not managed to consistently reproduce.

Reasons for switching to Zeplin

Previous tool we used did not have the ability to use css in the manner Zeplin does.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2021

Like it for mobile development

Pros

"Pop Out" - is my "one love" feature for pixel-perfect development

Cons

- versioning and history - pricing for teams

Reasons for switching to Zeplin

Due to the "Pop Out" feature.

Diego

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

March 2021

O Zeplin é um dos melhores softwares para equipes de UX/UI e front-end.

Quando havia conhecido o Zeplin, mudou minha vida ao trabalhar com equipes de desenvolvimento, mas acabei migrando para o Avocode comparado com as opções que ele me apresentava.

Pros

Foi um dos primeiros softwares de handoff do mercado a trabalhar com Photoshop. Quando eu desenhava sites no Photoshop, sempre senti falta de uma ferramenta que fizesse a ponte entre o design e programação. Mas achei que acabou ficando para trás com o tempo após a chegada do Avocode.

Cons

Demorou muito para ter uma integração mais precisa com o Adobe XD, isso me fez abandonar a ferramenta e partir para o Avocode.

Michael

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2021

The Industry Standard for Developer Handoff

Pros

As a designer, I use Zeplin almost every day and I think it’s a great product. It keeps track of the version history of a design, allows collaborators to comment directly on designs, and supports showing the same mockup in different UI (user interface) states.

Cons

Zeplin is excellent at facilitating the handoff process for individual screen designs, however, for engineers, it can be difficult to keep track of everything when there are many screens and animations between screens.

Lisa

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4