User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(46)

46

4 stars

(32)

32

3 stars

(5)

5

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Browse MasterControl Quality Excellence Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 85 results

January 2020

User Profile Picture

Joanne from UCSF Health

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

MasterControl Quality Management system

MasterControl has allowed us to replace book shelves of policy binders, file cabinets of employee training and competency forms. Staff can all access the same document at the same time instead of waiting for the binder to be free. Regulatory requirements are easy to track within the system.

Pros

This system is flexible enough for a any regulated industry. It includes a document management module, employee training module, Quality module that included Deviations, CAPA, Change Control, non-Conformance; Quality, risk management, etc.

Cons

The suite of modules has not been certified as HIPAA compliant, except for the Documents module. Full HIPAA compliance is on their timeline for 3rd quarter 2020.

Reasons for Choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

MasterControl provided the most flexibility as we needed to implement a document management & quality system in a variety of clinical and non-clinical healthcare departments. Each department needed different standards and is regulated by different organizations. Some manufacture goods, others do not.

December 2020

Deanna from Chronos Imaging

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Implementation of Doc and Training

We had a paper training process and used PDM for document control, which was not ideal because the user had access to prior control document revisions. Once we were able to inventory our procedures and forms, we were able to implement a solution that is long term sustainable We know we hit the jackpot, when the [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] of the company said that was able to do training very easily because the document was attached to the training. He didn't need to attend training on how to use the software to figure out how do complete his procedure assignment training.

Pros

1) For the user, it was very easy for the user to complete training. Steps are very intuitive 2) Implemented a document control solution that prohibited certain users from seeing archived versions of the documents. 3) each to find document by searching by datacard elements

Cons

didn't set up data card structure as best that we could.

Reasons for Choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

functionality

Reasons for Switching to MasterControl Quality Excellence

paper controlled process for training and change control that was not regulatory compliant and couldn't be sustained.

September 2020

Susan from Biotechnology

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Functionality

2.0

September 2020

Most unintuitive software I've ever been forced to use

There are company-wide jokes about "Master Control Hell". At least it lets us bond in our commiseration.

Pros

Umm... that's really hard to say. Pretty colors, I guess.

Cons

Navigation is difficult. "Help" is convoluted - no easy way to find answers. For example, I wanted to know where my task disappeared to after I clicked Launch. Could not find an answer. App stalls very often with back button. I could go on, but I'm tired. I've been trying to navigate Master Control for the last 3 hours.

Response from MasterControl

Replied October 2020

We are sorry to hear that you were having trouble navigating the MasterControl product. We understand how important the user experience is, and work diligently to bring the best possible features to our latest product version. We would love to work with you directly to see how we can improve your MasterControl experience. If this is of interest to you, please contact us at support@mastercontrol.com

March 2021

Clayton from Medical Device

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Enough for any regulated industry

MasterControl provided us everything we need for employee training. Use of paper records is not only impossible to control with a growing facility, it is a regulatory risk. The software is easy to use and definitely worth it. I can't speak to the report management side of it but I imagine it gets the job done as well based on what I have seen for training.

Pros

Plenty of features available, including CCM, CAPA, NCR and more. We mainly use it for management of employee training. Previously, we used a paper based training system. MasterControl is easy to use from a management side and the user end. Our employees got it right away and it worked like a charm at our facility. When new trainings are ready, they immediately get assigned.

Cons

Navigation can be a bit difficult. There are some features we would like removed just for ease of use for our employees, especially new employees. These are very minor criticisms and ultimately it does exactly what we want it to do.

July 2020

Jon from Closure Systems International

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

System Integration

We needed a validated system to replace our existing homegrown systems. The integration of the modules made this move a relatively painless one.

Pros

We went from several home grown or small scale products and rolled them all into one with MasterControl. It significantly lowered our risk, makes our processes more efficient, and streamlined ongoing system maintenance and support. Many systems are good about recording information (all the inputs) but don't put much effort into the outputs. MasterControl makes it easy to pull out the information you are looking for and schedule specific reports for delivery when needed.

Cons

Being new to the medical device world, the sign offs and approvals seems cumbersome, but I would expect those from any system in this arena. That was a little to get used to, but it is setting us up for success when it comes audit time.

Reasons for Choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

MasterControl was a mature system with many features more advanced over the competitive products. The sales team was fully engaged, offered as many demos as we needed, answered every question, and was super responsive. The reporting, the online collaboration, the integrated modules, and the flexibility of the solutions to meet our specific company needs were the main drivers. It helped that we had an internal resource that was previously a power user who had a good experience as well as customers who had previous positive experiences with MasterControl.

May 2020

Debbie from Vectura

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Quality Changes Everything

We are currently upgrading from and older version of MasterControl to their new cloud based offering and the updates to the training module will make keeping track of employees training status much quicker and easier.

Pros

The user interface makes this software so much easier to use than others that I have tried, even the most technophobic people in our organisation are willing and able to get on with MasterControl

Cons

There are a couple of areas where we would like to hide or remove buttons so that they don't confuse the end user, but I'm sure these suggestions will be looked at the way MasterControl evaluate all customer feedback and will eventually be implemented.

Reasons for Choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

Offered everything that we needed in a much cleaner and easier to use package

December 2020

Shonna from ANI Pharmaceuticals

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2020

Excellent Support

We had very solid business processes on paper - getting them streamlined only enhances our efficiency and productivity. MasterControl has been very helpful in assisting us by offering best practices to match our current processes.

Pros

The documents and training modules have streamlined our lives and saved us tons of paper. We are now moving forward with implementing the process modules.

Cons

The process modules are a little more complex and have multiple roles, specifically for enterprise business units that can be confusing. It takes a little while to understand all the process, roles and limitations. Overall, it is making our lives easier, it just is taking a little longer than documents and training.

Reasons for Choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

The frontline support for MasterControl is a huge consideration and have always been the most helpful in offering solutions.

May 2020

sharon from British American Tobacco

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

With A Quality Eye

It maybe confusing at first but once you understand how all the modules work and how you can adapt it to meet your needs it's great.

Pros

All documentation is in one place and excellent traceability. Electronic signatures reduces paper and time gathering wet signatures.

Cons

The system does require daily administration which needs to be recognised by business owner. The audit module isn't user friendly and could do with some improvements.

Reasons for Choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

MasterControl offered a one stop shop with the various modules and reporting process.

Reasons for Switching to MasterControl Quality Excellence

Needed to be regulatory compliant

November 2020

Susan from UMSOM

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Why MasterControl

Pros

What we liked most about this product was the ease of use for employees

Cons

The training module can be a bit cumbersome to use

Reasons for Choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

MasterControl best suited both our needs and our budget

Reasons for Switching to MasterControl Quality Excellence

MasterControl offer so many more options including a Quality Management system

May 2020

User Profile Picture

Rachael from ERT

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

MasterControl - Where Quality Changes Everything

Pros

We have been using the Audit, Process, Documents and Training modules and find the interconnection between the modules to be the most useful functionality that we did not see with our other systems. MasterControl is easy to use and in most cases is intuitive in terms of the workflows and visibility to end users. The MasterControl Support team have been one of the best I've worked with and they will work quickly and effectively to ensure any issues are resolved and applicable feedback given.

Cons

Analytics / Reporting has been one of our main pain points and although there are many reports across the system and modules which show individual elements etc, there are not many reports which contain a full data set of information needed especially in terms of Training or Process reports. We also have some wishes for future enhancements to the software and this is where the MasterControl User Voice forum comes in most handy where users can submit ideas for enhancements as well as vote on other use voices.

March 2020

Jeremy from Meridian Bioscience

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Powerful, but steep learning curve for users

Overall, it does what it is supposed to do. Once you get rolling, it's good. I wish documentation was better. I wish more control was given over individual document types. UI and bugs are annoying, but not show stoppers (though there is potential for the uninitiated). For the price, I would expect better UI/UX and fewer bugs, but it fills a niche, and the price reflects that accordingly.

Pros

The system is definitely a powerful system. There are a lot of great features just in documents and process modules. There are plenty of controls in place to control quality. Does everything you would expect of a quality management system.

Cons

Overpriced, IMHO. Has some bugs, and occasionally, they have caused quality issues. UI could definitely use some work - way too many additional clicks and navigations to get to get where you're going. New users have a difficult time adopting the system. There is a steep learning curve for both users and admins. Documentation leaves a lot to be desired in my experience. Would much prefer roles/rights be based on infocard type, not the vault they live in. Blanket rights on a vault cause unnecessary complexity in configurations. Not all users in a vault (e.g. geographical location, department, etc.), should have access to every document type in that vault, as recommended in MC best practices pptx...

April 2020

Mitchell from Lannett Company, Inc.

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Supplier Module

Overall not a bad experience. Wish the cost for classes was a bit less.

Pros

The supplier module, if set up correctly, allows the firm to set up all the various suppliers and link them to one another. The linking feature allows us to build a picture of the supply chain. Be sure to set up specific "Infocard" numbering schemes that match the various suppliers. For example, "Manufacturer-0001", "Vendor-0003", "Packager-0004". This way, when you link the infocards, you will immediately know the the entity is prior to opening the infocard. The ability to add custom fields is absolutely critical.

Cons

The contacts field needs a persons title field. Currently have to add the title next to the name of the individual which does not contain enough characters.

December 2020

Brenda from Surgical Instrument Manufacturers

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

IT JUST KEEPS GETTING BETTER!

I have been working with MasterControl since 2/2011, v9.3. I cannot say enough about the support I have received over the years - you have an excellent team and I am grateful to them for all of their help. The support team goes above and beyond. I have found that more than 90% of this application to be user friendly and easy to navigate. And as I mentioned earlier, MasterControl continues to evolve and it just keeps getting better.

Pros

MasterControl is always evolving. I am so excited to learn that Power Bi will be embedded as Insights into MasterControl. The combination of these two products will make your users reporting experience so manageable. I love that our user voices are heard, even for the small things like adding the copy feature to user profiles.

Cons

We are on 2018.3, so not on the cloud yet. I am working to better manage our upgrades. I was disappointed when the dashboard feature was taken away. And jReports is totally not user friendly. I use it but the rest of my users just turn up their nose and ask me to create reports for them. Because of this struggle I have been creating reports in Power BI.

Reasons for Choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

As mentioned above, I am unable to answer this question. The VP involved in that selection is no longer with us and I was hired shortly after the purchase.

June 2019

Brittany from Glenmark - Monroe

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Initial Site to Multiple Sites

I've been a MasterControl System Administrator for two different types of companies now. Both companies started using MasterControl at one site and have/are spreading the usage of this software to their international locations. The process to deploy to other locations is very controlled and Administration has plenty of options in regards to how much data can be made available between the two. Overall, great solution to the answer many of the needs of a company in today's regulated industries.

Pros

MasterControl bridges many of the critical functions of a regulated industry. The ability to have documents/training/audit/event forms/projects and more interacting directly is a huge advantage. All of these processes are required anyway, why waste resources on individual manual systems or separated software systems? MasterControl brings all of the benefits of a non-manual process with additional bonuses due to the inter-connectivity.

Cons

The pricing is quite steep - especially in regards to licensing it's always a significant business decision to invest in more. The upgrade/enhancement process is actually designed well with the exception of retroactive updates. Many new/requested features are implemented in newer versions but upgrading is also a significant business decision.

October 2019

Joy from Albemarle

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Paperless quest

Pros

This software has enabled us to transition away from paper-based serial processes to electronic, parallel processes. It has brought bushiness efficiencies and increased compliance.

Cons

There were so many benefits to our business when we brought in this software. But (understandably) there were growing pains to balance what it/is not configurable vs making changes to long held business processes.

Reasons for Choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

MasterControl's customer service far excelled above the others and the software interface was considered by the evaluation group to be much more intuitive.

January 2020

Gen from Grand River Aseptic Manufacturing

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

MasterControl Multisystem User

Pros

The customer service for any and all software issues simply cannot be beat. Employees are generally timely and knowledgeable in their responses. Although in the past, the fixes that the company has had to issues were sometimes just work-arounds, recently any representative I've worked with has been extremely thorough in resolving issues. System has undergone several huge improvements where I am much happier using the system as an administrator. System has decent logic to resolve issues for end users.

Cons

When the system gets upgraded, it always brings out a ton of unexpected issues. We know that we will have to dedicate a couple of days just to watching for problems. Casual end users have a hard time understanding the system often, and there isn't a ton of training content available from the company for basic users to help ease the transition.

February 2020

Carina from Ripple

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Leader in Document Control Systems

The ability to keep all documents in one location with visibility being managed by rights in the system reduces the concerns in our previous paper-based system. Also the approval process being electronic reduces delays from those out of town who can now sign wherever they are.

Pros

The configuration abilities that allow you to make adjustments that apply most directly to your company.

Cons

The implementation of the software wasn't as clear and smooth as we needed.

Reasons for Choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

MasterControl is a much larger platform that allows connection across many elements. Their obvious success with Document Management made them difficult to beat.

December 2020

Ashley from Millstone Medical Outsourcing

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2020

MasterControl QMS

MasterControl has helped cut back on the burden of a paper-based system across many areas of the business. We are continuously looking for ways to move our existing paper processes into the MC digital platform!

Pros

Product is user friendly and was easy for the end users to adopt. The electronic document management process has streamlined our internal processes taking them from 100% paper-based into the digital platform.

Cons

Classroom functionality does not integrate well with our business as it currently exists, we hope to see expansion on that platform in future upgrades. Additionally, jReport has been a challenging adjustment as there are numerous instances where reports lose functionality as well as the limitations pulling data from module to module.

December 2020

Robin from Food & Beverages

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Completely Connected

Having training tied to the SOP and linked to the Production Records for real time verification.

Pros

MasterControl has allowed processes and documentation to be connected across the platform. Meaning I can connect a customer complaint to the CAPA and the CAPA to the SOP and the SOP to the training that satisfied the preventive action developed from the complaint.

Cons

Audit Module could use a makeover. Does not function like the newest features. I know it has the possibility of being great.

Reasons for Choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

User ability to configure to support our business needs with the need of a programmer for basic workflows. Also the ability to control user access to what they can and can not see or do.

February 2019

Kristin from Swanon Health Products

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

A great company with an even better product.

Pros

There are so many different options you can choose to utilize to whatever best fits your company's needs. It's also great, because the different products can "communicate" with one another to pull information from one area to another. It saves our company so much time. Not to mention every time we have implemented a new product, it has been such a great experience. I know sometimes it can be stressful, but MC does such a great job at making the process as easy as possible. I truly can't say enough great things about the software of the company.

Cons

This isn't necessarily a software issue, we are hopefully upgrading to the cloud and we will have the new reporting system that we don't have now.

January 2021

Michael from Liggett Group

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Tobacco

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Mission Critical Quality Excellence

It has really helped us solve many issues with quality control and compliance. I would recommend this product to anyone who wants to move to the top tier of quality for their product.

Pros

This software is a complete solution with more modules you can add being built all the time. It is cloud based and does more than any in house solution could be built to do for the same price. The support team is very responsive in accepting our suggestions for improvements.

Cons

Even though there is a lot of support, it can be time consuming and very labor intensive to integrate the many pieces needed to implement the entire solution. It is a bargain but still very pricey for a small company and this will eventually limit its market.

May 2020

Heather from LifeScan

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

One Year on from our install of MasterControl

As a cloud customer it has been challenging to understand the maintenance, patch and upgrade processes of MasterControl. We have experienced issues and unfortunately some that have been repeated causing the business to loss confidence in the platform and the control / verification of updates. I am glad to report we are now working very closely with MasterControl on how we move forward to reduce issues and have a better understanding of their process.

Pros

The ability to have multiple modules all in the same platform. For example we can record non-conformances and CAPAs and link them directly to documents stored within the same system.

Cons

I find MasterControl a great documentation platform with additional modules added. The documentation module works great and seems to have been development well over time. I find some of the other modules newer to the platform are still a bit limited, will be great to see them continue to be developed.

December 2020

Kathy from AcelRx

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Don't know how we got along without it!

At AcelRx we went from a paper based system to MasterControl and there is no comparison! Definitely made things so much better to keep control of documents.

Pros

Being able to have all our documents in one place is great. Launching DCO packets is so easy. Being able to log into MasterControl from anywhere makes collaboration easy for anyone to do especially since we have been working from home. Also having control of your documents and signature manifests from DCOs help to streamline audits. I also have to say that MasterControl has been the easiest system to help keep all users training up to date and on time.

Cons

with all the updates and upgrades the cons I had have been improved

July 2020

Jonathan from Nordson Corporation

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2020

User friendly product, reasonable price, infinite scalability

We're using MasterControl to control documents and issue training. Most of our users have gotten the hang of MasterControl with little instruction.

Pros

As someone with no document control experience, I was surprised how easy it was to learn MasterControl. The GUI is similar to Windows 10 and the in-app help guide is very comprehensive. Customer support has always been able to walk me through the processes I couldn't figure out on my own and I've never been put on hold.

Cons

I'm using an older version of MasterControl which, as I understand, was written specifically for Internet Explorer. Internet Explorer is now phasing out of existence, so I will be forced to upgrade to keep our system alive.

February 2019

User Profile Picture

Yasmine from Cytokinetics

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Cusotmize Customize Customize!

MasterControl has enabled our business to automate processes and capture electronic training and document approvals saving time and money and empowering end users to take control over their documents and processes.

Pros

I have been using MasterControl since 2004 and love the customization options available to me and my end users. You can customize just about anything in the system and make it your own. As a system administrator, its my job to deliver a product to my end users that is easy to use and that meets all of their needs and MasterControl gives me that ability.

Cons

MasterControl works best in Internet Explorer and has hiccups in other browsers, which tends to cause some confusion with end users.

December 2020

Heidi from Aldevron

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

MC Implementation

Support has been very helpful, and no matter how good you are, you will need them.

Pros

The training module has been very efficient in allowing us to track out training completion.

Cons

The Process module is cumbersome. We ended up scrapping everything and making custom forms and workflows.

Reasons for Switching to MasterControl Quality Excellence

More functionality in MasterControl

December 2020

Tyler from Fagron Sterile Services

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

One-Stop-Shop

Pros

MasterControl is a great investment for mid-sized companies in the pharmaceutical industry. It allows us to maintain compliance via the pre-validated software. With larger companies having staff to manage a variety of documentation i.e. Procedures and Protocols, Testing Data, and Training; MasterControl allows smaller organizations to operate more efficiently.

Cons

To be honest, I have no cons regarding the software as we are still moving toward full implementation. I feel that MasterControl is staying ahead of us with innovation and development.

April 2019

Alecia from Genus Lifesciences, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

MasterControl Fan

Overall, implementing MasterControl has increased what we can do as a company. We've freed up time and resources to focus on business matters as opposed to the housekeeping tasks that take up so much of everyone's time. MasterControl is constantly working on improvements and that give our company great confidence that this will be a long lasting relationship.

Pros

MasterControl has brought many improvements to our company including transparency and efficiency, two things that are near impossible with a paper system. We continuously find benefits and ways improve our use of the system and look forward to implementing more modules.

Cons

As a reporting nerd, I would like some more freedom / options with reports. I understand that large, involved reports can slow down processes for everyone on the cloud, but it would still be nice to have some more freedom or even a way to do reporting outside of the system.

November 2018

Brenna from CBR

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

MasterControl puts YOU in control

Having MasterControl has allowed us to ensure a centralized location for all quality information and data. When we used a paper based system previously, the information would be stored in various locations and was much more difficult to retrieve when necessary.

Pros

The document management system. Its very user friendly and configuration is a breeze!

Cons

Process module. Currently it's much more difficult to make changes to workflows for quality event management handled in that module, however if you can make your processes fit into the pre-configured workflows it works excellently.

January 2021

Brad from Keystone Industries

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

MasterControl Documents and Training Modules

Pros

The MasterControl Documents and Training modules are a huge improvement over the paper based system we were using. It streamlines document approvals and automates training. It is much more efficient for us. We would have really struggled to maintain our old paper based system in 2020 with so many people having to work from home due to the pandemic. But with MasterControl, it really enabled business continuity.

Cons

It takes a lot of work to configure and setup the system

October 2019

Cody from Integrated DNA Technologies

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

MasterControl Documents

I am responsible for all of the documentation for Quality Control for the company I work for. MasterControl works well for maintaining documentation, but the user interface could be greatly improved and simplified for new users.

Pros

It has a lot of functionality for creating, collaborating on, editing, and storing documents. The system works well for these purposes.

Cons

The user interface is often not intuitive. Button icons are sometimes used reused for very different purposes which causes confusion for new users.

December 2020

Kirsten from Aldevron

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Very Useful Tip

Absolutely love using MasterControl. We did have a different filing document system but this works so much better.

Pros

I love how organized the software is and how easy it is to find documents.

Cons

We have documents numbered as such LLL-LLL-L-NNNN and won't pull up if typed in the top navigational bar.

Reasons for Switching to MasterControl Quality Excellence

Easier to find documents.

May 2020

Kate from Teckro

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Review of document control and training modules

The support in getting started was second to none.

Pros

Turning our training and document control systems from a paper based system to electronic has been amazing. The automation of tasks and trustworthy electronic signature are the best elements of these modules. The VxT module made planning our PQ seamless.

Cons

Whereas for basic users this is a simple system, I think that a lot of what should be simple tasks are very complicated. Raising a change request is a 20 - 25+ step process. Creating a virtual folder is a 10+ step task. It is like the back end has become so complex to keep all the moving parts connected it is manifesting in the front end.

May 2019

Nicole from GRAM

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

Does exactly whats advertised

Pros

It is a very useful tool in our day to day operations for creating, collaborating, routing, and storing documents as well conducting training.

Cons

While it is aesthetically pleasing, there are parts of it that are not as user friendly as it seems. One of the biggest chanllenges that our company faces on daily basis is the inability to effiecntly pull information across modules such as in a training or document report.

April 2020

James from Lannett Company Inc.

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Audit Module

Pros

We were able to "automate" a lot of our documentation associated with audits such as audit reports, finding reports, letters to suppliers, etc. This saved us a lot of time in preparing routine documentation.

Cons

Finding information on how to configure the module was a bit difficult. For instance how to add the ability to launch CAPAs from internal audits took a bit of effort

December 2018

Tamara from Ajinomoto Bio-Pharma Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Diligent and Reliable system

Pros

I really like that it is so easy to use and that it is reliable. Getting audited a lot, it is important to have a system that is robust and takes care of all your documents. The support is a big component about why it is reliable. They are always available to troubleshoot in times of need

Cons

A lot of patches, but like any software that is normal. They do a great job in getting bugs fixed quickly.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

View from System Administrator

Pros

The Documents and Training Module alone, have had such an immense impact in the reduction of the amount of paperwork and time spent on updating the documents and getting the training out is so worth the purchase of the system.

Cons

With growth there is always things that can and are improved on, I just wish it was more intuitive or upgrade training came with the actual upgrades and enhancements.

December 2018

Donna from Fleet Laboratories

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

MasterControl: Brings Excellence to Quality Management

Hands down the absolute best application support you will find!

Pros

Love the one stop shopping for pharmaceutical compliance. Love the document control module, the process module. We have the majority of all QMS within MasterControl. Their support team is the best in the business!

Cons

the new J-reports tools is not as intuitive as we would like, especially for the average user

May 2020

Von from Cytovance Bioologics

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2020

MasterControl is a great system for Biotech companies looking to go electronic

The system has really worked for what we need. There have been struggles a times and uncertainty regarding supports knowledge of the system. However, there are many great people that know a lot about the system. I have enjoyed working with MasterControl

Pros

I really enjoy the documents module as a doc control supervisor

Cons

Training end users was the most difficult task for my company.

February 2021

Anil from KVK Tech Inc

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

The Best Software for Document Management

The document and Training management is excellent and easy to configure, deploy and implement.

Pros

The Collaboration is the best part of document module and workflow customization is simple and easy and any given document.

Cons

The cost of the software for is bit too expensive, specially with the user license. The cost of customer support is high.

June 2020

Kathy from Oklahoma Blood Institute

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

MasterControl is a one-stop shop

Pros

I love that the training associated with organizational documents is all tracked/associated with the documents in one system.

Cons

I do not like having to go back to a main menu/screen once I've entered a screen in order for the screen to refresh. Specific example: current usage page. (currently using 2018.3, on premise)

January 2020

Sandra from Verathon

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

MasterControl

Pros

I like the ease of the updated system for Collaboration.

Cons

It is hard to say as our system was set up incorrectly when I started here and it has been a journey to get on the right track. It isn't always intuitive, too many screens to navigate when setting up new items in the system. One stop shopping is best.

January 2020

Matthew from Oil States Piper Valve

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Best Document Control Software out there

Keeping up with regulations on documentation is simplified with Master Control.

Pros

The software makes external auditing fast and streamlined. Master Control is the way to keep all your records, files, and your quality management documentation organized.

Cons

The nature of the software can be overwhelming to a new user.

January 2021

Brendon from EBN

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2021

Excellent tool for QMS management, change control, and quality events

Pros

Moving to MasterControl from a paper-based change control system has saved significant time and effort in our organization. It has allowed us to transition easily to remote work during the COVID pandemic and has significantly reduced the complication and number of errors in updating documents and procedures.

Cons

Icons and navigation are not always intuitive. There is a learning curve for new users, and the help menu is underwhelming

May 2020

Maria from BONESUPPORT AB

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

MasterControl at BONESUPPORT

Pros

Allowing users across the world read and approve documents, and have their training documented easily

Cons

I'll have to say that the audit log and its search functionality needs improvement - but I also know that MasterControl takes customers seriously, and it's being worked on already

December 2020

Suzanne from LifeScan Scotland Limited

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

One Stop Shop for QMS

Greatest benefit are that only one login is required and training is on one system only, instead of multiple.

Pros

What I like most is that many aspects of our Quality System can be linked together or referenced since all records are in one place. We use MC for training, documents, Regulatory, suppliers, BOMs, etc.

Cons

The Audit module is not as easy to use as I would like. It does not make tracking of findings easy.

Reasons for Switching to MasterControl Quality Excellence

One single eQMS instead of several

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Great App

Pros

Makes everything easier and streamlines the process. Very easy to use. Allowed for us to but new processes in place and remove the paper processes. Support.

Cons

The LDAP Import tool, Java, and the reporting tool. I do not really have any other cons. This is a good application.

May 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Standard and configurable

Pros

Many standard but configurable solutions based on best practices Great tools for pharmaceutical validation of their solution

Cons

Requires very skilled and trained employees to execute the daily business processes. Lack of design / GUI customization

May 2020

Wilma from Elekta

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Why have we choosen for MasterControl

Pros

MasterControl was selected because it: - is a complete quality solution - can be integrated with other common systems - it is validated, but you have still the possibilities to make configuration changes

Cons

If infocards are locked (in a workflow, review etc). admins are not able to make changes to metadata. This is difficult for a large company with many records and it is time consuming.

January 2020

Kanya from Bioclinica

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

MasterControl _ A one stop solution for Document and Training Compliance

Pros

We like document and training modules. This software has reduced loads of paper and reduced the efforts of managing wet paper signatures. The tool is easy to handle with respect to Document Workflows, assigning trainings, , managing users etc.

Cons

A complete training compliance report is missing. We need to look 2 - 3 canned reports to get consolidated report.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 85 reviews