All Userbrain Reviews

1-25 of 86 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Joshua

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Best in industry for easy user testing

From start to finish it’s been absolutely phenomenal

PROS

I really do enjoy how easy it is to utilize this software, not only is it simple but extremely easy to learn in very straightforward. Getting responses from people, normally happens in a mereGetting responses from people few hours after submitting a project for review. Great platform!

CONS

I think it lacks with the mobile interface and just use ability on there when you’re on the go!

Reason for choosing Userbrain

Just because from how it seemed user brain looks so easy to use

Ry

Design, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Fast and affordable research recruitment

Overall, as a first-time user I'm very happy with UserBrain and I will definitely be using the service again in the future.

PROS

I'm a solo designer, so cost is the number one barrier for me while conducting user research. UserBrain is incredibly affordable, and I was blown away by how quickly my research request filled up and by how high quality the results were. I also really liked the video recordings and how easy it was to download and share them.

CONS

There aren't many bells and whistles here. You essentially get a fast and cheap way to recruit users and view the session recordings. I wish there were some other useful things like transcription included, even if it was for an additional fee.

Reason for choosing Userbrain

UserBrain provided the most features at the most affordable price compared to its competitors.

Patty

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2019

Over elaborate testers with not much value

The price being low is what prompted me to have the ability to bring this product in house. Once we did, the unmoderated testing was work to get everything setup and in return, not a lot of usable feedback.

PROS

The guidance of the question ideas and tips. I can use these skills outside of this product too.

CONS

The testers. While it is nice to have people who do not have the understanding of our products, the people who test are not really insightful when they elaborate on every little item on the site. I have had people click outside of the user test links and end up not being able to get where they are needed. It became work with not a lot of quality feedback.

Reason for choosing Userbrain

At the time, pricing and the thought of not having to pin down the testers parameters and personas.

Christopher

Higher Education, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2021

Value for money on demand user-testing

Userbrain has met a need to support regular user-testing in my organisation when lead time on projects did not support user recruitment, screening and testing cycle. It allows smaller UX teams to validate and iterate quickly without impacting other teams and been seen as an obstacle to development. Userbrain really has made an impact in my process and I look forward to more development of the platform.

PROS

The cost of this software and the on-demand nature attracted me to this service. So far I am impressed, Userbrain has become an essential tool for my UX process. Compared to other options (usertesting.com and trymyui) it's incredible value for quickly validating User Interfaces and gathering feedback. They offer great support as well, and if the service is not meeting my needs it's on the roadmap or has a workaround.

CONS

Lack of some audience targeting tools such as employment status or targeting students for user-tests and including more countries in a panel of testers. They also currently only offer an iphone app which limits tests to apple users on mobile. I believe all of these issues are on the development roadmap.

Kevin

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

Userbrain review from a UX Designer

Overall it's been very helpful, I'll be continuing to use the product

PROS

Price is great compared to other similar products like UserTesting. Very easy to set up tests and test results usually come in the same day. Has the same basic features as higher-end products

CONS

- Would like more information about the test participants. Currently, we're provided with age, gender and location, but I would like occupation, income range and ability to select users from specific cities/provinces. - Would like to export sections of the test videos, usually, I have to export the whole video and edit it myself later to create a highlight reel to present to others in my company - possible integration with invision or other prototyping tools. Tying test steps to users actions would be very helpful - some tests can come back much later than others -During tests, the instructions the users read are overlayed over the screen and sometimes they don't see parts of the page we're testing

Reason for choosing Userbrain

Userbrain was much cheaper

Matthew

Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Extremely useful tool

I find it to be a super useful and effective tool when testing user experience on our site and would highly recommend it in the future

PROS

We use Userbrain when building or redesigning a new section of our website. Having users explore and give their honest feedback during this helps us to catch flaws in our user experience and user journeys which is a great benefit to our clients.

CONS

The only con I can think of is that the users testing our site aren't in the same mindset as our primary audience (people seeking debt help / wanting to donate) so the content doesn't have the same impact and can affect their experience on the website

Reason for choosing Userbrain

The communication provided by testers

Jordan

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2020

Good for inexpensive usability testing

Userbrain serves us well for regular scheduled testing which is very affordable. It works best when avoiding difficult user tasks so stick to more discovery work. As the complexity is increased I find segmentation too limiting and user pool not that great. But overall I would recommend Userbrain as part of a wider UX tool kit

PROS

It's very inexpensive when needing user input at a low cost. It's easy to set up and schedule. We have had some questionable testers but Userbrain has been excellent at refunding the credit allowing us to rerun the test quickly

CONS

User segments are limited and the tester quality isn't the best on this platform with a number of what I would call "professional testers" who simply read back the page to you which isn't helpful. However I guess you get what you pay for and we simply remove this session from our results. Also the method of how Userbrain presents the tasks on the screen can confuse users and often wastes time as they get mixed up. We have tried to be explicitly clear on instructions but still get these issues. It would be better if more like User Testing with very clear step by step full width screens for each task.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2022

Earn some extra cash from your review

The overall experience with user lbrain has been good and I will use it for another several use

PROS

- User brain is one of the user testing platform where we can earn some extra cash from giving our feedback on softwares websites or mobile applications to companies for some monetary rewards. - One of the good thing about userbrain is that we get paid via PayPal and the payment then gets credited in our bank account.

CONS

-One of the cons about userbrain is we do not get many tests/ studies and getting qualify for any test is also difficult.

User Profile

Heather

Verified reviewer

Real Estate, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Easy to use and they actually do their jobs

They are a great company who cares about their people.

PROS

What I like most about their software is that they actually care about the customers and the usertesters. I have used their software for a long time now and they will make sure I am up-to-date on my profile so I won't forget they are around.

CONS

What I dislike is they do not need me for the testing as much as I thought but I think if I stayed more involved I would really make a killing.

User Profile

Aaron

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Remote UX research should be fast, efficient and cheap. And it is with Userbrain!

Great. From the software UX itself, to it's reach and the support the team offer has been exceptional.

PROS

I like two main things the most about UB. 1. They've got the cost model spot on. I can dip in and out with pay-as-you-go credits with no commitment which I do for personal projects, and I can subscribe to make a real saving by buying monthly. It's the best of both worlds.

CONS

There really isn't anything I don't like. The once downside I did have is now resolved. At the start there was no qualification questions to filter users out of studies. When I raised this with the team they informed me it was on the road map and sure enough I was using it in a couple of weeks time!

Reason for choosing Userbrain

The better UX in the platform.

Reasons for switching to Userbrain

Flexibility with the cost model.

Matt

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

Good product, simple to use.

Overall good experience.

PROS

It is easy to use. Allows you to get quick and valuable feedback on your websites.

CONS

It lacks the ability to get user tests for Apps. It would be very valuable for us to do testing of our Apps both iOS and Android.

Reason for choosing Userbrain

n/a

Reasons for switching to Userbrain

User Testing changed their pricing model - became out of reach and not easy to do infrequent tests.

Asad

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

Get's the job done!

It was good. Fast and I love the fact that you can get a refund if someone doesn't do the test properly with no questions asked. With the features above I'd be more inclined to use UserBrain going forward.

PROS

I liked the fact that it's really easy to use. I've never used the software before, but it was really easy for me to get to grips with. It's fast and works really well. The keyboard shortcuts are quite good too, so you don't have to use the mouse when making notes on the video, you can pause and play with the keyboard.

CONS

Organising projects into folders would be awesome. Also, I feel as though tags are missing from UserBrain. It would be great if we could tag the comments we write as positive, negative, general and suggestion, which is typically how I organise the comments afterwards. It would improve my workflow. It would also be good if you could partner with Trello and allow a quick export into there with the above tags as the headers for columns.

Sophia

Internet, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Fun Tests to Do

My overall experience has been great, I've made a good amount of side cash here and there so no complaints there.

PROS

Userbrain is really fun to do, you get to do different tests to see if you qualify, and if you do then you get paid. Its a great way to make some passive side income.

CONS

The only thing is that I wish they would send more and upgrade the app , its very sluggish. Other than that its a fun tester app to use especially when you're getting paid.

Kate

Legal Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Great product which is now even better

I cannot recommend this platform enough, it does exactly what I need it to and more.

PROS

I liked how you can buy tests for when you need them and you don't have to have a subscription. I like how fast it is and you see results very quickly. They have made some recent updates which has now provided a lot more options for testing, which I love. I like how you can duplicate and edit tests, it's very intuitive.

CONS

The only thing I would say is the demographics to target are very broad and some demographics are unavailable but that's understandable.

Mark

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2020

Good and simple usability testing software

I've had a good experience with Userbrain. The cost for this service is better than most although the features seem a bit limited.

PROS

I enjoy being able to add notes directly related to the video.

CONS

My plan is missing a proper screener. I'd really like to screen users before they take my usability tests. This may require an upgrade plan?

Reason for choosing Userbrain

Price

User Profile

Jonathan

Verified reviewer

Entertainment, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2021

Good product to start getting more insights

PROS

Pro: It makes user Testing very easy. You can watch videos of real people interacting with your website and have everything setup in 5min.

CONS

It is missing a bit of feature to create complex scenarios and multiple testing.

Daniela

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Feedback for Userbrain

It has been a good experience overall.

PROS

It's easy to use and the results get as fast as I need them to.

CONS

Sometimes the sessions that we've received fall too short on the participants side because they don't interact or spend that much time on a task as you'd like.

Reason for choosing Userbrain

Better price

Max

Cosmetics, 201-500 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Very fast and useful

PROS

The speed of responses is great. With the added demographic options selecting people is easy and we were happy with results.

CONS

Can be hard to get the instructions to make sense to the testers. Perhaps setting out more structure for it and using that structure to train the user testers to follow a bit more structured protocol (perhaps optional from buyer choice) so you can get a more consistent type of feedback. I get useful feedback but users are quite variable in their interpretations of the instructions so they can be hard to compare sometimes.

Damon

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Easy and fast

PROS

Really quick to get started and the interface is super user friendly. Also, the responses starting coming in within an hour of test launch and he quality of the respondents seems pretty good.

CONS

I don't have any cons at this point. I really like the platform.

Reason for choosing Userbrain

It was a suggestion from others on the team. Also, price was a factor. I liked that I could buy a monthly membership.

John

Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE