All ScaleGrid Reviews

1-25 of 68 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

James

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

ScaleGrid for Startups

As the CTO of an Ad Tech startup which is currently disrupting the broadcast and broadband marketing industry, I truly appreciate how ScaleGrid is helping us rapidly grow and scale our cutting edge platform (advocado.media). ScaleGrid streamlines the MongoDB dev ops and allows us to focus on building out the business critical features that are driving the growth of our platform.

PROS

The ease of use was fantastic! The dev ops that goes into setting up scalable and redundant MongoDB clusters in Microsoft Azure is fairly daunting, but ScaleGrid automates 95% of that! They also make it very easy to switch from Azure to AWS, an initiative of ours which is currently underway. We are also currently implementing a sharding solution for improved horizontal scalability and ScaleGrid has made that process much easier to manage as well.

CONS

There is not much to not like about ScaleGrid. My biggest complaint is the lack of multi user account with groups and access controls, this forces us to use a single login to manage our ScaleGrid instances, which is not ideal. I think the monitoring metrics are in a pretty good place now but could be improved to be more on par with what you get from a more mature platform like AWS RDS for example.

Aaron

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Just works!

Exceptional product and exceptional customer service.

PROS

Although I could have spun up yet another database in Azure or AWS, I found during the proof of concept stage that even though it is an Azure or AWS solution that ScaleGrid is managing, the throughput and reliability is much higher. In fact, it is because ScaleGrid effectively manage the instance for us that I decided to let them take the hassle.

CONS

It is slightly more expensive than going direct but the value add of being fully managed and pre-configured was worth the additional spend.

Reason for choosing ScaleGrid

ScaleGrid is a fully managed service where we didn't have to go through pages and pages of options to fine tune. It just works out of the box.

Reasons for switching to ScaleGrid

ScaleGrid's throughput and reliability was higher and it was fully managed.

Dave

Internet, 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

Too expensive.

A basic droplet on DigitalOcean/Linode cost $5, while ScaleGrid is at $10, which is fine because they provide Dbaas. However scaling upwards becomes increasingly expensive. DO Droplet Original Price. / ScaleGrid Price $5 | $10 $10 | $35 $20 | $80 With the price difference, you are better off using MongoDB Cloud Manager, at $35/server agent. Spoke to ScaleGrid support, and they said they price this way because that's how DigitalOcean Managed Databases are priced, which I find it quite a laugh. DigitalOcean, as the service provider, also provides the SLA, and automatic failover, while ScaleGrid is basically just... a web interface. Conclusion: Just overly expensive for the service it's providing.

PROS

I'm using MongoDB and it's easy to spin up a database, though it takes about 20 minutes to complete the set up. Backup services etc seems ideal, with different frequency settings. Automatic replica and sharded cluster set ups (though I've never tried).

CONS

Expensive, just expensive. Slow - Spinning up server takes a long time (20-30 minutes). Updating takes a long time. Migration also takes a long time. They claimed they use encryption at rest, while that is only available in MongoDB Enterprise version. They are not using enterprise version.

Vendor Response

Thanks for sharing your experience! Regarding setup, it takes 15-20 mins to spin up a cluster as we create dedicated machines from scratch, saving users 3x the time through automation. Updates/migrations do take time, as these are performed so there is no downtime. We perform encryption at rest using OS encryption based on LUKS - so you don't need MongoDB enterprise for it. DigitalOcean as a service provider does not provide the services you need for a production database - high availability, backup/restore, monitoring, upgrade, support, etc. A better comparison is against DigitalOcean managed databases where we average 30% more storage for the same price. ScaleGrid is the actual management platform, DigitalOcean is simply the cloud resources offered through our service. If you compare our DBaaS vs. DigitalOcean, you'll see we offer 40% higher throughput and 30% lower latency: https://scalegrid.io/blog/best-mysql-digitalocean-performance-scalegrid-vs-digitalocean-managed-databases/

Replied February 2021

Dylan

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Untitled Review

PROS

We previously used mlab for our hosted MongoDB needs, but they shut down. Out of all competitors ScaleGrid stood out to us because of their fair pricing and simple setup.

CONS

We would have liked to have our test/staging environment on a different cluster. This would double our costs though. Mlab offered free environments for testing. They had very small data allowance, but it was perfect for us. We now had to opt into having our test database live on the same cluster. It's okay, but that could be improved. Accessing backups is also cumbersome. Often I just need to look up something that for instance got deleted by accident. These are small issues and definitely not a deal breaker.

Reasons for switching to ScaleGrid

They got aquired and ended their service. The aquirerer's service didn't work well with our setup.

Derek

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2020

Easy to setup no issues yet

So far no issues.=

PROS

Setup a production Mongo database in less than a few hours. I had a few questions for the support team and they were quick to respond.

CONS

It wasn't clear to me about which nodes I should setup the replica set. Support helped me with this.

Reason for choosing ScaleGrid

Had the ability to setup a database within Digital Ocean.

Reasons for switching to ScaleGrid

Terrible queries and resources for complex architectures. We choose the wrong database.

Dylan

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2020

Moditar 2020 Review

Being able to have dedicated setups is great for us. We are a technology company, focused on software, with minimal skills, time and resources around networking and hardware setups. We also really enjoy the no hidden costs approach, with no "unknown" fees. this helps dramatically when budgeting.

PROS

The dashboard is great for tracking, and although the functionality around accessing the db via the console is limited, it does the job we need it to. Alerts definitely help. Customer service is my best part, the team is great, always responds to our messages and queries and sometimes are already investigating issues they picked up before us. great job!

CONS

Console often gets stuck loading, i need to reboot and then everything is fine. when building a DB, it would be fantastic to be able to choose an IOPS level with the package. The team has been very helpful with us, helping us upscale our drives to allow for more IOPS when we do not need any more storage space.

Reason for choosing ScaleGrid

Initially it was because of the fixed cost pricing model.

Reasons for switching to ScaleGrid

Their billing model had too many hidden costs which we could not estimate easily.

User Profile

Shikhir

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

A good overall solution, especially if you bring your own credits

Fast and attentive customer service, absolutely no complaints there. Discounts for start-ups and bringing your own credits are unique features, and ScaleGrid pushes this option - which is good if you have credits and plan to use a cloud like AWS: certainly worth using, as you still retain full control over your instance. In our use case we really needed Postgres, so still waiting for that, but overall we are pleased with the customer service and general product that ScaleGrid offers!

PROS

The "Bring your Own Cloud" is pretty intuitive and the very strong (90%+) start-up discounts make it a no-brainer if you go that route; the interface makes it easier to manage deployments when they're supported. Fast and friendly customer service - well above average for sure!

CONS

- Not so much a con, but Postgres (which we were told was to be in beta a while ago) still doesn't seem to be an option yet. This was something we hoped to use ScaleGrid for. - Again, less of a con and more of a remark: Bring your Cloud is great (if you have the credits and plan to rely on that cloud), but - as is usually the case with these things - it could use faster versioning (though this is often tied to the upstream cloud though, so I wouldn't put too much emphasis on it).

User Profile

Giuseppe

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Easy way to implement a managed DB

PROS

I went from a great service from a famous competitor, but too expensive compared to using it for a project and decided to give this software a try. It allows the creation of many database versions on different cloud services and I must admit that at a low price you have an excellent result.

CONS

I use the DB on linode instance and it would be nice to have pointing in time backup.

Reasons for switching to ScaleGrid

it cost too much for the project

User Profile

Truong

Verified reviewer

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Great, hassle free solution for our MongoDB need

PROS

Ease of use, hassle free. The support team is also very responsive with questions from our engineering team.

CONS

Nothing to be complained about at the moment, it's a fully hosted solution so we don't have to worry about anything.

User Profile

Eli

Verified reviewer

Entertainment, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

Scalegrid is a great MongoDB hosting solution

We chose Scalegrid because it allowed us to deploy MongoDB clusters in our own AWS cloud, letting us use our AWS credits towards our instances. Importing our existing data was painless, and Scalegrid's console makes it very easy for us to manage and monitor our clusters. Their support team has also been very helpful and quick to respond whenever we've had any questions.

PROS

Scalegrid is one of the few hosting providers we found that allowed us to deploy MongoDB instances in our own AWS cloud. The Scalegrid console provides many useful tools that help to simplify our database management, including scheduled backups and slow query analysis. Deploying a new MongoDB cluster is easy and their support team is quick to respond to issues.

CONS

Certain tasks, such as scaling down a cluster, cannot be performed from the Scalegrid console and must be done by contacting their support team.

Jonathan

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

The fastest / easiest way to stand up cloud PostgreSQL, whether for dev or enterprise production

Excellent. From fast setup to extremely fast support via email and chat. No lengthy conversations, but very responsive and knowledgeable help. The database service has been 100% rock solid and fast. Data communication is superb (no doubt DreamHost is one a couple of major Internet backbones). Very very pleased with the experience to date. As we move into production, I'd really like to see how we can add some of the more advanced features such as geographical load balancing, horizontal scaling, etc. but, if possible, stay with ScaleGrid as our "front end", as our experience has been so positive, and taken a significant burden off our own team.

PROS

I've been a fan of PostgreSQL for many years, and when we determined that it was an excellent choice for our start up in healthcare informatics, pharmacovigilance and drug safety, we next had to choose a cloud hosting platform to get it up and running ASAP. We started by looking into the major DaaS cloud hosts and could certainly have gone directly with AWS, GCP or Azure (among others), but all of these required an "expert" to spec, price and implement correctly - and were, frankly, overkill for getting us out of the gate. ScaleGrid was (and is) dramatically different: they have a limited offering -- a few different DBMS's and a standard set of server / instance specs to choose from when getting started. In short -- with a credit card, I was able to select a PostgreSQL configuration and place my order within about 5 minutes. A note popped up telling me that my instance was being prepared -- and then about 5 minutes later I had the instance up and running. This was stunningly simple, including my choice of back end host services (e.g., AWS, Azure, DreamHost -- we went with DreamHost). So -- with about 10 or 15 minutes setup, I had a fully functional PostgreSQL 12.x server up and running, with 300GB capacity, no hidden traffic fees, and total costs just a couple of hundred dollars a month.

CONS

The management console is OK. Nothing terrible, but some richer controls would be nice, bringing in, perhaps, the functionality that's available in tools like PGAdmin, and making it easier to see / administer all the user roles and their permissions from the console. Many years ago, I was spoiled by the GUI admin tools that MS SQL Server provides -- I'd love to see that built in for PostgreSQL, but it simply doesn't exist. If a host like ScaleGrid could add this in as their own management layer, it would be compelling. But the lack of this really isn't an issue, and not a big downside for me.

Reason for choosing ScaleGrid

Cheapest, simplest, fastest to set up without requiring "expert" knowledge of a cloud environment.

Adrian

Online Media, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2020

A bit expensive for start-ups

PROS

It was easy to deploy, doesn't force me to upgrade other dependent environments.

CONS

It's more than double the price for small start-ups then what mLab offered. There was a comparable shared cluster subscription, but it seems like they stopped offering it as soon as mLab users were forced to move elsewhere due to an acquisition from MangoDB (Atlas).

Reason for choosing ScaleGrid

Easiest deployment

Reasons for switching to ScaleGrid

Was forced to because mLab was acquired by MangoDB (Atlas).

Andrew

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

ScaleGrid makes running a resilient MongoDB cluster easy

Easy to implement and run database operations.

PROS

ScaleGrid is easy to use and helps take the complexity out of running and maintaining a resilient MongoDB cluster. We like the ability to Bring [Y]Our Own Cloud because we want to keep as much control over our data as possible such as in which jurisdiction it is stored, and how it is secured. The fact that we can use our own cloud account and private subnets in multiple Availability Zones increases the security and resilience of our database operations. Security features such as access controls, data at rest encryption and data in transit encryption are easy to enable. Operational duties like backup are easy to setup and tailor to suit. We also expect that leveraging ScaleGrid will help manage the performance, maintenance and growth/scaling of our database operations into the future.

CONS

We'd like ScaleGrid to think about making its management system available in [Y]Our Own Cloud so that the agents don't have a need to connect and report externally. We don't need it now, but we expect we may need in the future.

Cliff

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2018

Setup and run several MongoDBs using the service. Setup is simple and support is very helpful.

Saved us time and money. It never went down. It always worked !

PROS

I've been using this service for over 3 years and never had any issue with it. The service is super solid and has saved me a lot of time when managing and setting up Mongo databases. I originally started using this services for dev work but I quickly made the transition to also run my production workload. The services makes it super simple to get up and running in a few minutes. They abstract out a lot of the pain points when managing a Mongo DB. The services handles my backups so I dont' have to ever think about it. Also, you can see the machines and get root access to them in case you need to really get under the hood. Support is great I love the chat feature. They will go beyond their scope and help you with unique situations. They really helped my clone a bunch of databases and saved me a lot of time.

CONS

Very little is not to like. At times features can be a little buried in the software. However, I was on the service since the start and they have always made things better with time.

Ben

Computer Networking, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed September 2020

Ok when it's working

We looked to ScaleGrid to help us operate a legacy MySQL DB, SG's features certainly looked attractive (ease of deployment, database followers facilitate staging environments, reports and monitoring all look good). However at the end of the day, it's been less reliable than the system we ran in-house. So back we go.

PROS

Easy to get started and set up. Decent reporting and monitoring.

CONS

We've had two complete outages for MySQL over the 18 months we've been running on ScaleGrid. Each time is the same - the database stops responding, then eventually is flagged as Failed in the SG dashboard. The second outage was a cluster intended to provide higher availability - didn't work. Support has met their SLA (1 hour ) however it's frustrating sitting idle when your production database is down. Also, there seems to be no way of accessing a backup other than restoring it to a new cluster and then dumping that manually. Ugh.

Reason for choosing ScaleGrid

Better reporting, MySQL version support.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2018

ScaleGrid makes it easy to run secure, managed, and scalable Mongo infrastructure.

We were able to significantly reduce our time to market by using ScaleGrid. Once we did launch we reduced our need for a dedicated Mongo DBA which effectively paid for the cost of the service.

PROS

Easy to use web console. Flexible security options. Responsive support team. That combination of pros really made it easy to roll out the product in our test, stage, and production environments. Once it was rolled out, on-going administration with just as easy.

CONS

Web console is limited to a single user account. We have been told multiple accounts is in the development schedule.

silke

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Customer for many years, excellent service and customer support

PROS

Software delivers what I need, and the support is prompt and professional. The service runs very stable, and whenever there was an issue or I needed support, I was promptly given it.

CONS

There is nothing I don't like about the product. I can only recommend it and we are absolutely happy with all aspects of the service.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE