All Carestream Dental Reviews

1-25 of 73 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Heather

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2 - 10 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

Reviewed October 2021

Hit and More Miss

User Profile

Kevin

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

Easy to use

Very good- I learn something new with the software weekly.

PROS

My side job is a dental assistant and we use soft dent. Softdent is very easy to use and it is quite straightforward. I find it easy to navigate, schedule appointments, dental chart, take X-rays, and send referrals to other offices.

CONS

Sometimes I feel as though it can be difficult to treatment plan a patient's dental work. For example, it can be confusing when the pending treatment gets mixed with past procedures that were already done. I wish there was an easy way to "clean up" old treatment plans and add "watches" to the charts.

Briana

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed February 2021

CS SoftDent Dental Software

Overall my experience with CS SoftDent has been unsatisfactory. Between the time it takes to get someone from customer support to assist you to the charging for features that are free from other dental software companies, we have decided to change our software to a cloud based one.

PROS

I appreciate how easy SoftDent is to use. Yes there is a learning curve when you first being utilizing it but overall it is simple.

CONS

The lack of included features makes CS SoftDent inferior to other dental software that I have experience with. In order to do simple customizations such as changing/customizing the medical history form, you have to pay additional fees and even then there are significant limitations. Recently our state required all medical prescribing offices to use electronic prescribing methods, in turn CS SoftDent decided to charge an exorbitant amount of money on top of our monthly fee for a service that is now required.

Reason for choosing Carestream Dental

We were not involved at the the time of purchase, but I'm sure at the time CS SoftDent was the best software out there.

Bryan

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed December 2016

Absolute Horrible Experience

I used Softdent for 3 years along with Carestream/ Kodak Imaging and what a nightmare. The system would crash on a regular basis. The images would take up to 2 minutes to appear. Carestream/Kodak Dental Imaging software should work together because they are from the same developer. They don't. Constant crashing and the Tech support would always blame the hardware. It was brand new hardware. I once had the hardware tech in the office when I called tech support. When they blamed the brand new hardware the hardware tech asked the Softdent Tech, show me the error code. The Softdent Tech couldn't. The Hardware Tech then told the Softdent Tech, "stop blaming the hardware for your poorly written software". At that point, they finally stopped blaming the brand new hardware. We had a dedicated imaging server, which was recommended by Softdent, then when I became so irate with tech support, they transferred all the imaging data to the main server, which didn't help. This was a start-up practice with relatively low amounts of data and a small database. I then demanded my money back for all the Carestream products, the intraoral sensors, intraoral camera, pano, extraoral camera, and software. I was put in contact with the VP of customer relations, who was very nice, and she said there was no return policy. She did send out a tech from Atlanta to Arizona and he was in my office for 3 days. He still couldn't get it to work right. The software is so piece milled together that each module has different icons for the same thing. The database was rebuilt multiple times. Good luck trying to care for patients, it was a full-time job getting the system to work right, which it never did, even though it was all from the same company. I do not know how they are still in business. If you have low blood pressure and would like to have high blood pressure or may be an aneurysm, buy Softdent.

PROS

Pretty marketing pictures

CONS

Everything. It doesn't work Period!

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

Carestream IMAGING

*Business problems to solve and numerous benefits to realize :- Minimal radiation exposure, this can help to solve the problem of inaccurate or inadequate imaging, leading to improved diagnosis and treatment planning.* Streamlined Workflow: the software solutions can streamline various aspects of the dental practice, such as patient scheduling, charting, billing, and management of electronic health records (EHRs). By automating these processes, you can reduce administrative burdens, enhance productivity, and improve overall efficiency.* Enhanced Patient Communication: The software enables effective communication and collaboration with your patients. You can educate them about treatment options, visually demonstrate oral health issues, and share treatment plans using interactive tools. This improves patient understanding, engagement, and satisfaction.*Practice Growth and Revenue Generation; the dental's solutions can enhance the patient experience, which can lead to increased patient retention and referrals. By optimizing workflow efficiency, you can accommodate more patients, potentially increasing your revenue. Moreover, advanced imaging and treatment planning capabilities can attract new patients seeking high-quality dental care.* Compliance and Data Security; the denntal's software solutions adhere to industry standards and regulations for data privacy and security. By utilizing their products, you can mitigate the risk of data breaches, ensure HIPAA compliance,

PROS

*Offers a range of imaging solutions, including intraoral and extra oral imaging systems which provide high-quality digital images that aid in diagnosis and treatment planning. The ability to capture and visualize dental images efficiently is a crucial feature for dental professionals.*Provides software solutions designed to streamline and automate various administrative tasks in dental practices. These features typically include appointment scheduling, patient records management, billing and insurance management, and reporting capabilities. Practice management software helps enhance the overall efficiency and productivity of dental practices.* With 3D Imaging and CAD/CAM Integration, It Offers 3D imaging systems that allow for detailed visualization of dental structures and aid in implant planning, orthodontic treatment, and oral surgery. Integration with computer-aided design/computer-aided manufacturing (CAD/CAM) systems enables seamless transfer of data and enhances workflow efficiency.*The Mobile Applications developed enable dentists and dental professionals to access patient information, review images, and manage appointments on the go. Mobile apps provide convenience and flexibility in managing dental practices.*Advanced diagnostic tools incorporated into the imaging software. These tools may include features such as image enhancement, measurement capabilities, and image comparison, enabling dentists to make more accurate diagnoses and treatment decisions.

CONS

*The aspects of software are intuitive and easy to navigate.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for the positive review. We appreciate the honest feedback. -Sincerely Carestream Dental

Replied May 2023

Spencer

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed May 2020

The worst software and company

I wholeheartedly agree with with every negative comment made about this company. I was getting by just fine using a practice management software that was a fraction of the cost of Orthotrac but I allowed myself to foolishly be sold on Orthotrac thinking because it was made by a large corporation that the product and customer service would be better, I was wrong on both accounts .Orthotrac cloud is nothing like what is advertised. You cannot simply just log on from any device anywhere as promised you actually have download program on every device you wish to long on with and even then you can only log on a certain number of dedicated devices and if you try to use a new device you risk functionality loss. Their goal in not living up to their claim of any device anywhere is to upsell its customers on buying additional usernames which depending on who you talk with varies from $45 to $90 for each username on top of the monthly exorbitant monthly fee and other additional addons for eservices. Lastly,The customer service is the worst I have ever dealt with in any industry. NO ONE RETURNS YOUR CALLS so if you have any issue you are S.O.L.

PROS

There is really nothing I like about the software. It isn't that easy to use and the support is terrible

CONS

The imaging and practice management software aren't that functional and is integrated poorly.

Reason for choosing Carestream Dental

I sold on the idea of a one stop solution for my equipment and software. I now realize that company that attempts to do everything does so poorly.

Reasons for switching to Carestream Dental

I thought Carestream would be better but I was wrong.

Brandon

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2017

Blast from the past Dental imaging software

Carestream does have good support; Supporting bad software is almost as good as having no support. So a lot of customers must perceive that Carestream is lacking in support when in fact the software is really a Frankenstein Software with mish-mash of programing designed for Windows 1998 and XP. Its 2017 and Windows 10 is very different level of programming.

PROS

The software carried us through for the past 10 years. Well programmed for its time. Uses Eclipse instead of SQL. Isn't Eclipse freeware?

CONS

Buying new Server Hardware has its limits and can't compensate for Old programming. Some of the the .ddl are specific to windows XP? Poor Database - lag of 12 seconds? Google is freakin' faster and Carestream database is internal network. Complained about software issues since 2011 with no hope of Carestream forming a team to redevelop the Dental Imaging system When you start using the system, you learn too much about poor software via your tech complaining at least once a week. I fix teeth for a living and I know too much about why Carestream software has problems. So.... you really think you want to go to CbCt and digital impressions with Carestream? 12 second lag with 2D images..... Would you want to pay staff to wait 15-30min for an image?

Heather

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2021

Hit and More Miss

I wish there were fewer bugs or better solutions. A Dr.s office waiting 2 hours on hold is simply not an acceptable service standard.

PROS

Relatively inexpensive scanner compared to other brands Scans of teeth print well on our 3D Printer Image presentation software is ok The ability to email PDF layout of model layouts is nice

CONS

There seem to be a lot of bugs that happen with the frequent updates. None of these things are usually available on the webpage on the hold system provides. Hold times may be long (est 1 hour 15 min today, one person ahead of me now at that time and system says 55 minutes more est to hold). Do not think that being a health provider with scheduled patients makes you a priority, or that the company considers it's healthcare providers a priority. The person logging in may take a very long time to solve the problem, sometimes reverting back to installation questions you might be able to answer from years before. You pay for this support. These scans can not be used to submit for Invisalign.

Evan

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2018

Functional but glitchy

Once you get to support it has always been fast an efficient. Getting to the right person though ..... can sometimes be a nightmare of being transfered multiple times

PROS

Allows for lots of different views and ways to capture an image and can add lots of layers of enhancements to the image

CONS

Glitchy - sometimes the image is lost between the server and the workstation. Sometimes it doesn't save Not as intuitive as I'd like - often I have to rotate the images to the proper orientation

Ben

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2017

Working with Softdent

I can't wait till Softdent rolls out its new iteration.

PROS

It's the 2nd best software I have used, behind Dentrix. The support team is great, and it was easy for my team to use to make patient appointments and write clinical notes.

CONS

The system is outdated. It is not intuitive. I am a millennial/Gen X, and am used to tech that is simple and easy to use.

Frank

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

Waiting for support

Works good, they are strapped for support people so you have to email them a request for installation support

PROS

It works once it is installed. The screens are intuitive and generally work

CONS

Having to wait and schedule needed upgrades is a deal killer. It is a joke to support someone who uses this product and to have to tell them their vendor said they had to wait three weeks for an upgrade that will fix their performance problems.

Reasons for switching to Carestream Dental

Support

lacee

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

CS Softdent

Cs Softdent has been a great, friendly experience in more ways than one. I got the opportunity to join the Carestream family in Texas at the Natural summit in 2019. I overall learned so much from that weekend and the Carestream trainers and staff were extremely helpful to our office questions and I still have contact with a few of them to this day for help.

PROS

This software is very user friendly, it's easy to learn and move around from scheduling to pulling the patient's chart, treatment planning, and verifying insurance. The blue book is our gem we are able to give proper estimates to patients as they walk out the door. The perk I truly enjoy the most is being able to have quick buttons to access information very quickly. Softdent makes it easy with having great customer service and technical support staff available all the time. Our entire office is Carestream in someway our imaging from sensors, the Pano machine, and our new investment the Carestream 3100 milling machine in our laboratory.

CONS

Softdent 17.1.1 that it is not a cloud base software and with our internet speed it can run slower at times. We have looked into Carestream Cloud software that is new and we are considering switching when the time is right and our server no longer can hold any more information.

Sara

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed July 2018

Garbage!!!!!

DO NOT BUY IT!!!!!!! Spend your money wisely. Get Eagle Soft or Dentrix. Stay away from this outdated system. I am switching ASAP!!!!!!!!

PROS

None!!! It was what I could afford at the time, but I am not recommending it to anybody. Not user friendly. Slow, outdated, tech support is costly for almost nothing

CONS

Crashes very often, non compatible with major Antivirus. Expensive for tech support that covers only minor issues. Every feature is extra money for what you need: like e back up, perio charting, etc. Costumer Service is horrendous!!! They take forever to answer the call. They are always sorry, they transfer you to 10 people before someone can give you a straight answer if he or she knows what’s going on. You spend 45 min to 1 hr to get you problem solved. If your lucky. System is not user friendly at all. When the Reps try to sell you the system they do not disclose all these “minor details”. They tell you, you will love it for the price. My contract is indefinite. Is yours? If you want to cancel, there will be a penalty charge. Nobody has any idea of what’s going on in this place. You get a different answer depending on who you talk to for the same issue you are trying to get resolved. Absolute “Garbage”!!!!!!!

Matthew

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed September 2018

Untruthful, Poor customer support, DOES NOT INTEGRATE WITH DEXIS!!

Horrible customer service, Completely dishonest (still states that there program integrates with Dexis) while it does not. Use any other dental software program except SoftDent! Please feel free to call me to find out more about my experience with this program if you would like!

PROS

Long time users of Softdent with few problems, but the latest update does not allow the program to integrate and they claim that they can do nothing about the issue.

CONS

We have used Softdent for more than 10 years and have been "alright" with the program. The latest update that we downloaded caused the program to no longer integrate with Dexis which it always has and they claim that it will. The update had been out for 6 months but at first they claimed that we were the only office that they had had this glitch with. 3 weeks later they have admitted that the program will not integrate with Dexis and they can not fix the issue even though every update for the last ten years has integrated with Dexis. They state they will not help any more with this issue.

Tim

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed June 2021

3600 Lemon

We had Carestream and our supplier come out to fix the issues we had with the 3600 five or six times over the past two years with no resolution. The problems started from month two. We stuck with Carestream and were patient as they tried to fix this awful system. They never offered to swap out our scanner with another one. Now that its two years later, Carestream stuck me with a lemon of a scanner costing me a small fortune and wasted production time. We finally traded it in for an iTero.

PROS

The software is user friendly and patient's thought is was neat when they were scanned.

CONS

The software is incredibly slow and locks up multiple times during scans. I stopped using it because it took so long and my assistant wanted to quit every time she saw a scan was to be done on the schedule. The software freezes and the AI features are lacking. Soft tissue is not able to be imaged so forget about scanning for removable appliances and sleep devices.

Reason for choosing Carestream Dental

Cost and reading reviews.

Kass

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed December 2022

Disaster, avoid and run.

For the last three months, we have spent twenty to thirty hours of employee hours to get the system up and rerunning. When you call them for backup, most likely you have to leave a massage, and you will get help a few hours latter. the first respondent is their lower level inexperienced support. After spending an hour or more with him/her, the call has to be escalated, and that requires more staff time, and loss of business revenues. Last month their support was not aware that their online system had crashed, and he spent two hours remotely accessing our computers to figure out what the issue was!

PROS

Can't think of any. The software is costly, and crashes means loss of revenues to the practice.

CONS

Their online software constantly crashes.

Vendor Response

I am sorry you are having so many issues with our software. If you can reach out to me personally, I can send you a service representative who should be able to solve your issues. We constantly strive to improve our customers' experience with new products and updated features.

Replied January 2023

Vicki

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed November 2017

Look for a different software

PROS

There have been a few good support people.

CONS

Support, I think many work from home, need to request Level 2 tech, I don't have time for level one trying to figure things out. Software is extremely slow so as our practice grew it had become extremely frustrating, we then added the Faircom server to speed up process which it did HOWEVER Faircom is a glass slipper and CRASHES if it isn't perfect conditions. We need to replace our 2012 server but we have to replace with another 2012 because Softdent isn't compatible with the most recent server! We also use E-forms on the iPads we just did an update on iPads to 11 and now eforms no longer work because it isn't compatible, I am told they are working on it... seems to me the developers would be forward thinking on development and not a step behind. Time to move out of the dinosaur age. After struggling with this for 14 years we are looking for a change.

Christopher

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Best Dental Practice Software

I've used SoftDent for over 3 years now since I started working at my current dental practice. On top of all of the capabilities of this software and the awesome interface, Carestream also has additional devices that are a must have for the software that can make your practice so much better. For example, the intraoral cameras, digital xray sensors, and CT scanner made by Carestream integrate so well with SoftDent and I use them daily on nearly every patient. I can't imagine ever using another dental software. Once you go SoftDent, you don't go back.

PROS

What isn't there to like about this software? This software is an all inclusive dental practice software with tons of features. I love the easy-to-use interface. I have worked in other dental offices before and have used competitor software, such as EagleSoft, and SoftDent is so much better and just overall has a better feel and experience.

CONS

I honestly can't think of anything that I don't like about this software.

Alicia

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE