All Kentico Reviews

1-25 of 47 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Ali

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

The most CMS/DXP complete PLATFORM with unique features

The experience of working with a versatile platform (DXP) that is both light and powerful makes good sense to me as an admin and consultant. The companies we advise often do not specialize in IT, but they are successful entrepreneurs and businessmen looking for good quality work, and Xperience is one of the valuable options on our shortlist, which is at our highest standard. It is valuable in terms of service, support and security, and is reasonably priced for large companies looking for true performance and high-quality enterprise products and services.

PROS

Installation Xperience on Microsoft Azure Cloud is pretty easy. It has a compact and professional administration dashboard where everything is available at a glance because it's customizable with my favorite pinned tools, also I've personalized marketing automation with my preferred content and settings. I also like the web analytics features with clean design and useful information about visitors and users' activities. Xperience is more than a CMS and its Digital Experience Platform (DXP) means all you need for your website management, business marketing, and e-commerce are all in one platform.

CONS

We have been working with Xperience DXP for many years, Yes, there is nothing I can write about missing features. They've very good support and if you have a problem with any part, the support team will respond immediately and if there is a bug, it will be fixed before you know it.

Reason for choosing Kentico

More complete services and very high facilities compared to other competitors.

Reasons for switching to Kentico

we want best for the customer to have the best at the lowest cost. We had a lot of work and we need more speed and use of more control resources In IT consulting,

User Profile

Matthew

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

A Costly But Valuable Web Experience Service

Kentio—by far—has improved our company web experience by miles. No longer do we need to worry about plugins or security flaws from "free" alternatives. We were also able to consolidate services such as marketing e-mail into Kentico itself, and can send out campaigns from the site.

PROS

Kentico is extremely flexible, with a ton of options to edit your website, manage customers through the built-in CRM, send out e-mail campaigns, automate messages, implement personalized content, etc. It takes some training but remains a solid experience once you learn the basics. Website speed has drastically increased, as has our total number of monthly users, session duration, etc.

CONS

The cost can prohibit a lot of small businesses from benefiting with Kentico. There is also a learning curve meaning very few people can drop into the backend and expect to understand what they're seeing initially. A minor issue is occasionally tools such as the scheduler will malfunction and not publish or unpublish content correctly.

Reasons for switching to Kentico

Our previous site was riddled with slow speeds, plugins, and security flaws. While the cost to run it was next to nothing, switching over to Kentico has made web content efficient again, as well as safer.

Nicolas

Hospitality, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed November 2023

Not reliable company

PROS

The CMS was due to be easy for non technical employee to use.

CONS

Their commercial practice. We started with Kentico 12, 5 years ago and they are already not supporting it.They are increasing prices by more than 20% a year and are pushing to sign long term contract when their product works for a couple of years.

Graham

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Kentico CMS/EMS Great Features for Most Business

The Kentico CMS/EMS product has delivered substantial capabilities for our clients which would have only been achievable with multiple products otherwise. We have delivered microsites through to enterprise financial services websites with onerous security requirements which shows the breadth of the abilities. The Kentico team have always been available to support the product and their passion is one of the key advantages of the product.

PROS

- Mid-market priced CMS which can deliver the capabilties which most business need - Good WYSIWYG editing interface when correctly delivered by the chosen development team - Great security - Based on an open framework which can be enhanced to most requirements - Marketing features enhance the overall value of the system - Administration interface is really friendly and users love the ease of use in comparison to other content management systems

CONS

- Two development models - PortalEngine and MVC - mean that to move from one to the other requires a re-build of the site - PortalEngine model has a limited support lifetime - Pricing increases have been badly communicated to the development community

Reason for choosing Kentico

- Great development model - Ease of use - Flexibility

Andrew

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Enterprise ready

Overall our experience with Xperience has been rewarding - for our clients and us. The platform is well positioned, well priced, and exceptionally well supported. As a true DXP, it delivers clients precisely what they need - website/content management, digital marketing, and commerce, in a single platform.

PROS

As an agency, we've been implementing Kentico Xperience for many years. It's a mature DXP that combines content management, digital marketing (automation and other services), and commerce, in the cloud or on-premise. The platform is now .NET 6 (formerly Core), which means it meets the needs of enterprise businesses and can be integrated with just about anything. This is a huge positive for us. It means we can recommend an all-in-one platform that integrates deepling with existing systems and can drive the organisation's content, marketing, and experience needs. We find easy to communicate the benefits to our clients, which is a good indicator of the platform's capabilities. It's easy to use, easy to develop for, and scalable - all things clients need.

CONS

Because we've been working with the platform for an extended period, our familiarity is exceptional, and there are very few negative points. Kentico's 24/7 support is exceptionally fast when an issue occurs and works with the team to find a solution. A detailed roadmap and release schedule also overcomes any feature shock, allowing for planning and preparation, both technically and when managing client expectations.

Robert

Banking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2024

Kentico Kan't Handle Most Enterprise Email Marketing Needs

PROS

Not much. However, it tries to replicate some of the features of more ubiquitous ESPs.

CONS

There's no link between their CMS and Email Marketing Platform; the UI is clunky and is not as easy, or honestly, robust as other more popular ESPs.

User Profile

Chetan

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Value for Money and superb licensing

We use Kentico literally for everything. Portals, websites, applications, platforms and driving e-commerce for our needs. My experience with kentico over last 6 years is pretty phenomenal.

PROS

Licensing cost is pretty affordable and their license is per domain and not tied with number of users. Kentico’s support is really good and have a very active self driven community on their channel. Documentation is also good around the product.

CONS

I think over the years they are trying to and bend Kentico CMS to its limits so that influencers can influence decision to buy this product within their orgs. Kentico 12 was one such example. It came with many bugs.

Reason for choosing Kentico

Cost and licensing policy. Value for money

Jason

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2016

Feature-rich .NET CMS option

I have been using Kentico CMS since version 3 (currently in version 9). I've seen the Kentico CMS grow into an incredibly feature-rich platform. Advances made with their EMS (allowing for website and email automation) continue to raise the bar. For my team, each new challenge that is set for them is one that is easily met through Kentico's features or their ability to customise something that plugs in nicely. For the single website operator, Kentico is not the most cost-friendly offering. But for larger organisations that have a requirement for several websites ... the unlimited sites licenses become very cost effective.

PROS

Feature set continues to improve with every upgrade (and the upgrades are regular).

CONS

Pricing can be very harsh.

User Profile

Connor

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2020

A well rounded CMS

A very versatile CMS that allows users complete freedom of customization, with very fast support.

PROS

Kentico is a feature rich CMS, being very user-friendly and definitely liked by most clients. With its shift over to MVC it makes it a current, lightweight, powerful tool. I especially like the custom configuration thats possible with Kentico, including custom webparts and page configuration.

CONS

The pricing of licenses has really become more limited making it more difficult to be recommended for small business or lower price point websites.

User Profile

Irina

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2019

Contemporary responsive CMS

I worked with Kentico as a site admin, updating content, creating new pages, and managing the media library. I found it to be a powerful and well suited for my daily tasks.

PROS

With Kentico you can build nice responsive websites. I really like the ease of creating different versions of the content and the fact that it is possible to copy-paste portions of the layout. IT does not take much time to start using it as a content manager.

CONS

If you are not familiar with the system enough you may easily make some drastic mistakes (one of my colleagues deleted a part of what he though was just one page template and changed all the pages depending on that layout).

Nik

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

Powerful but idiosyncratic CXM

PROS

Kentico is unparalleled at its price point as a comprehensive customer experience platform. With EMS, it has the power of an enterprise-class CMS, marketing automation and nurturing, personalization, e-commerce, and an incredibly deep bag of tricks through its API and integration options. It is not unfair to compare it to higher-end solutions such as Sitecore, which is bests in overall value and ease of use, if not in scalability. (Although Kentico, properly managed, can meet the needs of highly demanding websites.) The system is fairly easy to use once you learn your way around - all the components work similarly within a unified interface, so after training, it's not hard for a proficient user to execute more complex tasks without significant additional support. It is also one of the few solutions running on the Microsoft technical stack, which is an advantage if you are already standardized on Microsoft servers or Azure. Kentico is best if you are looking for a comprehensive marketing suite and want to avoid the headache of tying together your marketing and web stack.

CONS

Kentico doesn't work like a lot of systems. It is well thought out, but if you are coming from Wordpress, Drupal, or even Sitecore, it's going to feel pretty alien. The system also suffers from jack-of-all-trades/master-of-none. I consider its CMS top-rate, but the marketing features are not quite up to par with the likes of Marketo or Pardot, and its e-commerce is very rudimentary (but getting better). That said, the integration out-of-the-box is where it wins, and having a less-than-leading-class marketing system that is truly integrated with your e-commerce is a substantial benefit and represents the real value of this system. You should expect to lean on an integrator or build in-house development expertise (full disclosure: I used to work at an integrator - I no longer do). While a lot can be done without actual C# code, building out the CMS is still a highly technical task, on par with development on other platforms. Kentico's underlying system has been around for many years, and has received some significant upgrades every year, but the core technology is showing its age. Kentico is taking some drastic measures to modernize the system and keep it supportable and relevant. But that may mean a bumpy road as you go through upgrades. Again, you will need some proper technical talent to keep the system running smoothly.

yusuf wajeeh

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

Kentico is a great CMS and is highly adaptable.

I have built couple of great sites for my USA based client using kentico and the client is quite happy with the performance and maintainability of the site. Using kentico i have saved great amount of my development time as great feature like user management, single sign on using Facebook ,google and many other great features are just out of the box in kentico so you are not required to code them from scratch. Also my client is also quite happy since he can edit/change the content on the fly on his own and also he can see the business performance easily from the kentico dashboard which he can use in his business strategies and planning.

PROS

1. Highly configurable and adaptable according to your business need and requirement. 2. You can use things like Macros, custom modules etc to design configurable website. 3. Kentico provides great marketing campaign inbuilt for you website which you can configure from kentico admin panel to sent promotional mails ,offers etc 4. Provides support to wide range of approach like portal engine, MVC etc. 5. You can design great website by just dragging and dropping the webparts. 6. Site editor can easily manage the content displayed on the site and can also change layouts by dragging and dropping the component. 7. Provides feature like ecommerce also. 8. Provides analytics also to your website which you can see from kentico admin panel.

CONS

The only con that i can think of is that the price is on bit higher end.

fabrice

Industrial Automation, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Kentico Software

PROS

Gain de temps - Les fonctionnalités intégrées de Kentico permettent de créer et de gérer des sites web rapidement et efficacement.

CONS

1- Courbe d'apprentissage - Bien que l'interface utilisateur de Kentico soit conviviale, il peut y avoir une certaine courbe d'apprentissage pour les nouveaux utilisateurs qui ne sont pas familiers avec les fonctionnalités avancées du logiciel.2- Coût - Kentico peut être plus coûteux que certains autres CMS disponibles sur le marché, en particulier pour les petites entreprises ou les projets à petit budget.

Trevor

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Kentico EMS MVC (12 SP+)

Kentico continues to strive to make their platform more robust, they have continued to listen to developers and made improvements to help make our lives easier. Many tools exist from partners as well to further make building sites easily.

PROS

Kentico EMS's MVC page builder system is very flexible and easy to develop in. Sections, Widgets, even Page Templates all follow the same patterns and allow for simple and quick creation to more complex implementations. Kentico itself has been building a rich set of tools and features that makes creating complex systems, integrations, and management a breeze. There hasn't been anything we haven't been able to build in Kentico.

CONS

Only down side is the software has become so feature-rich and powerful, that it has started to migrate away from the smaller business market and is priced outside of smaller site builds.

Will

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

Great Enterprise CMS with Excellent Support

Kentico is more developer focused but not so much that the continent editor experience suffers. It’s pretty easy to get most of the basic features up and working using the built in widgets and features, but is also easily extendable by developers if more advanced features are needed. The support team is very helpful and the company is committed to fixing any bug in accelerated timelines they enforce on themselves. They also plant trees for each big found and fixed.

PROS

Comes with many of features / widgets out of the box making it pretty quick to get started. Can be customized to add features specific to the customers business. Content can be synchronized between environments. Many built in integrations with third party systems. Great support.

CONS

Can take a little to get use to the dashboard interface initially but pretty easy to understand afterwards.

Reason for choosing Kentico

Price and features.

Courtney

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2019

Great WYSIWYG and Tagging; Needs Better Forms and Image Handling

Launched 2 websites in EMS.

PROS

Great WYSIWYG, and the ability to tag/categorize and filter content.

CONS

Sometimes Kentico can be slow on deploying code fixes, upgrades and sister software (such as Cloud/Kontent). In the backend, one huge frustration is the drop-and-drag only option for moving content items in the tree.

Reasons for switching to Kentico

Old site was unstructured.

Mark

Recreational Facilities and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Kentico CMS - the best content management system available for content administrators

This has been the easiest CMS to learn how to use, and definitely the easiest one I've had to train a client to use.

PROS

The way content is structured and organized in Kentico is very intuitive, and allows you to structure your navigation based on how you structure your content. It's also very simple to assign roles to different areas of your site, so that you can restrict which users have access to make updates to specific sections.

CONS

There aren't a lot of cons - maybe Kentico's need to try to get the CMS to do *everything*. For instance, you're far better off using Google Analytics than Kentico's built-in analytics.

Apoorva

Information Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: