User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(248)

248

4 stars

(196)

196

3 stars

(63)

63

2 stars

(7)

7

1 stars

(6)

6

  • Pros

  • "Was easy to learn and train others with, love the ability for extensions galore."

  • "We loved its open source platform. It also was easy to maintain. "

  • "- great and fast with great features and astonishing backend controls -great looking themes -great plugins"

  • Cons

  • "Not the easiest thing to setup, but it is very capable so it's worth."

  • "Changing the whole strucute from 1.x to 2.x was bit irritated but now since it is going smoothly, I am good with it."

  • "It is specified to one language and it sometimes have crashing issue. It got crash sometimes unnecessary. Other than this it is a good framework to work with. "

Browse Magento Commerce Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 525 results

February 2020

User Profile Picture

Amiel from Mike's Cigars

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Tobacco

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Magento 2.0 Review

We are extremely happy about this software. We have developed a fully functional CRM system together with a beautiful website -> no link but you can search Mike's Cigars and check it out yourself.

Pros

The biggest, most robust but most importantly Open Source e-commerce software out there. The only limitation is your imagination...

Cons

Developer's cost is really high unless you can afford in-house dev team like we do but otherwise, your budget will most likely be blown way before you finish your project.

Reasons for Choosing Magento Commerce

The rest of the products we compared did not offer the deep level of customization we were looking for.

Reasons for Switching to Magento Commerce

Our old system was deprecated, the software updates were really hard to apply. PCI compliance was hard to pass because of the old software and plug ins.

March 2021

Rhiannon from Fiddleeheads Violin Studio

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Community version is the only affordable option for a small business

I started out with Shopify, as recommended by my IT, but I’m really thankful I moved over to Magento community version. It costs more to buildup front, but the money I put into it is mine to keep in that I pay for a module once, and not on a monthly subscription. I also have complete power over my data and can change hosting as needed. My accountant tells me there’s more resale value in a Magento site as such. There’s a much bigger learning curve with Magento, but the sheer power, vast features, and total flexibility for outweigh any cons.

Pros

Magento is an incredibly powerful tool. I investigated all the biggies in e-commerce when making the decision which one to implement for my store and magento came out on top each time. Everything is customizable and if something isn’t in the settings, there’s literally a module for that or one can hire a dev to build a custom module. Scalability is not at all an issue in this platform, which means you’re growing pains in the future. There’s nothing worse than putting in $100,000 of development work on a site that is obsolete in a few years. Unlike other platforms like Shopify and Woocommerce, this option has a more professional look and is a far more robust system. It’s also less likely to be used by scammer sites (Shopify is loaded with fake sites and the company doesn’t do much to stop this fraud.) The Magento dev community is strong and there is a lot of support online for newbies like me who have questions.

Cons

The enterprise version is insanely expensive. Not only do you pay a monthly fee, but the modules themselves cost double to three times more money than their community edition counterparts. The enterprise version doesn’t give flexibility of hosting providers and support only goes so far until we have to hire private devs for custom work. With both enterprise and community versions, Unless someone is well-versed in PHP, you’ll be forking out money for developers.

Reasons for Choosing Magento Commerce

Magento has far more functions, features and options out of the box than anything else. The database is robust and the system has been around long enough to know it’s not going to close shop any time soon.

Reasons for Switching to Magento Commerce

Shopify support was absolutely terrible and literally left me in tears by how I was treated by the support agent, who refused to hand me off to someone else. The only way to get the site to function as I needed it to was to throw thousands of dollars every month at various subscription based modules. They really nickel and dime their clients. Thankfully, Many of the features I need it came automatically with Magento community edition.

December 2018

User Profile Picture

Frederick from Figment Design, Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

December 2018

If you build it they will come really should be if you build on here you're stuck!

The platform is not plug and play the way Magento presents it to be. You are really only buying an outlined platform of how your site will approximately look. Most of the real work and heavy lifting still needs to be done in the programming. Not what expensive templates are supposed to deliver. Unless you can hire an in house experienced Magento developer stay away. You will either be taken advantage of and pay way too much for your site's development or be stuck with a foreign company impossible to communicate effectively. Almost all of the well know e-commerce platforms are easier to maneuver and have considerable affordable US based skilled help.

Pros

the ability to display and manipulate graphics is second to none.

Cons

We purchased megento 2.0 platform for our ecommerce site. We asked our friends at Magento to recommend some developers. My partners and I are fairly savy HTML programers and quick learners. We picked Magento because it came with a solid template and touted it's back end admin ease of usage. We figured we would hire a developer to make sure we had a correct skeloton and basic map of what we wanted in a site and then take over the work of actually writing and inserting the messaging and digital content. All the developers we were reffered to wanted starting retainers of $30,000 plus for what we knew would only be 10 to 20 hours of work for a developer familiar or specializing in Magento. We ended up finding our own magento developer who we thought understood our concepts and scope of work. Apparently they did but since most affordable Magento developers are based in India be prepared for all types of language issues and conference calls in the middle of the night. I'm sure we got what we paid for so shame on us but the alternative because of magento's lack of credible viable resources was to cancel the project.

April 2021

User Profile Picture

Greice from Arte no Papel

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Greater security, stability and customizations

My experience, with a customized products website, is the best possible, after everything installed I never had any problems with updates or conflicts.

Pros

MAGENTO provides a system that is the most customizable, stable and secure. Integrating it with your add-ons is easy and hassle-free. Of course, to have it all, you need a robust hosting that is consistent with the system.

Cons

Because it is more robust and requires a higher quality hosting, we also have a more exclusive product without the appearance of sites made on other systems that are all similar.

Reasons for Switching to Magento Commerce

Greater security in finalizations and payments.

August 2020

RAMAKANTA from Sociodigit

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Best Ecommerce Platform

Overall, Magento is a very good platform for me to start immediately an Ecommerce site. I have many clients and i have done very good design works for them over Magento. Easily add features according to client specification, very high secure and fast site.

Pros

Magento is a very good platform to make eCommerce sites easily and a lot of features inside it. Easily create a layout, adding multiple languages, adding manual codes easily. Apart from that Magento is a free platform to install it to server and start a website easily. Magento is a highly secure and fast loading site. Easy SEO platform.

Cons

Magento is a very good platform for Pro-Magento persons. But if you are a new person and plan to start magento then it'll take more time to know about the features inside it.

Reasons for Choosing Magento Commerce

Magento is a free platform to start an ecommerce site easily. Magento is a very reliable and easy to handle with out any cost. With some development and design knowledge a person can handle Magento sites.

Reasons for Switching to Magento Commerce

Shopify is also a very good platform for Ecommerce sites but Shopify charges monthly subscription. Shopify is more easy than Magento.

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Fabian from self

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

My Magento Review

Magento is the future of online shopping. You can truly customize your shop for any look, feel or functionality you need.

Pros

I could customize my online store to look the way I want it while giving my customers the online shopping experience they deserve. The reviews extension really helps with building credibility.

Cons

I found that starting to use Magento was extremely overwhelming. I had to spend hours just setting up a few features that I needed.

Reasons for Choosing Magento Commerce

Magento was cost effective versus shopify yet provided great functionality.

Reasons for Switching to Magento Commerce

I needed a more professional and intuitive platform which allowed multiple integrations with third party products.

February 2021

magatte from magattetop

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Magenta: The best CMS platform for e-commerce sites

MAgento CMS has many flaws, which must be corrected as quickly as possible. Another software like prestashop is much better than it. You can easily interact with customers, and you can also send automatic e-mails to customers. The customer positioning feature allows you to configure the relevant product set for each customer group. You can integrate fraud detection tools to minimize the risk of fraud from customers or suppliers. It allows administrators to easily customize its management interface. If you can avoid Magento, it's very good for you or your company.

Pros

The best CMS platform for e-commerce sites. It contains huge functions. Although I don't know all its features yet, I use it often. If you want to do something on an e-commerce website, Magento can deliver it to you. There are many free and paid extensions to extend the features. It is very easy to write code, so you don't need to hire a programmer to use this CMS for a great customization job.

Cons

It is a frequently used platform and always vulnerable to attacks. As a result, both in-house and outsourced IT teams must perform regular security updates. I think there is a version of Magento that has been discontinued, but for small businesses, you almost need something that can give them complex community publishing features, but it can be exploited by Magento. In the next few years we have to decide whether to stay in Magento or move, Shopify offers a very attractive hosted version.

Reasons for Switching to Magento Commerce

Prestashop is also one of the very good e-commerce platforms, but PrestaShop has almost no free plug-ins, most of its plug-ins and themes are paid for. PrestaShop is simpler and easier to adapt than Magento.

June 2019

Ashwani from Alphonic Network Solutions Pvt Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Good Ecommerce Software with Powerful Interface

Pros

Administrator- Features availability for admin is very good and if you are used of it then you can get each and every bit of data whatever you want to extract.

Cons

Biggest problem with the software is its complexity. If you are beginner then it is very difficult to understand the structure of its panel. Also plugins customisation seems to be very tricky. You have to look for many options if you want to explore this.

Reasons for Choosing Magento Commerce

Magento is more secure as compared to Woocommerce. As in woocommerce plugins are created by normal users it leads to security concern as it is easy to break through the security.

June 2019

User Profile Picture

Ryan from Innotech Security

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Security and Investigations

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Comprehensive and powerful e-commerce software

We've been using Magento for our company website for over 4 years. It allows us to easily showcase hundreds of products, while making it easy to update and maintain.

Pros

It is packed with features. I have used it for years and I still don't know all of it's capabilities. If you're looking to do anything with an ecommerce site, then magento can deliver. There are numerous free and paid extensions to expand the capabilities. It's very easy to code, so hiring a programmer for custom work is cheap and easy as well.

Cons

The learning curve is moderately steep, but it's nothing insurmountable. It just takes some practice and patience.

Reasons for Choosing Magento Commerce

Easier customization, better security, more features, more robust

March 2021

Sonja from Kitchfix

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2021

Magento Commerce Review

I am very comfortable and familiar with this software as it is what my company has been using for 5+ years, but I feel it really needs to be updated and adjusted to be more user friendly.

Pros

I really like how the customer/sales grid is organized. It is easy to find customer information very quickly.

Cons

I do not like how glitchy it is. There are constant issues with it on our website. I call our tech team almost daily with another glitch.

Reasons for Choosing Magento Commerce

We have a prepaid plan and are currently working to switch to a wordpress website.

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Emeka from Salesbay NG

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

A Robust Ecommerce Content Management System

My team used Magento to build our B2B ecommerce platform, and that helped us to get seed funding. It could have been more stressful to build the ecommerce website from scratch, but Magento eased off the stress appreciably.

Pros

Magento is a Content Management System (CMS) used for building ecommerce websites. I used Magento when I was part of a team that were building a B2B ecommerce website. Among the things I love about Magento include: 1. Ability to have multiple user accounts for one store: When I was working on the Ecommerce platform, there was a need to onboard merchants on the platform. The products to be onboarded were quite much and could have been very tedious for one person to onboard all of them. Thanks to the ability to create multiple user accounts for one store while using Magento. This helped to limit the stress. 2. Availability of themes and plugins; Magento makes use of themes and plugins for customisation. This is a beautiful feature as the theme allowed my team to make necessary changes so as to make the website as we desired. The plugin allowed us to add functionalities to the website. Among the functionalities that can be added include invoicing, delivery, etc. 3. Open source and free to use: Magento is an open source software and it is free to use. There are many free themes and plugins one can start using to build ecommerce websites of choice, though some themes and plugins are premium and need to be purchased before they can be used.

Cons

There are a few cons I observed about Magento. They include: 1. Hard to learn: It was the first time my team used Magento, and spent sleepless nights trying to understand how it works, and how to customise it. This was very stressful, and was the reason for which my team dumped it. 2. Expensive themes: Magento is not as widely used as some other ecommerce CMSs. This caused there to be fewer theme developers and also making the premium themes to be quite expensive. 3. Small community: Owing to the small user base of Magento, the community is quite small. This made it somewhat hard to get solutions online.

October 2019

Sachith from Pearson

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

For Large Scale Businesses

Overall, We recommend Magento as a remarkable choice for E-commerce especially for those companies whose sales are beyond $1-2 million. Magento provides an excellent platform for businessmen. Moreover, Magento allows its users to automatically update their E-commerce websites and offers companies with solutions and an extensive support network.

Pros

Opportunities: Magento provides a variety of opportunities for E-commerce in a single dashboard. It is equipped with an excellent Business to Business portal and management system, Additionally, it can store views which helps countries to manage all of their inventory. Such valuable information helps them to improve their catalogs and marketing in the future. Catalog: Magento provides an excellent platform when it comes to adding up a large number of items and products and piling it together for any storefront website. Also, it provides developers with high customizations and designing capabilities which makes their catalog even more attractive and fascinating for their customers.

Cons

Charges: No doubt Magento is great software but nothing comes for free, some of the features offered by Magento do not come for free and a subscription is required to gain access to them which seems to be pretty hefty unless the business is running successfully. Additionally, to gain access to the dedicated servers, the users have to pay a sturdy amount. Non-User Friendly: Magento is non-user friendly at times as it receives constant updates that create problems with the extensions and custom code s you have on the site. Additionally, when it comes to dealing with items in bulk Magento tends to lag and makes the uploading and converting a very slow process.

July 2019

Scott from SearchMaster Software

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Complicated But Can't Be Beat

I began using Magento over 15 years ago, in one of their earliest versions, when I had outgrown some of the boxed ASP.net solutions available at the time. The open source nature of the software is absolutely amazing, and it has been fun to watch it expand over all these years. Today I am running 6 different websites with different versions of Magento, and I've built many more than that, most of which are still in use. Magento makes it easy to create and deploy affordable eCommerce solutions that scale and grow with the customer, even if it is a bit tricky to learn for beginners.

Pros

Magento is easily the most extensive and full-featured piece of open-source eCommerce out there. Once you understand the layout, you'll find that it is very intuitive and flows perfectly. What really shines for me for Magento is all the different options available out there. Not only are there open source versions you can host and manage yourself, but you can pay for the enterprise versions too. There is basically a plug-in or module available at this point for anything you need to accomplish, along with thousands of professionals out there that can help if you get in a jam. Best of all, Magento easily grows with you and is simple to harness and hold back features from, any easy to unchain it and grow with you.

Cons

It took me a good bit of time to learn AND get comfortable with this software and how it works, which was a bit of a pain, so this software isn't for the faint of heart or a weekend warrior shop keeper who doesn't have extensive knowledge of HTML, CSS, PHP, etc.

Reasons for Choosing Magento Commerce

Magento is open source and more powerful and extensive than all the rest.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Robust Out of Box Features Paired with Customization

In terms of e-commerce platforms, Magento has proven to be a great value because of it extensive out of box features and relatively moderate price. Overall, it is one of the more commonly used platforms, so it is easier to find developers who know and are willing to work with the platform, which can reduce your maintenance costs.

Pros

The Magento E-Commerce platform offers a wide array of out of box features that are ideal for managing an online store. The platform also provides an extensive amount of flexibility for add-ons and customizations to cater to your specific business model and fulfillment needs. Extensions/Modules for the platform are readily available through a variety of vendors and developers at varying costs depending on the complexity of the feature involved. In a marketplace filled with expensive annual license fees and strict feature offerings, Magento is a great value for the investment.

Cons

Magento has changed it target audience significantly since its acquisition by Adobe, now catering more to mid- to large-size businesses. This is reflective in its pricing model and its termination of support for the older version of the version of the Community platform (Magento 1). It's flexibility for modules and extensions, while very beneficial, can create complexity and additional development cost when attempting to update the platform, as news releases of the corresponding extensions also needs to be available in order to ensure compatibility. The platform must be properly updated and maintained on a regular basis in order to reduce security vulnerability, which is a responsibility that falls on the consumer as opposed to Magento. Corporate support for the platform is available, but if you do not have an annual subscription the service is not as prompt.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Best Enterprise Level eCommerce Platform

Magento is incredible if you have the technical team and developers that know how to work with it and make it shine.

Pros

Magento has a lot of functionality out of the box to set up and ecommerce store. The UX for M2 is significantly better than it was on M1. You can really narrow down the scope of permissions that your provide to users.

Cons

There have been a lot of bugs that have come up that should have been worked out before release. There is a fairly high technical barrier to entry compared to other platforms.

Reasons for Choosing Magento Commerce

It offers the best platform to customize development work on top of for an enterprise level site.

August 2018

Stephanie from ChutingStar

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Flexible and Administration Ease

Enterprise and dealing with the development company that supported us was terrible but community and a local developer has been great. We didn't have the budget for the big version but were sold into it by the developer when the community version was more appropriate.

Pros

We are a small family business and reliant (for many things) on our ability to manage the back end of our site. Neither of us have a background in building sites, managing integration, etc. but we have been able to get very comfortable with the back end of the site. For a novice or inexperienced person, I was surprised that I could pick it up quickly. We use the community version which has been critical to controlling costs. At that same time, we haven't sacrificed functionality in that there are some incredible plug-ins that ultimately replaced the Enterprise functionality (which we moved away from because of the annual price tag). We also work with a small development company locally who manage the set up of the plug-ins (but quite honestly it seems fairly straightforward). As the site "breaks" (for lack of a better word), we have our developer do it.

Cons

It's possible that it is far more plug and play than I realize for plug-ins but would love to see something user friendly created. There used to be some version of Magento that I think was discontinued but you almost need something for smaller companies that gives them the sophistication of the community edition but potentially managed by Magento. In the next few years, we need to make a decision to stay on Magento or move and Shopify has a managed version that is very intriguing. Our computers are using it and Big Commerce and they look every bit as sophisticated on the front end as we do but we are reliant on a separate developer who could move on or go out of business. A stable subscription based product for larger small businesses would be great.

August 2019

Charlie from Retail

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

An In-depth eCommerce platform if you know how to use it to its potential.

Great platform if you have the development team and budget behind you!

Pros

I've been using Magento for over 2 years as the main eCommerce platform for an internet based company and is a great bit of kit if you know what your doing. Magento offer a couple of versions to choose from, giving you the ability to select the right platform for your level of expertise. The platform itself offers an indepth eCommerce system with the ability to pull reports, manage products, promotions, sales and much more, easily and effectively while offering a whole load of other back ground features to really help take your business to another level. In terms of support there is a whole world of this available via reading Q&A or by contacting them directly. They have a whole help centre dedicated to their platform and offering reasonable support when needed.

Cons

If you're a beginner into the world of eCommerce platforms then Magento isn't the platform for you. The interface is complex and can come across as a bit overwhelming if you don't know where you're looking for something. While it is a great platform, it is aimed at developers who have the experience to know what they are doing with it. Its not a platform for small businesses looking to set up shop for the first time. While not a direct reflection on Magento, we suffered lots of attacks from spam bots, some reports where not filtering correctly and we eventually changed to Wordpress when we rebranded. The move was a welcome one as unless you really get to depths with Magento, it can have a draw back effect.

March 2020

Umair from Butt IT Solutions

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Professional and Awesome E-Commerce Platform

I am using Magento in my E-commerce websites and also I have used this platform for my clients. My overall experience with Magento is really awesome because this is the platform that allows me to add products on client's websites with lots of details. My all clients are really happy with the work that I have done for them using Magento. Because this platform gives really unique and professional look to the websites. It's really incredible and it has solved all the eCommerce problems which I was facing in the past. Now I have created a number of online stores using Magento.

Pros

According to my experience, there are lots of things that I like in Magento. This platform gives you the power to create and build professional e-Commerce stores. We can add products in different categories and we can add complete details of the product. Purchasing options for the product are really fabulous and incredible because we can add different payment options. The dashboard is really easy to understand and use. This is the best open-source e-commerce platform that allows you to add beautiful and stunning themes for your website, So you can build a beautiful e-commerce website.

Cons

If you are going to install Magento on Local Server, then the method is a bit difficult. But if you are going to install on your own hosting then the process is really easy. So according to my experience, the process of Magento localhost installation should be easy for beginners. All other things about Magento are really awesome and fabulous.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Great For Larger Businesses

Mostly positive. Any obstacle can be overcome but still if I didn't need the bells and whistles I would go somewhere else.

Pros

Magento is open source. You can add anything you want there are an unlimited number of developers and extensions available and with Magento 2 the code is more regulated. It is very easy to scale.

Cons

Time intensive. For anyone who doesn't need frills Magento is a hassle. It requires constant care, constantly has performance issues and you always need to work on those. It's a highly used platform that is always open to attacks and so security updates need to be done regularly by your in-house or outsourced IT team. It's a lot of work.

Reasons for Switching to Magento Commerce

Shopify didn't offer many options that were important to us at the time. For example multi select layered navigation. good filteration and multiple warehouse management.

March 2019

User Profile Picture

Chamath from AdSpark.IO

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Magento makes your investments very worthwhile

Magento solves your eCommerce solutions even if you have an online business which requires scaling. Magento helps you to be hosted by eCommerce solutions like Volusion and Shopify that gives the flexibility you need.

Pros

Are you looking for a solution in eCommerce? Magento provides you the solution of eCommerce. Magento makes your investments very worthwhile even if it is your main business. It has been recommended as one of the best solutions to eCommerce since it is flexible and scalable. It has also become so much popular for the fact many companies bear its name. Pros - 1. It is user-friendly. Magento’s administration is has a very simple back end which is easy to navigate and has very perfectly arranged store management features. 2. It is affordable for anyone. The community version Magento doesn’t require any money to afford since it is free. 3. It is flexible. You have the chance to create anything in Magento because it has been designed in a way that you can customize anything you want. 4. It also gives the ability to fully control the code thereby developing the type of functionality you require. 5. It is easy to scale. Magento designed in a scalable way on any amount of products you are selling.

Cons

Cons- 1. Only the community version of Magento is cheap. The other versions of Magento including support and enterprise and the premium enterprise versions aren’t freely available. Their prices are very high for every person to afford. 2. Magento can only be hosted on dedicated servers. Since it is large, it can’t be hosted in small servers that aren’t dedicated because it needs to be configured. 3. It requires a lot of time to customize using magneto. The architecture who have designed it have made it complicated and hence it takes a lot of time to learn the learning curve and make customizations as compared to other eCommerce solutions.

October 2019

Binujaya from Sysco LABS Sri Lanka

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Magento – The largest community that one can have

In short words, I wouldn’t recommend using this software. It’s has a lot of flaws which need to be fixed as fast as possible. Other software is much better than Magento. It’s not worth your time and money. It’s too expensive and provides little for that kind of money. If you can avoid using Magento that would be perfect for you or your company.

Pros

What I like about Magento is that they have a large community. A lot of people are using Magento and they are facing the same problems as you. So they can help you out if you just reach them. One simple message should be fine. This is the main thing that I like but besides this Magento offers you some features that other software companies don’t. Like managing multiple stores or if you want you can manage just one. By managing an online store Magento offers you full control over the store and the codes and you can develop them in a way that you want.

Cons

Now what I don’t like is that for you to use Magento you need to have some previous experience in coding. It’s not easy to use, not everyone can use it. Another thing is that is costly. It’s not worth the money that you are giving because you won’t get anything in return. Magento sometimes works very slow which is not optimal if you are managing a store. Plus it doesn’t have any customer service support which means you are on your own.

May 2020

User Profile Picture

Steve from Holiday Inn Express

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Magento Among the Best for eCommerce

Overall, I have been very satisfied with Magento Commerce. It did take some getting use to, and now that there are some other competitors in the market, I'd say that Magento has passed my expectations and I would consider Magento as a top competitor for eCommerce. Definitely watch a few tutorials to get an idea about the initial setup, and give Magento Commerce a try.

Pros

Magento is incredibly flexible, it allows you to start with a framework that has the function to develop an eCommerce platform / store just how you'd want it. There are numerous add-ons that intergrate effectively making it somewhat of an easy plug and play. Considering that I was working on one platform to run several micro-niche stores, it works extremelly well. There's a lot to learn, but it's a superb platform for eCommerce.

Cons

Just like any business, there will be some investments to make in order to get the eCommerce platform to perform the way you want it to, however, there's a steep learning curve at least from my experience. I had to read and watch a lot of tutorials to get the websites where I wanted them to be but it was also educational since this was the first time I was setting up multi-stores. It was a rather complex procedure, and I had to rely on Magento experts at times to help with the development of the site.

Reasons for Choosing Magento Commerce

At the time, I wanted a reliable eCommerce platform that catered to multi niche stores and it didn't disappoint!

February 2018

Samuel from Eiffel Sites Web Design

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Robust, but SO Much Work to Use

Honestly, very few. I suppose it's good to have gained a little experience with Magento to add to my repertoire, but that's about it.

Pros

There are a plethora of installed features: search term synonyms, built-in marketing tools, detailed shipping/packaging settings, separate catalog and cart price rules, etc. It's a monster of a platform, one that serves many companies very well. Not having to install a hundred plugins (like on WP) to do what Magento does out of the box is a plus, for sure, not to mention having to worry about the compatibility, support, and updates on WP plugins.

Cons

Go away for 5 minutes, you're signed out. Also, literally every website I download Magento to has to have everything reindexed. I get this message immediately after installing Magento: "One or more indexers are invalid. Make sure your Magento cron job is running." Very little info out there on how to fix this, so the first go around was a bit tricky. Not impossible or difficult now, but it's not a good feeling when you install software and immediately it appears broken. It is simply not easy to make a site look good with Magento. You can, for sure, but it requires SO much more work than other platforms, and there's not an easy way to view the front end without going live. The idea of not having plugins seemed appealing, but after using Magento, I only use WP with WooCommerce unless a client near-demands that I use Magento. It just takes way to long to create anything. The time I would have spent installing, updating, or researching plugins in WP, I wasted just trying to find my way around Magento. There should be a way to create a quick menu or admin favorites bar or something, so it doesn't take 3 clicks/pages just to get to where you want to be.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

With Magento, developer training is important

My introduction to Magento was very bad. I was a developer that got handed a Magento website that had been built by someone who had never used Magento before. I broke many things. I fixed other things. I would find about 5 articles describing how to fix something and none of them said the same thing and sometimes none of it would work. I took an introduction to Magento course and things started making a lot more sense. Please, for the sanity of whoever builds your site, make sure they get training if they need it.

Pros

Magento lets you do so much right out of the box even with the free community edition. It has great product management, comprehensive discounting options, multilingual functionality and more. Customization can also be done to hook Magento into your CRM software, simplifying inventory management. Since Magento is so popular there's a good chance that if you have a problem to solve someone else has already tried, and possibly succeeded, at solving it. There is a large plugin marketplace.

Cons

Magento is a beast. You will not be able to make template or other programmatic changes to a Magento without a developer. Even then, the developer you have may struggle because the code can be complicated and confusing and online resources are often out of date or for the wrong version. If you are going to use Magento I strongly recommend that you get a developer that has worked on at least one Magento in the past. If you have the money and time to get your developer trained, Magento offers courses and I found them quite helpful.

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Oshan from Azbow Pvt. Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Magento : Perfect eCommerce platform

More than just an ordinary eCommerce platform which is efficient and effective .

Pros

Magento is suitable for any business group whether it is a small or large business and its admin dashboard will provide a perfect overview of the business.We can use free and paid plugins as our requirements.It is a Responsive eCommerce platform which can runs on any mobile or computer devices and also Highly customizable and developer friendly CMS platform.Enriched with important features and functionalities to provide everything in a one platform. Magento is capable for integrations such as payment gateways and able to set up currency and languages depend on the location.

Cons

I'm using magento 2.2 . The main con according to me is, when i need to edit the content of a page it will give us only a small size text area(text box) which is difficult to work with using mouse scroll and also If we are having large number of products website may slow with its performance. Developer skills are required if we want to customize the platform.

February 2017

Stella from Wrightson and Platt

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Magento a Good Starting Place for an Online Store

Initially Magento was implemented by a website design company to create a website to sell a bespoke service and products for us. Set up as a website that we can maintain and develop in house, which we have done for the past 4 years. We do not use the shop and buy basket element of Magento. But I can see it would be a beneficial website use for companies selling off the shelf products. It is fairly easy to use but basic HTML5 knowledge is beneficial. Multiple users is helpful, that has required training in house. Magento role out security patches that need to be applied; we have these applied by an external company. As a B2C company, we do not actually use payments online so I unable to comment on that element of Magento. For the version of Magento that we use, we do not have access to their customer support however on the occasion I contacted them and they informed me this; they were helpful and at least put me in the right direction. The entire set up is good for a ecommerce; it is especially good for maintaining SEO well and updating it regularly.

Pros

Multiple users and ease to update website data and information.

Cons

Some elements can not be updated in house and require a developer/programmer.

August 2019

Christos from JNBC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

The most sophisticated platform to build online stores

Magento has helped us provide our clients with the best online stores possible. The websites are robust, fast, and safe.

Pros

With magento we are able to build the best performing online stores for our clients. Magento is very robust and can support online stores of huge volumes of traffic or products.

Cons

Magento is quite difficult to set-up. A lot of infrastructure is required even for the simplest online store which makes it suitable only for high-end clients.

Reasons for Choosing Magento Commerce

Magento is a much more robust platform for high demand online stores.

October 2020

Joshua from La Sportiva N.A., Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Sporting Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Online Business Made Easy

Pros

We use this Magento as our primary machine for our online website where we sell products. The interface is very user friendly, and even without training I would be able to navigate and comfortably. We are able to integrate with Celigo and NetSuite which makes all of our most important systems able to function as one. Easily able to review purchases, adjust product price levels, even change tax rules, etc.. The customer service is always good.

Cons

I have been using Magento the entire time I have been at La Sportiva which has been about three and a half years. This is the only website back end I have known, and I have never had issues before. We had a strange tax problem earlier in the year and it turns out that we had specific tax rules set on different "store types" so this was causing customers to pay wrong tax amounts. This was super frustrating but we were able to fix it after a few months. That was probably the worst thing we've experienced.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Industrial performance on an open source platform

Incredible way to leverage the power of e-commerce on the internet.

Pros

Magento proves time and time again to be scalable beyond any other e-commerce platform that I've tried. With millions of plugins and plenty of developers working freelance worldwide, we've never hit a problem that can't be solved with an inexpensive plugin or a few hours of third-party development costs. We've put through tens of millions of pounds of transactions throughout the years and the ability of the websites to handle peaks and troughs of traffic are unparalleled.

Cons

The software needs a true developer to customise it's functionality. If you wish to do something that is not handled by a plugin, the process of specifying and developing a custom function takes more involvement than on other platforms. Magento provides a bulletproof solution for enterprises where a member of staff can be tasked with the daily running of the site, it's not a "fire and Forget" solution by any stretch of the imagination.

January 2018

Kristine from Isle Royale & Keweenaw Parks Association

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2018

Magento Community V.1.9.3.6

Both our website consultant and one of the third-party module developers have recommended against upgrading to the newer Magento platform, advising that it wouldn't reduce any of the problems we have experienced.

Pros

As a small nonprofit, we couldn't afford most ecommerce platforms, and Magento has worked reasonably well for us over the past 3-1/2 years. Our website looks nice, and is relatively straightforward to update after a moderately steep learning curve for people with very limited prior website management experience.

Cons

It isn't set up for membership organizations, which we are in addition to selling products. Third-party modules have significant limitations. We have a membership module that our local web consultant has been able to reprogram to work better for us as problems became apparent (at extra expense, of course). Another module connecting Magento to Square POS sends only the total amount paid to Square, requiring us to do a lot of record-keeping in a separate spreadsheet for sales tax, member dues and donations, etc.

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Kevin from DoggieLawn

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Still the best scalable e-commerce platform i've used

Am surprised that Magento sort of ranks below Joomla, drupal and shopify in current market shares but I would definitely be comfortable with only relying on Magento

Pros

Magento has been around a long time and has many stable patches released, community of forums and help along with long list of extensions/plugins. Magento structure is nice for keeping up and learning MVC. The free community edition is already enough to run full fledge e-commerce site as well as given the option to do multi-stores in the same account. As a developer i did not want a out of the block low-coding to start off with (wordpress/shopify) so its a great tool to keep up with.

Cons

Magento initially always tends to be pretty slow. The admin procedures such as exports, updating, backup, etc all seem a little unstable at times. Understanding your current state and limit of scalability(before improving it some other way) always seems questionable or hard to gauge at first.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Super powerful, but can be cumbersome

Pros

Magento is clearly one of the most powerful and robust ecommerce tools out there. The Shopify approach, while great, takes a lot of the tools out your hands—tools you may need to make important technical changes to your store. Magento is very flexible, fast, and able to suit stores from small level to enterprise billion dollar retailers.

Cons

Where Shopify hides or locks certain technical settings from you, Magento gives you more access. But this can also leave your store open to being accidentally messed up by an employee that hits the wrong button. I've often said that while Magento can be fine for small start up ecommerce stores, it is best suited for bigtime enterprise level retailers with a team dedicated to fully utilize the tools Magento makes available to you. For the average employee for a small boutique, for instance, Shopify seems to make things a bit easier.

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Abid from Bank Alfalah Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

The best E-commerce Platform for Website

My overall experience with Magento is really awesome and good. Because I have developed a number of websites for my users using the Magento. My customers really like the themes and templates of Magento. I really like the payment gateways which I can add on my website using the Magento. No doubt, the process of adding the product on the websites is really easy and simple. I always use some external extensions for different e-commerce purposes. In short, I am really satisfied with Magento and I really love and like this unique e-commerce shopping platform.

Pros

Magento commerce allows you to build stunning and professional e-commerce websites. You can increase your online shopping experience. The dashboard is really simple and incredible, where you can easily add products with different content like a description of the product and images of the product. You can see order and customer details in such a simple way. Magento Marketplace is the platform where you can get professional extensions for your Magento commerce website. These modules can improve your online store business and can give a unique and professional look to your website.

Cons

No doubt, Magento is the best e-commerce platform which is very best for the beginners and also for the advanced users. Selling products online now very easy with Magento. I don't think so there is any negative point in Magento. Because all options are really incredible and fabulous for the e-commerce business users ans also for the customers.

January 2021

Aris from POWERPC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Magento for big expectations

We are using Magento mostly to develop vendor marketplaces, multi-store marketplaces, supplier e-shops that are serving XML and JSON feeds with thousands of products to retail stores. It's stability and power for those type of projects is amazing and never failed us or any of our customers on production.

Pros

As a developer when using Magento for big projects I like that I can develop my extensions using Composer which I am familiar using with other projects too, making development easier and familiar. I like the One Page Checkout feature that is offered out of the box, because with other e-commerce platforms I need to install a template to convert the checkout page to 1-page checkout. Customers usually leave if the steps required to complete an order are many or hard to complete. Varnish for caching is a MUST and easy to setup on Magento, that's what I like most, because for big scale projects caching and performance is always required by default!

Cons

Magento is already secure, but I would recommend to make more security tools or strict development guidelines especially for developers, that if the community follows, it will take security of the platform to another level. This would be very useful for big scale projects and big companies that are relied on Magento to store and secure sensitive data.

November 2020

User Profile Picture

Rob from Robustas Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Brick & Mortar and eCommerce store made easy

The fact that you’ve got Desktop, Mobile and Brick and Mortar all handled in one place, your shop will be up and running within a ridiculously short amount of time. The power of Magento takes the hard work out, leaving you with the easy work of offering your customers a great experience from arriving, to leaving with what they were looking for...

Pros

Magento makes it quick and easy to add and manage your inventory. From importing your old (archaic) spreadsheets and adding photos, to grouping your products in coherent sections, Magento Commerce quickly brings your brick and mortar stock into an ePos system, and simplifies the process in getting your online store out to the world swiftly. The templates allow you to put your company branding into a strong online offering, with both desktop and mobile support cleanly and crisply delivered. The fact that Magento is built to manage stock sold both in store and online in one simple central content management system ensures that all orders will be processed quickly and efficiently. Even organising the reordering process can be automated through multiple vendors, and stock taking will be at the click of the mouse (or the touch of the screen) Payment processing is out of the box, with payment merchants easily added and many offered.

Cons

I guess the only real issue is how well you’ve organised your stock before starting with Magento, but this will apply to any eCommerce platform. I was using several CSV/excel spreadsheets, but once you’ve cleansed (corrected duplicates, ensured product IDs etc were correct), Magento will do all the heavy lifting for you on import. I wouldn’t really say that this is a negative, as it’s a standard housekeeping that you would do on any eCommerce platform.

August 2019

Lydia from Spirit Fitness

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Sporting Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Perfect for online sales management

We've been using Magento to develop and manage several websites for the past few years. While my team was not the one to create the website, we were given a lot of access to manage and customize it as needed. Including running ads, using widgets like location finders, etc. I also appreciated the places where you could instantly change a product value everywhere on the site.

Pros

• Ease of use for new users • Options to restrict and permit users to have certain features • Visual Set up • Universal information implementation

Cons

• If your admin set you up incorrectly, you may be limited in your actions. • Older versions are a little more confusing

Reasons for Switching to Magento Commerce

We took one website that was ancient and hand-coded to move to Magento so we could implement functional & relevant updates, and have functional online sales. We had used an older version of Magento on one site, but were convinced to use it on all.

March 2018

User Profile Picture

Pedro from Unilever

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Great ecommerce tool, providing 2 different models (one free and another one paid).

Not having to develop my own ecommerce platform

Pros

One of the most important things is really well prepared for handling the most common ecommerce businesses requirements out of the box even in the free version (paid version provides thinks like RMA support also), especially important supports international business setups. The things that are not handled out of the box can be completed through modules, some free/ some paid.

Cons

That hey don't have a SaaS option (they used in the past, Magento Go) as that will be easier for startups and SMB. Also the installation of the modules should be made more plug and play without needing tech support and more stable, as some time when adding new modules they crash with each other, and that means everything requires a lot of testing, that could be time consuming. In comparison to tools like shopify, Magento is much more complex.

January 2020

Wim from Teakea

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Furniture

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Can do it with Magento

it has a steep learning curve. but once you got it right, it has a lot of nice features which turns to a higher conversion-rate.

Pros

The Endless Possibilities thanks to the programming freedom given bij the Magento cms. Robust system

Cons

the EOL (End Of Life) of Magento 1, and the migration to Magento 2. it's a though one to get it done properly.

Reasons for Choosing Magento Commerce

because of the possibilities, strong seo-tech

January 2021

Emily from Epsilon

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2021

Free e-commerce platform to boost your business capabilities

You can interact with your customers and clients easily as well as you can send automated emails as reminders for your customers to proceed with their purchasing details, or their shipment status, etc. The customer targeting feature lets you configure relevant sets of products to each segment of customers. You can integrate with fraud detection tools to minimize the chances of fraudulent customer or vendor behaviors. It allows admins to personalize their management interface for their convenience.

Pros

With help of this platform, you can build your innovative businesses through e-commerce websites and provide your customers with enhanced shopping experiences. You can implement customer segmentation to serve each client accordingly and helps in providing personalized shopping experiences to your customers. It allows you to specify prices for your different product categories and you can customize prices and promotions with different discount rates. You cand add different shipping and payment methods.

Cons

Launching projects on this platform seems to be very slow. Magento’s renewal costs may be expensive for smaller companies. It is resource intensive and you are required to have a heavier server to deploy and run this program. Sometimes it can be buggy with payment handles and sales tracking, otherwise, if you have to run non complex and smaller businesses, you probably will not face any of such issues with this software.

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Katie from Regis Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Customization = Best in class

To customize the user experience and create clear brand awareness. With premium content and an intuitive UX/UI comes increase to website conversions.

Pros

Customize your heart out! Magento's base functionality has thousands of custom configurations that can be combined to create an intuitive user experience no matter how you want your site/store to function. If you're setting up an eCommerce store, this is by far the most amazing option as far as CMS is goes. Their user guides and training handouts make it easy to learn. Magento U training courses are invaluable to understanding the verbiage and concepts used across the software. (Scopes and creating any type of rule)

Cons

Extensions requires to further customize can be a bit clunky. I wish further analytics were provided based on marketing features and rules created. Also, for a CMS that provides such a seamless user experience, the admin tool is quite clicky. The return key should work to apply filters and such- instead it requires clicks to move forward and such.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

It was easy to transition from WordPress to Magento for a large e-commerce site

Ability to successfully handle business with various types of customers for a business that does both b2c and b2b.

Pros

I used to think that WordPress was the best CMS available. However, once I started working for a company with complex e-commerce needs, I soon realized that WordPress just wouldn't do the job. What I enjoy about Magento is its ability to handle complex systems, and it's ability to integrate with various systems and plugins. Our business is both b2c and b2b, and I'm amazed at Magento's ability to handle our different types of customers.

Cons

At first I felt like the interface was a little clunky. It was not as clean of an interface as I was used to with WordPress. At first it can be a little overwhelming to navigate, but it doesn't take too long for the interface to become second nature. Also, there are a few work arounds that are needed here-and-there. For example, it's easier to copy and paste html code into a text editor instead of editing it within Magento. And sometimes there is a "save and continue" button that doesn't make much sense, as it redirects you to another page as soon as you save your work. But you get used to all of this pretty quickly.

August 2018

User Profile Picture

Thamara from Edhirya IT Pvt Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Reliable CMS platform

Developer skills also essential to have a perfect Magento CMS .

Pros

I am using Magento platform for more than 1 year. During this time period, I have experienced following capabilities which made me think that Magento is a reliable & easy to use CMS platform. * You can customize source code and you can accomplish your desired functions for your business. * Platform setting up is easy if you follow their documentation. * Best e-commerce platform to startup a large online store. * Developer friendly open source application. * Admin dashboard will reflect your business growth. * Can have large number of products without any disturbances. * Can change currencies according to yours location.

Cons

* Have to flush the Magento cache once you have done changes using admin dashboard. * Not easy to use without IT knowledge. (Due to complexity) * If you have any desired functionalities you must have developer skills to accomplish the task. * Few free extensions are available.

March 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Magento Review

Pros

its environment and easy to setup the basic features and the theme development is easy

Cons

WHen we want to install additional features its hard to write the code and embed it in the current platform unless we know the whole module

Reasons for Choosing Magento Commerce

It is recommended for us when we started thinking of developing an online shops platform

January 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Perfect enterprise level eCommerce platform

There are definitely (cheaper) alternatives to Magento, but not many with so many features, plugins, and customizations available. The price tag can be high, but with a large budget, it will definitely pay off to go this route.

Pros

There are two offerings for Magento, a free open source version, and a paid enterprise version that builds on the same open source framework with additional features. This can be incredibly helpful for a smaller company that wants an enterprise-level eCommerce platform, but has a smaller budget. The application has many builtin features with even more available via third party extensions.

Cons

New versions tend to be rather large, code-breaking upgrades. When upgrading, it is necessary to retest lots of features and can require several code updates.

September 2019

User Profile Picture

Maryann from Jumia Nigeria

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Magento - great features

My experience with Magento was a bit tough during the learning process but after that it has been awesome. I would always recommend Magento.

Pros

First, I want to say Magenti is not as easy as shopify but with a little bit of learning, I was able to handle it. Magento is an excellent store building platform with great features and customizations. I was able to download Magento open source for free. I love the fact that they have an excellent active global community that's ready to thrash any problem. Did I say this software made for any type of business, products or services.

Cons

Free but I needed to pay for hosting, domain, add ons, payment processing etc. If you want great specs and features then you've to pay.

February 2019

User Profile Picture

Stella from Mwaniki Gachoka & Co Advocates

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

E-commerce with Magento

I have not had a difficult time with Magento other than maybe the learning process of how the whole thing works.

Pros

Magento offers a one-stop place for hosting your website. It has a variety of good features that make it attractive for web hosting. Magento offers us an option of installing more than 5000 extensions to suit our e-commerce platform. When using Magento, you can simply customize your website to suit your platform. The fact that you can also get it for free was one of the factors that made us choose it to host our platform. Magento offered our website scalability in terms of the number of products that the website could hold

Cons

With Magento, we had to engage the services of a developer which was an added cost. The theme that the Magento mother company offered were not attractive and therefore we had to engage a third party to get an attractive theme.

February 2018

Rob from Best Value Vacs

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

By FAR the best platform our company has used for E-Commerce

Great E-Commerce platform that any small business owner should turn to when hosting their own website platform.

Pros

Magento can do almost everything and anything and there are so many plugins and addon's from the Magento community that pushes it far beyond just a website platform into something else that can really be tailored to fit your websites needs. Our Company came from the Yahoo platform and that was just a 4 wall padded cell compared to Magento which is beyond anything we can fully utilize to its maximum potential for our E-Commerce business.

Cons

There is some learning curve to Magento; however, with a little time it is easy enough to master and ends up having much more functionality and versatility in the long run.

May 2020

Devesh from Susania (OPC) Pvt Ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Best CMS Platform for E-Commerce Websites

Pros

The security is best compared to other CMS platform such as WordPress, Joomla, etc.

Cons

Little complicated to use the CMS as it's little complex. The cost of themes and plugins is expensive. So if user wants to have base minimum application to develop he / she has to shell too much compare to other CMS platforms.

Reasons for Choosing Magento Commerce

Shopify is Saas and required monthly or annual subscription.

Reasons for Switching to Magento Commerce

Switch was due to Security aspects keeping in mind

March 2019

Sunho from SK Design Concepts LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Community 2.0 version is the way to go!

We've been with Magento for 10 years now and we do not see a reason to go to any other platform as most are subscription based which is not so great for you.

Pros

Great platform to built your Ecommerce website. If you have programming knowledge you are all set! If not, you can hire a Magento Developer to get exactly what you want out of your website. Lots of extensions to customize the user and backend experience. V2.0 has made the backend experience on par with other platforms.

Cons

You need to know how to code to get a well functioning website. It is not as easy as shopify to setup and get running. However there are many developers who you can hire via upwork and other freelance websites.

April 2018

Lindsey from Hobby Horse Clothing Co.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Magento makes our website look great! There are a LOT of layers to the software.

We are able to manage our website in house without having to hire too many outside contractors. We can personalize and update as things come up. It's nice to be able to have this control at our finger tips.

Pros

There are SO many options for personalizing the look of our website. Also, creating associated SKUs from a configurable SKU speed the process along, especially considering we are multiple clothing lines that we produce and release each year.

Cons

A lot of things that seem "normal" on website we visit cost extra to add to our platform. There is no simple way to bulk price change or discontinue products. We use simple SKUs and configurable SKUs and would think that the information would trickle down from the configurable to the simple SKUs that are associated to it, but they don't. So for price changing, we have to go into every single simple SKU (all sizes within all colors) to make any updates.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 525 reviews