User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(75)

75

4 stars

(61)

61

3 stars

(17)

17

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(4)

4

  • Pros

  • "It's free and relatively easy to use. I like the fact that there are lots of modules you can add on to create better functionality"

  • "Great features, great team, great support. If you need an online store, in any field, any language, and any country, PrestaShop is absolutely the best choice!"

  • "Versatile, easy to learn, easy to manage, design"

  • Cons

  • "I had one concern about bulk editing products, but fixed that with import/export function. It is a workaround not a fix, but still works"

  • "Limits with big enterprise, big cost on infrastructure but you won't pay for software. "

  • "plug-ins costs can be a killjoy at times and excessive updates make it scary too. Good for a start but will realize you need to purchase some plugins somehow down the line for better management."

Browse PrestaShop Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 159 results

July 2019

User Profile Picture

Alicia from Vinco Orbis Proyectos SA de CV

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Solid e-commerce solution

It's a great product, however you do need a developer team to have it fully set up. If you have a dev team, this is the best option since you can have pretty much unlimited customization options.

Pros

Prestashop is a wonderful solution for creating a fully personalized e-commerce website. I also has a wide range of add-ons to complement what you're looking for. This add ons include solutions for gateways for payments, marketing, and design/display.

Cons

Add-ons can be a bit expensive. Also the learning curve for the admin users can be pretty steep.

Reasons for Switching to PrestaShop

Ease of use and to eliminate the need for Magento trained developers.

February 2021

Olusegun from Self-Employed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

A Beautiful User Interface Shopping Cart Software

Its a great shopping cart software , it only needs the developer of the shopping cart to make the admin dashboard to be easy to use, then all countries needs to be added by default in their future versions. As for the front end design, its perfect! then

Pros

I so much love its themes because they're so elegant and responsive on all devices. Prestashop also has some nice plugins which are free then i love its product image zoom feature. Then cross-selling products on Prestashop is excellent. Ability to install different languages at the admin dashboard so that the website visitors can translate the store in their respective languages is great.

Cons

Prestashop themes are expensive and their customer support doesn't respond on time which isn't good enough. All countries aren't installed in the localization section of the admin dashboard which will hinder those buyers from the excluded countries from completing their transactions. Whenever you have issues at the admin dashboard section, you must have a basic PHP knowledge to fix it

Reasons for Choosing PrestaShop

The front end design of Prestashop and i don't know much about 3dcart so that made me choose Prestashop over 3dcart

Reasons for Switching to PrestaShop

most of the modules of xCart are premium and costly then they aren't easy to install, any error while installing the modules can affect the entire website

October 2019

John from veganline

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

good since the fork but it has changed its name; this is the review of the one called prestashop

Last in a series of failed attempts to get a 21st century ecommerce site. I have a 20th century one but hoped for better. Two problems with the open source ones are (a) Over-large companies funded by venture capital or just ambition, that half-finish a neat project and then sell it half finished and try to cover-up the mistake by selling modules for the most obvious basic things like checkout and shipping. This applies to Drupal Commerce, a lot, to some of the various Wordpress carts, and to Prestashop. (b) Mission creep by which an app that installs onto shared hosting suddenly becomes too large to run on that host. This applies to Drupal projects and probably to Prestashop a bit too. So: the experience is the same as with Drupal Commerce and bits of wordpress stuff. i am a lot happier now I am on a forked version of prestashop. Oh talking of "fork" and "open source", this is a DIY project with some free help maybe on message boards and with free installation from software installers on most hosting, but mainly paid in hours rather than pounds. When i spend money it was on ill-judged attempts to find a one page checkout module that turned-out not to cope with a particular server or to solve the specific problems of the default checkout.

Pros

Separate templates, codes, and html Small and purpose-specific enough to run on some shared hosting (with a cache). Small and purpose-specific enough to teach yourself you to use it (I hoped, although wrongly because of the bugs.) Neat enough to run in its pure form without the need to buy lots of modules in case they help (I hoped, wrongly because of the bugs)

Cons

Dozens of employees funded by selling modules. Next to nobody fixing bugs because it's not in their interest. Look for a solution to an awkwardness with the default one page checkout, for example, and you see threads years-old with unresolved problems, even when the solution is just a line or two of code. For example the code that shows something of the payment methods before a user has selected a country to confirm the payment amount. Or one I discovered by mistake - if you manage to hack your way through the order form, simplifying it and forcing it to use guest checkout - Prestashop refuses to accept a repeat customer with the same email address. It requires each customer to open an account. The renamed forked version, I discovered while doing this, is fixed; it allows customers to remain "guest" and for two to have the same email address. Changes to the software seem to come down from the top of the hierarchy rather than up from the needs of users. For example version 1.7 has less free built-in features than version 1.6 and a different system for running themes - symphony instead of smarty. As though any shopkeeper wants to know this, or pay module developers to know it so that they can offer cheap or free modules.

Reasons for Choosing PrestaShop

As in the "pros" section above. Then I moved to Thirtybees, a fork of prestashop open source ecommerce software.

September 2019

Navid from Persian House Ltd

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Free e-commerce to start with most features

PrestaShop is the right tool if you have a plan to expand into e-commerce. The platform is widely use in some countries like France (started here) and Italy, many agencies offer on-line shops based on PrestaShop. It fits all basic needs and if you have some IT experience, than you can build your own shop totally free. If you are serious about e-commerce then sooner or later you will buy modules (plugins for PrestaShop) and later you need to find a php developer to adapt the site to your needs. Most shops find solutions with existing plugins that are sold on PrestaShop's site or many other portals.

Pros

You can install a shop with one click on Softaculous, now very common on shared hosting. The requirements for the hosting are basic, any hosting suitable for WordPress will work fine with PrestaShop, so 5 $/€ a month is more than enough. There is an active community in many languages, normally you get free help here for basic issues and bug reports. A template for the graphic is recommended, the site will look much better with a little investment. Make sure you get support from the developper. There are free modules/plugins for most payment systems and often you can get a free module from your courier. Connecting payments and couriers is quite simple because they are well documented and supported. Buy modules from the official site because you are confident about the quality of the software and support, normally I pay extra to extend support from the developer for the first year. module all needs

Cons

If you can't config your e-mail and are not interested in software, avoid trying your free e-commerce. There is little support from the headquarter, so you spend nights to understand what to do. Any site/developer can sell modules for PrestaShop, so there is no quality control.

Reasons for Choosing PrestaShop

From a proprietary platform we moved to PrestaShop almost 10 years ago: no regrets! You easily find plugins to expand your features with little investment. You can also find many developers ready to help, the platform is not well known as WordPress, but any php developer can help. It's the best way to start the e-commerce adventure, make sure you get professional help before starting.

October 2019

Caroline from PIC DIGITAL

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Just the best e-commerce software. Ever. Anywhere. In the world.

We've developed over 50 e-commerce websites with Prestashop over the years, complex multi-boutiques, in different languages, in different countries using different currencies ... we're pretty happy with our overall experience with the software and the company.

Pros

We have been working with Prestashop for the past 7 years, from 1.3 to now the 1.7 version. When it was the "only" great shopping cart software it was good. Now it's outstanding. A large community supports it with a lot of plug-ins that work and help market and manage the e-shop.

Cons

Prestashop is currently going through the external plug-ins to make sure that they are compatible with eath other : which is important because we've had a couple of problems with buggy plug-ins. To be faire, they are not necessarily developed by Prestashop.

Reasons for Switching to PrestaShop

Magento had a lot less features and was a lot more buggy and HEAVY. Pretashop's interface "just out of the box" is nice, the community is large and there are an INSANE amount of plug-ins.

October 2019

Omar from medani gmbh

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Great open-source Software

We are building PrestaShops since 2012 and are very satisfied with the solution. We can build nearly every special feature a user would like to have.

Pros

PrestaShop is a great open source software, which allows its users to set up and build a rich online-shop to earn money on the internet. It is easy to use in the backend, it is capable of building multi-shops for more than one country and more than one language very easily and it is easy to build your own sub sites in your online-shop with the help of certain page builder modules. It is highly customizable and there are thousands of modules to choose from to make it even better and cover issues like search engine optimization, integration with email marketing tools or payment solutions to name just a few.

Cons

One thing that should be improved is the speed of the shop.

Reasons for Choosing PrestaShop

We think that PrestaShop is the better solution for our requirements.

July 2019

Emanuele from Effective

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Best solution to create an ecommerce if you want to build it yourself

Pros

This software is awesome for creating ecommerce. You can install the basic version and start selling in a very short time. Every operation is optimized at its best and you will spare a lot of time if you sell products with variations.

Cons

You shall pay for every little modification. There are a lot of plugins but they are not free. You cannot change the design as you may desire.

Reasons for Switching to PrestaShop

Magento was much too complicated and too much time consuming

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Easy to setup your own online store

Pros

-Very user friendly -Easy to install locally for testing purpose -already creates a backend tool for management the store and creates its own mail server to aller any purchase or error that client may have -User control that allows you to set the type of permission the user will have when login on backend -the online plugins store is very complete with fair prices -easy to install and remove module

Cons

-when showing a error is required to be tech savvy to resolve it other wise the page will be down -you need to know a little of php in order to fix some error

Reasons for Choosing PrestaShop

was more attractive and direct to what I needed

Reasons for Switching to PrestaShop

the appearance was overall ugly

September 2020

User Profile Picture

Zuzana from PRE MAMU

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Easy and flexible platform for your eshop

For a small e-commerce business is Prestashop a matching solution. You can run it for free or invest as much as is comfortable for you.

Pros

I use Prestashop for more than five years for my small side business eshop. It is opensource, free and easy to install and use. If you don´t have any programming skills, you can choose templates, auto backup, auto-upgrade and you will be fine, with no cost. No limits for how many customers, orders, users, no time limit, etc. Only when your business grows, you probably would want more. For example, better design, better stock management, more import/export features. And then you will need to buy addons, hire a freelancer or you can try to find out how to make those improvements by yourself. So it will be your time or your money. But I like the possibility of choice. They are many years on the market and, therefore, you can find a helpful forum, videos, blog posts, and as I am from Europe, I am very grateful for their translation packs.

Cons

Their customer service is not ideal and, if you are a beginner, you probably will struggle if any technical issue occurs. There are many freelancers and many add-ons, unfortunately, not all are reliable. In those years, I suffered through some security issues but nothing too serious.

January 2021

User Profile Picture

Emily from Epsilon

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2021

A Platform with Integrated Powerful E-Commerce Tools

One of the main benefits of Prestashop is that it is totally free to use. You can get its free design theme right after installing it with a lot of satisfying features. You can add your products easily in it and manage tour store online with many helpful management features of it and achieve your goals. One of the main responsibility of its reporting and analytics features is tracking visitors so that you will be able to know that who are your customers and where they are coming from and what are they buying from your store.

Pros

It is used by more than 1lac businesses all over the world as it is an e-commerce platform. It is supported by more than 41 languages. It is having helpful administrative interface through which most of the complex inventories are easily manageable. A large number of options are available in it for customers to view their chosen products in the shopping cart. A lot of payment systems are also supported in it like Google Checkout, Skrill, PayPal and a lot more.

Cons

Besides various benefits, it is having a lot of limitations in it such as it is not as much scalable like other platforms that it will not be beneficial for large stores but it is a lot more beneficial and helpful for those businesses that are small or starting their new businesses.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

Great Functionality, Large Community, Rather Simple To Use, Very Extendable , Open Source

Pros

After trying Magento and Woocommerce I ended up with Prestashop because the other solutions I tried were either too complicated or too simple. Prestashop seems to lie somewhere in the middle. Before I decided on Prestashop, I did some extensive research to inspect other solutions such as Shopify, Shopware and Oxid. However, the large user and developer base as well as the massive amount of addons available for Prestashop made me switch to Prestashop. Here is what I especially like about Prestashop: - The backend is simple enough to get used to quite quickly - There are a lot of amazing templates you can choose from - it's rather easy to find Prestashop developers near you, so you're not stuck with an exotic shop system nobody understands - Multi store/multi language functionality is integrated into Prestashop out of the box

Cons

There is a big transition from 1.6 to 1.7 which is really massive and makes it hard for new store owners. Should I use the old, but stable 1.6 or use the new and potentially incomplete 1.7? There is a huge debate about 1.7 and it seems to split the community in half. The reason is that the new 1.7 is based on Symfony, a PHP framework that is supposed to make Prestashop development in future simpler. The problem is that switching to the newest version is like switching to a complete new shop software. Apart from that there are some quirks that are hard to understand. E.g. why the company is based in France, yet it's not fully compliant to EU law out of the box without addons and modifications.

February 2021

User Profile Picture

Ali from Azerex llc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Simple and Pretty DIY eCommerce website builder for anyone

I have been working with Prestashop for many years. It is very simple and fluent and you can ask any problem or question you have in its forums or search for the answer in it.

Pros

There are many modules and templates ready by different developers for this software. You can also easily design a new module yourself or implement your own template. The PrestaShop Management Dashboard is so stylish and simple that you can easily learn to work with it. Adding products and changing specifications to the product is very simple and easy.

Cons

A mobile and tablet application for Android and Apple requires that managers can easily use it

Reasons for Choosing PrestaShop

More user friendly and easy

September 2018

Oscar from Lievant

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Complete solution for e-commerce development

This has been a great solution for medium brands that process more than 100 orders per month and have some particular functionalitys of management stock with third party shared integrations

Pros

This free software is a complete CMS scalable and cusomizable solution for developing an e-commerce for a brand / client. It counts with a great historical versions and a big community that develops extra functionality like themes and modules so you can search for any solution you need. I see its data base very well structurated and normalized to have a good experience at Query's on them, Very intuitive on that aspect.

Cons

Since the basic process of e-commerce is well developed, the extra functionalitys that particular customer needs can transform into a big cost installing purchasing modules for it. You need a good capacitation for successful auto - management, and a team of developmentes to customize it and have maintancement.

June 2018

Fabian from Interior Designs By Fabian

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

The best online shop platform I ever used

Pros

If you want a professional store setup you need to take a look at prestashop. Don't be scared by the rugged design, you can change it by buying a premium template builder, and build your store without the need for any code. The simpleness of the platform and easy updating, one click upgrade make it the best free software for most businesses. If you plan on having thousand and thousand of products you are in need of some key modules,but they are easily available and not that expensive. Is it a no brainer for any business man that in order to get the same quality from some other platform you should invest thousands of dollars in it.

Cons

You have to understand what you are doing, maybe whach a few tutorials, and setup your security properly, also keep in mind that are some tweaks for fast caching and the importance of using a CDN.

October 2019

Koen from Adeko VOF

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Working with PrestaShop as a developer and as an e-tailor

We like working with PrestaShop, from both ways we are working with the software. So as well from a developer’s vision as from an e-tailor point of view.

Pros

As an e-tailor we like the flexibility of PrestaShop as an CMS, the large community who work with the software and the way you can make use of the software. As a developer and PrestaShop Partner we like the diversity of the product and the way we can build converting web shops for our customers.

Cons

The one thing we like the least is the assistance we get from PrestaShop themselves. Luckily the community is very active, and this solves most of our problems, but PrestaShop should have a more hands-on mentality.

Reasons for Choosing PrestaShop

We worked with PrestaShop as developer of the product. But now we have developed a new business opportunity and work with it as an B2B e-tailor as well.

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Mariusz from emotivo

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Best ecommerce for small company

More stable.

Pros

- advanced ecommerce software - good SEO template - best UX on backend - API - low cost of development

Cons

- module in PrestaShop addons is very low quality - no integration with professional solutions (eg. PimCore) - no great SEO addons

Reasons for Choosing PrestaShop

cheaper at that level of development

Reasons for Switching to PrestaShop

the previous platform did not allow development

July 2019

Scott from SearchMaster Software

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Decent Online Store Option, But Has Drawbacks

I've got a ton of experience with running and configuring Magento, but I wanted to try PrestaShop simply to use something different on my own business storefront to expand my own knowledge, not to mention that Magento needs more power than PrestaShop. Although PS is easy enough to setup and get running, it lacks a few features which I would consider "standard" by today's terms, not to mention that there is also a serious lack of free/opens source plug-ins available for it like Magento has, which includes things like themes. Overall, the store does its job and works well once all the modules are in place, but In the grand scheme, I would consider PrestaShop as a stepping stone to something bigger and better like Magento or more.

Pros

Prestashop is for the large part, free to use, and pretty easy to setup and maintain. Most website hosting companies have a single-click installer for it, making getting started easy. Creating categories, products and advanced products is all very easy with very nice menus and layouts, and the default theme is surprisingly useful. Prestashop also comes with many of today's standard features built-in.

Cons

The cost of the add-on modules for PrestaShop is ridiculous, and so is the platform's reliance on those modules. There is no way to do anything except free or basic flat-rate shipping unless you spend considerable monies on buying realtime rates modules for EACH shipper, or subscribing to a third-party app that combines and does the checking in a single package, which is costly. Accessing anything except the software's basic features can be incredibly clumsy as well.

July 2018

Lars from Creuna

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

In my opinion the best open source platform for online stores

Pros

Easy to configure, easy to update ( one click update ), easy to install new modules and themes and builders. One of the most versatile platforms for physical and virtual goods. I have custom made for customers shops with upwards of 1 million products, imported from dropshipping suppliers. It is very easy to manage, tons of free and premium modules and upgrades. A solid infrastructure to rely on and different profiles with permission for employs. Very Reliable for large amounts of traffic.

Cons

Not that great for backups. Modules and themes don't work from 1.5 to 1.6 to 1.7, have to reorder or to download new version ( incompatible by design of the code ). Big community but not that active. Translations needs an upgrade, being made by contributions from authors.

March 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Prestashop your simple open source ecommerce software

We have worked with Prestashop for clients. It is quite simple to get up and running but the running costs escalate as the project gets bigger. Hosting is a big requirement and you will need plugins for integration as integration can sometimes be a problem when you need to integrate with other software.

Pros

Prestashop is free opensource software and a great platform to start off your website. With minimal knowledge you can be up and running. It is not heavily reliant on plugins so you can get your website going without having to purchase plugins. The admin panel is also very user friendly and our clients love it.

Cons

Prestashop is not a small platform. You need a lot of hosting space. Talk to an experienced hosting provider to make sure you have the correct hosting package.

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Daniel from KD Web

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

One of the best CMS for shopping

Pros

Prestashop is one of the leading platforms for ecommerce, we use it extensively on building custom made shops, but you can really just install it and upload a couple of products and you are done, have a brand new online shop. It's very ease to use for beginners and advanced users alike. It has top knotch addons and modules to be install, free and paid. The dashboard is amazingly simple and you can find all the tools you just by browsing over the top categories.

Cons

It can be difficult to upgrade major versions, as you have to custom rebuild all your code and modules.

February 2017

Sergio from Grupo SJ Mall Virtual 360 S.A.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Best E-commerce Solution

I have been using it for about 5 years. So far, I cannot imagine my business without it. It has most of the functionalities you may need and there are a lot of third-party modules providers that will help you with special and specific features you may need.

Pros

You will find most of the features you may need. Multiple languages. Multiple currencies.

Cons

Not able to modify some things, however you will be able to find third-party modules. I did not have the best experience with customer support so maybe you will have to know about it, use the community support or have someone specialized in it.

October 2019

Vincent from Information Technology & services

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

PrestaShop : A complete and flexible ecommerce tool

Pros

Easy to install and to use, PrestaShop allow you to create a real ecommerce shop online easily. Its many options of logistics, marketing, internationalization... make it possible with little means and efforts to have an effective and flexible tool for ecommerce.

Cons

I would be tempted to talk about some persistent bugs scattered in the software but updates come out regularly, the quality has improved significantly in recent years and we must not forget that it is a free open source tool source.

November 2018

Aleksandr from Genius Marketing

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

A good option to create an online store

Pros

I have been using PrestaShop for many years now and I don’t think to switch to another service. I like the fact that in this CMS it is convenient to work with clients. Using email, I quickly notify clients of new promotions, and the ability to synchronize with popular social networks helps to work with clients outside the site.

Cons

The engine consumes a lot of resources, which is why the server is slow. Since I used other CMS, I can say that the problem is not in the server. PrestaShop is most likely poorly optimized.

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Gabriel from Blue Frontier

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Great software to use for your online store

Pros

It is one of the most undervalued softwares in the online space. You can really build your store in just a couple of minutes, with tons of modules and themes also from third parties you can have any type of store, either physical or virtual goods. With over 1 million websites constructed with this platform is a great asset to build with.

Cons

The difference from major versions is amazing, you have to carefully upgrade on a test website, to not ruin your website. It is best done by a professional

October 2017

Florin from Freshouse Design

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

The easiest way to having a professional ecommerce business

The best looking online store for our business, with tons of complete house building materials and info.

Pros

The ease of use in everyday situations, the stability through upgrades and the easy of customizations for the front end are top notch. Also the ease to integrate a tone of great themes and modules. The large following it has on forums and discussion boards.

Cons

The seo factor of the website is not that great. I do think that it can be upgraded, in fact I frequently use one or two after market modules to make it seo friendly.

October 2018

Natalia from Manpower

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Good functionality, but low stability

Pros

We used this CMS for exactly 3 years. On the advice of our programmers, the team switched to it from Magenta. Of the advantages, I can point out a cheap tariff, a broader functionality than our previous CMS and the absence of transaction fees.

Cons

CMS is unstable, a lot of mistakes. Plugins that we acquire for an extra charge conflict with each other. For example, if you install a plug-in for currency conversion along with synchronization via e-mail, none of them will work.

December 2019

Ian from Marketing & Advertising

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Prestashop is Boss

I always use Prestashop now, it’s just perfect for an eCommerce store or even a Dynamic Site.

Pros

Prestashop is amazing, It’s free open source software with so many built in features There is a large Library of plugins and add-ons, you can have a full store up and running in less than an hour.

Cons

Nothing, I love it, everything about Prestashop is great in my opinion, I find it so easy to use, I can add my own custom code and plugins, brilliant eCommerce package

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Great Open-Source Product

Pros

We are using Prestashop for creating the most of our E-commerce products. Open-Source Platform and existing market with plugins - are the main advantages to use Prestashop for small-middle sized projects.

Cons

After updating the version of Prestashop, some of the plugins have to be recorded because the system is alerting us that there are some errors in platform update. In case you have a lot of project on Prestashop at the same time, it consumes quite a lot of time.

July 2018

Andreina from Urbit

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Program Development

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2018

Prestashop is not as simple as they show, but is an option to start your online business

Pros

Prestashop is one of the "cheapest" options in the market to create an online shop in a short time. It has the advantage that you can choose among many predesigned templates, which are certainly very nice and allow you to show the public your products in an attractive way. You can also set up the products in an administrative panel to keep track of the number of products available, prices, you can create discount coupons and much more. It is a complete software in the sense that you can manage the business from one place.

Cons

However, the installation, uses and features of this program are not as simple as they show in advertising. If you do not have knowledge in programming or computer science, you will necessarily need the help of a professional because there are certain functions that you will not be able to carry out by yourself. For me was a headache to load the products in the store because the program it is not so intuitive or so practical. If you bought a basic template, little by little you will realize that you will need to buy new modules to perform some important business tasks. These modules have a separate cost, therefore the final investment is much higher than you had originally thought. To solve a technical problem, you will also need to document a lot and have the time to do it. I think it is a software that you can buy and use as long as you have a professional that can guide you even before you start, because otherwise you will end up losing time and money.

January 2021

Johann from YOORshop SAS

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Point of view from a web host

Pros

Hi, We host many clients using prestashop over the years (https://www.yoorshop.hosting/), and we must admit that prestashop is as good as promises. It is fast natively if you use an optimized theme, and latest PHP 7 versions. Combined with our NVMe SSD, users confirmed that speed is really higher in back office.

Cons

Sometimes, upgrades are failing and require a webmaster

Reasons for Choosing PrestaShop

Free, and easy to use

December 2019

Rovena-Maria from OTP Leasing

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Great platform for a large site

In general, the cost of maintaining a site running CMS PrestaShop is quite high, but if you have a serious project, they will quickly pay off.

Pros

Our company manages the site using CMS PrestaShop. I also often interact with this platform. Most of all I like the admin panel. Using it is very easy to manage the file manager and domains.

Cons

A site on PrestaShop cannot be hosted on cheap hosting. The platform is too heavy, the server will constantly crash. For those who are thinking about this CMS, I would recommend buying a hosting no cheaper than $ 100.

October 2019

Mehrshad from iPresta

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

PrestaShop, a solution for everyone

More than 5000 merchants are using PrestaShop in Iran. It is helping them to grow their business and earn money in current econimic situation. I suggest it to everyone.

Pros

Great features, great team, great support. If you need an online store, in any field, any language, and any country, PrestaShop is absolutely the best choice!

Cons

With great development team, you won't find any cons :)

August 2018

Alfredo from Adapta Blue

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

it a great program to star an e-commerce business

professional tools because it's a very common tool that every e-commerce business use.

Pros

It's an easy to use program, friendly UX, responsive, it covers all the basic needs for a basic e-commerce business, great library of admins to upgrade your business

Cons

It's slow, you have to save your progress several times because not always saves what you do, not that prewar web templates.

December 2015

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

December 2015

Great no-fees E-Commerce website

I have been using PrestaShop over the past year as my back-end e-commerce storefront, with a WIX front-end to bring people in, for my partner's online greeting card and wall decor business (http://www.obunny.ca). Have tried to implement the newly-introduced "grid" SKU setting to replace the standard "list" SKU setting, but the software doesn't seem to allow for it. With my PayPal transaction gateway, only about half the transactions seem to show up in PrestaShop's "Orders" stack (thankfully PayPal notifies me that a payment has come in), so I have to manually convert the shopping-cart list into an order. PrestaShop offers many free modules which can be added on to your site, including social media links, LiveChat, etc.

Pros

No monthly fees, easy integration with PayPal payment gateway.

Cons

Limited technical support, which relies mainly on user groups who might or might not respond to your question. Shipping costs do not always calculate accurately, and multiple shipping cost options (eg. regular parcel mail, Next-day Air, 2-day Air) for customers to choose from could be a nice improvement to add in. When modules are updated, it is all too easy to re-install the "default" content which the module provide, rather than continuing on with your custom content.

February 2020

User Profile Picture

Roberto from Labahia.ec

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

Has nice free templates and it is a good alternative for an ecommerce

For getting introduced on an e-commerce platform, Prestashop has what it takes.

Pros

It is easy to use, has nice looking templates and has plenty of different industry applications for almost all ecommerces. It is cheap.

Cons

It lack of integration options compared with other options. It doesnt have a lot of plug ins regarding data analitycs.

January 2016

Ralph

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

January 2016

Prestashop - Don't use for lots of products

I have three stores now with Prestashop, which I have been using for over six years. I would say that the older versions worked perfectly well and I had no problems. I would have given 5 stars in all areas. (I am talking version 1.6.0.9 or thereabouts) Unwittingly "upgrading" to the latest versions, I'm now on 1.6.0.14, has rendered Prestashop almost unworkable. It only works now for me thanks to the brilliant paid add-on Store Manager. My two sites with fewer products - 20 and 1200 respectively, work fine still. My main site, which is my main source of income has 4,500 products. I cannot edit or save products (which is where Store Manager comes in). The search indexing does not work. CSV product import will not work. Database backups always time out. There are frequent errors with Payment gateways. Every recommended update usually causes new problems. All this despite the fact that I am using the default template and have made no code changes. Support is absolutely zero. My problems have been well discussed on the forums for over two years and are common. The programmers do nothing. I am not a programmer. I have spent over $2000 on programming help over the last two years just to keep my site running - and Prestashop is supposed to be "Open Source" and free. I would highly recommend Prestashop if you have few products, but I would say that if you start to go over 2000 then in my experience it simply does not work. The programmers are too busy making add ons which they make money on, than getting the basic shell to work. Transferring to another cart now would be a nightmare, largely because of the huge number of product photos, I think about 30,000 now.

Pros

Brilliant for a small number of products, say up to 2000 - 2,500. Runs like clockwork

Cons

If you have a large number of products, don't waste your time or money, Prestashop does not work, unless you can install the old version 1.6.0.9 (download links are still available)

May 2019

Dasha from A1QA

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Convenient to work and collect statistics

Pros

I have been working with CMS PrestaShop for over a year. I like the platform because it easily integrates with social networks and data collection tools. Our company has easily worked with Facebook, Twitter and Google Analytics.

Cons

We have a fairly large online store, which is visited by about 500 people per day. This leads to a heavy load on the server. I'm afraid that with the development of the site will only get worse.

October 2019

Matthieu from Andromaque

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

PS review

Pros

- ease of use - the core is open source - BO is clean - it's easy to develop modules - supports a lot of products without any performance issue - supports many languages by default

Cons

- very unstable when it comes to updates / everything breaks every time we update - code is still not fully migrated to symfony - localisation : it's very difficult to found a string when we don't know where it is (theme? core? module, which one?) - modules are not open source / we can't even test them before buying... - lacks a lot of functionalities in the core for an e-shop (stock management is a joke, no whishlist nor comparator, real cart reminder...) - it's almost impossible to deal with discounts because the system doesn't work sometimes, and/or is unstable, and also lacks basic functionalities (buy 1 get 1, but if we buy 2 we still have only 1...) - bought modules don't update automatically, even when the account with addons is linked - no "starter" theme anymore : why ? -

April 2019

Marvin from Crazy Marvin

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Amazing open source e-commerce software that outshines the competition

Pros

- a ton of features - marketplace with many templates and integrations (payment providers, logistics, analytics, etc.) - everything is open source available on GitHub - extremely easy installation (even my granny could do it) - you can use a hosting company that you like - can be used internationally - very fair pricing

Cons

- disabling third-party trackers completely is a bit too complex

November 2016

Giorgi from Deeper

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2016

One of the best user-friendly free shopping cart software

I've started using the PrestaShop around 2 years ago and I'm still into this system. The experience with the system I got during all this time and throughout my several projects is enough to write ah honest review about the system. Starting with the advantages, the biggest advantage of the PrestaShop is its huge support community which is the best ever help a developer can dream of. Discussion boards with active users make a big difference. Furthermore, one of the biggest advantages is also the administration panel of the PrestaShop which is way easy to use than say other competitor platforms. What's more important for me is the extended functionality and efficiency. The function ility is far more than any user would ever think to want to have on their websites and as for efficiency, PrestaShop is lightweight and well optimised, thus not loading the servers. As for the disadvantages, there are of course some. The biggest disadvantage is that most of the most useful functionalities require the additional investments to have installed in my PrestaShop. What I also noticed, in a case of big products quantity, Prestashop does not function as well as it initially did. To conclude, PrestaShop is good for starting the e-commerce. The system works well with medium or a small number of products, but PrestaShop's efficiency, when there are 100 products isn't any better than when there are 1000. Overall, I would suggest this to the beginner in e-commerce users.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

I was able to set it up myself - with no IT knowledge

Pros

Great functionality and simple to use design. It is possible to set it up with no special IT skills, just some general experience with tools like Wordpress etc. There is a variety of add-ons and widgets which make it highly flexible. You can find anything you need either for free or for cheap money. No need for expensive developers for tailored solutions.

Cons

The templates are pricey when comparing to other tools. There is a lot of work when adding new products - some of the fields are required while they should not be. For example for online products it is quite complex to set it up as my needs were much simpler than what was required. And I could not change the settings easily to require less information from customer etc.

July 2018

Jamie from Sports Online Limited

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Sporting Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Great open source software although very buggy

Pros

It's free and relatively easy to use. I like the fact that there are lots of modules you can add on to create better functionality

Cons

There are lots of bugs in the software which never seem to get sorted and a lot of the add on modules cause conflicts with other modules.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

Medium level open source Ecommerce platform

Pros

Admin area is clean and easy to use, making it simple to start.

Cons

Lack of many important built-in functionalities requiring to buy several additional modules, like for SEO and bulk product management.

November 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

A medium level platform, hard to scale in an enterprise environment.

I'm working as a Team Leader in a PrestaShop gold partner Agency, I worked on many PrestaShop projects with success, I spent too many time fixing issues, especially in high traffic projects.

Pros

Costs of course, huge marketplace with lots of themes and modules.

Cons

Too many versions/releases make this platform often instable, Keep everything updated and stable (struggling with conflicts and incompatibilities) is a great effort for the team.

Reasons for Choosing PrestaShop

Costs and skills.

December 2018

Alex from https://www.sportlife.ua

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Multifunctional service for creating an online store

Pros

We use CMS PrestaShop for a small online store of our sports club. The tool allows you to add an unlimited number of products and categories. There is a built-in analytics that works in real time.

Cons

Firstly, the CMS PrestaShop platform lacks a useful function for organizing SMS mailings to regular customers of the store. Secondly, there is no built-in product image editor.

June 2018

Ionut from Bright Light Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Great Platfrom for building store

Pros

The best platfrom from I have searched, insanely simple and advanced. I was able to do pretty much everything Iwanted in this platform, selling virtual goods as well as physical. Integrated withmost ofmy suppliers and shipping companies.

Cons

I had one concern about bulk editing products, but fixed that with import/export function. It is a workaround not a fix, but still works

October 2016

Carlos from Bookcaseperu.com

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Excellent and very useful

Im using this for almost three years and I have received the best user experience and administrative.

Pros

Versatile, easy to learn, easy to manage, design

Cons

Limits with big enterprise, big cost on infrastructure but you won't pay for software.

February 2018

Alex from http://www.heal10.com/

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

The easiest way to open your own store

Pros

I had to master this system from scratch. Nothing, figured out, spending only a few days and using the search. This indicates that everyone will be able to master the system, regardless of the level of preparation. It is enough to know what is Google. Today, being already an expert, I can say that the system provides a good functionality, which can compete with not all competitors.

Cons

CMS is not optimized for search engines, little worthy of templates. It is especially surprising how rarely they develop plug-ins for this system.

February 2018

Sam from mytaskhelper.com

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2018

Can be used, but only very carefully

Pros

The loyalty of search engines to shops on PrestaShop is ensured by the use of semantic markup of each product page, corresponding to schema.org. For each product, meta tags are described: a description, a title, and friendly references are generated. This is very important and useful when it is necessary that the site is indexed not in one search engine, but in several at once.

Cons

In the process of creating sites for clients, I noticed that if the category of goods has a paging, then automatically duplicate texts are created.

March 2018

Panagiotis from CSRI

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Nice but could be better

Pros

The back-end administration that is very well designed. The simplicity of extending the modules and making a custom one.

Cons

In version 1.7, the back-end has become really slow. In the front-end, changing an attribute takes too long to update the product (compared to 1.6). The mixed technologies used as half the back-end is in symphony and the other half traditional. There is also a decision to leave out the override function but they have not yet implemented another one so it is still applicable.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 159 reviews