All PrestaShop Reviews

1-25 of 307 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jorge

Information Technology and Services, 11 - 50 employees

Used unspecified

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed October 2023

A great tool for web design

User Profile

Elisabetta

Verified reviewer

Apparel & Fashion, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Maximizing E-commerce Success with PrestaShop Ecommerce Platform

PrestaShop is a popular open-source e-commerce platform that offers a range of features to help businesses manage their online stores effectively. Here are some of the key features that PrestaShop offers in website management, shopping cart, order management, inventory management, cataloging/categorization, shipping management, SEO management, and multi-channel marketing.

PROS

PrestaShop offers a range of powerful features to help businesses manage their online stores effectively. With its comprehensive website management, shopping cart, order management, inventory management, cataloging/categorization, shipping management, SEO management, and multi-channel marketing features, PrestaShop is an ideal choice for small to medium-sized e-commerce businesses looking to streamline their online operations.

CONS

PrestaShop can be complex and difficult to set up for beginners, requiring technical knowledge and experience. Some users may find it overwhelming and require additional training to use it effectively. While PrestaShop offers a range of add-ons and modules to extend its functionality, some of these add-ons can be expensive or may not be compatible with the latest version of the platform.

Navid

Retail, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Free e-commerce to start with most features

PrestaShop is the right tool if you have a plan to expand into e-commerce. The platform is widely use in some countries like France (started here) and Italy, many agencies offer on-line shops based on PrestaShop. It fits all basic needs and if you have some IT experience, than you can build your own shop totally free. If you are serious about e-commerce then sooner or later you will buy modules (plugins for PrestaShop) and later you need to find a php developer to adapt the site to your needs. Most shops find solutions with existing plugins that are sold on PrestaShop's site or many other portals.

PROS

You can install a shop with one click on Softaculous, now very common on shared hosting. The requirements for the hosting are basic, any hosting suitable for WordPress will work fine with PrestaShop, so 5 $/€ a month is more than enough. There is an active community in many languages, normally you get free help here for basic issues and bug reports. A template for the graphic is recommended, the site will look much better with a little investment. Make sure you get support from the developper. There are free modules/plugins for most payment systems and often you can get a free module from your courier. Connecting payments and couriers is quite simple because they are well documented and supported. Buy modules from the official site because you are confident about the quality of the software and support, normally I pay extra to extend support from the developer for the first year. module all needs

CONS

If you can't config your e-mail and are not interested in software, avoid trying your free e-commerce. There is little support from the headquarter, so you spend nights to understand what to do. Any site/developer can sell modules for PrestaShop, so there is no quality control.

Reason for choosing PrestaShop

From a proprietary platform we moved to PrestaShop almost 10 years ago: no regrets! You easily find plugins to expand your features with little investment. You can also find many developers ready to help, the platform is not well known as WordPress, but any php developer can help. It's the best way to start the e-commerce adventure, make sure you get professional help before starting.

User Profile

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Nice ecommerce solution, but lacks some punch

I liked Prestashop when I used it, but somehow I missed the extra punch I could have when developing with others platforms. I think it's a good tool, but I prefer others

PROS

It's focused on ecommerce, you can do all kind of projects from business to business to retail with ease, and has a great spanish community

CONS

Creating content is not a pleasant experience, and extending functionality to it could be complex

Reason for choosing PrestaShop

Spanish support was the key

Reasons for switching to PrestaShop

Magento -what is now adobe commerce- was breaking its backwards compatibility all the time, so I needed something more stable

Rodrigo

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

It feels like penguins in the North Pole

I've had several bad experiences with this software, but it is still a necessary tool for e-commerce businesses.

PROS

It is a complete software for an online store administration (catalogs, products, details, etc). It is perfect for small businesses if total control of your store is what you are looking for. Great tool for people who are in the e-commerce business.

CONS

It is quite difficult to understand, requires a lot of previous knowledge or of an expert to help you. It is vital to read all the documentation carefully.

Reason for choosing PrestaShop

It is cheaper.

Reasons for switching to PrestaShop

With PrestaShop, I no longer depend on third parties.

Omar

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Great open-source Software

We are building PrestaShops since 2012 and are very satisfied with the solution. We can build nearly every special feature a user would like to have.

PROS

PrestaShop is a great open source software, which allows its users to set up and build a rich online-shop to earn money on the internet. It is easy to use in the backend, it is capable of building multi-shops for more than one country and more than one language very easily and it is easy to build your own sub sites in your online-shop with the help of certain page builder modules. It is highly customizable and there are thousands of modules to choose from to make it even better and cover issues like search engine optimization, integration with email marketing tools or payment solutions to name just a few.

CONS

One thing that should be improved is the speed of the shop.

Reason for choosing PrestaShop

We think that PrestaShop is the better solution for our requirements.

Vito

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Smart open source for yoru bussines

I am really happy user because of the possibilities.

PROS

Possibilities of use. We have used the Presta for our webshop with above 10K + items.

CONS

I can't find anything right now in my mind.

Reasons for switching to PrestaShop

I was still missing manuals and knowledge bases for work.

Emanuele

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

Best solution to create an ecommerce if you want to build it yourself

PROS

This software is awesome for creating ecommerce. You can install the basic version and start selling in a very short time. Every operation is optimized at its best and you will spare a lot of time if you sell products with variations.

CONS

You shall pay for every little modification. There are a lot of plugins but they are not free. You cannot change the design as you may desire.

Reasons for switching to PrestaShop

Magento was much too complicated and too much time consuming

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Best E-Commerce platform for small and medium size stores

I have deployed more than 10 instances for our customers. Installation was supper is and can be done within 15 minutes. Prestashop is very good product for small and medium level stores. I'm not recommending Prestashop for larger scale stores.

PROS

+ Installation is super easy. + Open source + Good documentation and good community support. +Easy to customize + Supported by all major hosting providers. + Tons of themes/plugins developed by community

CONS

+Paid addons are very expensive. +Support service is not available from the vendor. +NOT scalable ,since not suitable for larger scale stores +Poor performance

Reason for choosing PrestaShop

Prestashop is open-source and totally free to use until you need addons.

User Profile

Zuzana

Verified reviewer

Retail, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

Easy and flexible platform for your eshop

For a small e-commerce business is Prestashop a matching solution. You can run it for free or invest as much as is comfortable for you.

PROS

I use Prestashop for more than five years for my small side business eshop. It is opensource, free and easy to install and use. If you don´t have any programming skills, you can choose templates, auto backup, auto-upgrade and you will be fine, with no cost. No limits for how many customers, orders, users, no time limit, etc. Only when your business grows, you probably would want more. For example, better design, better stock management, more import/export features. And then you will need to buy addons, hire a freelancer or you can try to find out how to make those improvements by yourself. So it will be your time or your money. But I like the possibility of choice. They are many years on the market and, therefore, you can find a helpful forum, videos, blog posts, and as I am from Europe, I am very grateful for their translation packs.

CONS

Their customer service is not ideal and, if you are a beginner, you probably will struggle if any technical issue occurs. There are many freelancers and many add-ons, unfortunately, not all are reliable. In those years, I suffered through some security issues but nothing too serious.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Gets your business online, but not exactly plug&play

Overall, despite the fact that addons like premium themes, plugins and modules can be quite expensive, once one learns how to work around the small glitches, it is the best tool around to get an online ecommerce website without hiring an agency.

PROS

Prestashop allows any startup or small business create its own ecommerce platform fairly fast and in its basic form, for free. When properly configured, the basic functionalities will allow for instant deployment of an online store.

CONS

It is very easy to get excited about the potential of Prestashop, but one clashes immediately with the prices of the themes, modules and plugins needed to get some extra functionalities. Prices can be an obstacle for small startups or small businesses

Ralph

Verified reviewer

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

Reviewed January 2016

Prestashop - Don't use for lots of products

I have three stores now with Prestashop, which I have been using for over six years. I would say that the older versions worked perfectly well and I had no problems. I would have given 5 stars in all areas. (I am talking version 1.6.0.9 or thereabouts) Unwittingly "upgrading" to the latest versions, I'm now on 1.6.0.14, has rendered Prestashop almost unworkable. It only works now for me thanks to the brilliant paid add-on Store Manager. My two sites with fewer products - 20 and 1200 respectively, work fine still. My main site, which is my main source of income has 4,500 products. I cannot edit or save products (which is where Store Manager comes in). The search indexing does not work. CSV product import will not work. Database backups always time out. There are frequent errors with Payment gateways. Every recommended update usually causes new problems. All this despite the fact that I am using the default template and have made no code changes. Support is absolutely zero. My problems have been well discussed on the forums for over two years and are common. The programmers do nothing. I am not a programmer. I have spent over $2000 on programming help over the last two years just to keep my site running - and Prestashop is supposed to be "Open Source" and free. I would highly recommend Prestashop if you have few products, but I would say that if you start to go over 2000 then in my experience it simply does not work. The programmers are too busy making add ons which they make money on, than getting the basic shell to work. Transferring to another cart now would be a nightmare, largely because of the huge number of product photos, I think about 30,000 now.

PROS

Brilliant for a small number of products, say up to 2000 - 2,500. Runs like clockwork

CONS

If you have a large number of products, don't waste your time or money, Prestashop does not work, unless you can install the old version 1.6.0.9 (download links are still available)

User Profile

Oscar

Verified reviewer

Publishing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Complete solution for e-commerce development

This has been a great solution for medium brands that process more than 100 orders per month and have some particular functionalitys of management stock with third party shared integrations

PROS

This free software is a complete CMS scalable and cusomizable solution for developing an e-commerce for a brand / client. It counts with a great historical versions and a big community that develops extra functionality like themes and modules so you can search for any solution you need. I see its data base very well structurated and normalized to have a good experience at Query's on them, Very intuitive on that aspect.

CONS

Since the basic process of e-commerce is well developed, the extra functionalitys that particular customer needs can transform into a big cost installing purchasing modules for it. You need a good capacitation for successful auto - management, and a team of developmentes to customize it and have maintancement.

User Profile

Ismaël Huberson

Verified reviewer

Apparel & Fashion, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

PrestaShop

This software is great for creating an online store that allows you to sell your products with ease.

PROS

PrestaShop is a great way to create a store for your business. It has a lot of features that make it easy to use and you can be up and running in no time. The support is great and the community is very helpful and active. This is a great way to get a store up and running for the purpose of e-commerce.

CONS

PrestaShop is a CMS more based for ecommerce.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

A great ecommerce platform

It has been great, we use it daily and it has never failed us. We learn each month how to do something new and we are always trying to check on new tools to apply to our site.

PROS

I have been working with this software for a couple of years now and it has been great. You can easily find everything you need, and it is really well organized in tabs, productos, orders, clients, etc. You can select the state of each order and even set your own, this way you can keep the client inform about their order, and you can easily keep track on what orders you need to take care next.

CONS

I would like to see a more user friendly version, where you don't need to hire a developer each time you need to modify small things. Everytime we needed to change something and we found out how to and did it by ourselves, another thing starts glitching and we have to get a developer to solve it. It is great that is has so many options, but sometimes it is hard to access them.

Wangnin

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

Prestashop review

Easy use software

PROS

It is a software that is focused on e-commerce, it allows you to easily realize your projects

CONS

The problem I see with this software is that some interesting plugins are not free

Architecte

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

PrestaShop e-commerce software

PrestaShop one of the best e-commerce software in the world

PROS

I launched my single product store on this software and I was really convinced that it was a good e-commerce software

CONS

I have a very small problem with the site taking a long time to change at home. That's the only problem I encounter from time to time

User Profile

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

One of the best CMS for shopping

PROS

Prestashop is one of the leading platforms for ecommerce, we use it extensively on building custom made shops, but you can really just install it and upload a couple of products and you are done, have a brand new online shop. It's very ease to use for beginners and advanced users alike. It has top knotch addons and modules to be install, free and paid. The dashboard is amazingly simple and you can find all the tools you just by browsing over the top categories.

CONS

It can be difficult to upgrade major versions, as you have to custom rebuild all your code and modules.

Aleksandr

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

A good option to create an online store

PROS

I have been using PrestaShop for many years now and I don’t think to switch to another service. I like the fact that in this CMS it is convenient to work with clients. Using email, I quickly notify clients of new promotions, and the ability to synchronize with popular social networks helps to work with clients outside the site.

CONS

The engine consumes a lot of resources, which is why the server is slow. Since I used other CMS, I can say that the problem is not in the server. PrestaShop is most likely poorly optimized.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE