All WooCommerce Reviews

1-25 of 645 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Cameron

Company size: 2 - 10 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

May 2021

Low cost solution for e-commerce on Wordpress

User Profile

Mir Fida

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2020

Best and most widely used WordPress E-Commerce Plugin

I am really happy with overall experience of using Woo Commerce for online E Commerce store. Free version fulfills most of small startup business requirements.Only hosting domain and other charges are needed to setup your own Business or online store website.Configuration is effortless but may be confusing for a total non tech newbie who use shopify only.Nonetheless after some practice it becomes a piece of cake.It is a much secure platform with helpful plugins to for add-on functionality.I would really recommend it for online E-Commerce store specially which are already running on WordPress CMS.

Pros

First of all it is plugin in word press environment which makes it m first and only choice as the best for making e-commerce functionality website.It has all the functions to run an online store easily with out much technical knowledge.Various plugin supplement and extend the Woo Commerce functionalities even further beyond.Payment processing and order management is handled efficiently and effectively.Too many functionalities like bulk upload,shipping management, contact info, payment management and etc make life easier to much extent like designing forms, creating custom checkout field , shop page custom price filter and minimum or max product quantities...etc.

Cons

Not much user friendly like shopify and other competitor.Still just little practice needed to learn it.Its related add-on plugins can be expensive.I had not faced any major technical issue using it.

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

Because WooCommerce give the independence of choosing a hosting server of your own choice according to budget and performance needs.I had WordPress hosting experience and it operates in this environment as a plugin in which I have experience working.

Sharif

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2023

Good eCommerce Solution if You Want to Get out From Under a Limited Platform

WooCommerce is my go-to eCommerce solution and it works very well. There are only a few drawbacks that are worth the hassle to have such a full-featured option.

Pros

By far the most beneficial part of WooCommerce is that it works on WordPress which means you're completely unlimited in your ability to customize the system how you like. With other eCommerce solutions such as Shopify or SquareSpace, you're stuck with whatever that have in their closed system whereas with WooCommerce the sky is the limit with what you can do.

Cons

WooCommerce is a heavy plugin that adds a lot to a website and as a result, updates must be vetted in a test environment in order to be safe. This wasn't a problem a few years ago when WooCommerce only released updates once every 1 or 2 months. Over the last few years, they've begun releasing updates with no apparent schedule and sometimes you get multiple updates in the same week. This can be very disruptive and labor intensive for store owners to have to test the updates first and look for issues/bugs before going live with a new update just to have to do it all over again a few days later (sometimes even in the very next day).

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

WooCommerce was chosen because of the platform it works on (WordPress) and the flexibility you get from using such a system.

User Profile

Serena

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

December 2022

WooCommerce Is Free, But Not Without Costs

Now that my store is up and running, I’m very happy with WooCommerce. I just wouldn’t want to have to set it up by myself again.

Pros

I love the fact that WooCommerce is free, making it possible for anyone with a Wordpress website to open an online store.

Cons

It was more complicated to set up a store than I thought it would be. I’m not exactly tech-savvy, which is probably why I had some trouble getting everything set up. WooCommerce offers plenty of options for simplifying the process, but they’re costly. Another problem is that it slowed my site down considerably.

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

Shopify wasn’t in my budget, and WooCommerce is free.

John

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2022

Still the #1 eCommerce solution for an established WordPress Website

Generally speaking it is a breeze to work with - both as e-Commerce site developer/builder, Site *owner* and also on the front-end as End Consumer too. It does _not_ offer the slickest Checkout solution on the market (that plaudit goes to Shopify, sorry folks...) - but for the overall package and native WordPress compatibility, it remains by go-to eCommerce solution.

Pros

Being a native WordPress product and service these days (whilst still operating until the preserved Woo... branding), WooCommerce is without doubt the go-to e-Commerce solution for any WordPress website (one obviously downside (if you can call it that..) being that of course WooCommerce is ONLY available for consideration for WordPress Website owners. Easy to use product inventory management and order processing, there are also a number of free (and paid-for) extensions available to consider bolting-on too.

Cons

At some point in time it became necessary to have an active WooCommere.com account in order to acquire and then update selected extensions. Free, so in theory not a hurdle. However... the tie-up with / ownership by WordPress can sometimes lead to a frustrating tangle - where you are not entirely sure WHICH account you are logged-in to - or indeed whether or not you are able to acquire and/or update some of those official extensions. Very frustrating.. having such an account should be OPTIONAL (but I don't believe it is....).

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

Direct compatibility with WordPress as a platform.

Gitte

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

January 2023

The Perfect Free Ecommerce Tool For Startups

Overall this is truly an affordable way to open a storefront on your own website, compared to using a platform like shopify.

Pros

I appreciate that this tool is free so you can create and begin selling products on your store.

Cons

As a senior, I found this challenging to set up and I did hire someone to complete it for me. It also requires a few additional plugins that are paid to really make the store stand out and optimize sales, so it is not entirely free if you want to compete in the market.

Reasons for switching to WooCommerce

It was too expensive to run shopify as a startup

Katrin

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2023

An In-Depth Review of WooCommerce

Overall, I'm really happy with WooCommerce. It's easy to use and customize, and it offers a lot of features that make running an online store a breeze. The customer service is great, and the payment system is secure and reliable. The only downside is the occasional glitches, but I'm sure they'll be fixed soon.

Pros

I've been using WooCommerce for a few months now and I'm loving it! It's so easy to set up and customize, and I love the features and flexibility it offers. The payments system is really secure and reliable, and the customer service is excellent.

Cons

While I love the features and flexibility WooCommerce offers, I've had some issues with the checkout process. It can be quite confusing and slow at times, and there are still some bugs that need to be fixed.

Reasons for switching to WooCommerce

WooCommerce offers a lot of features that its alternatives don't. It's incredibly easy to set up and customize, and it's incredibly secure and reliable. It also offers great customer service and a range of payment options. Most importantly, it's incredibly affordable, making it the perfect choice for small businesses.

James

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2022

Woo Commerce Is One Of The Most Valuable Tools I Have For My Business

Exceptional. I cannot imagine replacing Woo Commerce with any other ecommerce software.

Pros

Everything. It is by far the best and easiest to use ecommerce software I have ever used.

Cons

Nothing. I like everything about Woo commerce; have never had any problems or complaints with how this software works.

Reasons for switching to WooCommerce

Woo Commerce is more functional and easier to use.

Melle

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2023

WooCommerce is Our Go-To For Clients....

I've been working with eCommerce systems for nearly 20 years, and WooCommerce is still my go-to choice. It's the finite control over the user experience that makes it my preference, but then again, it's certainly not for everyone. If you're considering WooCommerce and you have no experience with it, my advice would be to hire a developer who does. They can help you install it, configure it, and show you how to maintain it.

Pros

Firstly, it's free. It's completely free and open-source, so it's a great option for anyone who is starting out. Secondly, you can extend WooCommerce to do literally ANYTHING that you can imagine. Developers around the world have built extensions that you can buy or download to completely control and customize the way it works so if you need a pretty custom shopping experience, there's likely a way to put it together using WooCommerce. Lastly, the design can be very "out of the box" so you don't need an awful lot of design chops to make it look pretty amazing. It's also the standard ecommerce system for WordPress, so if you're buying a high-end theme, chances of it supporting WooCommerce are pretty great.

Cons

The interface is WordPress, since WooCommerce is an add-on. For some people, they find the backend of WordPress a bit off-putting, but once you get going, it's a pretty easy to use piece of software (albeit not very pretty). It would be nice if the order, products and reviews could be easily popped on the dashboard to make them feel more front and center for clients with less experience. The other huge con with WooCommerce is it's hosted with YOUR hosting company, which means that you're responsible for the security of the customer's information. That's not a big deal if you work with a developer, but as a solopreneur, it means making sure you have good site security from the get-go and staying on top of that security upkeep.

Noemí

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2022

Versatility as its finest

Pros

Powerful solution for both eCommerce and site management; obviously being based in the most-used CMS - WordPress. Infinite selection of widgets, addons and developers ready to solve any customization that you would need.

Cons

Also, based on WordPress, the security compliance could be a potential issue for your business.

Romaric

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2022

WooCommerce

From Fiverr to Upwork, I have used WooCommerce on many client projects and it's with all confidence that I recommend this plugin if you're searching for an AI eCommerce Builder. It works pretty well.

Pros

Personally, WooCommerce is an awesome tool for eCommerce business. It can turn any type of website into a professional eCommerce store. It works perfectly with any well-coded theme.It offers a lot of integrations that generally broaden its functionality and help the business owner to virtually replicate anything they could do in a physical store---I mean, just look how awesome the technology is helping us today.WooCommerce is pretty easy to set up as there're helpful guides for it . It helps to improve SEO, engagement, and sales. It offers many interesting features including product reviews which help in building trust in customers and ultimately help in conversion.The product variable option provides possibilities to showcase a single product variation upon a mouse hover. This helps the client to make better product choices and it enhances the product quality.WooCommerce makes it even easier for store owners to collect payments from customers. Just with the stripe and PayPal integration, the client can checkout via Paypal or credit cards ----- this completely erases the need of going to a local bank to send checks.

Cons

WooCommerce is very laggy in support responses. The customer support service is too slow to respond even for users with paid add-ons.

User Profile

Emeka

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2019

An Easy to Use Ecommerce website builder

I used Woocommerce to build my ecommerce website. It was easy to do unlike starting from scratch to build the website. Also I didn't have to pay website developers to build the website for me. It could have costed me a whole lot of money had I outsourced it to website developers.

Pros

Woocommerce is an ecommerce plugin built for WordPress. To be able to use Woocommerce one must install WordPress first. Just like the parent software (WordPress), Woocommerce is very commendable. The things I like about Woocommerce include the following: 1. Free to use: Just like WordPress, Woocommerce is free to use, though one may need to purchase some premium plugins to add some features that may not be available in free plugins. Cost was a major factor for me when I was making the choice of a platform to use for my ecommerce website, and Woocommerce was the best fit for me. 2. Support network: Woocommerce have a huge user base. There are online and offline communities where one can easily get solution to problems. 3. Ease Of Us: Woocommerce is very easy to use compared to some other ecommerce website builders I've checked out. One only have to install compatible themes and plugins to get started. It is a drag and drop ecommerce website builder, and need no technical skills to get started. 4. Security: Woocommerce websites are secure. The plugin witnesses regular updates to keep it secured. 5. Dedicated Dashboard: Woocommerce have a dedicated dashboard where one can see the performance of the website, like the number of sales, and the amount of sales. This is beautiful as I get to see how my business is going without much ado.

Cons

One of the issues I had with Woocommerce was the learning curve. Though it's easy to use after one is done learning it, but the learning curve wasn't very easy for me. After the initial stage of learning though, it became very easy to use. Also with Woocommerce, I had to be updating the server myself unlike with Shopify. Shopify maintains the server. Shopify handles the technicalities. Another issue was the need to buy an SSL encryption. With Shopify, this wasn't an issue for me, as Shopify takes care of that.

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

I chose Woocommerce because it was free and easy to use.

Reasons for switching to WooCommerce

I made the switch from Shopify to Woocommerce because Woocommerce is free to use, while Shopify is a paid alternative.

Daniel

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2022

C&U review of Woocommerce

Positive. Would recommend to anyone.

Pros

Easy integration with plugins and other platforms. Inventory tracking. Order management. Refunds. Shipment tracking numbers.

Cons

Shipping profiles and actual cost of shipping rates. I find that the actual shipping rates will differ from what the customer pays to what we end up paying for a label. And in particular, international shipping costs are only available as a flat rate, and do not calculate an accurate cost. Making the difference between shipping from US to Canada the same as shipping from US to Europe.

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

Customization

Reasons for switching to WooCommerce

Needed to grow and customize our site. The inventory management on Squarespace was limited. And customizing on Squarespace did not allow for how my business was growing.

Steph

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2021

Decent Depending on What You Need it For

It's great for small shops. It works best for simple things, especially affiliate products. Can be cumbersome for growing shops. You need at least some Wordpress experience. Requires a decent amount of maintenance. Overall, I'd give it a 3 out 5 stars.

Pros

Woocommerce is a really inexpensive way to get started with ecommerce. It's great if you're just starting out and on a tight budget since it is a free plugin. It also depends what you're using Woocommerce for. It works the best for affiliate products.

Cons

Although Woocommerce is free, it does help to have some knowledge of Wordpress and basic development skills to effectively use it. Otherwise, using a paid ecommerce software is much easier. I've used Woocommerce for years and it can become very heavy and cumbersome with the more products you add. It's gotten a lot better over the years, but the functionality can still be tricky and you need to install a lot of plugins to customize it to your various needs. Code, plugins, Wordpress, etc., can also easily break your site from updates and conflicts. There's a lot of maintenance that goes into a Wordpress site and that's maximized with Woocommerce. I find other ecommerce software to be much easier to use and be less of a headache, especially for a beginner.

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

Just needed an extremely simple affiliate product ecommerce software. If I was selling a good amount of products or needed something that's extremely easy to use and doesn't require much maintenance, then I'd go with a paid software.

John

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2021

WooCommerce - Great system! Not perfect! But is anything really perfect?

I personally believe the 'pros' outweigh the 'cons' when considering WooCommerce as an E-commerce platform. I've built multiple sites using WooCommerce that would have $cost tens of thousands of dollars had a Developer been required to code all of these functions. My advice would always be - find a high quality / low-cost Developer (using one of the online labour aggregator sites e.g. Upwork) who has a wealth of recent WooCommerce experience (particularly with the functionality you are looking to achieve) and accept that not everything will work perfectly (or even be compatible) straight 'out of the box'. At the end of the day, if you priced all of the code that has been contributed to make WooCommerce what it is today - it would probably cost $billions to rebuild. So the next time you're criticising 'free' - remember that nothing is ever free.

Pros

There are too many pro's to mention with WooCommerce, but i love the fact that it is Open Source which ensures thousands of plugins are available to extend the functionality of WooCommerce. And this is Woocommerce's biggest strength - It can quite feasibly allow a micro-size company to operate like an Enterprise (e-biz), including building end-to-end workflow automation across an entire business operation. Remarkably, this business panacea (end-2-end) can conceivably be achieved free of charge, or for only a few hundred dollars (plus A LOT of Developer and Administrator time).

Cons

WooCommerce doesn't come without Con's, and it's vitally important to recognise them. The main 'con' for me is the fact that because you have an 'infrastructure' that allows you to 'act' like an Enterprise - the temptation is to do so. This is where cost, resources, licences, etc can start to rack up. WooCommerce DOES NOT provide everything out of the box, but rather through a series of Modules (1st & 3rd party) that come at a cost. If you purchase from WooCommerce (Automattic) you pay a premium for each module (but you get support). If you purchase from 3rd party devs you typically pay a lower cost for the module (but the support is often questionable, as are the 'upgrades', 'compatibility roadmap', etc). So, although WooCommerce is an incredible toolset for building an Enterprise-style e-commerce platform, it is not always plain sailing.

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

Cost and functionality benefits are always the reasons why I always choose WooCommerce over its competitors.

Reasons for switching to WooCommerce

Love Shopify as well (as WooCommerce), but feel that WooCommerce gives the owner more control, more functionality, and more opportunities to create an end-2-end digital workflow. But, there's also a lot to be said for having a simpler system that doesn't allow you to get carried away.

Sarah

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2020

A great e-commerce solution, but still awhile to go...

WooCommerce is great in its e-commerce features but lacks where its obvious competitors are excelling in, turning it into a second-grade choice when compared to the likes of BigCommerce, Krepling, and Shopify.

Pros

WooCommerce is great in its core product offering. It offerings everything one could ask for when looking to deploy an online store. It is simple and easy to use and also has a decent array of features. For WordPress users, it is a must-have if you are looking to deploy online selling functions.

Cons

Where WooCommerce falls short is its simplicity. Whilst platforms like Shopify, Krepling, and BigCommerce have mastered the ability to simplify and centralize the online selling environment and business management, WooCommerce has yet to innovate any of its central dashboards and interfaces. I have used WooCommerce for 3.5 years, and despite it being a very powerful selling tool, I have never been able to look past it being just a WordPress plugin. Entrepreneurs are still required to have their own separate hosting options and domain configurations, which require users to constantly jump between different support options just to troubleshoot errors. Not to mention how much WooCommerce relies on WordPress. Although I have no complaints about WordPress, its ease of building websites has not adopted a 'no-code' ideology, thus requiring users to purchase additional plugins like themes and modules.

Reasons for switching to WooCommerce

Magneto required extensive knowledge of coding and programming. Something not clearly marketed by the platform.

User Profile

Gustavo

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY