User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.71

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Papertrail helps keep up to date and organised with its simplicity and great customer support. Someone is always there if I need anything."
  • icon"The support team is great, very helpful and speedy. Papertrail eliminates the need for binders full of checklists, it is all stored and archived for you."
  • icon"The ability to tailor it to meet our needs. The ability to add features and details as you go."
  • icon"Given that we have so many users, sometimes there can be some issues with inspections not being included when a full account sync is initiated, again, not solely Papertrail, user error can be blamed."
  • icon"The inability to complete the same amount of features on mobile devices s a laptop or pc."
  • icon"It's somewhat non-intuitive, for example I can't find a way to remove an empty folder."

Browse all Papertrail Reviews

  • Have you used Papertrail and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 34 reviews

Aran

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Farming

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

The Arboricultural Industry needs to adopt this software!

Great! Well supported platform with eager team members who are willing to help.

Pros

All of your PUWER, LOLER, FA and stock in one place, easily adaptable and the support staff are always on hand to help.

Cons

Not all products used in our industry are searchable, this is not Papertrail in general, its the manufacturers issue. Given that we have so many users, sometimes there can be some issues with inspections not being included when a full account sync is initiated, again, not solely Papertrail, user error can be blamed.

Response from Papertrail

Hi Aran thanks so much for the awesome feedback! Great to hear that you find Papertrail easy to use and adaptable. We now have over 70 manufacturers in our Product Directory but we are always keen to keep adding to the system so please let the support team know if there are manufacturers/equipment you use regularly that aren't available - and we will try our best to get them added! Many thanks

Replied September 2022

Natasha

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Renewables & Environment

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2019

Papertrail review

I have found paper trail to be really useful for gathering data and it allowing staff and their manager access to see this information where ever they are. And also that certs can be stored so they can also gain access to these at all times. It has helped me with reporting and keeping onto of what I have / haven't done and also gives space to ad comments where needed.

Pros

Quick and easy to use Gives a quick overview at a glance Able to add features that are personalised to what we need it for Ability to manage tasks via the portal Staff very helpful along with the guidance sheets that can be found

Cons

At first I felt it didn't show a true picture as the options were either valid or invalid. After speaking with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] I found out we were able to add other options such as 'awaiting certificate' 'NA at present' 'New training request' which now give a full honest view of training records. Reporting feature had a few technical issues at first - again these have been resolved

Reasons for choosing Papertrail

Paper trail was already established and when we were given a demo it looked like the best fit for what we wanted it to do.

Reasons for switching to Papertrail

Excel wasn't practical for running off reports and it was down to the eye and a highlighter to mark any up and coming training where as with this feature I can now track and see straight away what is coming up with no risk of missing anything. I also automatically updates staff and managers if their certs are due to expire .

Response from Papertrail

Hi Natasha, thank you so much for your feedback!

Replied April 2020

Columbus

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2019

Papertrail Rope Access

Great app for get in/get out tracking PPE.

Pros

Populates most existing PPE used for rope access.

Cons

Would like to be able to customize specific equipment with our own checklist for records.

Response from Papertrail

Thanks for your feedback! Not only do we have a range of manufacturer checklists, we can build custom checklists to suit your needs.

Replied November 2019

Brian

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2022

overveiw of papertrail

Every problem none to man. its equipment tracing and iv used it as a health and safety manament system for risk assessments so i dnt have to remember review dates i did a national diploma in health and safety and the equipment tracking system helped also when we have audits the auditors love it i can do random checks on kit when ever needed its a simple management system and the support is great i do only speak to [SENSITIVE CONTENT] as im not fan of dealing with different people for same thing i do this with most companies.im sure they are all the same standard but [SENSITIVE CONTENT] is the favorite . if we was to change to another company it would have to start all over again and dont think i would get the same level of service. on another note i should put kids birthdays in the system and anniversary so i cant forget ha ha ha

Pros

Its straight forward and i always get help from [SENSITIVE CONTENT] when im stuck becasue im not great with computers

Cons

cant zoom in on pictures that you upload

Reasons for choosing Papertrail

comapany already had it. I charge of it 4 years ago because the person incharge before wasnt any use

Response from Papertrail

Hi Brian thank you so much for your review, I'm pleased to hear how beneficial Papertrail is to you and your company. I'm happy to report that if you look at any images on the mobile app you can zoom in, and if you click on the link to open it on the web app it should go into full screen for you. Many thanks, Papertrail

Replied August 2022

Dave

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

The H&S Must-have software

Papertrail has been excellent, easy to use and a constant source of information about PPE.

Pros

Easy to use, the staff will help you transition your old record system into it.

Cons

I would like to be able to completely delete old users rather than just 'archive' them.

Reasons for choosing Papertrail

Already set up and specialised in the area. Advice and help available from staff.

Reasons for switching to Papertrail

Recommended by a trainer, and it is a vast improvement on the previous system. It's accessible from anywhere with an internet connection, and allows access from mobile devices as well.

Response from Papertrail

Hi Dave Thank you so much for your feedback and great review! Pleased to hear that you are loving our App. Just to let you know, the reason we don't have an option to delete old users from the system is to maintain the integrity of your records, as deleting the users would remove their inspections from your account. Best wishes Vicki

Replied October 2020

Paul

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

Why didn't i discover this sooner

After using an Excel spreadsheet to manage 2500 items of plant, Papertrail will streamline all our processes managing the use, movement and inspection of all equipment.

Pros

Very capable system that becomes fully intuitive with guidance and use. It can save days of labour over a year and allow for a comprehensive record of all plant and PPE

Cons

Nothing really. Confusing at first until Papertrail helped understand the system better.

Reasons for choosing Papertrail

recommendations and industry specific set up. Also great value compared to other systems.

Reasons for switching to Papertrail

Lack of reliability and our plant register outgrew the system.

Response from Papertrail

Thank you so much for your feedback!

Replied November 2019

Bob

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

Safe Equipment Management

The support from Papertrail has been excellent. Not that we have needed much as most problems have been easily solved.

Pros

Ease of use. The ability to tailor it to meet our needs. The ability to add features and details as you go.

Cons

There is Very little to dislike about Papertrail.

Reasons for choosing Papertrail

Bespoke nature of Papertrail

Response from Papertrail

Thank you so much for your feedback!

Replied November 2019

Graham

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

An excellent hassle free app that just works

This app allows me to keep on top of PPE and other H+S inspections which is important as this is only a small part of my job (in terms of time allocation) but has a massive impact on the quality of my students' learning experiences as they alway shave the right kit which is checked and compliant.

Pros

It has mobile and desktop apps so it doesn't matter what device I'm using in all situations, and allows flexibility to add/modify team permissions on the go.

Cons

Nothing to dislike really. This box won't let the form submit without more characters in.

Reasons for choosing Papertrail

It's a local company offering great customer support

Reasons for switching to Papertrail

The app was far better suited to meet my needs and had additional features that I didn't have previously

Response from Papertrail

Thank you so much for your feedback!

Replied November 2019

Lennart

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2020

Great system

My PPE (Personal Protective Equipment) has to have a documented inspection at least once a year. With Papertrail that inspection is made alot easier beacuse I have all documentation and previous inspection protocols in the system. That saves a lot of time and frustration.

Pros

In my work as an arborist its important to trust my equipment. By using Papertrail I can be sure I have checked all my gear according to local legislation. It also provides or holds all manuals to my equipment and provide alot of checklists to make my inspections even more reliable.

Cons

Papertrail is a complex system with a lot of features. That makes the learning a little slower but still alot easier than other Excel based systems I've used before.

Reasons for choosing Papertrail

Time and frustration got less.

Response from Papertrail

Hi Lennart, Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that you are happy with Papertrail. If you need any help at all, please reach out to us at support@papertrail.io or by using the big green button (bottom right) to get through to support!

Replied September 2020

Sean

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2019

Kit Inspections and Logging

Very good, friendly and supportive staff. A great product and user friendly. I have multi nationalities working for my company and they all find it easy to use despite some language difficulties

Pros

The system is very easy to use once you get the hang of it. Good at reminding when inspections are due. I have not used any of the LOLER forms yet as not required for my purposes but seem a very good tools as well. Easy to add to if you need more kit

Cons

The RFID set up took some working on to get it correct and sometimes if not used for few months then a software update prevents it from working. Would be good if Software updates could be emailed or message and put on the system so vendors are aware RFID readers need updating. Would be a great system for companies with huge amounts of kit

Reasons for choosing Papertrail

Ease of use and my requirements for Kit logging and inspections

Response from Papertrail

Thank you very much for your feedback! We will definitely take on board notifying customers of updates that could interfere with RFID

Replied November 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2020

time saving

Pros

ease of use, time savings, communication with customers

Cons

the lack of language options reduces the number of users.

Response from Papertrail

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. RE: language options, this is something that features heavily on our Product Roadmap so it is something we are working on. Kind regards. Charlotte

Replied April 2020

james

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2019

Rope access equipment management

I have had a good experience with Papertrail to date and would like to continually develop more departments with the software.

Pros

The software is quick to use and the support for learning new developments is fantastic.

Cons

The inability to complete the same amount of features on mobile devices s a laptop or pc.

Reasons for choosing Papertrail

Ease of use.

Reasons for switching to Papertrail

The original software couldn't handle the frequency of the inspections.

Response from Papertrail

Thank you so much for your feedback! Our mobile app has been updated massively and most features on the desktop app are now available on the mobile app. Hope this helps!

Replied October 2020

Paul

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2019

Papertrail is awsome!

I has already paid for itself this year! I had some equipment that was not lasting as long as it should have and after much back and forth with the manufacturer I was able to get it all replaced after showing the maintenance and inspection history for those items.

Pros

Having all my necessary information in a single place! At first I thought it was a bit expensive and unnecessary to pay that much for the software - I was wrong. I was wrong! The task manager is a fantastic addition!

Cons

The reporting at times doesn't give me what I need but seems to be improving.

Reasons for choosing Papertrail

Papertrail is much more functional, affordable, and the customer support team is fantastic! Also came highly recommended from one of my vendors.

Reasons for switching to Papertrail

The other software was way too complicated, difficult to archive records, and the reporting was terrible.

Response from Papertrail

Hi Paul, thank you so much for your feedback! I'm glad that you are loving Task Manager and that it has paid for itself. We are currently working on a reporting tool which will allow you to pull more information. Charlotte

Replied October 2020

Stephen

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2021

Excellent product with fantastic customer support

Pros

Ease of use and the ability to integrate with our staff offshore and the ability to work offline during inspection of equipment. The support from Papertrail has been excellent. This is what separates them from from their competitors.

Cons

As with all new software people are often resistant to change and learning new things. The support /assistance from Papertail has helped to alleviate this issue.

Response from Papertrail

Thank you very much for your response. It's great to hear that you have had a positive experience with Papertrail. Your feedback is much appreciated!

Replied October 2021

Clare

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Renewables & Environment

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2020

Papertrail

Spot on [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] have always been helpful

Pros

Its a great interface and the customer service is impecible

Cons

Just not being able to copy and paste assets - You can clone but have to go in individually to fix

Reasons for switching to Papertrail

Better tracking

Response from Papertrail

Hi Clare, thanks so much for your feedback. We will take on board your comments on copying and pasting assets and feed this back. Kind regards, Charlotte

Replied April 2020

Bradley

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2021

Efficient and compliant management of PPE

Fantastic. Great product and great support from al the team at Papertrail.

Pros

The program is clear and simple to use, the mobile app is brilliant!

Cons

If I could make one improvement suggestion it would be this: When using the search feature on the mobile app the RFID and barcode buttons are too small and too close to each other, I am constantly pressing the wrong button because of this.

Reasons for choosing Papertrail

No mobile app.

Mike

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Sports

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

great for useability, and tracing inspections

Pros

How easy it is to manage inspection intervals.

Cons

More focus could be put into evidence, i.e mandatory options for photos or report uploading

Response from Papertrail

Great feedback Mike thank you, I will certainly pass on your suggestions to our Product Team!

Replied November 2022

Mark

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Renewables & Environment

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY