All Barracuda Email Security Gateway Reviews

1-25 of 155 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Michael

Financial Services, 51 - 200 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed January 2022

Keeping your company safe (and less annoyed by spam)

User Profile

Ebrahim

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Secure and Powerful

PROS

When it comes to email security, Barracuda certainly is the right tool. A small, lightweight appliance that handles not only scanning of emails, it also does traffic routing and monitoring and gives you detailed reports about the health of your environment. Barracuda has an up-to-date database of IBL addresses, as well as advanced virus scanning built-in. Definitions are updated automatically as they come out, so you don't need any manual intervention. Firmware updates are also automatic, so it pretty much takes car of itself. Everything is manageable through and easy to use Web Interface, which lets you blacklist, whitelist, track delivery, run reports and so much more. Honestly though, the only time you really need to log into the console is to check on a blacklisted address, which is very rarely. You do get your occasional false-positive and even rarer false-negative, but it happens so rarely that I really find it insignificant. In terms of reliability, I have found that the Barracuda hardly needs to be rebooted(Maybe once a year, if even) and quickly comes back online and continues what it does best.

CONS

I honestly don't have anything I dislike about the Barracuda. It works and works well. Aside from email security, I have used it as a traffic router and proxy server and a NAT firewall, so I really find nothing wrong with it

User Profile

Dustin

Verified reviewer

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

The right tool for the job

We used BSF to reduce overall spam e-mail and improve network security; it has accomplished those goals.

PROS

The Barracuda Spam Firewall simply does what it is supposed to do -- it stops spam. Since implementation we've seen a significant decrease (to less than 2% of all attempts) in spam getting through to our users.

CONS

The user interface is slow and sometimes hides options in strange tabs (for example, Administration vs Advanced Networking -- why not just a single "networking" tab where you can do it all?)

Kristen

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

Good, but not great, Spam Filter

PROS

Price is reasonable for what you get; interface is smooth; easy to use; support is very helpful. I think with more training some of the spam that is getting through could be cleaned up for my business. The firewall has many options and features. The interface is complex.

CONS

No content filter - this software filters inbound or outbound messages only. It definitely takes some time to adjust and customize.

User Profile

Andrew

Verified reviewer

Law Practice

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2018

No problems after 4 years

PROS

Barracuda seems to do a fine job filtering out at least the obvious threats. I haven't had any major problems with it in the 4+ years my company has used it.

CONS

It does not detect phishing emails very well. I would think it would be able to see that an email had certain traits, like being non-personalized, very short, containing a link, and sent from a Russian email address and filter it, but I don't think it can do that.

Manoj

Textiles, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Best email security getaway

If you have in house email server you must use it to protect your user.

PROS

We can use it with multiple domains there is no limitation.

CONS

Display of email log need more user friendly.

User Profile

Mithila

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2020

Best for protection against email threats

Scanning the links and contents comes within the emails before delivering to the user is helping to mitigate the risks of harmful activities in the network.

PROS

Advance threat protection and been able to deploy in cloud. Much easy to migrate the security to the cloud. If the mail server is down this gateway is able to accept the mails and hold it in the gateway till the mail server comes online.

CONS

Sometimes it's annoying to add every ip address or sources to the unblock list. Emails are getting blocked all the time even the trusted ones.

Joseph

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Barracuda offers very strong spam protection

We are using Barracuda as our spam filter for email. It has helped us block a lot of current spam issues, though sometimes it can get a little over zealous.

PROS

Barracuda is good at what it does, possibly the best in the industry. It allows us to stave off most spam and search for it when it does come through.

CONS

It can be slow at times, especially when searching through our large volume of emails.

User Profile

Ryan

Verified reviewer

Environmental Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2017

Great support and easy to use interface

Spam filtering and email management from anywhere.

PROS

They have a very robust online interface that allows for customization and if you need supoort they are there to help. They are very knowledgeable and are easy to work with especially it you are not an IT professional.

CONS

The plan we have is a 5 year commitment and it is fairly pricey if you don't need all the features available.

User Profile

Arthur

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2018

We use this for all of our email and our customers hosted email

PROS

it is pretty effective at reducing spam The blacklists and whitelists are easy to modify It is easy to manage several different domains Support is really good

CONS

The appliance can be slow when looking through spam history It can be a bit difficult to figure out why exactly something was blocked. The filter levels can be a little confusing

User Profile

Amanda

Verified reviewer

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2018

Saves me a lot of trouble

Security and peace of mind knowing my computer will not crash due to spam and malware.

PROS

Barracuda is easy to set up and junk mail/ spam never gets into my email. It gives me piece of mind and allows me to feel secure when working off our servers.

CONS

The price is high. It took a bit of research before taking the plunge and buying it. Well worth it though.

Peter

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

If you want secure Emails, This is for You.

PROS

I worked in the hospital transport system during a time where electronic orders were becoming more and more necessary as patient census was up and the need for rapid and efficient transport was needed. One of the biggest security risks in any hospital database is patient information. With the increase of enforcement of HIPA and the frequent JACO inspections, emailing patient information in an unsecured way was not tolerated by hospital institutions. Barracuda would allow us to encrypt patient information in a secure format so it would be near impossible for the information to be intercepted by an unwanted party. I appreciated the ease of use as both the sender and the receiver of messages. While having received more messages then I have sent, you would receive an email with nearly no information on it other than the senders name, a link to an encrypted web page where you would log in and receive the message. At this point you also had an opportunity to reply to the message with the same type of security. This is an A+++ program and is essential to anyone in healthcare dealing with sensitive patient information.

CONS

I do not have much to say in regards to what I did not like about the software. The only thing I could think of was that it did slow down message exchange but was worth the security for the patient.

Bryan

Aviation & Aerospace, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Good mail security solution

e-mail is probably the largest threat vector we deal with. We've been using Barracuda for a number of years to protect our company and have great success protecting our desktops from receiving e-mails with Malware and bad links. Phishing attacks are hard for any protection service to adjust to and I feel Barracuda has done a great job taking care of us. Good support with expertise technicians have always made it easy to resolve any problems I was unable to resolve myself.

PROS

Solid mail security solution. Works great in protecting our domain from the barrage of mail we get each day. Tons of features including the ability to adjust how tight we want to scrutinize incoming mail. Easy to work with regarding reviewing and releasing captured e-mail and Spam tagging. Very customizable for adjusting protection

CONS

Takes time for items tagged as SPAM to propagate and protect from similar e-mails coming in

Bob

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2017

Works very well at blocking and quarantining email spam.

An easy way to filter email spam and viruses, while proving whitelisting and blacklisting of specific users and domains.

PROS

Fairly easy to administer. easy to check if email from a specific user or domain is being blocked so it can be whitelisted. Blacklisting email from a specific user or domain is also easily done. We subscribe to Barracuda Energize Updates, which checks the Barracuda corporate site for the latest spam and virus rules, and automatically installs them on our Barracuda. Telephone tech support has been great at solving a couple random issues and with very quick response times.

CONS

Required some advanced initial setup configuration by a local Barracuda reseller. Have not really had any major issues with our unit.

Lynn

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Okay experience with the spam firewall

It protects your email users from outside attacks and spam, but it really has been the same product for 10+ years, and I get better false positives using other open source anti-spam products today.

PROS

Easy to use. Enjoy the product flexibility with both public and private cloud products to protect both public and private cloud email servers. Supports non-Barracuda black and white lists as well. Has both virtual and physical solutions. Great technical support.

CONS

Physical and virtual appliances are expensive, but the spam and virus definitions subscription fees are the normal costs. They really have not improved the product much, and the email encryption is something that needs work (not easy to use).

Blake

Mining & Metals, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

No News is Good News

Great anti-spyware software that runs unobtrusively in the background. Most antispyware software that runs in the background really slows things down and causes latency. Barracuda provides a smooth experience.

PROS

It definitely works like it's supposed to. Each day we get a summary of all of the spam emails that we received and most were malicious in nature. Very few false positives get stuck through the filter!

CONS

I didn't purchase it, but I hear it's not really the economical option. We maintain sensitive engineering prints and this level of security is essentially a requirement to win some contracts.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Great value for excellent protection

This software helps us maintain HIPAA compliance when sending information, and keep our infrastructure secure by blocking all spam messages.

PROS

I like how simple this system is to use. Additionally, it just works. I haven't seen a piece of malware slip through and the false positive rate is relatively low. The added ability to encrypt email with keywords or by it identifying protected information is a wonderful addition.

CONS

The only issue I've had with this is that we get no notification when emails are automatically encrypted based on protected infomation, so we cannot notify recipients that aessage will be encrypted and occasionally it's a little sesnitive to information it determines as "protected".

Ali

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Excellent Product - Tons of Features

Overall we are very pleased with the product. It has prevented a lot of unwanted emails and the ease of using it (once you are familiar with it) is great.

PROS

The application has many features and tools you can use to easily find a certain email or group of emails. The reporting and graphs makes it easy to know whats been done.

CONS

There's a lot that it can do, so learning takes a while and can sometimes get confusing, however, once you are familiar with the application its easy to use

Anonymous

5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT