User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(80)

80

4 stars

(44)

44

3 stars

(8)

8

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(1)

1

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Barracuda Email Security Gateway Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 132 results

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Sergey from sbe Lifestyle Hospitality

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Great way to get a better control of your email

Much lighter load on my MS Exchange server, full control of all the incoming correspondence.

Pros

Set it and forget it solution for your email that will help you to significantly reduce amount of unwanted correspondence. Fully automated platform, automatic updates, self learning mechanism. Outstanding customer service and technical support, when you need them. One day I needed an urgent replacement of the unit, because mine broke. Replacement unit arrived in less than 24 hours! In addition, if you host your email in-house (MS Exchange for example), it will significanlty decrease load on your server, blocking all the unwanted messages BEFORE they his your mail server. Administration is very simple and flexible. You can create custom rules in addition to the automated scanning of inbound correspondence.

Cons

While automatic updates are convenient, there were a couple of instances, when the updates were corrupted, resulting in blocking all of my mail. Gladly, Barracuda technical support is always there for you, as I have mentioned. They were able to correct the problem within a couple of hours each time this happened.

March 2021

Brian from Stoughton Utilities

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Robust spam, virus, and phishing filtering appliance with a lot of options

Our overall experience has been excellent, and we have been using the product for over a decade. During this time, we have upgraded to the newest Barracuda ESG each time the platform has come up for review. Our experiences with their support team have been minimal, but excellent each time support has been needed. Their user forum has also been helpful when looking to configure rules to address ongoing campaigns, or with basic configuration questions. Firmware updates over the years have kept the platform up to date with new options and user tools.

Pros

Once fully configured, the platform is very reliable, resulting in few false-positives and blocking nearly all spam. The administrator interface is easy to use and allows for numerous ways to detect spam, with a lot of configurability. The user interface is easy to use, either through the web interface or the Outlook add-in. The hardware appliance and firmware is rock solid, requiring almost no ongoing maintenance except periodic updates.

Cons

The mail log view can be cumbersome when trying to analyze large numbers of incoming emails, and the log filtering cannot always be set to find precisely what you're looking for, particularly due to the lack of filtering/wildcard options. When it comes to spam detection, all rules are universal, so you can't apply just some rules to a subset of emails (such as based on user/sender/sending server), which for us sometimes results in false-positive blocking. Barracuda's live definition updating has been quick to respond to new spam campaigns and threats, which results in virtually no spam, virus, or phishing emails ever reaching our users.

Reasons for Switching to Barracuda Email Security Gateway

The former product was continuing to miss a lot of spam and did not have the configurability at the time for the necessary rules to be created to address the problem. Also, the reliability of a dedicated hardware appliance was needed.

March 2018

Kristen from AAACCVB

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Good, but not great, Spam Filter

Pros

Price is reasonable for what you get; interface is smooth; easy to use; support is very helpful. I think with more training some of the spam that is getting through could be cleaned up for my business. The firewall has many options and features. The interface is complex.

Cons

No content filter - this software filters inbound or outbound messages only. It definitely takes some time to adjust and customize.

August 2021

Max from Royal Electric

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Security and More!

Overall, the experience has been good, with very few exceptions. Everything you need is there, just spend the time to learn it and you will see the value.

Pros

One of my favorite features of the Barracuda Email Security Gateway is its features. For example, the Barracuda Email Security has many tools to allow your users to safely receive emails and also control the things that leave mailboxes. There are tools to control inbound and outbound settings, and in the background, security features that prevent malware from entering your domain. My favorite tool of this SaaS application is the flexibility you have to control inbound settings. Particularly speaking, I like how you can customize content policies. Things like regular expressions (regex) give a new perspective to content filtering. This means you can block templated emails that are used for phishing or malicious activity. Another Pro I consider is the visibility of emails. Barracuda gives you great insight on what's happening during the transmission of emails. You can clearly see what is being exchanged, why things are blocked or deferred or quarantined, email headers, and it gives you the ability to deliver emails regardless of classification - you have the control. Lastly, support is something I really liked. Have an issue with something? Need an explanation to some error or granular configuration question? They can help. I've had nothing but good interactions with support when I am stumped. Email security is a corporate standard and so should Barracuda!

Cons

There is one Con I will have to mention about this piece of good software. When you are subscribing to the Barracuda Essentials, make sure that you are aware of what comes with it. By default, Barracuda does a great job at blocking malicious emails BUT you will notice, as you continue to use it, that you will see phishing emails continue to pass through. They do have a separate component called "Sentinel" that does a really good job at blocking these emails based on AI. This may be a problem for you if only have the Essential package. This would mean that you'll be relying on writing regex to block phishing emails that slip through the cracks. These emails come from Gmail, so you can't simply block Gmail without also affecting legitimate correspondence (IE. recruiters may accept resumes from Gmail.).

August 2021

Tom from White's Lumber, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2021

Barracuda Email Security Has Teeth, but difficult to access

With the new M365 setup and the Barracuda Email Security in place, spam and other attacks in email have been avoided. The logic the Barracuda uses works well, the archiving is complete.

Pros

We moved from an in house Exchange 2007 Server with a SonicWall Email Security 5000 system attached. The Barracuda system is tough on spam and does just as good a job as the Sonicwall ES5000. The daily reports of spam stoppage may be set by the individual to hourly if they like. Easy end user release of documents, and whitelisting specific Addresses.

Cons

The archive is rough. The search features are weak and cumbersome, and are actually difficult for most people to use. Admin searches produces too much information in the results. Compared to Mail Store we were on before this for Archiving, Barracuda Archiving is lagging way behind in user interface functions.

Reasons for Choosing Barracuda Email Security Gateway

Barracuda offered us more control over the Archiving and the Email Security system seemed better than the standard Microsoft version offered.

Reasons for Switching to Barracuda Email Security Gateway

Email Security--Sonicwall ES5000 does not work with M365 products. Archiving: Mailstore would work with M365, but we needed to upgrade the server we used, and that was less cost effective.

February 2019

User Profile Picture

Ebrahim from SCS Africa

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Secure and Powerful

Pros

When it comes to email security, Barracuda certainly is the right tool. A small, lightweight appliance that handles not only scanning of emails, it also does traffic routing and monitoring and gives you detailed reports about the health of your environment. Barracuda has an up-to-date database of IBL addresses, as well as advanced virus scanning built-in. Definitions are updated automatically as they come out, so you don't need any manual intervention. Firmware updates are also automatic, so it pretty much takes car of itself. Everything is manageable through and easy to use Web Interface, which lets you blacklist, whitelist, track delivery, run reports and so much more. Honestly though, the only time you really need to log into the console is to check on a blacklisted address, which is very rarely. You do get your occasional false-positive and even rarer false-negative, but it happens so rarely that I really find it insignificant. In terms of reliability, I have found that the Barracuda hardly needs to be rebooted(Maybe once a year, if even) and quickly comes back online and continues what it does best.

Cons

I honestly don't have anything I dislike about the Barracuda. It works and works well. Aside from email security, I have used it as a traffic router and proxy server and a NAT firewall, so I really find nothing wrong with it

August 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

Filters out all the bad stuff

Well, it does keep you safe! It does what it's supposed to.

Pros

I never get spam emails in my inbox. No phishing. It does what it is supposed to do and keeps your email safe. We also used for browser security it was savage blocking you from most non work sites

Cons

Sometimes it was too good blocking sites we actually needed to visit for lending purposes. Also occasionally emails from customers with attachments wouldn't come through without jumping through s lot if hoops

February 2018

User Profile Picture

Andrew from Law Offices of Norton Tooby

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

No problems after 4 years

Pros

Barracuda seems to do a fine job filtering out at least the obvious threats. I haven't had any major problems with it in the 4+ years my company has used it.

Cons

It does not detect phishing emails very well. I would think it would be able to see that an email had certain traits, like being non-personalized, very short, containing a link, and sent from a Russian email address and filter it, but I don't think it can do that.

February 2018

User Profile Picture

Arthur from Covenant Technology Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

We use this for all of our email and our customers hosted email

Pros

it is pretty effective at reducing spam The blacklists and whitelists are easy to modify It is easy to manage several different domains Support is really good

Cons

The appliance can be slow when looking through spam history It can be a bit difficult to figure out why exactly something was blocked. The filter levels can be a little confusing

August 2021

User Profile Picture

Zyren Christian from Caspio

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Barracuda Email Security Gateway Review

Pros

Barracuda Email Security gateway enables our company mailboxes secured. Advanced email threat filtering is one of the things that I liked, just to mention there's a lot of other features that is so helpful specially IDS, IPS, encryption, and many more.

Cons

So far we don't have any issues with the use of this Barracuda product.

December 2018

Peter from CareOne EMS

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

If you want secure Emails, This is for You.

Pros

I worked in the hospital transport system during a time where electronic orders were becoming more and more necessary as patient census was up and the need for rapid and efficient transport was needed. One of the biggest security risks in any hospital database is patient information. With the increase of enforcement of HIPA and the frequent JACO inspections, emailing patient information in an unsecured way was not tolerated by hospital institutions. Barracuda would allow us to encrypt patient information in a secure format so it would be near impossible for the information to be intercepted by an unwanted party. I appreciated the ease of use as both the sender and the receiver of messages. While having received more messages then I have sent, you would receive an email with nearly no information on it other than the senders name, a link to an encrypted web page where you would log in and receive the message. At this point you also had an opportunity to reply to the message with the same type of security. This is an A+++ program and is essential to anyone in healthcare dealing with sensitive patient information.

Cons

I do not have much to say in regards to what I did not like about the software. The only thing I could think of was that it did slow down message exchange but was worth the security for the patient.

November 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

An effective email security gateway with Easy to use Interface.

Over experience is very good. Barracuda is heavily focused on their email security platform and are improving it continuously. we are using their products for more than 5 years and very much satisfied with their offerings.

Pros

The administration of Barracuda is very easy and straight forward. Configuring and setting up the device is quite easy. The security features are quite effective and practical. It keeps the spam and malicious emails out. Reporting is also quite functional but can be improved a bit. Customer service is also efficient and resolves the problem in decent time frame, with great follow up.

Cons

The Barracuda email gateway user interface is somewhat lagging when under some load. They have improved it some what and the lagging has reduced to a bearable degree but room for improvement is there. Customer support is great technically, but their accent is some time very difficult to understand, although I am from the same region, but even then face this problem.

Reasons for Choosing Barracuda Email Security Gateway

We chose Barracuda Email Security Gateway as it provides a cost effective solution with good feature set.

November 2017

Katy from Pond Point Animal Hospital

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

USED THIS FOR 10 Plus YEARS

Many fewer pieces of junk mail in my outlook software!

Pros

most junk mail never makes it to outlook, I can still review all the junk mail that comes through in case the wrong thing got categorized as junk. Easy to change it to deliver to my mail box, or delete. Easy to view it to determine if it is junk. NEW FEATURE at the bottom of the list of junk, just select, delete all shown mail. I do this for all my reception desk email. They have about 35-50 pieces of junk mail a day. I can pull a single piece of mail out, deliver it then delete the rest in a snap

Cons

they used to be slow to pull up, so I would hit delete on one piece of mail and ignore it for a little while opened in my browser until it loaded, that has really improved in the last few weeks. Also if you leave it open and ignore it after a period of time it logs you out so you have to go to the original and hit the link again. Truly minor for the headaches it clears for me. I receive 100+ emails a day I HAVE to read, eliminating a bunch really helps.

February 2019

Bryan from AEC Inc

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Good mail security solution

e-mail is probably the largest threat vector we deal with. We've been using Barracuda for a number of years to protect our company and have great success protecting our desktops from receiving e-mails with Malware and bad links. Phishing attacks are hard for any protection service to adjust to and I feel Barracuda has done a great job taking care of us. Good support with expertise technicians have always made it easy to resolve any problems I was unable to resolve myself.

Pros

Solid mail security solution. Works great in protecting our domain from the barrage of mail we get each day. Tons of features including the ability to adjust how tight we want to scrutinize incoming mail. Easy to work with regarding reviewing and releasing captured e-mail and Spam tagging. Very customizable for adjusting protection

Cons

Takes time for items tagged as SPAM to propagate and protect from similar e-mails coming in

November 2019

MIchael from Widget Financial

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Keeping your company safe (and less annoyed by spam)

If you want to protect you company from potential malicious emails and spam, Barracuda should be at the top of your list. It is a breeze to maintain and use. I can’t recommend it enough!

Pros

It works without having to think about it. Once it’s set up, you (and your employees) don’t have to do much. You simply receive and email that contains a digest of the emails that were blocked. If an employee wants to view it or whitelist it so that future emails come directly to them, they can do so with 1 or 2 clicks. It’s that easy!

Cons

I really can’t nitpick on this one too much. It does what it is supposed to do. It would be nice if the digest email contained a snippet or picture of the email so you could quickly determine if you needed it or not, but that might be a security issue so I can’t complain.

October 2017

Bob from CJRW

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Works very well at blocking and quarantining email spam.

An easy way to filter email spam and viruses, while proving whitelisting and blacklisting of specific users and domains.

Pros

Fairly easy to administer. easy to check if email from a specific user or domain is being blocked so it can be whitelisted. Blacklisting email from a specific user or domain is also easily done. We subscribe to Barracuda Energize Updates, which checks the Barracuda corporate site for the latest spam and virus rules, and automatically installs them on our Barracuda. Telephone tech support has been great at solving a couple random issues and with very quick response times.

Cons

Required some advanced initial setup configuration by a local Barracuda reseller. Have not really had any major issues with our unit.

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Expensive product, when it works, it works well, beware when it does not.

It was a replacement for a Cisco Spam Blocker/Ironport device. As far as a replacement, it works when it works.

Pros

It's easy to deploy, and once deployed it is a standalone device that works as the filter. No resource drag on your other systems.

Cons

The hardware it sits on has issues. The first device I received would periodically freeze and had to be manually powered off and then on. There is no warning when it happens and there is no pattern. After several rounds with the tech support, they sent me a replacement. The second one doesn't freeze but sometimes will hold a bunch of emails in queue and not process them for no particular reason. Seems to have something to do with their energize updates eating up all the system's resources.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Protect your server like no other, it works like a charm!

Pros

We've had a Barracuda box for 10+ years and no other appliance nor software could match its performance. One, it was truly plug and play (unlike others). Two, their support/consultants are extremely helpful. Three, the comprehensive layers of protection are in a class of their own. There are many other reasons to list regarding what I like but those three alone are what make Barracuda our leading solution for defense.

Cons

No cons to list. However, if you're sending spam yourself - your efforts won't even come through as tests. That may be a problem for some but it's more of a personal issue due to their own marketing practices. You'll get what you paid for!

July 2020

Sanoj from South Asian Technologies (Pvt) Ltd.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

Per User Qurantine.

99% Spam email block by Barracuda Email Security Gateway and 99.9% attachment also blocked. That is a benefit for us. The reason is Before reached our network that mail block by a cloud layer.

Pros

I like per user quarantine feature. That feature we can use protect our organization reason is we can quarantine unwanted email.Then users easy access the quarantine email and easy realize there mail box. Easy to deploy existing email solution.

Cons

Global Quarantine must improve reason is when we received quarantine mail that mail delivered quarantine mail box and when we check message log that mail stutas delived. That should be change not delived. That is easy for administrator.

June 2018

Lynn from Cyber Solutions, LLC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Okay experience with the spam firewall

It protects your email users from outside attacks and spam, but it really has been the same product for 10+ years, and I get better false positives using other open source anti-spam products today.

Pros

Easy to use. Enjoy the product flexibility with both public and private cloud products to protect both public and private cloud email servers. Supports non-Barracuda black and white lists as well. Has both virtual and physical solutions. Great technical support.

Cons

Physical and virtual appliances are expensive, but the spam and virus definitions subscription fees are the normal costs. They really have not improved the product much, and the email encryption is something that needs work (not easy to use).

December 2019

Brittany from Career Connections

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Barracuda for Email Security

Very simple, efficient form of email security. Great way to keep unwanted spam and potentially harmful emails from your inbox.

Pros

We use Barracuda for Email Security to keep spam and viruses from our mailbox. In my experience, it has been very easy to view which emails are being blocked. Barracuda will send a preview of the blocked email showing the sender and allow you view the email in their system to see if it is something you want to be allowed into your mailbox. This software saved our company from various email threats and spam and our IT manager would be sure to let everyone know which emails to look out for!

Cons

There were times emails would be blocked that we actually needed to come through, but as long as you are paying attention to the emails from Barracuda this shouldn't be a problem.

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

It is the best spam firewall I have ever used.

It filters and prevents data leak. It shields against email threats. It prevents threats from affecting the network. It safeguards sensitive data. It really simple to use.

Pros

It is a very user friendly and secured software. The authority gives updates frequently. It protects from common spam and viruses with cloud-based service that filters messages before they even arrive to the system's firewall.

Cons

It is a bit expensive for mass users. Barracuda does not block suspicious emails entirely rather sends them to a quarantine folder. Individual users can access quarantined email, which opens them up to the possibility of accidentally clicking on spam or downloading a virus.

April 2019

Nasir Khan from TCS Private Limited (https://www.tcs.com.pk)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Awesome Email Security !

Before purchasing Barracuda Email Security Gateway our 4 to 5 mailboxes on Office 365 Cloud were blocked on daily basis. Then we re-route inbound traffic from Office 365 Cloud to Barracuda Email Security Gateway, now all threats filtered out before reaching emails on Office 365 Cloud. Single Sign On (SSO) and deployment of Encrypted SSL are very likely features of this product.Multi Domain integration also supported by Barracuda. Another feature is its energizer updates, specially when Barracuda subscription expires its worked fine. Lot of other superb feature are bundled with this product.

Pros

1. Cloud-based service that pre-filters messages before they even arrive to the system’s firewall. 2. Instead of blocking suspicious emails entirely, Barracuda sends them to a quarantine folder. 3. Fastest process of Large Emails Queue. 4. In-Depth Email logs. 5. It working fine with Hybrid Exchange 365 as inbound and outbound virtual appliance. 6. Its integration Single Sign On (SSO) feature that integrate Barracuda with Active Directory.

Cons

Its physical appliance licensing cost is very high instead of virtual appliance.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Security for your email like no other

Pros

It is a trusted software for us which keeps our emails safe and separates junk emails from important emails. An amazing feature is the possibility to scan through junk emails at the end of the day in case an important email gets mixed up with junk ones. Tech support has been great as well, response was fast and concise.

Cons

Some important emails have been ending up in my junk mail for a few times already. I have made it a habit to check my junk mails in order for me to not lose any important emails. I hope that updates can fix this problem, it is really a bit bothersome.

September 2019

Blake from Midwest Tungsten Service

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

No News is Good News

Great anti-spyware software that runs unobtrusively in the background. Most antispyware software that runs in the background really slows things down and causes latency. Barracuda provides a smooth experience.

Pros

It definitely works like it's supposed to. Each day we get a summary of all of the spam emails that we received and most were malicious in nature. Very few false positives get stuck through the filter!

Cons

I didn't purchase it, but I hear it's not really the economical option. We maintain sensitive engineering prints and this level of security is essentially a requirement to win some contracts.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Great Protection

The overall experience with Barracuda has been great. It cut down the amount of spam messages that were received and does a great job of encrypting emails. The cons are only minor annoyances, but very much tolerable.

Pros

Barracuda is great at stopping threats coming through in emails. It stops a majority of spam mail and can blacklist a sender if one does happen to make it through. It also allows for email encryption, which is vital for user security. If an email gets quarantined, it will let the user know via email that they can log into Barracuda and check the email information before deciding to release or delete it.

Cons

The management interface is somewhat slow to respond. If in a high volume environment, email communication can be slow at times.

November 2017

Ben from Cancer Care Group, P.C.

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

I have used Barracuda's Spam Firewall 300 appliance for 5 years.

Pros

This product simply works. There are new virus/spam definitions automatically sent out multiple times a day. Firmware updates are very easy to install (and uninstall, if necessary). Users are able to modify their personal quarantine and white/blacklist settings to suit their needs.

Cons

The web management interface is rather slow to respond. They need some more advanced security functions built into the software. And the syslog messages generated by the appliance are difficult to translate (and their is limited documentation from Barracuda).

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Great value for excellent protection

This software helps us maintain HIPAA compliance when sending information, and keep our infrastructure secure by blocking all spam messages.

Pros

I like how simple this system is to use. Additionally, it just works. I haven't seen a piece of malware slip through and the false positive rate is relatively low. The added ability to encrypt email with keywords or by it identifying protected information is a wonderful addition.

Cons

The only issue I've had with this is that we get no notification when emails are automatically encrypted based on protected infomation, so we cannot notify recipients that aessage will be encrypted and occasionally it's a little sesnitive to information it determines as "protected".

July 2019

Ali from Decatur Memorial Hospital

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Excellent Product - Tons of Features

Overall we are very pleased with the product. It has prevented a lot of unwanted emails and the ease of using it (once you are familiar with it) is great.

Pros

The application has many features and tools you can use to easily find a certain email or group of emails. The reporting and graphs makes it easy to know whats been done.

Cons

There's a lot that it can do, so learning takes a while and can sometimes get confusing, however, once you are familiar with the application its easy to use

August 2018

User Profile Picture

Dustin from Elk Grove Park District

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

The right tool for the job

We used BSF to reduce overall spam e-mail and improve network security; it has accomplished those goals.

Pros

The Barracuda Spam Firewall simply does what it is supposed to do -- it stops spam. Since implementation we've seen a significant decrease (to less than 2% of all attempts) in spam getting through to our users.

Cons

The user interface is slow and sometimes hides options in strange tabs (for example, Administration vs Advanced Networking -- why not just a single "networking" tab where you can do it all?)

March 2018

Jill from St. Cletus Catholic School

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Great Spam Firewall

It allows you to review the spam before it is deleted

Pros

I like that the software will allow you to view without opening the email within you system. This makes it easy to find out if it is phishing or not. I also like the whitelist feature that will allow you to let them know if an email should come to your inbox or not.

Cons

You only receive an email once a day about spam mail. If something is really important that could be in your spam box, you must wait to see if it is there or not.

December 2017

Laura from Holiday Inn Buffalo Airport

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

This application is a must-- Keeps me 100% protected from spam & spyware.

I would not feel comfortable opening up an email without using this software.

Pros

I like that this program not only protects my email from spam, but in addition to that, spyware too. I can honestly 100% say my email has been clean and protected since beginning the use of this software. Threats are identified and quarantined as quick as they come in. Blocking sites is as easy as one click, and the program even offers training videos which make it incredibly easy to learn to use.

Cons

If something is blocked unnecessarily, it is difficult to unblock the site which only has happened once, but no longer is an issue.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

VERY RELIABLE

I experience this software in my daily workflow and I am exceptionally pleased with how well it works.

Pros

This software does an excellent job keeping out unwanted sites from our company website. We use the internet daily at our company with over 5,000 employees so you can imagine how many times this software has saved our company from websites that are not safe.

Cons

There is nothing I dislike about this software.

March 2019

Joseph from Grant Community High School

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Barracuda offers very strong spam protection

We are using Barracuda as our spam filter for email. It has helped us block a lot of current spam issues, though sometimes it can get a little over zealous.

Pros

Barracuda is good at what it does, possibly the best in the industry. It allows us to stave off most spam and search for it when it does come through.

Cons

It can be slow at times, especially when searching through our large volume of emails.

March 2018

Fabrizio from Township of King

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Easy to use admin portal and great customer service

Pros

Anything to do with Barracuda will have quick and knowledgeable support team This product works great filtering out spam and unwanted emails Allows for users to manage their own whitelist/blacklist

Cons

This product has not given us any issues since we implemented it 3 years ago The Outlook Add-On is a nice feature allow us to submit samples of spam emails directly to Barracuda for analysis

June 2020

User Profile Picture

Mithila from South Asian Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Best for protection against email threats

Scanning the links and contents comes within the emails before delivering to the user is helping to mitigate the risks of harmful activities in the network.

Pros

Advance threat protection and been able to deploy in cloud. Much easy to migrate the security to the cloud. If the mail server is down this gateway is able to accept the mails and hold it in the gateway till the mail server comes online.

Cons

Sometimes it's annoying to add every ip address or sources to the unblock list. Emails are getting blocked all the time even the trusted ones.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Proven Spam protection for your business

Pros

We've been using Barracuda SPAM Firewall for a number of years. Very happy with the results. It scans emails and incoming files. The firewall connects to the Security cloud which guarantees the most up-to-date protection.

Cons

After every Barracuda update, the Barracuda Spam Firewall would stop us from using the internet. Quick fix for that - turn off the unit and turn it back on.

August 2019

Amanda from Hutchison School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Great For Students

Pros

My school uses this to keep kids off YouTube and Facebook, etc. during class. It's a huge help for me to keep them on task.

Cons

While I appreciate that it keeps students on tasks, sometimes I want them to go to controversial websites, commercial websites, or even social media for a project, and I, as a teacher, cannot unblock them.

March 2018

Michelle from FF Taxes

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Great customer service and spam filter.

Pros

The support is very knowledgeable and is very quick to help out when needed. My spam and unwanted emails are successfully being filtered out and it makes my inbox so much more manageable. I like that I can customize the filters.

Cons

I haven't had many issues but it did take a little while to learn everything that the program has to offer. I love labeling spam emails.

December 2017

User Profile Picture

Ryan from Total System Services, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Great support and easy to use interface

Spam filtering and email management from anywhere.

Pros

They have a very robust online interface that allows for customization and if you need supoort they are there to help. They are very knowledgeable and are easy to work with especially it you are not an IT professional.

Cons

The plan we have is a 5 year commitment and it is fairly pricey if you don't need all the features available.

November 2019

Larry from Spitzer Management

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Barracuda Email Security Gateway

Our users immediately commented how much less junk mail they were receiving, so if they are happy, IT is happy.

Pros

The filtering has been very accurate with simply using the default settings. Additional configurations are easy to make and reporting is very robust.

Cons

This solution is geared for larger organizations, so it may not make cost sense for a smaller business.

July 2018

Megan from Goin Postal

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2018

Barracuda is a little too strict on spam

Pros

I like that this software removes spam from your email account. Its nice that it takes most of it away.

Cons

What I like least about this software is that while it does filter alot of the spam emails out, it also catches alot of regular email. So then you end up having to double check your junk folder to make sure you havent missed anything important.

February 2018

User Profile Picture

Amanda from Thrive Lending

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Saves me a lot of trouble

Security and peace of mind knowing my computer will not crash due to spam and malware.

Pros

Barracuda is easy to set up and junk mail/ spam never gets into my email. It gives me piece of mind and allows me to feel secure when working off our servers.

Cons

The price is high. It took a bit of research before taking the plunge and buying it. Well worth it though.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Barracuda

Overall experience has been good with Barracuda. I do wish there was a way to stay logged in so you could just accept/deliver right from your email screen.

Pros

Barracuda is for the most part an easy to navigate system. In my experience, Barracuda is set up to block unsecure email/email addresses from coming to my inbox, sort of like a Spam blocker. Barracuda then sends an email alert to my inbox showing the email address and subject line that has been blocked. You can choose to click "deliver" if you want to access the message and it takes to the log in page. From there, you sign in to your account, click "deliver" and within a couple minutes the blocked email will arrive in your inbox.

Cons

With ANY Email Security that I've ever used, there's still some Spam messages that make it through, luckily these are usually very easy to detect.

July 2018

Sven from Kirk Air Company, Inc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Continual screening of emails for spam and malware.

Continuous tangible reduction in BS emails that reduce productivity across the workspace.

Pros

It has drastically reduced the bloated, spam filled inboxes of all our employees and the wasted time dealing with this issue.

Cons

No real complaints, not easy to access, but it should only be accessed by a minimum of personnel so that is a non-issue.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

A reliable spam filter, which performs well.

We have used the Barracuda Spam Firewall for many years, starting with a hardware appliance and moving to a virtual appliance. It has always served us well, providing a good level of spam and virus catching.

Pros

Ease of use and reliability, the support has always been pretty good.

Cons

Lack of SNMP support on our model, but this is available on the higher level models

April 2018

User Profile Picture

Marc from NetSource One

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Great multi tenant span filter

Pros

Works good, can be setup for multiple domains and tenants, does email encryption too. Been using for many years.

Cons

My one hang up is that if you want to send encrypted mail, the domains cannot be on the same spam firewall. We have to have multiple virtual appliances for customers who send encrypted email to each other.

November 2019

Angie from Excellance, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Barracuda Email Security Gateway Review

I have had a good experience with Barracuda. I have not had any malware.

Pros

I like that I can go to Manage Quarantine and whitelist the email that I want to receive. It is user friendly.

Cons

It doesn't block all of the foreign spam from getting through to my email. I feel like it should when it is in another language.

October 2017

Chris from VinSolutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Barracuda is fantastic for taking preventative measures when blocking or allowing emails.

Pros

I love that it gives us the ability to whitelist specific email domains, or to block such email as spam. We can see what was blocked with ease and even re queue emails if needed.

Cons

Sometimes it is a little hard to navigate such as when placing an email address on block or whitelisting for a specific domain.

January 2018

Hillary from University of South Florida

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

My university's email utilizes Barracuda Spam Firewall for our email server.

simplicity, ease of use, efficiency

Pros

Barracuda Spam Firewall keeps hundreds of emails from overflowing in my inbox. It does a good job of sorting through "junk" and unknown senders.

Cons

I still have a junkmail, so I go through multiple inboxes a day to sort through emails.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 132 reviews