All DeskTime Reviews

1-25 of 524 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Trinayan

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Useful if you are remote working

PROS

Desktime is very useful in our line of work(remote-employees). It helps track of times that makes billing automated without having to submit a timesheet and such. The ability to schedule leaves are very useful as well. I also like how you can take screenshots that are blurred to maintain privacy.

CONS

The log in and out process is a bit of hassle. You can’t just keep the software logged in at all times and then just flick a button to get it started. Of course you can do private time, but that is not very intuitive.

Tino

Newspapers, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Finding the secret "time thieves" with DeskTime

Wasting time on unproductive tasks was tremendously reduced as DeskTime assisted me with identifying which tasks don't make me money but just steal time

PROS

DeskTime helps me enormously to find hidden time thieves in my everyday life, which was previously much less productive due to much more multitasking and constantly switching between tasks. By using DeskTime to visually record which unproductive tasks/distractions I deal with on a daily basis, I've been able to proactively address them and have regained a lot of productive work time as a result.

CONS

The visual approach primarily aims to present information in a pragmatic way, but could use a more contemporary touch.

Reasons for switching to DeskTime

The tracking of how much time I spend in different files and browser tabs felt more precise for me in DeskTime.

jihun

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2022

Let's wrap it up a little more nicely

It's a fairly accurate measurement and shows my time and project productivity during busy work. Users can check their productivity while working on various projects without having to make a separate selection.

PROS

No special setup is required. That's it. It provides some additional features, but it is a cost that is reluctant to incur additional costs. Even now, it seems expensive for its features. Among the exercise apps, STRAVA makes an effort to communicate with various data and customers. Change the design you want to buy with more beautiful and effective data and features. Arouse curiosity.

CONS

I want you to think about UI design and color selection for the same programs. Green has a lot of nice coverage too. Otherwise, the current green color may decrease the value of Desktime. The overall homepage interface and S/W UI need to be improved. I want it to look plausible when I introduce it to others. The charts are also not that professional. Today's productivity week, month can be selected, but the data that accumulates Don't have an idea to show your users effectively?

Javier

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

"Desktime the tool of the future"

We are reducing economic and time costs, being able to do the time registration online and automatically when turning on the computer, control of vacation periods, permits and sick leave, among others.

PROS

we like the autonomy of the system, when it comes to starting the computer, desktime is able to start working automatically.In addition, the "private time" option is very useful, so that workers can freely review personal matters during break hours, without worrying about being "monitored".

CONS

At first, there was resistance to the implementation of desktime by the workers, most of them complained about the alleged "invasion of their privacy", this was motivated by the screenshots made by the software.However, the company also chooses to keep the screenshots active, in order to supervise the work.

Reason for choosing DeskTime

Mainly because of their online reviews, but also because when contacting the company requesting information, the response was quick and the pitch convincing.

Surinder

Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Amazing, Best Software !

So we are able to get the detailed report of each employee and monitor and measure their performance and productivity.

PROS

So, it’s been almost two years having “Desktime” monitoring/tracking us, and we found it is very impressive and easy solution. The kind of reports and support they provides; we don’t think any contenders would be offering in this arena currently. We are just planning to offer this product with our all international clients as well. Thanks "Desktime"

CONS

So, We received a concern from the users that sometimes its get unresponsive and than need to restart the software.

Reasons for switching to DeskTime

There were many issues and wasn't simple as Desktime

Dennisse

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

Desktime - an HR essential

We love Desktime and identified is as an essential tool for management and key to deliver non-negotiables to run the organization.

PROS

Attendance and productivity are typically managed by managers along with HR but processes are usually manual and takes a lot of time. This allowed management and HR to have a tool to monitor and inspect productivity and attendance more effectively.

CONS

Just that the screenshots are not as often captured as i'd like on the operations level.

Reason for choosing DeskTime

Desktime had more customizable features and ease of use. Also value for the money.

Reasons for switching to DeskTime

Desktime had more customizable features and ease of use. Also value for the money.

Brian

Real Estate, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Desktime is a friendly but powerful tool for tracking employees

PROS

I love how easy it is for employees to see their own hours and what they are doing at the time. It is very clear to managers to see what their employees have been doing and how productive they are.

CONS

No, I'm very satisfied about Desktime. I'm not sure how I would rate it bad except that Teams call isn't reported on there.

Reason for choosing DeskTime

Just liked the view and ease of Desktime more than other products.

User Profile

Nathalia

Verified reviewer

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2021

Needs More Work

Desktime is used to monitor our remote workers but we know the system can be cheated. We definitely think this program should have an alert system with the same screen shot has been up for 45 minutes. Also better reporting capabilities using decimals instead of hours and minutes to help with paying employees faster and more accurately.

PROS

Available screenshots every 15 minutes Ability to enter manual entries especially when the app fails to connect. Reports for most productive and Least productive

CONS

Export report for hours is not in decimal format, not great for paying employees App fails frequent App can be easily tricked. Will show productive but same screen shot could be up for two hours. App needs to recognize same screen and send notifications to employer to alert supervisor of employee misconduct. Report for weekly hours is not alphabetical. Order has no specific purpose. There should be weekly report for flagged behavior

User Profile

Eduardo

Verified reviewer

Executive Office, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

An honest and friendly activity tracker

Overall, I have learned to use DeskTime as a tool to know where I should be prioritizing my work and where I should be cutting time. More than just a tracker, DeskTime is an ally.

PROS

I personally enjoy having my activities organized by time of use and the ability that the program has of also displaying in which window or document you have worked on; it helps me on my end of day summary because I remember the tasks even when I finished them early in the morning.

CONS

The automatic feature to start DeskTime when Windows boots is not 100% reliable and, in my type of environment where productivity is our main goal, it hurts my numbers. The only other downside I have experienced is during power outages, the app would either stop tracking my time or would mark my activity as neutral. Nothing critical and does not detract the reliability of the program in my opinion.

Lino Roy

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

Overall assessment to the product

Very good tool to measure employee productivity and efficiency as the product flagship

PROS

export/report features, screenshots, backend settings to control security

CONS

proactive monitoring has to be improvedexport/report must be as accurate as possible at all times

Karlis

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

Review

The number one feature for us is Time Tracking and it seems DeskTime is spending too much time on all other features but has left the Time Tracking without maintenance: (a) web-page tracking does not work on Mac computers for some time now; (b) productive apps & links still does not provide suggestions and we need to click on each to mark them productive/non-productive - I have been doing this for almost 10 years from two different companies and marked thousands of webpages/apps which is applicable for all IT companies, but still no suggestions. This is disappointing and if I would start DeskTime in a new company I would not use this feature (even it's very good) because it's too much work to analyze and mark thousands of web-pages productive and unproductive.

PROS

Time tracking - people can work from home and company is not affected from it. Employees are not disturbed.

CONS

It does not seem to work with Safari multiple other browsers therefore making web-page tracking (productive/unproductive) almost useless as most of the people use Mac computers today.

Vendor Response

Hi Karlis! Thank you for your review. We should mention that there haven't been any problems with URL tracking for Mac users that we know of - the app tracks only the tab that's open at any given time. This functionality is intentional to obtain precise URL tracking stats. If you do still notice that something's not quite right, please, don't hesitate to contact our support team at desktime.com/support - we'll be glad to help. The DeskTime team

Replied August 2021

Vivek

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

Best software for monitoring employees effectiveness

Overall, this app is good for each kind of organization because of its flexible nature. the organization can add or remove its features as per their requirement. As per my personal experience, it has increased my compony employee productivity. they always available and sitting on their desk

PROS

There are lots of benefits of Destime. first its user friendly, means any user can easily install desk time agent and after that it will start automatically. Second it can do deep dive monitoring of employee's activity. for example, it can record the list of Ip addresses access by user and URL. One of the unique features of this software is that it is very flexible that administrator can select what URL is productive and what is not as per their compony policy and uses.

CONS

the only drawback of this app is that it is little less compatible for Linux OS. I have personally seen that it is do less deep dive monitoring in Linux server than window. It only monitors the app uses not URL and IP

Peggy

Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

Best work from home app

It's been a very useful app especially for majority of us who had to transition from physical work at the office to working from home. It helps both the user and the teams being monitored to all put in the required effort to get things done whilst also being conscious of our health:)

PROS

apart from the obvious tracking and monitoring of the teams, I have found desk time to be very helpful in managing my work life balance. Reminds me to take a break, stand up and stitch and drink some water etc. This sounds simple and obvious but sometimes you lose track of time and so these small reminders really help you relax and re-focus which makes you more productive!

CONS

The fact that screenshots are taken in the background - that is not very security smart

Reason for choosing DeskTime

It seemed pretty straight forward and easy to use when we did the trial and was much fairer in price compared to the other apps.

Anibal

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

Easy to Use

Support is one of the best out there. I love their team and I love how specific they are whenever I had a question or concern. You will have bots for ordinary issues, but when you need to reach a live agent. The wait time is usually fast and not hard to find.

PROS

Desktime is a no brainer if you have a clients who switches between projects and they require you to be billed every penny with them time you spent on all of them.

CONS

depending how big is your organization, you will come across with employee that can manipulate the system by moving the mouse or use videos to fake they are working. You can only catch the cheater by manually viewing their profile because the Excel export will only give you the overall time for the day, but not the activity you can catch by viewing their screenshots.

Reason for choosing DeskTime

due to screenshot and time management.

Varun

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Desktime

It’s been a good journey so far.

PROS

Time tracking and employee monitoring, specially when your workforce is working remotely, has been crucial to make us output driven.

CONS

It can be a bit confusing to use initially.

Reason for choosing DeskTime

It had better features.

Zaw Thura

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

A very great tool

PROS

I've been using DeskTime since I was in university more than 4 years ago. It's been such a great help seeing where my computer time is going to. It allows me to gain perspective and set priorities for my own personal goals. Knowing the amount of procrastination or time wasters I partake in helps me make better decisions with my life.

CONS

Certain features had been limited at the start, such as being able to categorize activities quickly, but the DeskTime team seems to be still supporting the software and improvements.

Reason for choosing DeskTime

DeskTime's support team has been very helpful. The user interface is nice, and it works as intended. The pricing also works for me as an individual user.

meraj

Real Estate, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Great Software with lots of features

We are into Real estate and provident housing limited . we are using the Desk Time software Monitoring Tool from past 2 years, and it is Monitoring our laptops and desktop from all aspect. It is easy manage as policy configurations are very user friendly. It’s a good Application with many features. Thank you Meraj Shaikh

PROS

Its a great software and have many feature which fit into my organisation, configuration are very user friendly. easy to monitor and pull the report link daily, weekly and monthly

CONS

Employee is able to click on running software and exit, its should be password protected to unload the software running in the background

Reason for choosing DeskTime

Desktime has design for specifically for monitoring purpose which has all the feature as we are expected, Screenshot, unproductive app category, productive app category. many thing can be configure and use it for very good result and output

Ivan

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT