Cerberus FTP Server Software Reviews

FrontRunners 2022

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.83

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Love the granularity of security. Love the notifications, and auto checking of vulnerabilities."
  • icon"Client setup for most common secure transfer scenarios is straightforward and bullet proof. Documentation and support for more advanced scenarios is superb."
  • icon"Event Manager -Ease of Use. Superb Service and quick deployment of patches when required."
  • icon"I don't not what's functionality is missing, or I don't need it."
  • icon"I don't really have a beef with anything about the product. I guess if I had a wish, we could create an automated blacklist, but since we IP restricted, we didn't have the need."
  • icon"Lack of favicon customization. Every time I upgrade I have to do it manually."

Browse all Cerberus FTP Server Reviews

  • Have you used Cerberus FTP Server and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 99 reviews

User Profile

Raphael

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2020

Usage of an SFTP solution

Very good product on a number of level: administration, security, reliability and possible setup for bridges between internal setups and other clients not in our environment.

Pros

THe number of options when it comes to security and possible setups gives Cerberus an edge on how implement and administer all FTP solutions in any Company's environment.

Cons

The update options and informations are not always very clear and some direct references to articles would be welcome when major changes are done.

Reasons for switching to Cerberus FTP Server

user friendly aspect

Response from Cerberus

Thank you for your review and your feedback!

Replied June 2020

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2020

Best of Breed FTP server

I don't have to worry about our FTP server with Cerberus...it's always up and security patches are released in a timely manner. It is lightweight (I can serve over 1000 connections on 2 vCPUs and 6GB of RAM...I could server 700 of 3GB of RAM previously), unobtrusive, and really a pleasure to use.

Pros

Cerberus is extremely easy to setup, implement, and use. It is dead simple, reliable, user friendly, and straightforward to secure.

Cons

Not negatives, but missing features/improvable features: I'd like the option to run servers in high availability (there is a sync option, but not quite the same). I'd like to see more integration options for MFA (there are 2-3, but I'd like to see this expanded). I'd like integration with Active Directory to be more straightforward, and the option to integrate Azure Active Directory. The option to have a user account and admin account be the same. I realize there's some risk here, but that should be left to the organization to accept or avoid.

Reasons for choosing Cerberus FTP Server

Cerberus has a more pleasing workflow and aesthetic, and I think partially due to that, it seems to be easier for users to adopt and understand.

Reasons for switching to Cerberus FTP Server

stability and capacity

Response from Cerberus

Thank you for your review and your recommendations! We appreciate them!

Replied May 2020

Jeffrey

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

September 2018

Good securte encrypted FTP file sharing

Experience would be as any other FTP server. Company was looking for reliability, security and access control . Fancy having the same name as our integration system therefore the software was chosen .

Pros

Allows encryption with file sharing. Company required external software to drop files on a location to be picked up by teams on the other side of the country. Better alternative to cron jobs.

Cons

Just another server with options configurable and security features customizable.

Response from Cerberus

Hey Jeffrey, thank you for leaving us a review! We're glad to hear you find Cerberus FTP Server reliable, secure, and has the access control you need!

Replied January 2022

Sai

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2021

Great overall SFTP Product

Great product with reasonable pricing.

Pros

A sophisticated file transfer system with SFTP, https, and logging features for standard compliance. A FIPS-validated secure file transfer server that integrates with AD and LDAP. Runs on Windows, easy setup, meets HIPAA requirements.

Cons

Permissions and customization of the product.

Reasons for choosing Cerberus FTP Server

Better support team, pricing, software build and setup.

Reasons for switching to Cerberus FTP Server

Limitations with folder permissions and ppk's, web https access.

Response from Cerberus

Thank you very much for the review Sai! We're pleased to hear that you're happy with Cerberus. If you have any suggestions for improving permissions and customization options, we welcome feature request submissions at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

Replied September 2021

Christopher

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2020

CerberusFTP: Large Scale File Sharing Solution

When you have everything configured and ready to go, it works as you would expect but are rarely given. Server crash? No problem, nothing gets corrupted or fails to start on an application level. There is minimal resource consumption and a very impressive number of features and security options that you can implement. When I do have questions the Cerberus Support team is quick to reply and unlike most businesses today, do not hide their support contact information. It is easy to go to their website and submit a request without even needing to sign in.

Pros

It is one of a kind. 99% of searches done looking for "File Sharing" are cloud based. This is not applicable for a lot of agencies that protect sensitive data that prefer or require data to remain on-premise. In addition, Cerberus FTP Server is Scalable, Clean-Cut and Simple for End Users, and Supports Multiple Sharing Protocols. My absolute favorite feature is Sharing Files via HTTPS. Employee's and recipients need only a browser to share files. A very minimalistic interface keeps things easy and smooth and requires less overhead from IT when introducing to new users.

Cons

Some recent changes to the admin interface have been in my opinion a step back. Things were moved around and the responsiveness is 20% of the previous interface. This is okay though as it has not affected the end users experience, just the administrators. The one thing i'd really like to see but doesn't exist is the ability to create a permanent share that never changes. For example: We have proprietary displays throughout our buildings that allow clients to "Cast" computer screens to the displays for conferencing purposes. It would be fantastic to have a permanent link for guests as to where they can go to download the client that allows them to cast to these displays. Then the file would be in-house, on a familiar URL and easily managed by IT if a newer version needed to replace the existing.

Reasons for choosing Cerberus FTP Server

I was tasked with researching an implementing a file sharing solution five years ago. The process was painful as most vendors require a credit card to "try" before you "buy" and the majority of solutions were cloud-based. I was able to find, try, test and implement a full deployment of Cerberus FTP Server without any hoops. Support was great in answering questions, documentation was well written and easy to understand and the solution was not overly complicated to configure while yet providing us with a robust solution that met our needs. I have since brought Cerberus to every employer and all have been thoroughly impressed.

Response from Cerberus

Thank you for giving us such a thorough review! We appreciate the suggestions as well - feedback like yours is how we improve.

Replied May 2020

Ronny

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2021

Our experience with the product Cerberus FTP Server

Unnecessary steps for placing the important files on the servers.

Pros

For a quick start of the software, the program is easy to use even without any instructions. The program is very stable. In the upload of now over 50000 files, there has been no crash or other error. Therefore, the use in the company was immediately possible. This saves us a lot of administrative work and the users a lot of time.

Cons

I would like to have a quick search of what files have been downloaded or uploaded. Best as filtering by different criteria like date, time, folder, file, error/ok, direction (up/down), IP address.

Reasons for switching to Cerberus FTP Server

The old FTP server served as an intermediate storage from which the data had to be loaded to the actual destination on a Windows server. There the data was moved afterwards by means of many self-written scripts into the appropriate folders. Now the files are loaded directly into the folder on the Windows server and even with different distributed folders under one account. The simple rights assignment makes it possible for us that users now can't do anything wrong. Thus we save several steps to fetch the data and the problems that can be present with scripts are no longer there. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Response from Cerberus

Hi Ronny, thanks for your feedback! We're pleased to hear you find Cerberus FTP Server easy to use and stable. If you'd like to submit your ideas for improvement of quick search on files downloaded and uploaded we welcome feature request submissions at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

Replied January 2022

László

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2021

Give it a try!

Pros

It can handle multiple protocols: ftp, sftp, http, https

Cons

If I set the permission of a user for a folder, cannot change it on a lower level (ie.: read permission on Level1, and want to add write permission to level1\level2\level3 only)

Reasons for choosing Cerberus FTP Server

protocols and price

Reasons for switching to Cerberus FTP Server

Earlier we used different softwares for ftp, sftp, and http protocols, each of them has it's own user handling system.

Response from Cerberus

Hey László, thanks for your review! We're glad you're happy with Cerberus FTP Server's protocols. If you'd like to submit your ideas to improve permissions of a user to a folder, we welcome feature request submissions at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

Replied January 2022

Wil

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2022

FileZilla is Great but... This is better

Great, easy to use, operate, update , etc

Pros

Easy to use GUI, Easy to set up, easy to update, and easy to manage.

Cons

A little expensive compared to competitors like FileZilla but Cerberus FTP offers much more than them.

Reasons for choosing Cerberus FTP Server

easier interface and easier setup

Reasons for switching to Cerberus FTP Server

ease of use and support

Response from Cerberus

Hey Wil, thanks for your review of us! We're happy to hear you find Cerberus FTP Server easy to use, set up, update, and manage.

Replied May 2022

Mutti

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2021

CERBERUS Additional Improvements and Functionalities

Pros

Overall graphics and users/groups management.

Cons

1. I think permissions for folders should be managed separately from permissions for files. 2. It should be possible to protect a folder and let the inner files open to modifications. 3. A great improvement also would come if files could be modified through the web interface (https). 4. Downloads and uploads are not practical when you wish to work completely online. 5. I would like to have online files open for modifications but protect them from downloads (copyright).

Response from Cerberus

Hi Mutti, thanks for leaving us feedback! We're glad you find the users and group management satisfactory, and if you'd like to submit your ideas for improvements we welcome feature request submissions at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

Replied January 2022

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

Great Software great feature set great value

In general great product at a great price

Pros

All the features are there a logically arranged in the interface. Performance is great and administration is strait forward. Support has been reactive when necessary.

Cons

Nothing really bad to say about the product install was simple enough.

Response from Cerberus

Hello, thank you for your response! We're pleased to hear that you find our interface intuitive, along with performance, support and administrative features meeting your expectations.

Replied January 2022

Toby

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Package/Freight Delivery

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2021

In need of a flexible in-house B2B file transfer solution? This is what you're looking for.

I wouldn't be filling this out if I didn't think this was a solid purchase for anyone in similar shoes. If you're running a small business with FTP needs, this is a worthwhile contender.

Pros

I've been handling FTP transfers for over 20 years, using a number of softwares and services in the hopes of finding an inexpensive, effective solution for our customers. Cerberus gets it right, from allowing all the usual methods of transfer to providing useful notifications of file transfer. It's simple to set up, easy to use, and the customer service has been fast and responsive even when building my own collaborative program.

Cons

I had a hard time setting up the database connection to MS SQL Server, but after I got it, it worked fine. I would like an in-app log that focuses less on "session id" (a completely useless search term) and more on "user name" or "downloads."

Response from Cerberus

Hello Toby, thanks for reviewing Cerberus FTP Server! We appreciate your endorsement as a flexible in-house B2B file transfer solution, along with your kind words about our notifications, set up, ease of use, and our in-house support team. If you'd like, we'd love to hear about your ideas for improvements on logs here at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

Replied January 2022

Andrew

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2021

Stable and Robust Cerberus FTP

Very positive experience. We use this with several state and local government agencies and have no complaints.

Pros

Easy to implement and is constantly being updated/improved. We've even migrated to another server a few times and the process is streamlined nicely.

Cons

Before some recent updates which fixed this issue, the user management UI was a bit clunky, though still functional.

Reasons for choosing Cerberus FTP Server

Cost, support, FIPS compliance

Response from Cerberus

Hello Andrew, thank you for your kind words! We're glad our updates are improving your FTP Server needs as we continue to improve Cerberus FTP Server. Meeting compliance requirements across industries is a priority for us.

Replied December 2021

Kyle

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2017

Needed to find a high feature SFTP Server application that ran within a Windows environment.

Pros

The auto blacklist feature in conjunction with the number of failed logins is a great benefit, no need to continue to verify SFTP system is save. Another benefit for the company I work for is the support for local users and LDAP users simultaneously. No need to choose between the type of users within this system. The support for multi-tier authentication is also a huge benefit, password as well as pub key, or using the password or pub key allows employees to test as our client while I client stays secure using their private key. Applying updates is very simple and very quick, have performed such updates during business hours and downtime was a matter of 2 minutes.

Cons

When users are created, a folder corresponding to the user is not automatically created so only permissions need to be assigned for the user.

Response from Cerberus

Hey Kyle, thanks for your review of Cerberus FTP Server! We appreciate your detailed feedback of the features you enjoy as it helps us improve with every new version we release. Our automation capabilities in our latest version should address your folder creation issue. You can update here: https://www.cerberusftp.com/download/

Replied April 2022

Michael

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2021

Cerberus FTP Server helped power the car rental industry

Stable, reliable, and trustworthy. It was nice to have a system that just worked, one that we didn't have to worry about.

Pros

Setting up Cerberus was straightforward and clear. We were able to institute the extremely high level of security that the leading US car rental brands required of their partners like us, and we were able to install, configure, test, and put into production secure FTP all in one day! I especially appreciate the configuration backup ability (which should exist in every product made).

Cons

I don't really have a beef with anything about the product. I guess if I had a wish, we could create an automated blacklist, but since we IP restricted, we didn't have the need.

Reasons for switching to Cerberus FTP Server

We needed a more secure and customizable solution

Response from Cerberus

Thanks for your feedback, Michael! We're happy to hear you find Cerberus straightforward and secure to meet your needs, and appreciate your recommendation for automated blacklisting.

Replied June 2021

Shui Kee

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2017

Cerberus FTP Server is great and easy to setup and use, bugs free and comes with great support.

The software works well and don't encounter any issues so far.

Pros

Briefly, the sFTP function works well and easy to setup with very good documentation manual, and importantly the logging activities which are stored and segregated in daily log file which is very useful for troubleshooting with counterpart whenever there is reported issue and the log file will clearly show the login, receiving, removing and sending events. Overall the interface is very user-friendly and that translates well into ease of use and maintains. Lastly but not the least is the pricing in comparison to other ftp server vendor in terms of functionalities namely control.

Cons

No option to create SSH key pair files for customer, and thus I have to use ftp voyager to generate these files.

Response from Cerberus

Hi Shui, thank you for your review of Cerberus FTP Server! We're pleased to hear you find it easy to setup and use, as well as our in-house support team to be helpful. We appreciate your detailed feedback as it helps us to improve with every new version we release. If you'd like to share your comments of enjoying the SFTP functionality or the interface being very user-friendly with ease of use and maintenance. You can learn more about our resolve to creating SSH key pair files here https://www.cerberusftp.com/sftp-your-complete-guide-part-2-protocol-connection-and-authentication-process/

Replied April 2022

William

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Market Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2021

Great FTP Server product with https transfer

We have been using the product for well over 5 years and it is a simpler solution that our parent company uses for FTP Server usage. Overall has all the features we want and need, but would be good to refine the AD integration for user management and also refine how to setup email alerts for users or groups of users in bulk to maintain them

Pros

- Easy to setup and host - Great value for price - Good logging

Cons

- Need to improve integration with Active Directory to simplify account management - Needs easier way to setup alerts to easily apply to new users or groups at once

Response from Cerberus

Hi William, thanks for your review! We're happy you find Cerberus to be a great FTP Server and that it's easy to set up and host with good logging. We try to provide our users with the greatest value possible. We welcome feature request submissions like Active Directory integration at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

Replied January 2022

Robert

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Think Tanks

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2021

Cerberus is a good, secure solution at a good price

Pros

the software allows for the creation of upload/download templates caled groups that can be applied to new users to make new account creation uniform, security permission will be identical for all users in that group. the advanced server security settings allow for disabling/enabling TLS 1.1, 1.2; as well as FIPS 140-2 cipher suites with some ease in the GUI.

Cons

The software uses a Windows .dll version of log 4j that limits the ability to set log rotation - max is 14, 30 days would be better. the ability to set this in the GUI would be a welcome addition.

Reasons for switching to Cerberus FTP Server

Older SFTP software was subject to a flaw that allowed for a breach.

Response from Cerberus

Hey Robert, thanks for your review of Cerberus FTP Server! We're pleased you find Cerberus secure and are enjoying the features like grouping that save you time.

Replied April 2022

Ramakrishna

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2021

Usage of SFTP

Except working on the VA scan everything is comfortable in using this application

Pros

Its very useful software using the collaborative tools for us at healthcare infra, widely used with multiple application.

Cons

Multiple protocol usage configuration took time as the documentation is not that use full

Reasons for switching to Cerberus FTP Server

We were getting much features to integrate and the support wise its good.

Response from Cerberus

Hi Ramakrishna, thank you for your review! We're glad you find the software, collaborative tools, and support suitable fr you and your healthcare team. We prioritize making Cerberus FTP Server as compatible for the healthcare industry as possible. We encourage you to submit your feature improvement suggestions such as multiple protocol usage configuration improvement or VA Scan compatibility, at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

Replied December 2021

Tim

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE