User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(45)

45

4 stars

(7)

7

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Easy to use and yet powerful. Intuitive GUI. Excellent Tech Support if/when needed."

  • "Multiple things ! The web interface is great, the ability to use DUO MFA with an account is invaluable. Setup was extremely easy."

  • "Events a very powerful and administration options are good."

  • Cons

  • "the management once installed is a little tricky and takes a little time to get used to, however, once familiar, it's straight forward to use."

  • "Well, not really sure. So far all seems nice. There are free tools on the market, so perhaps you can drop the price a little. But still not too bad value for money"

  • "Nothing really bad to say about the product install was simple enough."

Browse Cerberus FTP Server Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 53 results

May 2020

User Profile Picture

Raphael from Bazefield A/S

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Usage of an SFTP solution

Very good product on a number of level: administration, security, reliability and possible setup for bridges between internal setups and other clients not in our environment.

Pros

THe number of options when it comes to security and possible setups gives Cerberus an edge on how implement and administer all FTP solutions in any Company's environment.

Cons

The update options and informations are not always very clear and some direct references to articles would be welcome when major changes are done.

Reasons for Switching to Cerberus FTP Server

user friendly aspect

Response from Cerberus

Replied June 2020

Thank you for your review and your feedback!

May 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Best of Breed FTP server

I don't have to worry about our FTP server with Cerberus...it's always up and security patches are released in a timely manner. It is lightweight (I can serve over 1000 connections on 2 vCPUs and 6GB of RAM...I could server 700 of 3GB of RAM previously), unobtrusive, and really a pleasure to use.

Pros

Cerberus is extremely easy to setup, implement, and use. It is dead simple, reliable, user friendly, and straightforward to secure.

Cons

Not negatives, but missing features/improvable features: I'd like the option to run servers in high availability (there is a sync option, but not quite the same). I'd like to see more integration options for MFA (there are 2-3, but I'd like to see this expanded). I'd like integration with Active Directory to be more straightforward, and the option to integrate Azure Active Directory. The option to have a user account and admin account be the same. I realize there's some risk here, but that should be left to the organization to accept or avoid.

Reasons for Choosing Cerberus FTP Server

Cerberus has a more pleasing workflow and aesthetic, and I think partially due to that, it seems to be easier for users to adopt and understand.

Reasons for Switching to Cerberus FTP Server

stability and capacity

Response from Cerberus

Replied May 2020

Thank you for your review and your recommendations! We appreciate them!

September 2018

Jeffrey from absa

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2018

Good securte encrypted FTP file sharing

Experience would be as any other FTP server. Company was looking for reliability, security and access control . Fancy having the same name as our integration system therefore the software was chosen .

Pros

Allows encryption with file sharing. Company required external software to drop files on a location to be picked up by teams on the other side of the country. Better alternative to cron jobs.

Cons

Just another server with options configurable and security features customizable.

May 2020

Christopher from Pope County

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

CerberusFTP: Large Scale File Sharing Solution

When you have everything configured and ready to go, it works as you would expect but are rarely given. Server crash? No problem, nothing gets corrupted or fails to start on an application level. There is minimal resource consumption and a very impressive number of features and security options that you can implement. When I do have questions the Cerberus Support team is quick to reply and unlike most businesses today, do not hide their support contact information. It is easy to go to their website and submit a request without even needing to sign in.

Pros

It is one of a kind. 99% of searches done looking for "File Sharing" are cloud based. This is not applicable for a lot of agencies that protect sensitive data that prefer or require data to remain on-premise. In addition, Cerberus FTP Server is Scalable, Clean-Cut and Simple for End Users, and Supports Multiple Sharing Protocols. My absolute favorite feature is Sharing Files via HTTPS. Employee's and recipients need only a browser to share files. A very minimalistic interface keeps things easy and smooth and requires less overhead from IT when introducing to new users.

Cons

Some recent changes to the admin interface have been in my opinion a step back. Things were moved around and the responsiveness is 20% of the previous interface. This is okay though as it has not affected the end users experience, just the administrators. The one thing i'd really like to see but doesn't exist is the ability to create a permanent share that never changes. For example: We have proprietary displays throughout our buildings that allow clients to "Cast" computer screens to the displays for conferencing purposes. It would be fantastic to have a permanent link for guests as to where they can go to download the client that allows them to cast to these displays. Then the file would be in-house, on a familiar URL and easily managed by IT if a newer version needed to replace the existing.

Reasons for Choosing Cerberus FTP Server

I was tasked with researching an implementing a file sharing solution five years ago. The process was painful as most vendors require a credit card to "try" before you "buy" and the majority of solutions were cloud-based. I was able to find, try, test and implement a full deployment of Cerberus FTP Server without any hoops. Support was great in answering questions, documentation was well written and easy to understand and the solution was not overly complicated to configure while yet providing us with a robust solution that met our needs. I have since brought Cerberus to every employer and all have been thoroughly impressed.

Response from Cerberus

Replied May 2020

Thank you for giving us such a thorough review! We appreciate the suggestions as well - feedback like yours is how we improve.

August 2017

Kyle from Xceleration Inc

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Needed to find a high feature SFTP Server application that ran within a Windows environment.

Pros

The auto blacklist feature in conjunction with the number of failed logins is a great benefit, no need to continue to verify SFTP system is save. Another benefit for the company I work for is the support for local users and LDAP users simultaneously. No need to choose between the type of users within this system. The support for multi-tier authentication is also a huge benefit, password as well as pub key, or using the password or pub key allows employees to test as our client while I client stays secure using their private key. Applying updates is very simple and very quick, have performed such updates during business hours and downtime was a matter of 2 minutes.

Cons

When users are created, a folder corresponding to the user is not automatically created so only permissions need to be assigned for the user.

May 2020

Tim from TransX Group of Companies

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Well thought out and supported.

Excellent stability, functionality and suitability to task.

Pros

Client setup for most common secure transfer scenarios is straightforward and bullet proof. Documentation and support for more advanced scenarios is superb.

Cons

Like many products slowly shifting from traditional rich client interfaces to pure HTML5, original features are being deprecated or shifting from straightforward access to convoluted workarounds with successive releases.

Reasons for Choosing Cerberus FTP Server

Cerberus FTP allowed us to consolidate the functionality of several legacy secure transfer products into a single well performing solution.

Reasons for Switching to Cerberus FTP Server

Performance, stability and security were increasingly lacking in two competitive products previously in use.

Response from Cerberus

Replied June 2020

Thank you for your detailed review and feedback! We appreciate it!

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Great Software great feature set great value

In general great product at a great price

Pros

All the features are there a logically arranged in the interface. Performance is great and administration is strait forward. Support has been reactive when necessary.

Cons

Nothing really bad to say about the product install was simple enough.

August 2017

John from Translation and Localization

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2017

Been a happy user of CerberusFTP for many years now. Does what we need it to do.

Pros

Easy to use both for admin and users. Can be customize and manage from server or webGUI is a plus with no hidden menus or hard to find items.

Cons

Updates can be a bit weird and have to update the settings for the service every time. Wish the reporting function worked a bit better

August 2017

Andrew from New Mexico Department of Transportation

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Great value

Secure FTP service.

Pros

Ease of use and management. Very easy to manage. My users love how easy it is to use. Management likes the cost of maintenance.

Cons

It would be nice to have a User guide, It would be nice to be able to lookup users by group. It needs more search capabilities.

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

A great piece of software that is easy for users to operate

Pros

There is a lot of functionality built in to the software and it's very easy to manage. Most of the upgrades are completely automated and they come out with security patches / upgrades regularly.

Cons

There isn't much about the software that I have found to dislike. If I had to configure it over again, I would have configured it to integrate with our AD, rather than create new users in the program, but that is completely on us.

May 2020

Josh from HealthPRO-Heritage

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Great Product for SFTP

We use the product to move large files daily between our EMRs and our data warehouse with no issue.

Pros

Overall setup and use of Cerberus is easy and quick to learn. Once it is setup and running it is mainly just checking logs to make sure valid IPs do not get added to the block list.

Cons

The only negative for me was I found it a little tricky to get the SSL cert installed. That may not be an issue for admins with more knowledge than me, it was just more difficult than IIS.

Reasons for Choosing Cerberus FTP Server

Price, feature set, ease of use.

Response from Cerberus

Replied May 2020

Thank you for your review! We're happy the product has been working so well for you.

August 2017

Shui Kee from Kintetsu World Express (M) Sdn Bhd

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Cerberus FTP Server is great and easy to setup and use, bugs free and comes with great support.

The software works well and don't encounter any issues so far.

Pros

Briefly, the sFTP function works well and easy to setup with very good documentation manual, and importantly the logging activities which are stored and segregated in daily log file which is very useful for troubleshooting with counterpart whenever there is reported issue and the log file will clearly show the login, receiving, removing and sending events. Overall the interface is very user-friendly and that translates well into ease of use and maintains. Lastly but not the least is the pricing in comparison to other ftp server vendor in terms of functionalities namely control.

Cons

No option to create SSH key pair files for customer, and thus I have to use ftp voyager to generate these files.

August 2017

Paul from CSNW

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Industrial Automation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Great value and great support

Pros

We have had some unique ftp needs (relating to LDAP authentication for accounts) and cerberus has been able to met them all. They support has been great, and they publish updates frequently.

Cons

It's expensive, but it is still a good value, as I could not find any better option that cost less. The support is well worth it to. I would highly recommend keeping an active subscription. But that's pretty standard for enterprise software.

August 2017

Armando from Mevis Informática Médica LTDA

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Very stable and easy to use FTP server

Stable, easy to use, fair price and several prices/configurations for different needs. Secure. Easy to by over the WEB.

Pros

I have used several FTP servers but the best solution, for my needs, is Cerberus by far. I use Cerberus for only 30 users and with low traffic. I never used the server for a big number of user and high demand, so I can not comments about that profile. But I can say that for my goals is perfect and with fair price.

May 2020

Bryan from Pope County

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Great FTP Choice

Pros

This software is amazingly good. The uploads are insanely fast. It's easy to use and train on as well. It also has great AD integration and security which gives you a lot of options on how to set this up and use shares as well.

Cons

I don't really have any CONs about the software, but if I had to pick a least favorite it would be the price. Don't take that the wrong way though, the value is great, but it's the only thing I can think of liking the least!

Response from Cerberus

Replied May 2020

Thank you for your review! We're happy you've had such a great experience with the product.

May 2020

Stephen from Duke University School of Medicine

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Works great for us!

Pros

Active Directory integration is huge for us. Event Manager is great as it allows us to launch PowerShell scripts upon certain actions. Conceptually simple to understand. SECURE DATA TRANSFERS

Cons

Can be fiddly to configure groups. The UI changes somewhwat significantly from time to time.

Response from Cerberus

Replied May 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We're happy Cerberus FTP is working so well for you!

August 2017

Tim from Touchlogic Corporation

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

GUI is fantastic - enables more team members to quickly create rules for incoming files!

Reduction in Lead time with new customers. Entry Level staff leverage this tool which was impossible on the legacy Linux ftp server application.

Pros

1. Authorization and Authentication for rules Users/Groups. 2. Event Manager -Ease of Use 3. Superb Service and quick deployment of patches when required.

Cons

Event Manager - All matching rules fire. Would be fantastic if rule precedence and/or Stop processing additional rules existed..

March 2019

Curtis from NOVA

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Cerberus vs Other Products

Cerberus FTP server has taken on a role within our organization that we needed a high degree of trust and confidence in and it met and exceeded our expectations.

Pros

Easy to use and yet powerful. Intuitive GUI. Excellent Tech Support if/when needed.

Cons

I can honestly say that there isn't any features that I would complain about.

August 2017

Scott from Tolt Solutions

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

THey are a great company to work with.

a safe secure and reliable FTP/FTPS/SFTP solution for your business.

Pros

The software is complete and well laid out. They are constantly updating this product with security updates and making it better.

Cons

if you want he web support it is a little pricey. you can only have the UI active in one user space on a server.

August 2017

Prakash from Perry Ellis International

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Like their web based secure file upload and download feature. Support is prompt and good.

Inhouse file management to allow sending/receiving files to/from external vendors.

Pros

Client website to upload and download files Password based download link with expiration User management Prompt and good support

Cons

Managing whitelisted IPs to connect client web portal for each user as individual Better reporting

May 2020

Tim from Netalytics, LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Excellent FTP Solution that is HIPAA Compliant

Our overall experience has been very positive. HIPAA compliance was super easy and the users were easy to train on the software.

Pros

Multiple things ! The web interface is great, the ability to use DUO MFA with an account is invaluable. Setup was extremely easy.

Cons

I wish that Cerberus could interface with Azure AD for users.

Reasons for Switching to Cerberus FTP Server

Filezilla could not integrate with AD, use DUO, etc.

Response from Cerberus

Replied May 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review!

August 2017

Terry from Gammage & Burnham

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Smooth and easy to use

Large file transfer is our primary use.

Pros

Easy to use, simple to implement. End users can find their way around it without needing much if any training.

Cons

Lack of favicon customization. Every time I upgrade I have to do it manually. It would be better to have a setting like the banner.

May 2020

David from County of Hillsdale

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

SFTP for government

Pros

FIPS 140-2 compliant so we can use it for CJIS information. Easy to use, and not that difficult to set up. Good interface to users.

Cons

Problems getting the SMTP within the program does not like our email setup. We have had to work around that. When logged in as admin for system, you cannot upload files at the same time. You have to log in as a user to upload files.

Reasons for Switching to Cerberus FTP Server

Needed product that was FIPS compliant.

Response from Cerberus

Replied May 2020

Thanks so much for your review! If you're still having trouble with the email setup, please let me know so I can connect you with our support team.

May 2020

Mirco from AS Abrechnungsstelle

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Review after over 6 month of use

We had to offer a sftp connection to share files with others, but on windows, it's not that easy, also we don't want to set up an Linux system, because someone else needs to be able to set up that thing. Therefore, it's easier if you got a GUI and a familiar system.

Pros

I like that I can setup a sftp server on windows without any problems. In addition, it is a good feature that Users can set their own password in the web panel.

Cons

I do not like that there isn't a simple way to enable geoblocking. We just have users in Germany and don't need to allow any other country to connect. Also the web interface seems a bit complicated for some users, they prefer it "clean and easy" like on google drive, own/nextcloud, pydio etc.

Reasons for Choosing Cerberus FTP Server

We choose Cerberus instead of SSH on Linux or some other software (which we also looked for), because Cerberus was the easiest to set up, also it had most of the features we needed.

Response from Cerberus

Replied May 2020

Thank you for your review!

May 2020

Avinash from Birlasoft Ltd.

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Overall Good Software

Very Good FTP with data security.

Pros

User friendly GUI with very good security features

Cons

Reporting is not that much good, management will not happy on this

Reasons for Choosing Cerberus FTP Server

Cost and user friendly GUI

May 2020

Juan Carlos from MDCPS

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Great Software

Great experience

Pros

Events a very powerful and administration options are good.

Cons

User interface programming is not that good.

August 2017

Norbert from Conair Group Inc.

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2017

So far so good, no complaint.

SFTP as stated. As we are slowly migrated from traditional FTP to SFTP

Pros

The pricing, easy of understanding the pricing structures and what each different tier provides. Performance is on par with products we have tested previously, the pricing of Cerberus made an easy decision for choosing the product.

Cons

the management once installed is a little tricky and takes a little time to get used to, however, once familiar, it's straight forward to use.

May 2020

Joshua from InfusionPoints

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Easy to use and easy to manage

We use the software to securely transmit sensitive company data to our vendors and from our vendors back to us. It is very easy to update and very simple to deal with Cerberus' customer support.

Pros

Software is very simple to deploy in a very secure and compliant manner. User management is also very straightforward.

Cons

Some of the new GUI menus are a little weird. I prefer the old GUI menus.

Response from Cerberus

Replied May 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!

August 2017

bala from DSG

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Cerberus FTP is very ease to use and configure for its value.

We have enrolled many departments to upload their data to center place where the auditors can view from the single location.

Pros

Very stable product and secure in terms of functionality and features. It is very easy to deploy and configure. and it has both http and sftp upload options

Cons

This product does not have any thick client which can installed on windows client or mobile devices to access the files from the share.

August 2017

Tom from CPP

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Good interface for mom tech pro people

Very little interactions from the IT department.

Pros

Highly configurable. Customer support when needed is very fast. End users need very little help if at all. Customers of our employees also like to use the system.

March 2021

Scott from United Printing

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Cerberus FTP Server

Overall it has worked great for what we need it for.

Pros

Easy to use with no problems login in or transfering Data from the customer to us. Notifies us when we recieve files as well.

Cons

Don't really have anything we like lease about it. We use this server for one customer only. It was the easiest way to set it up for them.

March 2018

Priyabrata from GrayMatter Software Services Pvt Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Best FTP Server I have ever used.

Best software if you want to do some R&D regarding VFS. It'll provide every detail while you call the server.

Pros

I was looking for a FTP server which will support ApacheVFS. It not only supports this but gives a detail brief about how much time it takes to upload or download a file, how many hits happening in order to call the service, the size of the file..etc. All you have to do is start the server and call your service. It even won't consume much resource of the system, hence your system won't get slow if the server starts.

Cons

Feature wise it's great and simply awesome but it's a bit expensive for normal developer who is doing some personal R&D on different VFS.

August 2017

Mike from Cartus

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Works incredibly well

Enhanced compliance

Pros

Granular configuration with the ability to create groups/profiles and map users to Active Directory.

August 2017

Jason from Nektar therapeutics

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

This is a great product and awesome service. They also have an active development team!

Secure easy to manage file sharing solution

Pros

Features, auditabillity security support responsive development team. I belive this is under priced.

Cons

You have to treat AD user management differently than native account management. Which is understandable. However i would love to see adfs or azure integration.

May 2020

Kailash from ESITA Contractor

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Easy & Convenient

It serves our needs to the client.

Pros

Super easy to configure and use as we do on a daily basis

Cons

Not sure how we're to get updates to the purchased software. The issue is we've purchased it and there hasn't been any follow-up from CSR about enhancements/bug fixes or updates.

Response from Cerberus

Replied May 2020

Thanks for your review! We're happy you found the set-up so convenient! Someone will be in touch shortly to explain how updates are handled - sorry for the confusion.

February 2021

Jiří from Naturamed Pharmaceuticals s.r.o.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

FTP Server review

Very good experience with the software, but the support of it is questionable. For an ask of Invoice without VAT details, I was pointed to some of their partner to solve it myself.

Pros

Easy to deploy, administer, stability, over all very good software

Cons

no point to add here. everything you need for a FTP/SFTP deployment it fullfill.

Response from Cerberus

Replied February 2021

Thanks for the positive review! We're thrilled that you love the software but we're sorry about the issue getting an adjusted invoice; our webstore merchant of record for VAT issues is FastSpring, and we can help communicate with them if you're not hearing back. Please let us know at sales@cerberusftp.com or +1-703-372-9750.

September 2017

Kavin from 2c2p

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

easy to use and secure

easy to use

Pros

multiple user and directory management, ssh secure, stable, can use public key and private key authentication

Cons

price is a little bit high but overall is good

October 2020

Charlie from Creative Digital

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Feature rich, customizable,

Pros

Easy Implementation, Great pricing, Packed with Features, excellent logging, FTPS/FTPES & SFTP on one server software

Cons

Little bit of a learning curve with the cipher suites, but probably not because of the UI, more just trying to understand best practice

Reasons for Switching to Cerberus FTP Server

Needed more logging, customization, and needed both FTPS/FTPES & SFTP on one server software

Response from Cerberus

Replied October 2020

Thanks for your review Charlie, we're glad to hear you're having a good experience! Please do reach out if there's ever anything our support team can help with: cerberusftp.com/contact.

February 2021

Peter from City of Santa Ana

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Great software to implement and setup

Pros

Ease of use and full functionality is what I like a lot about this product. Phone support is great as well and reassured me that I won't be left stranded if I need help.

Cons

Not much of CONS at this moment of time. As I scale up the utilization of this product, I may update my CONS accordingly here.

Reasons for Switching to Cerberus FTP Server

Cerberus offers a lot more security and functional features that I need.

Response from Cerberus

Replied February 2021

Thank you Peter! We're glad to hear Cerberus is working well for you, and are just a phone call away if you ever need us.

August 2017

Manuel from Helbling Verlagsgesellschaft m.b.H.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Simply the best in class!

Way more functions. Way less work. Way happier workmates!

Pros

We absolutely LOVE the webclient, it's so much easier to take care of our less experienced users now. Our FTP support went down for about 70% already and those advanced functions like sharing and account request save incredible much time and money as well!

Cons

It's yet a bit tricky to customize the frontend, especially when there are updates. We're definitely looking forward to version 9, which has hopefully better (and persistant) customization features.

May 2020

Bert from Optimo

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

User friendly

Pros

User friendly and good overview with auhorization

Cons

I don't not what's functionality is missing, or I don't need it.

Response from Cerberus

Replied May 2020

Thank you for your review! We appreciate it!

August 2017

Donald from Ruark Consulting

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Awesome Product Great Features

Web Portal, Ease for end users, Easy to manage.

Pros

Secure FTP, Auto Blocking IP, Secure File Portal. Ease of setup. Quickly migrated my users from our old software.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Excellent application

File transfer issue resolved using Cerberus sftp

Pros

Feature and flexibility with easy of use

Cons

Everything found to be very good in case of sftp and logging

August 2017

Gavin from Kryterion Inc.

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Using it for our PROD FTP Service, with two Cerberus FTP allow us to failover with HA.

Easy to use and manage.

Pros

User friendly GUI, easy to negative and setup, also many different features for security and login method. Allow IP blocking and whitelist.

Cons

No settings for log rotation period, the size of logs, or other options related to logs from the GUI. Events, Reports, and eMail alerts should enable on Professional version also.

August 2017

Coenie from FIC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Relations

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Very easy to use feature rich app addressing all needs

Well our users have access to their own online storage being internal to our organization,

Pros

The ease of setup, maintain and administration. The user interface is also easy to use so I don't need to train my users on how it works. They figure it self.

Cons

Well, not really sure. So far all seems nice. There are free tools on the market, so perhaps you can drop the price a little. But still not too bad value for money

December 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Easy to deploy SFTP Server

Moving external file sharing from an insecure manner to a more secure solution using Cerberus' SSH/SFTP options. Connection is seemless for our external clients.

Pros

SSH and SFTP Support, advanced logging and regular updates coupled with an easy to deploy made this a great solution to migrate away from an old insecure FTP solution.

Cons

Some administrative console features are difficult to initially locate. Status summary page clears after application update.

Reasons for Switching to Cerberus FTP Server

Security Reasons

Response from Cerberus

Replied December 2020

Thanks very much for your review! We're happy to hear that you had an easy deployment and are enjoying the logging feature. We'd like to investigate the status summary page item you mentioned - could we ask that you submit a ticket at this link so we can look into things? https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/requests/new?ticket_form_id=74150 Thank you!

December 2018

MUHAMMAD from Basecamp Data Solutions

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

FTP Hound

Pros

Cerberus is SFTP Server that also support SSH and FTP only. You can transfer file using web interface and or by using any client app too. You can setup email notifications for various scenarios. You can apply retention policy for security, versioning or for other reasons. It can also be a part of Active directory so you don't have to create and manage separte user for FTP or sFTP Server.

Cons

It doesn't support file syncing capability that may requires in some cases like me.

August 2017

Alex from Compu-Solve technologies

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Great secure FTP server

Pros

Security is great. Love the granularity of security. Love the notifications, and auto checking of vulnerabilities

Cons

Hard to comment on this, but biggest annoyance so far is the configuration. Would love to be able to script this using PowerShell.

August 2017

Ari from rwdi

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Great experience, easy to use and manage

Pros

Easy to use. The software is very easy for our end users to work with. Easy to manage on the backend.

August 2017

Jerry from Honeycutt Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Easy Peasy, FTP

Sharing large files with customers and team members.

Pros

My clients love the easy to use web client, rather than using an FTP client. I like how easy it was to set up on a server hosted in Microsoft Azure. It was the perfect solution for us.

Cons

It's a bit pricey.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 53 reviews