All Cerberus FTP Server Reviews

1-25 of 108 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Ronny

Building Materials, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Our experience with the product Cerberus FTP Server

Unnecessary steps for placing the important files on the servers.

PROS

For a quick start of the software, the program is easy to use even without any instructions. The program is very stable. In the upload of now over 50000 files, there has been no crash or other error. Therefore, the use in the company was immediately possible. This saves us a lot of administrative work and the users a lot of time.

CONS

I would like to have a quick search of what files have been downloaded or uploaded. Best as filtering by different criteria like date, time, folder, file, error/ok, direction (up/down), IP address.

Reasons for switching to Cerberus FTP Server

The old FTP server served as an intermediate storage from which the data had to be loaded to the actual destination on a Windows server. There the data was moved afterwards by means of many self-written scripts into the appropriate folders. Now the files are loaded directly into the folder on the Windows server and even with different distributed folders under one account. The simple rights assignment makes it possible for us that users now can't do anything wrong. Thus we save several steps to fetch the data and the problems that can be present with scripts are no longer there. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Vendor Response

Hi Ronny, thanks for your feedback! We're pleased to hear you find Cerberus FTP Server easy to use and stable. If you'd like to submit your ideas for improvement of quick search on files downloaded and uploaded we welcome feature request submissions at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

Replied January 2022

Toby

Package/Freight Delivery, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

In need of a flexible in-house B2B file transfer solution? This is what you're looking for.

I wouldn't be filling this out if I didn't think this was a solid purchase for anyone in similar shoes. If you're running a small business with FTP needs, this is a worthwhile contender.

PROS

I've been handling FTP transfers for over 20 years, using a number of softwares and services in the hopes of finding an inexpensive, effective solution for our customers. Cerberus gets it right, from allowing all the usual methods of transfer to providing useful notifications of file transfer. It's simple to set up, easy to use, and the customer service has been fast and responsive even when building my own collaborative program.

CONS

I had a hard time setting up the database connection to MS SQL Server, but after I got it, it worked fine. I would like an in-app log that focuses less on "session id" (a completely useless search term) and more on "user name" or "downloads."

Vendor Response

Hello Toby, thanks for reviewing Cerberus FTP Server! We appreciate your endorsement as a flexible in-house B2B file transfer solution, along with your kind words about our notifications, set up, ease of use, and our in-house support team. If you'd like, we'd love to hear about your ideas for improvements on logs here at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

Replied January 2022

Igor

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

Working SFTP solution

PROS

Navigation pretty straightforward, easy to implement, IP Manger is good option, integration with AD, stable.

CONS

It needs more support for MFA (right now only DUO) OKTA, RSA, Google, etc. Reporting on professional version is very basic. Price could be more friendly.

Reason for choosing Cerberus FTP Server

Check many reviews over internet

Reasons for switching to Cerberus FTP Server

Filtering IPs, integration with AD, support more protocols, logs, reports, stability, security, web support

Vendor Response

Hey Igor, thanks for reviewing Cerberus FTP Server! We're glad you find Cerberus intuitive, easy to implement, and are enjoying the features. Our reporting features are more robust in Enterprise edition, which you can view here to see if it meets your needs: https://www.cerberusftp.com/cerberus-ftp-server-enterprise-edition/

Replied April 2022

Andrew

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Stable and Robust Cerberus FTP

Very positive experience. We use this with several state and local government agencies and have no complaints.

PROS

Easy to implement and is constantly being updated/improved. We've even migrated to another server a few times and the process is streamlined nicely.

CONS

Before some recent updates which fixed this issue, the user management UI was a bit clunky, though still functional.

Reason for choosing Cerberus FTP Server

Cost, support, FIPS compliance

Vendor Response

Hello Andrew, thank you for your kind words! We're glad our updates are improving your FTP Server needs as we continue to improve Cerberus FTP Server. Meeting compliance requirements across industries is a priority for us.

Replied December 2021

Kyle

Entertainment, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2017

Needed to find a high feature SFTP Server application that ran within a Windows environment.

PROS

The auto blacklist feature in conjunction with the number of failed logins is a great benefit, no need to continue to verify SFTP system is save. Another benefit for the company I work for is the support for local users and LDAP users simultaneously. No need to choose between the type of users within this system. The support for multi-tier authentication is also a huge benefit, password as well as pub key, or using the password or pub key allows employees to test as our client while I client stays secure using their private key. Applying updates is very simple and very quick, have performed such updates during business hours and downtime was a matter of 2 minutes.

CONS

When users are created, a folder corresponding to the user is not automatically created so only permissions need to be assigned for the user.

Vendor Response

Hey Kyle, thanks for your review of Cerberus FTP Server! We appreciate your detailed feedback of the features you enjoy as it helps us improve with every new version we release. Our automation capabilities in our latest version should address your folder creation issue. You can update here: https://www.cerberusftp.com/download/

Replied April 2022

Shui Kee

Logistics and Supply Chain, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2017

Cerberus FTP Server is great and easy to setup and use, bugs free and comes with great support.

The software works well and don't encounter any issues so far.

PROS

Briefly, the sFTP function works well and easy to setup with very good documentation manual, and importantly the logging activities which are stored and segregated in daily log file which is very useful for troubleshooting with counterpart whenever there is reported issue and the log file will clearly show the login, receiving, removing and sending events. Overall the interface is very user-friendly and that translates well into ease of use and maintains. Lastly but not the least is the pricing in comparison to other ftp server vendor in terms of functionalities namely control.

CONS

No option to create SSH key pair files for customer, and thus I have to use ftp voyager to generate these files.

Vendor Response

Hi Shui, thank you for your review of Cerberus FTP Server! We're pleased to hear you find it easy to setup and use, as well as our in-house support team to be helpful. We appreciate your detailed feedback as it helps us to improve with every new version we release. If you'd like to share your comments of enjoying the SFTP functionality or the interface being very user-friendly with ease of use and maintenance. You can learn more about our resolve to creating SSH key pair files here https://www.cerberusftp.com/sftp-your-complete-guide-part-2-protocol-connection-and-authentication-process/

Replied April 2022

Michael

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Cerberus FTP Server helped power the car rental industry

Stable, reliable, and trustworthy. It was nice to have a system that just worked, one that we didn't have to worry about.

PROS

Setting up Cerberus was straightforward and clear. We were able to institute the extremely high level of security that the leading US car rental brands required of their partners like us, and we were able to install, configure, test, and put into production secure FTP all in one day! I especially appreciate the configuration backup ability (which should exist in every product made).

CONS

I don't really have a beef with anything about the product. I guess if I had a wish, we could create an automated blacklist, but since we IP restricted, we didn't have the need.

Reasons for switching to Cerberus FTP Server

We needed a more secure and customizable solution

Vendor Response

Thanks for your feedback, Michael! We're happy to hear you find Cerberus straightforward and secure to meet your needs, and appreciate your recommendation for automated blacklisting.

Replied June 2021

Robert

Think Tanks, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Cerberus is a good, secure solution at a good price

PROS

the software allows for the creation of upload/download templates caled groups that can be applied to new users to make new account creation uniform, security permission will be identical for all users in that group. the advanced server security settings allow for disabling/enabling TLS 1.1, 1.2; as well as FIPS 140-2 cipher suites with some ease in the GUI.

CONS

The software uses a Windows .dll version of log 4j that limits the ability to set log rotation - max is 14, 30 days would be better. the ability to set this in the GUI would be a welcome addition.

Reasons for switching to Cerberus FTP Server

Older SFTP software was subject to a flaw that allowed for a breach.

Vendor Response

Hey Robert, thanks for your review of Cerberus FTP Server! We're pleased you find Cerberus secure and are enjoying the features like grouping that save you time.

Replied April 2022

William

Market Research, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

Great FTP Server product with https transfer

We have been using the product for well over 5 years and it is a simpler solution that our parent company uses for FTP Server usage. Overall has all the features we want and need, but would be good to refine the AD integration for user management and also refine how to setup email alerts for users or groups of users in bulk to maintain them

PROS

- Easy to setup and host - Great value for price - Good logging

CONS

- Need to improve integration with Active Directory to simplify account management - Needs easier way to setup alerts to easily apply to new users or groups at once

Vendor Response

Hi William, thanks for your review! We're happy you find Cerberus to be a great FTP Server and that it's easy to set up and host with good logging. We try to provide our users with the greatest value possible. We welcome feature request submissions like Active Directory integration at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

Replied January 2022

Mutti

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

CERBERUS Additional Improvements and Functionalities

PROS

Overall graphics and users/groups management.

CONS

1. I think permissions for folders should be managed separately from permissions for files. 2. It should be possible to protect a folder and let the inner files open to modifications. 3. A great improvement also would come if files could be modified through the web interface (https). 4. Downloads and uploads are not practical when you wish to work completely online. 5. I would like to have online files open for modifications but protect them from downloads (copyright).

Vendor Response

Hi Mutti, thanks for leaving us feedback! We're glad you find the users and group management satisfactory, and if you'd like to submit your ideas for improvements we welcome feature request submissions at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

Replied January 2022

Tim

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

Well thought out and supported.

Excellent stability, functionality and suitability to task.

PROS

Client setup for most common secure transfer scenarios is straightforward and bullet proof. Documentation and support for more advanced scenarios is superb.

CONS

Like many products slowly shifting from traditional rich client interfaces to pure HTML5, original features are being deprecated or shifting from straightforward access to convoluted workarounds with successive releases.

Reason for choosing Cerberus FTP Server

Cerberus FTP allowed us to consolidate the functionality of several legacy secure transfer products into a single well performing solution.

Reasons for switching to Cerberus FTP Server

Performance, stability and security were increasingly lacking in two competitive products previously in use.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your detailed review and feedback! We appreciate it!

Replied June 2020

Josh

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

Great Product for SFTP

We use the product to move large files daily between our EMRs and our data warehouse with no issue.

PROS

Overall setup and use of Cerberus is easy and quick to learn. Once it is setup and running it is mainly just checking logs to make sure valid IPs do not get added to the block list.

CONS

The only negative for me was I found it a little tricky to get the SSL cert installed. That may not be an issue for admins with more knowledge than me, it was just more difficult than IIS.

Reason for choosing Cerberus FTP Server

Price, feature set, ease of use.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review! We're happy the product has been working so well for you.

Replied May 2020

John

Museums and Institutions, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Easy to use, fully functional FTP server

PROS

this was an easy to use and manage product, and has great security features, such as IP blocking and permabanning based on easy to define rules

CONS

It would be nice to have geo location for IP addresses again, I recall an older version had this

Reasons for switching to Cerberus FTP Server

there were no updates for the version we had, and it did not have SFTP capabilities

Vendor Response

Hey John, thanks for your thoughts of Cerberus FTP Server! We're happy to hear you find Cerberus easy to use and manage, while meeting your security needs.

Replied August 2022

Andrew

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2017

Great value

Secure FTP service.

PROS

Ease of use and management. Very easy to manage. My users love how easy it is to use. Management likes the cost of maintenance.

CONS

It would be nice to have a User guide, It would be nice to be able to lookup users by group. It needs more search capabilities.

Vendor Response

Hello Andrew, thanks for reviewing Cerberus FTP Server! We're glad you find Cerberus to be a great value, as we pride ourselves on our transparent pricing and robust features. We're also happy to hear you and your team find it easy to use and manage saving you time and money.

Replied April 2022

Wilhelm

Civic & Social Organization, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Good product

good product, there is no other product on the market with this features

PROS

easy to use, a lot of automation stuff. this is the best feature

CONS

webinterface could be better, linux version is missing. web only version

Vendor Response

Thanks for your response, Wilhelm! We're glad to hear that you find our automated features to make your FTP Server needs a smooth and easy process. We welcome feature request submissions, such as a Linux Version, at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

Replied December 2021

Curtis

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Cerberus vs Other Products

Cerberus FTP server has taken on a role within our organization that we needed a high degree of trust and confidence in and it met and exceeded our expectations.

PROS

Easy to use and yet powerful. Intuitive GUI. Excellent Tech Support if/when needed.

CONS

I can honestly say that there isn't any features that I would complain about.

Vendor Response

Hi Curtis, thank you for your review of Cerberus FTP Server! We're glad to hear you find the GUI intuitive and our in-house support team helpful as well as meeting and exceeding your expectations!

Replied January 2022

Avinash

Computer Software, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

Overall Good Software

Very Good FTP with data security.

PROS

User friendly GUI with very good security features

CONS

Reporting is not that much good, management will not happy on this

Reason for choosing Cerberus FTP Server

Cost and user friendly GUI

Vendor Response

Thank you for the feedback, Avinash! We're happy to hear Cerberus FTP Server is meeting your needs, and encourage you to leave your thoughts on what you would like to see in reporting on our feature requests page here: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

Replied December 2021

Jukka

Publishing, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Hassle free ftp-server

PROS

Very stable, updates can be run anytime - works every time

CONS

Built in logging tools should be better.

Vendor Response

Hello Jukka, thanks for your review of Cerberus FTP Server! We appreciate your kind words of Cerberus's stability as we work hard to ensure Cerberus can run under any load. We've improved our logging tools in our latest update, if you haven't updated, you can do so here: https://www.cerberusftp.com/download/

Replied April 2022

Stephen

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: