User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(27)

27

4 stars

(5)

5

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Very stable product and secure in terms of functionality and features. It is very easy to deploy and configure. and it has both http and sftp upload options"

  • "Easy to use, simple to implement. End users can find their way around it without needing much if any training."

  • "Easy to use both for admin and users. Can be customize and manage from server or webGUI is a plus with no hidden menus or hard to find items."

  • Cons

  • "the management once installed is a little tricky and takes a little time to get used to, however, once familiar, it's straight forward to use."

  • "Well, not really sure. So far all seems nice. There are free tools on the market, so perhaps you can drop the price a little. But still not too bad value for money"

  • "Nothing really bad to say about the product install was simple enough."

Browse Cerberus FTP Server Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -18 of 32 results

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Great Software great feature set great value

In general great product at a great price

Pros

All the features are there a logically arranged in the interface. Performance is great and administration is strait forward. Support has been reactive when necessary.

Cons

Nothing really bad to say about the product install was simple enough.

August 2017

Kyle from Xceleration Inc

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Needed to find a high feature SFTP Server application that ran within a Windows environment.

Pros

The auto blacklist feature in conjunction with the number of failed logins is a great benefit, no need to continue to verify SFTP system is save. Another benefit for the company I work for is the support for local users and LDAP users simultaneously. No need to choose between the type of users within this system. The support for multi-tier authentication is also a huge benefit, password as well as pub key, or using the password or pub key allows employees to test as our client while I client stays secure using their private key. Applying updates is very simple and very quick, have performed such updates during business hours and downtime was a matter of 2 minutes.

Cons

When users are created, a folder corresponding to the user is not automatically created so only permissions need to be assigned for the user.

August 2017

Shui Kee from Kintetsu World Express (M) Sdn Bhd

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Cerberus FTP Server is great and easy to setup and use, bugs free and comes with great support.

The software works well and don't encounter any issues so far.

Pros

Briefly, the sFTP function works well and easy to setup with very good documentation manual, and importantly the logging activities which are stored and segregated in daily log file which is very useful for troubleshooting with counterpart whenever there is reported issue and the log file will clearly show the login, receiving, removing and sending events. Overall the interface is very user-friendly and that translates well into ease of use and maintains. Lastly but not the least is the pricing in comparison to other ftp server vendor in terms of functionalities namely control.

Cons

No option to create SSH key pair files for customer, and thus I have to use ftp voyager to generate these files.

September 2018

Jeffrey from absa

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2018

Good securte encrypted FTP file sharing

Experience would be as any other FTP server. Company was looking for reliability, security and access control . Fancy having the same name as our integration system therefore the software was chosen .

Pros

Allows encryption with file sharing. Company required external software to drop files on a location to be picked up by teams on the other side of the country. Better alternative to cron jobs.

Cons

Just another server with options configurable and security features customizable.

August 2017

Paul from CSNW

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Industrial Automation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Great value and great support

Pros

We have had some unique ftp needs (relating to LDAP authentication for accounts) and cerberus has been able to met them all. They support has been great, and they publish updates frequently.

Cons

It's expensive, but it is still a good value, as I could not find any better option that cost less. The support is well worth it to. I would highly recommend keeping an active subscription. But that's pretty standard for enterprise software.

August 2017

Armando from Mevis Informtica Mdica LTDA

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Very stable and easy to use FTP server

Stable, easy to use, fair price and several prices/configurations for different needs. Secure. Easy to by over the WEB.

Pros

I have used several FTP servers but the best solution, for my needs, is Cerberus by far. I use Cerberus for only 30 users and with low traffic. I never used the server for a big number of user and high demand, so I can not comments about that profile. But I can say that for my goals is perfect and with fair price.

August 2017

Tim from Touchlogic Corporation

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

GUI is fantastic - enables more team members to quickly create rules for incoming files!

Reduction in Lead time with new customers. Entry Level staff leverage this tool which was impossible on the legacy Linux ftp server application.

Pros

1. Authorization and Authentication for rules Users/Groups. 2. Event Manager -Ease of Use 3. Superb Service and quick deployment of patches when required.

Cons

Event Manager - All matching rules fire. Would be fantastic if rule precedence and/or Stop processing additional rules existed..

March 2019

Curtis from NOVA

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Cerberus vs Other Products

Cerberus FTP server has taken on a role within our organization that we needed a high degree of trust and confidence in and it met and exceeded our expectations.

Pros

Easy to use and yet powerful. Intuitive GUI. Excellent Tech Support if/when needed.

Cons

I can honestly say that there isn't any features that I would complain about.

August 2017

John from Translation and Localization

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2017

Been a happy user of CerberusFTP for many years now. Does what we need it to do.

Pros

Easy to use both for admin and users. Can be customize and manage from server or webGUI is a plus with no hidden menus or hard to find items.

Cons

Updates can be a bit weird and have to update the settings for the service every time. Wish the reporting function worked a bit better

August 2017

Andrew from New Mexico Department of Transportation

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Great value

Secure FTP service.

Pros

Ease of use and management. Very easy to manage. My users love how easy it is to use. Management likes the cost of maintenance.

Cons

It would be nice to have a User guide, It would be nice to be able to lookup users by group. It needs more search capabilities.

August 2017

Scott from Tolt Solutions

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

THey are a great company to work with.

a safe secure and reliable FTP/FTPS/SFTP solution for your business.

Pros

The software is complete and well laid out. They are constantly updating this product with security updates and making it better.

Cons

if you want he web support it is a little pricey. you can only have the UI active in one user space on a server.

August 2017

Prakash from Perry Ellis International

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Like their web based secure file upload and download feature. Support is prompt and good.

Inhouse file management to allow sending/receiving files to/from external vendors.

Pros

Client website to upload and download files Password based download link with expiration User management Prompt and good support

Cons

Managing whitelisted IPs to connect client web portal for each user as individual Better reporting

August 2017

Terry from Gammage & Burnham

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Smooth and easy to use

Large file transfer is our primary use.

Pros

Easy to use, simple to implement. End users can find their way around it without needing much if any training.

Cons

Lack of favicon customization. Every time I upgrade I have to do it manually. It would be better to have a setting like the banner.

August 2017

Norbert from Conair Group Inc.

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2017

So far so good, no complaint.

SFTP as stated. As we are slowly migrated from traditional FTP to SFTP

Pros

The pricing, easy of understanding the pricing structures and what each different tier provides. Performance is on par with products we have tested previously, the pricing of Cerberus made an easy decision for choosing the product.

Cons

the management once installed is a little tricky and takes a little time to get used to, however, once familiar, it's straight forward to use.

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

A great piece of software that is easy for users to operate

Pros

There is a lot of functionality built in to the software and it's very easy to manage. Most of the upgrades are completely automated and they come out with security patches / upgrades regularly.

Cons

There isn't much about the software that I have found to dislike. If I had to configure it over again, I would have configured it to integrate with our AD, rather than create new users in the program, but that is completely on us.

August 2017

bala from DSG

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Cerberus FTP is very ease to use and configure for its value.

We have enrolled many departments to upload their data to center place where the auditors can view from the single location.

Pros

Very stable product and secure in terms of functionality and features. It is very easy to deploy and configure. and it has both http and sftp upload options

Cons

This product does not have any thick client which can installed on windows client or mobile devices to access the files from the share.

August 2017

Tom from CPP

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Good interface for mom tech pro people

Very little interactions from the IT department.

Pros

Highly configurable. Customer support when needed is very fast. End users need very little help if at all. Customers of our employees also like to use the system.

March 2018

Priyabrata from GrayMatter Software Services Pvt Ltd

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Best FTP Server I have ever used.

Best software if you want to do some R&D regarding VFS. It'll provide every detail while you call the server.

Pros

I was looking for a FTP server which will support ApacheVFS. It not only supports this but gives a detail brief about how much time it takes to upload or download a file, how many hits happening in order to call the service, the size of the file..etc. All you have to do is start the server and call your service. It even won't consume much resource of the system, hence your system won't get slow if the server starts.

Cons

Feature wise it's great and simply awesome but it's a bit expensive for normal developer who is doing some personal R&D on different VFS.

August 2017

Jason from Nektar therapeutics

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

This is a great product and awesome service. They also have an active development team!

Secure easy to manage file sharing solution

Pros

Features, auditabillity security support responsive development team. I belive this is under priced.

Cons

You have to treat AD user management differently than native account management. Which is understandable. However i would love to see adfs or azure integration.

August 2017

Mike from Cartus

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Works incredibly well

Enhanced compliance

Pros

Granular configuration with the ability to create groups/profiles and map users to Active Directory.

September 2017

Kavin from 2c2p

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

easy to use and secure

easy to use

Pros

multiple user and directory management, ssh secure, stable, can use public key and private key authentication

Cons

price is a little bit high but overall is good

August 2017

Manuel from Helbling Verlagsgesellschaft m.b.H.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Simply the best in class!

Way more functions. Way less work. Way happier workmates!

Pros

We absolutely LOVE the webclient, it's so much easier to take care of our less experienced users now. Our FTP support went down for about 70% already and those advanced functions like sharing and account request save incredible much time and money as well!

Cons

It's yet a bit tricky to customize the frontend, especially when there are updates. We're definitely looking forward to version 9, which has hopefully better (and persistant) customization features.

August 2017

Donald from Ruark Consulting

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Awesome Product Great Features

Web Portal, Ease for end users, Easy to manage.

Pros

Secure FTP, Auto Blocking IP, Secure File Portal. Ease of setup. Quickly migrated my users from our old software.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Excellent application

File transfer issue resolved using Cerberus sftp

Pros

Feature and flexibility with easy of use

Cons

Everything found to be very good in case of sftp and logging

August 2017

Gavin from Kryterion Inc.

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Using it for our PROD FTP Service, with two Cerberus FTP allow us to failover with HA.

Easy to use and manage.

Pros

User friendly GUI, easy to negative and setup, also many different features for security and login method. Allow IP blocking and whitelist.

Cons

No settings for log rotation period, the size of logs, or other options related to logs from the GUI. Events, Reports, and eMail alerts should enable on Professional version also.

August 2017

Coenie from FIC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Relations

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Very easy to use feature rich app addressing all needs

Well our users have access to their own online storage being internal to our organization,

Pros

The ease of setup, maintain and administration. The user interface is also easy to use so I don't need to train my users on how it works. They figure it self.

Cons

Well, not really sure. So far all seems nice. There are free tools on the market, so perhaps you can drop the price a little. But still not too bad value for money

December 2018

MUHAMMAD from Basecamp Data Solutions

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

FTP Hound

Pros

Cerberus is SFTP Server that also support SSH and FTP only. You can transfer file using web interface and or by using any client app too. You can setup email notifications for various scenarios. You can apply retention policy for security, versioning or for other reasons. It can also be a part of Active directory so you don't have to create and manage separte user for FTP or sFTP Server.

Cons

It doesn't support file syncing capability that may requires in some cases like me.

August 2017

Ari from rwdi

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Great experience, easy to use and manage

Pros

Easy to use. The software is very easy for our end users to work with. Easy to manage on the backend.

August 2017

Jerry from Honeycutt Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Easy Peasy, FTP

Sharing large files with customers and team members.

Pros

My clients love the easy to use web client, rather than using an FTP client. I like how easy it was to set up on a server hosted in Microsoft Azure. It was the perfect solution for us.

Cons

It's a bit pricey.

August 2017

Alex from Compu-Solve technologies

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Great secure FTP server

Pros

Security is great. Love the granularity of security. Love the notifications, and auto checking of vulnerabilities

Cons

Hard to comment on this, but biggest annoyance so far is the configuration. Would love to be able to script this using PowerShell.

August 2017

Arkadiusz from GetBack S.A.

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

This is a very good product. He contributed to increasing the efficiency and security of my company.

Pros

GUI - Very good user interface .

Cons

Only one session of Application via RDP. We could use at least more. email notification

August 2017

Jose from North American Lighting Mxico

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Excellent software, very helpful and relatively easy to use

Management of users and files

Pros

integration to our active directory user list, flexible root folder and easy way to enable and disable protocols

Cons

Management of users by web site is too hard and non intuitive, the functions are not correctly located or they no exist