All SugarSync Reviews

1-25 of 50 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Jenna

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

Great file sharing solution

Overall, this is a wonderful solution for SMBs to efficiently share files without investing in a complicated enterprise solution that requires IT setup and maintenance.

PROS

The best thing about this software is that I can download the shared folder and sync locally so I don't HAVE to use the web app if I don't want to. I can drag and drop files and sub folders on my desktop and still sync with the cloud.

CONS

One team member in particular can't delete anything, files and folders she deletes keeps reappearing. We think this is because the version we have is older and not supported anymore, honestly. We have it as a legacy and they don't sell it anymore. I don't believe the newer versions have this issue.

Jakub

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Sharing individual files made easy

In the early days of cloud file storage and sharing there were some big players and some were small but very good. SugarSync belonged to the later and we loved it. The ease of sharing a file via right-clicking and generating a publicly accessible link was great. As time progressed, the other apps also progressed and SugarSync stood still for a while which led to a drop of speed and comparably pricier service then others offered. Even when privacy was a concern. So we dropped it.

PROS

When SugarSync became available it seemed to be the best option to share and sync files AND backup computers to the cloud. It was far more advanced then other software, privacy is supposedly better and it allowed simple sharing of single files and folders.

CONS

Unlike other solutions SugarSync either does not have any data centers in Europe or the servers are slow. Compared to other solutions uploading and syncing the files dragged and I had to wait to finish uploads of files which needed to be shared. Plus over time the client app became slightly aged and overall the system became pricey.

Reason for choosing SugarSync

Pricing and functionality.

Reasons for switching to SugarSync

Deeper integration into the system and easy sharing of individual files and filders.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Flexibility comes at a cost

On paper, Sugarsync ticks all the boxes, and it is more flexible than its main competitors. However, the subscription fee is not cheap and the PC client is not entirely robust, with technical support lagging behind.

PROS

Among cloud storage providers, Sugarsync is possibly one of the most flexible: you can sync any folder on your PC and share it with any number of users (once you pay your subscription ,shared files do not count against their storage limit). Files are accessible via the web and on portable devices (e.g., I use the Android client to peek at my files while on the go).

CONS

Technical support is incredibly poor for such a good product. Sugarsync has been having a problem for at least two months, now, with some files that get "stuck" while uploading to the could and remain invisible to other users, and the developer has not come up with a solution yet. Also, it is pretty usual that some files re-appear in the list of the files to be synced even though they are already in sync. Finally, when the PC client is started it eats up CPU and memory and may have a significant impact on your machine's response times (although this just lasts for a few minutes).

Reasons for switching to SugarSync

When I switched, Sugarsync was free up to an unlimited storage (meaning that you could have a free, limited plan and then grow you free space by referring friends, etc.). Also, it could backup and share any folder on my PC, while with Dropbox you had to use its own folder to get files synced.

Scott

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

SugarSync has by-far been the most reliable file-sync program I have used to date.

SugarSync allows me to easily syncronize files between all of my computers without having to move them from their original locations into a central folder.

PROS

The biggest feature of this program, and the one I admire the most, is the ability to sync files and folders anywhere on the computer without having to move them to a specific folder. All the other systems require you to move your data into a specific folder they create, but SugarSync allows you to right click on any file/folder on your computer (including network drives and external drives) and choose to sync the right where they stand. I also like their new backup copy feature that maintains an extra copy of whatever folders you want for safety and versioning changes.

CONS

The price is the worst part of this program - it is far more expensive than any other program like it that I have ever used, and each year I am forced to think hard on whether or not I want to renew them or not. They are at least 5 times more expensive than their closest competitor, and the only justification is syncing files/folder where they sit.

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

SugarSync offers the folder specific syncing that very few others do.

PROS

Pretty much what it claims to do is what I like best about it. It's like being asked "What do you like best about a back scratcher?" It scratches my back! This software syncs my files and it does do allowing me to select the folders I want, which allows me to keep my computers set up in the folder structure that I want. (Most others, like Dropbox, which I also like and use, but for different reasons , make you use their folder.)

CONS

Once in a while there is a hiccup and the sync stops working properly for a certain folder. That can be a little nerve wracking to fix, but for the most part, it's a time saver. I also don't like that they went from freemium to pay only at one point; it's not that it wasn't worth it, but it always feels a little sneaky when you become reliant on something and then you're almost "forced" to keep going with it.

Jeremy

Verified reviewer

Mental Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Was perfect, now not functioning well

PROS

Can sync any folder, customizable by device. The ability to sync multiple devices across platforms is great, including mobile for true access anywhere. Copy public link is a great, easy way to send a file to someone.

CONS

Lately, the desktop app hogs tons of resources and seems like it's constantly using 30 or more % processor. While it wasn't always this way, it's not completely reliable in terms of keeping files synced- I've had issues with file versions getting mixed up after thinking/expecting they were in sync. This requires a app exit and restart to re-trigger the syncing process.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

Love it but have to troubleshoot regularly

Really love that I don't have to check files in/out when I work on them. If another user is editing a document in parallel, the SugarSync system saves both versions. Wish it were more reliable.

PROS

Platform is ideal for a small business with a handful of remote users. Files are synced in the cloud and duplicated on a user's hard drive.

CONS

Occasionally it just stops syncing files. Usually I discover this when I'm in the middle of collaborating with a team member or working on a critical document. It is frustrating to have to reboot or refresh which usually fixes the problem but not always.

User Profile

Samantha

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Love sugarsync for 2 way syncing of files

Love its usability and how it backs up all my files!

PROS

I have been using sugarsync for over 5 years and I absolutely love it! My files are backup automatically to the cloud and I can select which folders are backed up automatically and can even change this on multiple devices. I backup my cellphone, laptop and tablet with it and have never lost anything!

User Profile

Marcos

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

A great way to share files and keep them always updated, anywhere, anytime!

PROS

In addition to all the features that usually present this type of tools, such as a synchronization folder, share with collaborators, etc. This application allows backups and automatic synchronizations on all devices. Even upload files vía email. Additionally, you can save backup copies of your file structures to prevent accidental fatalities!

CONS

The bad thing, unlike similar ones, is that you can not edit the files online. You can edit them through a program on your computer, but as soon as the file is saved, it can be updated immediately and automatically in all the folders in which it is located. At least that's what they have ...

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

SugarSync Review

PROS

Our team loves the flexibility that SugarSync gives us to quickly and easily share documents with each other.

CONS

Occasionally, we run into syncing issues, even when all of us have the desktop app open and the SugarSync icon is green.

Kathryn

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Great for small teams!

Use it daily as our main storage and share system.

PROS

Easy and intuitive. There was no learning curve. It stores files as if you share a desktop folder. There’s no active downloading needed to share.

CONS

There’s no indication that someone else has a file open. It saves both versions, but we are frequently running file compare to make sure everything is up to date.

Reason for choosing SugarSync

Price, ease, space

Reasons for switching to SugarSync

Space, price, ease

Rebecca

Utilities, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

Easy to use with comparable price point

PROS

App was easy to use and teach employees to use, implementation was smooth transition from previous app. Integration with other apps worked better than other apps used by company.

CONS

Pricing for small business use is a bit too high.

Reasons for switching to SugarSync

Integration with other applications

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed October 2019

This Software Has Stopped Working with the Latest MacOS

It had served me well for a long time, although things always seemed a little on the verge of breaking down. Usually it didn't. Now it doesn't work at all. The customer support team are trying and are nice, but they are just being fed lines from their developers and can't offer any information about when an update will be available. What they are relaying indicates that the problem was on the verge of being fixed, but that line has continued to be served up.

PROS

I liked that you can select the folders that you want to sync, back when the software used to work. It used to be a decent product and serve a role in the syncing world that other software didn't.

CONS

It occasionally would get buggy and there would be a need a few times a year to get on the phone with customer service and resolve new issues. But most of all, it is completely useless to me now because it no longer works with the latest MacOS. Mac pushes their users to update frequently to the latest, safest OS. There is no way anyone should not upgrade because they want to keep using SugarSync.

Janine

Insurance, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed June 2022

Customer support is NON EXISTANT

I am a customer for 13 years. The service was always decent except for the last two years wherein you can get no assistance. There is no one manning the ship. I am going to a competitor due to such poor service.

PROS

It backs up your files, like it is supposed to most of the time. BUT, when there is a problem you can not get anyone on the phone nor will they call you back no matter how many messages or email s you send, even though you are paying for this service annually. You cant even get anyone in billing to answer the phone.

CONS

files or photos won't upload properly and will not sync so they get stuck in limbo and you can not get it to resolve.

Marisa

Management Consulting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2020

Not great for teams

We were trying to use it to share files among our remote team but it created way more headache than anything else. It was also a pain to get our accounts cancelled. We moved to G-Suite and have never been happier.

PROS

The fact that there was a backup online as well as on your machine was nice. Being able to share folders theoretically seems great.

CONS

The fact that we couldn't have a team based folder. Maybe it was just based on how we used the product but for us, my boss had access to the main folder and he had to share permission with people to get access to it. But he wasn't always available so we'd have to download the file and send it to the person who needed it. Over time, this became really hard to manage as well as a version control issue. Plus having all of the files on every single person's computer was causing a space issue too.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

Great features to sync and backup files in the cloud

Overall, I love using this software to back up and share my files with others. It was easy to use and has features that other competitors didn't have.

PROS

Sugarsync is easy to use and configure so it's accessible on all devices. Love how you can choose specific folders to sync and backup.

CONS

Over the years the price of the plans have gone up compare to other competitors like Dropbox and Google Drive.

Reason for choosing SugarSync

It made it easy to backup specific folders

Blaine

Farming, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

Very nice file sync program.

Overall we are very happy with sugarsync.

PROS

What i think sets SugarSync apart from other file sync programs is that you can chose to sync any file or folder on your computer. You don't have to change your file structure or drop files in a certain spot to sync.

CONS

I would like the ability to access and restore files of other users in our company account. It would help with support of some users.

Martha

Wine and Spirits, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

Sugar Sync user

Generally was exactly what I required with a good result

PROS

I found SugarSync user friendly and well suited for the purpose I required, which was to be able to access parts of our server remotely including without internet access.

CONS

Sometimes there was a double save of documents which was confusing. In these cases we would need to work out which was the latest document and delete the oversave.

Amanda

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2018

Decent resource for multiple users

PROS

My group has been using this as a repository for file sharing for many years. The app allows us to easily access files on the go. Files and folders can be renamed with ease.

CONS

When a new file is uploaded the date does not change to the most recent date. Moving files is a bit cumbersome as there is no ability to drag and drop to move files among folders.

Stephan

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: