All Sync.com Reviews

1-25 of 45 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Kim

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used unspecified

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed December 2021

Sync.com User Review

User Profile

Kevin

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Ditched Dropbox for Sync

Sync gives me fast, easy, and private access to my files whenever I want and wherever I am: at home, at work, or on-the-go. I've been using Sync for 2 years and don't ever remember having a problem. I've never lost a file or had a file get corrupted. Their service has been great! I would highly recommend giving them a try. They offer a free tier with paid options available if you need more features.

PROS

There are many file repository services available in the Cloud these days, but few have end-to-end encryption like Sync. That was the main reason I transferred all my personal files from Dropbox to Sync: to maintain maximum privacy. I'm the only one who holds the keys to my data.

CONS

The web interface works fine on a monitor, but is somewhat hard to use on a mobile device. Sync has a mobile app that works well on modern devices, but there have been times when I've needed to access my Sync files on a mobile device that was too old to run the app.

Reasons for switching to Sync.com

I switched from the Dropbox personal free tier because Sync offered end-to-end encryption. I wanted complete control over who sees my personal data. I didn't like the idea that Dropbox held my encryption keys and could access my files if they wanted to (or if government agencies or the justice system forced them to). With end-to-end encryption, I don't have to worry about that. Not even Sync employees can access my files.

User Profile

Charles

Verified reviewer

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Like having an external backup with sharing capabilities in one

Very happy.

PROS

I love the way it's so easy to share any link and that I can easily remove someone's permission. Also, my colleague is having problems with her computer so Sync is really stopping her from losing some of those files and also it means I can access them on my computer or she can on another computer.

CONS

I have no complaints. Although sometimes the only way I can access my colleagues' files in the shared folder on the desktop is by logging in on the online version or even her version. So if it was instantly there without, it would be better, but the fact I can still easily access and download the files makes it not much of a problem.

Reason for choosing Sync.com

It had more features, Backblaze when I used it a few years earlier didn't have file sharing and every time I needed a file with them. I'd have to download and reupload. So I was looking for a much easier, convenient solution. And I found it.

Reasons for switching to Sync.com

There was a promotion on at the time and I thought I'd give it a go.

Joshua

Music, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Sync Does Not Work On My Year-Old Mac Silicon

It was good at first - I had no problems using Windows as an OS, but as soon as I switched over to Mac, the app cannot function properly. I am very disappointed and quite frankly very frustrated that this is where my money is going.

PROS

Everything was easy to setup and after that, it synchronizes your files automatically, within minutes of saving, and immediately following.

CONS

Sync stopped synchronizing my files on several, extended occasions, and I've been (and currently am still) struggling for literal months at a time with support trying to get this problem fixed. I don't have anything against the staff, but this problem has persisted for far too long to be acceptable. I have very important files that are not being synchronized that I could lose forever if the app does not start doing what it's supposed to. Unfortunately I should not have to rely on other methods of storage when I am paying upwards of $120CAD per year for this service that should have this taken care of.

Roger

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

Great File Storage I Recommend!

This service easily solved my primary problem, where I needed to have files accessible across multiple devices, but not stored on those devices. Sync.com stores the files only in the cloud. In a nutshell, here's what I like: Easy-to-use interface. Excellent security. Great customer service. Great for privacy conscious people. Files are not lost if a device breaks.

PROS

One feature that's particularly useful is privacy. As your files are encrypted, they don't have the encryption key - A super feature in the event you want to keep your files available on other devices, but only available to you. Additionally, it's awesome to start working on a document (for example) stored on sync.com, then later to use another device and keep working on the same document. This makes life much easier! Also (I've run into this a few times), their clouded store save me a lot of work. Why? If my computer dies, I don't lose any of my important files, and can even access them using a mobile device, or another computer.

CONS

The only significant downside I've run into, is that they don't have a Linux based application (they support Windows and Mac). You can still use a web browser to access sync.com on Linux, but it's not quite the same as a native application. Having said that, it's still a great solution.

Reasons for switching to Sync.com

Sync.com was more cost effective, had better privacy, and didn't store all the files across devices,

Kira

Automotive, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Advanced features with high level security!

We realized the benefits of secure and reliable cloud storage with sync. We have really made progress and improved our reputation by using their wonderful file sharing feature. We have improved our efficiency and organization along with our ability to work together and collaborate.

PROS

So many pros! Sync is very professional and polished. Sync is secure and uses strong end to end encryption, not the reduced levels like other software (Google for example). I truly feel safe. Sync stores your data on their servers and they do not allow anyone else to access them. They also can not view your files. 10/10 on security. The file sharing is excellent and has advanced features not offered by other products! Sync also has the capability and capacity to meet the needs of specialized businesses. The pros certainly outweigh the cons.

CONS

The only cons are price, and that at first it can be difficult to navigate. There are a lot of options and advanced features but that means it takes a while to learn how to use everything for some people.

Reason for choosing Sync.com

The overall look and feel of the product. Sync just felt more put together.

Reasons for switching to Sync.com

The higher security level and higher quality of the product with sync.

Lynn

Legal Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Excellent Storage Option

My overall experience with Sync.com has been excellent. I have relied on it for many years now, primarily as a means to back up my important documents, but also as a convenience to access documents from wherever I may be in an emergency. I am surprised by the low price (I think it has been $49/year for several years now), so it is a great service for the cost.

PROS

Sync.com was very easy to implement and it runs almost flawlessly. I have had very little problems in the several years that I have relied on Sync.com for my cloud/back-up storage. Also, I can access my documents very easily from anywhere, including my phone. It is great and the price was about half that of dropbox.

CONS

A couple of times I found that the back-up was not functioning. This may have been a result in a glitch in my computer that was interfering with the back-up, but when it did happen a couple of times, it caused quite a panic because I didn't know for how long things were not being backed-up. I also found it a little difficult to authorize someone else to have access to my documents, although I was able to figure it out after a while.

Reason for choosing Sync.com

Based on a recommendation heard at a legal seminar, and also the price was great.

Reasons for switching to Sync.com

I was concerned about the protections offered by Dropbox, and Sync.com was mentioned as a good alternative at a legal seminar I was attending. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the price was half of what Dropbox was charging.

David

Verified reviewer

Automotive, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

DO NOT MISS These Guys!!

I found SyncWith by accident when my Zapier 'zaps' weren't cutting the mustard any longer. MAN did I bark up the right tree!!! Not only was it quick to setup, easy to navigate, and fairly self-intuitive, but when it wasn't, their support staff was!!! NO LIE... must've been over 100 emails back and forth. Oh, and 99.999% of the issues I was emailing them about turned out to be... wait for it... 100% operator error!Thanks [SENSITIVE CONTENT]! The app, once set up properly BY THE USER (lol), worked perfectly! In fact, we were able to pinpoint some bad data coming from the data source! SyncWith connected easily to the API address, and brought the data back perfectly! You can even rename the [fields] before running the sync. I also had to use "X-Api-Secret", "X-Api-Partner-Id" and a "tennant.id". And even though I knew not what they were, [SENSITIVE CONTENT] got them set up in minutes!

PROS

* It worked perfectly! * The support for when I got stuck was EXCELLENT! * It offers lots of options (adding or removing fields from your sync)! * I was able to use 'X-Api-Secret', 'X-Api-Partner-Id', and even a "tenant.id" easily!

CONS

* Nothing that I could find! Seriously! Every time I got stuck (and by 'stuck' really I mean 'not slowing down and taking the time to figure simple things out!'), they were at the other end of that email... almost instantly, to walk me through what I had missed. And most of all, they were patient and kind in their responses... which there were A LOT of! lol (thx [SENSITIVE CONTENT]!)

Reasons for switching to Sync.com

1. I can get SOOO much more data through SyncWith! 2. It is SOOO much easier to setup! 3. It is SOOO much easier to make changes to!

User Profile

Alexandra

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Super secure but somehow unattractive to use

Easy to set up, secure, and more free storage than dropbox. Down and uploading was difficult at some point, so now we only use it sporadically. Also, with proton and mega we find our needs are met better. Since we already use proton mail.

PROS

Back in 2019 when proton mail did not have secure storage, this was the most secure document storage system in the cloud we could find. So we opened an account. It has 7 (plus 1 if you activate additional functions) GB of free storage, and beats dropbox in that as well. The file sharing works just as easy. It is a good software, essentially.

CONS

Uploading and downloading can be a chore, and with proton mail having their own cloud now, and mega.nz offering even more free storage, we have now two options that suit us better. Also, the UI is pretty basic. I csnt quite put my finger at it, but I really disliked navigating it and now only rarely use it.

Reason for choosing Sync.com

Seemed more secure, more free storage

Reasons for switching to Sync.com

More free storage, more security.

Brahm

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2017

After 1 year using Pro version of Dropbox and Sync, I now only use Sync.com

PROS

Fast. Affordable. Secure. Intuitive. For half the price of Dropbox, plus the ability to recover old versions and deleted files. For business, teams are basically free, compare to Dropbox where an account with teams isan amount per user, sync is a small amount per user. Sync also has a vault feature, which is a nice for backup files and long term storage of files that you want to keep safe and don't need to work with everyday. Love that when you share folders with someone, the shared folders only count toward the original users quota. This makes it possible for a PRO user to share large files with free account users. With Dropbox, I couldn't share large folders with clients unless they had a paid Dropbox account.

CONS

If you try to change too many file or folder names in too short a time, Sync starts to produce conflicting files, especially if you have two computers syncing to the cloud at the same time. Dropbox algorithms seem to resolve file conflicts better. There is not much customer support to speak of, just help boards and email.

Lisa

Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2020

Secure and affordable file sharing.

We needed a file storage system that was more secure than Google Drive, and affordable. This fit the bill. I like that I feel more confident our files are now secure and that it isn't breaking the bank.

PROS

We share files among a team and needed a solution that would allow us keep doing that in a user-friendly way. We also needed it to be secure. Sync.com works very well for us in these ways.

CONS

There are a few quirks that are challenging - for example, you can't rename top-level folders for a whole team that are shared with a team, and that moving files breaks the link to those files. They are small things and wouldn't make us stop using it.

Reasons for switching to Sync.com

For better security.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Secure and Affordable Cloud Storage

We use Sync.com successfully to organize our large documents and files that we share with clients. Many times, clients have to send us very large media files. Instead of trying to send these through emails or through WeTransfer, it is so much more organized to send them an invitation to a shared folder and have them upload as much as they want into that folder. It saves everybody time, and it keeps things more organized. It also gives me peace of mind knowing that all of the data is encrypted and secure.

PROS

This cloud storage service is simple, affordable, and secure. It does everything you need it to do. It is cheaper than alternatives, but it still has strong encryption and best security practices. The interface is easy to use, and it is easy to share folders with other users/collaborators. The desktop app works nicely to keep the folders on your computer in sync with any changes made by other users. When we do file sharing with clients, the interface is intuitive, so we never have to guide them through the process.

CONS

It's not as ubiquitous, so we usually ask our client to create the free account with Sync.com first to start sharing their files with us. I was also not aware that the "Vault" service provided by Sync.com is not adequate to do a full backup of my hard drive. I found that out after trying and failing and dealing with the customer support until they finally realized that this wouldn't work because some of the cache files were changing too often in the background. Overall, the customer support was helpful throughout the process though.

Reasons for switching to Sync.com

Switched from Dropbox because the pricing was going to change, and then I started to look into it more, and the security/encryption of Dropbox is really not that strong. I would rather trust my business to a platform that cares more about the security and data encryption.

Rhonda

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Protected and HIPAA compliant

Sync is the only backup service that we actually had to "use". There was a tragic and unexpected event and we lost everything, I mean all of it. After this I logged into sync hoping the important things I had uploaded were still there. They were still there just as I had left them, and things from multiple computers that I had forgotten to backup were on there as well. We actually wound up losing very little thanks to Sync.com. If I had still been using another service I don't think there would have been such a happy ending.

PROS

Sync.com is a safe place to keep any type of records and files, even protected health information. Sync is HIPAA compliant and protects your information very well. No settings have to be changed or enabled, the protection is already set up. The first 5GB is free, different plans to choose from for different needs and budgets.

CONS

Sync is great but it's not the same as an EMR or cloud storage specialized for medical records. It would be great if Sync launched something like this, I think many organizations would use it including mine. Sync would be better if the customer service teams didn't have such long wait times.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Sync.com- for perfect sync

If you are basic Dropbox or One drive user, just switch on to the Sync.com for hassle-free cloud service with high-security measures and real-time protection. Just try it. Highly recommended.

PROS

I was get interacted with sync.com during looking for an alternative for OneDrive. Highly recommended with security measures of Sync.com and we can keep our files with secure and 100% private. The file transferring speed is really quick when compared to the OneDrive for both downloading & Uploading. Still, we can manage our files with any of our devices and the mobile version is really helpful to keep our files up to date. We can share our files instantly and plans start with 5GB for free of charge. We can send our files with self-destruction features and password protection and even we can share our files to non-Sync.com users.

CONS

It's really hard to find cons for this cloud service. Hope the subscriptions fees will be reduced in future in order to compete for cloud service kings such as Dropbox and Google Drive. The free plan should be more in future to attract newcomers.

Reasons for switching to Sync.com

for convenient

John

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Easy filesharing syncing and backup

I use it to back up the companies Documents and share them across three computers. Always in sync. I also use it to share big files via links and email with customers. For personal use i use it to send HD big video and photo files to friends and family. So simple.

PROS

It is so easy to use and never fails to do what it should. I much prefer it to onedrive or dropbox etc etc. You can try it out for free for ever as long as you want if you do not need too much storage space or too may concurrent links or too much history saving. I have hardly ever had to look at the help it is so intuitive. It gives you 5Gb free to start with but you can increase this to 15Gb if you recruit others to use it. Very secure, encrypted. A friend who worked for GCHQ reckoned they were the most secure of any of these systems.

CONS

Nothing really. You cannot expect to get more than 15GB free which is what they offer if you recruit 10 more people.

Reason for choosing Sync.com

Free and much easier to use. Security very good. All files are encrypted and cannot be seen by sync,com. If you need more space/history/users/links you can easily upgrade and their prices are competitive.

Koon

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed May 2020

Started off great but have fallen fast

Started off as a good system for small businesses with one of two users. Once you have files (we are at 120GB of 2TB quota) and the system stops syncing across devices completely. The only support option is through a contact form, and support team takes 2-3 days to respond. As a premium member, this "priority" support is poor.

PROS

Affordable pricing, easy to use system, supports multiple platform.

CONS

Doesn't work for teams with lots of files. Syncing files between computers take days. Support is irresponsive. Premium members receiving "priority" support still gets a reply after 2-3 days.

Reason for choosing Sync.com

Affordable pricing. Unlimited users if used Team Share folders.

David

Security and Investigations, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

And the award goes to... Sync.com

When you hear secure cloud storage you may assume sharing a file will feel like pulling teeth, but Sync has managed to pair convenience and security. Quite the feat!

PROS

Sync made their house out of brick when the others chose straw. The door to this house is sturdy and safe but still easily opened (meaning easy and safe to share if you didn't catch symbolism).Sync syncs lightning fast *provided device and connection are viable*. The price is right, surprisingly lower than expected. Getting started takes five minutes and the easy to navigate interface looks like it just dropped yesterday.

CONS

Syncs performance varies by device more so than others. On a new, powerful computer it runs very fast. If I try it on an older or more lightweight device, it runs like molasses - slow.There is no Linux support, it's not a deal breaker for me anymore but it still lands on the cons list. The support options aren't anything to rave about, disappointing..

Reasons for switching to Sync.com

Many reasons.. Price, security, privacy, better interface.

Sherri

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed March 2019

Don't even think about these guys

I wanted to like these guys so badly. Now I just want to warn everyone to stay away. I have no idea how anyone uses this product. it is barely functional. I am stuck with a 5 mbps download speed. Nice trap. It will take me most of this year to get my files off Sync and onto a better provider.

PROS

I wish I had something to fill in here, but I don't. Every time I try to work with this product, it is just hours of frustration....

CONS

Poor tech support. Download speed of 5mbps...seriously. Try to download terrabytes of data with that speed. Raw photography files are not supported for preview..We are talking a standard that is 12 years old now.. You want to find that picture of your summer vacation? You will have to download every file and browse it on your desktop. No version control. No ability to upload or download only. Sync across multiple platforms means everything gets deleted if you make a mistake. Uploading through the browser alters the metadata of the file. I have not had any positive interactions with their tech support since I opened my account with them

Callista

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE