Tailwind TMS

Tailwind TMS Reviews

RATING:

4.32

(96)

Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.32

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4


Pros and Cons

  • icon"Software has all the things you can think of. Great reports, and you can store files on trucks, drivers, and all your exp data."
  • icon"It is super easy to have an asset based operation and have a brokerage operation and run them on the same screen. It is also super easy to move a load from the one division to another as needed."
  • icon"I love that it integrates with QuickBooks Online. This makes it easy for our accounting side of operations."
  • icon"The warnings can cause an inconvienence when they continuously popup everytime something is resaved."
  • icon"Occasionally the drivers have problems seeing their load confirmation information. This mostly has to do with our owner/operators."
  • icon"I sometimes receive some errors that are just randomn."

Have you used Tailwind TMS and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Tailwind TMS Reviews

1-25 of 96 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jason

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

Best TMS Software

This software allows us to keep track of shipments, send out rate confirmations and even invoice customers all through the same easy to use application.

Pros

This software is so easy to use and intuitive. It can be used anywhere and has the features that other softwares charge 10+x the amount for.

Cons

Each new device you use the software on, you have to reset the setting, but not something that happens very often. Minimal cons to this software.

Response from Tailwind Transportation Software

Hi Jason, thanks for the great review!

Replied December 2020

Tiffany

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

August 2021

Long Time Customer Disappointed in the New Platform

Was a great company when we signed in 2015, now we are just a number and there is no urgency to help us with needed things in the system.

Pros

Multiple pieces of equipment dispatched with one order.

Cons

Unable to copy quotes. Features from prior Tailwind software not available in the online platform. No more updates were provided in prior in version basically forcing us to go to the new platform.

Reasons for choosing Tailwind TMS

They have so much history of our data that would have been lost if we went to a new company.

Response from Tailwind Transportation Software

Hi Tiffany, We're sorry to learn about your experience. Unfortunately we had to discontinue our legacy application and move to Cloud-based as the market (and staff to support) on-premise is shrinking. We know that changing systems is hard, which is why we continue to support customers on our legacy application even though we haven't sold it in over five years, and in your case, recently provided you with six services hours for specific customizations you required at no charge. I also know that you had recently submitted a feature. As development resources aren't unlimited, we try to implement requests that benefit the greatest number of customers first. Sometimes that means that very specific features for individual customers don't get done right away. Tiffany, as we do for all of our customers, we value your business. We are not saying that won't fulfill the feature request you have asked for - we just have to prioritize it along with requests from other customers.

Replied August 2021

Tyler

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

Great for a new Broker

We are a 3rd party broker that needed a software to create load confirmations and Invoices. This software perfectly achieves that task and a good price.

Pros

Over the last 3 years we have had no issues with the software breaking at any point. When I log in I am confident the software will work and allow me to complete the tasks at hand. This is big as down time due to software bugs isn't something that would be acceptable.

Cons

Minor nuisance, when a repeat carriers liability insurance expires there is no way to make this change within the current dispatch you are working on you most exit and edit that specific vendor and then go back into the dispatch to create the required load confirmation.

Reasons for choosing Tailwind TMS

We are a small office with a limited number of users. We didn't need the multi user accessibility from some of the other more expensive suites and given our existing use of Quickbooks we also didn't need a software at the time of purchase that had a general ledger built in.

Response from Tailwind Transportation Software

Hi Tyler, we are glad to hear about your positive experience using the software. We look forward to helping you feel the wind at your back as your company continues to expand!

Replied December 2020

Audrey

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2022

Worthy of managing your transportation needs

Automated BOLs - I have been working manually so long this is a small but necessary function.

Pros

I like the ease of use. I have been able to train people remotely which is necessary at this time. Anyone I train seems to manage navigating it with ease.

Cons

Nothing I can think of - it works fine for the functions I require of it.

Reasons for choosing Tailwind TMS

We liked the product and the pricing was mid range.

Reasons for switching to Tailwind TMS

it was not able to accurately manage the new business the company has taken on.

Response from Tailwind Transportation Software

Audrey, thank you for your detailed review of Tailwind! After more than two years with us, your high marks across the board carry a lot of significance. It is great to know that you have found the platform to be very intuitive, and are able to easily onboard new employees as you scale your company. We are so glad that Tailwind was the right fit for your business, and we look forward to growing with you every step of the way!

Replied August 2022

Devon

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

Awesome software for the small to mid size operation

none, They are fantastic

Pros

Super easy to learn and use. I I am the only one in the office and wear many different hats when it comes to running the company and this software put all the info i need at my fingertips. It is super easy to have an asset based operation and have a brokerage operation and run them on the same screen. It is also super easy to move a load from the one division to another as needed.

Cons

A maintenance module that tracks the service schedule of the equipment would be nice so it is in one package

Reasons for switching to Tailwind TMS

Desktop based and very unfriendly

Cole

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2020

Great Product

Tailwind is an excellent product that has allowed me to expand in a capacity that would not be managable

Pros

The product is very easy to use and is packed with many useful features. The ability to track all your orders, drivers, and carriers is very valuable and could not be replicated with just and excel spreadsheet.

Cons

The ability to create and generate settlements for vendors could be a useful feature.

Response from Tailwind Transportation Software

Hi Cole, Thanks for your Tailwind TMS review! To note - we do provide the ability to create payments and the remittance advice acts as a settlement statement for Vendors, showing what they are being paid for. And we also do settlement statements for Owner Ops (some companies consider them as vendors). If you need some assistance with this - you can reach out to our support team via email (support@tailwindtms.com), phone (1-866-441-0441), or through the live chat in the application (where you'll get the fastest response)! Thanks again for your review! Brad from Tailwind

Replied December 2020

John

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2016

Tailwinds rating review

We started with Tailwinds in 2013 and found that the software developed our internal system to where we could increase both dispatchers and accounting efficiencies. Working together with Tailwinds, we've increased our business significantly without any development problems with the volume increase.

Pros

It efficiency handles booking and costing of loads, has good credit capabilities built in for reference of potential credit issues, reporting is good with most being able for export to Excel if further analysis is needed, and the cost is reasonable for well working software.

Cons

Sorting capabilities should be based on more than one criteria. This would probably be an easy fix with TW software people. Clients should get a workshop how to build report generators tailored to their business needs rather than requesting TW software team to built it.

Michelle

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

December 2021

Operations Manager

Pros

Fairly easy to use. Relatively straight forward.

Cons

Poor transaction history and being able to see who did what in the system. Have to go to help desk for that. Not necessarily the right fit for a heavy haul operation, more suited towards brokering and more basic legal and OD loads. On that side it is fantastic. Cannot copy anything but orders - would be nice to copy quotes as well. Definite reporting limitations as well. Help lookup on specific topics is limited and not as detailed as it should be. Have to rely on helpdesk to answer some questions and it is frustrating to not be able to speak to a person and have to do it all through chat.

Genevieve

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2020

Could be better

Pros

Being able to look back at any information, finding everything a particular truck/driver/trailer did for a certain time period. It has a lot of reports. All these were not available with the last program we used but we did not have a dispatch program prior to Tailwind. Tailwind is user friendly once you get to know your way around.

Cons

Support could be better, we have requested some add ons a few months ago and we've had no word on when this would take place. Some of the changes made by Tailwind seemed unnecessary and caused more issues for us.

Response from Tailwind Transportation Software

Hi Genevieve, thanks for the feedback! We will take a look into your suggestions to see what changes need to be made in order to provide an optimal experience. Our support team is usually very responsive especially in the in-app chat, so we will review what happened there.

Replied December 2020

Angie

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

Very happy with Tailwind and their customer service

We love the software and the staff if awesome to work with

Pros

It’s internet based which has made it very easy to go anywhere and still be able to work

Cons

There is a few extra steps when importing to Quick Books

Response from Tailwind Transportation Software

Hi Angie, thanks for your review! Great to hear that you're using the software where-ever you need to be!

Replied December 2020

Caroline

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2021

Daily Use System

Pros

We love the ability to follow a load from it's creation, to dispatch, to invoice and remit of invoice. Allows for ease of driver, both o/o and company driver settlements ensuring accuracy. Customer service is great.

Cons

Occasionally orders are too large to invoice and have to be done manually. Also occasionally invoices mysteriously don't post, however they have worked with us and tried to sort that out.

Paul

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2021

End User

Pros

The software is straight forward and easy to use.

Cons

Not enough customization is available. There are a few features that I would like to be able to customize, that I am not able to.

Ricky

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2020

Review

This helps us in our day-day operations and provides a one-stop solution for operations and invoicing.

Pros

Ease of use, practical and intuitive interface.

Cons

Reporting features are inaccurate are do not seem to be getting fixed.

Reasons for choosing Tailwind TMS

Ease of use

Response from Tailwind Transportation Software

Hi Ricky, we appreciate your review and the feedback as we continuously look to make improvements to the software!

Replied December 2020

Lovepreet

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

Review

Pros

I like how easy it is to use the software, easy to navigate.

Cons

Sometimes the software is really slow and I have to reload a lot

Response from Tailwind Transportation Software

Hi Lovepreet, thanks for your review and the feedback! We are sorry to hear you are having to reload the software at times. We are always updating our software to provide the best experience for our customers. Your issues have been brought to the attention of the development team to ensure adjustments will be made.

Replied December 2020

Harmun

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

December 2021

Dispatcher Tailwinds

Pros

I really like the POD app. Drivers dont have to send emails or let us know when they check in or check out. The app takes care of all of that. Keeps our customers informed as well which is great

Cons

Can't add extra stops without adding additional shipments

Natalia

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: