All M-Files Reviews

1-25 of 177 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Joe

Airlines/Aviation, 11 - 50 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed April 2021

Daily User

User Profile

Jennifer

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Extraordinary product with hundreds of benefits

Overall I would say it’s really beneficial software for creating a specific place for all types of documents.

PROS

Writing about pros I would say it enables me to drag and drop out files according to my wish and desire without any worries of managing data. Apart from I really prefer it because it helps me to automate all my workflow according to the working criteria.

CONS

I am fond of using this auspicious product. It has brought a lot of convenience to me. Honestly speaking there is not any single drawback that I have to mention here.

Vendor Response

Hello Jennifer, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are so excited to see that your experience with M-Files has been positive. We appreciate you and your business. Have a great day!

Replied January 2020

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Best software for managing your electronic documents online.

By sharing required documents with each other and with US staff helps us to making benefits.

PROS

We can manage and control of our documents online by this software. Very user friendly and ease of use. We can share our documents with other employees in our company. We can also set permissions that who can view and change to our documents. So it is very secure. It has a feature of back up and restoring of files to avoid data loss. We can also save our scanned documents and photographs in M-Files. We can also connect to different databases to get the required data.

CONS

M-files provide less customer support. The files saved at M-files store will not save in their existing format like .pdf , .doc etc. it will save the files in their M-files format which is bit annoying.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review and sharing about your experiences using M-Files. In your review you mention that files saved to M-Files do not store in their existing formats. I'm not certain about your configuration, but a typical installation stores all files in their native formats including .pdf, .doc. xlsx, .png, etc. M-Files can also be configured to automatically convert certain file types to others upon saving if desired. It might be so that your configuration is set-up in the manner you describe to maximize storage capacity. Please consider contacting M-Files support about this and they can help to change your file saving format configuration if you desire.

Replied September 2018

Corey

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2017

Good Document Management Solution for most businesses

Learned what we did and did not want in a Document/Content Management Solution. We are currently shopping around for a better option.

PROS

User Interface is the same no matter the platform. The database residing in the cloud and off local servers is a huge plus, especially for off-site workers. But the structure and speed of the M-Files server is fantastic. Fully customizable to however you want to track your documents and tag your metadata. Tasks and Assignments were a huge plus. Plug-ins for Microsoft Office products all worked very well. Versioning of the documents was awesome. Working on documents locally and then saving incremental changes back to the server dramatically increased speed of working documents for us. (CAD drawings in particular)

CONS

We had 3 things that prevented us from being able to implement and use M-Files to the full. 1. Does not work with Revit's Central Module! Almost all of our architecture projects are built in Revit and they all utilize the Central Module to be effective. M-Filee's inability to comply with this, made it unusable for us. 2. User Interface was difficult for implementation. Many in the office are used to and prefer the windows folder structure and found that our method of tagging metadata and the general UI experience to be too time-demanding and different from what they were used to. 3. When the files are saved on the m-files server they are not saved in their native format (.dpf .xls. doc) they are saved in M-Files format. M-Files has an export feature that supposedly should allow you to get the files back in their native format. We did not like that option we wanted a way to be able to look through the M-Files vault, distinguish which files are which and then be able to save them back in their original format.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Online Storage and Easy Information Transfer

the application I use to store, manage and monitor all kinds of documents, information and visual materials. It can also be used for document sharing and version control.

PROS

It is an easy-to-use and powerful document management system that facilitates the management, finding and tracking of documents for companies of all sizes. It is a solution offered according to the needs of every institution / organization. The biggest advantage at this point is that it is very simple to customize.

CONS

It creates synchronization problems in places where the internet connection is not reliable and there may be version problems.

Vendor Response

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. We value your time and appreciate the score! Again, thank you and we look forward to your continued business!

Replied April 2021

User Profile

İlkan

Verified reviewer

Automotive, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2019

Not user friendly

I like the program apart from being able to upload only files one by one instead copying everything at once.

PROS

Able to use it via phone app is the best feature I like. Normally we are bound to company laptop for everything and to company network for some of the applications. However with this phone app, it removes limits.

CONS

Radical view system instead of windows folder system. Views has to be created by each user. Thus there is no global folder creation. some users is able to what they are looking for if they can manage view feature better. and not all people are proficient about programs, pc and IT stuff.

Vendor Response

Being able to access M-Files by mobile is a wonderful feature and we are happy that you find it valuable. Regarding your additional feedback, I would like an opportunity to discuss your experience a bit more with you. Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience. Thank you for your very valuable review.

Replied September 2019

User Profile

Ravi

Verified reviewer

Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed June 2019

A perfect Content Management System

For the company right now, M-Files works and Management can access documents easily.

PROS

M-Files works well on a single machine or on a server. I have deployed it on to an i5 server and we are 5 users that use the software to search for Travel Coupons. Search feature works well and the best thing is that it integrates with Windows and Windows products like One Drive and Outlook. It makes it easier for us to share documents. The workflow feature is quiet robust and if thought out well can replace manual approval processes.

CONS

M-Files does not come fully packed with all features at a price point. We have to pay for Electronic Signature and If I want Digital Signature I have to pay 3rd party for the signature account and then M-Files for the integration. This is a bit tricky if you have budgeted an EDMS and all of a sudden all these pay walls appear. M-Files comes with Firebird DB embedded as default. It is quiet good but large organizations will have to move to MS SQL sooner than later as the retrieving becomes slower as there are more Objects in a Vault.

Vendor Response

Hello Ravi, we are happy to hear that you find value in the M-Files workflow feature. I would also like an opportunity to discuss the other areas of your review where M-Files is not performing as you wished. If you are open to a conversation, please contact me. Thank you.

Replied September 2019

User Profile

Alice

Verified reviewer

Staffing and Recruiting, 201-500 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2019

Authentic and reliable solution for all my files

In short I would say it’s a great intuitive in terms of document management and also in keeping them in a preferred way as well.

PROS

It has the ability to drag and drop out various important files of my concern from one place to another quite frequently. Moreover, it also enables me to edit and format my documents according to my wish and desire and also helps me in managing dozens of documents with full ease.

CONS

Every feature is so much interesting in it that I couldn’t imagine my life without it now. Talking about the drawbacks of this product I can’t think of anything that could be a drawback of this certain product because it has everything in it that I require basically.

Vendor Response

Hello Alice, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are very happy to hear that you find value in M-Files. We sincerely appreciate you and your business! Have a great day!

Replied January 2020

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2020

Best Document Management System Hand Down

We are moving toward a one document storage system. We are in progress of migrating all documents to M-Files. When done, we will easily be able to find any document we need to find in a very timely manner.

PROS

M-Files search capability is by far the best feature. It not only searches metadata, but will search the text of the document.

CONS

To connect to an external database, you must provide a connection string. This is normal. The password however is clear text. It is not hidden. It is not encrypted. This was a serious issue for our security team.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with the M-Files system!

Replied February 2020

Hayati

Verified reviewer

Automotive, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2019

One of the best communication software for bussiness

PROS

Integration with outlook is fantastic. I can see who is online or not. It’s beneficial for resolving business issues and breaking the ice within international project teams.

CONS

It’s slow if it automatically launches during the start up.

User Profile

Logan

Verified reviewer

Internet, 501-1,000 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

One of the powerful storage solutions

it has a large range of integration power that perfectly fits with Microsoft as well so I can easily make my documents on word, excel and PowerPoint and then conveniently saved in this vault for future usage. It is really an amazing tool.

PROS

its useful features I can easily locate each one of my folder and even the content present in a certain file. It keeps simple and easy to understand interface. It provides totally remarkable services.

CONS

It keeps my documents save and secure and also it provides advanced privacy settings. Its support is also skilled and responsive.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your very valuable feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to complete this review. If you would like to discuss your experience a bit more, please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Replied September 2019

Tim

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2019

Easy File Management

Great time to value (up and running in hours). Administration is intuitive and requires minimal expertise. The user experience is well integrated with Windows (can access using a drive map). Suitable for on-premier or cloud deployments, including AWS Workspaces of VMWare OneSpace.

PROS

Seem less integration with Windows and Active Directory. Users can simply drag and drop files into the M-Files client or via a browser (requires plug-in). User can tag favorite files and search based on multiple file attributes or tags. Server setup (Window 2012 or higher) is straightforward with the option of M-Files database or Microsoft SQL server. For smaller organizations, I recommend using the built-in database option. M-Files installation and administration requires much less planning compared to SharePoint.

CONS

Not a full featured when compared to SharePoint. Does not offer collaborative features such as Web or Office365 integration.

Reasons for switching to M-Files

Easy of setup, administration and use.

Vendor Response

Hello Tim, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are very happy to hear that you are pleased with the ease of use M-Files provides. We appreciate you and your business. Have a great day!

Replied January 2020

Resa

Information Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

Keeping my files organized gives me time to access them

Overall, my experience with M-Files software has been good. It is a great way to organize and access files, and the user interface is intuitive and easy to use. The powerful features allow for customization and the ability to access files quickly and easily. However, the cost can be a bit prohibitive for some, and the setup process can be a bit complicated.

PROS

I like that M-Files software is easy to use and is an efficient way to organize and access files. It has a great user interface and makes it easy to search and find the files you need. Additionally, it has a powerful set of features that allow you to customize the way you store and access files.

CONS

I dislike that the software can be a bit expensive for smaller teams or businesses. Additionally, the setup process can be a bit long and complicated for those who are unfamiliar with the software.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed May 2020

Data Management System with Really Bad User Interface

Data management system we use in the company. This is to prevent storing important infos at outlook inbox. Idea is great but mfiles is not correct tool. This might be a great tool for DRIM but not for daily use.

PROS

Versioning functions allows you to go back if you made a mistake. Also, its integration with MS office is useful.

CONS

Overall user interface is very bad. Not encourage you to use it. Also, link sharing etc is very hard. People are always frustrated with new tools and it is not easy to encourage them to use. Thus, user interface and easiness of use is key. Mfiles does not provide that.

Reasons for switching to M-Files

More control on data privacy and avoid data going outside of company.

Vendor Response

Hello and thank you for completing a review of M-Files. From your review responses, you have indicated that you are frustrated around some of our features. We would love an opportunity to speak with you and to offer some assistance around some of the items you have listed. My contact information is provided below, please feel free to contact me anytime. Thank you!

Replied May 2020

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed November 2019

Not a User-Friendly

In my company, due to confidentiality of our data, we use this software as a file/document/data sharing platform. It's not a user friendly program, there is no drag and drop option (currently) and it almost impossible to work with this software in a way that we work with windows., I mean the folder structure seems similar but it's not. Also, sometimes it gives some warnings/notifications but at the end of the process! For example, some file types are not allowed to upload in the database. Thus, if you try to upload one of those type of file, you will get an error but after a long uploading process, not at the beginning of the uploading process! In total, I do not like to use this software.

PROS

The only feature that I like about this software is that it's easy to access the database even from mobile phones.

CONS

The user interface is not user friendly and it's extremely slow even for basic operations.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Your feedback is very important to us and I would like to further discuss your experience. Can you please contact me at my contact information that has been provided below? Thank you and I look forward to speaking with you.

Replied January 2020

Karl

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2017

Full control of information

With M-Files we have full control of all sorts of information. Mails, invoices, drawings, memos, contracts and all other types of documents are available and easy to find for all relevant staff in the field as well as in the office. Tasks - once only as well as repeating tasks are documented and reminders sent to those in charge. Information is linked to customers, projects, people, equipment, tasks etc and you can sort and find it based on any of those metadata tags or even on full text search. A few seconds and you have found exactly what you need. No more paper, no more folders, never again.

PROS

Very user friendly, available on any platform, all your information is accessible anywhere anytime. Using workflows you can approve invoices etc. even when you are out of office.

Helga

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2017

Great flexibility to streamline our processes and information management

We've recently implemented M-Files. It's very flexible and has made huge improvement to the way we manage our information and processes. It's easy to use but as with every new system it takes some a bit longer to get used to. The user guides are pretty minimal, especially from an administration perspective and there is not a dedicated support team that can help with queries. You are relying on the community of users (who are general very responsive and generous but may not necessarily respond to every query). It is good value for money but for a small charity like ours it's a huge investment but I am glad that we made it.

PROS

Flexibility, the ability to customise it exactly to your organisation's need.

CONS

Support and documentation

Vendor Response

Thank you for your input about Customer Support and documentation. We are focused on improving the administration portions of our User Guide. As always, if you run into specific errors or unusual behavior, Customer Support can assist you in your efforts. However, more complex scripts and general assistance or debugging are best handled by Consulting as they can assess your needs and requirements.

Replied April 2017

Rob

Paper & Forest Products, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2017

Crisp, clean, custom product design and easy to deploy into historical low tech savy organisation

Improved visibility of process, central repository for document management and a true understanding of process challenges which were previously hidden by paper workloads.

PROS

Can be customized to suit any business requirements. Great use of the workflow functionality, historical tracking and document management. M-Files was easy to deploy into organization due to simple UI with a great look and feel.

CONS

The fact that it now makes me want to convert everything I do onto the M-files platform and the amount of additional projects which have stemmed out of the roll out of a single requirement. Opened a whole new look at our business document process management. Wish we had found this sooner.

Zakir

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE