All Shelf Reviews

1-25 of 101 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Jordanne

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Excellent resource for maintaining quality control and communication across our organization

My overall experience with SHELF has been incredibly positive. First and foremost the customer service and personal attention has been wonderful. I never go more than a few hours without answers to my questions and they are always ready to listen and work on any issues I am having no matter how minor. I really feel like they take their clients wants and needs into account as they develop updates and the response that I have gotten from my own organization has been overwhelmingly positive.

PROS

This software is incredibly user friendly and I have really appreciated the ability to create separate libraries for all of the different stakeholders in my organization. It makes the navigation of the resource super intuitive for my staff and allows everyone to put their hands on what they need exactly when they need it. The ability to store and share a multitude of different file types as resources has also been invaluable.

CONS

There is not much I don't like about the software but one update that I am eagerly anticipating is the ability to upload and have a master copy of a resource in my organization library and have it replicated in other libraries. This will cut down on the amount of uploads and also allow us to have stronger version control on resources that we use across the organization and across our different regions.

Brandon

Entertainment, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Great Knowledge Management Tool

Overall our experience with Shelf has been positive. They have provided us with a solution to our Knowledge needs. We now have a single source of truth that our advisors can look to when helping customers. Their system is easy to use for both advisors and administrators. We have seen improvements in a number of metrics since the implementation of this tool which I believe Shelf has played a large role in.

PROS

Shelf is a great tool when it comes to our overall knowledge management needs. Since our implementation of Shelf we have seen an increase in advisor engagement and sentiment towards our knowledge management efforts. Shelf has allowed our team to have a single location where our advisors are able to access all the information necessary to help customers when they contact us. My favorite part of Shelf is the announcements option. This has been a game changer for our team and makes it so we can directly communicate with our advisors. We no longer have to deliver information to Team leads and hope this information is delivered correctly to advisors. With announcements we can send communications, attach Gem, set due dates, and require confirmation. I've also been very pleased with Shelf's customer service. They are quick to respond to us when we have issues. Furthermore they have always been receptive to our needs and requests for improvements in the system.

CONS

Our advisors do not like how Shelf was integrated with Zendesk. The window size was an issue for them. They prefer using the website instead. I also wish that Shelf could integrate better with LMS's. We would love to have a one stop shop solution for our Knowledge and Training needs so our advisors didn't have to move between two different sites.

Don

Research, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Cloud Based Knowledge Management System

We wanted a product that would help us manage our knowledge better. The product is good , but the overall speed / refresh rate is poor in-spite of us using more than 50 mbps.

PROS

The search features , quick customer care responses and online tutorials.

CONS

The speed and the sense that they were learning the functionalities of the product on the job.

Annie

Cosmetics, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Shelf Review

It has been fantastic.

PROS

- Partnership with the Shelf team, especially Rick Alimov, to implement the tool into our environment was super helpful, easy to work with, very educational, quick to respond, and always on top of things.- Development, implementation, and integration were quick and easy.- Documentation provided was clear and concise.- Easy to use and navigate and administer. - Tool functionality abilities (Answer Assist, chatbot integration, language containment within one gem, search functionality within documents, etc.).

CONS

- Lacks robust and in-depth reporting in GUI without the requirement of pulling APIs. Beta for additional reporting is available but when available to GA it will be a paid product. Believe all reporting capabilities should be a part of the tool and not a paid add-on.

Reasons for switching to Shelf

Did not provide the necessary tools needed.

User Profile

Jackson

Verified reviewer

Fund-Raising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

Our 'walled garden' called Shelf

We were searching for a archiving solution that would package our company's offline and online resources (designs, documents, ideas, etc.) into a value add, easy to find, easy to use tool for our customers. Shelf provided the exact solution. Similar to how Google provides valuable search options, Shelf give us (the originator) a way to package resources and then offer in a secure walled off 'garden' , so our customers can 'harvest' those resources.

PROS

Having a "Google like" (search by tags) generated system of classifying and organizing online/offline content onto one cloud platform is transformational. By allowing the end user (in our case, customers) to search via tags, then find>view>download any and all content relating to our relationship with them, the overall 'findability' and value of our resources increases expotentially. The value increases because it's not just sitting in some obscure Dropbox, it's growing and being harvested in "our walled garden" by our customers. For genre specific content, we can upload new content, tag with appropriate genre related tags and automatically 'push out' the material. Soon as the tags are applied, then all members of that genre have access to the material AND are automatically notified. Versus the old method of copy>paste individual files into each customer's Dropbox folder. The thumbnail display, which is truly amazing, provides a visual reference to the items searched for and shortens the final mile of the search to the speed of light. Tagging is an art and Shelf customer onboarding walks you through the learning curve (changing from the file folder based system).

CONS

Still working on versioning, but the workaround works for us.

craig

Consumer Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Shelf

I wasnt involved in the decision making or any of the fiances, but from an admin point of view and content Creation i had nothing but a good experience

PROS

Support from Rik and Weronika was always very efficient, timely and helpful. No question ever went unanswered. Decision trees, collapsibles and anlaytics

CONS

Occasionally went blank and needed tickets raising. Due to the way we send comms to agents, would be good to pull up old announcements and just edit those rather than sending a seperate comms about an update

User Profile

Abdelati

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Best for Auto Learning, is a truly amazing product..!

By using this program for long periods. Contribute to the cognitive and educational development

PROS

This smart program for what is available on it makes everything easy when using it. Really very nice product.

CONS

Negativity is not the opposite, it is really positive..!

Marc

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2017

Shelf helps our marketing team be more collaborative and efficient

PROS

- Shelf is great for project research and managing advertising versions and sales collateral for our marketing team - Easy to organize various iterations and revisions with custom and company tags, badges, groups, organization library, folders, etc - A powerful search tool that keeps what the team needs within reach. We can search inside documents & images and filter by version, date, users, content type and even different locations - Shelf has been an Evernote replacement for our team. It's a much easier and intuitive way for marketing and product teams to collaborate on content research.

CONS

Cons; would like to see an integration for Slack. Our team uses Slack and it would be helpful to be able to pull in our attachments and links into Shelf so we have a more comprehensive experience.

Zac

Oil & Energy, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Shelf Knowledge Management

Overall it has been a very smooth process, the staff are friendly and approachable, the system works well and is consistently being improved.

PROS

Shelf is easy to use both for agents and admins. Working in a regulated industry where processes can change frequently and significantly it's of vital importance that our front-line agents are kept up to date with current processes. Using other knowledge management solutions we found that usage was not as high as we would have liked, that we were unable to track who was and wasn't looking at articles and when articles were no longer in date. Shelf resolves these issues in straightforward and convenient ways.

CONS

It can be difficult to get some front end elements to appear as desired and additional options such as carousels or accordions would be useful.

Tony

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2017

Unique

PROS

Shelf lets me put everything in one place and synchronize with other apps like Dropbox. It has a slick interface and was easy to learn. It's nice that I have both private areas and areas that I can share with an organization. I like how the tags work.

CONS

I haven't really found any big downsides with Shelf. My main online storage areas are Dropbox and Google Drive and those are covered. It does take a little playing with Shelf to understand how to maximize its benefits, but there is good customer support available. My questions were answered quickly.

William

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

Overview of Experience with Shelf

The benefits are agents/supervisors being able to see processes and guidelines in a timely manner to provide accurate information. In addition, we also provide documents to assist with our QA program (i.e steps to a collections call, welcome call, etc). Provides steps to have a better flow and also show agents how to be more "customer centric" to provide better customer service. Assists our learning and development to create training documents, save "good/bad" calls based on call types/scenarios to reference for future training classes or agents that have opportunities to grow.

PROS

The ease of loading/updating a document and making it accessible to our agents. Enables agents to reference policies and processes quickly to provide optimal customer service and resolution to customer concerns. Searching for a document is easy. Providing invites to new agents/users is very simple to do. Creating folders to organize information is simple.

CONS

The issue i have is Shelf may have issues recognizing certain formats such as some PDFs, Excel. Basically, it may not recognize a document that can be updated (i.e. an excel sheet). Doesn't seem to like docs that aren't static.

Paul

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2016

This is not a drill: A user case that lead to early adoption

Using Shelf in support of my consultancy/advisory tasks related to the development of an incubator hub in Belgrade, Serbia. Tasks require a lot of information coming in and out and disseminated to a wide variety of management, staff and stakeholders. We have been extremely glad to get our hands on the program. Not only does it support our organizational ethos of trying out new information technologies whenever we can and as they become available, its also been ideally suited and fit for our purpose. Its really smoothed and integrated our workflows and was just what we were looking for.

PROS

Shelf is really easy to set up and get going very quickly and is incredibly intuitive to use. Its a great tool not only for managing knowledge inputs in a wide variety of formats but also for group and task based working. The web clipper is great for capturing information on the go and actually a lot of fun to use. The file permissions system is super efficient for setting up and breaking down work/interest groups. It ensures everyone gets what they need to know and gets a chance to appropriately share and contribute. Its strongly supportive of the informational needs of the multi layered management structure of the organization as well as for disseminating information and updates to its general membership and stakeholders.

CONS

Although its already integrated with the three most important cloud storage sites and we hear more are on the way, we've already become firm Shelf fans and will continue to use so we'd like to see some fast-tracking so more become available sooner than later. We also hear email integration is on the way. Right now and until it comes, it would be useful for user email lists to be generated internally.

Maiju

Financial Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2023

Shelf review

Our KM system was jurassic before Shelf and it has improved the quality of our work in all the departments that are using it. We don't have knowledge silos anymore and new agents don't feel so overwhelmed because our instructions are so accessible. Now our instructions are actually up to date thanks to the feedback option: it used to take forever to update them, but now that the agents are able to give instant feedback, our instruction quality is way up.

PROS

The best thing about Shelf is the overall easiness to do things. It really doesn't give you any gray hairs during implementation, gem creation or training. Shelf's staff is accessible if you need support and Shelf seems to be open to suggestions and feedback.

CONS

I'd say that the feature I'd like to see developed the most is the search. It does work already but it would be great if it was a bit more flexible with misspelling and such.

Reason for choosing Shelf

Everything I've stated already: the effectiveness, easiness and accessibility.

Reasons for switching to Shelf

We needed a platform from the 21st century. Shelf was the best options to cater to our needs.

Abbie

Banking, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2023

Shelf Review from a Credit Union's perspective

PROS

Libraries, folders, permissions, taxonomy all work really well and allow us to create a strong one source of truth for our staff. We also love the addition of Wiki Templates this year that allow us to create new content quickly and efficiently

CONS

The review process is something that we struggle with managing. Shelf has a review process inside their analytics however, one small change on a piece of content removes it from the outdated content report. Since this is the case we have exported a list of all content and created a review policy that is manually assigned by quarter. Since you have to add all reviews into a workflow one at a time with 150-200 pieces of content to review per quarter this can be a very time consuming process.

Janeth

Consumer Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2023

Shelf improves the quality of answers to customer queries

PROS

Shelf Answer Assist has been our ongoing project which aims to improve agent experience in handling customer interactions. The support team has been very collaborative and ensures we are on track with all our learning initiatives.

CONS

User management can be improved. At the moment, we would have to follow several steps to create and group an agent. For example, individually copy-paste a username. It would be best to have a bulk upload feature via uploading CSV with all the required fields.

Dani

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

Perfect solution for all forms of media - audio, video, pictures

PROS

Content is easy to find and searchable for all users based on tagging system, which is easy to use; content can be shared across all of our teams; reduces duplication; affordable; syncs with Google drive and drop box; very easy to drag and drop files and folders

CONS

There is no built in CRM tool, and this would be really useful t have accessible. Would also be great if this would integrate with Outlook. Takes some time to put the content you want on the platform but well worth it once it is set up and ready to use.

Wendy

Machinery, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Shelf 7 Month Check In

I really enjoy working with Shelf. It's easy to navigate and search. We've had excellent feedback when opening it up within our organization and I'm excited to see how we can grow with Shelf.

PROS

I love the collaboration aspect of Shelf and the ratings. This is how we're using Shelf to keep our content current and it's extremely helpful to view the comments/ratings to see how or if the content is being used. I'm also very happy that Shelf is adding a feature where multiple items can be in different folders as much of our content can be cross-referenced.

CONS

I would love to have more control over the tags list as that needs to be constantly curated and I hate bugging the client rep to do it.

Reason for choosing Shelf

I wasn't the decision maker in this process.

Chad

Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Definite Upgrade - Knowledge Management for Non-Profit and Call Center

Our agents are able to find the answers they need much easier, which results in less stress on them and the knowledge base administrator. We can update and edit articles so much faster now, and place images directly inside the articles (which is a huge bonus!). In short, Shelf is a definite upgrade and I am very pleased with it. Also, the Shelf team is great. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is awesome!

PROS

I love how easy it is to create and edit articles. The platform looks great, and it was a seamless transition from our previous knowledge base system. Our agents like this one much more, and we all find the search results to be much more efficient.

CONS

All the features that I would recommend are currently in development. These missing features did/do not disrupt anything on the user side. On the administrator side we came up with a solution that works fine for the connections not appearing in the SSP.

Reasons for switching to Shelf

Cost and for an all-in-one CRM platform