User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.62

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Portalguard is not difficult to install; we had excellent support and informal training from the top-notch support team at Pistolstar, so our rollout was smooth and very successful."
  • icon"The configuration tools are easy to use and very intuitive."
  • icon"This product works reliably with a responsive and intuitive interface for users."
  • icon"I guess , I really can't think of anything negative."
  • icon"I run into problems sometimes after logging into Portal Guard i will receive a 404 error and have to hit the back button and start over again."
  • icon"After we implemented the software , we found out that there were some features that we could use and they were missing. We worked with PG's development and they added it those features."

All PortalGuard Reviews

1-25 of 34 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

David

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2020

Excellent product with excellent support

With many companies you purchase a product and make your payments without much further interaction. Our experience with this company has been very different from that. After several meetings with the implementation engineer, we developed a rapport that made us feel like our needs were understood and they were being met. Even better, we were invited to meet with their executive team to give them our feedback (which almost never happens with most vendors). Not only did they listen to our story, they offered additional information to help us better use their product. We could not be more pleased.

Pros

This product works reliably with a responsive and intuitive interface for users. It is extremely customizable and integrates with our Active Directory for authentication so that single sign-on is available for all of our integrated services. For non-SSO links, they are grouped seperately on the landing page with their links so users have one page with all of the important links they need. It provides SSO as well as password reset for users and the First-Time User experience can be customized to meet your needs. And the cost was very affordable compared to other products.

Cons

I guess you could hope for a solution that you can implement without any assistance, but the integrations with so many different services was actually a fairly complex task that took several days to complete. The implementation engineer who helped us was extremely knowledgeable and professional and he made this arduous task a breeze.

Reasons for switching to PortalGuard

After several years of using this solution, our small community college simply couldn't afford the increasing cost of this product. We needed a streamlined solution, lower costs, better support, and easier management.

Bert

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2017

Software is customized to our environment with personalized support, at a reasonable cost.

We benefit from single sign-on to a variety of systems as well as self-service password reset, a functional help desk tool and multi-factor authentication, all in a customizable package that can be hosted locally and in the cloud. It is ultra flexible in meeting our needs.

Pros

The support is absolutely outstanding. The software works as designed, and is rock solid. It has one job to do, and it does it very well. It does not break - but if it does happen to have an issue, I know I will have support for a very critical element of my infrastructure. The configuration of the product to link it with other systems was challenging and very technical. However, this was where PortalGuard excelled. It was a simple matter to configure PortalGuard in each case. The difficulty was with working through the configuration of the variety of applications we were connecting to it. In every case, the PistolStar / PortalGuard implementation team expertly guided us in the process through our wide variety of systems configurations. In every case, PortalGuard was able to link with our applications. It was obvious that they know how all of these puzzle pieces fit together. We also used the PistolStar professional services for a few customizations to the admin interface. The process was well managed and the results were exactly what we had hoped for, and were produced in a timely manner. The recent integration of extended portal features like announcements to PortalGuard is a welcome addition. I hope to see more of this kind of work in future versions. The icing on the cake... all of it was reasonably priced and didn't break my budget.

Cons

The ability to make PortalGuard do whatever you want is both a blessing and a curse. The user interface could use some work - but you can make those changes yourself - and many institutions have easily done so. In my opinion, I'd like to see this be easier to navigate and more "packaged". For example - the ability to apply simple skins / customizations to the layout via GUI would be a welcome addition. The PG sales team could do a bit better job of marketing the product and services that stand behind it. They've since improved their site, but you should know that you are not just buying a product (PortalGuard), you are partnering with a company that can deliver single sign-on authentication *expertise* for your organization.

Jae

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2021

Could Be A Lot Better

We have run into issues with the product needing updates and the updates have caused our system to be unavailable.

Pros

That once the product is installed and configured properly it works.

Cons

The setup and configuration have been a nightmare at times and the customer support for the company has been less than stellar.

Reasons for choosing PortalGuard

Other Schools in our Area were using the same product and we thought that would help us.

Fred

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

How Much I Like PortalGurd!!?

We have close to a 100 applications that are integrated with PG. These are internal and external applications. We can configure SSO with almost any application with in few minutes. The software availability is very high. I don't remember that PG ever stopped working unless hardware issue. PG has been great partner for many years.

Pros

One of the greatest impact for our institution was the self service features of PG. Reset password and unlocking accounts features of self service reduced the number of calls to our helpdesk. It is very easy to use and implement. Integration with our system was seamless and easy.

Cons

When have been using PG for many years. After we implemented the software , we found out that there were some features that we could use and they were missing. We worked with PG's development and they added it those features. I guess , I really can't think of anything negative.

Reasons for choosing PortalGuard

As an institution we looked at many different products. None of them came close to the ease of use, flexibility of software and support. Compare to all other product it was very cost affective. Company's willingness to work with us to meet our needs was and is a huge plus in purchasing and continuing our relationship with PG.

Jason

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

PortalGuard is a great Product!

We have been using this for over 5 years and is a very handy self-service tool for Users to unlock their accounts and reset their passwords without any interaction with our Helpdesk. Having the Client available at they Windows login screen is also cool.

Pros

Easy to use and implement! We have been using this for over 5 years and is a very handy self-service tool for Users to unlock their accounts and reset their passwords without any interaction with our Helpdesk. Having the Client available at they Windows login screen is also cool.

Cons

None. We have been using this for over 5 years and is a very handy self-service tool for Users to unlock their accounts and reset their passwords without any interaction with our Helpdesk. Having the Client available at they Windows login screen is also cool.

Reasons for choosing PortalGuard

Price and flexibility of features.

Mary

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2020

Portalguard Review

Because of Portalguard we have been able to provide our users with SSO to our portal; establish effective password and security policies; and synchronize user passwords across multiple applications.

Pros

Portalguard is not difficult to install; we had excellent support and informal training from the top-notch support team at Pistolstar, so our rollout was smooth and very successful. The configuration tools are easy to use and very intuitive. Modifying settings is quite simple. Configuring new applications can be a bit complicated, but again, the support staff are extraordinary and very responsive.

Cons

MFA features are limited. Support documentation could be clearer and easier to follow.

Reasons for choosing PortalGuard

The primary reasons were the features that were available, the ease of use and the support.

Curtis

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

PortalGuard Security is a No-Brainer

We have different countries who log into embassies around the world so they can upload information and we need security. We are very happy with our worldwide portal arrangement using Portal Guard.

Pros

Our portal is guarded with an easy to use, intuitive and efficient system which allows users from all over the world to quickly use our system to gain access to our portal.

Cons

The software has no features or lack of thereof.

Reasons for choosing PortalGuard

N/a

Kevin

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2019

Great Product , great company

Has an Engineering manager it’s the kind of software you could deploy in your solution or infrastructure and forget it exists, for all the right reasons: doesn't require much maintenance, never goes down and no bugs in all the features we use... it just works! We even embedded it in our software for our cloud offering. Deploy and forget! Support team is great, and the company does listen to your feedback and change requests. Don’t know which other password manager software you are currently looking at but forget about it and pick this one!

Pros

The ease of use, the flexibility and the stability of the product.

Cons

Lacking in the automatic deployment / update department.

Reasons for switching to PortalGuard

We needed a company that could support their product properly and to witch we can request change / amelioration to their product.

Phillip

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2018

PortalGuard is a very flexible authentication tool that we can use to fit almost any use case

Pros

Very flexible. We have had several use cases arise where we want to provide a better authentication method and we've been able to create a method of doing so using PortalGuard. It also has the numerous features besides SSO including password self service and 2 Factor Authentication.

Cons

Not a huge concern, but still a smaller unknown company. When we work with other vendors to implement SAML most of them have never heard of PortalGuard and they don't have easy built in configurations to use with PortalGuard. As long as you understand the SAML methods you can usually work on a custom config to accomplish the goal

Mihajlo

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

PG review

sso and idp integration, support and reporting

Pros

product is very easy to use and the support is beyond awesome. It is customizable in so many ways it's great.

Cons

nothing really. the software does what we need it to do

Bill

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2021

Logins easier with Portal Guard

Portal Guard has been a great tool and has made it much easier to help other users working from home to manage their passwords.

Pros

I like that once logged into Portal Guard I do not have to login internal sites multiple times during the day. Password changes have been made easier, which has really helped while working from home during the pandemic. It is nice that you can look up information like when your password is going to expire.

Cons

I run into problems sometimes after logging into Portal Guard i will receive a 404 error and have to hit the back button and start over again.

Jonathan

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2021

Support stand out

Pros

Their support structure is always helpful, they are willing to work with you and look to educate that you will be more self sufficient. American support is always appreciated.

Cons

If you aren't familiar with SAML there will be a learning curve on setting up identity providers but that is why good support is vital. Would prefer more control to organize tiles also.

Anderson

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

Excellent partner

Have been using this solution for a year and now wish we would have made the change sooner.

Pros

Ease of deployment while transitioning from a different provider for SSO. Support is US based and extremely easy to contact.

Cons

Nothing negative comes to mind with the solution we picked. Deployed with ease and up and running on time.

Bernie

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2018

Ease to Manage

Pros

The technical support team are fantastic. They help you step-by-step when setting it up and after implementation. The best features is that it gives end-users multiple ways to self-service. I would recommend this product.

Cons

Most institutions likely prefer to embed the login page of Portal Guard within their website. There is a great need to copy code to easily embed to any web page. More flexibilty or options is vital.

Rik

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2018

Portalguard

We use this product for self service password reset and local 2FA authentication for servers and static systems. We can't use it for laptops as some systems connect to the internet after login and those cannot authenticate without an active connection.

Pros

This was a good product for the money. It appeared at the right time for us to get a hold on some self service and 2fa issues

Cons

They are still missing the ability to do 2FA on a system that is not connected to the internet.

Yared

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE