User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

5.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(16)

16

4 stars

(5)

5

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "It was easy to setup, Upgrades add a lot more functionality and new features Integration was seamless "

  • "This was a good product for the money. It appeared at the right time for us to get a hold on some self service and 2fa issues"

  • "The ease of use, the flexibility and the stability of the product."

  • Cons

  • "I would not consider this a con, but it would have been great if PortalGuard could be setup in non-windows servers. "

  • "They are still missing the ability to do 2FA on a system that is not connected to the internet."

  • "Most institutions likely prefer to embed the login page of Portal Guard within their website. There is a great need to copy code to easily embed to any web page. More flexibilty or options is vital."

Browse PortalGuard Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -29 of 21 results

July 2017

Bert from Unity College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Software is customized to our environment with personalized support, at a reasonable cost.

We benefit from single sign-on to a variety of systems as well as self-service password reset, a functional help desk tool and multi-factor authentication, all in a customizable package that can be hosted locally and in the cloud. It is ultra flexible in meeting our needs.

Pros

The support is absolutely outstanding. The software works as designed, and is rock solid. It has one job to do, and it does it very well. It does not break - but if it does happen to have an issue, I know I will have support for a very critical element of my infrastructure. The configuration of the product to link it with other systems was challenging and very technical. However, this was where PortalGuard excelled. It was a simple matter to configure PortalGuard in each case. The difficulty was with working through the configuration of the variety of applications we were connecting to it. In every case, the PistolStar / PortalGuard implementation team expertly guided us in the process through our wide variety of systems configurations. In every case, PortalGuard was able to link with our applications. It was obvious that they know how all of these puzzle pieces fit together. We also used the PistolStar professional services for a few customizations to the admin interface. The process was well managed and the results were exactly what we had hoped for, and were produced in a timely manner. The recent integration of extended portal features like announcements to PortalGuard is a welcome addition. I hope to see more of this kind of work in future versions. The icing on the cake... all of it was reasonably priced and didn't break my budget.

Cons

The ability to make PortalGuard do whatever you want is both a blessing and a curse. The user interface could use some work - but you can make those changes yourself - and many institutions have easily done so. In my opinion, I'd like to see this be easier to navigate and more "packaged". For example - the ability to apply simple skins / customizations to the layout via GUI would be a welcome addition. The PG sales team could do a bit better job of marketing the product and services that stand behind it. They've since improved their site, but you should know that you are not just buying a product (PortalGuard), you are partnering with a company that can deliver single sign-on authentication *expertise* for your organization.

November 2019

Kevin from SOLABS

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Great Product , great company

Has an Engineering manager it’s the kind of software you could deploy in your solution or infrastructure and forget it exists, for all the right reasons: doesn't require much maintenance, never goes down and no bugs in all the features we use... it just works! We even embedded it in our software for our cloud offering. Deploy and forget! Support team is great, and the company does listen to your feedback and change requests. Don’t know which other password manager software you are currently looking at but forget about it and pick this one!

Pros

The ease of use, the flexibility and the stability of the product.

Cons

Lacking in the automatic deployment / update department.

November 2014

Ed from Texas Teachers

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

November 2014

Great product, great support

We purchased PortalGuard as a solution for our ever-increasing password reset issues. As our company continued to grow and added more distributed employees, we were spending more and more time managing passwords, resetting them, and unlocking accounts. PortalGuard solved all of those problems for us in one easy to use platform. We were very pleased with the initial setup. Not only did the PG team help us plan out our use cases and installation, they helped us configure the server, test it, roll out the service, and they helped us with best practices for the future. The software itself has been great. Very easy to use, even for our least tech-savvy employees. When we set it up with our Windows Login screen, it created the familiar "Forgot your password?" link that is common to many websites, so it was very intuitive to use right out of the box. Integrating PG with OWA2010 was a little more challenging as it involved AD Federation Services, but once we got the federation server up and running, the rest was a piece of cake. I highly recommend this product for businesses and organizations that are looking to save time and increase productivity by allowing users to manage their own passwords and accounts.

January 2018

Phillip from Hershey Entertainment and Resorts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

PortalGuard is a very flexible authentication tool that we can use to fit almost any use case

Pros

Very flexible. We have had several use cases arise where we want to provide a better authentication method and we've been able to create a method of doing so using PortalGuard. It also has the numerous features besides SSO including password self service and 2 Factor Authentication.

Cons

Not a huge concern, but still a smaller unknown company. When we work with other vendors to implement SAML most of them have never heard of PortalGuard and they don't have easy built in configurations to use with PortalGuard. As long as you understand the SAML methods you can usually work on a custom config to accomplish the goal

January 2018

Bernie from Cumberland County College

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Ease to Manage

Pros

The technical support team are fantastic. They help you step-by-step when setting it up and after implementation. The best features is that it gives end-users multiple ways to self-service. I would recommend this product.

Cons

Most institutions likely prefer to embed the login page of Portal Guard within their website. There is a great need to copy code to easily embed to any web page. More flexibilty or options is vital.

November 2018

Rik from Belhaven University

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Portalguard

We use this product for self service password reset and local 2FA authentication for servers and static systems. We can't use it for laptops as some systems connect to the internet after login and those cannot authenticate without an active connection.

Pros

This was a good product for the money. It appeared at the right time for us to get a hold on some self service and 2fa issues

Cons

They are still missing the ability to do 2FA on a system that is not connected to the internet.

January 2018

Yared from Calabrio

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

PortalGuard is a great identity management software.

Pros

It was easy to setup, Upgrades add a lot more functionality and new features Integration was seamless

Cons

I would not consider this a con, but it would have been great if PortalGuard could be setup in non-windows servers.

February 2017

Clifford from Southwestern Community College

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Southwestern Community College PortalGuard implementation.

Southwestern Community College District was looking for a self-service password reset program to integrate with Microsoft Active Directory. After doing some research, we chose PistolStar's PortalGuard product. The product is simple to configure and maintain. After the initial configuration was a success, we started looking for other applications that could use this technology. We had two immediate projects that came up. Our IDP connection to OpenCCCApply was difficult at best to support and maintain. The initial expenditure of time and effort to get IDP to OpenCCCApply operational before PortalGuard required 3 months of configuration and troubleshooting. Since IDP is the backend for PortalGuard, we opened discussions to see if it would be a good replacement. PortalGuard, with a couple of hours with tech support, had the IDP to OpenCCCApply connection configured and ready for production. It could not have been easier. The second project was the need to implement Single Sign-On throughout our campus community. This solution also went smoothly and with little effort. We have since integrated it with SharePoint, Blackboard, Canvas, OWA and WebAdvisor. We could not be more pleased with how this product and company have worked out for our needs.

December 2014

Drew from ACDHS

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

December 2014

Makes life easier!

PortalGuard has saved us both time and money. With several public facing web applications that are in use 24/7/365 forgotten passwords and password resets are a thing of the past for our service desk. PortalGuard's support is superior to most other organizations that I've had to deal with. I usually have an answer or someone able to remote into my system the same day to help with any problems. Users usually have no problems with the PortalGuard interface and are able to get registered in minutes.

November 2014

Bradley from American School of Kuwait

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

November 2014

Great Customer Service

The PortalGuard product was one of the only SSO solutions that we could find that we could install locally on campus and have complete control over. Additionally, the pricing model was much more palatable than some of the competing cloud-based products that charge per user. Getting the demo of PortalGuard set up took a bit of effort, as we have a rather complex network situation. The PistolStar customer support team was fantastic, however, and made themselves eminently available.

June 2020

David from New River Community and Technical College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Excellent product with excellent support

With many companies you purchase a product and make your payments without much further interaction. Our experience with this company has been very different from that. After several meetings with the implementation engineer, we developed a rapport that made us feel like our needs were understood and they were being met. Even better, we were invited to meet with their executive team to give them our feedback (which almost never happens with most vendors). Not only did they listen to our story, they offered additional information to help us better use their product. We could not be more pleased.

Pros

This product works reliably with a responsive and intuitive interface for users. It is extremely customizable and integrates with our Active Directory for authentication so that single sign-on is available for all of our integrated services. For non-SSO links, they are grouped seperately on the landing page with their links so users have one page with all of the important links they need. It provides SSO as well as password reset for users and the First-Time User experience can be customized to meet your needs. And the cost was very affordable compared to other products.

Cons

I guess you could hope for a solution that you can implement without any assistance, but the integrations with so many different services was actually a fairly complex task that took several days to complete. The implementation engineer who helped us was extremely knowledgeable and professional and he made this arduous task a breeze.

February 2015

Jackie from Woodmen of the World

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

February 2015

Review of PortalGuard

Product works well for unlocking passwords Easy to use Easy to implement overall Log files get really large, not sure how to deal with this for normal maintenance. Would like a better way to search logs if needed. When used with pistolstar and our LDAP plug in we are unable to reset passwords since it does not synch with our LDAP plug in. Gregg had some ideas on how to correct this. We are very satisfied with Portalguard.

December 2014

Gordon from CONEXIS

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

December 2014

PortalGuard - a best in class 2FA & self-service password system.

We now have three installations of PortalGuard to provide critical 2FA (Two Factor Authentication) working with a variety of remote access systems. It has been extremely easy to install and integrate with these different implementations. Further, should we have any questions, customer support has been outstanding - fast, responsive and very helpful. I highly recommend PortalGuard and the price is very reasonable.

December 2014

Becky from NNEACC

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

December 2014

PortalGuard is our 2-Factor Authentication

We use PistolStar's 2-FA solution for our population health software. PortalGuard offers flexibility to our end users by suppling multiple options for OTP retrieval. The best part is PistolStar's excellent customer service. The team is there whenever we need a quick response or out of the box ideas to fit new solutions we are developing. A BIG thanks to the PistolStar team!

November 2014

Robert from Sheetz, Inc.

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

November 2014

Complete Solution!

I have spent the past 8 months testing 2 Factor Authentication solutions. In some way they have all fallen short of my expectations. PortalGuard blew me away with it's ease of use for the end user and quick, easy setup for the administrator. Factor that in with their cost-effective licensing and you have an instant winner!

Response from PistolStar

Replied November 2014

Thank you for your support!

December 2014

Rik from Belhaven University

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

December 2014

PortalGuard at Belhaven

PortalGuard has been a great solution for us in managing password resets for students, faculty and staff. They can now maintain their own passwords, any hour of the day, without needing intervention from IT staff. This saves us many man hours each week and helps those students that forget their credentials in the middle of the night.

November 2014

William from Robeson Community College

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

November 2014

PortalGuard works

Using Portal Guard has eliminated about 75% of our submitted tickets, and helpdesk walk-ins concerning passwords resets. Some of the Prompted Instructions when changing or resetting your password could be clarified better. As step one you enter your old password first then entering your new password.

July 2015

akanni from Vi

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2015

This Product is awesome

I found this product to very helpful in reducing users' anxiety by unlocking, recovering and changing their passwords. It also comes with ease of installation. I find the support team to be fantastic, ready to answer questions any time and working with me to customize the application.

November 2014

Ron from Warner Laundromat

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

November 2014

Very Pleased with PortalGuard

PortalGuard is easy to install, configure, and brand. We are very pleased with PortalGuard and with their excellent customer support!

Response from PistolStar

Replied November 2014

Thank you for your review and for your support!

December 2014

Terry from Dalton State College

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

December 2014

A Good Solution to a Big Problem

PortalGuard is easy to implement and cost effective. It provides an easy to use mechanism for self-service password resets.

November 2014

Andy from CNE Schools

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

November 2014

Makes life easier

Studenta no longer have to juggle 3 different usernames and passwords. Now they use one password for everything. Thia makes life easier for everybody.