Office Chat Software Reviews

FrontRunners 2022

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.52

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"It was a great integration product for our office."
  • icon"This is a great tool we use to communicate with everyone in our office. I like how it’s specifically used for that feature."
  • icon"We also have regulations in our industry to keep certain conversations confidential from other staff. Office chat was the perfect fit for us."
  • icon"The only thing I dislike - and it is a STRONG dislike - is that when it comes on it automatically takes precedence."
  • icon"While it's a relatively small complaint in the grand scheme of things, this lack of visual awareness may confuse new users."

Browse all Office Chat Reviews

  • Have you used Office Chat and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 225 reviews

User Profile

Annette

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2018

Very easy and convenient to use. I use it 90% of the time

Pros

I work in Escrow and a lot of my co-workers are in another location and its easier to ask a quick question without having to send an email only to have it get lost in the sea of the other emails that we receive on an hourly basis. Using this sends a ping right away to the recipient and allow for my questions to get answer much quicker than sending an email

Cons

The only thing I don't like about it that the chat screen still shows old chats from employees who do not work at the company any longer and for some reason I can not find a way to remove them. All of our old chats are on my dashboard and I would like to remove them. If there is a way to remove them, I have not found it yet.

Response from MangoApps

Annette, thank you for your review! We appreciate having your business. I will be sure to pass along your feedback!

Replied December 2018

Kaitlyn

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2022

Simple chat software

Overall it's a simple chat software that is affordable and reliable for messaging & chatting. There are a lot of awesome things about it and a lot of not so good things about it. I recommend going over what you'll need and comparing it to the feature list. If office chat checks all of the boxes for you then you should check it out! We just had to explore alternatives and upgrade because of the lacking features that were crucial for us and we couldn't go without.

Pros

Live chat, real time notifications and alerts, mobile alerts and mobile version, access & control permissions (role based too), file sharing. It's convenient that I can mute conversations that aren't as important or urgent. Quick reply is awesome to have. I like that it includes GIFs and emoticons, some office oriented chat software does not. Price is affordable and consistent. Simple to use and reliable as far as messages getting through. The read receipts are nice when I need to check team accountability!

Cons

Sadly there are several important things we need that aren't in the software, like mentions or tagging with the @ symbol, commenting, event calender or schedule, task lists. It really stinks that there isn't an employee and contact database too. We also really needed a good video conferencing and screen sharing feature. There are some things that are frustrating, for example when I'm catching up on a conversation and someone sends a new message, it sends me back to the bottom of the thread. Also when I'm using another app and a notification pops up for office chat, for some reason it automatically starts typing in the quick reply box instead of what I was doing originally.

Reasons for choosing Office Chat

Office chat had good pricing that allowed us to add all of our employees and partners without paying extra. We wanted to try it out and see how much this would help our business.

Reasons for switching to Office Chat

Meta is extremely frustrating when you need customer support/tech support. It's very, very, hard to contact anyone and and when you do they often aren't helpful. It was so frustrating that we dropped the software and office chat was affordable so we tried it.

Glenn

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

Decent product unless you use Microsoft Remote Desktop Services

I would strongly recommend this product for situations where users are on separate machines using the actual application. It does have many good features and the performance is acceptable. However, this is not currently a good solution if your users must access the application from a Remote Desktop Services environment. It *might* perform better in a different multi-user-single-server environment. In fact, we got the strong impression that they had not dealt with a client even our size before, definitely not on an RDS environment, and they were scrambling to catch up. The we-based option was very unreliable, often failing to reflect current messages and not alerting users to new messages.

Pros

Ease of setting up users and creating groups; availability of web-based version; option to have server hosted in the cloud; administrative ability to review message activity.

Cons

Very CPU-heavy, often averaging 15% of the CPU depending on each user's activity (not good with multiple users on an RDS server); web-based version very unreliable even with an unclogged 100Mbps Internet feed; was not designed for Microsoft RDS (to be fair they came out with an RDS-friendly installation about a month after we purchased it); product probably sold from somewhere in Asia (not a problem in itself except for adding an extra day to advanced tech support queries).

Response from MangoApps

Glenn, thank you for taking the time to review us! We appreciate your business, and are glad to see that Office Chat fits well into your work flow. I will be sure to pass along your feedback regarding CPU usage and web version stability. Thank you again!

Replied March 2019

User Profile

Siti Saleha

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2022

Internal communication platform

Pros

OfficeChat is easy to use because it uses the same corporate email address to log in. You may see a list of your most recent or regularly contacted coworkers and a list of all offline coworkers that are on your contact list. You may also check their status for seeing when they're at their computers or absent from their workstations. You may also use your chat window to transmit pictures, gifs, and other documents.

Cons

When you start a chat thread, the screen skips to the last post rather than continuing where you left off. It's inconvenient to keep scrolling up, attempting to recall and estimate which message the user read last. It would be preferable if the screen/chat queue would open and display the user's most recent news and maybe indicate or identify between reading and unopened messages.

Reasons for switching to Office Chat

Ment.io is too simple for a complicated communication usage.

Kira

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2022

Easy and effective but has some issues!

Overall I enjoy using the product and benefitted from it. We were able to work together regardless of our location and it was easy to share files. This product can compete well with others of this type.

Pros

I love the setup which is similar to text messaging vs other chat formats. Its easy to share an array of files in the chat and you can chat with everyone or one on one. If you need it the delivery confirmation is great and very convenient. Overall it's an easy to use product with great features.

Cons

Unfortunately this product has a few issues that are rather frustrating. There is no option to delete old messages, you can only leave the entire chat and start a new one which requires all other team members to do so as well. It doesn't offer the option to bookmark your place in reading conversations and everything a new message is sent you have to scroll back up. This becomes very time consuming and annoying.

Reasons for switching to Office Chat

Lack of features and security in previous products

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2020

Office Chat makes in office communication easier

Great, it has really helped us communicate professionally and quickly while working with patients.

Pros

We all know how to text message. Office chat mimics this to make it easier to communicate within inter-office systems.

Cons

That each computer needs a separate email address associated with it. Therefore, you cannot have multiple office chat computers linked to one email account.

Tara

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

Office Chat

A bit confusing to find chats and Cant see names of groups

Pros

The ease of it and the fast communication. Able to access on the phone or computer

Cons

A bit confusing to find chats and delete

Reasons for switching to Office Chat

Working from home

User Profile

Hilary

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2020

Office Chat

Its more interesting to use this software for office communication, Saves time, it has better features than emails too. Love it.

Pros

great in the office communication application allows quick send and receive takes huge files as well reduces the formality in emails for office chats that are social and business ease of use presence of video and audio calls

Cons

still learning about the application. So far it beats many.

Response from MangoApps

Hilary, thank you for taking the time to review us! We appreciate your business and are glad to see that Office Chat fits well into your workflow. Thank you again!

Replied March 2020

User Profile

Bruce

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2018

Very useful, easy to implement tool

it provides quick communication between team members & offices (various teams are using this).

Pros

Ease of use, & speed to implementation. Very reasonable cost. The only software we found for chat that was inexpensive, easy to set up and use, & had no compatibility issues.

Cons

it's not as 'trackable' or auditable as email. From a data protection standpoint, & also for legal forensics, it would be nice to have a permanent archive that is easy to access for admins. I don't this that Office Chat offers this.

Response from MangoApps

Bruce, thank you for taking the time to review OfficeChat! We appreciate your feedback and satisfaction. I will be sure to pass your feedback along, however I suggest you reach out- we'd love to chat about your use cases to help you achieve the level of track-ability and audit access if possible.

Replied December 2018

User Profile

Martha (MIA)

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2018

Easy to use!

Pros

This chat tool promotes a good environment and a faster communication between co-workers. The GIFs and emojis make it fun while working.

Cons

Its design is plain and simple, it would be nice if the chat window could be more flexible by personalizing it as we wish.

Response from MangoApps

Thank you for your review and feedback Martha! I'm glad to see that Office Chat is working well for your business and has been an enjoyable communication tool. I have also passed along your feedback regarding chat personalization. Thank you again!

Replied December 2018

User Profile

Jake

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

Terrific Alternative To Group Chats In The Office

Overll, Office Chat is a no-nonsense resource for effortlessly communicating within the office either individually or within a group or multiple groups.

Pros

One of the best features of Office Chat is its ability to organize and categorize multiple group chats within the program. While Office Chat is great for invidual conversations and threads, it takes the confusion and difficulties that group chats may present out of the equation and simplifies the ability to enter them as well as manage them from a distance.

Cons

There is little artistic style/aestetic style to Office Chat, with little ability for users to customize this. While it's a relatively small complaint in the grand scheme of things, this lack of visual awareness may confuse new users.

Response from MangoApps

Jake, thank you for taking the time to review us! We appreciate your business and are glad to see that Office Chat fits well into your workflow. We appreciate having you as a customer- thank you again!

Replied March 2020

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Moderno, muy rápido y actualización constante

Ya no se utiliza en la actualidad.

Pros

Muy sencillo de utilizar, solo que eran recursos muy limitados.

Cons

Se puede mejorar con ampliar los recursos de edición y clasificación de contactos.

Rebecca

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2018

Our whole office loves officechat it is easy to use and a great way to pass on messages.

Pros

That you can have a group chat in the office, as a travel agency if we want to send a message to multiple people we can. It is so easy to just type a message and send it instead of having to write it out on paper (saving paper aswell which is a bonus). Price is very good also! One thing I REALLY like is that it shows two green ticks once it has been delivered so that I know it has actually reached the other person and I dont need to follow it up.

Cons

Sometimes the office chat will say 'idle' and then messages wont get delivered even when we have signed in, I think it does this when we havent used it for a bit during the day maybe? This is annoying because we use it every day. Something I know everyone in this office would prefer is maybe like a box on the right hand side stay there until the message is opened so we know we have messages, I know it lights up orange but with so many icons down the bottom sometimes its hard to miss, I know a previous chat we used to have had this and it was much better to have something hover there to remind us we had messages.

Response from MangoApps

Rebecca, thank you for your review of Office Chat! We truly appreciate your feedback and are glad to have you as a customer. Also- i've passed along your feedback from the cons you listed. Cheers!

Replied December 2018

Stephanie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2018

OfficeChat

They prefer to be paid via credit card & do not really like invoicing. However, our company does not issue company credit cards & had to email back & forth asking if possible to set up for invoicing instead of credit cards. They were very helpful & understood our situation & were willing to make the change for us - even though this is not the norm for them.

Pros

When we did our research for a new officechat software, we were really impressed with the features that are available & the ease of use for the end users. Setting up the users is very simple & easy. Just needed to give the end users admin rights to install the software. Very easy to create groups & place people within. Reporting is really great & one is able to turn on & off features with a click on a button. The self destruct can be set with a timer which comes in handy when discussing private & confidential information.

Cons

When opening a ticket, waited for most times 24 hours to hear back from them. However, they do have the option to call in if required, however, since this is a virtual company, they prefer either chat or email

Response from MangoApps

Thank you for your review Stephanie! We're happy to see that OfficeChat has been a good solution for your business. I hope that future support requests are handled more quickly, we appreciate your patience as you grow with us! Cheers

Replied December 2018

User Profile

David

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

Definitely worth the money!

Overall, OfficeChat has saved us time, paper, and clicks on our copier system. I'd definitely say we're operating more efficiently as an organization!

Pros

The software is extremely functional with lots of features we needed as an internal IM/Chat system for our staff. The implementation was really easy and I honestly haven't had any complaints from staff about using or trying to use the software. Plus the ability to send messages with files/attachments is a huge plus, certainly cuts down on the amount of time we spend composing emails or printing documents to just walk them across the office.

Cons

Software installation itself can be a pain sometimes. I had 2 particular issues where OfficeChat refused to install on a new Windows 10 machines because a "required component" would fail to download over and over. I believe it was an issue with the fact that OfficeChat installer was calling out the need for Microsoft VC 3.5 but the machines already had a newer version installed...? I'd have to follow up with my support team to verify the issue was corrected but I'm sure it was.

Response from MangoApps

David, thank you for taking the time to review us! We appreciate your business, and are glad to see that Office Chat fits well into your work flow. I will pass along your feedback. Thank you again!

Replied April 2019

Tara

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2018

We use this to bring employees from 4 offices right to each of our fingertips.

To keep in touch with our other co-workers in different offices around the state.

Pros

I can easily find other employees that I work with and send them a message. I also like the features like "show when read", "delete after read', etc. I really like the one that shows me after the other person reads it. No one is able to say that they did not get the message because I have a read receipt. I also like how easy it is to attach a file and send it off.

Cons

I do not like the lack of emojis. I know this is a very simple thing, but that is really the only thing I can think of. I really would give this program a 10 out of 10. I can't think of any other problems I've had with this.

Response from MangoApps

Tara, thank you for providing us with a review and sharing your feedback regarding Emojis! I will be sure to pass along your feedback to the team. If there are other product requests or ideas that you may have in the future, don't hesitate to let us know. Thank you again!

Replied December 2018

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2019

Excellent Chat Platform for Office work

This Chat software has help us reduce phone call time and makes our jobs more efficient, you can get answers from work collegues faster than by email and if they are not available you dont need to leave a "phone message" and wonder if they listen to them or not. With the chat you see a notification when they read it. We use it every day as an internal communication tool, and even for company announcements with a whole office chat group.

Pros

It is a very simple and powerfull Chat solution. It shows when messages are delivered and read by the other person. You can attached images or documents.

Cons

It doesn´t have a popup notification option, that would be helpful because sometimes you can miss a new message.

Response from MangoApps

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We appreciate your business, and are glad to see that Office Chat fits well into your work flow. I wanted to let you know that Office Chat does have a popup notification option- would you be willing to reach out to our support to have this resolved for you? Thank you again!

Replied April 2019

Gabby

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT