User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.56

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"The software itself was very easy to use. We had a slightly different need when we started and the staff at IMS was great to respond to our needs."
  • icon"Very user friendly and helps us with distributions, K-1s, tracking communications."
  • icon"I like that there is an email functionality embedded and that investors are generally able to retrieve their documents on the portal seamlessly."
  • icon"The only complaint is setting up some of the more complicated calculations for distributions when there are waterfall calculations."
  • icon"Not having a customer service manager anymore has been a little annoying."
  • icon"Waterfall calcs were tough to get exactly right."

Browse all RealPage IMS Reviews

  • Have you used RealPage IMS and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 78 reviews

Michael

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

IMS - Excellent Investor Platform

IMS has helped us communicate much more efficiently with our investors.

Pros

We have used IMS for 2 years or so and we have enjoyed working with IMS and their entire staff. The system gave us an affordable, efficient and very robust way to keep track of (CRM) our investors, raise money, make distributions, and communicate with our 100 plus investors.

Cons

I do not have any negatives to report regarding IMS.

Nicole

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

Our Investors Love It

Overall, the customer service and product have been outstanding and we have had a great experiencing using the product and our investors love it as well.

Pros

The ability to fund and have investors fill out the esignature agreements and have that connect with the investor portal side, is so helpful and a great time saver. Our investors are able to have more access to their investments. IMS saves us so much time on the administrative side as well because of how great the CRM features are, how we can bulk upload K-1s, and distributions and easily email our investors. IMS has really help streamline our operations.

Cons

I did feel like the implementation process was a lot of work with putting our data in a format that could be uploaded to IMS, but after that hurdle was overcome-- it was mostly smooth sailing. There are some features that have been glitchy or could use a little work, but on the grand scale, IMS is always updating and improving and adding features, so many of our concerns have been taken care of over time just because of platform upgrades/updates.

Reasons for choosing RealPage IMS

We like the price as well as the functionality.

Reasons for switching to RealPage IMS

The other product was in the process of being built and was not fully developed and we were never able to get the product operational for investors.

Daniel

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2021

Pleasantly Suprised

Continuing to work on repositioning our administrative platform so that it's; i) Customer facing is more professional, ii) Reduces administrative costs and, iii) distancing ourselves from paper.

Pros

Software 'on-boarding' has gone better than expected and initial response from clients has been good.

Cons

It would be nice if the integration between RealPage accounting platform and IMS was more developed and integrated.

Reasons for switching to RealPage IMS

Functionality, Economics, Features.

Christopher

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

December 2020

Looks good but has fundamental failures that impede our operations

I'm going to be taking a good hard look at Juniper Square in 2021.

Pros

The aesthetic and ability for our investors to have a reputable platform to access investment performance information.

Cons

Every time we have a simple transfer of equity it completely throws off our waterfall calculations. We've addressed this numerous times with no meaningful resolution or explanation, and the longer it continues the more the problem compounds.

Reasons for choosing RealPage IMS

At the time it seemed like a more cost effective solution.

Reasons for switching to RealPage IMS

Because Realpage's original investment management platform had no investor facing functionality and was extremely antiquated.

Rob

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2021

IMS Review

Overall, IMS is a good product. Though it has its limitations, we are overall satisfied with its performance. They are constantly working at becoming an excellent product/service, but they have a little ways to go.

Pros

I like that the support has a pretty quick turn-around and can usually answer all of my inquiries. I like that there is an email functionality embedded and that investors are generally able to retrieve their documents on the portal seamlessly. I like that they are always looking to improve the system and use feedback well.

Cons

The customization is limited. Certain metrics that we have repeatedly asked for were not implemented. IMS refused to give us a customizable Investment Summary to deliver to our investors. The Investment Summary Statements were one of the main reasons we were excited to use IMS, and the customization of the statements again fell short of our expectations, so we needed to implement a third-party vendor who could grant us our Summary requests.

Reasons for choosing RealPage IMS

I joined the company and IMS had already been (somewhat) implemented, so I ran with it.

Nick

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2020

Love our IMS Portal!

Great product! We reached out to other operators in the real estate syndication business and they said this is one of the top portals to use for investors.

Pros

Ease of use for us as admins and for our investors. We have had several compliments on how easy it is to find info about their investments and the documents associated with them. We also love the ability to have our investors do online signatures, very quick and easy.

Cons

So many features it may take some time before we learn what they are and how to use them, which is a good thing!

Reasons for choosing RealPage IMS

IMS has more users, bigger company so I know the support will be around for a long time. IDR was run by one guy and a team of VAs. While the IDR product offers more customization, that didn't really add value to us, plus it was more expensive!

Brett

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2020

Great customer service, easy to use!!

Overall, very happy that we moved over to them because it has saved us a lot of headaches and time with managing our capital partners...

Pros

I like the efficiencies and time that it saves. It also helps us to be more process oriented and in control of our touch points with investors. The software is constantly being improved and bugs are quickly fixed. Very happy with the responsiveness and engagement from customer service and our account rep! The new portal is much more design forward and it really blends in nicely as a white-labeled back end software tied to our existing website.

Cons

I didn't like that there were still some bugs to work out (which to be clear have been fixed) and there were some fixes that needed to occur after we initially adopted it. I didn't like the earlier design options since we were trying to blend it seamlessly into our branding and "look". Fortunately, improvements and fixes are always occurring and IMS has been great to work with.

Reasons for choosing RealPage IMS

IMS had what we needed but not what we didn't (and didn't feel compelled to pay for). It was simple and affordable for our small but growing operation.

Shaye

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Investment Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2019

great software that is constantly getting better

It allows me to run lean and steam lines some of the most important back office components of my business.

Pros

It has allowed me to run my business without hiring a single coder or developer. The IMS support team is always helpful and great at passing on feedback to their development team. New features are consistently being added and existing ones are always improving.

Cons

There can be a bit of a learning curve but IMS-U as well as the support team is always helpful.

Reasons for choosing RealPage IMS

IMS was willing to be a lot more flexible and I felt like they understood my business more

Robert

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

May 2021

IMS Bugs

Pros

the functionality of having an org chart as part of the build. the visual helps.

Cons

the system feels cumbersome. it takes a lot to build things out. recently there was/is a bug in the "commitment" feature which rendered it useless. as our company grows this is a critical feature and with it being non-functional it severely diminishes the benefit of IMS to the point of looking at other options. The commitment did not "push" new investors to complete their profile information as it was in the past, or should be and is through other streams within IMS. this resulted in new investors signing blank forms and the entire process having to be rebuilt, and redone. It made our company look very inexperienced in front of our new customers.

Reasons for choosing RealPage IMS

pricing and referrals., waterfall functionality at the time was better than juniper square.

Scott

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2019

Great CRE Investor Portal

We are using IMS for investor reporting, secure document delivery and capital raising for new investment opportunities.

Pros

We are a small commercial real estate investment management company that focuses on value-add real estate deals for qualified investors. We needed a platform to enhance the investor experience and provide transparency to the operations of our investor's assets. IMS has worked very well in doing just that. In addition it offers the functionality of creating efficiency in future capital raises. We are very happy with our decision to go with IMS.

Cons

The setup of investors and assets in IMS is a touch cumbersome, but once uploaded and complete this is not an issue. This may also be a function of our small size and our lack of any in-house IT or admin personnel. This process was handled by the principal of the firm (me), who has limited technical background. The fact that we are able to get through the installation and upload process with only minimal problems can be considered a positive.

Reasons for choosing RealPage IMS

Cost and a better platform for us as a start-up investment management company

Jeffrey

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

IMS Review

Overall experience is good.

Pros

Ease of use, distributes the information we want to investors, customizable, customer service is quick

Cons

There are several competitors with similar products that have better pricing

Reasons for choosing RealPage IMS

I wasn't at the company when this decision was made

User Profile

Travis

Verified reviewer

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

April 2018

Very user-friendly. Helps us consolidate our many systems

Consolidating our existing systems and platforms

Pros

Layout is easy to use, especially for investors. The visuals and charts make it simple for our clients to track their distributions and see what projects they are invested in.

Cons

Customization is limited. We would like to have more custom reports generated and more integrations with other large software such as Infusionsoft, Parsey and Zapier.

Jennifer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2019

Excellent Data

Due to the data captured in IMS, we are able to more easily provide data to our CPA for K-1 production. This has reduced the spreadsheets we would otherwise have to maintain. The functionality available for investors to complete Subscription Booklets online and obtain proof of Accreditation via VerifyInvestor has also been a huge improvement for us and our investors and has allowed us to raise as much as $27MM in equity in one month (fully complete/accurate paperwork; fully funded). In addition, the type of data we are able to collect at the CRM Contact level as well as at the investing entity level has helped us market to our investors appropriately whether we are doing a 506(b) or a 506(c) type of deal.

Pros

In looking at several products, the most important aspect for me is data. Is the type of data that I need to be able to search on or analyze later available for data capture? I look at functionality next. For us, IMS provides the best data out there for a company who raises Private Equity (we focus on Multifamily real estate). Although the user interfaces and functionality have not been as slick as some of the other products we have seen, upon deep review of those other products, they just do not collect the level of data we need them to. IMS has also been working to makeover their UIs to make them more intuitive and streamlined from a functional perspective. One of the other strengths in this software that I love is that IMS tends to build functionality where, as a sponsor, you can turn certain data or functionality on or off if it doesn't work for your company's processes/procedures. This provides flexibility that allows their multiple sponsors to handle certain processes and displays differently based on their specific needs. I have not seen this offered on other tools to the degree it is available on IMS. This is a great strength in this tool and huge win for the multiple sponsors.

Cons

In the past one of our biggest issues we ran into was functionality deployed that was not fully tested or where existing functionality was not fully regression tested. As a result we would run into bugs. However, this has changed dramatically in the past year. IMS is really taking care to fully test what they deploy.

Dan

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2019

Great tool to for both internal and investor facing purposes

Aside from all the pros mentioned, the experience has been very positive. The support team are very responsive and happy to assist quickly and however they can. Investors who choose to utilize the software like it and believe it adds another layer of professionalism to our investments. Looking back, I do wish I had understood the system more when initially getting our investments uploaded, as I had to end up going back and re-doing many of them, but IMS has grown since our initial partnership with them (I believe we were one of the earlier companies), and I assume the process is more transparent and streamlined. Some of the options/characterizations of the data you provide initially may seem innocent, but can actually have an affect on waterfalls, presentation of data within IMS, etc. I implore new users to maybe get one investment fully up in IMS and learn the system before continuing with the rest of their portfolio.

Pros

Internal Facing: This software provides great internal tools for investment managers to track, promote, and analyze past, current, and future investments. While investment information is kept previously in internal accounting software and Excel files, IMS provides a centralized and efficient platform to track investments and distributions. The waterfall function is very useful in calculating actual distributions to be sent out immediately, and to run "what-if" scenarios for future sales. The document feature allowed you to keep all documentation online for each investor and investment. It is very easy to review investment and distribution history at any level in the LLC structures - whether between two equity partners, or a large group of individual investors. Investor Facing: Allows investors to track their investments like you would log on to an online bank account. Uploaded documents for investors can be sorted by category and/or investment.

Cons

While there is a bulk upload option through the support team, it would be useful to be able to run it internally and for more items than just K-1s. Can be tiresome sometimes uploading individual documents within a large investor group. Still run in to some complications with changes to an existing equity struture. We have been granted the internal power now to make adjustments, but sometime it can still be easiest to just delete a project and re-build from scratch. When this is to be done, investors/investments must be deleted one by one at each level, and once done, any subsequent documentation is also deleted and must be re-uploaded.

Maureen

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

IMS Investor Portal

We had a very manual process quarterly which consisted of updating our allocation sheets in Excel, preparing our investment analysis in Word/Excel, and the mail merge process to send out the package to the investors. This product enabled us to automate our process and have a portal which consists of everything investor-related (from historical information, such as quarterly investor reports and K1s, to having a list of current and potential investors which will enable us to email when a new investment opportunity arises). Overall, I would highly recommend this product. The time we save quarterly along with the investor management, reporting, and analysis we gained from this product is priceless!

Pros

The IMS product has been intuitive from the get-go. My superior and I were impressed with the initial demo and pricing of the product. It was an easy decision to go with IMS! We were fortunate to have been appointed a great implementation manager and the implementation process went smoothly (even though we encountered issues with some of the distribution amounts and ownership percentages, but representative was very responsive and supportive in a daily and timely manner). Customer Support have been helpful so far with some of the password reset, login issues, and K1 upload.

Cons

There are some missing features specific to our company such as having custom tags in creating Custom Email and Statement Templates (right now the selection is only First Name, Last Name, Legal Name, and Prefix), which make it hard to personalize our communication with our investors. We also think a bulk printing feature would be helpful when we print out our quarterly investor statements. Lastly, it would be beneficial if it was made possible to send out email notifications when a K1 document has been uploaded (one of our investors have mentioned this to us as well prior to us having to manually email out investors with this notification).

Angie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2020

Great system once you learn to use it.

Excellent experience overall.

Pros

In terms of implementation the process was fairly easy. We had few years of data that IMS uploaded in matter of hours. Once implemented, we had few hiccups with the full capabilities of the system; however, IMS did a great job creating learning tools to help with functionality questions. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] served as our relationship manager. He is very knowledgeable and helped us to align our business needs with the system's capabilities. Uploading K1s and monthly reports is extremely easy and fast. Also, the system allows the creation of monthly and quarterly reports which it has been a fantastic tool to maintain investors informed. The ability to create email campaigns based on deal or as a portfolio is a great advantage the system offers. I would say this is one of the tools we use the most when communicating with investors

Cons

IMS integrates with few accounting systems; unfortunately, Entrata is not in the list of integrations yet. Can't wait for the integration to facilitate data transfer.

Gabby

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4