All GitLab Reviews

1-25 of 966 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Justin

Computer Software, 201 - 500 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed April 2021

Made DevOps possible for my company

User Profile

Matthew

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Powerful toolset that are available on premise!

I am happy with the toolset - very grateful to the gitlab community for the work done on this. It allows small startup companies to create their own instance and manage gitlab CI deployment pipelines.

PROS

I am not constrained at all by a company like GitHub or Bitbucket. It allows my team to have faith that what we are working on - remains in house. For piece of mind - without using git native.

CONS

Difficult to setup for the uninitiated linux administrator. Administration and upgrades are also difficult to do.

Reason for choosing GitLab

GitLab is totally free and can be hosted on premise.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

I needed to ensure that our repositories are private and held on premise.

User Profile

Andy

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

The first step to using Git on your computer is from this tool

I think it's good that you can use it in basically the same way as GitHub, and that you can manage it by making use of your existing knowledge. Also, I think it's nice that GitLab has unique features that are easier to use, such as a feature that changes the display of the file icon for each file extension.

PROS

Using Git as a configuration management tool is already common sense (essential), but I think this software is the most used for remote (distributed) development. There are many cases where you install Git on each person's terminal and operate the commands, but if it is team development and you can't use an "external (public Internet) repository", it is better to set up and operate a Git repository with GitLab I think it will be the safest and standard way to use Git.

CONS

I guess there is no choice but to get used to it, but I would like to see more visual changes and expressions (messages) when conflicts occur that are easier to understand for beginners. After all, I'd like to see them develop an interface that makes it easier to understand the concept of Git configuration in the first place.

Reason for choosing GitLab

I think it is the first candidate for managing the configuration of development assets in internal development (because the use of Git itself is a global standard). There was a feature that changed the display of the file icon for each file extension, and it had the advantage that it was possible to reduce the file selection error. Also, unlike GitHub, it has not been acquired by Microsoft, so I think it is an advantage that it can be used with confidence in terms of security.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

With the end of MS-VSS support and the trend of the times, it was necessary to use Git for configuration management, and I was looking for a Git configuration management tool that could be used by groups (and remotely) instead of individuals, so we decided to implement GitLab.

User Profile

Emiliano

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

It's good but, definitely not the best

It works fine, and it's a good alternative for the usual Bitbucket, Jira and Bamboo (or Jenkins) combo that's commonly found on the corporate world. I'd recommend to consider Github Teams or Github Enterprise.

PROS

- Unlike Github, it can be installed locally, it also makes it highly customizable - It has CI/CD functionality integrated - It has code search and indexing - It's integrated with a docker registry and multiple code repositories

CONS

- It's highly monolithic, if some feature fails, most of the times everything fails - It's not easy to clusterize the service - It's not easy to update, nor to migrate to a new server - It costs the same to use the self-hosted than the cloud-hosted version - Gitlab CI/CD shared (both free and paid minutes) run on a GCE Kubernetes cluster without any fixed IP address so it's hard to access your servers unless you open ports publicly or create a VPN tunnel

Reason for choosing GitLab

It was more modern than Bitbucket, and Github lacked a self-hosted version

Matt

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

My favourite source control management tool

PROS

I came to GitLab years ago from Subversion. The adoption was instant and I never looked back. I had to use other technology for different projects, such as Azure, which still packs a punch but cannot be compared to Gitlab in terms of simplicity, clarity and ease of use. Gitlab i still my go-to source control management tool.

CONS

Very little, everything was making sense to me and was easy to find.

Michele

Insurance, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

A great source code management platform

GitLab has all the features my team needs for source code control and manegement. Very easy and intuitive to set up different group of users, projects, repositories with different levels of access. The GUI is also very neat and simple.

PROS

GitLab allows you to quickly set up an on-premise platform for source code control. Good integrations with CI/CD and very clean GUI.

CONS

Learning how to effectively use a versioning tool can be quite difficult for non-technical users.

Reason for choosing GitLab

We needed an on-premises source-code management platform for security reasons.

NOMPILO

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

GitLab Review

I enjoyed working with GitLab, although there were a few instances where I encountered challenges understanding certain aspects. With all of its features, it really makes teamwork easy, and I appreciate the security measures it provides. The use of merge requests ensures thorough code review before pushing changes to the main branch.

PROS

GitLab's collaboration features, such as merge requests and issue boards foster efficient teamwork. GitLab places a strong emphasis on security and provides tools like role-based access control, Workflows and issue boards can be customized using the platform. The CI/CD pipelines at GitLab are strong. The ease of setting up and managing pipelines directly within the repository simplifies the development process.

CONS

Navigating the platform and understanding all its capabilities might require a learning curve for individuals new to the tool.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

I initially used GitHub for my personal projects. However, the company where I completed my learnership utilized GitLab.

Simon

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Gitlab provides a central easy to use system

A safe pair of hands with great functionality.

PROS

Ease of use, clear and easy to use interface and tight integration with source code and continuous integration tools.

CONS

Remove continuous integration functionality when not needed appears to be difficult - but this may well be a user error.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

Better functionality and industry familiarity

User Profile

Brad

Verified reviewer

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

GitLab is a must for development teams

PROS

I love the Boards for tracking Issues in their life cycle. Customizable Columns and Labels make it quick and easy to see where an Issue is, giving a high level for management and the rest of the team, while having all the details and attached code branches and merge requests for the developer and stakeholders. I love how it's able to connect code from several projects to Issues, no matter where they live, so you can have as many boards and projects as you like! It's well put together and seems natural with everything I try to do organization-wise. Integrates really well with developers' workflows.

CONS

GitLab is always improving and enables you to request features, so if you want something, suggest it and they'll get to it! Sometimes that's a bit slow, but you can usually work around it.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

To connect to the code in addition to workflows.

BISWAMITRA

Computer & Network Security, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

GitLab: Next gen Collaboration Tool

Overall it is a 8.7 out of 10 experience, considering the average to be 5. It is better than some of the platforms in many terms, but till lagging some level of scalebility.

PROS

It offers an all-in-one platform that includes version control, issue tracking, continuous integration, and more. It excels at managing Git repositories, allowing for easy branching, merging, and version control. It has robust access control features, allowing administrators to manage user roles, permissions, and project visibility.

CONS

It is resource-intensive, especially for larger projects or organizations. It is hard to initially learn the tools and technologies. The UI/UX is less tempting.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

The ease of GitLab in terms of collaboration and deployment made it very easy, and that is now my more liking collaboration software.

Colin

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

A great solution for controlling your own source code.

Overall, it's exactly what my old company needed, given that I was given zero budget and no attention.

PROS

GitHub charges for company use, and my old company wouldn't have paid for SCM no matter how important it was to our department. Thankfully, GitLab installed just fine on a VM we spun up internally, and that was all we needed. Our Git repositories, client websites, and configuration files had a home. I can use the Git CLI, and there's a convenient web interface and hooks for everyone else (including me when I didn't want to use the CLI).

CONS

Setting this up internally is a hassle. You need a VM and a valid SSL certificate, which is a fairly low bar for entry, but more than most products. Also, it does update fairly often, which I suppose is better than it not updating at all.

Reason for choosing GitLab

My boss wouldn't pay for a GitHub business plan.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Gitlab: Your source code manager

It promotes my productivity while coding, by helping in debugging the code with many excellent features and functions

PROS

I like the level of flexibility it provides and number of features to control my source code is really good

CONS

Some features of the privious version are missing and it's set up is really complex for new people

Reasons for switching to GitLab

Next generation requirements and features to enhance my coding journey

User Profile

Balayo

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

The One Of the Repositories and Project Collaboration

Great software since it covers a scope of features.

PROS

1. It Offers a free Version which cover most of the project collaboration features, which is great for Startups like golden mist Software. 2. Allows Integrations with other third-party software like JIRA allowing a comprehensive overview of the development environment

CONS

1. The licensed version with much more improved features seem a bit expensive for the small startups. 2. Complicated to install for one without the expertise.

Luca

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Powerful tool - if you know how to use it!

GitLab is the code versioning system that our company uses on a daily basis. We found useful to have a fine-grained authorization management for your users/developers, that made it easier for us to ensure the only the right people can see the right things. We also use the "organisation" feature to have all our developers in the same place with the right access.

PROS

The products has plenty of features, as well as supporting all the basic Git operations/merge requests, you are given a wide choice of CI pipelines you can set up from within the project. Need more? Integrations with metrics, error tracking, kubernetes, snippets and more. I never had any problem so far, it's stable and always up.

CONS

The major issue for me is that these features are advanced, and if you want to use the repository as just that, you find yourself overwhelmed with loads of choices that you don't really need. Therefore, sometimes I find it hard to look for a button which should be the most visible element on the screen. Additionally, I found the arrangement of information in the "merge request" screen a bit counterintuitive compared with similar services.

Reason for choosing GitLab

We decided to go the easy way. Gitlab was less painful to setup and had less restrictions (e.g. on the number of users)

Reasons for switching to GitLab

You can create organisations for free and have several private repositories (also for free). Additionally the idea that we could setup the CI/CD pipelines was a plus looking forward.

Edward

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Git Awesome

It is such a great system. We use it daily at work and I integrated it into my homelab as well to keep change controls and ci/cd under control. It has made my homelab crazy efficient when I need to do things. For work it makes our daily tasks very easy to manage and it's much more integrated than having to build out all of the atlassian stack.

PROS

This product is excellent and has both enterprise edition and community edition making it very inexpensive to get into and then moving to enterprise once setup and still very inexpensive compared to other options out there. You also can set up a private gitlab server either in docker or bare metal. I cannot rave enough about git lab.

CONS

There's not much to not like about it. It's a very capable system that can be deployed in every type of way imaginable. If I was to nitpick then I would say adding additional users can be a pain without having self registration available.

Reason for choosing GitLab

We utilize them side by side for different tasks. Our atlassian stack is used for more dev purposes as that team is more comfortable with it as opposed to gitlab where our infrastructure team utilizes it.

Morgan

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

A great hosted Git SCM solution

We were trying to have a central hosted repository SCM system. For issue management we normally use Linear, although for smaller projects we keep track of issues using the integrated issue manager. The product integrates seamlessly in the development workflow, implementing and enforcing best industry practices onto all the contributors of the project, and allows for quick deployments to production and testing with its integrated CI/CD system.

PROS

GitLab is a great integrated SCM, Issue Management and CI/CD solution which is a pleasure to work with. The tools feel very nicely integrated and cooperate very well. It embodies by default the best practices for code management and is developed by a company which has open source and transparency at its heart, thus reassuring that the product can be trusted, either as a SaaS solution or as a self-hosted solution.

CONS

The SaaS version of the problem has over the year suffered some issues; however these have been decreasing over time and the company has made a hosted experience on par of those of other SaaS solutions. The resource consumption of the product is not to be taken lightly; however for small teams it has a relatively inexpensive monthly server cost.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

GitHub doesn't allow as much custom personalisation features, such as adding custom CI/CD runners, and is available as an on-premises solution basically only for its enterprise plan, whereas GitLab has always been a distributed product which one can self-host and manage. Gitea/Gogs is severely limited in many areas and lacks a coherent design and vision. Bitbucket is lacking in so many industry-standard features that it is not even worth talking about.

Pius

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

Gitlab

Satisfactory! Started out on the free plan, and as the project grew and I needed more space and developers on it we upgraded and even got more access to more tools to better streamline our DevOps processes and overall project development.

PROS

Gitlab offers you a secure space to store and manage your git repositories, for personal use and or for your organization's development team. You can easily assign tasks to team members, and track and follow up on them with clearly laid out and categorized Kanban boards.

CONS

Gitlab's UI and UX are quite overwhelming for a first-time user. If you are new to Gitlab and you haven't used a similar platform like Github or Bitbucket before, you will definitely need a little training to fully utilize your Gitlab space. Make sure to get through the entire onboarding tutorial to avoid feeling lost because it's all going to seem very clunky and difficult to find your way at the beginning.

Reason for choosing GitLab

We were already working with Github and found that Gitlab was a powerful solution we could add to our stack. We use GitLab for specific projects that are more timebound and we need to move fast on.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

We did not entirely shift. We work with both Gitlab and Github for different projects within the organization.

David

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

Gitlab review

We really like GitLab, we were able to use it for fully automated development procedure which saves us large amount of time and help us to isolate the bugs before switching to production.

PROS

Gitlab gives us sufficient features to support source code management, user administration and Continuous integration for reasonable pricing

CONS

There is really nothing in my mind which I specifically do not like about the GitLab but If there would be room for improvement, We would appreciate more features for CI/CD integration testing.

Reason for choosing GitLab

pricing and security features

Reasons for switching to GitLab

We transit after the Github was acquired from Microsoft. We were not sure which path GitHub will takes after the acquisition. the transition to GitLab was super easy and safe solution.

Peter

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

Code repositories and version tracking

GitLab ensures our code is safe and secure, everything is version tracked, we can easily collaborate with other colleagues and allows for a good QA environment before launch.

PROS

GitLab allows users to easily store their code projects and files in a safe and secure environment, allowing easy collaboration amongst users. You can import repositories from other Git tools (such as GitHub) with ease, GitLab also imports any version history and accompanying branches. The ability to make certain repositories private is excellent, most similar git systems charge extra for this service.

CONS

The user-interface, though clean and responsive, can be hard to use and master. Especially for new users, training is definitely required. The integration with interfacing tools is lacking, most systems (such as GitKraken) require a premium license to connect with GitLab. User management can be complicated, as the user interface isn't particularly clear here, and the different levels of access aren't clearly identified.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

The offer of free Private repositories was a deal breaker, GitHub only offers public repositories with their free plan.

Olivier

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

A serious contender in the Self Host GIT space

It's really nice to have it, and the fact they were the first to allow for free private repositories is a nice gesture

PROS

For us, it was crucial to be able to self host an instance to have it totally off grid and Gitlab delivered beautifully

CONS

A bit obscure to setup, and updates can be quite time consuming as we cannot do them as often as would be required by the project

Reason for choosing GitLab

Self hosting was key

Reasons for switching to GitLab

GIT has a much better workflow for managing branches

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: