All Centerbase Reviews

1-25 of 35 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

John

Verified reviewer

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Centerbase in the Cloud for Law Firms

Centerbase is a Legal Case Management cloud application that provides a Law firm with full matter management of all the details about a case, including the Parties (each with contact screens) the Court, the Filed Case Activity and MOST importantly all the Documents associated with the Matter, in one location (at the Matter). It is really easy to use and has fantastic Customize-ability.

PROS

Powerful legal practice management solution Can establish multiple workflows to automate a process (where tasks are sequenced and fulfilled by the system) integration with O365 (saving an email to the matter, or scheduling an appointment /saved in both) Plugin for MS WOrd and Outlook (to allow drafting of a document or an email to be saved in the matter) Capture incoming leads and turn into a Potential New Client.

CONS

Complex workflow processes require a knowledgeable Consultant (expert) to build. Training for an IT Admin would be helpful if provided (meaning in-depth behind the scenes configurations) More videos about how to Implement key customizable features.

Theresa

Law Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Highly Customize-able, scale-able, intuitive

We decided on Centerbase for many reasons, but the catalyst is that we, as a Los Angeles-based firm, acquired an office in San Francisco and in San Diego. We needed a central repository for case management and document management. In addition: 1) We needed our practice to be accessible in court or on the go (cloud-based) 2) We needed integration with a reputable document manager (we went with NetDocs, though Cenbterbase has it's own document management system, too) 3) We needed to eliminate the "human error" component in workflow systems, so we built workflow systems for all different types of legal procedures from intake to administrative appeals to litigation. This is especially important for solo practitioners, those working with limited resources or when the job requires extensive training about minute things. Creating a workflow that does the administrative thinking for you, is everything. They have a great Word Merge feature which integrates with Word. 4) We needed a reliable calendaring system - they're working to integrate the calendar with Outlook and Google calendars, as I understand.

PROS

The software is incredibly customize-able. There is no limit to what you can do. Think big, bigger than you think you need to. The customization scales marvelously and works intuitively. The software elevates practice management so that operations are more fluid.

CONS

The only con is that we need to review lots of data in table form. Once you chose column headings, you are stuck with those columns no matter what query you run. Column headings are customizable, but not customizable within each data set; you have to modify them each time you run a query. The way around this is to export to Excel and delete the irrelevant data.

Reason for choosing Centerbase

Highly customizable. Checked all of the above boxes.

Reasons for switching to Centerbase

TimeMatters was clunky and limited in strange ways. Not because it wasn't powerful, but there were layers upon layers of updates and quirks that made it clunky and not user-friendly. Also, it was not cloud-based.

Page

Law Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2024

No Integrity

Centerbase signed a written agreement to lock in the rates in perpetuity, then updated the terms and conditions (linked) as part of the annual invoice which stated they could increase rates and told my firm that they could no longer honor our agreement. This company does not have integrity and is willing to lose loyal clients for a couple of dollars.

PROS

Ease of use. Integration between time, billing, and accounting. Streamlining processes. Ability to customize the system.

CONS

Customer Support's inability to answer questions and resolve problems. The system not functioning correctly and having glitches. Way too much turnover in management and account managers.

Reason for choosing Centerbase

Pricing, functionality, ease of use, intergration.

Phuong

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed August 2021

AVOID - DO NOT USE! WORSE MANAGEMENT PROGRAM EVER!

I'm so confused why this program has so many good reviews. This is the most frustrating program I've used. The same issues keep coming up and support chooses when they want to reply and never addresses the problem. They offer a solution that is irrelevant or already did on my own. Calendar management is the worst. Missing so many features and program is practically useless. I'm better off manually calendaring everything on my own on Outlook. They constantly have new glitches and bugs.

PROS

ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. Customer service sucks - literally told me "we have no solution for you" and had to bill our IT guy to do something that Centerbase could have literally done. Features are bonkers. Nothing works properly. Literally a new issue EVERY SINGLE DAY.

CONS

EVERYTHING! NOTHING WORKS LIKE IT SHOULD BE. CAN'T BELIEVE I'M SAYING THIS BUT CENTERBASE IS WORST THAN CLIO.

Reasons for switching to Centerbase

Needed a better legal management program but this was absolute shit.

Holly

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

New User: Growing Business

Centerbase has moved our firm into the 21st Century in terms of access through web browser and phone app. Our timekeepers love the straight forward use and it has increased consistency and timing of time entry. The link to LawPay that auto-processes payments has cut our manpower down and increased cash flow for it's ease of use for our clients. We are a Trust/Retainer heavy firm and clients can make one payment and it directs splits between AR and replenishment retainer in trust to the correct accounts, opposed to us manually tracking and writing multiple checks or transfers from one account to the other.

PROS

The ease of use, I have used several billing and accounting programs over my 25 years experience and must say Centerbase is thoughtful in its approach of what worked and what didn't and compiled an inclusive product that is constantly evolving with ease. Since it is cloud based, upgrades and updates are pushed monthly, no versioning or what for new/annual releases that need to be purchased like on premise software.

CONS

They are still developing out of the reports, which I wish were more inclusive. However, they have built a comprehensive and easy to use menu to build your own. Their accounting side is fairly new and constantly taking feedback and improving, but still has some AP areas that could be streamlined. I am looking forward to the opening up API where you can add apps to work in conjunction with Centerbase and make it truly a one stop shop for timekeeper and administrator. They are on their way!

Reason for choosing Centerbase

the functionality, customizing ability, payment processing, appearance, and ease of use for our attorneys

Reasons for switching to Centerbase

We needed innovative program that keeps us abreast of technology and mobility. Smarter not Harder!

Jessica

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

Centerbase is Great but Could be Better

Overall I do like using CB because I use it daily. As long as the cons could be worked on, everything would be a 100% great!

PROS

It's easy on the eyes. Certain reports are easy to use and navigate. Quick at generating invoices, certain reports, emails.

CONS

1. CB needs to have a report feature that shows the legal services with number of hours worked and rates. However, CB only provides expenses per client/matter. 2. It's confusing how to pull up total paid amount to each matter. It confuses accounting and the client. It needs to be clear report that shows attorneys, hours, rates, total. 3. In posted bills, there needs to be a box to let us see only certain origination attorneys and their specific matters. 4. There also needs a contingency setting where it shows rate the legal fees amounts are but doesn't require the client to pay the invoice since it'll be recoup at the end.

Reason for choosing Centerbase

We believed in the system and agreed to be their first client

Reasons for switching to Centerbase

They updated their system and nothing worked.

Donna

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

Centerbase for Legal Practice management, billing and accounting

We have been using Centerbase for 15 months and love the ability to work from anywhere we can get internet access. We love being able to enter billing items from our phones and it immediately be available to bill. We love that the accounting module is built into the software as well.

PROS

A completely integrated cloud solution all in one package with immeasurable customization options.

CONS

How cloud products handle document assembly or document automation.

Reason for choosing Centerbase

Customizability, calendar features, how flat fee billing is handled.

Reasons for switching to Centerbase

We wanted a cloud solution that was completely integrated not linked with another product with extensive ability to customize the software. We got that!

Dominick

Legal Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed March 2024

Stay away from this software

Writing this post so others don't find themselves in the situation we're in today.

PROS

The pre-bills are electronic and mobile timekeeping.

CONS

Lack of support is always an issue with Centerbase. They make promises they never keep, reports always get broken even after fixing them, data doesn't feed at random times causing huge issues for accounting and following GAAP. Site is slow and randomly shows error messages for no reason when our internet speeds support any other site, so we know it's their site. Reporting is not condusive for a mid-sized firm.

Reason for choosing Centerbase

Seemed like a cost-effective, all-in one solution that synced with NetDocs and had custom reporting.

Daniel

Law Practice, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Centerbase Makes Life Easy!

It allows me to track my time and create billing records efficiently. I've been ver pleased with this product.

PROS

It suits my need as a single practitioner perfectly. A lot of thought was obviously given to making it user friendly.

CONS

My only minor concern was that after a relatively brief period during which I was learning to use this software, support services became less accessible.

Reasons for switching to Centerbase

I was told this product was less expensive and more suitable for my practice.

Sheila

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Robust & Flexible System

Overall, our initial experience was not good however, it is getting better.

PROS

It was a flexible and reliable system. There were more features to take advantage of regarding Centerbase.

CONS

The implementation, what was promise regarding our setup and support

Reason for choosing Centerbase

The features that was advertised and what the company promise they could assist and implement for the firm

Moira

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Amazing Product!

The customer service is amazing. The CEO is committed to learning from his customers and actively engages and listens to help make the product better every day.

PROS

Cloud based, user friendly, all in one practice management that integrates with document management software beautifully.

CONS

This software has really met every need.

Reasons for switching to Centerbase

It wasn't cloud based, it didn't integrate with our documents, it didn't allow for custom fields.

KATE

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Centerbase Transformed Our Legal Practice

PROS

increased our efficiency 10-fold with time keeping and document storage. We had a very clunky timekeeping software before that would crash frequently. So glad to have a better solution! They also have extremely helpful and responsive support, AND their willingness to hold our hands through a massive file migration was super impressive (and something that no competitors were willing to do.).

CONS

there can be little quirks with saving- especially with excel files- sometimes we have to save to our hard drive directly because it will glitch when saving an excel file on to center base. BUT- every time we have a missing file issue, their support jumps right on it.

Buck

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2019

Centerbase Review

PROS

It is easy to navigate. It is also very user friendly. We also like the billing function emails.

CONS

Difficult to update items that have been finalized like invoices.

Reason for choosing Centerbase

Centerbase could bill emails as they are sent.

Reasons for switching to Centerbase

Started new firm and was looking for software that could bill emails as they are sent.

Howard

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

The right choice for putting your practice in the cloud.

We migrated to Centerbase after reviewing a dozen practice management solutions. We left Practice Advantage and the move to the cloud and the import of our data was easy and accurate. Most of the interface is very user friendly and it was easy to train out timekeeper.

PROS

Centerbase is easy to use and fairly easy to configure. We email our invoices out directly from the software and it has cut days off of the time getting our invoices to our clients. There is integration with MS office that streamlines practice management. They have an app that most of our attorney find very helpful in tracking time and getting what they need.

CONS

Reporting can be a challenge but no more than most applications with lots of database. If what you want it in a canned report it is easy to get. If what you need isn't you need to engage a consultant (for a fee) to work with you. This is not unusual.

Reasons for switching to Centerbase

We wanted to stop paying for servers abnd licenses and the overhead of running locally hosted practice management software. We wanted to have our accounting integrated with our billing. Once Lexis dropped Billing Matters' accounting module we were double entering into two programs. Centerbase added efficiency and transparany throughout the offices.

Monica

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

CenterBase - a life/time saver

Overall the experience has been positive and decreased our billing time each month.

PROS

The matter dashboard helps me and any other user quickly asses the matter balances.

CONS

The accounting software. It is not user friendly and we had to switch back to QuickBooks.

Reason for choosing Centerbase

CenterBase promised it would integrate with QuickBooks (did not happen), LawPay and would have a client portal.

Reasons for switching to Centerbase

Centerbase is more functional

Kenneth

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Centerbase

PROS

Our firm has used Centerbase for over three years. During this time period, with the assistance of Centerbase, we have become more organized and efficient in our case management while increasing our overall billable hours. We are able to customize Centerbase to manage and track the data that is most helpful to our firm. The file management feature is also a major plus. Finally, the best part about Centerbase is the team behind the project. The Centerbase team has always been there when needed to assist with technical support.

CONS

In previous versions, the product had problems with lag. This problem has been addressed and fixed.

Reasons for switching to Centerbase

Centerbase was a better all around product that provided us with additional features that have been helpful in our firm's continued growth.

Cassie

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY