DiscoverLink Talent Software

4.67 / 5 (27)

About DiscoverLink Talent


DiscoverLink Talent is a cloud-based learning management system (LMS) that caters to small and midsize enterprises in the hospitality industry.

The system automates training-related administrative tasks, provides a real-time view of students’ progress using an LMS dashboard and offers reporting across various levels in the organization.

Managers can manage training, track certifications and reward high-performing employees in the platform. Users get real-time data relating to learning events and student progress through an integrated checklist and exam builder. It also provides e-learning courses, videos, audio files, images and web links.

DiscoverLink Talent integrates with human resources systems, which helps users register new employees. The solution primarily targets restaurants and has served brands like Applebee’s, Chili’s, Boulevard and Joe’s Crab Shack.



Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Web browser (OS agnostic)

27 Reviews of DiscoverLink Talent

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.67 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(20)

4 stars

(5)

3 stars

(2)

2 stars

(0)

1 stars

(0)

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1-20 of 27 reviews

Do you use this product?Write a review

January 2018

Jessicah from Moe's Southwest Grill

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2018

User Friendly, Adaptable, Support out of this world, Everything a restaurant brand needs

Pros

What I like most is the simplicity for the end users. From the management team having to assign a new profile, assign content, review history or make a transfer to our hourly employees logging in and completing the content, the process is simple to understand and to teach.

Next would be the content library. It is not always possible to bring in an instructional designer to build content from scratch or budget to have content built from a third party and with this software, there is no immediate need. You can dive right in and provide your teams, all levels, learning and development content immediately. This takes out the "O.K. I have purchased the software, now let's start building content to get the buy in from our operators and/or Franchisees".

Next would be the functionality to make things your own for your Brand. From how you design checklists, quizzes, tests to how you assign permissions within levels of hierarchy to give the management teams and owners the accountability over their restaurants dashboard and assignments.

There is so much more I want to brag about with Discover Link but they only give me so many words within this review and I have to be sure to let you know about the support team. It is like no other I have dealt with in my 25+ years in restaurants. They are caring, helpful, bring suggestions and ideas to the table as well as make you feel like a part of the family vs. being a client. I am so appreciative of each and everyone on the team!

Cons

I have no least favorite thing about this software because of the hard work and dedication of their team listening to the all their client family. We requested to have them build an app and our wish has come true. in 2018, we will be able to have an app available for the system. For us, this will open doors, windows and magic portals because we will be able to fulfill the "offline" resource content our Franchisees have requested, build a library with "Search" functionality so our operators can find things quickly and easily as things arise and so much more that just makes me smile inside and out. I know it is hard to believe that this software could be so great, but I encourage you to give it a chance.

January 2018

Braxton from Granite City Food ' Brewery

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2018

If it was not for this product our company would be less efficient! Used Daily!

From an organization standpoint- Employee engagement, Employee retention, increased value of Sales. Number, increased amount of knowledge learned. Tracking results through this software is also a huge benefit as it is very easy to do!

Pros

This software is user-friendly and easily accessible. It is not complicated like some other LMS out there. The options for different modules or LPs are very beneficial for a multi-unit organization. By far though would be the customer service. If you do not know something or have a question you do not have to call a 1-800 number. Your client services rep is only an email and phone call away with immediate response! WE LOVE THIS PRODUCT

Cons

It is not really what I like or least about this software it is more of improvements to be made. This company is on top of their game by listening to their customers and making changes to the software to benefit the customers. Occasionally we will run into technology issues within our organization with WIFI connectivity problems which hinders the ability to use discoverlink so that can be a downfall at times. Wishing this software could be used on a offline network would be extremely beneficial.

Response from DiscoverLink of DiscoverLink

Replied January 2018

Hi Braxton, thank you for this review and your feedback on offline use to help with connectivity issues.I wanted to let you know that the ability to take courses offline and synchronize once a connection is made is on our roadmap for this year. We will keep you posted when we get close to releasing that!

August 2017

Jason from Granite City Food and Brewery

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

August 2017

Great technology; easy to use and manage campus; customer service team is AMAZING at problem-solving

Training consistency. Quick updates to items that are time-sensitive to the field. Tracking of completion for compliance purposes and testing. Snapshot reporting (vs. "need to be in the location to see completion")

Pros

The to-do list ease of understanding and following.
The Dashboard functions for the different hierarchy levels of employees. It is so much easier to add/change/remove assignments.
The reporting functions have been a blessing for us to be able to understand and even predict business outcomes.

Cons

Having to be connected to internet to complete and get credit for content. I wish there was a way to complete it offline, and then when you connect it updates accordingly. Maybe it's available, or it's a pipe dream. But either way it would be awesome.

Response from DiscoverLink of DiscoverLink

Replied January 2018

Hi Jason, thank you for taking the time to complete this review and for your feedback on offline use to help with connectivity issues. I wanted to let you know that the ability to take courses offline and synchronize once a connection is made is on our roadmap for this year. We will keep you posted when we get close to releasing that!

January 2018

Neal from The Greene Turtle

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2018

Discoverlink is a great LMS with a number of courses available and an easy to use interface.

Pros

Overall the platform is really simple to use for administrators and end users. Discoverlink also has a number of service and compliance courses that will let you get off the ground quickly. Everyone on the Discoverlink team is also really easy to work with and very responsive.

Cons

The user interface is very functional and simple, but looks a little outdated. In the past three years we've also experienced a small handful of technical issues that were a little frustrating to work through. The tech team has always been very responsive with the issues, but I'd prefer not to have any issues to work through in the first place.

Response from DiscoverLink of DiscoverLink

Replied January 2018

Hi Neal, thank you for this review. I wanted to let you know that we will begin the process of rolling out a new user interface this quarter. We expect the underlying code to have improved stability as a result, which will mean fewer technical issues as well. We look forward to hearing your feedback once it's launched!

December 2017

Melanie from Rubio's Restaurants, Inc.

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

December 2017

I have been impressed from the start with my experience using Discoverlink.

I have achieved more consistency in training and better trackability of training completion. This allows me to report on training and see trends across the Company that correlate training to performance. Because the LMS is fairly new, I sometimes come across functionality that is "in development". The Discoverlink Team is very open about what can and can't be done. though, and are actively working to improve the product with client suggestions. I don't know as though these comments would be any different with other companies as the industry is constantly changing, however.

Pros

The software is easy to use. There are available user guides, but I often don't need them as it is intuitive. I absolutely love that I can easily customize many aspects of the LMS without a complicated "scope of work" and that the Discoverlink Team is open to new ideas and suggestions. From a user perspective, the LMS is graphic in nature and easy to navigate.

September 2017

Chad from Naf Naf Grill

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

September 2017

A great product and an experienced and friendly support staff

It gives us visibility into the status of the training of every person in our organization. It gives our operators the ability to direct training from anywhere. We have complex partial rollout schedules for new products and procedures that are hard to accomplish.

Pros

This platform is perfectly sized for our organization. It lacks the bloat of many LMSs while also providing all needed features. From the learner standpoint, it's dead simple to get into their learning and know exactly what they need to work on.

August 2017

Nate from Pizza Ranch, Inc.

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

August 2017

Easy to use for our managers and team members.

Pros

Simplicity of the website. I can easily assign courses to my users, and they immediately know what their requirements are.

Cons

Would like more mobile friendly. I think that in this day and age, there is a desire to be able to take the CBTs on a mobile device.

Response from DiscoverLink of DiscoverLink

Replied August 2017

Hi Nate, Thanks for the review. We just wanted to make sure you were aware that DiscoverLink Talent is mobile-enabled. Many of our clients are using it on mobile devices. If you have any questions, feel free to contact your Client Services Manager.

January 2018

Dave from Lehigh Valley Restaurant Group

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2018

Extremely easy to use and intuitive. Discoverlink is simple, yet powerful.

Pros

The support infrastructure that Discoverlink offers is second to none. There are multiple layers of support individuals that make the implementation easy. The software is very simple but powerful. What you think it should be able to do, it does and you don't have to think hard about it. It is set up logically and makes creation of programs very easy. If you have any familiarity with flash based builders, this will be a breeze. The cost is also extremely affordable, especially considering the support that comes with the program. Discoverlink is also continually evolving and seeks input from its users so that they can be responsive to the client wants and needs

Cons

The only thing I can say is that the "off the shelf" products are a little dated and could use a little more substance. However, the custom content creation tools far outweigh this very minor issue.

Response from DiscoverLink of DiscoverLink

Replied January 2018

Hi Dave, thank you for taking the time to provide this review and for the feedback on some of our library courses. I wanted to let you know that we are in the process of updating many of our older courses, often tightening up the content and making them more interactive. I will ask a member of our Content Development team to reach out to you to get feedback on specific courses so we can try to address some of your concerns as we're going through this process.

August 2017

Mike from McAlister's Deli

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

August 2017

Very easy to use, incredible support, and the user interface is great!

learners are better equipped in a shorter time frame.

Pros

User Friendliness. Access and tracking capabilities are superior to other offerings. The support provided by Discoverlink is outstanding in every way.

Cons

Filters. Providing access to learning modules is important to our Franchise Community, but many prefer to customize in some regard. This can sometimes cause complexities in viewing tiers.

August 2017

Jeremy from Pizza Ranch Inc

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

August 2017

We've been using DiscoverLink for a few years now, and it just works. It does what you want it to.

Able to easily track learning for our thousands of team members across multiple states.

Pros

Ease of use to admin, and for our managers and team members to use. Easy to upload courses, and their library of courses are great as well.

Cons

I consider myself a power user and would like to see more admin rights, but the customer service is always willing to help out and fix things that I can't do myself.

December 2017

Alex from Taco Mac

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

December 2017

The system functions well as an electronic database to track completions and compliance.

Tracking completion of important docs, assignments, curriculums, etc.

Pros

Track completions and compliance, Individual users, easy to add users, data pulls from our HRIS to upload new hires.

Cons

It's already looking outdated. Millennials think it's from the stone age. Server connectivity fails and credit for completion gets lost.

Response from DiscoverLink of DiscoverLink

Replied January 2018

Hi Alex, thank you for taking the time to complete this review and for your feedback on the user interface and completion issues. I wanted to let you know that we will begin the process of rolling out a new user interface this quarter, and later this year we will be providing ability to take courses offline and synchronize once a connection is made. I hope these enhancements will address your concerns. We look forward to your feedback!

January 2018

Lauren from Texas Roadhouse

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2018

Discoverlink makes uploading courses a breeze and customer service is the best I've ever worked with

Pros

The functionality and ease of use is what sold us on this LMS. It's incredibly user friendly for our hourly employees to complete courses, tests and checklists efficiently,

Cons

I wish the leaderboard and badges were a little more interactive. Most of our employees don't even notice that they earn badges.

Response from DiscoverLink of DiscoverLink

Replied January 2018

Hi Lauren, thank you for taking the time to complete this review, and for the feedback on the badges/ trophy case functionality. I wanted to let you know that we will begin rolling out a new user interface this quarter that includes some significant enhancements to the trophy case, including the ability for managers to award a customized "kudos" badge. We can't wait to get your feedback on it!

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2018

Excellent Customer Service and Easy to Use

We are thrilled to be able to offer consistent training in all of our 75+ locations!

Pros

Our implementation and ongoing service team are the BEST! They go above and beyond! We had weekly calls as well as consistent email communication. They had great suggestions on what content types would work best for each lesson, which resulted in a really fun and interactive finished learning program.

Cons

Randomly, some of the screens do not have a customizable background. Otherwise, this software is fantastic and VERY user friendly!

Response from DiscoverLink of DiscoverLink

Replied January 2018

Hello, thank you for providing this review and for the feedback on customizing background on certain screens. Currently, in addition to the custom login page and the ability to define colors on the To-do list, you can customize background images in exams, surveys, and performance reviews. We'd love to hear more about what you have in mind for custom backgrounds on other screens. If you'd like to send me your ideas I will be happy to forward them to our development team.

August 2017

Molly from Donatos

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

2 of 5

August 2017

Product is okay

Pros

Our customer support is amazing. The support staff is the best asset you have to support questions and help trouble shoot issues. We have appreciated his contribution to our efforts.

Cons

Reporting is lacking and Discoverlink is behind the industry based on our research and networking with others in the industry

Response from DiscoverLink of DiscoverLink

Replied January 2018

Hi Molly, thank you for taking the time to complete this review and for providing feedback on reporting. I wanted to let you know that we will begin rolling out a new user interface this quarter which includes some nice reporting enhancements, including graphical charts. In addition, we can create custom reports and add dashboard statistics to meet specific requirements. If you'd like to explore either of those options, please contact your Account Manager. We'd love to hear your ideas on other features you'd like to see us add to our development roadmap as well. Feel free to send me any comments and I'll be happy to forward them on to our development team as enhancement requests for future consideration. Thanks again!

December 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

December 2017

DiscoverLink Talent meets all of my needs and those of my learners.

DiscoverLink Talent is a great program to use and is easy on the budget. This program works well on tablets and phones but will work even better when the new app is fully functional.

Pros

This product allows me to upload a great deal of personalized content for my learners to use. It is also quite literally the easiest program for administrators and learners to use.

December 2017

Gerald from America's Incredible Pizza Company

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

December 2017

Absolutely the BEST Learning Management System Host in the industry!

Providing a real-time view into the training status completion, from either a summary to a detailed report, discoverlink provides it for any leader from anywhere in the world. For the employee, its incredibly simple to understand what is required for completion of the learning program.

Pros

Amazing Customer Support!! Not only will they answer your inquiries in a VERY timely manner, but will go out of their way to take suggestions from the field on how to improve this already outstanding product.

January 2019

Sandy from Ethan Stowell Restaurants

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2019

DiscoverLink is a great tool for our Restaurant!

Pros

DiscoverLink is user friendly and the Compliance Courses are Restaurant based. Which is so nice for our industry. The ease for employees to take the course is great. And the customer support is always on top of things if we need them.

Cons

Some of the courses looks feel a little outdated. The employees have asked when if DiscoverLink would change the looks of the videos to "2018". Instead of looking like 1980.

Response from DiscoverLink of DiscoverLink

Replied January 2019

Hi Sandy, thank you so much for taking the time to provide this review. We appreciate your candid feedback on the courses you license from us. We would love to hear what aspects of the courses feel outdated, so a member of our content development team will be reaching out to you soon for more details. Please note that we are constantly adding to and updating our library courses, and one of the benefits of your subscription is that you will automatically receive updates whenever new versions are released.

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

January 2018

The software works well, and the customer service is a point of differentiation.

Pros

Intuitive to use, and has appropriate flexibility to accommodate the needs of our franchise community. The responsiveness and support for questions and ideation is outstanding.

Cons

Standard reporting features are pretty rigid at the multi-unit level. To make information quickly actionable, reporting and dashboards may be worth customizing.

Response from DiscoverLink of DiscoverLink

Replied January 2018

Hello, thank you for providing this review and for the feedback on reporting. I wanted to make sure you were aware that we are able to customize a dashboard view that includes key dynamic statistics applicable to each level of the hierarchy. If you'd like to learn more about this option, please contact your Account Manager. Also, we will be rolling out a new user interface starting in Q1 that has improved reporting functionality, including graphical representations.

September 2017

Stephanie from Tudors Biscuit World

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

September 2017

Our training has become more consistent and our employees more knowledgable

Consistency within our company is the biggest benefit of using Discoverlink. We are able to hold our employees more accountable to our compliance policies as well as our different skill positions.

Pros

Ease of Use and the support I've received from Discoverlink. I was able to ask questions at any time of the day and get a quick response.

September 2017

Neil from LYFE Kitchen

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

September 2017

DiscoverLink is the best LMS I have ever used.

Pros

I most enjoy their library of available training modules. This has allowed me to rollout a program instantly while I integrate more brand specific training as it is created.

Cons

There's not much bad to say about it. Sometimes the modules can stall out and take too long to load up in a browser but with the transition to HTML5 this has happened far less frequently.