User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

3.92

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer Support

3.5

Value for money

3.5

Functionality

4

  • icon"Has the ability for performance management (have not yet implemented). Quick and easy upgrades to software."
  • icon"My company uses encompass 360 on a daily basis. It's easy to learn and navigate through."
  • icon"Encompass's ability to integrate with other programs and software is a huge benefit. To be able to access external sites and partners within this system is such a time saver."
  • icon"We have had issues in the past of some documents not uploading correctly (being corrupted), and it was a pain the track these documents down."
  • icon"The app is obsolete and needs to be completely replaced."
  • icon"Locks you into their vendors or you get charged excessively. In addition, it takes hiring one to two certified programmers to keep the programming running while paying excessively."

Browse all Encompass Reviews

  • Have you used Encompass and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 36 reviews

User Profile

Heather

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2022

Don't expect to learn this software quickly

I received the trial version of this software back in 2000, while I was using a very user friendly software that this software has put them almost out of business. I was so excited about this software when I was running my own small business but I couldn't even get anyone to tell me how much it cost because they wouldn't talk to me, in addition, it hadn't been fully released just yet. I am a mortgage loan processor. I have worked for companies that are lenders and brokers, plus ran my own small company. I have worked for approximately 5 mortgage companies, but only one of the 5 had the assets and server to run it. In addition, server size and assets are not the only requirements to run this software, you need in house admins that have a lot of experience with this software.

Pros

What I like most about this software it has the ability to do anything you set up for it to do but with a high price and very educated admin needed.

Cons

The price of this software is not even available publicly and what is required to run this software is very much hidden from the public.

Reasons for switching to Encompass

I did not intentionally switch, I only switched because I had to take a full time W2 position at a mortgage company. Only one of the five mortgage companies I worked for could afford this product.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

December 2018

Encompass Review by Mortgage Operations Professional

Encompass is a solid tool for originating mortgage loans, especially when selling to FNMA or FHLMC. It provides convenience in terms of one place to keep all loan files, including those with adverse action notices and closed and sold loans. The functionality can take time to master, but it is simple enough once you know your way around.

Pros

It was a great tool for tracking loans from origination to closing and beyond. The disclosure tracking system ensures compliance with all applicable laws and regulations. The ability to run AUS, order appraisals, and obtain VOEs and other third-party documentation was convenient and efficient.

Cons

The formatting was a little archaic. The methods for searching were not always user friendly and it was hard to know if everything I was attempting to search for was being pulled up. Some forms could not be edited while certain windows were opened, which was inconvenient.

J

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2016

Good software but...

I have used Encompass at several different companies. In each case, it is set up differently causing a huge learning curve. I realize that it is designed to be customizable to each company but it is TOO customizable. It needs to be more standardized because the admins who support it (as best they can) spend to much time chasing down problems and compliance issues. When a group of admins have had to create their on group online to discuss problems because they are not getting support from the company that's pretty bad. Apparently, the strength of this software is the servicing side which I am not familiar with. The origination side is clunky compared to Point, Genesis, Byte, Dorado and others I have used in my 33 years in the business.

Pros

Good on the servicing side

Cons

Software is too busy and visually unorganized and not user friendly or intuitive.

User Profile

Michael

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2022

Robust and 2nd to none. the long standing standard

overall, this is the tried and true platform that overall has a set of features that puts it ahead of the competition.

Pros

the document management and the dashboard customization are probably the biggest features that stand out on the platform

Cons

if you don't save often enough, you lose your work - highly annoying. it does not have integrated income calculation worksheets. I realize this changes often, but it seems that integrated income calculations would be a great addition since it is used daily.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2019

Great Origination LOS for Mortgage Lenders

Anyone who can take a 1003 application will find this system a breeze to use. It is easy for an originator who is not computer savvy to use without too much system training.

Pros

This program is based online so you can access your client's loan from anywhere and work from any location. The ability to merge, duplicate, and split files makes this an incredible LOS to work in since loan scenarios can change at any time.

Cons

If you do not have internet or have an internet outage, you will not be able to access the software.

Robert

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

August 2022

Daily User

Slow and lacking in a true flow process

Pros

Integration with DU/LP, Credit, pipeline management

Cons

This software has very time consuming issue with custom documents and file saving. . .

Reasons for switching to Encompass

Cooperate

Kara

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

August 2019

Lots of in-house work & cost

It is a system necessary to complete the origination and training.

Pros

Does have some cool features especially around state disasters and other triggers and red flags to help identify issues which are more ancillary.

Cons

Locks you into their vendors or you get charged excessively. In addition, it takes hiring one to two certified programmers to keep the programming running while paying excessively.

ELLIOTT

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

March 2018

I've used this software in two different companies over the past ten years.

At the end of the day there's an audit trail to see who may have worked on the respective loan.

Pros

Navigating is simple enough, especially when the IT folks in-house have real industry experience up front in setting the system up during the initial launch as a platform.

Cons

Lockout periods, poor performance metrics, outdated. System has default coding that flags user scenario situations and causes intermittent lockouts causing delays, and necessitating ADMIN outreach to override. Customer service folks are slow to respond. Lack of urgency.

User Profile

Jason

Verified reviewer

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2018

Encompass 360 is the Cadillac of loan origination systems if you can get it to work.

Pros

I like all the bells and whistles the loan origination software includes. The system is customizable from every aspect.

Cons

I do not like the Ellie Mae hosting of the data servers. Their servers are very inconsistent. Also, there are issues when more than 1 person enters the loan.

David

Verified reviewer

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2018

A very robust tool for loans officers and loan professionals when determining loan options and UW

Pros

very flexible and customer service is very good. They are very attentive to requests and are able to timely rectify problems with viable solutions

Cons

Not enough conferences to attend. The conferences are a wealth of information and would like to see them more often

Vinny

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2019

Versatile and powerful

I've used several different LOS products and Encompass is by far the best and most versatile program out there.

Pros

Encompass's ability to integrate with other programs and software is a huge benefit. To be able to access external sites and partners within this system is such a time saver. It can also be customized and adjusted to suite your needs.

Cons

There is a slight delay when saving information.

Tony

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

Encompass does it all

Origination software that organizes and maintains the file throughout the process. Allows for complete paperless offices.

Pros

The features that are most impactful is the ability for all levels of the loan process to be able to work on a file without security issues. Each department has its own permissions so there is no concern for file manipulation.

Cons

The number of features can be overwhelming for new users. It is complex and niche driven. It is very expensive so there isn't universal acceptance in the industry due to the barrier to entry for smaller shops.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

September 2020

Encompass or Caylyx?

I give it an 8 out of 10. Encompass takes a while to learn, and if you are new to the industry - it can be a pain to learn this system and how to sell/the process

Pros

You might be wondering what LOS to use. I do recommend Encompass as it has many integrations with pricing and pulling credit. You can completely work in Encompass with minor use of a CRM.

Cons

I do like using a CRM often. It is great for keeping track, but you cant make any custom fields or access notes/convo log quickly.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

Best mortgage software I have ever used.

My experience has been positive. I find it a lot easier than other mortgage software systems.

Pros

I like the reporting functions of the software. The ability to order third party services such as flood certificates, appraisals, compliance checks is top-notch. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] does a good job of releases updates and support.

Cons

Only one person can work in a file at a time. It would be nice if at least two people could work in a file at once.

Kelly

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2020

Encompassing Visions Software

The benefit of using this software is time management, software provides automated job descriptions, correct competencies which align with core values. Interview guides with the correct competencies for each job. Exceptional customer service.

Pros

Easy to evaluate all jobs/positions provide correct competencies for each job. Job descriptions/interview guides are also ready to print once you have completed the evaluation. Easy to customize. Has the ability for performance management (have not yet implemented) Quick and easy upgrades to software.

Cons

The only issue I have would be to increase the points between each pay band.

Reasons for choosing Encompass

Unaware of other products.

Reasons for switching to Encompass

Automated job evaluation, automated job descriptions, previously used a manual evaluation tool and updated job descriptions manually.

William

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

August 2016

Poor Performance and Customer Service

I'm an IT professional who hates this antiquated software with a passion. The performance is horrible and has customer support to match. Regardless of the issue, their answer is to add more RAM. Their data center is crashing? Not theirs but yours for not having 24GB of RAM per machine. Their app is 32-bit so it can't even use more than 4 GB. I attended the Ellie Mae conference trying to get an idea of what others did to improve performance. Their response was that you should just learn to deal with it because Ellie Mae won't acknowledge issues.

Pros

Nothing comes to mind. I'm currently looking at other options to replace Encompass.

Cons

Everything. The app is obsolete and needs to be completely replaced. Ellie Mae lacks the expertise to host a data center and it shows. Most days their IT staff have no idea an issue is occurring. Customer support's default reply is "no one else has complained" until they realize it is a wide spread issue and only then do they take any sort of half hearted action. When Encompass crashes, and it will frequently, there is nothing you can do but restart your process.

Selueni

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2020

Very Slow

the slowness of the system is very problematic and causes my work to run inefficiently

Pros

everything i need is mostly inside of encompass - very convenient.

Cons

Very Slow - the system lags to load and login, it lags to get inside a new file and is slow overall.

Anonymous

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2018

I'm a daily user

Pros

Easy to organize and search, run reports. I like that you can store additional paperwork in the efolder and assign specific user roles

Cons

It can be very slow if a lot of users are on at once. Maybe due to server issues or internal network

Anonymous

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY