User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

3.5 / 5

Customer Support

3.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(9)

9

4 stars

(9)

9

3 stars

(5)

5

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "very flexible and customer service is very good. They are very attentive to requests and are able to timely rectify problems with viable solutions"

  • "ellie mae has fantastic support for any questions or troubleshooting"

  • "Easy to organize and search, run reports. I like that you can store additional paperwork in the efolder and assign specific user roles"

  • Cons

  • "Not enough conferences to attend. The conferences are a wealth of information and would like to see them more often "

  • "Least like about software is when there is an update there are always glitches "

  • "make sure you have proper bandwidth, takes a lot of resources. "

Browse Encompass Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -25 of 25 results

June 2018

David from DeCaro Luxury Real Estate Auctions, Inc.

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

A very robust tool for loans officers and loan professionals when determining loan options and UW

Pros

very flexible and customer service is very good. They are very attentive to requests and are able to timely rectify problems with viable solutions

Cons

Not enough conferences to attend. The conferences are a wealth of information and would like to see them more often

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2018

Encompass Review by Mortgage Operations Professional

Encompass is a solid tool for originating mortgage loans, especially when selling to FNMA or FHLMC. It provides convenience in terms of one place to keep all loan files, including those with adverse action notices and closed and sold loans. The functionality can take time to master, but it is simple enough once you know your way around.

Pros

It was a great tool for tracking loans from origination to closing and beyond. The disclosure tracking system ensures compliance with all applicable laws and regulations. The ability to run AUS, order appraisals, and obtain VOEs and other third-party documentation was convenient and efficient.

Cons

The formatting was a little archaic. The methods for searching were not always user friendly and it was hard to know if everything I was attempting to search for was being pulled up. Some forms could not be edited while certain windows were opened, which was inconvenient.

January 2020

Erik from Bethany Baptist Church

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

from the perspective of an applicant

Encompass helped with communication and greatly simplified the mortgage application process.

Pros

I was very impressed with how easily this software handled the entire process of my mortgage application. This program made it much quicker and easier than the last time I did this with meetings, faxes, and lots of paper.

Cons

The interface seems a little dated. Some of the text is very small. The navigation seems a little weird in places, like, it took me a while to figure out who the provider of the software is.

November 2019

Vinny from AMEC Home Loans

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Versatile and powerful

I've used several different LOS products and Encompass is by far the best and most versatile program out there.

Pros

Encompass's ability to integrate with other programs and software is a huge benefit. To be able to access external sites and partners within this system is such a time saver. It can also be customized and adjusted to suite your needs.

Cons

There is a slight delay when saving information.

July 2016

J from PM

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2016

Good software but...

I have used Encompass at several different companies. In each case, it is set up differently causing a huge learning curve. I realize that it is designed to be customizable to each company but it is TOO customizable. It needs to be more standardized because the admins who support it (as best they can) spend to much time chasing down problems and compliance issues. When a group of admins have had to create their on group online to discuss problems because they are not getting support from the company that's pretty bad. Apparently, the strength of this software is the servicing side which I am not familiar with. The origination side is clunky compared to Point, Genesis, Byte, Dorado and others I have used in my 33 years in the business.

Pros

Good on the servicing side

Cons

Software is too busy and visually unorganized and not user friendly or intuitive.

August 2019

Kara from Mid America Mortgage, Inc.

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Lots of in-house work & cost

It is a system necessary to complete the origination and training.

Pros

Does have some cool features especially around state disasters and other triggers and red flags to help identify issues which are more ancillary.

Cons

Locks you into their vendors or you get charged excessively. In addition, it takes hiring one to two certified programmers to keep the programming running while paying excessively.

March 2018

ELLIOTT from Prior Veterans United Home Loans & USAA

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

March 2018

I've used this software in two different companies over the past ten years.

At the end of the day there's an audit trail to see who may have worked on the respective loan.

Pros

Navigating is simple enough, especially when the IT folks in-house have real industry experience up front in setting the system up during the initial launch as a platform.

Cons

Lockout periods, poor performance metrics, outdated. System has default coding that flags user scenario situations and causes intermittent lockouts causing delays, and necessitating ADMIN outreach to override. Customer service folks are slow to respond. Lack of urgency.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Best mortgage software I have ever used.

My experience has been positive. I find it a lot easier than other mortgage software systems.

Pros

I like the reporting functions of the software. The ability to order third party services such as flood certificates, appraisals, compliance checks is top-notch. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] does a good job of releases updates and support.

Cons

Only one person can work in a file at a time. It would be nice if at least two people could work in a file at once.

April 2018

Jason from Caliber Home Loans, Inc.

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Encompass 360 is the Cadillac of loan origination systems if you can get it to work.

Pros

I like all the bells and whistles the loan origination software includes. The system is customizable from every aspect.

Cons

I do not like the Ellie Mae hosting of the data servers. Their servers are very inconsistent. Also, there are issues when more than 1 person enters the loan.

May 2019

Jason from Parkside Lending, LLC

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Encompass is a DUD

Pros

Encompass has many features which makes the system very versatile.

Cons

I do not like the software because it is very slow for the end user. Also, all the features makes the software overwhelming at times.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Great Origination LOS for Mortgage Lenders

Anyone who can take a 1003 application will find this system a breeze to use. It is easy for an originator who is not computer savvy to use without too much system training.

Pros

This program is based online so you can access your client's loan from anywhere and work from any location. The ability to merge, duplicate, and split files makes this an incredible LOS to work in since loan scenarios can change at any time.

Cons

If you do not have internet or have an internet outage, you will not be able to access the software.

August 2016

William from Murray IT Consulting

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

August 2016

Poor Performance and Customer Service

I'm an IT professional who hates this antiquated software with a passion. The performance is horrible and has customer support to match. Regardless of the issue, their answer is to add more RAM. Their data center is crashing? Not theirs but yours for not having 24GB of RAM per machine. Their app is 32-bit so it can't even use more than 4 GB. I attended the Ellie Mae conference trying to get an idea of what others did to improve performance. Their response was that you should just learn to deal with it because Ellie Mae won't acknowledge issues.

Pros

Nothing comes to mind. I'm currently looking at other options to replace Encompass.

Cons

Everything. The app is obsolete and needs to be completely replaced. Ellie Mae lacks the expertise to host a data center and it shows. Most days their IT staff have no idea an issue is occurring. Customer support's default reply is "no one else has complained" until they realize it is a wide spread issue and only then do they take any sort of half hearted action. When Encompass crashes, and it will frequently, there is nothing you can do but restart your process.

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

I'm a daily user

Pros

Easy to organize and search, run reports. I like that you can store additional paperwork in the efolder and assign specific user roles

Cons

It can be very slow if a lot of users are on at once. Maybe due to server issues or internal network

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2018

Encompass is a necessary evil.

Pros

It provides us with the ability to create loan applications, and that's about all it is good for.

Cons

It is very "clunky" and not even sort of user friendly. It is slow as heck and well behind the times technology-wise.

December 2018

Nichole from Residential home funding

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Thes best for mortgage agreed

Pros

This is the best software for mortgages easy to use and user friendly

Cons

Least like about software is when there is an update there are always glitches

October 2019

Stephen from Banking

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

My favorite LOS

I love this system. When searching for a new LOS system I used Encompass as my bass comparison and no one could match all the needs and wants that Encompass could.

Pros

Encompass is my favorite Loan Origination System (LOS). It allows you to customize it to your business needs, helps maintain compliance and more. It integrates with several other systems saving lots of time.

Cons

When you create new rules/ edits/ requirements it does not put them on existing files. They will only apply to new loan files.

Reasons for Choosing Encompass

The features of Encompass couldnt be matched!

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Great support

Pros

ellie mae has fantastic support for any questions or troubleshooting

Cons

make sure you have proper bandwidth, takes a lot of resources.

May 2019

Rana from Ideal Lending Solutions, a Division of AFN, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

Encompass

Pros

ease of use and description of tabs is a plus

Cons

the latency issues with this software is too much- needs a faster process

October 2017

Ashanti from Mortgage management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2017

Decent

Pros

My company uses encompass 360 on a daily basis. It's easy to learn and navigate through. It houses multiple functions.

Cons

We tend to have system errors on occasion & pop ups which cause you to abort frequently. It rather frustrating.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Fantastic

Pros

I love how easy it is to use and customize to your needs. It is also nice te be able to truat the functions it already performs and why iy perfoms them that way.

Cons

I am not sure I have something I dont like. Maybe that in admin reports you have to keep building reports vs being able to use one report that just refreshes with data

January 2019

Justin from Advisors Mortgage Group, LLC

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Encompass 360

Pros

The software was very user friendly and if set up correctly would send out automatic emails to the respective parties, this helped keep everyone on the same page during the loan process.

Cons

Encompass 360 offers a conversation log that any user can utilize for notes; however it didn't allow notes to be updated, you have to put a new note in each time.

June 2017

Jenn from Nhs of LA County

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Outstanding product

Pros

This software is really easy to use and has never given me any issues. I will continue to use this software.

December 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Best software in the mortgage industry

Pros

Encompass has customizable features including different templates to fit our company needs. It is the leading software in the mortgage industry for a reason! It aids us in the loan process all the way to close and the reporting feature is great.

Cons

The LO websites are outdated and are due for a major update. Reporting such as website metrics are also limited.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Wish I was still using Encompass

Pros

Easy to use, lots of functionality throughout the software. Interface is updated.

Cons

Nothing bad to say, a mortgage tool that is actually up to date.

December 2018

Gregory from LP

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2018

Encompass

Pros

It does everything you need, but not well

Cons

its not really a great in program experience