User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(30)

30

4 stars

(8)

8

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Great price. Easy to use interface. Custom loan invoices. Very easy to get customer support when needed."

  • "Affordable and easy to install . No bug and no high costs developping. Time for training was very low and everyone was happy to use a so powerfull tool."

  • "I love that this software is user friendly, easy to use, to learn and to manage the loan data."

  • Cons

  • "Would like more video tutorials as we probably only use a fraction of the software's capability. We find video tutorials more effective than most manuals."

  • "So far, this software is perfect for our Company; the only inconvenient I have experienced is that when listing several payments due on the same date, the report only takes the first listed amount."

  • "The only regret is that I didn't buy it sooner."

Browse Margill Loan Manager Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -11 of 39 results

December 2017

Abneesh from FlexFi Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

We have been using MarGill for over 4 years and are very satisfied with the services provided.

Pros

The software is user friendly and regular updates with new features are provided. It is very flexible to meet your business model and you can customize the reports to what you want to see. Usually there are pre-set reports in other softwares and I personally love this feature. They provide exceptional Customer Service. Questions and concerns are addressed right away. It is the Best cost to value software out there in the industry.

Cons

The only thing I gave 4 stars was at Features and Functionality, the software has improved a lot over the past years and our feedback and is always listened to and added on to the next update. Cust support and the team have been continuously evolving the software.

December 2017

Steve from Charing Capital

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Excellent software with great support

Pros

We have used Margill for 3 years to monitor our growing private mortgage and auto loan business. We have hundreds of loans under management. We are a family office with our own money at risk. We would not use a software product that didn't deliver the information we need. We have been very happy with the software and the excellent support service and will continue to expand our licence as our business grows. If the software doesn't meet someone's requirement during a demo period so be it. It happens every day. I do have an issue when I read someone posting a negative review on this site and suggesting that my company's satisfaction (after a thousand hours of use) is not real and that other reviewers have knowingly posted positive misleading reviews. Pure nonsense. And it really speaks volumes about the character of that reviewer to frame their comments this way.

Cons

Would like more video tutorials as we probably only use a fraction of the software's capability. We find video tutorials more effective than most manuals.

Response from Jurismedia

Replied December 2017

Thanks for the comment Steve. As for videos, we are starting our little collection which you can see in the Support Center: www.margill.com/en/support-center/. The Support Center also has our blog in which we regularly answer user questions. Many good questions in there!

February 2018

Roxann from Radiant capital solutions limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2018

Good product

Pros

The developers are easily reached to assist you with any problems with the program. It is backed by it's developer

Cons

The program is really expensive the cost could be lowered significantly though offering a standard fee

Response from Marc

Replied February 2018

Thank you for the review. I do understand that you being based in Jamaica, the price may seem slightly high because of the currency exchange, but Margill is one the most affordable software out there starting at less than $2000. I'm a little surprised by your 3.5 stars. Seems because of the price...

December 2017

Sheri from Loans

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Utilize software to administer 4500+ client mortgage files. This software has been exceptional.

Pros

Margill representatives have been very good with us. Pros are ease of entry of information onto the system, ease of creation of custom reports for export and merge(s), flexibility of the software/program providing options for subsidized loan payments, actual loan payments and ability to enter multiple interest rates and ability to change interest rates as well as the feature to have multiple loans under one client (borrower). We have been using this software since 2012 and it has been flexible enough to accommodate loans and mortgages with very specific idiosyncrasies. Any and all issues encountered with the software and/or system performance have been resolved in a timely/professional manner by Margill representatives.

Cons

We have experienced a few minor performance issues over the years, however, they have been dealt with and addressed satisfactorily in a timely manner each time with great support from Margill representatives. We have been able to access and use the software everyday since installation with any downtime being minutes to hours, not days. WE CAN NOT AFFORD ANY DOWNTIME WITH OUR LOAN SYSTEM.

December 2017

Luke from Cash Direct

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Positive for the whole time we have used it

Simple, low cost solution. Great for a start up or small business to manage all types of loans. It has helped us grow out customer base substantially and keep clear records of all the transactions.

Pros

The ability to add-in unlimited fields for information gathering, record keeping and future analytics is really helpful. The calculations are correct and there are variations to the standard loan amortisation calculations which suites some alternate situations. Most of all we have really appreciated the high level of support provided by the Margill team and the low cost to implement and use the software.

Cons

Simply that is was a new system and therefore just navigating around it was a unique experience but if you can get used to all the shortcuts etc it is actually really simple. The main item we miss is the ability to access within a web browser as it needs to be hosted somewhere. The offset of this is you, the user, have more security of data.

January 2019

Arlyn from Ainsworth Game Technology

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Gambling & Casinos

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Excellent Software for Loan Management

Margill Loan Manager has simplified the way we manage our loans, saving us time as we don't have to create separate Excel amortization tables or go to a separate documents to post interests; we can keep all the loan information in just one place, and the information/reports are accurate. Great software and excellent customer service!

Pros

I love that this software is user friendly, easy to use, to learn and to manage the loan data.

Cons

So far, this software is perfect for our Company; the only inconvenient I have experienced is that when listing several payments due on the same date, the report only takes the first listed amount.

Response from Jurismedia

Replied January 2019

Thanks for this Arlyn. As for your issue, I think you are choosing the field called "Next Due Payment". The software looks for the next Due payment but can only take the first one it sees. We rarely see multiple Due payments on the same day - these would usually be combined to one due amount. We can talk about your particular need together and why you do it this way. Will call you.

February 2018

Michel from Cliffton Group inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Responding to our needs in Loan MANAGING. Very user friendly.

Help our co. to expand faster and help every department to improve quality work.

Pros

Affordable and easy to install . No bug and no high costs developping. Time for training was very low and everyone was happy to use a so powerfull tool.

Cons

Letters and documents should be improved as .doc instead of .rtf , but it is working like it is. We would have purchase this software many years before if we knew it was available on the market.

Response from Jurismedia

Replied February 2018

Thank you for this Mr. Desjardins. The good news, in our version 4.4 now being released, we have vastly improved the document merge module and can now merge to Word (and PDF of course) and can even include start-of-loan-to-date, year-to-date and previous reporting period data in your statements .

December 2017

Mickey from CaseMark Financial

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

The Margill team is very responsive and has demonstrated flexibility whenever needed.

Pros

Our company needed custom software that was difficult to find in the open market - we chose to purchase Margill which did not meet our exact needs out of the box, however, the team crafted a customized solution that has served us well. Cust Support and the team understand client needs and provide a personalized experience.

Cons

It would be great if the software evolved to have some more CRM functions in the future. Otherwise, as far as a loan management system is concerned, this is a good option.

September 2017

Darla from Sabes Family Foundation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

The best customer service!!

Pros

The flexibility to handle multiple types of loans from promissory notes to leases. When I purchase software, the most important thing is customer service. On any given date, I can email, and I always get a response within 30 minutes, How wonderful is that!!!

Cons

Improvements need to be made in the custom report writer. I wish there were more standard reports available, as I don't have time to custom design.

Response from Jurismedia

Replied September 2017

Thanks for this Darla. You're putting pressure on us with the 30 minute support! Ouch ;-) We always try our best! As for reports, we do have standard templates for the most common needs, but reporting requirements from one company to the next range dramatically. That's why Margill includes over 1000 fields from which to create custom reports. Marc

December 2016

Pauline from Prescott-Russell Community Development Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Review for Margill Loan Manager software

The Prescott-Russell Community Development Corporation (PRCDC) has been using Margill Loan Manager software since 2013. With Margill, we can create reports for all our needs and the needs of our clients, whether for a general or specific report, with the huge field base, equation management, standard or tailored reports. The calculation tables (depreciation) are clear and very precise. Even tasks such as correspondence, databases, global calculations, individual calculations, and billing are done with ease. It is a user-friendly, professional software, and a charm. We would also like to note that the support of the Margill team was and is still phenomenal and on behalf of the SDCPR, we thank you.

December 2017

Kevin from Cortland Capital Group LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

This program is Great!! And Tech support /customer service have been A+++!

This program makes my business so much easier. The daily record keeping and reports are everything I need.

Pros

The program is easy to use and integrated so I only have to make entries once. The reports are great! When my server crashed Margill was right on top of saving all my data. I couldn't be happier with the program and the support!

December 2017

Charles from Driven Brands

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Helped automate 2 significant customer payment processes

Automation of 2 manual processes for tracking customer loan payments

Pros

The software implements best practices and provides multiple ways to handle loans and customer payments

Cons

Integration with a mid-tier ERP system was complex and required some customization from the vendor to give us the information we needed

December 2017

Elenor from Woodmaster Tools, Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Transferred from very old software for long term receivables to Margill

Secure and accurate system for our long term receivables.

Pros

I like the ease of use and accuracy in computing interest and terms. The reporting aspect is great and provides all the information I need to close the accounting period.

Cons

I do not have any dislikes in the system and am looking forward to when the Margill software will be fully interfaced with my general ledger.

December 2017

Aynsley from LK Law

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Lovely customer service for inexpensive interest calculating software

Calculate interest on disbursements for a law firm personal injury practice.

Pros

The price for quality on this software is tremendous. We had quotes that were 4X as much. It's a simple software that basically anyone can learn. I have people with very little experience, learning how to calculate interest with this software. The customer service has been incredible and we were trained up incredibly quick. They respond fast when we indicate that we're having trouble and generally answer our question on the first response.

January 2019

Stephanie from Farrow Finance

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

WE are loving this software!

We are very pleased with Margill. It has simplified our Loan accounting and helped us eliminate the need for many spreadsheet and data outside the software.

Pros

simplicity with so many advanced features and options, easy to learn, easy to export and makes accounting for loans a breeze

Cons

The only regret is that I didn't buy it sooner.

December 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

We are a group of investors that buy loan pools...great loan manager for what we do....

Pros

Again, we are a group of investors that by loan pools. The program works very well for us. we like the simplicity of the manager and it's overall manageability of our loans.

Cons

Statements and reports are great...sometimes the printing alignment is an issue... The updates are a little expensive.... you get what you pay for though !

January 2019

Eron from MAY Coalition Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Excellent Software and Company

As a nonprofit lender, we make many different types of loans; Margill allows us to tailor the software to each scenario.

Pros

Margill loan manager is extremely accurate and easy to use.

Cons

It is well worth purchasing the training and setup assistance, as it takes a few minutes to become familiar with the program.

January 2019

David from Thorndale Farm, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Easy to use loan management software

Great in-house loan management software.

Pros

Great price. Easy to use interface. Custom loan invoices. Very easy to get customer support when needed.

Cons

I don't have any complaints regarding this software.

August 2014

Peter from Cornerstone Credit

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2014

Everything we need to manager our loan portfolio

We have been using MLM for about a year and we are extremely satisfied with the product. It does everything we need it to do, and more. The team at Margill has also been very helpful in helping us customize certain features of the product that we needed for our special requirements. With a portfolio of nearly a thousand loans it would have been impossible for us to manage our businesses without Margill. The service is excellent and we receive very timely responses to our requests and questions. No hesitation in recommending this product and this company.

August 2014

Jeremy from Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory, Inc

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2014

Excellent software at the right price point.

This was exactly the software solution we needed. Our business occasionally extends loans to customers and had a need to move from spreadsheets to software. Our primary business activity is not lending, so high cost solutions designed for banks and other loan originators were cost prohibitive. This software was exactly what we needed and we have been happy with the functionality since we placed it in service in 2009. It is updated frequently and service is great. It has brought considerable ease to our loan management.

October 2016

Brenda from Affiliated Finance, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

Great Software! Fully Recommend

We are loving the new software just getting used to it and exploring new reports as we need them!!!!

Pros

Easy to work with, user friendly!

Cons

Nothing

August 2014

George from Pacific Mortgage Corppration

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2014

Great Program

I have been using Margill for about 5 years now and I can't imagine life without it! Before I chose to go with Margill I looked at several other programs. Most were from the US and not easily adapted to Canadian use and they were much more expensive. I chose Margill Loan Manager after very careful consideration and I am glad I did. The customer support is unbeatable and very personal and the program itself is very easy to use and has saved me thousands.

August 2014

Rejean from CLD de la MRC de Montmagny

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2014

Complete and flexible

This software is perfect to manage loans precisely and in real time. It leaves traces of all the history of past transactions, acting like a guardian of your portfolio. -Pros : -Easy management of all the payments; -Accurate balance of all your loans in real time; -Recalculates automatically after any transaction or modification. -Cons: Basic banking knowledge is mandatory for any user, or at least a good initial training.

December 2016

Kaye from Adwell Financial Services Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Margill loan manager as a helper

Once you have set up everything accordingly. Margill loan manager is really easy to follow. It helps us creates a loan in few minutes. It is very useful in reviewing our clients information and their payments history. Updates were recorded efficiently for future references.

January 2017

James from Hutchison Oss-Cech Marlatt

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Good Program, Good Service

We are a small business with a few hundred ongoing loans. Although some upfront learning is required Margill is ultimately easy to use and powerful. The technical service provided by Margill is some of the best we have found among software companies.

August 2014

Javed from Toronto Auto Sales & Leasing LTD

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2014

Loan Manager

The staff are very helpful and attentive, especially Mark. System is very user friendly. Had it 5 years and very happy although I must remind you we are a small private company consisting of under 25 accounts. We are not logging in and out very consistently. Only use it once or twice a month.

August 2014

michael from Green Dollar Loans Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2014

Experience with MLM

We are just a small Lending company trying to look for a software that we could use that is user friendly. We had downloaded MLM as a trial at first as we are trying to figure it out. It is a very good software. The representatives from MLM are the best! They helped us out with everything!

December 2016

Gerardo from Seguros America

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2016

Great tool at a great price

The application is excellent at managing different loan schedules and can also be used for other types of investments. It has room for improvement in workflow management and permissions management. For the cost, it represents great value.

December 2016

Donald from Moose International, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Works for us...

We have been using Loan Manager for nearly two years. We are very satisfied. We find posting payments, creating new accounts, preparing end of month reports and sending monthly statements to be easy and always accurate.

August 2014

Laura from Villa Grove Enterprises

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2014

Margill Loan Manager is a huge time saver for our Company!

What I like most about this software is that you don't have to be a rocket scientist to navigate and use. I would rate the customer service at 10. I have always experienced prompt and satisfying help when needed. I would highly recommend this product .

December 2016

Rainbow from MBC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Good Software

The customer support is great. You can always reach to someone who can help you. You can customize and design the report you need.

August 2014

Michel from Cliffton Capital Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

August 2014

Easiest software available

This software is easy to install and to use. Also, we recommend this software for its flexibility considering the work we do. The cost is reasonable and attractive.

December 2014

Sheryl from Short Term Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

December 2014

What an improvement over spreadsheets and multiple documents!

Perhaps the best feature has been the customer service...any question or problem I have encountered has been addressed quickly, thoroughly, and pleasantly!

August 2014

Vickie from Fonds d'Emprunt des Laurentides

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2014

Gestionnaire de Prêts Margill

The loan manager Margill is really easy to use and I save time to always respect my deadlines, Margill staff is very kind and understanding.

August 2014

Larry from Easy Legal Finance Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2014

Great Tool

MLM is very intuitive and easy to use. It's helped us increase the number of clients and decrease time consuming process of loan servicing.

August 2014

francois from CLD Shawinigan

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2014

Margill loan manager

Margill is a great and easy loan manager for anyone who's doing loans. It is easy to add or change something. Great tool for any business.

August 2014

Daria from Pro-Gestion Esrie

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2014

MLM

MLM increases productivity, allowing us to spend more time on other important issues

November 2014

Paul from Short Term Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

November 2014

excellent product

very user friendly, great customer service, makes managing loans a breeze

August 2014

Jocelyne from Société communautaire lavaloise d'emprunt (SOCLE)

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2014

Loan Administrator

Easy to use and if we need information we get a prompt answer from Margill.