User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.77

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Margill loan manager is extremely accurate and easy to use."
  • icon"When I purchase software, the most important thing is customer service. On any given date, I can email, and I always get a response within 30 minutes, How wonderful is that."
  • icon"Simplicity with so many advanced features and options, easy to learn, easy to export and makes accounting for loans a breeze."
  • icon"The updates are a little expensive. You get what you pay for though."
  • icon"The only regret is that I didn't buy it sooner."
  • icon"The program is really expensive the cost could be lowered significantly though offering a standard fee."

All Margill Loan Manager Reviews

1-25 of 44 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Abneesh

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2017

We have been using MarGill for over 4 years and are very satisfied with the services provided.

Pros

The software is user friendly and regular updates with new features are provided. It is very flexible to meet your business model and you can customize the reports to what you want to see. Usually there are pre-set reports in other softwares and I personally love this feature. They provide exceptional Customer Service. Questions and concerns are addressed right away. It is the Best cost to value software out there in the industry.

Cons

The only thing I gave 4 stars was at Features and Functionality, the software has improved a lot over the past years and our feedback and is always listened to and added on to the next update. Cust support and the team have been continuously evolving the software.

Michael

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2022

Ease of Implementation and USe

Exceptional - particularly due to the customer service and assistance.

Pros

Margill provides our organization with all the functionality we require with the comfort that nothing will wrong. Customer service and assistance is exceptional and provides assurance if there is any questions or clarification required as to usability or functionality.

Cons

Our methodology for calculating late interest required a work around. Would be nice to have this as a core capability of the software.

Reasons for choosing Margill Loan Manager

Best fit for price

Reasons for switching to Margill Loan Manager

Needed capability to expand without introduction of errors

Response from Jurismedia

Thanks for this Michael. Glad you are enjoying the software. As for the calculation methodolgy, Margill follows laws and regulations and industry and accounting rules. I am convinced your clients and your accountants will appreciate this rigor.

Replied March 2022

Roxann

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2018

Good product

Pros

The developers are easily reached to assist you with any problems with the program. It is backed by it's developer

Cons

The program is really expensive the cost could be lowered significantly though offering a standard fee

Response from Marc

Thank you for the review. I do understand that you being based in Jamaica, the price may seem slightly high because of the currency exchange, but Margill is one the most affordable software out there starting at less than $2000. I'm a little surprised by your 3.5 stars. Seems because of the price...

Replied February 2018

Steve

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2017

Excellent software with great support

Pros

We have used Margill for 3 years to monitor our growing private mortgage and auto loan business. We have hundreds of loans under management. We are a family office with our own money at risk. We would not use a software product that didn't deliver the information we need. We have been very happy with the software and the excellent support service and will continue to expand our licence as our business grows. If the software doesn't meet someone's requirement during a demo period so be it. It happens every day. I do have an issue when I read someone posting a negative review on this site and suggesting that my company's satisfaction (after a thousand hours of use) is not real and that other reviewers have knowingly posted positive misleading reviews. Pure nonsense. And it really speaks volumes about the character of that reviewer to frame their comments this way.

Cons

Would like more video tutorials as we probably only use a fraction of the software's capability. We find video tutorials more effective than most manuals.

Response from Jurismedia

Thanks for the comment Steve. As for videos, we are starting our little collection which you can see in the Support Center: www.margill.com/en/support-center/. The Support Center also has our blog in which we regularly answer user questions. Many good questions in there!

Replied December 2017

Sheri

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2017

Utilize software to administer 4500+ client mortgage files. This software has been exceptional.

Pros

Margill representatives have been very good with us. Pros are ease of entry of information onto the system, ease of creation of custom reports for export and merge(s), flexibility of the software/program providing options for subsidized loan payments, actual loan payments and ability to enter multiple interest rates and ability to change interest rates as well as the feature to have multiple loans under one client (borrower). We have been using this software since 2012 and it has been flexible enough to accommodate loans and mortgages with very specific idiosyncrasies. Any and all issues encountered with the software and/or system performance have been resolved in a timely/professional manner by Margill representatives.

Cons

We have experienced a few minor performance issues over the years, however, they have been dealt with and addressed satisfactorily in a timely manner each time with great support from Margill representatives. We have been able to access and use the software everyday since installation with any downtime being minutes to hours, not days. WE CAN NOT AFFORD ANY DOWNTIME WITH OUR LOAN SYSTEM.

Lindsay

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2021

Margill Loan Manager Has Greatly Improved Our Lending Processes & Reporting

After a year-and-a-half in use, I for one am very happy we selected Margill Loan Manager. Our workflow and reporting capacity is greatly improved with the Margill Loan Manager. We're generating amortizations for different repayment scenarios, including irregular payment schedules, on Margill now, which has given us tremendous ability to better serve our customers. The Document Merge feature has cut down our processing times by half. Moreover, we've customized reports to accommodate the requirements of the different shareholder entities and loan programs we administer.

Pros

Amortization, modification of payment schedule/amount, Document Merge, Accounting Entries and ability to export directly to our accounting software, ability to customize Reports, APR calculation and much more.

Cons

I wish we could further customize the "Detailed Tables" available for creating statements. Otherwise, I feel like I haven't really learned how to use all the available features yet.

Response from Jurismedia

Thanks very much for this Lindsay. For the "Detailed tables" (so the actual payment schedule in the Document Merge module), there are 14 templates and we can create others for our clients. What you can do on your own with any of the templates is change the header names, column widths and font size. We should probably eventually do another training session so you can learn even more. Thanks!

Replied December 2021

Christopher

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

Margill is Great Value

Margill has been great and is a welcome option for us. It takes some getting used to but its value and functionality are what make the system work well.

Pros

The price, ease of use, and over functionality. It is right-sized for my company and has many great features such as a document merge and versatile customization.

Cons

How the information is presented takes some getting used to and there are some details of the system that do not agree with how the information should be presented or what is expected. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] offered several work arounds for us and we are looking at these options now.

Reasons for choosing Margill Loan Manager

Value and functionality.

Reasons for switching to Margill Loan Manager

Old, unsupported system was in need of replacement.

Response from Jurismedia

Thanks for this Christopher. I'm curious to find out more about the information presentation aspects you mention.

Replied November 2020

Luke

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2017

Positive for the whole time we have used it

Simple, low cost solution. Great for a start up or small business to manage all types of loans. It has helped us grow out customer base substantially and keep clear records of all the transactions.

Pros

The ability to add-in unlimited fields for information gathering, record keeping and future analytics is really helpful. The calculations are correct and there are variations to the standard loan amortisation calculations which suites some alternate situations. Most of all we have really appreciated the high level of support provided by the Margill team and the low cost to implement and use the software.

Cons

Simply that is was a new system and therefore just navigating around it was a unique experience but if you can get used to all the shortcuts etc it is actually really simple. The main item we miss is the ability to access within a web browser as it needs to be hosted somewhere. The offset of this is you, the user, have more security of data.

Arlyn

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Gambling & Casinos

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Excellent Software for Loan Management

Margill Loan Manager has simplified the way we manage our loans, saving us time as we don't have to create separate Excel amortization tables or go to a separate documents to post interests; we can keep all the loan information in just one place, and the information/reports are accurate. Great software and excellent customer service!

Pros

I love that this software is user friendly, easy to use, to learn and to manage the loan data.

Cons

So far, this software is perfect for our Company; the only inconvenient I have experienced is that when listing several payments due on the same date, the report only takes the first listed amount.

Response from Jurismedia

Thanks for this Arlyn. As for your issue, I think you are choosing the field called "Next Due Payment". The software looks for the next Due payment but can only take the first one it sees. We rarely see multiple Due payments on the same day - these would usually be combined to one due amount. We can talk about your particular need together and why you do it this way. Will call you.

Replied January 2019

Anonymous

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2017

We are a group of investors that buy loan pools...great loan manager for what we do....

Pros

Again, we are a group of investors that by loan pools. The program works very well for us. we like the simplicity of the manager and it's overall manageability of our loans.

Cons

Statements and reports are great...sometimes the printing alignment is an issue... The updates are a little expensive.... you get what you pay for though !

Michel

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2018

Responding to our needs in Loan MANAGING. Very user friendly.

Help our co. to expand faster and help every department to improve quality work.

Pros

Affordable and easy to install . No bug and no high costs developping. Time for training was very low and everyone was happy to use a so powerfull tool.

Cons

Letters and documents should be improved as .doc instead of .rtf , but it is working like it is. We would have purchase this software many years before if we knew it was available on the market.

Response from Jurismedia

Thank you for this Mr. Desjardins. The good news, in our version 4.4 now being released, we have vastly improved the document merge module and can now merge to Word (and PDF of course) and can even include start-of-loan-to-date, year-to-date and previous reporting period data in your statements .

Replied February 2018

Rainbow

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2020

good product

Pros

Easy to customize the software yourself to meet your needs.

Cons

Hope it can eventually become an accounting system that specific in mortgage.

Reasons for switching to Margill Loan Manager

Hard to customize. The system wasn't able to adjust into our need.

Response from Jurismedia

Thank you for the review Ms Zhu. Fortunately, Margill Loan Manager will never become a full-fledged accounting system since our core is mathematics and loan servicing capabilities. Don't forget, you can include your general ledger accounts in Margill and extract any accounting information from the system in seconds and export the data to QuickBooks, Sage, Excel, CSV and TXT formats. We can even customize to any other accounting package. If I am not mistaken, your were using TMO before switching to Margill...

Replied June 2020

Mickey

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2017

The Margill team is very responsive and has demonstrated flexibility whenever needed.

Pros

Our company needed custom software that was difficult to find in the open market - we chose to purchase Margill which did not meet our exact needs out of the box, however, the team crafted a customized solution that has served us well. Cust Support and the team understand client needs and provide a personalized experience.

Cons

It would be great if the software evolved to have some more CRM functions in the future. Otherwise, as far as a loan management system is concerned, this is a good option.

Maxime

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2020

The right fit for a small mortgage loan company like Financière Victoria

Pros

I can't imagine going back to an Excel & check protocol. Margill allowed our company to grow and streamline the process. It is very easy to use for me and my assistants.

Cons

The possibility to access the database remotely could be a must, especially in Covid time.

Response from Jurismedia

Thank you for this Maxime. As for access remotely in these special times, you can remote into your server (by RDP connection or other. We also offer Margill on the Cloud (Azure) as a service (SAAS).

Replied December 2020

Darla

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2017

The best customer service!!

Pros

The flexibility to handle multiple types of loans from promissory notes to leases. When I purchase software, the most important thing is customer service. On any given date, I can email, and I always get a response within 30 minutes, How wonderful is that!!!

Cons

Improvements need to be made in the custom report writer. I wish there were more standard reports available, as I don't have time to custom design.

Response from Jurismedia

Thanks for this Darla. You're putting pressure on us with the 30 minute support! Ouch ;-) We always try our best! As for reports, we do have standard templates for the most common needs, but reporting requirements from one company to the next range dramatically. That's why Margill includes over 1000 fields from which to create custom reports. Marc

Replied September 2017

Kevin