All MarketMuse Reviews

1-25 of 27 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Khan Md Mohaiuminul Islam

Verified reviewer

Civil Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

For Ranking in Top search engine, Must needed tools for Content Optimization

I was waiting for some good deal for MaketMuse, after some time I got it from Appsumo, Firstly I was a little bit lost, but Customer support provides good resource, in some time I can easily get benefit from this application. I easily improve my content by analyzing ranked articles for specific keywords, identifying weak points of my article, and work on that area is the most important feature for me. MarketMuse helps me to save a large time of research time for specific keywords.

PROS

Good customer support, After purchasing I need to take some training to understand the basic work procedures, they technically help me. Content optimization in MarketMuse is top-notch, I can identify easily strengths points and weak points of ranked articles, by based on that I can optimize my content, In the long run, it helps to rank. As a result my content become more user frendly and audience loved it.

CONS

I was wondering they should include the google docs plugin, it definitely increases our productivity. For large organizations MarketMuse is perfect, for small entrepreneurs like us it's very difficult for us o purchase in this price range, they would think about it also.

Reasons for switching to MarketMuse

In-depth content research got it in cheap deals in Appsumo.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for such a positive review! We're glad that support has been helpful and that you've seen a positive impact on your content. Thank you for mentioning Google Docs - this will be fed back internally. Thanks again -- we appreciate the feedback!

Replied October 2021

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Excellent for opimizing blog content

Despite MarketMuse not being the most user-friendly, it simply gets results. I use it because it helps me to get my content to rank higher, and that's the most important thing.

PROS

I like that MarketMuse is effective. I use it on a regular basis to optimize blog content, both new posts and updating older posts. It's been very effective at helping me to achieve higher rankings, especially when updating existing content. It does take a little bit of extra time, but it's worth the effort.

CONS

I find the usability to be very bad. I've been using MarketMuse for over a year and I still don't really understand how some things are supposed to work. I also use Frase and Frase is far more user-friendly.

Reason for choosing MarketMuse

I chose MarketMuse because of pricing, but I still use Frase as well.

Nima

Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2022

I am not very impressed with this product.

PROS

I found it comfortable and intuitive to use. I was not very impressed with the functionality.

CONS

In order to benefit from the best features of the product, it is necessary to pay a large amount of money.

User Profile

Klemen

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2021

The Best Content Optimization Tool

As I am not using credits for AI outline builder, I find MarketMuse insufficient for research and outline builder and I am using other tools for that. But, MarketMuse is the best content optimisation tool available. Hands down.

PROS

I like SERP analysis and content optimisation. Optimisation is based upon many results (not just top 20) and yield superior results.

CONS

Expensive credits. To be honest, I am using other tools for outline building as I find MarketMuse credits too expensive.

Reasons for switching to MarketMuse

MarketMuse is better for content optimisation.

User Profile

Zahra

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

Not for Me

Very frustrating! All the 3 trial periods were as bad as the other.

PROS

I was hoping to become best friends with MarketMuse, but the free trial was a complete waste. The UX and UI is very odd, well, not for an average laptop size anyway. The brand colours are very nice. Beyond this I couldn't see past the problems!

CONS

Hmm lets see, I wasted 3 trials, so its the left panel which has an ad that won't go away! If it were to ever go away, I'd be able to get started on optimising the content. I wasted 7+ days just trying to figure out how to copy/paste from word to the area which hardly ever opened. There were few more annoying problems which they said are not there in paid version, but why would i spend money on a software which has a glitchy trial !

Reasons for switching to MarketMuse

Clearscope is very expensive. No other reason

Joshua

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Market Muse is perfect for growing your brand with pillar content, optimized for SEO

The business problem I'm solving with Market Muse, is bridging the gap between my outdated 2010-2013 SEO knowledge, to understanding what is working now to purposely rank articles for search terms. The old "grey hat" methods no longer work, or work for such a little time I feel it's pointless to focus on little tricks. If you want to master white hat SEO, Market Muse is the tool you need in your arsenal.

PROS

Market Muse is not exactly an inexpensive piece of software. While they do have a limited free version, if you want to use the software seriously it will cost you a minimum of $150/month. However, that cost is worth it if you have a brand that's worth growing, with something unique, that you are passionate about, and have a message to spread. Because what Market Muse will allow you to do, is create deep pillar content that is built to rank for Google's search engine, and is very enjoyable for humans to read. That in itself will allow your brand to attract targeted search engine traffic, that is more than worth the investment cost. This is pure "white hat", long term SEO. If you're looking for a quick trick to beat the search engines, this is not the tool for you. If you're looking to build a long term asset, worth quite a bit of revenue, this is the tool for you.

CONS

What I like least about this software is getting started does take quite a bit of learning, and diving through tutorials. They include a free course to learn the software, and trust me you will need it. Because of the power of this software, I don't think they could really make it anymore simple than it already is. Some pieces of software simply require you to take a few days to learn it. But it's well worth taking the time.

User Profile

Coën

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

Advanced SEO Insights and Ideas

Marketmuse is a good tool to implement into your content marketing / SEO workflow. It gives you new ideas when other tools are stopping. For my case, it best to be implemented inside a workflow with copywriting and other SEO Tools which complement each other. Marketmuse gives me the extra edge over my competitors and sheds light into different kinds of topic that may be covered by your competition. It has this enterprise feeling / power.

PROS

- keyword research though a bit limited on data (search query, etc) - nice guidance on workflow while using this tool - clean clustering of sources and their topic authority - good results for EN search queries

CONS

- cannot delete old projects (as of now) - some features do need extra credits - sometimes you don't get what you pay for...your expectations are higher than the AI's output - as always, languages other than EN may have less data

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for leaving such a positive review! We're glad that MarketMuse has become an important part of your workflow and that it gives you an edge over competitors. We appreciate the constructive feedback as well and will share internally. Thanks again!

Replied October 2021

User Profile

Mark

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

MarketMuse is highly useful for SEO research and content generation. It is essential to my work.

MarketMuse is an essential part of my daily SEO/content marketing workflow.

PROS

I love the topic-based keyword research and the content optimization features, which are as good or better than much more expensive, similar products.

CONS

I don't like how the content saving feature works. It may be my fault for not learning how to use it properly.

Reasons for switching to MarketMuse

Searchmetrics was outrageously expensive compared to MarketMuse for essentially the same functionality.

Abdul

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2023

Discovering and adding keywords to my blog post is super easy with MarketMuse!

PROS

Once I'm done with creating briefs for my blog post, I use MarketMuse to find all the keywords and the number of instances I must add to rank above my competitors. And it works! MarketMuse has helped improve our blog rankings on SERP.

CONS

So far, nothing. I love MarketMuse and have been using it for the past year.

User Profile

Shekhor

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Hands down the best tool if not only for Content Marketers

PROS

I don't know about others but I only use two features from this software. Research Optimize I use the Research feature to research the terms (entity) needed to write about for Article. And Optimize feature to optimize the artcile according to the competitors which generally changes time to time for algorithm changes.

CONS

Their pricing plan. Don't get me wrong. It was one of the costly service offered for these sort of fuctionalities until it offered their lifetime deal on AppSumo. I bought 3 codes from their to unlock the most of the feature of it. Around a month ago they offered all their features for free users. Like unlocked everything except credits for the free user. This is what hard digest when you spent around $200 for it where the free users are getting it for zero money spending.

User Profile

Daniella

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Essential for a copy team

Overall, MarketMuse has improved the quality of our copy. It's more SEO-friendly, and, as a result, is performing better in the SERPs. What's more, MarketMuse has helped us cover the breadth and width of a subject with all of its recommendations. When writers use MarketMuse, you can feel more confident that those pieces will rank.

PROS

Listen, you're not going to rank in the SERPs if you're not on your SEO game. MarketMuse doesn't replace a fully-fledged SEO professional, but it's certainly a start. You can type in the title of your piece, (like "Best Cell Phone Plans") and you'll get a full list of SEO keywords you'll want to hit. Have those results dictate your piece, and then make sure to run a test when you're done and see your SEO score. We've seen pieces consistently perform better when adding MarketMuse to our process.

CONS

As is the case with most SEO software, you'll get super random keyword recommendations sometimes. For example, you'll be writing about 4K TVs and MarketMuse will recommend you talk about dog houses for some reason. Just ignore the random recommendations and focus on those that make sense.

Tyler

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2019

So easy a non-SEO can use it

MarketMuse is an extremely easy software to use for people who are relatively new to SEO keyword research. You won't get super in-depth results, but you'll get a good idea of keywords to start out with in your pursuit for Google ranking.

PROS

If you're looking for keywords, it's the simplest software I've used. All you do is a stick the subject of your piece in the MarketMuse search bar and you'll get all the data you need. You'll get search volumes for different keywords, competition levels, and how many keywords you should use. It doesn't replace a fully-fledged SEO, but it's enough to get started with optimizing written content.

CONS

Don't believe everything MarketMuse tells you about keywords. Sometimes you'll get keyword recommendations that don't make any sense for what you're writing about. For example, I was writing a piece about streaming the channel FOX, and I got keyword recommendations about actual foxes.

Jay

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Fantastic Tool For Content Marketing

If you're on the fence, or are just starting out looking for ways to improve your content, do yourself a favor and reach out to the MarketMuse team.

PROS

It provides valuable insight to improve your content creation and optimization. I'm been excited to see the performance of all of our content efforts improve.

CONS

At first it was the price, so I tried a bunch of cheaper options and tried to tape different platforms together but since pulling the trigger on paying for access to MarketMuse I've been kicking myself for waiting so long.

emalyn

Publishing, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Optimize your content and score high

It's a great tool for content optimization

PROS

I like the way it suggests what must be done to my content especially how the keywords must be disseminated properly.

CONS

The authentication when logging in is sometimes annoying but of course it's for security purposes

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Great Tool for Optimizing / Producing Quality Content

They've been great to work with, answered all my questions. We just signed up two ago after a short trial and are starting onboarding next week!

PROS

As a business owner who manages two full time editors it is important for me to give my team some sort of guideline as how to write for the internet. This tool gives us a great way to train our team and track their progress. They can find topics to write about and expand on existing pages throughout our site. It gives us a quality score, and how we are comparing against our competitors - which is nice as I need to know that we are having and impact with our work.

CONS

Well it's very expensive and for a small business it is a hard decision to make. However, paying PPC every month is also really expensive, content is a long term investment and PPC is really short term.

Ashok

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

An tool to organize the Content Writing

On overall, an Individual has to take an decision based on the risk Involved. I won't recommend it to others.

PROS

MarketMuse is good to organize the content writing. The tool has different options to analyze, research and organize the content.

CONS

From the Point of Trust Worthiness, It is absolute zero stars. The [SENSITIVE CONTENT] does stand by his words. He often changes the pricing plan, sudden increase in cost adding limitation to what wee paid for and more.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to hear that you saw value in the platform for organizing and researching your content. Your feedback on pricing is completely understandable we recently made a change across all subscription for a few reasons, which can be jarring. Hopefully we can work together to find a solution so you can still benefit from the value of the platform.

Replied November 2021

Anonymous

1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2021

Some of the features are great, others haven't been as useful for me

I got a good deal on MM so I'm satisfied with it for the price. I think if I were paying full price, I might be disappointed.

PROS

I enjoy the "optimize" app within Market Muse the most. It helps me write content that can compete with other sites in the top 10 on Google SERP for my target phrase. It gives enough info to help me improve my writing but not so much that I become confused by what to concentrate on first.

CONS

I tried the AI for content writing function and had a very ridiculous end product. It consisted of gibberish that was not even close to usable. It's possible I didn't set up the brief correctly, but I did spend about half a day learning about how to do it and still had a crummy end product.

Reason for choosing MarketMuse

Got an incredible deal through AppSumo for MarketMuse.

Enes

Public Relations and Communications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY