Pony Express HQ Software Reviews

Pony Express HQ Software Reviews

Find out more:

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.67

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"The ease of use and the price. It is also very easy to set up."
  • icon"I like that it is easy to use. It is also inexpensive compared to other services."
  • icon"Reaching out to my community members. I don't have to remember whom to invite next event."
  • icon"I had a little trouble logging in on the phone portion of the App. But, connectivity could have been the issue."
  • icon"I disliked that you are charged even if a message fails to send and cannot resend a message to individual subscribers."
  • icon"Inability to sort/search by zip code/geographic region."

Browse all Pony Express HQ Reviews

  • Have you used Pony Express HQ and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 45 reviews

User Profile

Christopher

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Automotive

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2018

Easy to use

Overall, I like the software and I see myself continuing to use it as long as my customers give me positive feedback. The main concern I have, and a reason that may keep me from continually using this software, is the no short code option. My customers can remember a 5 digit number MUCH easier than a toll free 10 digit number.

Pros

Offers everything that I need for sending mass texts. I like that my customer can subscribe via keywords and that I can add them as a subscriber without having them text first!

Cons

I do not like that I can't use a short code instead of a 10 digit.

Response from Pony Express HQ

Hi Christopher, We are so glad you like our service and the Pony Express HQ dashboard, also thanks for the kind and detailed review. When you sign up Pony Express HQ, you'll get a free dedicated local phone number or a toll-free number. A ten digit number simply feels more authentic, economic and your customers can respond in a more personal way as opposed to just texting ?STOP? to unsubscribe. Plus, if you activate Forward Incoming Calls feature (which you should), it makes it easy peasy for a customer to call you back whenever they want. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Support Team

Replied June 2019

Elizabeth

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Insurance

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

Great fit for my small business

Because I only need to receive image files, this works well for me. I do not send PDF or other attachments via text. Since my text usage is low volume, the price works well for my budget.

Pros

The price is really good for my needs. I do not use bulk mass texting or send non image attachments. This software does allow IMAGE attachments, 1 to 1 conversations, receives texts initiated by anyone using the dedicated text line #. Love the fact that I can drag and drop attachments once received.

Cons

Not much. But, wish the Conversation List (Inbox and Sent) would also show the contact's Name not just their phone #.

Response from Pony Express HQ

Hi Elizabeth, We are so happy that you liked Pony Express HQ. Thank you for your feedback about Pony Express HQ. We are always looking to improve our services all feedback is appreciated. And yes, we are listening. Loved your feature request, we'll work on this and let you know very soon. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Team

Replied May 2019

Umair

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Hardware

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2021

Repair Pros Review

Overall it is ok, not the best i've seen. Definitely could use a lot of improving

Pros

The dashboard and the csv import process

Cons

Limitation on daily receipts to send message with local number, also having to pay credit per response back to the messages.

Reasons for choosing Pony Express HQ

The initial price that was marketed by pony express

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2018

Efficient effective and inexpensive way to communicate with any group

I will be able to effectively communicate with my target audience whowork remotely and do not use email regularly.

Pros

I like the fact that when a person responds to the text, I immediately get an email with their information to be able to follow up.

Cons

I have not found any cons with this software thus far and I have referred this to many of my co-workers

Response from Pony Express HQ

Hi there, We are so happy that your organization loves Pony Express HQ. Your review of Pony Express HQ and SMS- text messages, in general, is spot on. People are so busy that they would much rather get a text message than a phone call or email. Glad you like our service and thanks for the recommending Pony Express HQ your co-workers. That is very kind of you. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Team

Replied June 2019

Richard

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2022

software for the small user as well as mass marketing

great for the small use as well large corp.

Pros

ease of building different groups and using templets for repetitive emails.

Cons

automatically assigning a random phone number to the account is regretful. Would rather be allowed to use a number recognized by recipient.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2018

Best Mass Text Program!!

Pros

I love how easy this program is to work and how it keeps all my contacts and groups super organized!

Cons

I do hate that the app isn't as easy as the website, but it still works perfectly fine for me.

Response from Pony Express HQ

Hi there, We are so glad you like our service, and the Pony Express HQ dashboard, also thanks for the kind and detailed review, and choosing Pony Express HQ is the Best Mass Text Program! We are so sorry that you feel not easy to use via mobile. We are always looking to improve our services, and we are committed to doing whatever we can to help better your mobile experience. We look forward to hearing back from you! Thank you, The Pony Express HQ Team

Replied June 2019

User Profile

Justin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2019

Finally! What Ive been looking for

I run a choir in Salt Lake City, UT, and I love that this tool allows me to send out quick reheasal updates and reminders in a matter of moments instead of getting on the phone for hours, or sending emails that will inevitably go unread.

Pros

I love how easy to use the product is, and that my users can subscribe on their own.

Cons

Sometimes the pricing can be a little confusing, somethings cost credits, somethings are a subscription. I know ill master it soon though!

Response from Pony Express HQ

Hi Justin, We are also so happy that you did find Pony Express HQ! Thanks for recommending Pony Express HQ that is very kind of you. We don't have a subscription. It is a Pay-As-You-Go. You buy text credits when you need it, that's simple. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Team

Replied November 2019

Rohit

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2018

Superb!

I usually prefer text than phone calls so when I host event Its hard to give a phone call reminder to each of my members rather than using pony express it solve my problem so that I can invite to my guest using SMS. So, being a community manager its definitely handy tools for me and my company.

Pros

Reaching out to my community members. I don't have to remember whom to invite next event. Once they have subscribed to our event list #keyword than we can reach out to our members so easily. I totally love using Pony Express for any event I organize either company wise or independent wise.

Response from Pony Express HQ

Hi Rohit, We are so happy that your organization loves Pony Express HQ. Your review of Pony Express HQ and SMS- text messages, in general, is spot on. People are so busy that they would much rather get a text message than a phone call. Glad you like our service and thanks for the kind and detailed review. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Team

Replied October 2019

User Profile

Brandon

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2019

Best bang for your buck

Pros

The ease of use and the price. It is also very easy to set up.

Cons

There are not a lot of extra options or tools, but its ease of use is a much better trade off.

Sherice

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

Why you should choose Pony express HQ

Pros

The monthly cost is reasonable and the emails are sent immediately.

Cons

my least favorable part of the software is the amount of credit that is used when a SMS advertisement is sent

Karen

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2019

Absolutely Easy to Use

By using this service I am now able to follow up with my leads faster.

Pros

This is super easy and simple to use. This service is of great value.

Cons

You are only allowed to upload 200 contacts per group.

Reasons for choosing Pony Express HQ

The price point and it seems easier to use.

Response from Pony Express HQ

Hi Karen, It is not true. You can add unlimited contacts in your group. Also, you can create free unlimited keywords on your account. The support team already emailed you. Details are also on our website here; https://www.getponyexpress.com/pricing Thank you for the kind and detailed review. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Team

Replied February 2020

Douglas

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2019

Johnson Grove Church of Christ

The messaging service has been much more reliable than our previous service!

Pros

The cost and the convenience of having multiple people in our office set up multiple groups.

Cons

The of 9am to 9pm message sending limit. I understand Pony Express wasn’t designed for churches, but there have been a few times it would have been nice to send out a late night or early message.

Response from Pony Express HQ

Hi Douglas, We are so happy that you mention Pony Express HQ is more reliable than your previous service! You can definitely send text messages, emergency notifications, and last min. updates with your audience. We don't have the 9 am to 9 pm time limitation. We recommend that text marketing text messages should be in the business hours, not after 9 pm or earlier than 9 am. We have lots of Chuch organization in our Pony Express HQ family, definitely designed for your Church needs. We are also proud to support non-profit organizations with additional 1000 bonus text credits. Thanks for recommending Pony Express HQ to other Church organizations. That is very kind of you. We are happy to have you for over than a year. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Team

Replied August 2020

Audrey

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Sports

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

Best Service We've Found!

Our overall experience has been great. We were thinking of dropping the service to our members and exhibitors because of cost and technical glitches that we encountered with other providers. So glad that we found Pony Express HQ last year and took advantage of the pricing for non-profit organizations and gave this service a try. We have recommended to other horse show organizations and will continue to do so.

Pros

Pony Express HQ is easy to use and we need a platform that is easy and intuitive for a range of admins. Customer service is stellar and we have had no technical issues whatsoever. We did a lot of research before choosing Pony Express HQ and they were also the most cost effective option with the most flexibility -- that's important for us as a non-profit organization that has heavy use followed by periods of no use.

Cons

I have suggested that an "account review" and credits usage option be added -- it would be helpful to be able to see our purchase history and cost and to plan ahead for future purchases knowing exactly how many credits were used to support each event.

Response from Pony Express HQ

Hi Audrey, We are so happy that you loved Pony Express HQ and choose us the best SMS - text message Service! We are always looking to improve our services. Loved your feature request, we'll work on this and let you know very soon. Thanks for recommending Pony Express HQ to other horse show organizations. That is very kind of you. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Team

Replied May 2019

Amanda

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2019

Connecting Supporters

Pony Express HQ has provided me the opportunity to more personally connect with my non-profit's supporters on a weekly basis. Thank you!

Pros

As the director of a small non-profit, I'm able to easily connect with supporters on weekly basis. I can see how many people have subscribed. It's easy to edit templates to include weekly details of happenings here. This is a great way for our supporters to have a more intimate connection with our ministry.

Cons

It's hard for me to know how many credits each message uses. I'm sure if I take a closer look, I'd be able to figure it out. I just haven't yet.

Response from Pony Express HQ

Hi Amanda, Thank you for your candid feedback about Pony Express HQ. We are always looking to improve our services; all feedback is appreciated. Pony Express HQ is designed and loved by non-technical teams and organizations. Our support team has reached out to you already, and we are committed to doing whatever we can to help better your experience. For your question; before you send a text message you can see every detail; - Click the "+Group Message Details" button; (left top on the group message window) -Your group has how many x subscriber(s) -Estimated credit cost per subscriber is x credits -Estimated total credit cost is x credits -How many x texts credit you'll spend (right bottom of the group message window) Reach out us anytime via live chat in the dashboard, and let us know if you have any other questions. We'd love to answer your questions. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Support Team

Replied October 2019

Caleb

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

Great Product

My overall experience has been extremely well, its helped us bring in more patients. The patients also love the ease of access and the fact that they can message us back and ask questions.

Pros

The thing that I liked most about this software is how easy it us for consumers to sign up via texting the key phrase to the number attached to this account

Cons

I feel that one good feature would be to include a way to have the mass text say the name of the person we are messaging individually

Reasons for choosing Pony Express HQ

Price and ease of use.

Dianne

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

Easiest Program

Pros

This has been a great source of communication for our agency. We have been able to sort by groups and send notifications to the applicable parties and staff.

Cons

There's no too much we don't like about the program, but would like to add another person to the notification system when needed.

Response from Pony Express HQ

Hi Dianne, We are so happy that your organization like our services, and thanks for the review. Actually, you can add a sub-account in your account. We will reach out you and show you how to add another person in your account, so we'll make sure that you use all the features of Pony Express HQ. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Team

Replied May 2019

Marian

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2020

New to Pony Express, but liking it.

I am inclined to move forward with it.

Pros

Understood this App in about 15 -20 minutes. Had my first broadcast message out to a group of 20 within 20 minutes.

Cons

I had a little trouble logging in on the phone portion of the App. But, connectivity could have been the issue. I sent a help request via email and got a response within the hour.

Reasons for switching to Pony Express HQ

Revii wasn't available any longer. It was a good product with it's own features. But, the product was discontinued.

Naomi

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

Finally a low-cost texting service!

Pros

The low pricing, and a free local number.

Cons

The online format isn't the most user-friendly, and there is no apple app.

Response from Pony Express HQ

Hi Naomi, We are also so happy that you did find Pony Express HQ! Thanks for recommending Pony Express HQ that is very kind of you. You access the Pony Express HQ dashboard, send and receive SMS - group text messages online from your computer, desktop, tablet, or mobile phone at any time to your audience, that's simple. All the best, The Pony Express HQ Team

Replied March 2020

MONICA

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY