All Promo.com Reviews

1-25 of 211 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jared

11 - 50 employees

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed March 2022

Convenient Video Editor for Videos for Social

User Profile

Ashley

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

The best promo video service I have found yet.

With Promo we are able to make original content to keep our social media sites fresh with new videos. Promo also allows us to easily create individualized content for our agents to use on their own social media pages that brands them as their own business with their own contact information rather than the corporate information.

PROS

Great selection of stock videos to choose from. Premade templates available for easy editing. Suggestions of premade videos provided for the specific industry that you declare on sign up. Great selection of music to add to videos. Great selection of text overlay options to make videos look anywhere from fun to professional. Easy to change video format to fit different platforms. Easy to download video once completed. Customer service team is readily available to answer questions. New features and functionality being rolled out frequently.

CONS

I have not found anything about this software that I do not like. When I start to think to myself it would be nice if it had this feature, a feature similar if not exactly like that becomes available. I think they really listen to their customers feedback and requests.

ruengelo

Computer Games, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Slidely Promo

i had and still have a good Experience with it good live services good feedback on the chat help god bless u guys

PROS

the first time when i try this software webs was i say omg this is so coool i had to save some money so fast that i could buy it 1 this software is so nice 1 fast 2 easy u can get all your video in full Hd videos

CONS

what i like is its easy for work whit it and cool

Reasons for switching to Promo.com

ofc here i feel more like home and everything that i need is here like e music editor from text etc

Bill

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

Dishonest billing practices

I've used them for 5 years. I've had problems in the past but have dealt with it. I'M DONE WITH PROMO. There are many, many other options out there not to have to deal with dishonest/deceptive billing practices.

PROS

Easy to use and implement. Pretty basic.

CONS

THEY'LL RUN YOUR CARD WITHOUT AUTHORIZATION. When done in error, they refuse to give refunds. Dishonest billing practices. Not responsive customer service.

Reason for choosing Promo.com

Ease of use

Vendor Response

Hello Bill, Thanks for posting, and we have looked further into this for you. As agreed with you last year, you had a discount on your monthly plan for 12 months which was valid until February inclusively. As discount was over as scheduled, the price went back to the original one starting from March. As we can see you have contacted us via email, and to help you out, we offered you 2 free months plus discount for 12 months after 2 free months are over. We are sorry that both options did not work for you. I have also contacted you via email and would be happy to further discuss any questions that you have. You can email us at support@promo.com. Thanks

Replied April 2022

Eyüp

Financial Services, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Promo.com EO

The people around me like to watch the videos I create. This increases my motivation.

PROS

There are many features that are very helpful in creativity when creating and editing videos. This creates very good content.

CONS

It can be difficult to reach customer service when there are some problems. They help of course, but until they do, I usually take care of myself.

Reasons for switching to Promo.com

I am very happy with all of them. I use all of them individually according to their best features.

Eric C.

Verified reviewer

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2020

Promo works well for simple videos but could be better

I don't use it as much anymore because the product simply hasn't evolved the way I want it to so that I can get the creative results I want. It's somewhat frustrating. We do still use it though. It enables me to do a custom video of 10 - 30 seconds quickly and easily. I own an executive recruiting firm and we produce a custom video to accompany every new job search, pushing it out over social media and on our website.

PROS

Promo is relatively simple to use, even for non-tech people. There is a wide range (millions they claim) of video clips available and a pretty good selection of music---all royalty-free. You own the final product and can do whatever you want with it. The price is moderate.

CONS

Promo began by allowing users to start from scratch with a blank template, but then created their own templates that you are forced to use or get creative about to customize. No amount of logic or pleading with their customer service ever made a difference. Their in-house creative videos are almost all really amateurish creatively, except for the exercise videos. The music selection hasn't seemed to expand or improve much during the two years I have used Promo. So, you have to work with what they have, which isn't all that bad. They are always trying to upsell me on a plan I don't want. Some of the instructions on how to use their products are confusing. Despite repeated requests for the capability of doing voiceover narration with the videos, they still do not offer this. A partnership with VoiceBunny or Voices.com or Fiverr would enable users to hire voiceover talent to create videos that didn't just consist of video, slides, and music.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

Doesn't stand out from the pack

It's perfectly fine, it just is not the type of software that becomes essential. If you are SOLELY going to make videos then sure, go for it, but if you are a small shop and can't afford multiple platforms, this one would end up on the chopping block because you can get another all-in-one-solution with overlapping functionality.

PROS

Promo has nice-looking templates and is fairly easy to use. It definitely is something that folks with little to no video editing experience could easily onboard so you don't spend time training people to use it.

CONS

It is fine enough it's just that there are other platforms that do more and are more all-encompassing. At the end of the day, I couldn't justify paying for this on its own merits when I could just do the same thing with something like Canva.

Anonymous

1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Perfect for Marketing and Engaging Audience.

WoW, it is recommended to all social media marketer or have a business online specially to those have a big products that sell through online.

PROS

The accuraccy of the platform. It analyze so fast when it come to content posting.

CONS

unlike other platform thats need more time to publish video marketing. But this one is very easy in just a minute can post directly.

User Profile

Arika

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 10,000+ employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2022

Video creation made simple

I have created a number of social media videos using Promo. The templates are well designed for social media video creation.

PROS

Promo is a very good tool to create social media videos. It has a lot of templates curated for social media use case. All the possible video dimension templates are available.

CONS

This is a tool to create basic videos. They should have option for creating animated videos as well.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

Unethical conduct in billing

They dropped their price by about 60% because the rest of industry offered the same service for that price point. They auto renewed us for the full price. Then when we said cancel it, they offered us a "discount" of the amount they never should have charged. They asked if we wanted the discount deal or cancel, we said cancel. They said "too late" you missed the cut off, read our policy. We are done. We will not do business with a company that acts this way. They got to keep our money but we are not using their service.

PROS

The ease and product were equal to others in the industry.

CONS

Their customer service and business ethics.

Vendor Response

Hi there, Thanks for reaching out, and we would be happy to take a look into your account to help out. We were unable to locate your account. Can you email our team at support@promo.com, and we will answer within a few minutes, our support team is here 24/7 to provide immediate support? All monthly and annual plans can be canceled from within the billing section of the website if you decide not to continue. Thank You

Replied January 2022

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Great product to make simple videos

PROS

Promo makes it easy to put together a quick video that looks great for any format, social, instagram, stories.

CONS

There isn't a lot of flexibility with this software. You cannot delete an outtro screen. Most of their stock videos are repetitive and not the best quality.

Kimberly

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

I Create Videos that Convert for Client in 4 Minutes

PROS

Social ads, email, all content - when I want to express an emotion or add a branded message, Promo is my go-to platform to create videos that not only convey, but convert because the content is classic, or fun, or anything I can imagine. I can do this in as little as 4 minutes to spending more by uploading my own video content to add with the licensed video on the promo platform. That's key. The biggest thing though I would say is if I have a problem, this team has a chat button so easy to use and I've literally never ever waited to get help. Tell me where else right now that happens. Not even Facebook or other video platforms have this. They are always eager to help. That helps me...helps my client..helps my sales.

CONS

I am not able yet to upload transparent image overlays...yet. These guys are always creating new stuff monthly - new tool, which is why I always keep on coming back.

John

Management Consulting, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

Promo Is an Outstanding Tool

Love this product! Great tool, exceptional support team, excellent value especially now with the unlimited premium videos (thank you for that)

PROS

1) The software allows us to be creative and quickly bring our messaging vision to life without having to worry about the technology. 2) the clips, both free and Premium, are excellent, have high production quality, and are constantly growing in number, 3) this tool is a huge saver of time and money. We can create and customize our message in-house without having to rely on expensive agency solutions that take way to long and don't take the time to adequately understand our business, clients, culture, and messaging goals.

CONS

1) The timeline is clunky. I have a pretty high-powered iMAC and moving clips around on the timeline is a laborious task, especially if using 5 or more clips, 2) would love to see more music options. Many of the audio clips within a genre start to sound alike and is counter to the wonderful variety of video clips you offer. Bottomline, better curation of the audio clips is needed. 3) Would love more flexibility with formatting the text, especially the outro.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2019

Disappointing

I had quite a few video credits (when I cancelled I still had 6) but this whole idea of making you pay a monthly fee just to keep your credit is very shady and disappointing for a company I have supported for many years. I know most companies chase the mighty dollar I just wish some kept the same honest attitude they had when they started.

PROS

The software itself has come a long way over the years and is easy to use and gives you decent video content.

CONS

-The price has been steadily increasing. -Customer service has been disappointing.

Vendor Response

Hi, Thanks for your feedback/review and we would be happy to help out. All unused credits rollover with an active plan and we have several options including pausing the account if you require. All published videos remain yours forever. Can you email us at support@promo.com so we can take a look at your account and help out with a solution that will help out.

Replied November 2019

Lonny

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed November 2020

Features severely limited.

I think they have a good concept, but they are far from being user friendly and too limited to be valuable. Too many other services that can provide better services.

PROS

For simplistic videos it is OK. Good variety of videos.

CONS

When then went to their premium video selection, some videos can cost multiple credits. Same videos are much cheaper elsewhere. Cannot upload quality videos without a headache. Even after speaking with tech support they wanted me to upload my video to a third party so they could check it out. I don't have time to mess with this program. With newest upgrade, previous videos can no longer be accessed because of the new system. Total waste of years with this group.

Vendor Response

Hi Lonny, Thanks for the feedback on the simplistic and good variety of the videos. Sorry to hear you had an issue uploading your own content and I will reach out for the file to see what the issue may have been. Thank You

Replied November 2020

Kimberly

Arts and Crafts, 2-10 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed June 2020

Software is fine. Customer Support Horrible.

NEVER AGAIN. Would never recommend this company to ANYONE.

PROS

Easy to use would like more options to edit

CONS

Once this company gets your credit card they refuse to stop charging your account. The annual charge of 495.00 is still charged even after you have asked for a cancel. When you contact they they first will tell you they will reduce the charges and only charge you 50% (mind you it was the same day it hit my credit card) after much back and forth they communicated the best they could do was a 70% refund. Its completely ridiculous that they could not cancel and refund the charge in the same day . Its very shady business practices.

Vendor Response

Hi Kimberly, Thanks for your post and feedback. We would be happy to take a further look into the account as if you set the account to cancel prior to the renewal charge then there will not be any further charges to the account. Can you reach out to us at support@promo.com? Thank You

Replied June 2020

Lucy

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2022

Promo.com can help you create a video fast

It's a good software that has great potential. Would like to see the option for a pay per use instead of monthly or yearly - or maybe some kind of hybrid Lots of templates, good libraries and simple to follow

PROS

Easy to useLots of templatesExtensive Library for footageExtensive music libraryFun to create and explore

CONS

Too expensive for what I need - I'm not producing every single week, and you can't opt out of the monthly plan too often. Clunky - my system crashed several times when using it. The preview on the video was problematic often so I felt like I was editing in the dark - doing what I needed to get done and then able to build and preview after - buggie

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY