All Dr. First Reviews

1-19 of 19 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Randy

Verified reviewer

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Best web based precription authorization software

PROS

Makes it quite easy to write prescriptions for your patients. No more lost prescriptions by patients, no phone calls from the pharmacy trying to decipher your handwriting. Makes it quite easy do refills. Mobile app is very easy to use. Ask for a multiyear discount when subscribing. Lots of free training to use software.

CONS

The cost to port all the patient info is somewhat expensive, and does not include new patients. Other than that, it is a good product.

Cynthia

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2019

"Upgrade" is a steep downhill!

A great program which had been an essential tool for our practice for 9 years is now a constant frustration & stumbling block, & we are searching for a replacement. :-(

PROS

I used to love a long list of superior features of this platform, such that I continued to buy it in addition to an EHR which has eRx. The most helpful feature was that, for many patients (depending on insurance), their med refill history going back 2 years could often be assembled even on new patients. (Now it's only a year & it takes multiple steps.) The best thing is still that it remembers/retains prior Sigs.

CONS

Their long-touted "upgrade" (which was being ballyhooed for 2 years before they implemented it) has drastically worsened our work flows. Actions which took one click in each direction now take numerous clicks, switching sections, re-entering names, etc. The functions which have always been the most cumbersome are unchanged or worse. The customer support people seem as mystified as we are about these.

Adam

Mental Health Care

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed September 2016

Worst Customer Service NA

PROS

Good E-prescribing system as long as you don't need to contact support.

CONS

I have worked with this company since their inception. In the beginning, they were amazing and helped us through any problems we had. Now, they do not respond to tickets, do not follow up on them, and literally cannot fix problems with their reporting systems. Do not think you will be able to meet meaningful use while using Dr. First because that is all a lie. They even have a scam where they get you to pay them and then "guarantee" for a huge fee that you will meet meaningful use. Well, low and behold we spent over a year trying to fix one report and missed meaningful use for 2 providers because of their system. Now, they have the worst customer service of any major company I deal with. They hire tech support people that I know more about the Drfirst system than. I cannot wait to get away from these guys as they are making a bad name for electronic prescribing in general. Recently, one of our Dr's ability to use their patient dashboard stopped working so he was unable to provide patient education on Dx or Drugs he was prescribing and their support teams answer was to spend over an hour on the phone with me describing the problem and then never ever issuing any type of follow up or fix. We have now started to use these features within our EHR so we do not miss out on Meaningful use dollars that our clinic is counting on to survive in a very difficult marketplace. If you ask for a supervisor they will literally hang up on you eventually. Nobody in customer support ever has a supervisor that is available and although they say someone will call back they never do in any way shape or form.

Melody

Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Great way to e-prescribe and track medications

I work at a counseling center and we have Psychiatrists and Nurse Practitioners who evaluate for and prescribe medication. Our Doctors and NP use Rcopia to electronically submit prescription to the pharmacy of their patient's choice. It helps us track how many scripts we've sent in for a patient and which pharmacies we've sent them to.

PROS

It is easy to check what medications have been sent in and to which pharmacy. It's also easy to electronically prescribe and to switch between pharmacies to send the meds to, and it list if the electronic script was received by the pharmacy, which is very handy when helping patients with questions or to know how long their supply of medication should last. Our EMR also links with this program so all of our patient's are automatically entered into the system, which makes it easy to prescribe.

CONS

I wish it would show when the pharmacy filled the script verses just when it was sent in.

Kaela

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

Secure Prescriptions

Overall we are happy with Dr. First. It's reliable and easy to use.

PROS

Being able to send prescriptions securely is extremely important to our organization. With EPCS's multifactor authentication we are able to send controlled substances safely. Pharmacies receive prescriptions in real time and have scripts in their system before the client even leaves the session.

CONS

The user interface is a little cluttered. The landing page displays a lot of information.

Shirley

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2023

No Customer Service

literally ......no customer service

PROS

on boarding 6 yrs ago was fine. attentive what i needed, now its horrible

CONS

I have been with this company for a while and they use to good service, but it appears that their customer service no longer exist via phone. Virtual assist are rude and unable to assist or connect you with a supervisor or manager. On hold now for 1hr and 15 mins. Email option just sends you an email that they received it but it all stops there. I cannot send any scripts today and will invest time in finding a new company. they claim that they don't have my email...info but the invoice which i paid in full has all my updated information DON'T DO IT ! NOT WORTH THE HASSEL

Kim

Hospital & Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed August 2023

You need to do better. Way better!

No real time support or info about how to call and get a human to resolve your problem. I do not want live chats. I want a number associated with a human being who can resolve issues! You have room for much improvement, but seeing how mediocre is the new standard for health care you all fit right in.

PROS

Nothing. It was a nightmare to get on and with issues it was a labyrinth of roadblocks to try and navigate a solution. Thanks for nothing!

CONS

Lacking in customer support . Put in a ticket. No call. Responded back with email. Four days later got an email asking what is the best time to call! How about when you get the message.

Reasons for switching to Dr. First

Pathetic customer service. Issue is still not resolved.

Andrew

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed October 2023

Absolutely No Customer Service

Abysmal

PROS

The idea of an app to send scripts. The app has not allowed for reliable function

CONS

Randomly the app will not recognize my password and there is absolutely no timely customer service. For this amount of money, the product needs to be reliable or have an actual reliable and timely customer service help desk. Use a different company if you are in healthcare and need reliable methods of prescribing.

Reasons for switching to Dr. First

Different company

Synthia

Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

Dr. First

Very organized and useful. Customer services was excellent when setting up new physicians. The department walked me through every step of the way.

PROS

I appreciate that as an administrative user, I have access to all patient and pharmacy information I need in order to support our physicians. The detailed information is helpful in knowing not only if a prescription was sent to pharmacy but am also able to see pending prescriptions which may be written but unsigned.

CONS

The prior auth system is not always consistent. I am not sure if this is a soft ware issue or if only certain pharmacies and insurances are contracted to do this. It would be nice to process all prior auths in one system.

Henry

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2017

I have been a Rcopia user for over 10 years. It has made life easier for my patients and our office

Ease, safety, and secure e prescribing.

PROS

The interface is intuitive and easy to use. It can be used from any computer, iphone, or ipad. It has patient medication, health history and does a good job at pointing out drug interactions between providers. It has easy, secure prescribing for controlled substances.

CONS

The iphone/ipad app was slow but they seem to have corrected this flaw with their new mobile app. In the past there were too many "flip through screens", but the new interface seems to have corrected this also.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Industry Standard

Dr. First is intuitive and makes using e-prescribing easy.

PROS

Dr. First is easy to use for prescribing and for checking the controlled substance database.

CONS

Dr. First does what it needs to do. My next request would be to integrate checking controlled medication databases from neighboring states, which we need to do in my practice.

Scott

Medical Practice, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed August 2022

The worse software I have ever used.

Absolutely horrible!

PROS

It fulfills a requirement for electronic prescribing

CONS

Everything. Routinely does not work. Support is awful, when they do help it has taken up to 4 hours to fix. Routinely gives you errors. I simply cannot say enough bad things about this software or this company. Avoid at all costs!

Heath

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed May 2023

Terrible Customer Service

Frustrating and despicable customer service.

PROS

It occasionally works but not enough that I would recommend it to anyone.

CONS

Customer service nearly ZERO. Called multiple times and hold time is 1 hour minimum. Still unable to speak to a human being. Email support very slow and takes several hours. And their answers were not helpful and did not solve my problem. This is very frustrating when you are relying on their service to prescribe medications to your patients.

Tiffany

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Easy to use software

PROS

It is easy to use and navigate when sending prescriptions.

CONS

Sometimes the prescription don’t submit to the pharmacy (even though you’ve put in password for it to send) it will go instead to a prescription report tab and be waiting there for you to input your password in again and then resubmit. Also patients will call pharmacy and the pharmacy said they never got the script even though Rcopia has a time stamp of when it was delivered. This happens a lot so I’m beginning to think it’s the program not the individual pharmacies.

greg

Medical Practice, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed September 2021

Awful customer service and reliability

Awful! There is literally no customer support. They don't answer the phone or respond to "support" emails.

PROS

It's relatively inexpensive. Beware...you get what you pay for.

CONS

The software is unreliable. We haven't had service for 3 days.

Bruce

Mental Health Care

Used free trial

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed January 2015

Laborious, time-consuming, inefficient. Printing is still best.

PROS

Pharmacies haven't adopted eRx enough yet to make this efficient. We receive too many calls back from patients where pharmacies haven't received the eRx or the pharmacy doesn't accept eRx (even though the Surescripts database provided to DrFirst indicates the pharmacy is accepting). As such, patients are left standing in pharmacies for meds that haven't been prepared. My office has to repeat work done during the patient's visit. It wastes time for the patient, doctor, and office staff. Paper prescribing is far more reliable and efficient. Prescribing Controlled Substances (EPCS) is even more unreliable. It's nothing more than a glorified secure e-mail service, but the e-mails often don't arrive!

CONS

Tech support is minimally useful when it comes to the structural issues that pharmacies aren't fully participating.

Mary

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2021

E-rx program written for IT- not the end user (the Medical Professional!)

Very time consuming, difficult to manage rx renewals and denials

PROS

clinical staff burden was lifted. The Prescribing Provider can do Prior Authorization at the time rx is written

CONS

Clinical staff does not have access to unmatched rx renewals, medications are all lower case, you can not organize meds by category, only alphabetical.

Reason for choosing Dr. First

worked with our EHR and supported by our VAR

Reasons for switching to Dr. First

Mandates/ end of service

Lana

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed June 2022

Worst EMR System to date

Terrible

PROS

Nothing I haven't gotten on system yet.

CONS

Second time trying after several months to get this going. Going on day 4 and nothing but headaches.

Nima

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY