User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(36)

36

4 stars

(29)

29

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(4)

4

1 stars

(2)

2

  • Pros

  • "I like how the software is simple to use and can be easily customized to fit the needs of our program."

  • "Overall, I really enjoy most of the features of Penelope. Although there are many clicks to do one single task, the benefit of this, is that options are highly accurate and match actuals."

  • "The software is user friendly for those utilizing it daily. It's functionality of the software and its accessibility for reporting is great. Penelope has made our cases cleaner and faster to access."

  • Cons

  • "It is hard to delete some mistakes. Written instructions are still not as clear as I would like. I still find it complex when setting up new outcome measures. "

  • "I would love it if it could merge with google spreadsheets. "

  • "The data is all over the place - you need to know where to go to enter/find what you're looking for. Reporting is somewhat lacking - lots of standard reports but often quite specific. "

Browse Penelope Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 73 results

November 2018

User Profile Picture

MARIE from WJS Canada

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Individual & Family Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

I like this program!!

At first it was daunting as there is SO much information but once we figured it out I love it! I'm part of the team that works on our documentation to make things flow easier. It's great to be able to tailor it to our company needs.

Pros

Being able to read my staff input by generating a report whenever I need it. Being able to pull reports to the tableau so I can see my numbers just like that.

Cons

Only being able to access from work computers with the VPN installed there. Would be great to be able to access from personal computers.

March 2021

Susan from Vita Centre

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

EXcellent system for client files and caseload management

We love Penelope for report writing and for documenting outputs for different projects including quality assurance reviews - we know that we are not using Penelope to it's full capacity and there is a lot more potential for improved and different methods of reporting.

Pros

The user interface for our frontline counsellors is very intuitive which is efficient in getting new users up and running and is excellent for day-to-day casen documentation and file management

Cons

Customization of the software was a challenge for us to understand our needs with respect to the many different functions and options available - using the sandbox was helpful in working out a few of the errors we made in planning

Reasons for Choosing Penelope

flexibility, recommendation from [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] at PHAN (now MOYO), Price options, Canadian based

August 2017

Grant from Relationships Australia (Qld)

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

August 2017

UI is poor. Reporting function only in PDF. not SMS friendly. Case file structure = privacy issues

Pros

it has a diary schedule linked to cart items. it's god if you only want Penelope to do one thing, ie, ATAPS service & payments

Cons

UI poor resulting in clunky data entry and more time spent entering data. not mobile / tablet friendly Reporting function does not provide dashboard, only reports in pdf or that you have to cut and past into Excel. Case file / service file structure creates privacy issues - we may have to move away from this product on the basis of legal advice Lack of technical support available in Australia

March 2021

Nicole from Open Door Group

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Well developed database

Overall really good experience, staff are knowledgeable and great to work with

Pros

This is a really well developed database. Such flexible features to customize it to your needs.

Cons

There are some restrictions with the features and reporting that require work on our end to make things work they way we need it to work. You are not able to delete errors so you are left with a lot of extra entries that make certain parts busy and confusing.

Reasons for Switching to Penelope

Needed something that fir our needs better.

September 2020

Miguel from Saint Anthony Hospital

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Penelope from the Perspective of Reporting and Program Surveillance

I was hired to obtain, process and analyze the raw Penelope data because the built in reports were not sufficient for our reporting purposes. To be fair to Athena, I've observed this is true with any database system; built in reports for any database are static and the reporting needs of non-for-profit organizations are dynamic and shift at least annually. Initially, I had trouble using my credentials to log into Penelope's ODBC interface. It took a couple of months for Athena to figure out the issue was on their end. Once I was able to download the data, I had to figure out where everything was at and how to link it together. Athena's data dictionaries were invaluable, but you have to become familiar with the databases to correctly merge them and prepare the data. Now I can track anything entered into Penelope.

Pros

Penelope is comprehensive in terms of documenting service appointments, client assessments, referrals, notes, agency workshops and meetings, etc. One can access the raw data via ODBC and prepare the data for reporting, projections for grant writing or program surveillance. One can also use the built in reports for these. There is a feature that allows appointments to sync with Microsoft Outlook that is very handy. Athena Software has a lot of documentation for Penelope that I have found extremely helpful. Managers can look at staff caseloads easily.

Cons

I found that support for accessing the raw data, especially in terms of data preparation is very limited unless you pay for a support meeting. They do provide data dictionaries and data maps which I found very helpful. Using login credentials for downloading the data can be frustrating initially because they are not immediately actualized by the engineers. Once that occurs, ODBC works fine and is reliable. With other issues Athena responds fairly quickly. Also, they do not provide support for using R. Thankfully, there is sufficient documentation from R developers that enabled me to figure it out.

September 2020

Alyce from Canadian Forces Morale and Welfare Services

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

many used

We are a unique organization in many ways, (arent we all) and the configuration of the software was an undertaking not for the faint of heart. We did have issues where Athena struggled to understand our business model during configuration. Once we overcame this issue, Athena has been very flexible, understanding and creative in helping us maximise the softwares uses to our organizations specific needs. We have found great value for money in this partnership.

Pros

The engage tool (client communication) has made a big difference to our interactions with clients, particularly during COVID lockdowns. The customer service and support is always quick, informed and flexible to our needs. Our particular business pushed the Penelope system slightly out of its intended scope, but the Athena team has been so flexible with us and very creative in solving our issues.

Cons

The software can be difficult to configure and test. The testing environments are extremely helpful for this, but as with all software, it can be impossible to understand the ramifications of system changes without testing each and every expected output. I have seen systems that do this a little better than Athena's Penelope.

Reasons for Choosing Penelope

Penelope had the highest security requirements of software that met the needs of our organization. The security protocol is very impressive.

August 2017

Kathy from New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Penelope has given us great flexibility with our student counselor population!

Our student counselors are learning great skills in using an electronic records system. Reports are much easier to run, supervisors can access the progress notes and other documents at any time, and can be alerted to situations like suicidal ideation or risk.

Pros

Students have access everywhere; outcome measures are great, and the ability to see visual score charts across time is especially effective for clients.

Cons

It is hard to delete some mistakes. Written instructions are still not as clear as I would like. I still find it complex when setting up new outcome measures.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Penelope Provides an Opportunity for Quality Training for our Students

1. Students are trained in an excellent Electronic Health Record system, and it prepares them well for their future career. 2. Overall I have been really pleased with Penelope, and glad we chose it.

Pros

1. Being able to purchase "generic" licenses--this works well for an educational/training context. 2. Being able to design our own forms and documents. 3. Great support.

Cons

1. It took enormous time to set up our system. 2. There are still some reporting issues that do not meet our needs.

March 2021

Janice from Relationships Australia

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Penelope review from a Not for Profit Organisation

Pros

Somewhat customisable. Easy to use. Pricing by User Licence works well for smaller not for profit organisation.

Cons

Different names used for the same action which is confusing for a new staff member. Eg. Cart or Unit. Lack of reporting options.

Reasons for Choosing Penelope

Pricing and support. The support we have received from Athena has been very good.

March 2021

Jacquelyn from Greater Victoria Police Victim Services

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2021

Penelope Review

Excellent-the Penelope staff are very friendly and helpful. We had lots of questions when we originally launched Penelope and the staff were very helpful and understanding of our needs.

Pros

I like how the software is simple to use and can be easily customized to fit the needs of our program.

Cons

I don't like how we can't generate graphs from our reports from Penelope.

December 2016

Linda from The Family Conservancy

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Penelope User Review

We have used Penelope Case Management system since 2003. It is very versatile and many changes have been done to make it portable and easy to use. The ability to create documents for our own needs is a fantastic function of the system. We have created Initial Assessments, Progress/Closing Documents, activity notes and outcome tracking forms all for our specific needs. The ability to customize fields at all levels for the system to track information we need for grants and statistics is also very helpful. I would recommend this system to any one agency or organization that tracks a variety of data elements and wants to organize your data to meet your needs.

Pros

The versatility. It has a ton of user defined fields that can be setup in any combination that works for your agency. Billing is relatively simple and creating service units and activities is easy to do. Tech support has been very good over the years and the system is very rarely down. System outage issues just don't exist.

Cons

I would like to have a report writer system build into Penelope instead of using pivot tables to create customized reports.

September 2020

Betty from Gathering for Women - Monterey

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Case Management with Penelope - Volunteer Users

It is positive - the reports are essential for being able to accuracy report our statistics regarding the activities utilized by our clients. The Case Management is very important to keep the records that are so important - other agencies come to us for our statisitics.

Pros

We have been able to create a procedures manual for our volunteers based on your instructions to do the very specific tasks they need to know for recording activities and events for which they are responsible. Their experience with case management features is limited; however, even our less computer familiar volunteers are able to perform well. Procedures, once learned, can easily be conveyed by experienced volunteers to our new volunteers.

Cons

There is a lot of capability of this software - as more in learned, it becomes more valuable; but the learning curve can be difficult for volunteers who come in to volunteer may once or twice for a 4 hours shift in a month. Re-learning/retraining is a constant - hence, our procedures manual.

August 2017

Trish from Murdi Paaki Regional Enterprise Corporation Ltd

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Penelope has been a great tool for our programs. I have enjoyed learning all she has to offer

Pros

I like the ease of reporting functionality. It is very easy for me to see how often our clients are being serviced & how they are progressing within our programs. I like being able to link records with family members so we can get a wholistic view of what is happening with more than one client in a family group. The technical support that has been given to us has been fantastic.

Cons

Penelope is more suited to a clinical environment. There are a number of features within Penelope that we do not use. Some screens are hard to navigate & has some functions that are not relevant to our program needs. In the beginning of the process members of the Penelope project team with MPREC had a teleconference with customer rep. This was a very long drawn out meeting & was one that all of us did not get any benefit out of. Please when introducing your product find a better person to try to sell the program. Her presentations were very monotone & quite boring. We found ourselves drifting away from the meeting.

August 2019

Roslyn from The Samaritan Women

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Individual & Family Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Excellent product!

With Penelope, we are able to share necessary client information with other case managers with greater ease and efficiency. Scheduling for client appointments is centralized and contains all the data that is needed so that clients and service providers never miss an appointment. Using Penelope has saved our organization countless hours in searching for information and communicating with each other.

Pros

The best part about this software is the customer support that comes with it. We were able to customize it with the help of the Athena team to meet all of our case management needs.

Cons

It's hard to say what we like least about the software because it has been so helpful in meeting the needs for which we purchased it. It does take a little while to get used to using it and to learn all the facets but once you do, it's very easy to use.

Reasons for Choosing Penelope

The excellent customer service is what tipped the scales in our choice. The Athena team is attentive, patient, and helpful. The online customer support is fast and efficient. The team is there to help day or night and customer service representatives are always friendly and understanding.

January 2019

Michele from HopeNet

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Some pluses, some frustrations

Pros

Penelope has many features that other software does not, like pulling statistical reports and tracking anonymous client interactions. It gives flexibility in some areas to customize and tailor your software experience to your organization. Generally, it functions well for its purpose.

Cons

Penelope is difficult to learn and is not very intuitive to use. It's not visually appealing. The statistical reports don't always have the capability to capture the information you need. There are quite a few small, annoying processes that leave new users frustrated (like re-opening a case file and having to delete the "end date" before you can put in new information. Shouldn't re-opening it automatically invalidate the end date?)

March 2020

Elena from Champions for Children

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Individual & Family Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Customizable Software with Excellent Support

Overall, Penelope has been a great asset to our organization. It has helped to gather our data into one secure location for all staff to access. We love the ability to configure Penelope to best fit our organization, and we look forward to the reporting updates in the near future.

Pros

The ability to unite multiple programs with varying services is by far the best feature. This software allows us to track our families and the services they utilize, regardless of location and which program they attend. The ease of access to log into Penelope and the extensive help support (trainings, guides available on the website, and direct technical support) are additional key features Athena excels in.

Cons

In the beginning, it was a bit challenging to integrate this software with our current business processes. The inability to export data using Excel is the most challenging. Although there is an option to export data, it requires further training and time especially with merging pertinent identifying and service information.

September 2019

Evangelina from Gathering for Women-Monterey

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Great Case Management Software

Our overall experience has been great! Our cases are cleaner, more accessible and reporting is more efficient. Penelope is a great software for case management.

Pros

The software is user friendly for those utilizing it daily. It's functionality of the software and its accessibility for reporting is great. Penelope has made our cases cleaner and faster to access.

Cons

When adding a photo under profile, the photo can't be seen 100% after it's downloaded. So for our restricted users, it's hard to view a client’s photo because only the forehead if visible. It would be great if our case plans could auto populate from the initial one so we don't have to reenter the same information in the progress and closing plans.

Reasons for Choosing Penelope

Penelope had the majority of what we needed in a software with the added security levels (classes).

February 2017

Sarah from ARC Administrators, LLC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

We love Penelope!

We are a care coordination division of a TPA, providing case management, utilization management, care transitions, and chronic condition management services to 80,000 members. Penelope has been so easy for us to use. The nurses love it, because they can communicate with other team, have our MD remotely look at notes, and we can easily pull case reports for underwriters. I used Penelope in my former job, and when we did this start up, it was the first thing I thought of to use. The support staff are friendly and understanding, and are great with training. I would highly recommend.

Pros

The reports are easy to to understand - especially to non-user stakeholders and our clients. The forms are easy to create and adjust, and the billing/ cart system is easy for my staff to use for their billable hours.

August 2019

Taylor from Redeemer Counseling Services

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Good product

Pros

Overall, I really enjoy most of the features of Penelope. Although there are many clicks to do one single task, the benefit of this, is that options are highly accurate and match actuals.

Cons

I wish there were ways to feed Penelope reports into other software or vice versa. This would help with bookkeeping purposes. As of now, it is manually required that I crosscheck Penelope data with other sources (Square, Cashapp). It would be more effective for reporting if Penelope could feed into or be linked with other outside services.

Reasons for Switching to Penelope

Lack of functionality and customization

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

It does a lot

Overall, there are a million types of software for mental health out there. And Penelope is a solid, experienced, reliable, excellent customer-service option that keeps getting better. I trust Penelope, I like that it keeps improving, and I look forward to seeing some of the problems fixed!

Pros

Penelope offers a wide range of options for customizable software. Our counseling center is a practice of about 50 professionals, and in the search for software, we realized that our software needs are a bit unique. Penelope was able to offer customizable options and reports (reports are an additional cost) that fit our needs.

Cons

It's expansive (which is good), but keep in mind that it takes time to train, set up, install, teach others, and learn how to best use. In addition, the reports are sometimes be transferred to excel and other times not. There is no mobile version yet (they are working on it), but mobile use is important for in-the-field or during-the-commute work. SO when the mobile version is up and running, it will be amazing.

August 2019

Liz from Chino Valley USD

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Individual & Family Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

potentially great data base system

Penelope support is heavy in the initial stages but drops off drastically as you launch the system. Penelope staff for the most part though are committed to providing good customer service.

Pros

Having spent the past year learning how to navigate the software, our team is impressed with the detail it is able to capture. It has opened up numerous opportunities to report data on our various programs.

Cons

The amount of work it takes to "set-up" the system is not to be taken lightly. Another con is learning about reports and extracting your data...you're pretty much having to "play" with it which can become quite time consuming.

Reasons for Choosing Penelope

The main reason we chose Penelope was that two of our district programs are currently utilizing Athena software.

February 2017

Richard from Headway (Ireland) Brain Injury Services and Support

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Flexible, configurable and reliable (so far)

I've been using Athena's Penelope Case Management Tool in our Community Acquired Brain Injury service for over 8 years. In that time it's proven itself a valuable and reliable source of organisational data as well as an essential tool for sharing person-centred information within a multi-d team. It's powerful out of the box, but can be configured to many different kinds of interaction. Being cloud based, it makes accessing the records you need easy, whether you're working onsite or off. Athena have managed to evolve the system impressively, and it has more than kept pace with changes in the way we work and use technology.

Pros

Powerful feature set and configurability. Cloud based.

Cons

Interface could do with some tweaks to improve navigability

May 2017

Courtney from A Precious Child

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

Penelope has allowed our staff to work more cohesively by providing a user friendly database.

Pros

For the first time our organization has been able to capture better client and partner data that has allowed our multiple departments to work more cohesively. The ease of use of the Smart Documents and Forms has enhanced the way we gather demographic and program information for grants and funding purposes. While the overall functionality of the database has been very helpful to capturing client and partner data, we hope further updates with the Search function and Calendar will better serve our organizational needs, for example searching by Event Description (specifically Indirect Events). Both the launch support and technical support team have been wonderful to work with and respond quickly to our inquiries. Overall: Cloud Based, Easy to create Forms, and Smart Docs are great features. Reports within Penelope are great for capturing basic information. Easy for most staff to use.

Cons

It'd be helpful if more fields were more customizable and if reports could be more specific (more Breakdown options) in Penelope instead of having to utilize the Open Database Connectivity. Search function includes many fields to filter by, but not all the fields that we need- would like better customizable search options.

October 2018

Pam from The Arc Arapahoe & Douglas Counties

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2018

Penelope

Pros

It meets the majority of our needs for tracking clients, staff notes, documents and scheduling space in our building (both internal and external meetings).

Cons

I can't create mailing labels from Penelope, the calendar of meetings (outside groups can schedule days/times to use our meeting rooms) doesn't always sink between the appointment icon and the monthly calendar (side tab). Wish the calendar worked more like Outlook. Search should be for anything vs. having to click an option.

March 2020

Deborah from The Family Recovery Program, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2020

Personal Opinion

Between fair and good, depending on what is needed.

Pros

Able to provide most information needed.

Cons

Cannot get the acutal outcomes needed. I'm not sure what else you want me to say. There seems to be a lot of going back and forth to get information. Cannot get information needed for an individual client when asked for it. It's not as simple as it seems.

Reasons for Switching to Penelope

Looking for a product who could best provide the reports and services needed.

January 2019

Beth from SEEC

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Individual & Family Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Our experience with Penny, so far

Overall the staff at Penelope is helpful and knowledgeable. Penelope is pretty expensive compared to many other databases and the software does offer a good bit to help compensate for the cost. However, some of our staff feels that we should have received more hands-on assistance and instruction for the price. To some extent I believe that more from not having a local based team to work with and all Penny staff being located in other countries. Everything was handled remotely so, if there is any complaint I believe it is just not being able to work in person with anyone. All in all though, the team we had did a great job, considering the distance, and our staff is starting to really like the software as they are trained.

Pros

The tech support team is great and the flexibility of form creation is fantastic.

Cons

The configuration and data migration process was a bit confusing and more time consuming then we planned on.

June 2017

Nicole from Brighter, Stronger Foundation

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

We love the staff response/feedback

Save time, money and easy access to client files and staff schedules. More efficient with documentation and effective client planning within systems. Access to quick reports and better billing processes.

Pros

The fact that it's mobile friendly makes introducing the database a little more exciting to staff and executives.

Cons

The lack of application or mobile software for worker use. I always get the weird look when workers ask "is there an app?" and I say "No" I'd certainly like to change that response.

May 2017

Kelsey from Community Human Services

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Excellent customer service! Very easy to use the site!

This program is primarily used for reporting on our cliental. This software coincides with what we are looking for as we can build it around our company!

Pros

It is nice that you can build the site around your company. When you have questions, a support staff member is very quick in response. We have 6 programs running out this program, which makes it easy to gather demographic data for all of them, in one place!

Cons

The only negative was fixed. I had trouble trying to run cross reports for all our programs, but with granted access, I am now able to pull from an Excel spreadsheet for any report.

September 2020

Alvin from Relationship Matters

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Captures all Data but All Over the Place

It's a full featured program that you can adapt to many different scenario's - but you need to set it up right.

Pros

It has the ability to capture data for every aspect of the process. Feature rich. There's the ability to report directly from the raw data (from the back end) but this requires a fair bit of extra knowledge to get it working effectively.

Cons

The data is all over the place - you need to know where to go to enter/find what you're looking for. Reporting is somewhat lacking - lots of standard reports but often quite specific.

January 2019

LEANZAR from New Visions Behavioral Health Academy

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Penelope Is Great

Penelope is imply a great way to manage client data for records and progress tracking.

Pros

The software really allows us to keep accurate records of our clients in an organized, easy to follow manner.

Cons

When working with a group, it is not possible to schedule everyone at the same time which means different time slots for each group member. This blocks out more time than is real time for clinicians availability.

August 2017

Adam from Qualia Counselling Services

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

We use Penelope for scheduling, case noting, and financials. We've been very happy with it.

Pros

The best thing about using this software is the reliability and the customer support. I've been using this software daily for almost two years and the site has only gone down once for about half of a day. Within moments, customer service sent me an email telling me how I could still access the site using a different method. Also, any questions that I've had have been answered with clear and concise instructions within hours. The help section of the software also contains very clear instructions for performing many tasks.

May 2017

Delia from Te Hauora o Ngati Haua Trust

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Penelope is a game changer for us

Real time access to our data therefore our reports are accurate and up to date

Pros

24/7 access. Security and support from Athena Reporting feature allows us to see our organisation Real time results

Cons

Moving from laptop to tablet the forms don't resize well. Would like ability to sort and filter my home page more..perhaps a search function

September 2019

Hannah from Edgewood Clinical Services

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Innovative product for Behavioral Health Services

Overall Penelope has been a great match for what our organization needs.

Pros

The software has grown as our organization has grown, and continues to implement new innovative features

Cons

Can be difficult to teach new users the organization behind the software, not always intuitive, billing statements are incredibly complicated

January 2019

Gabriel from SBCSS SSCC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Excellent clinical software

I am able to efficiently chart for each of my students. The layout and software is user friendly. It is quality!

Pros

The organization and ease it provides. I utilize Penelope on a daily basis and our counseling clinic enjoys it.

Cons

When we initially utilized Penelope I accidentally delete en entire file. That bug has been fixed now which is outstanding news.

March 2020

Marie from ANEW Place

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Individual & Family Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Penelope Review

Overall it is useful for our current needs.

Pros

It assists with tracking our clients progress as they move through our four phase continuum of care.

Cons

There are aspects that are not easy to navigate; it is not clear how to get where you want to go, you have to be trained in the process, it is not self-explanatory.

May 2018

Diamond from Brighter Stronger

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

It's a great software that's easy to use once you've learned how to use it.

Being able to keep track of documentation.

Pros

It holds Records. It allows all staff to complete documentation. It's very easy to navigate once you get use to the features.

Cons

It takes some time to learn how to use the features of the software. It's only allows a certain amount of people to sign in at once.

February 2017

Rebecca from Sendero Therapies, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

We love our "Penny"

In our company we refer to the Penelope Software familiarly as Penny. She is our friend in so many ways! She makes documentation, scheduling, reporting, payroll, invoicing easy! So much time is saved. She is User friendly as well making auditing for accountability and accuracy a breeze. I would recommend the software to anyone.

Pros

User friendly

Cons

Would like easier use of documents

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

CSC

We have had Penelope for several years and use it for our Clinical Counseling services. Especially like the Profile, Accounting and scheduling segments of Penelope.

Pros

Scheduling and client profile information.

Cons

It is not easy to pull reports that we need specifically.

September 2020

Cathrine from Relationships Australia

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

intuitive and helpful

Pros

I find Penelope an intuitive and easy to use client management system. It is the most effective system I have used in the 15 years I have been using client management systems.

Cons

None that I can think of at this very moment.

August 2017

Kim from Community Counselling & Resource Centre (CCRC)

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Individual & Family Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Best Case Management Software ever! Does everything we need it to and then some!

It's all in one - we don't have to fool around with multiple software programs for various functions.

Pros

The flow of the product; user friendly (our placement students have no difficulty using this software); efficient; accounting portion; great customer service through the help tickets.

August 2019

Sor Moi from Drexel University-Healing Hurt People

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Using Penelope

Penelope enable us to document all events by client Easy to train any new employees-user friendly Easy to get data by staff, client, date, service type, etc. Staff can do collaborative documentation with client in the community.

Pros

User friendly, flexible, you can design to fit the needs for Case Management Program

Cons

I wished there is one report that I can run to obtain all the critical data I need in one report.

September 2020

Carol from CFS Saskatoon

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

CFS Saskatoon

I feel the system is designed well as it is great for tracking our activities in our counselling department and makes reporting easier in terms of understanding demand and invoicing. I feel new staff are able to learn the system fairly quicly.

Pros

I find the support through submitting tickets very helpful and with new releases the system is current and incorporates . Also having the backup done by Athena is very beneficial to us.

Cons

I know there are a lot of other features offered but we haven't investigated them fully but from the limited exposure it feels very expensive.

Reasons for Choosing Penelope

Cost and support.

August 2017

John from Otara Health Charitable Trust

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

PENELOPE offers much in the way of case management, and tracking informal workshops etc

The ability to access and capture case management information securely, and the information from group meetings also both formal and informal.

Pros

The software is cloud based and has a wide application for use. We are happy with the software itself.

Cons

The software's wide application for use means lots of options, unfortunately the knowledge base doesn't provide the level of information required or is not easy to navigate. The availability of local technical support and expertise in New Zealand appears limited. It would be good to have face to face contact to talk about our ongoing set up (new programmes) and reporting needs.

May 2019

Marianne from Mental Health Care

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Electronic web based office suite

Penelope has given us the ability to store our notes electronically and to manage our time through the scheduling function.

Pros

The scheduling function is easy to use and helps us ensure that our time is being used efficiently

Cons

The reporting function is limited. I would like the option to pull queries that could be down loaded into excel for further slicing and dicing.

January 2019

Beth from Partnership for Children of Johnston County

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Beth Moore

We have loved the people that trained us and helped us configure Penelope.

Pros

I like that we are able to customize it for our non-profit needs.

Cons

I would love it if it could merge with google spreadsheets.

February 2017

Maureen from Ventura Counseling Center

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Excellent for group psychotherapy practice

We have used Penelope for a few years now. We are able to log, bill, schedule, remind for appointments. It is easy once you get the hang of it. The customer support couldn't be kinder and more patient.

Pros

All inclusive

Cons

So much to learn in the beginning

August 2017

Raymond from Pasifika Futures

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Excellent software, does what we need and in time may need to roll with changes of improvement

Ease of use

Pros

Understanding the software helps, once you do this and you can appreciate it more and what it does and becomes a very simple solution.

Cons

May need a redesign of the workflow but probably more so in training of navigators. Feedback from customers is essential in developing a catered solution for that market but keeping the same NGO concept of the original design and perhaps improving the use of the product based on your target market.

October 2017

Joni from IAC Center

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Good program. Bizarre service

Good program. Bizarre service. Not an optimal combo

Pros

Program good, easy to navigate like many other programs with similar functions. Have used this for a long time and reluctant to switch...so grinning and bearing it with the strangest service I have ever witnessed. Head-spinning actually

Cons

Support is super strange. Took a week and too many emails to get help for a minor fix, and they charge money for a password change. Never been charged fir that before. Left a bad feeling

December 2017

JENNIFER from OSNC

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

WORK ON IT EVERYDAY

Pros

THE PROGRAM IS IT FAIRLY SIMPLE FOR THE MOST PART, MOST EVERYTHING IS EASY TO FIND AND TELLS YOU IF YOU MISS SOMETHING

Cons

SOME THINGS ARE TOO COMPLICATED AND USE TO MANY SCREENS JUST TO GET TO ONE POINT TO CORRECT A CLAIM.

June 2017

Cristina from CHS

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Great system for tracking and billing.

Pros

I like the versatility within the site. We have numerous programs in our company that we run out of this system.

Cons

When pulling specific reports can be hard because we don't have all the reports built in that we need.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 73 reviews