All Hivebrite Reviews

1-25 of 61 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Rachael

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Perfect Platform for Alumni Relations (Even a 1-Person Alumni Relations Office)!

I am a one-person team for my alumni relations office. The fact that I met with vendors over a three month period and then designed and launched the platform in 8 weeks means that anyone can do it and it's a very user-friendly product. I would highly recommend Hivebrite to universities to use this platform for their alumni, students, faculty, and staff engagement/professional development platform.

PROS

This platform is all-encompassing. It's nice because you can just turn on and off features as you need them. Most companies make you "add-on" additional modules which is expensive and annoying. The only add-ons that isn't included for Hivebrite is Mentoring and Campaigns, but these add-ons are cheap compared to other vendors. It's a very easy platform to use and brand the way you want it.

CONS

Your IT team or a third party vendor has to complete the API's to sync with your alumni database which has been interesting to navigate. It would be nice if Hivebrite did it all in-house for you or worked with your IT team to make it happen. You also can't archive past events or forum discussions. This would be nice so that you can clear out these sections instead of seeing everything you've ever done.

Reason for choosing Hivebrite

1. Sales rep was not pushy or aggressive which I appreciated. PeopleGrove had a very aggressive sales person that was rude. 2. Cost - it's a good price compared to other vendors 3. All-inclusive - the modules are available to you at any time and you control when you turn them on or off

Predrag

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

YourMembership to Hivebrite migration

We needed to expand our community building effort beyond a single country, while ensuring that each entity may define different membership rates and collect fees in a separate account. The Groups and multiple Payment accounts capabilities provided by Hivebrite matched our requirements.

PROS

it has been an enjoyable UX/UI experience using Hivebrite. A platform that combines some of the best features of Squarespace, Mailchimp, Facebook, LinkedIn and Kickstarter. It is easy to use and easy to integrate.

CONS

The page builder functionality requires further refinement and enhancements, in addition to further enhancements across the reporting and analytics related to payments, email and web.

Reason for choosing Hivebrite

Hivebrite had all of the features we currently use from YourMembership, in addition to Projects, Companies, Career, Life Feed, Mentorship and Groups, allowing us to expand our community beyond a single country and more importantly a modern, responsive user interface (backend and frontend), at a comparable price.

Reasons for switching to Hivebrite

Follow this link for more information - YourMembership to Hivebrite migration — A Primer [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]

Anonymous

1 employee

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed September 2022

WARNING: Hivebrite has Ethical Issues

I'm not a fan of this company or their software. They assured me they would work with me as a start up that has very little funding. I explained their competitor Mighty Networks has a monthly package that could be a better fit. Their sales rep [SENSITIVE CONTENT] promised they help companies like mine but when the platform was missing KEY functions that we discussed on DAY 1 of implementation I CANCELLED. After cancelling I didn't hear back from [SENSITIVE CONTENT] for weeks at which time he only defended his actions and said they will not cancel the agreement. As a minority owned startup, I should never have trusted them. Their sales tactics are unethical. Now I'm struggling to determine how to cover a $10k+ debt for software I never used or implemented at all. Seem they don't mind a quick snatch and grab. Seems criminal to me that a company with their supposed history would do this. But I wouldn't be surprised if there were a lot more people who they're doing this to. NO HUMAN BEING deserves this kind of treatment and I hope they get what they deserve for their unethical actions.

Reason for choosing Hivebrite

In the end I chose Mighty Networks because they have an affordable monthly package that works better for me at this state of business.

Jeanine

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2024

Great for hosting online community discussions; event capabilities are a work in progress

The Hivebrite people are amazing! Our implementation team was top-notch. While we are experiencing some issues with our back-end Salesforce integration, and a few shortfalls in event registration management, overall Hivebrite is a much better bang-for-our-buck than our previous platform. It is also continuing to grow and improve which means we're on the forefront of community-building tech.

PROS

The community discussion tools are top notch!

CONS

The event capabilities show promise but need work until they meet the needs of ever-growing and expanding nonprofits.

Reasons for switching to Hivebrite

Higher Logic lacked the capabilities Blue Star Families needed to grow our online community. We built so many workarounds that we lost the ability to use any of the out-of-the-box components. We needed a product that would grow and morph alongside our community members.

Vendor Response

Hi Jeanine, I would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for this great review! Customer satisfaction means everything to us and we are thrilled to hear that you are happy with our community engagement platform. We are committed to creating the best community engagement platform to meet and exceed your expectations. If ever you have a suggestion, idea, or feedback on how we can further support you, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our Customer Success team directly at hello@hivebrite.com. Thank you again! The Hivebrite Team

Replied May 2024

Oana

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

An all-in-one platform to manage your alumni community

Fast and efficient customer support, dynamic team, very useful release radar webinars.

PROS

When we chose the Hivebrite software, we compared it to other competitors on the French market. Almost two years after starting using it to manage our alumni community, we are very satisfied with our choice : this software as a system was hands on, easily customizable and useful in terms of features (mapped alumni directory, clusters, timeline, events, jobboard, statistics, etc.).

CONS

Developing and launching new features (if requested by client) is not sistematically possible. The email builder would require some upgrades.

Reason for choosing Hivebrite

Price, Platform features, GDPR compliance, data security...

Jorgelina

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2021

Humanin Haus

Very good predisposition of our account manager

PROS

is intuitive and resolved our interest in creating a community

CONS

It is not 100% user frendly, we have to adapt our business to functionality, we still could not find a person to carry out the hivebrite integration with hubspot. We need them to improve quickly: media center, user scoring system and add functionality on discussion forum so that it can be carried out in synchronicity.

Reason for choosing Hivebrite

Because Mighty Networks did not exist in Spanish

Tom

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Great for managing digital communities

Overall, Hivebrite has been an amazing platform to host our online community. We're looking forward to setting up the mobile app, which is included in our contract!

PROS

- Easy to set up - Interface is completely customizable, also offer great design templates - Content management is seamless - Ability to automate content, host live digital events with Zoom integration - Fantastic CRM for managing users

CONS

- Anything outside of their pre-set templates you are required to figure out on your own. Makes customization a little trickier if you don't have the technical expertise in-house. - Hivebrite offers API integration in the platform, but again, you need to figure it out on your own. More support on their end in setting it up would make things much easier for content managers.

Vendor Response

Hi Tom, I would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for this great review! Customer satisfaction means everything to us and we are thrilled to hear that you are happy with our community engagement platform. We are committed to creating the best community engagement platform to meet and exceed your expectations. If ever you have a suggestion, idea, or feedback on how we can further support you, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our Customer Success team directly at hello@hivebrite.com. Thank you again! The Hivebrite Team

Replied April 2024

User Profile

Eylem

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

comprehensive and user-friendly platform

PROS

Hivebrite is a comprehensive and user-friendly platform that effortlessly bridges the gap between organizations and their communities. The customizability of the platform stands out, allowing for a tailored experience that aligns perfectly with the specific needs and branding of any organization. The variety of tools available for engagement, from event management to membership directories, fosters a vibrant community atmosphere. Additionally, Hivebrite’s support team is exceptional, providing quick and helpful responses to any queries or issues that arise.

CONS

While the platform is generally user-friendly, some users might find the initial setup and navigation through the plethora of features a bit overwhelming without thorough guidance.

Vendor Response

Hi Eylem, I would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for this great review! Customer satisfaction means everything to us and we are thrilled to hear that you are happy with our community engagement platform. We are committed to creating the best community engagement platform to meet and exceed your expectations. If ever you have a suggestion, idea, or feedback on how we can further support you, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our Customer Success team directly at hello@hivebrite.com. Thank you again! The Hivebrite Team

Replied May 2024

Elvis

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Great platform with lots of functionalities!

An overall good experience, and good customer service.

PROS

The multiple functionalities that it has and that it`s easy to use

CONS

It gets a bit slow if you have a lot of information or tabs

Vendor Response

Hi Elvis, I would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for this great review! Customer satisfaction means everything to us and we are thrilled to hear that you are happy with our community engagement platform. We are committed to creating the best community engagement platform to meet and exceed your expectations. If ever you have a suggestion, idea, or feedback on how we can further support you, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our Customer Success team directly at hello@hivebrite.com. Thank you again! The Hivebrite Team

Replied May 2024

User Profile

Ali

Verified reviewer

Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Best modulable alumni platfotm

We were looking for a database, alumni platform and a workspace (groupe with feed, media center, event for meeting and deadline..) and billingual.

PROS

A lot of personalization (a lot of possibility) Easy to learn and use Best customer service you can have Easy to admin Always update et good communication If you have idea (new feature) you can submit them on the blog, people vote and the most voted are choosed for devloppement French and english customer service Billingual platform Back-Office CRM

CONS

The mobile application need some optimisation The Media center is great but is not optimal as well Except that, I think it is the best software on the market (I looked for more than 25 alumni platform before making my top 3 than my final selection)

James

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

A Comprehensive Community Building Platform

Hivebrite has allowed us to double down on our community-centric approach to building a business and deliver a data backed approach to growing and maintaining a membership base of engaged and informed users. It has become a one-stop shop for all our member needs and the support and genuine interest from the Hivebrite team in how we deliver our implementation has allowed us to go beyond our initial goals for the platform and start to implement new initiatives and ideas with Hivebrite at its core.

PROS

Hivebrite offers a huge amount of functionality to build and grow an online community. When searching for a software that could do it all Hivebrite came top of our list in terms of the sheer number of tools provided to help grow a community platform. The features, functionality and backend options allow you to really dial in the system to meet your needs - with core functionality that covers pretty much all aspects of building and running a community around your business, organisation or interest. It's relatively simple to build out a front end website, launch memberships, customise your membership portal and setup events, run email campaigns, share and store content and more. If you want to get more custom you can also dive into code, or connect your other platforms via the API which has proven very handy as we have scaled our business. The team is also super helpful in onboarding you onto how to make best use of the platform and build creative strategies to engage and inspire the community within - in fact i'd say that the customer support in general is one of the best in the business in terms of engagement, responsiveness and genuine interest in supporting your goals as a business.

CONS

The app is a bit disappointing and doesn't do the web based product justice. UX improvements and gamification features on the front end would help users to explore and utilise the platform more regularly. Admin backend can sometimes be a little confusing to use - however the HIvebrite Customer Service is second to none in my experience.

Randi

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2020

Great Choice for Alumni Orgs

HiveBrite has been instrumental in helping HBSANC reach our goals which centered around increased membership metrics and more efficiently executing our expansive events calendar (including a recent complete pivot from live to online events). HIveBrite’s Membership and Events modules has empowered us to reach all of those goals with the highest revenue numbers in club history and more club memberships than in the past five years and still climbing. Engagement is high as a large percentage of our alumni base is active on our platform even if they are not paid member. We have also successfully managed over 300 events in the past 2 years since migrating.

PROS

- Migrating our data was incredibly challenging as our existing database had many duplicate users and a vast array of legacy fields to either map to existing fields or create custom fields for. Migration support went above and beyond to guide us in best practices for both cleaning the data, customizing fields and even developing custom filters for our alumni map specific to our org’s needs. - Ability to efficiently create value for our members with restricted access to online gated content and to features like the sleek Alumni map - eliminating the need for time consuming manual benefits we had been manually tracking previously - User friendly interface with all in one modules for events, emails, website, analytics - Great payment processing and integration with Stripe. - Always developing new features and modules to improve and listening to customer feature requests - Great customer service. The platform that have some limitations (as all platforms do) but their customer support team is always quick with a solution or work around. - Not an anonymous large company but working relationship with a team there to support us and cares about our success and meeting our goals.

CONS

- Limited customization of reports- beta reporting module is in development - Lack of integration All in one and easy to use but It does not integrate with other platforms - No user forum to learn best practices for different features and use cases- I thinks is on the timeline

Reasons for switching to Hivebrite

- User Friendly All in One- We decided to move to a HIveBrite as it is user friendly with a shorter learning curve to make it more accessible for staff and volunteers - trading off some broader customization offered on more complex and expensive platforms. - Integration with LinkedIn - users can easily log on and bring over basic experience info from LinkedIn was also a big selling point- easier for people to log on and update their profile info and we get standard data on industries and companies for those who have chosen to use this feature. - Membership Module- Our goals were to find a platform with a flexible Membership Module that would enable us to increase our membership revenue and numbers - Events Module- We host a rich events calendar and our goal was to more effectively manage it -Engagement features such as the interactive Alumni Map

Cécile

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

Plateforme évolutive

Une seule plateforme pour développer le réseau des diplômés de HELMo... C'est juste génial! D'autant que l'on peut proposer aux utilisateurs de rejoindre des groupes d'utilisateurs distincts, selon leurs centres d'intérêts.

PROS

La plateforme évolue chaque jour car des développeurs y travaillent jour après jour. Du coup, vous bénéficiez des avancées et c'est un énorme plus. Elle est facile d'utilisation et intuitive. Elle propose plusieurs fonctionnalités intéressantes pour les utilisateurs. EN tant qu'admin, j'apprécie en particulier le logiciel pour envoyer des campagnes d'e-mail ainsi que le module Evenement qui permet le paiement en ligne. L'annuaire séduit aussi les utilisateurs. LA relation avec Hiverbite est super. Le personnel est super réactif .

CONS

1. La fonctionnalité Opportunité professionnelle est bien mais pas assez personnalisable au niveau des secteurs d'activité pour faciliter la recherche d'emploi des utilisateurs. Comme l'évolution de la plateforme dépend des "gros" clients, on doit parfois être patient pour qu'une amélioration souhaitée soit mise en place. 2. Le support HIvebrite (mode d'emploi, webinar, ...) est en anglais uniquement. Dommage (heureusement l'équipe support répond en français et est hyper efficace et sympathique).

Reason for choosing Hivebrite

Pour son côté évolutif et la pertinence des fonctionnalités déjà existantes lors de l'achat + Excellent rapport qualité-prix

Robert

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2016

Hivebrite is cooler + has richer functionality + is more flexible + is a ridiculously-good value

Seriously. I found Hivebrite at the very end of an exhaustive search of over 50 different alumni management platforms. After countless platform demos that would generally end with having witnessed a feature/function-poor platform, or witnessing a polished platform that cost 3x or 4x what my non-profit was looking to spend, I met Jean, who gave me a tour of the Hivebrite platform. I think at one point I literally asked Jean 'What's the catch?' because I didn't get it: Hivebrite was the sexiest, most-feature-rich platform I had seen, yet its price point was one of the lowest of all the vendors I had vetted. There was no catch. Jean and his team have built'and are continuing to evolve'an incredibly sophisticated alumni management and engagement platform. Let me expound just a bit on a few points: »»Cooler. Richer functionality. - The overall structure of the site is clean and tastefully executed. - The map interface of the `Events' of `People' is not just slick, but also super-functional as an intuitive and inviting way for alumni to engage with relevant fellow alumni and happenings. It's leaps and bounds better than anything I had seen from any provider. - With its ability to have alumni create `pitch pages' for their businesses and ventures, interact in group and forum tabs, post and attend events together, Hivebrite simply does more'and does it better'than any other provider. Hivebrite's functionality actually gave me ideas on how I can create engagement with alumni that I had not previously thought of. - Targeting a specific segment of your alumni for an email campaign is perfectly straightforward. Did I mention they have integrated email-campaign analytics? - With all this functionality housed under one roof, I no longer need to waste time toggling back and forth between my alumni CRM/Eventbrite/MailChimp/etc. »»More flexible. - When you talk to the support team at Hivebrite, if the answer isn't 'Yes', it's 'We'll make that a priority in our next iteration'. They have integrated many, many adaptation requests into their platform, and their platform is what it is today largely due to them improving based upon their client feedback. They have really valued my input and make me feel like we are on a team together, working to develop an awesome solution for my alumni and for my organization. That means the world to me. Thank you Jean, Flo, and the whole Hivebrite team for helping me do more for my alumni.

Vendor Response

Thanks Rob - Such a detailed and enthusiastic review means the world to us. We're definitely a team!

Replied September 2016

Debbie

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

A modular platform to suit all your community needs

Overall the Hivebrite platform is a fun, efficient and pleasing place to connect with our audience.

PROS

The platform has a modular structure, so you can have everything or choose the modules that work for your community. You may not need all the available functionality so I love that I can turn on the modules that work for us and therefore make our community relevant to our members, clean and uncluttered and easy to navigate.

CONS

The notification structure is a bit heavy in its regularity. You can manage this on your profile but I do think it could do with some improving to filter notifications to reduce the inbox getting full of emails.

Vendor Response

Hi Debbie, I would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for this great review! Customer satisfaction means everything to us and we are thrilled to hear that you are happy with our community engagement platform. We are committed to creating the best community engagement platform to meet and exceed your expectations. If ever you have a suggestion, idea, or feedback on how we can further support you, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our Customer Success team directly at hello@hivebrite.com. Thank you again! The Hivebrite Team

Replied May 2024

Marie-Aline

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

Veel functionaliteiten met limieten

Wij gebruiken Hivebrite als tool om onze alumnicommunity te beheren en uit te bouwen. Op deze manier bieden we onze alumni een plek waar alle relevante info voor hen verzameld wordt en ze elkaar kunnen ontmoeten. Bovendien kunnen we intern in één systeem werken om onze alumnigegevens te beheren. Hivebrite staat open voor suggesties en de customer service en accountmanager doen altijd hun best om je vragen te beantwoorden of oplossingen te zoeken. Tot nu toe een aangename en vlotte samenwerking.

PROS

Hivebrite is een kant- en klare tool die je op zich gemakkelijk in gebruik kan nemen en kan instellen naargelang de behoeften van de organisatie. Het is een mooie en professioneel ogend product, wat van belang is om eindgebruikers aan te spreken. Er is een ruim aanbod aan functionaliteiten, die je volgens je eigen noden kan in- of uitschakelen. Op vlak van functionaliteiten en lay-out kan je dus vlot gaan customizen. Je bepaalt zelf hoe je website eruitziet, welke infovelden er in een profiel staan, welke tabs je inschakelt, wat zichtbaar is voor wie,.... Een grote troef zijn de mogelijkheden op vlak van subgroepen of subcommunities. Groepsadmins hebben veel autonomie om hun eigen community uit te bouwen. Een ander voordeel zijn de uitgebreide filtermogelijkheden om gebruikers op te zoeken. Je kan zo ook niet-actieve gebruikers rechtstreeks vanuit Hivebrite uitnodigen om te registeren.

CONS

Hoewel je veel kan customizen gaat het nog altijd om een kant- en klaar product. De mogelijkheden en functionaliteiten zijn begrensd omdat je altijd binnen dit kader blijft werken. Zo werkt de betaaltool uitsluitend met creditcard en niet met lokale betaalopties. Daarnaast is het niet altijd evident om de Hivebrite software te laten corresponderen met andere tools of software. Daar is bijkomend programmeerwerk voor nodig. Ook om gegevens te exporteren zijn de mogelijkheden gelimiteerd.

Rob

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT