User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(10)

10

4 stars

(2)

2

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

5.0 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Pelcro Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -38 of 12 results

March 2020

User Profile Picture

Brad from Houston Herald

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Newspapers

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Subscription management

We've significantly increased the number of digital subscriptions during the last year. At the same time, it has provided excellent customer service.

Pros

As we transitioned to a more aggressive digital strategy we needed to find the right partner who could help us. Pelcro's software and staff allowed us to successfully make the change. Since our launch, it has continually made upgrades to the features available.

Cons

As with all transitions to a different platform, there are challenges. Pelcro worked with us closely and the end-result was a successful experience.

March 2020

Jordan from Arkansas Times

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Newspapers

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Great paywall software

Overall, the relationship has been very positive. The Pelcro team has been responsive, helpful and given plenty of subscription-related insight. Our subscriptions have increased by around ~25% since implementation and they've been more than willing to work with us on unique ideas and minor custom implementations. I'd easily recommend them to any publication, especially those looking to avoid tying their revenue to a %-based pricing model.

Pros

Customer service is top-notch. Fixed-rate pricing so our costs don't scale with our user count. Quite customizable aesthetically.

Cons

The admin tools are steadily improving, but sometimes limited in their power/utility. Gift subscriptions are cumbersome, requiring an account to be created in order to buy the gift.

Reasons for Choosing Pelcro

Fixed-rate pricing and a nice balance of features.

August 2021

Jen from Education Week

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

Pelcro serves a niche need in Publishing

Pelcro is an integral part of the Education Week tech portfolio handling a key area of our business, subscriptions (group and individual). From a day-to-day perspective, the software handles the subscriptions effortlessly. As we are a complex business, we look forward to more work on the platform to help achieve our more precise business goals.

Pros

Our company, Education Week, began an RFP process with Plecro in Q4, 2019. Pelcro showed a strong desire to achieve work, even when work took longer to complete than anticipated or unexpected problems arose. Much of the platform specifics for Pelcro are well-documented in their docs.pelcro.com for base features/functionality. Pelcro's platform is a one-stop-shop for individual subscriber management with the best solution for simple recurring payments and plans. The ability to use a web-based product to review both print and digital subscriptions in real-time is unique in this space. Coupled with customer data such as payments, invoices, usage, and a self-service portal, it creates an environment for quick service to the customer. From a development perspective, we appreciate the ability to highlight possible new features and work with Pelcro to incorporate them in their roadmap.

Cons

There are three main areas of concern with the Pelcro software and support. Reporting: Pelcro has yet to develop traditional reporting packages that are similar to other publishing fulfillment companies. This hampers visibility into the business and places audits at risk. Development: After requirements have been gathered, Pelcro would benefit from early check-ins with their clients. We've experienced issues with buy-in and alignment of features, shared understanding of features that could / could not be implemented, better testing on proof of concept, and maximizing their team's hours. Group Subscriptions: Not part of their core offering I would not mark them down for this issue, but our company does need to build workarounds to achieve business results.

Reasons for Choosing Pelcro

Age of Pelcro (newer company) and our company size (smaller but complex business) generally fit well together for ROI & the ability to influence future features. Pelcro’s earlyproblem-solving capabilities were appreciated and helped us with workable solutions so that we could meet a multi-system launch timeline.

October 2021

Elaine from Silicon Republic

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Online Media

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2021

Great product from a great team

Pros

Pelcro is a well-priced product that was well suited to our needs, and the team behind it are terrific.

Cons

As with all products and services there is room for improvement, but the Pelcro team take these requests on board and were very happy to work with us to better meet our needs.

March 2020

Andrew from Times Review Media Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Community News Digital Subscription Model

Our overall experience has been exceptional. The team at Pelcro is superb and we have a strong, strategic partnership. Here is an example of some of the messaging that is leading to a direct increase in digital or All Access subscribers [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] Our relationship with Pelcro was a game-changer as we position our brands for the future.

Pros

We are digitizing an award-winning group of community news and lifestyle brands based on Eastern Long Island, New York. Our oldest brand is 163 years old led by a Pulitzer winning editor and very talented, digitally oriented team. After years of building our capabilities we made the decision to charge for metered access to our content. This has been a game-changer for our business. The Pelcro team is smart, resourceful and helped us integrate our legacy print subscriber database with seamless digital access while building an entirely new, highly profitable digital only revenue stream. www.timesreview.com

Cons

There were absolutely times during the integration process that had some bumps, but this generally related to changes in the API related to the software running our legacy newspaper business. Pelcro was very proactive throughout the integration process which was successfully implemented.

Reasons for Choosing Pelcro

Strategic fit and capabilities of the Pelcro solution. We were also intrigued with AI and predictive marketing features as we as well. This is helping us efficiently invest our dollars. Highly recommend.

Reasons for Switching to Pelcro

We switched for more robust and modern capabilities designed to be user friendly.

July 2021

Sarah from Craft Boxing Ventures

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Allowed us to bring our custom membership site to life

Pelcro has allowed us to build a digital boxing training hub where our users can shop for apparel and equipment, book personal training and subscribe to our digital library and online live classes. Using this software we have not felt constricted as we have with other competitors in the past, and we've been able to implement some really cool features for our users.

Pros

Pelcro is by far the best option on the market for companies who want to create a truly customized user experience without doing all of the hard stuff! This software takes care of the important things (member management, billing, product/plan management, authentication) so we can focus on creating a unique and seamless experience for our members. No other software allows you to so easily customize, but also has all of the important infrastructure already implemented so you can get up and running extremely quickly.

Cons

Honestly we have had a great experience with Pelcro so far, any new feature requests or ideas we've brought to the Team have been well received and they have been so fast to respond and implement.

April 2020

Edouard from Mishmash Media Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Newspapers

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

After a year on Pelcro.

Pros

I like the flexibility to manage our customers, promotions and plans but mostly, I like that we can now reach a greater audience with metered paywall whilst still working towards subscription conversion. Before, we had a hard paywall and we couldn't offer our freshest and most pertinent content to everyone who would like to see it. It helped us gain in notoriety and grow our overall readership.

Cons

As this software is relatively new, they are still developing features and so, some of the functionality that old subscription houses have, they haven't gotten to it yet.

July 2021

John from Blue Tent

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

Pelcro is an excellent Subscription platform

Positive experience overall-- very easy to implement, onboarding was clear and without hassle. Management has been a breeze.

Pros

Pelcro is easy to use and very streamlined. This is an excellent option for a growing business, if you're looking for an easily-customizable product without too much IT-heavy fuss. Pelcro's customer service is top-notch, special shout out to [SENSITIVE CONTENT] who does a terrific job explaining things and is very responsive. I would highly recommend Pelcro to a growing publisher looking for a sleek and sophisticated paywall product.

Cons

Pelcro is missing some bells and whistles, which I assume will come as the company grows. Also the reporting could use an upgrade, but for the price the product is well worth it.

March 2021

Matthew from Frieze

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Writing and Editing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

A great paywall partner for our first paywall

Pelcro are an excellent paywall partner. We recently launched our first paywall and they have helped us every step of the way. We've established a close working relationship and the team respond to all our queries promptly. They understand our complex business model and support and advise us on paywall development. We'd recommend Pelcro to anyone looking to introduce an effective, easy-to-use paywall provider.

Pros

-Lightweight UI -Good price -A collaborative partnership with Pelcro -Responsive to customisation and changes

Cons

-Not as feature-rich as some other providers (however, cost plays a role) -Most out of the box UI will require change -Some of the functionality listed on the website does not function correctly and requires fixes.

April 2020

User Profile Picture

W. Graeme from The Hockey News

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

The Future

Working with Pelcro is a partnership in that we are growing together.

Pros

The customization is what is best about the software platform.

Cons

That it wasn't available years ago. Had it been, we would have been able to benefit from it earlier.

April 2020

Chris from Stars and Stripes

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

A significant impact to our subscription numbers

Since our adoption of the Pelcro system we have seen a significant increase in our subscription rates. The Pelcro system created more tools for us to communicate with our customers and to evaluate the best service methods and pricing options.

Pros

Since our adoption of the Pelcro system we have seen a significant increase in our subscription rates. The Pelcro system created more tools for us to communicate with our customers and to evaluate the best service methods and pricing options.

Cons

Like any technical transition, there were some bumps along the way, but Pelcro addressed our concerns and the impact to our customers was minimal. Pelcro customer support has been supportive, creative and timely.

March 2020

James from Newsweek

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Subscriptions and payment platform

Pelcro has been awesome. They are super responsive. They have made changes we needed and they have solved every problem we have come up with.

Pros

The software is so easy to use and complete.

Cons

The only downside is that it’s a SaaS platform and as such integrates with existing tools rather than being software that is controllable from our own servers.

Reasons for Choosing Pelcro

Best price to performance ratio

Reasons for Switching to Pelcro

Pelcro has more options and was less expensive.