User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.62

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"The system is easy to learn. New users can be comfortable with the system in a matter of days."
  • icon"From online registrations, to great POS options, this program is an all-in-one solution to your managament woes."
  • icon"RecDesk is extremely helpful in bringing any Parks and Recreation department into the 21st-Century with a suite of services & tools that will help you come into the digital age."
  • icon"We have to watch this very carefully so people are charged the correct rate."
  • icon"When creating programs, its frustrating to have to keep saving on every tab and also every individual date that it added."
  • icon"Once parents put in their own emergency forms, they cannot go back in and update the information without registering for another program."

Browse all RecDesk Reviews

  • Have you used RecDesk and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 34 reviews

Joseph

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2022

Best Recreation Management Software I have ever used.

The customer service has been great and the software has been the most important part of sustaining growth in our Town programs.

Pros

I use the Point of Sale module for a park that has beach access and a snack shack. With using this feature we have tripled revenues over the last three years. It helps with inventory control in the snack shack, collecting daily admissions, and invoicing our cabin rentals. The program registration module also is very user-friendly and has put 99% of my registrations on the customer side which relieves me of a lot of administrative time.

Cons

I wish the user side had more customizable features to have a unique website layout. It is still a clean layout.

Response from RecDesk

Thank you Joseph for your review! Please reach out to your CSM to review your website layout.

Replied August 2022

Jaime

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2022

West Hartford

Overall, its a great system for registrations and scheduling. The customers find it very easy to use.

Pros

This software is by far the easiest software for new staff to learn quickly. With so many part timers, and a high level of seasonal and part time turnover, its important that the basic functions be easy to learn and figure out. Its the most intuitive software to use on an admin level, and our customers also find it to be easy to figure out. The basics are basic enough for new staff to figure out.

Cons

Once you become proficent in the basics, the more advanced functions are convoluted and could be cleaner. We dislike the Export to Excel, would prefer a report that generates a PDF. In the export, it creates a list and you have to remove categories in excel, instead of being able to toggle the desired categories in the system before generating the report. When data entering programs, we would like a report to confirm what was inputted instead of having to go through each tab individually. When creating programs, its frustrating to have to keep saving on every tab and also every individual date that it added. We want to do payment plans but it doesn't let you mass enroll into a payment plan, you have to individually set it up for each registration. Once parents put in their own emergency forms, they cannot go back in and update the information without registering for another program.

Reasons for choosing RecDesk

price, customer service, RecDesk's willingness to hear us and meet our requests. It didn't feel like we had to fit their system, but more like they wanted to hear us and fit what we needed.

Reasons for switching to RecDesk

RecTrac was very confusing and not web based.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2018

A Parks and Recreation Software Solution That's Sure to Help You Stay Organized!

RecDesk is a reliable and useful collection of tools that will help any Parks and Recreation Department provide the highest quality of service to the patrons of their community.

Pros

RecDesk is extremely helpful in bringing any Parks and Recreation department into the 21st-Century with a suite of services & tools that will help you come into the digital age. From online registrations, to great POS options, this program is an all-in-one solution to your managament woes!

Cons

While RecDesk will be there for you every step of the way to help you learn the in's and out's of their system, it might prove difficult for some to brave the learning curve the software asks for to fully take advantage of everyhting it has to offer.

Shelley

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

MadCoRec

It has been great! Absolutely love RecDesk.

Pros

Financial based system and ease of creating programs, schedules, etc.

Cons

So far we have no complaints with any part of the software.

Reasons for choosing RecDesk

Cost, size of our department, ease of use.

Reasons for switching to RecDesk

Ease of use. More of a financial system that we were looking for. Option to add a POS system.

Matt

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2022

Great product - Easy to use!

Excellent customer service.

Pros

I really liked how easy this software is to use. With very little training, a new employee can pick up its functionality and navigation easily.

Cons

We run after school programs and summer camps and there are some features in Camp Specific Software that don't work as well in Rec Desk. There are ways to get the information but its not as streamlined as a general program registration.

Reasons for choosing RecDesk

Affordability and easy of use. Some of the other vendors some steps were counter intuitive and took longer than seemed necessary

Cynthia

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2022

RecDesk for State Parks & Recreation Agency

RecDesk prioritizes customer service and innovation. They understand parks and recreation agencies and the special challenges they face. We purchased RecDesk to fulfill one simple task - manage a food truck rental system for our state parks and recreation agency. Over our first three years with RecDesk, it's become an essential tool integrated into almost every facet of our agency.

Pros

From my earliest research into cloud-based solutions for our state parks and recreation agency, I was impressed by the customer support at RecDesk. Three years later, their support team remains outstanding - quick to respond, extremely helpful, very smart. The features of RecDesk that caused us to choose them included membership options, document management, calendar management, invoicing, internal task management, facility management, and many other features. RecDesk enabled us to modernize our parks and recreation agency, which had previously conducted most of its business on paper. I retired recently but know that the agency continues to use RecDesk and has extended their contract.

Cons

RecDesk makes regular upgrades to its software, so many of the features I'd hoped to see have already been instituted (and they're great about taking suggestions for future upgrades). The area where we requested the greatest number of upgrades was in the flex form area, because we used it so heavily for special use permits.

Reasons for choosing RecDesk

The membership feature and pricing.

Jeanne

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Relations

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

So glad we made the switch!

Our experience with RecDesk has been good from the beginning. The RecDesk staff will work with you to get everything set up. They guide you through the changes, etc, so you learn the system, instead of them doing it for you.

Pros

The ease of use is probably its best feature! There is a slight learning curve as with anything new, but practice makes perfect. This is pretty much a standalone software for use. We use it primarily for league scheduling, facility rentals, and minimal program registrations and POS. We are still discovering hidden features. The Customer Service is great!

Cons

>No toggle box for Tax Exempt Status. We would love to see a toggle box for Tax Exempt Status on the member accounts, so that we would not have to remove sales tax for each transaction. >Trying to make cancel a reservation and credit the household account on a multi-reservation, multi-pament invoice can be a little tricky if you don't know which payment covers the reservation being cancelled. One other thing I find a disadvantage is that too many capabilities are lumped together under the user roles.

Reasons for choosing RecDesk

The RecDesk marketing representative was very persistent and persuasive (cudos)! The price was comparable to what we had been paying, but the user-friendliness of the system was much greater. Flex Forms was a huge plus also! It eliminated all our paper contracts. The user setup facility setup and maintenance was very simple.

Reasons for switching to RecDesk

RecTrac was very complex; making changes was tedious, and it was difficult to get Customer Service in a timely fashion.

Pam

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

Moving to RecDesk immediately improved customer usage.

Very good. Our customer satisfaction and retention is much higher. We're able to collect back-end data that helps to formulate our marketing tasks. Control for registration openings/closings is in place Customer service has been extremely reliable and quick to solve any issues.

Pros

The product was easy to use for staff who must create the forms, registration options, and update back-end requirements while the product was easy to use for the customer. We have grown to appreciate this software even more as upgrades have been made and new features added.

Cons

The only module that didn't fulfill our needs fully was the league module. We have shared our needs with RecDesk on this module, especially for double-header scheduling and allowing more parameters for team needs to help generate the schedule.

Reasons for choosing RecDesk

We looked at six companies to include testing each of them using the test sites. We dove deeply into fees, credit card modules, base costs + alternate options, and did reference checks with firms using the various software modules.

Reasons for switching to RecDesk

Performance for the customer/employee and cost/fees.

Heather

Verified reviewer

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2017

Working with RecDesk has helped us streamline the registration process for our staff and customers.

Pros

The ease of use. It is intuitive to use, which makes training new staff super easy. It is also simple for our customers to use the community portal. The staff and the consumers love that once their household information is saved it makes registration simple and quick. Our staff loves everything about the software. We are constantly impressed with the new features that are added on a regular basis. Often we'll be wishing for an improvement on something and before we can ask about it they make it happen! We are so happy we chose RecDesk over it's competitors! They can't be beat for customer service and price!

Cons

The only thing I don't like about the software is people can create multiple profiles. I wish there was a way it recognized a person's email or mailing address and alerted them they already have a profile with us.

Response from RecDesk

Thanks for the review Heather. We do have duplicate account detection that will do just what you ask - Maureen will contact you about activating it for your account!

Replied December 2017

Tara

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

RecDesk works perfectly for our Department's needs!

We have very pleased with the ease of this product, and our residents/ participants love the convenience and flexibility it has brought for registering for our department's programs and events.

Pros

It is easy to train staff on how to use it, if we have a question it's answered in a very timely manner, there is no cost for upgrades, and we get emails or pop-ups announcing new modules or upgrades.

Cons

When we move a participant to a new program their forms disappear, and for new participants they sometimes find the category selection on their "view" homepage to be a challenge.

Lisa

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2017

Makes my job so much easier!!

Pros

This software allows our department to stay organized in a way we never could before. I love the fact that I can access it from my phone when I am outside at a ball field needing to check a schedule or book a practice for someone. It is so much easier for me to organize my leagues-- attaching birth certificates to our members, attaching concussion certification to our coaches, seeing how many participants have registered at any given time. The compliments are endless. The customer service is superb! Super quick to answer emails or phone calls. If there is something you want this software to do that it doesn't, it gets added to a list of possible future enhancements. Our department needed something added a couple of years ago. In less than a week, the enhancement was made just because we asked. We used the free trial when we first began and never looked back!

Response from RecDesk

Thanks Lisa - we love hearing this feedback and it validates the efforts we put forward every day to push platform forward every day to make life easier for our clients.

Replied August 2017

Megan

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

User friendly software with great support

Great! It's userfriendly. I've recommended it to others.

Pros

Customer support is key and is great. We find things here and there that would make our navigation easier but for the most part having someone easily explain another way is great.

Cons

I have submitted many requests since we purchased in 2019, definitely look those up. Pulling POS reports could be easier Looking up someone by their first name only (not just exporting to excel) Viewing someone's waivers from their profile would be better than having to find them in the Membership tab and option

Reasons for choosing RecDesk

It has more options available. MySeniorCenter was limited. Please reach out to Nancy, our director, if you have questions regarding this.

Dani

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Program Development

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

August 2022

2 Years with RecDesk

We’ve gone completely paper free in the last two years. The administration portion of my job has gone from 90% paperwork to 40% and most of that entails running reports.

Pros

RecDesk is very easy to use for a one person department—features are manageable, yet quick and easy enough to set a program up within 5 minutes and get it published.

Cons

I really, truly wish, that the registration process was easier for my residents. I’ve had many complaints that the process is too time consuming and they just call me to have me do it. I also wish that the program wouldn’t allow residents to register for more than one program at the same time scheduled.

Reasons for choosing RecDesk

The customer service was exceptional and this program was the easiest to manage on a small budget. I am the first director the department has had.

Tina

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2017

Customer service is top notch. Ease of use for staff and the public is great.

Pros

The ease of use, easy reporting and the front side website. Customer service is top notch - I never have to wait for an answer, the staff are extremely easy to communicate with.

Cons

Limits on functionality for specialized programs and registrations. Having to do some transactions on 2 different websites (example: refunds have to be completed on recdesk and authorize.net)

Response from RecDesk

Thanks for review Tina and we've enjoyed serving Carteret County Parks and Recreation. We're always pushing the platform forward and will address your comment soon!

Replied August 2017

Brice

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2017

Simple, great communication, wonderful response time

Simple structured registration software that gets the job done. Other registration software can be overwhelmingly (and unnecessarily) complex, both for the user and administrator.

Pros

Ease of use for both my department and users. Also, the response time is amazing when I have any questions about our community site.

Cons

I cannot add/update certain portions of our RecDesk website, such as pictures or drop down menus. It would be nice to be able to do these things myself, instead of having to request RecDesk to do them for me.

Response from RecDesk

Thank you Brice!

Replied December 2017

Dan

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2017

Overall Incredibly Positive

Makes our registration a breeze, it organizes bulk activity information in one location and is quick and easy to access.

Pros

Anyone can learn how to use it, most employees pick it up in less than an hour. We have various seasonal employees train to use it for us in the summer, they never have a problem.

Cons

Our web page editing is difficult, it was easier with a previous version. The link they provided works, but it just seems cumbersome to edit and change.

Response from RecDesk

Thanks for great review Dan.

Replied August 2017

Johanna

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT